paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lucky Paintball Stage 1 Bolt Kit / Lucky Paintball Stage 1 Bolt Kit / Lucky Paintball Stage 1 Bolt Kit / Lucky Paintball Stage 1 Bolt Kit / Lucky Paintball Stage 1 Bolt Kit

Lucky Paintball Stage 1 Bolt Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lucky Paintball

Buy Lucky Paintball Stage 1 Bolt Kit

Paintball Ion Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lucky Paintball Stage 1 Bolt Kit
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 17
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $39

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
1. First, yes, we put a spring behind the bolt. You dont have to use it. But it helps, any bolt, it helps. It is not necessary to use the spring, but it helps reduce dwell.
2. The material we use is 'classified' for lack of a better word. It is not delrin or delron as delrin SUCKS. GASP. Thats right, it sucks. We have a comprehensive comparison on the two materials that will be posted once the site is up.
3. Flow... We have massively increased the flow.
4. WEIGHT, no kick. Its sick. You have to feel it.
5. Warranty... but non aluminum bolts snap! WRONG. If it snaps, you ran it over or we assembled it wrong. If it's our fault, you get a new one.
6. DO NOT try to separate the two pieces. They have been bonded at the molecular level!
7. Why is it so cheap? Because paintball cost to much. That is why we are here in the first place. The real impact wont be felt for a few months, but for now, enjoy the goodies.
Product Availability 
The Lucky Paintball Stage 1 Bolt Kit is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Sets_Chaos Wednesday, September 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None for the Ion
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
14 inch CP 2 piece barrel
CP On/Off
CP Rail
Smart Parts Q-Lock
PMI 45/3000
Halo B
Lucky Stage 1 Bolt
Lucky Stage 2 Firing Chamber
Lucky QEV
Strengths: Light
Fast
Efficient
No kick
Need I go on?
Weaknesses: None have showed themselves yet.
Review: I bought an up'ed Ion about 4 weeks ago from a tourney player who was going to use it as a backup. It had a few basic upgrades, but nothing performance. I looked online at various websites for upgrades, and only found the Orange Bolt. It was way out of my price range though. Then, while looking at reviews, someone mentioned a "lucky stage 1 and 2 for the same price." So, like a natural born shopper, I looked up lucky. I was shocked to say the least. I hadn't seen a product get so many reviews and still have a 10. No one had a single complaint. The thing that appealed to me the most, though, was the great customer service comments. Heck, he has aim, yahoo, and MSN; can't get better than that. (Little did I know that I would use this resource a lot!)

I soon purchased a stage 1 bolt, stage 2 firing chamber, and a QEV (BOV). It came in 6 days, not bad for across the country. It was shipped literally the day I ordered it. Some places take 3-4 days just to get it to UPS. Anyways, the package came, and I was taken aback at how small and light it was. For all I was getting, I thought, it should be at least a little bigger.

When I first saw the bolt and firing chamber, I was thinking "Mmm, pretty." The blue and green anno jobs are second to none. The QEV was nothing spectacular. It also came with some pretty good instructions, but they are definitely easier said than done. (Mainly because my ineptitude, but that's another story. I'm a stacked blow-back guy, what can I say?)

After thinking I followed all the instructions and trying to put the gun back together, I suddenly found myself looking at 2.2 lbs of plastic and metal that didn't like each other. Thankfully, Lucky was on Aim. After about 30 mins of him dealing with my ineptitude, I finally got the gun working. And I couldn't be happier. It sounds so much different, and the kick, already amazingly small, completely disappears. I haven't re-adjusted the reg or tuned the dwell, but its shootin' a lot faster by eying it. Very Happy

Thanks lucky, I can't wait to shoot up some n00bs with DMC's!

Update: My hybrid bolt semi-broke. I'm very sad in the pants. Although, I contacted lucky, and he said he'd send me a new LBM bolt, for free. I didn't have to pay shipping, or even send pictures. (He had some poor luck with the hybrids. Almost all of them have had a faliure with the glue. Kinda blows for him...) I wouldn't have noticed it, except when I was lubing the bolt I noticed it kind of spun. It still works, but I don't want to wait till it fails.

I got the bolt withing a week of notifying him. Beat that, I dare ya.
Conclusion: Great product! The customer service was A+, the product is A+, the price is A+ and I would buy it again and suggest it to anyone looking to up there Ion! Its fast, light, and will help you with your efficiency! I would also highly recommend getting a Lucky stage 2 and a QEV if you don't already have them... they just sweeten the whole deal.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 23rd, 2005 at 5:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

klrbz Wednesday, November 30th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: new roller trigger ,clamping feedneck, lucky firing chamber orange bolt ,qev
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Very fragile
Review: Everything about this thing sucks. I tried to contact the vendor got no reply. I would not recommend this product to anyone. I had the Airsmith @ CJ's paintball where I bought my gun install the new lucky bolt. I was told then that this bolt looked fragile where it it glued together. They were correc it broke during the installation. I tried to contact the vendor recieved no responce. I paid money for this POS. I would like the vendor to stand behind thier product. I am glad I am not some poor kid who spent what little money he or she has on a crappy product and a crappy vendor.
Conclusion: Would not reccomend to an opponent.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

turindev Saturday, August 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: Black Ion #1508
Black CP Short Reg
Q-lock feedneck
Dye Ultralite Barrell
Slider Micro Drop/Torpedo On/off
Lucky Bolt
CP Trigger
Strengths: Kick reduction/Weight
Price (comparatively to Orange)
CUSTOMER SERVICE (A+++)
Weaknesses: none that I experienced
Review: Performance:
Today I was able to shoot my gun vs one with a stock bolt to really get a comparison in kick. The stock bolt doesnt kick a lot compared to some other markers I have shot, and the lucky bolt cuts that down even further to minimal kick at most. A friend of mine has a super accurate scale used for measuring gemstones and the like, and this bolt weighed in at about 40% of the stock bolt (sorry I didnt write the actual values down).

Customer Service:
This is where lucky really shines. I had problems with my original bolt; so I contacted lucky via AIM. He was extremely helpful, gave me a few things to try, and even gave me his cell phone # to call him if he wasnt available on AIM. It ended up not working, so he immediately sent me a replacement. It turns out that my bolt stop is a hair smaller than most; I compared it to a friend of mine's and his had no problem at all. Lucky went the extra mile to make sure I was happy, and I actually ordered a Stage 5 kit because I was so impressed.
Conclusion: Buy it, you will not be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jacobaeus Wednesday, October 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The only similar product used is the stock bolt.
Marker Setup: Ion with New designz roller blade composite trigger, Q-lock feed neck, max flo, freak kit, wgp trv (qev), lucky stages 1 and 2.
Strengths: Dramatic efficiency gain
Noticeable reduction in kick
Weaknesses: None
Review: I've only used this product with the stage 2 firing chamber so I'm not sure how the bolt performs alone. However, I can say that both stages 1 and 2 work awesome together!
With them I have seen huge efficiency gains with my marker. Using the spring provided with the lucky bolt, dwell set at 6, psi set at 160, .687 insert in my freak, worr domination paint, and chrono readings at 275 fps I got a little over 1800 shots. That's about 500 more shots than I would get with my marker prior to upgrades. The stage 1 and 2 combination also reduces the markers kick noticeably and makes shooting tight streams easy and effortless.
Conclusion: This product is awesome!!! I am completely satisfied. Lucky stages 1 and 2 combine to create an ion that is efficient and free of kick.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bigbikes Thursday, December 22nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt
Marker Setup: ION, custom trigger, SM1 barrel, QEV, 4500 carbon fiber N2 tank, NDZ on/off, T-board
Strengths: Light weight, quick response by customer support
Weaknesses: Excessive friction, holes in the bolthead are 1/2 blocked
Review: I received on stage 1, 2, 3 kit from Lucky.
The bolt is a really stiff against the bolt stop even with their supplied O-ring.
The bolt also has minute ring style ridges on the head where it should be perfectly smooth so it will glide against the O-ring in the breach .... it isn't and therefore it doesn't move smoothly.
Even when the O-ring in the breach removed, The O-rings on the bolt head are also very stiff.
It is no suprise to me that Lucky has had problems with their bolts breaking ...all this extra friction puts undue stress on the bolt ...yet Lucky has told me "The bolt is tigher on purpose, tested, to move forward faster."
The O-rings should allow easy movement of the bolt, while being just tight enough to still hold pressure to make the bolt move fast , the fit of this bolt is tight and Lucky says it is designed that way on purpose.
I emailed a photo of the holes that go through the head of the bolt. The holes on the bolt I received were half obstructed by the center stem of the bolt ...yet Lucky said they didn't see anything wrong.

There is a spring supplied to help decrease the dwell, but it results in the bolt not returning far enough to allow the next ball to fall into the breach. Lucky said "it works on most newer IONs and all older IONs, it will also work with stock bolts." Hey guys, I HAVE A OLDER ION ...FYI ...it doesn't work with either the LBM or stock bolt on my older ION. Not a big deal, I don't have to use the spring ...but it made me further question the accuracy of the answers customer support was giving me. So far everything was OK per customer support ...but it didn't seem right to me. So I took it in to a good pro shop and asked their opinion. They pointed out the ridges in the head, the holes in the bolt head being obstructed, and the excessive friction ... and said they had serious concerns about this bolt. They pointed out ever item that worried me.

Maybe I just got a bad bolt.

The direction specify the air pressure should be set to 160-170psi. With the stock bolt I can run much lower pressures (110psi) and shoot 270fps (max allowed at the fields I play at). Lower pressure = less N2 in the chamber for each ball fired = more balls fired per tank. Yet Lucky suggests higher pressure for more effeciency ...there is no way higher pressure can result in better effeciency.

Lucky does a great job replying promptly to each and every concern, but I'm concerned by some of the answers they have given me ...some of their answers just couldn't be right and when tested didn't work as they said. To this engineer and physics major, when their answers to my questions couldn't be correct - I lost confidence and decided to return the bolt.

In the end, I returned the bolt (stage 1,2,3) to lucky. They were professional the entire time.
Conclusion: Any gains made by the light weight are more than offset by the extra friction. I am afraid the extra friction will result in bolt breakage. There are other bolts (orange, NDZ, lighting) ...or easy mods that you can do to your own bolt.

Great customer attention. Performance improvements not realized.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 23rd, 2005 at 7:41 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

THE AWNSER Saturday, September 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ORANGE SAM Bolt,
Stock Ion Bolt,
Stock Proto Bolt.
Marker Setup: Red To Black Fade Proto Matrix, S.A.M. Orange Bolt Kit, Black Hybrid Bolt Guide, Virtue Speedy Board, Function Clamping Feedneck, Red/Black Dye Ultralite Barrel, 45/45 PBN2 HP Tank, Red HALO B w/ Rip-Drive, and Z-Code, 45/45 Black Maxxy.

Fightin' Irish Ion, Lucky Stage 1 Bolt Kit, Lucky Stage 2 Firing Chamber, Lucky QEVs, Unitec Trigger Pin, Nickel CP Trigger, Black Q-loc Feedneck, 14" Green Tipped Freak System, Orange CP Shorty Reg, Predator Board, 68/45 Silver Maxxy.
Strengths: Efficiency, Accuracy.
Weaknesses: None yet.
Review: I've had this bolt for a few days now and it doesn't even compare to the stock bolt. Best upgrade you can get. But if you are buying this than it's reccommended to get a QEV and Stage 2 Firing Chamber, So also get a Lucky QEV and Stage 2. Thanks for this awesome bolt, lucky.
Conclusion: Great bolt, same as Orange Bolt, just a better price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 17th, 2005 at 8:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SystemXcocker2 Friday, September 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion bolt
Marker Setup: Ion w/:
New Designz Ion Composite Roller Blade Trigger - Red
New Designz EZ Turn On/Off ASA - Red
dye Ultralite 14 inch barrel
Redz Cam-Lock feedneck
Shocktech Red regulator
Lucky stage 1 bolt and qev
lucky stage 2 fireing chamber
Hybrid lady grips
Custom PVC body, infusion design, and stock body red
Strengths: Light
Good design
Great price
Um did i say light
Weaknesses: Uone i can think of
Review: This bolt is all around great, after hearing alot of sketchy reviews about the orange bolt, i decided to go the cheaper and what seemed like better route, and for once being cheap payed off. It reduced KICK DRAMATICALLY and i have seen a efficiency up but i cant tell you what it is because i never counted, but its a noticeable efficiency difference. The kick on my gun is gone, nothing, nada, zip.........GREAT PRODUCT< GREAT PRICE GREAT COMPANY

Also waned to say they Lucky has the greatest customer service, not gunna say what exactly happened but i had a huge problem so they sent me a stage one bolt and stage 2 firring chamber free. LUCKY PAINTBALL< BUY IT
Conclusion: GET IT, great for the money, and is great on the field, also get the stage 2 to really get rid of kick, lower dwell(mine can shoot at 0 now but its set around 10) and alot more effency
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

NosajIndustries Thursday, August 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: Black Ion with Clippard QEV, stiffi barrel, Lucky stage 1 bolt, Lucky stage 2 firing chamber, FBM stilleto Drop and VP Scythe trigger.
Strengths: Light and inexpensive.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I picked up my bolt directly from Lucky. They are a great bunch of guys and look out they have the hottest products in the works for lots of markers.

The bolt is great. It is super light and removes all kick. I run mine with the spring and the stage 2 firing chamber and the marker just leaps to life when you rip on the trigger. For the price of an orange bolt you can get the Lucky bolt and the stage 2 firing chamber!!
Conclusion: If you want a new bolt for your Ion the Lucky bolt is the way to go. Lucky has the best product and customer service, you can almost always catch them on AIM if you have any problems or questions.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Smcgee Thursday, August 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion bolt no comparison
Marker Setup: SP ion, Foehn body, dye sticky3s, eclipse qev, evil detonator reg, new designz roller trigger, lucky bolt, AIM Clamping feedneck, Dead on bullet drop forward, Halo B, and a 3000psi aci bulldog nitro tank, stiffi switch
Strengths: Absolutley 0 kick
very light weight
simple design
optional spring
well priced
increased flow
Weaknesses: None
Review: I ordered this without the quick exaust off ebay for 39.00$ shipped to me. for 10 bucks more you can get a qev with it but i had one already so i just got the bolt. The bolt is light as a feather and takes ALL and i mean ALL of the kick out of the ion. the bolt increases the flow which is nice and it comes with a spring that suposedly inceases eficiency, i dunno how accurate that is but it doesnt hurt to have. its also very very easy to install and comes with good instructions that mention something about sending me a lucky aluminium badge....i personally have no idea what that means... but back to the bolt! its a great upgrade for your ion its much cheaper then the orange bolt and from what i hear its alot more reliable.
Conclusion: Get it! if your going between orange and lucky go lucky its amazing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dontgetowned Thursday, March 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
orange bolt
stock ion bolt
Marker Setup: SP ION white body kit, Ugly stik barrel, qlock feed, lucky stages 1,2,3 , ndz qev, cp sling blade trig
Strengths: Light, no kick, awsome
Weaknesses: The bumper oring isnt too strong, but who cares
Review: This is the best bolt on the market today. When I got it I put it in and i ran great. There is seriously no kick now. Before my ion kicked like a horse. Its not fragile like other people said. My friend HAD an orange bolt, but it broke so he got a lucky. I would reccomend this to anyone.
Conclusion: Best bolt and great customer service
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 16th, 2006 at 2:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media