paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter / Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter / Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter / Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter

Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter

Paintball Cradles, Rails, Drop Forwards and ASA's

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $25

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Building on the success of our original dovetail Smart Valve comes generation two. It's longer, it's stronger, it has a quarter turn on/off (still).
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Dovetail Adapter is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Scherping19 Saturday, September 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocktech On/Off ASA
CMI In-line On/Off
Marker Setup: --Smart Parts Ion--
-Redz Body Kit
-SP Q-Lock Feedneck
-SP Firebolt
-SP On/Off ASA
-Shocktech Micro Rail
-Empire Reloader B
Strengths: Looks
Price
Quality
On/Off
Everything!
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: I got this Smart Parts on/off because I used something similar to the Smart Parts screw in on/off. I wanted something that would be mounted to my gun. I didn't like my Shocktech On/Off because it was nearly impossible to turn. So I got this for $24.00 and I didn't think it would mount to my Shocktech Drop, but it did. It mounts to any dovetail rails. This on/off works great. Its very easy to turn, looks cool, stops airflow when you want it too, and its cheap. Its very easy, you just turn the knob 1/4 ways & BAM, your done. It also comes with an extra c-clip for the on/off. Stops airflow and then unscrew your tank and then turn it back to open to let it all out. Saves o-rings, and I never blew one yet.
Conclusion: Overall, This product is great. I've been looking sooo long for an item like this and I've finally found it. Get it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 25th, 2007 at 8:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Calon929 Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
name it
Marker Setup: pewter nerve,empire b,freak, crossfire 68/4500,this asa
Strengths: On off easy to use
Weaknesses: Soft..powders the asa
Review: This came stock with the nerve I had and wound up ruining a tank reg. Metal is soft and wears unevenly and offers almost no resistance when it got so much slop that it crossthreaded. And I mean no resistance, business as usual until I went to take it off. Tank goes on..wont come off without a wrench and the first three threads at the pinvalve were fubar. Thanks Smart Parts! I hoped it was an anomoly, that does happen. I received a dark timmy through trade that had the same asa on it, and it did not dissapoint. Immediately started flaking the threads in the asa and pretty much saw the writing on the wall. Put a check it mount on it, sound as a pound.
Conclusion: Im not sure if smart parts got a bad run on the aluminum or what, but the ones I have come across are junk. Its a good design that has been in my experience made of poor quality materials. I like smart parts but after having to buy an asa and a tank reg to repair what this thing did to me I give it an F.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 30th, 2006 at 10:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sia_simba Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP on/off, Check-it unimount, Psychoballistic on/off, duckbill
Marker Setup: DM4 w/ Freak kit, 68/45 ANS, HaloB w/rip
Strengths: Looks, price, macro fitting accessibility, nob screw, compact
Weaknesses: Weird threading, place of nob is not consistent with one another (read review)
Review: I was looking around for on/off to go with both my dm4 and ion. First factor was the macroline setting. I didn't want anything that comes off towards the side because I wanted to reduce the width of my marker... yes.. i am anal like that, but macrolines coming off the sides bothers me. Therefore, I only had but a few choices.

I immediately picked up the smart parts on/off mainly because it looks good, macroline fitting is towards the front so all I needed was a straight elbow. It just requires me to turn a nob to gas up the gun, and degas the gun. Also, I got it along with the S-rail and makes it look sexy hot. Anyhow... those are the reasons why I purchased the item. Do know that I purchased 2 of these. Now for the product itself.

1. When I first took the on/off out of the box, one thing puzzle me. Both the on/off nobs aren't on the same side between the one on my ion and the other on my dm4. one is on the left, and one is on the right. I assume that because they have it that way, I can switch it myself w/o any problems. Even better for me.

2. The on/off came greased up already. Thanks SP for doing that part for me.

3. When I aired up both my markers, no problems at all, no leaks and turning the nob was a lot easier than when I was using my CP and check-it. Esp when you have a lot of air in the tank and your gloves are all greasy... turning the other nobs are a bit more difficult. I didn't have a problem at all with the smart parts on/off.

4. This item looks great. It is glossed back with no designer defaults at all. It fits 100% perfectly with the S-rail and like i've said before... gives it hell of a nice look to it. It also moves your tank forward about 1cm if that really matters.

5. I purchased this item brand new for $20.00

6. I would have to complain about this... on one of the on/off... when I was screwing on a tank, it gave it a sqeeky noise... Maybe because I've messed around with the tank threading of the on/off too many times. I am going to put some oil on it and hopefully that solves the problem.
Conclusion: I think this is a great item. The price is fair and the item looks great. it gave me the option I wanted, which was straight macroline feed, and it is very easy to use. I have no problem degassing my tanks at all.

I would recommend this item if you want something simple, cost effective, compact, and looks great. For the price, you really can't go wrong. I won't give this a 10/10 because it is not the best. however, I am very satisfied with this item over all the others I have used.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShooterHops Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP ASA's
Marker Setup: Ion Pro
Strengths: Nice looking.
Weaknesses: Does not bleed.
Review: You can turn off the air to the gun but it does not bleed off the air still in the adapter. The tank is still supplying pressure to the adapter because the tank it's self was never actually turned off. It will still put pressure on the o-ring as you take the tank off(which is usually the reason for o-rings blowing), which defeats the purpose of having an on/off adapter in the first place. It's alright if you're using N2/HPA and you do not need to take the tank off your gun.
Conclusion: Make sure if you get an on/off ASA, it is one that we bleed when you turn it off, like a CP ASA.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 4th, 2007 at 1:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Virus_Nyne Sunday, December 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hybrid Grind on/off, Function on/off

All are equally good. I would reccomend any of the 3.
Marker Setup: Trilogy Competition, SLIK Lite Cocking Block(bolt, pin, rod, block), KAPP delrin ball detent, grey Empire skull grips, Smart Parts on/off ASA, CP black rail, Macdev macroline kit, X-boarded Revvy, Nitroduck 47/3k steel, black Redz 47ci tank cover
Strengths: Knob only moves 1/4th a turn
Can't be knocked into off position
Weaknesses: It's an SP product
Review: I got a Hybrid Grind on/off for 24 dollars with rail one day. It leaked after a little use, so the guy I bought it from traded me that for this so he could fix it, and maybe sell that Hybrid off(the color of this one matched my marker, unlike the Hybrid, so I got the long end of the stick). Comparatively, the Hybrid, Function, and this product are all easy to use, take as much effort to switch between on and off, and are all something to brag about having. I would equally reccomend any of those.

Initial use showed that it does it's job very well. There is no one hole in the ASA for the air to bleed into, there are four equally distributed around the pin. This isn't a selling point, but at least we know there will be air getting into the marker, and oil gets in without a problem. In the longer run, it's still holding up fine and is the one Smart Parts anything I have liked.

The niftiest feature of this ASA is that the knob only turns a quarter turn. You can't go past it, so turning air on and off is quick. Twisting it to the left turns the air off, and vice versa. It's no longer than a CP rail(the length of the trigger frame), so extended or shortened setups do not occur unless you mount it as so.

The fitting comes out of the front, and I have found this pleasing as well. It provides for the most low-profile setup your hose can have. Macroline would be perfect, since it can be cut to length.

The knob is on the side, and in turn doesn't move a pin inside the ASA that turns the air on and off. I haven't broken into it, and don't plan to, so all I can tell you is that it cuts the air off while the tank's valve is still opened.
Conclusion: I haven't found any weaknesses. It does what it should, didn't leak(even when used), the four holes around the pin makes sure your oil gets inside and gets friendly with metal parts, and is a real bargain. The only way it could get better was if it came with a rail mated or separate.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ballisticpball Friday, August 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Red Smart Parts Ion
Q-Lock
All American with 14" Freak Front
S-Rail
SP Bottom Line On/Off
eVLution II
CenterFlag 47/3000
Redz Marker Cover
Strengths: Looks Nice
Mounts On a Rail
Quarter Turn
Cheap
Weaknesses: Doesn't Supress Pin Vavle (Explained in Review)
Review: I was looking at some on and off's for my Ion to replace my junk Duckbill asa. After looking at the price tags on the Eclipse purge's and Unimounts, when I seen this, I knew that;'s what I would be getting. Also my brother has one on his Ion, so that kind of helped too. He had his on a CP Flame Drop, which was very hard to install in onto. I ordered this, and an S-Rail at the same time, so I would have something to mount it to. I guess you could call this a downside, but not a weakenss really, to this product. It can only be mounted to a rail. I really like this product though. It goes really well with my S-Rail.

Okay, As I said, this On/Off doesn't supress the Pin Valve, so you cannot unspress, if you will, the pin vlave, venting the pressure off the tank. You can only vent the pressure off the marker itself. However, it does what I want it to. I can now store my HPA tank on my Ion, with no constant pressure on the internals.

Conclusion: Overall, another great product spewed out by the all mighty Smart Parts. (Thats going to upset some anti-SP people lol) If your looking for a cheap on/off ASA to be mounted to a rail, then pick one of these up. Looks really nice too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

EzKV Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
all other on/offs
Marker Setup: black to silver fade nemesis, evil bolt, evil ram, evil detonator, evil grips, critical trigger with magnets, 25 gram microswitch from air soldier products, egg with z board, and 68/4500 pure energy tank
Strengths: Ease of use
Weaknesses: Hard to put tank in/out
Review: I really like the idea of this on/off, but the only thing i can really complain about is how hard it is to get ur tank in all the way and how hard it is to take off, it almost seems like the valve pins are too long or something like that, other than that it works great, so if you just man up and get some muscles you will love this part, great upgrade :)
Conclusion: I like this style on/off then all the regular ones, if you don't like the regular ones with the knobs in front of the on/off then give this one a try its very nice.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

qscwbt Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Used the shock tech works better
Marker Setup: Ion black. q-lock sp qev crossfire 47 / 3000 halo hopper
Shocktech on/off
freak barrel on order
bop body on order
Strengths: It looks very smart
Weaknesses: Not a real on off
Review: Got this when i saw how nice they look on my mates Ion. It has a low profile and looks very smart.

Knob turns easily. Fits the marker perfect

The bad. Noticed that the bottle eats the threads. Then i realised why. It turns the air of going into the marker. But there is still air pressure in the asa. This makes the tank turn very hard that then breaks the threads. If u leave ur bottle on the marker all the time or if u only remove the bottle when its emty it will not harm the treads.

It seems to only happen when the tank is full and you try to remove the tank.
Conclusion: I do not think its a true on of. The asa with the pin that push in to turn the bottle on or off is a better option. But the sp on are a very smart looking one.
Its your choice to go for looks or a work horse

Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 at 6:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

midnightrida Friday, April 7th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cp check it stock and more
Marker Setup: 03 cocker no part of the gun is stock besides the frame its the best and i got the palmers pum and up'd empire
Strengths: Nothing at all horrible
Weaknesses: Threads strips and its just a valve
Review: My gun came with 1 of these and so did my friends i scraped it asap both me and my friends striped so ez it wasnt funny sp said there milled wrong yet every1 i talked 2 said it happend 2 them cp makes them better bleed and the pin valve gets realeased and you get it
Conclusion: Dont by this product go with another cheaper brand or quality like cp
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

zagacks Saturday, May 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
System X on/off, other on/off valves
Marker Setup: Custom 2003 Pro Stock Autococker; E-Blade 1, Shocktech Front Block kit w/Eclipse QEV, KAPP LW back block, Shocktech Super Fly delrin bolt, Palmers regulator, 14" Dye Boomstick, Shocktech drop forward w/Smart Parts Dovetail, Nitro Duck 68/4500, Halo B w/rip drive
Strengths: Lightweight
Style
Easy to use
Wastes as much air as any other on/off
Weaknesses: Nothing really
Review: I bought it for 20 bucks new, so that's already a plus; not to mention it was replacing an ugly, heavy, brick-looking on/off I had on my cocker. It's super light and looks nice and barely lets air out when you take the tank off. What else is there to say? I like it.
Conclusion: Like anything, its about what you think looks nice. If you like this product, don't hesitate. Its and awesome piece.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media