paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lucky Paintball Stage 5 Ion Body Kit / Lucky Paintball Stage 5 Ion Body Kit / Lucky Paintball Stage 5 Ion Body Kit / Lucky Paintball Stage 5 Ion Body Kit / Lucky Paintball Stage 5 Ion Body Kit

Lucky Paintball Stage 5 Ion Body Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lucky Paintball

Buy Lucky Paintball Stage 5 Ion Body Kit

Paintball Ion Bodies

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lucky Paintball Stage 5 Ion Body Kit
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $185

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Introducing the Lucky Stage 5 body kit
Features will include:
-Only 99 will be sold.
-Includes Stage 2 for Ion (incorporated into rear cap)
-Uses your bolt, your bolt stop.
-You will no longer need:
----Breech
----Firing chamber
----Rear Donut
----eye board
-You will no longer need to touch anything but the rear cap to remove bolt, this nothing like so-called rear access kits being sold today.
-Aluminum Eye Cover
-New Eyes are Included.
-Feed tube maybe excluded at time of release
-Pre-Orders will be taken, you will need to submit your paypal so that you can be invoiced while they are in final assembly.
-Jpegs below are final files of 3d model. The color is for contrast and to give you a general feel for how this puppy will look.
-We have no intentions of making frames, frames shown are for illistration purposes.
-Approx weight at is 1.1 lbs with out frame, battery, electronics, barrel nor regulator.

Colors:
Black
Silver
Red
Blue
(all dusted)
Raw (you anno, not liable for anything that happens once it leaves our hands)"

Only 99 were made!!!
Product Availability 
The Lucky Paintball Stage 5 Ion Body Kit is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Rainman22 Thursday, December 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, this is the first true BOB.
Marker Setup: Uk ION
-Lucky Stage 5
-Lucky Feed Neck
-Cp Reg
-Clippard Qev
-Junkie Hose Kit
-Junkie Screw Kit
-Zete Grips
-And much more to come
Strengths: It's a true BOB (Bolt Out Back) design, unlike its competitors.
Weaknesses: Please see the review.
Review: I woke up to find a small box at my doorstep. I figured it was a dvd I had ordered, but to my surprise it was from Lucky Paintball. Opening the box revealed stickers, a small baggie with a few things inside, tons of foam peanuts, and something bubble wrapped. When I saw the sticker had Lucky logo's all over them, my heart started pounding. In my hands was the infamous Lucky Stage 5. I was ready throw, literally throw everything else aside and tear open the bubble wrap to look at my gift. I didn't, thank god, I needed the things inside the baggie.

The Baggie included a small screw that held the eye plate cover on, and 2 washers. At further glance, the inside had rubber molded into it. Not a bad idea, then again, Lucky normally does it part there.

Unwrapping the bubble wrap revealed the Stage 5 body. The pictures shown on Lucky's forum does not do this justice. The milling was clean and crisp. The ano looked flawless. They could have done something about the rear cap, it looks like a woman's breast. Not that I don't like women's breasts, it looks rather dull on the body. All in all, I was quite pleased in my 175$ purchase. Or so I thought...

I had just came from the backyard when I found the box. I was getting my ION tuned, ready for the weekend. Getting ready to install the Stage 5, I had to remove all the stock parts. No problem, I do it allt he time. So I did...

Taking off the rear cap I saw a green thing. This turned out to be the bolt stop. My theory I had made month back was very very close to the actual design. And I'm still shocked this hadn't been made sooner. I'm glad it was Lucky that did it though. They're a good company. The could have included the inner oring for the bolt stop, but it wasn't a big deal. I took it off the stock bolt stop and continued getting it ready. Lubed everything that needed to be lubed, bolt and bolt stop were inside the body, and the capped was screwed on. I was ready to air it up.

I screwed on my Dye Throttle tank, which had about 2,000 psi left. I made sure to drop my reg, just to be safe. Raising it, I heard the ION air up. I think I felt like a giddy school girl at the time. My girlfriend didn't, I was grinning ear to ear, and she gave me a strange look. Turned the baby on, dried fired, and oooh baby, I think I needed to change my pants. I was all geared up for weekend to play. But that's when I discovered a few problem....

Hold the marker out in front of me, admiring it, I saw a light. Now this light wasn't glare off the body, I was looking right through the body. There was gap in-between the frame on the body. The gap was pretty bad, in my opinion. But not enough to say "Hey Lucky! You got some splay'nin to do!". I happily walked outside with a full hopper to really see what it could do. A few dry fires and finally the first ball made its way into the breach. *Splat* it shot dead on. But it was only one ball. I turn on my eyes, make sure my hopper was on, and I'm ready to really rip. I pulled the trigger at least 20 times and nothing happened. Looked at the Ion, there wasn't a ball in the breach. Oh I must have jammed, I thought. So I shook the hopper a bit until the light started rapidly flashing. "Blow Blow Blow" I ripped 3 rounds bore I start hearing pfft pfft pfft. I figured my battery was dead, so I replaced it and came back outside. I would get roughly 10 shots off then more pfft pffft pfft's. Frustrated, I went back inside to see what the problem was. Checked the orings, checked the noid, check EVERYTHING. I couldn't come up with a reason why this was happening. I was just out there with my then stock ion shooting ropes.

That night I had talked to Nosaj and explained some of the problems. He had said the gap was because of the frame, most likely. I figured it was the board, that's what it looked like to me. Anyways, after a week of talked, I came to the conclusion that the body was at fault. There was a machining problem. The problem was where the ball drops into the breach, wasn't milled out enough. The ball actually sat halfway down, so the marker wouldn't fire. E-mailed lucky, and he is now fixing the loading problem. As for the gap problem, Nosaj was right. Nosaj said the frame was warped, but if that was true, I'd be SOL when it comes to fixing the gap. After 10 minutes of looking at where the body ond frame sat, I grabbed a file and started filing away at my frame. There had been buildup of the powder coat finish, along with some aluminum that was in the way. You can find what I filed down at Lucky's site. So if you have a gap problem, I suggest checking it out.

Overall, the Lucky stage is a great product. Its defiantly ahead of everyone else. And who knows Element might be making his own design.

Good:
Every single thing is good about the Lucky Stage 5 except the Cons(see below)

Cons:
-I had to file my stock frame down for the body to sit right. But this is more Smart Parts Fault than it is Lucky's.
-Had to send back my body to have the breach area re-machined to solve the loading problem
-The rear cap cold be a bt more aesthetic.
-Killa detents may not work(Told by a friend who owns a Stage 5 too.

The cons might seem bad, but in reality they're not. Sure I had to spend 10 minutes filing, but its Sp fault. And I did have to send my body away for a week, but Lucky paid shipping both ways!

Overall I'll give this bad boy a 9. It would have been a 10 if it wasn't for the machining issue.
Conclusion: Tired of taking your ION apart to service the internals? Then get the stage 5, for those of you who are LUCKY enough to. You wont be disappointed. And for those of you who have ordered it, and are waiting, you wont have the ball loading problem. because Lucky has them already fixed.

9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

DLHCLH Thursday, January 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Deadly Wind FOEHN (good but Stage 5 is better)
Marker Setup: Sp ION
Black/Red fade stage 5
Ndz Qev
Orange Unicorn bolt V2
Cp trigger Dust Red
Cp Reg Dust Black
Cp on/off
Shockteck micro drop
Halo B/rip drive (red shell)
Orange detentsPmi 69/4500 (06 empire cover)
Hybrid Contact killer grips
Sp ION Blackheart board
Strengths: bolt out the back (true bolt out the back)
Includes stages 2&3
Weaknesses: None that I've found!!!!!
Review: The stage 5 from Lucky paintball is by fare the best upgrade for your ION!!! This kit trully makes the marker easier to keep up and clean, no more taking the marker completally apart to lude or clean it! Just unscrew the back cap, pull the internals out, lube them,run a swab through the body ,replace the internals,screw the cap back on and your done that simple!! This is well worth the $200 price, look at it like this it replaces everything inside the marker (fireing chamber,breech,bolt stop,etc) sell the old stuff on ebay and you paid for half this awsome body! The design of this body is awsome makes your Ion look like a high dollar marker, looks alot like a proto matrix! Pics do not do this body justice!!!! Until someone thinks of something better(will be hard to do)this is the best body/upgrade for the ION on the market period!!!
Conclusion: Well worth the $200 price tag!! If there are any left on lucky's web site I suggest you get one while you can! I didn't get to pre-order one but got lucky because alot of people backed out! I had to pay $20 morethan the pre-orders but it was well worth the extra $20!!!! I highly recomend this and all other Lucky products!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

NosajIndustries Wednesday, November 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None Lucky is the only company to make a full body.
Marker Setup: Black Ion with Clippard QEV, stiffi barrel, Lucky stage 1 bolt, Lucky stage 2 firing chamber, stage 5 body and 1 of 1 Element 85* frame,FBM stilleto Drop and VP Scythe trigger.
Strengths: Ease of bolt removal and overall quality of a full aluminum body.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: The stage 5 is amazing. For now there are only 99 but if you ever see one for sale pick it up. Bolt access is a snap simply remove the endcap and the bolt and bolt stop come right out! The fit and finish is perfect there are no flaws whatsoever. If there is a second run or a body made by another company licensed by Lucky buy it. it makes the Ion feel and look like a high quality highend marker.
Conclusion: Buy it if you ever can. it is the only real body for the Ion.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

heff213 Tuesday, February 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock body, pain in the rear to field strip and clean.
shocktech body, less of a pain, but still can't clean the eyes.
dm\pm\dmc, same type of layout. Most comparable to pm, except without the lpr.
Marker Setup: 2k4 eclipse cocker, fully upgraded. Zero B, Cp reg, CCM neck\pump arm, 3ds back block\pin. Cp on\off, full Nexus kit (ram,springs,valve,rex dialer), samurai trigger
Lucky S5 olive milled body, stock frame, Lucky S4 board, CP reg, CP on\off, CCM neck, RPM trigger, hybrid grips, Clippard qev, Lucky top hat mod ring.
Strengths: Bolt out back. Access to eyes.
Weaknesses: Milling imperfections. Finnish imperfections, feed neck, No o rings on bolt tail. (see below)
Review: This is for the newer Stage 5.1 body.
First impressions
I got my body last week. Valentines day to be exact. I ordered it about ten days prior. The packaging was quite nice and offered adequate protection from the rigors of shipping.
My son and I (I built the gun for him for his birthday) looked it over under some light. The first thing I noticed was the hazy finish in some places, it almost looks like tape adhesive residue. I later tried to buff it out but couldn't. There were also some spiral mill marks left on the top of one cutout and the bottom of the other. The milling is not symmetrical, but it is only noticeable around the eye covers. I am not unhappy with what I have found, not a bad job for a few guys with a small shop. The bolt easily slides out the back with the firing can and bolt stop. Lucky switched to a new v4 bolt, it looks like the v3 except it has no sail o rings. The 2 o rings are housed tin the bolt cap. I personally do not like the design but it can be changed. The cap uses a 3" key but you only need to screw it in finger tight. Eye access is only a .050" wrench away. The eye cover is a little stiff to slide out, I use a fine pick to lever it up a little. The laser eyes work perfectly, nice red light in the neck.

The build
Assembly is easy for anyone who is familiar with the ion. Lucky has a video on their website if you need help, and their tech support is awesome. Begin by removing the body and board however you see fit. Then install the qev, I used the clippard over the sp 360 since I don't need to disassemble the gun to do anything. Re-install the air fittings and connect the eyes, you will need the original wire. Slide the board in and replace the screws. BAM! The only leak was from the qev, but some teflon tape fixed it. The feed neck is adequate, but a clamping design would have been better. It is a basic slip in with o rings, both my suicide halo and pulse were loose. So i switched it out for a ccm. Overall the installation was as easy as taking the gun apart.

Testing
I have no chronograph at home so I could not check velocity, so I tuned it by ear and the gauge. Initially I set the pressure to 180 most ions shoot around 270ish at that pressure.
Screwed in a 16" ultralight and a 45, put the pulse on and got ready to shoot. When first dry fired it made a tapping sound but after 2-3 shots it was gone. So I dumped in a pod if good inked' and unleashed a fat long rope. I was very impressed, my son and I looked at each other and smiled. We dumped 5 pods through it until the tank was empty. No problems, a few barrel breaks but no problems attributable to the body. At this point I was very impressed.

At the field
Saturday and Sunday was the real test, my son and I played both days. Velocity was low at 180psi because of the top hat ring, now runs at 200psi shooting 285fps with a dwell of 20. Saturday there were no problems at all! None! We shot 2 cases through it.
On Sunday the only problem was the o rings in the bolt cap. Since the v4 bolt has no sail o ring the cap contains them (this is the only problem i have with the design). The rear ring has a tendency to wear quickly, you can tell when it leaks out the back. You can order #12 rings by the gross or buy the cap for the basic body form Lucky, it will work with regular style bolts. Bolts with double rings need to have the front one removed. this is the route I will take. Still, changing the o ring is no big deal with a pick. Somehow Jr managed to break a ball in the breach. Thankfully cleaning the eyes is easy. Just don't lose the orange spacers behind the dm\pm detents. Other than a breach break and an o ring, no problems.

Conclusion: This body totally rocks! I tech at my local field and am constantly working on busted ions. 50% of the time the gun needs to be cleaned and the person doesn't know how to take the gun apart. This body makes it much easier to maintain your gun. This is in my opinion the best thing to get for your Ion.
I would give it an emphatic 10, but I must be critical. The milling marks, lack of symmetry, the hazy finish, and the tight eye covers did lower the rating but not by much. It still is a good upgrade to the gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dominicano Thursday, February 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Smart Part Ion
Clippard QEV
Clamping Feed neck
Basic Stage 5.1
Trigger.
Strengths: True Bolt out back
Weaknesses: Detents
Review: I received this body about a 3 weeks ago, it looks awesome, I would not wait to get it on my marker. So I put everything together and had no problem, I did not know that the s.5.1 run at a higher PSI and higher Dwell. So while dry firing I had to increase my pressure to about 170PSI and 20 Clicks. and it worked flawlessly.

a week later I was playing at Skirmish weather was about 30Degree outside. got all set up went to chrono the fun with the settings I already had and nothing the bolt sounded week, and the balls barely made it out of the barrel. So I turned up the pressure to the point where it was close to 200PSI and increased the dwell to 25 and finally got the balls to come out but every 3rd ball and it would break and the highest FPS i got was 254, it was so bad I had to put my stock parts back no my ion just so I could play for the day.

Got home and could not figure out what went wrong So I called LUCKY Tech, they gave me some solutions and they told me to remove the detents, man when I took those sucker out half of the were chewed up from the bolt hitting it. So I put everything back together, and had some left over paint and shot it with out the detents and it worked like a charm.

I know the review is for the body but the customer service is right up there with quality.
Conclusion: I think better detents should of been used the detents they provide just does not have the mobility it needs to consider all different type of paints out there. I know there is some drilling issues but spring detents would rectify this issue out the box. I still give this a 9 out of 10 because it still rocks once it is set up correctly
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Homan13PSU Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None other than stock Ion body
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Lucky Stage 5 (Dust Silver)
Smart Parts Q-Lock
NDZ Blade Roller Trigger
NDZ QEV
Halo w/ Rip Drive
Tadao Raider Board
Strengths: - True BOB
- No more complete dissasembly of the Ion
Weaknesses: - Original back cap allen broach is a little weak
- No installation directions sent with body
Review: I had seen the reports on the Stage 5 months before the pre-orders came out, to be honest I never thought I would get one and initially did not sign up for the pre-order of the 99. When the bodies started shipping some people backed out of their pre-order (idiots if you ask me). When I saw this on Lucky's website I knew I would only have one chance to order one, so order it I did. Three days later a box was sitting on my doorstep. I opened the box and inside was my Stage 5 (dust silver) and a sheet of stickers. The milling was flawless throughout the whole body, it truly was amazing. Because the body did not come with any installation directions I went to Lucky's forums and printed off directions that were done up by NOSAJ (not that you really need them they are still nice to have and they are a great help). I disasembled my Ion, took the bolt, QEV and Q-Lock (even though Lucky sent a feedneck) and started installing those parts. After installing everything and putting the body on the grip frame I tested her out; I had none of the problems that some of the other users had with gap between the body and grip frame and isses with the green bolt stop. I have had the body for a little over a year now and the only issue I have had was stripping out the back cap allen broach (which was my fault).
Conclusion: The Lucky Stage 5 is simply amazing. It simplifies the disasembly and maintainence of the Ion and you would not believe how many people come up to me asking me what I'm shooting. When I tell them an Ion it takes a couple seconds for them to tell me I'm lying. This hands down is the body to get, do not look at any other body kits, buy Lucky's new Stage 5.1, you will not be dissapointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CCCAAAMMM Sunday, October 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Lucky Stage 5, Element V2 Frame, Lucky Stage 4 w/ Mac Noid, Lucky Stage 1 V3, Kila Reaction Detents, Hybrid Push-Button On/Off, Smartparts Q-Lock, Dye Hyper 2, 14 inch Dye Ultralight, Clippard QEV, VP Scythe Trigger, Hybrid Grips, DM Membrane Pad, Lucky Colored Eyes and Custom anno done by Gruntbull Anodizing.
Strengths: True BOB, has Lucky Stage 2 and 3 built in, looks amazing.
Weaknesses: None but there was only 99 made so its hard to find one used.
Review: I have to say this is one of the nicest bodies ever made for the Ion, hell I bet it is the nicest body made for a paintball gun. While the body looks very nice they did not cut any corners when thinking about the performance, the Stage 5 has the Stage 2 and 3 built into it, a down fall about the Stage 2 and 3 are you can not use a bolt that has 2 o-rings on the tail, I found this out the hard way. Also the body is a true BOB body, this means all you have to do is unscrew the BOB cap and pull the bolt out, the Stage 5 is the only true BOB body for the Ion, with all others you have to unscrew the rear banjo/etc.. The Stage 5 comes wired with Lucky Wired Eyes, when I was hoping it would of came with colored eyes but it did not, but I bought some later anyways. The only bad thing is that only 99 were made so it is very hard to find one that someone is selling, if you can you have to empty out your pockets to pay the $250+ price tag.
Conclusion: In conclusion I will rate the Lucky Stage 5 a 9/10, I did not rate it a 10/10 because there were only 99 made, they cost more to buy used then they cost to buy brand new and it is very hard to find someone who is selling a Stage 5.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

druidsdecendant Saturday, March 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None. Nothing compares.
Marker Setup: Ion - CP 4.25" Reg, Freak system, SP QEV, Polished stock bolt, Lucky LBM bolt, Lucky provided eyes and delrin detents, Trinity On/Off, 71/4500 AAA tank with Centerflag reg and gauge. Dwell 10, Stock board, CP trigger, Z-Boarded egg II
Strengths: BOB. Exterior eye removal. Customer service.
Weaknesses: None mechanicly. There are some milling marks from the CNC machine
Review: I opened the box and began to drool. Once I got over my steamy-eyed initial response, I began to really look the product over. The machinist with the CNC machine left fine tooling marks on the body blank. Nothing major but they were there. The annodizer did a superb job, as I received the red/black dusted fade. The lines were concentric, as well as blended superbly. Excellent quality. The feedneck was short...probably the shortest I've seen for an Ion, again, anno was excellent and so was the milling. The BOB cap is plain with only a hole in the center. The diameter of the cap is just slightly larger than the diameter of the body but it's less than a 1/4mm too big. The threads were well cut and the cap was smooth upon removal.
Inside the body was the bolt-stop...a nicely honed and green-annoed canister with O-rings. No problems to report.
The delrin detents were pre-installed and worked when pushed with a finger tip.
I ShockerLubed (TM) the O-rings, installed my stock bolt and sealed her up. I aired her up, turned her on and set my reg to 160 psi. I was able to reduce my dwell to 18 clicks with this set up.
I added the unsanded egg to the feedneck and it seemed a bit loose, which was confirmed when I added paint. Easy fix...I took my finger and swiped it over a liquid dish detergent bottle and ran it over the neck O-rings. Reinstalled the egg and waited 10 mins. Perfect. Added paint and went out back.
I burned through half a case of paint without a hiccup!
Last week I bought the LBM bolt from my proshop. It came with a new rear donut (which isn't needed) but not the spring. I got in touch with Lucky and he shipped it out right away (postmarked the next day), no charge. Excellent Customer service!
Conclusion: EXCELLENT product! It's the best thing you can get for your Ion. I give it a 10/10 for function and overall performance, a 10/10 for anno and color scheming but I rated it a 9 because of the CNC machine marks. That aside, I have to say that if you missed out on it, that's too bad. Best thing for the Ion.
There is noticably less recoil, not much a savings with air efficiency---perhaps I get an additional pod or 2...but it's more accurate than it was with stock parts (even with the Freak on stock parts, it's still more accurate now than it was then) and the maintenence is just a breeze. Someone would have to offer me a way better marker for me to trade this away (which I have no plans to).
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 4th, 2006 at 1:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gdog5 Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
other ion bodies, but none with BOB
Marker Setup: Angel 05 Speed
Emag
LCD Matrix
Ion
too many to list....
Strengths: BOB, BOB, BOB, BOB
Looks
Customer service
Weaknesses: Price
non clamping feedneck? (lol)
Review: Got this thing last week and i love it. I managed to snag one on the lucky website from those who had backed out of buying. A little steep on the price but its a little understandable as lucky is not a huge corporation and they provide nice high qulatiy products. The body looks gorgeous and really makes the ion into a whole new gun. Of course ill talk about the BOB feature. The back of the body that kinda bumps out unscrews with an allen wrench to reveal the bolt and the stage 2. Pull those out and your done with disassembly :-) . Much better than taking the frame off, unscrewing the banjos and qev, etc, etc. It comes with a nice looking low rise feedneck that fits my eggy nicely, but not the halo. Ill be putting a ccm on it anyway.
Conclusion: If you can find one and have the money snatch it up as there are a limited amount out there. They look fantastic and the bolt out back feature is so easy and saves time. Lucky is a good company....and theyve sent me free stickers with everything theyve sent to me!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nd1 Wednesday, February 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: ION:
Lucky Stage 5
ANS QEV
FBM Sith Frame
NDZ roller blade trigger
Shocker Reg.
CP on/off
Trinity fedd neck
Full Freak Kit
Strengths: easy Bolt out the back Cleaning
Weaknesses: Set up to get all the bugs worked out
Review: Lets start of by saying that I love the ION. Lucky is a genius at what he does but even a genius over looks things.

I got my very exspensive lucky s5 body in the mail. I say this is the best looking upgrade for the ION. I start disassembling my ION and prepair it for the Stage 5. Lucky siad that the only QEV that works on the stage 5 is a clipboard style, Not realy but it does make things easyer. Every thing is ready to be put together I air it up and what do I get, a huge leak. No problem most guns leak when you do such a upgrade and being that I am the ION tech at one of the local Shops I can fix anything on a ION, So I thought. I find that the leak is coming down the bolt, solution replace the oring on the bolt stop. So I take out my tools and begian to disasymble the gun. Wow this back cap is really tight. I check the air pressure and its at null. So I work at it some more and end up stripping the little hole in the cap out. Now I'm mad, this thing is new and cost me $200. So after some different technics to try to get this off I end up drilling a hole throught he cap to place a rod trough it. Trying to get the cap off is still hard. So I apply some muscle to it and get it off to find that the back screw from the frame was putting pressure on the cap, lucky for me the treads are still good.

I take out the green can that Lucky put in for a bolt stop and replace it with the stock bolt stop. Clean the back cap and put it back on air it up and no leaks, Hell Yeah. Now I grab my loader put in some paintball and nothing, what the hell now. I take the barrel off and find that the paintballs are not droping into the breech. I go to luckys forum and find others who have this problem and it is fixable my sending it back to Lucky to have it re-milled. So as of now its going back and I can't wait to get it in working condition.
Conclusion: Looks great feels great tough to work with but is a good upgrade if your one of the lucky 99 to have one. Yes I siad 99 that is all Lucky is going to make of this beautifull body.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media