paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI X-Ray Mask / PMI X-Ray Mask / PMI X-Ray Mask

PMI X-Ray Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI X-Ray Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI X-Ray Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 159
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This goggle is manufactured for PMI by JT USA. Mask features a visor and uses JT Elite lenses.
Product Availability 
The PMI X-Ray Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
brasseagle_h8er Sunday, November 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ive used a different JT mask but i just put it on, never worn it in a game. i used a 32 degrees mask that i dont even know the name of. this is the only mask i ever use most of the time...
Marker Setup: an upgraded piranha g2 vtl, a 2002 rebel, and a tippmann model 98 custom........
Strengths: -Cheap
-Durable
-Nice little viser for it
-Looks cool
-Pretty comfortable (but i recommend using a hat it fits much better that way)
-Made by a good company
-Has a little extra neck prtection
Weaknesses: -Fogs if your a heavy breather
-When you get shot in the lense its so hard to wipe off and it just smears
-Not a thermal lense
-The plasitc is hard, guranteed bust if your shot there...i think thats why people keep aiming for my mask......
-I got shot in the lense with red paint and it wouldnt come off, its just stained on there. i tried everything and its still there so i guess the lense is hard to break but its kinda cheap.
-Sweaty if you were it too long
-It's really itchy, i cant tell if its the mask or just some cat hair stuck in the foamy part...
Conclusion: Overall, a good mask. not the best in the world but you get what you pay for. $30 is well worth this mask. i got it as a newbie and i still have it and use it today. i got shot in the mouth once and it splattered and the mask bent and i got a fat lip and tasted some paint but i barely consider that something thats bad about this mask, it can happen to anyone. get it as a newbie then later buy something else. since this mask is so cheap and its lasted so long without having anything break, im giving it a 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

renegade_pball Saturday, October 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 10 PMI piranhas, pmi 200 round loaders, pmi x-ray masks, 12 ounce pure energy co2 bottles ------I will be writing reviews on these products as well
Strengths: As a field owner, these masks do the trick just fine:
they are solid
good comfort
rather good range of sight
cheap
good overall protection coverage
they look kind of cool
Weaknesses: Mask likes to slide down your head due to only one back strap. What I do is wear a backwards hat to keep it up.
Fogging up tends to be an issue. Mine came with anti-fog inserts. If you get these, don't even waste your time with them. They might hold the fog off for a couple minutes longer, but once they start to fog, it gets trapped under them and does't air out. It is worse in the long run. Just use anti-fog spray or try the shaving cream trick that the next review suggests. (i never tried it myself, but i will next chance I get............never know!)
kind of hard to clean.........especially when you have to do 10 OF THEM!!! ARRRGGGGG!!!!!
Oh ya, the straps don't hold their adjustment too well. They slip after a while. It's not too much of an issue most of the time, but if it gets bad you can use a safety pin.
Conclusion: pretty good for the price. You can definately do worse for the same price like some of the JT's.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 18th, 2004 at 3:28 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

justin14_ Friday, May 9th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Ize goggles, 32 degrees head case.
Marker Setup: an upgraded piranha g2 vtl, a 2002 rebel, and a tippmann model 98 custom with a 16' taso winforce barrel........
Strengths: -Cheap
-Detachable visor
-Durable
-Made by JT
Weaknesses: -Hard plastic that will make a paintball bust
Review: I've had this mask for 2 years now and I still use it whenever I play rec (My JT IZE goggles are too bright)...So far I haven't had to replace the lense but if I were you I would replace it every 5 or 6 months so it doesn't break. I've been shot in the lense at least 5 times and it has a stain on it because I couldn't get all the paint off before it dried a little. I got shot in the mouth once and it made my lip numb and I got to taste paint which kinda sucked. The visor is kinda pointless...I haven't ever needed it. The field of view isn't very good either. It's also not good if you wear big glasses. It's kinda itchy but I think the reason why mine is is because it might have some cat hair in the foamy part. The foamy part isn't as foamy and squishy as the more expensive masks but you get what you pay for. Also, it fogs if you breathe really heavy or its really hot and humid outside. It protects part of your neck which is really good because it really bugs to get shot in the neck and you wouldn't need a neckguard thing as badly. The lense isn't thermal but you can pay extra to get one that is thermal. When you wipe off all the paint on the lense you really need some lense cleaner or something because with mine it always smears. I like the strap. It has this sticky stuff on the inside of it so its really hard to get it to loosen while your wearing it. It's also good for big-headed people. This mask fits really well but its much better if you wear a hat so that its tighter. Manufactured by JT which is good because PMI products aren't very good.
Conclusion: Good mask for newbies. For the price it's a really nice mask. Get it as a newbie then get something else when your more experienced. After having it for 2 years it hasn't broken or anything so I'm giving it a 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Murph1 Thursday, November 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Alpha 2000's - Similar peripheral vision, however they fogged like mofo's, unlike this set.
Marker Setup: CCI Backbottle stock class phantom. .45 frame, acid blue.

Backup - Brass Eagle Raptor - Eagleworks barrel.
Strengths: First off let me say that this mask is completely superior to my previous mask. The thermal lenses are so nice, I can see what I'm doing now :D

Some say the peripheral vision is limited. I personally disagree, I hardly if ever look out far enough with just my eyes to notice.

Much more comfortable, the foam doesn't dig in and scratch your brow all to heck.

A good buy.
Weaknesses: Really not much wrong with this mask. It's a pain in the butt to get the lenses off, but what do you expect, it's made for PMI by JT.
Conclusion: Strongly recommend. You can't go wrong unless you absolutely HAVE to have spectra lenses or wider Field of View. I give it a 10, as it's the best I've ever used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PhoenixWolf Friday, December 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra - Far superior
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
JCS Folding Combat Stock
Armson Stealth Barrel 16"
Various other upgrades

68 Carbine
Tippmann 14" Sniper Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Cheap
Protects your face
Unlikely to ever break
Weaknesses: HOT
Poor field of vision
Hard to clean / change lens
Loose fit
Review: Well, I started with this mask when I got my marker. It's a decent enough mask to start with, but honestly there's many better for the money. Firstly, I live in Arizona, so I know a properly ventilated mask when I wear one. This thing is absolutely terrible for ventilation. It's hot in the goggles, you get no airflow, and even under the mask itself, your breathing makes it stuffy.

That said, it does offer relatively good protection. It is long in the front, which offers some neck protection. It also offers complete forehead protection and a visor. Unfortunately, this comes at a price, a price of increased heat. Your forehead normally radiates heat, so covering it makes you sweat more. The visor is utterly useless, and actually prevents wind from getting in the top goggle vents, exacerbating the temperatures and any fogging problems. No thermal lens turns the problem from very bad to very ugly. Removing the visor should be the first thing you do.

The mask itself is made of a fairly strong, stiff plastic. You'll retire it long before you break it. The strap at the back is not the best. It tends to stretch and require greater tightening over time. I never had to replace a lens, but the one time I removed it for cleaning, I wished I hadn't. This thing is a royal pain to remove and you're always afraid you'll break the pins or tear the goggle rubber. Putting it back is another challenge.

The field of vision on this mask is not exactly great, and I believe this contributes to a lot of the tunnel vision rookies have. When you can't see what's to the side of you with a glance, you tend to stop looking. Loss of situational awareness results in additional eliminations that you would not otherwise have suffered. This just isn't a good thing overall, since it can seriously impact your performance.
Conclusion: Ultimately, the mask is an older design that is way past its time. It has numerous flaws that are common to low end masks, and none of them are really fixable. You can get a new Spectra Proshield for less money than you'd pay for this mask, and it is superior in every single way. It's effectively a high end mask at a low price. Don't buy the X-Ray. It's just not worth it when there's so much better available.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pattons3rd Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none. 1st and only mask
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c Response
Flatline barrel
remote line
72ci 3000psi Pure energy nitro tank

Spyder Shutter stock
20oz Tank

Zap ZXS 200/Winchester Laredo 80 Pump
Strengths: Cheap
Good for beginners
Weaknesses: Too hard
Not good side vision
Fogs
Review: I got this as my first mask. $20 at Dicks. the only reason i havnt gotten a new one is because ive used the money to boost my gun. and besides, antifog works fine. spray, wipe, let sit, then go play. do that before every round and your fine. i wouldnt reccomend it for the more experienced guys (they already have these probably and have moved up). I'm lookin at the Vforce.
Conclusion: If your a newbie and short on cash, get this. If your experinced, dont get this. get a good JT or Vforce. But seeings as it does its job, i give it a ...
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 3rd, 2005 at 4:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trailer_trash Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alpha 2000, Game Face skull (what i use now)
Marker Setup: VL maxis with ricochet 2k and 14"pmi razzor barrel 20oz pure E
Strengths: *Cheap
*Gets the job done
*Visor
Weaknesses: *Fogs a bit
*Heavy (for me)
*Bounce
Review: Well it gets the job done
it was my first goggle system (if i don't count the alpha 2000 i gave to a friend)
it bounces when you run
also it doesn't fit small heads
since my head is small i wear it fully tightend and when you get hit it will move up (kinda scary)
if that kid with the 98c r/t would have used the r/t on auto it would have taken the mask off !

this could be good or bad, but when the mask gets hit the ball will always break,
which doesn't hurt or slap you; but it won't deflect the shot
Conclusion: Decent noob mask
but if you can, get at least a $30-40 mask
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

froxt Saturday, October 30th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
v-force armor mask
Marker Setup: Blue Piranha E-Force GTI w/flush cocking
Pure Energy 20oz co2 w/Smart Parts anti-siphon and on/off valve
Ricochet Apache smoke
Dye Boomstick 14" blue
Dye Barrel Sock Grey
Strengths: Protects my eyes
Paintball places let me wear it
Cheap
Weaknesses: Everything else
Review: The only way to make this mask a little better is to get a new lens or carry around lots of antifog. The lens is really hard to clean and get out. It is really uncomfortable to wear. I have used the v-force armor mask. It doesnt fog up at all. I is also a lot more comfortable than this mask. if you have a choice, get the v-force armor mask instead of this.
Conclusion: Please don't get it. Get a v-force armor mask.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 31st, 2005 at 12:45 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

greybeard Monday, July 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
v-force morph
Marker Setup: spyder victor with numerous add-ons
Strengths: Protects head and face well. I've never ate paint with it on.
Weaknesses: Fogs during warm ,humid conditions. Lenses are tough to get out. Hard plastic.
Review: This is a cheap basic mask. It is comfortable but very annoying when it fogs up. This hard mask does protect you well .I drilled extra holes in this mask for more ventilation and it still fogs up. If this mask didn't fog so much I would recommend it. But I can not. Not worth it unless you play in temps. 60 degrees or less. This was my first mask because I didn't want to spend much money but a mistake cuz a good mask is very important in paintballing. If ya can't see ya can't shoot.
Conclusion: Buy it if you paint ball on cool days and you're cheap. Other wise spend an extra 40-50$ more for a decent mask.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

erik vandenavon Wednesday, June 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: game face e rex pro halo b 48/3000
backup: pmi blak maxx
Strengths: cheap
strong
comfortable
nice lens for price range
better than other 20 dollar masks
Weaknesses: none for the price
Review: i got it 2 years ago in a kit. i didn't start playing paintball until a year ago. it is a great mask for 20 bucks. it is allot better than those brass eagle ones that break after an hour of trying to assemble it and trying to fit on your face without it falling off. it is great if you are new to paintball. it is the best mask i have seen for 20 bucks. it does fog but not as much as other 20 dollar ones. it is strong and should last you a long time. it is a little hard to clean in the little cracks it has around the lens but it is no big deal
Conclusion: it is a good starting mask but once you get some experience i would get a more expensive JT mask.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media