paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Armotech Black Ops Premium Paintballs / Armotech Black Ops Premium Paintballs / Armotech Black Ops Premium Paintballs

Armotech Black Ops Premium Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Armotech

Buy Armotech Black Ops Premium Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Armotech Black Ops Premium Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Manufactured by Hovid in a state of the art plant in the North West of Ireland. Black Ops paintballs are completely round, travel as straight as an arrow and break on impact.

Black Ops paintballs are produced to the highest quality standards in a pharmaceutical environment. We monitor feedback from our customers to provide a paintball that you will want to fire again and again..

Currently, Black Ops Premium come in bright green fill. These are without doubt the best paint for the heavy duty player. If you are a recball, woods, or serious scenario player Black Ops will give you an edge the other side will definitely feel.

Black Ops Paintballs are the only brand endorsed by Armotech.
Product Availability 
The Armotech Black Ops Premium Paintballs are older, so they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Padre Wednesday, September 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
well, I've shot almost every ball out there...
Marker Setup: Tippmann, A5 Flatline e-Grip Low-Presure.
Tippmann, 98 custome, Flatline
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything that will handle a medium to large diamiter ball.
Strengths: HEAVY "weighty ball"
THICK FILL
Consistent and Accurate
Good Price
Weaknesses: One Color... Green.
But the Green does change shades form lot to lot.
Review: This is great Paint. If you play Woods-ball/ Mil-Sim you must at least try this paint. If you shoot the Flatline or the Apex (I think it was designed for these.) you must at least try this paint. I don't play Speed-ball but I would guess if you did you would not care for this paint as much, I don't think it has that brittle factor I always here you talk about. The fill is very thick and hard to wipe. Hits are very visible. Very accurate with Shells that are nice and round, not dimpled nor can you feel the seam. Price is around $60 a case.
Conclusion: Price vs Quality, It is the best paint I have used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Frogboybri Thursday, October 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
XBall - Thinner Fill, more seam
Evil - Thinner fill, grainy shell, more brittle
Marballizer - Thinner fill, more brittle, better shape
PMI Premium - No comparison, horrible seams
MidEvil - Grainy shell, worse seams
Marker Setup: SpecOps A5A2
14" J&J Ceramic
Palmer Stabilizer
E-Grip
DOP Bolt and Tube
Recommended
Barrels:
It is a large ball, but I have used them successfully in Ceramics, Ultralite, Apex, BoomStick, SnapShot, BigShot, and Flatline
Strengths: THICK, Bright Fill
Strong, brittle shell
Weaknesses: 1/200 or so are WILDLY deformed
Rubbery texture holds deformations due to pod pressure
Review: I have used a lot of different paintballs, all of the high-ends at least, and these are my favorite. They are consistent, have virtually no seam, are highly visible (both in the air and on your opponents), and they are practically impossible to break in the bag or in your pods. I have shot over 10,000 of these balls and have not had a single breakage. I haven't had results like that with any other brand.

The biggest difference I have seen is the FILL. The bright, almost neon green paint is visible from over 100 yards (tested on the local high school football field), and it DOES. NOT. RUN. EVER. Read that again, because it is huge. We did some informal tests on the fills in several high end paints, by opening them over a piece of plywood, allowing them to pool, then turning theboard to vertical. Every paint ran to some degree or another except the Black Ops. It literally stayed exactly where we put it. We left the plywood up overnight and by the next day it still had not dripped. To see if that would hold up when fired from a marker, we fired single shots from 20 yards at a fresh piece of plywood. Again, every paint ran except the Black Ops. After being shot with it on the field, I can also attest to the fact that it stays in place during a firefight. I wear digital woodland camo on the field and was hit at the same time from two sides by a green Marballizer and a Black Ops. The Marballizer's fill was absorbed into my camo's almost immediately, and the dark green fill was nigh-invisible. The Black Ops looked like a melted crayon sitting on my sleeve. I walked all the way back to the field's store and it still had not begun to absorb into my clothing.

The SHELL is the only weak point for these balls. It is very thick and plastic. It is still brittle and breaks easily on impact, but it absolutely refuses to break for any other reason. The plasticity of the shell poses a problem if you have a tendency to overpack your pods to reduce rattling. Any deformation due to the pressure from the pods will remain when they are unloaded into your hopper. A perfectly round ball can be turned into a permanent egg by pod pressure, which does nothing for your accuracy. The thick shell does keep it from breaking in your barrel, though, so it does make up for it a little bit. The seams on these balls is non-existent. I have yet to fire a ball that winged away due to a seam flap.

Finally, the only really bad point is that you will find 10-20 "mutants" in any given case. I don't mean dimples or anything simple like that. In fact, they never have dimples or inconsistent fills. When I say "mutants," I mean it. Think two-headed cat mutants. I found one that seriously looked like a peanut, with two sparate lobes and everything. Be sure to go through the case when you get it to weed these out of the bunch. They are very obvious sitting among the perfectly round balls, and are easy to remove.
Conclusion: On an objective scale, nothing deserves a 10, because nothing is perfect. But since nothing is perfect, an objective scale is useless. Subjectively, these balls are better than ANYTHING I have used before, so they are the current top of the heap, 10 out of 10. At full retail, they are still 25% less expensive than Marbs or Evils, so how can you possibly go wrong? Buy a case - you'll never go back.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 20th, 2005 at 12:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Knight of Hate Monday, June 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marbalizers: Less accurate and more prone to break in the barrel than Black Ops, but still a decent paintball.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with the following modifications/upgrades: 32 Degrees Macroline Kit With Elbow & Straight Fitting, Bushnell Banner 1-4 x 32mm Riflescope, EastGate Design Hopper Adapter, G&G S.R.R. Scope Ring Riser W/FLIP Rear Sight for Flat Top Upper Receiver, Opsgear Barrett Style GAS THRU Tippmann A5 Sniper MAG, Palmer's Pursuit Shop Stabilizer, Proteam Products Solid F/X Sniper Stock, Ricochet R5 Hopper, Star QD Knight's Type Flip-Up Front Sight for 20mm Top Rail, Tippmann A5 EGrip, Underground Mod Shop 98C Flatline for A5, Underground Mod Shop Striker Rail, Unknown Brand Coiled Remote, G&P Jungle Series for RAS QD M203 Grenade Launcher Short, Pure Enegry 12oz CO2 Tank, RAP4 M203 Thunder Grenade.
Recommended
Barrels:
Tippmann A-5 Flatline, UMS 98 Flatline for A-5.
Strengths: Well made
Accurate
Excellent shell and paint
Case is reusable
Weaknesses: Only one color choice
Review: I started using this paint a little over a year ago for my A-5. Back then, I was using Marbalizers and an A-5 Flatline. I now use an A-5 with an Underground Mod Shop 98 Flatline for A-5, and with either barrel, Black Ops is by far the best paint I have ever used.

The two aspects of Black Ops paint that separates it from other paintballs are the fill and the shell. The fill of the paint is bright green, and is very thick. Many people have commented that this makes the paint harder to wipe; I tend to agree with this, although I haven't done any side-by-side testing to confirm this. The bright green fill does make it very easy to determine if you have hit your target, however. Like most paintball fills, it is biodegradable. The shell of the paint is slightly thicker than most paintballs, and the seam on the paint is practically invisible to both sight and touch.

The thicker shell does raise some questions, however. I was initially concerned with the possibility that the thicker shell would mean that the paint would break on impact less often, or it would require greater velocity. I haven't come across any problems so far. Speedball freaks who care about minute differences in paintball breaking points may want to do some careful testing before choosing this paint. For the rest of us, I am convinced that there is no practical difference. Bottom line: it breaks when I shoot at things, and that's all I need.

The reliability of this paint is unreal. I can count the number of breaks in my barrel on one hand. That's around 3-5 breaks in over a year. With most other paints I've used, I would get at least one break during the course of a day of play. This is the area where I am most impressed with Black Ops's performance. The way my marker is set up, it is not easy to remove my barrel, so I am very thankful that I do not have to clean a ball break during the middle of a playing day.

And as if all that isn't a good enough reason to use this paint, a sweet bonus to this deal is the case that the paint comes in. It is made of a thick, durable plastic, has a built-in carry handle, and it closes like those green ammo cans you see in military surplus stores. These cases are very useful, and can be used for all sorts of things. I have one that holds all of my paintball grenade launcher stuff, and another that holds a bunch of misc. parts for my A-5. Of course, this case is also a great way to carry the paint that comes in it. You get one of these cases with every order, so chances are if you use this paint for long enough, you'll have so many of these things you won't know what to do with them. Still, it's a huge bonus.

A final note: I don't play speedball. Therefore, I have no idea what kind of attributes speedballers look for in their paint. If you are considering this paint for use in speedball, take this review at your own risk!
Conclusion: The only reason why I am giving this paint a 9 out of 10 instead a 10 out of 10 is because I haven't really used that many different types of paintballs. Also, more color choices would be nice, though this paint is so much better than anything else I've used, I don't really care. I will likely continue to use it unless they go out of business or they sudenly decide to make an inferior product. One of the best paint choices for woodsball players, period.

Edit: I can't believe I am typing this, but the Black Ops paint that they produce currently is completely different from the stuff they used to make. It turns out that they changed manufacturing facilities from Ireland to Texas. Whatever it is they did, suddenly my shots are noticeably less accurate and I'm getting slightly more in-barrel breaks. Also, the diameter of the paint is much smaller. Before, this was a 9 out of 10. As it is now, I have to downgrade it to a 7. I'll be looking for something else for my Flatline.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 22nd, 2006 at 7:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bigauggy Friday, March 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Origin Basic training, marbs, anything diablo, etc
Marker Setup: A5 with RT, 14"JT barrel, polished internals, HPA, double trigger.
Recommended
Barrels:
Mine is the only barrel i have ever used with these paintballs.
Strengths: Thick shelled. Good fill. No seams. No dimples. Fly RITE
Weaknesses: Thick shelled. Bounces. $55 bucks a case where i play. x_x(ouch)
Review: I have been using these for the last year when i play scenario, and i havent had any problems with them. I have had some bounces but that was also at long distance. I have had maybe a dozen that i can remember that didnt break over the last year. Is a bit expensive, but most of you will be able to justify paying that much for paint.
Conclusion: These are good paintballs.

Better than throwing rocks :)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1stCavSoldier Sunday, November 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
About everything made
Marker Setup: X-7 E-Grip, Flatline, Trinity Bi-Pod fore-grip, CAR Stock, Remote line, Red Dot sight
Recommended
Barrels:
Flatline, or Hammerhead
Strengths: Thickness it never breaks in the barrel.
Weaknesses: Doesn't store well for me.
Review: I love this paint and it is the paint used at my home field Tactical paintball. It shoots very well and can make it through some brush and tall grass. I highly recommend it to anyone who plays outdoors, or everyone who uses a flatline barrel. It is real thick and hard to wipe so it is great for big games. And it is almost impossible to find a seam on it.
Conclusion: Buy it! This is a great THICK paintball!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hellhammer321 Sunday, August 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really best paint i have used
Marker Setup: AT 4 sniper with 8 standard black mags, and then a hopper mag with Qloaders, tiberius 8 for a side arm.
also a older 98 custom with a flatline and stock not much for upgrades
Recommended
Barrels:
a larger barrel,
works great for flatlines A5 and 98c
actual size is about .688
Strengths: accuracy
no seams what so ever
thick fill
Bright fill
Very tough shell
Weaknesses: Not a weakness but only 1 color
Not good for smaller barrels
Review: i've been using this ball for awhile now and i have to say that it is really great paint for rec ball or woods ball. it has such an amazingly thick fill that when you hit people they aren't going to annoyingly wipe it away. its thick shell is wonderful for punching though bushes and light flora stuff, which is really hard to find in a paintball, i obviously us a sniper and i have to say this is the most accurate paint i have ever used! i have used 12000 of these in both my 98c and my AT 4 and have had 2 breaks EVER. only thing i have to say bad about it really is that it is such a large ball that when my friend with a spider needs paint i cant give him any.
and the last and one of the most important things is that its only about $50 and it comes in a really cool case
Conclusion: If you play rec ball or woodsball this is great paint, if you play speed ball its not to brittle so you might have problems
i give it 9 out of 10 just because it is very what you can use it in
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MAD_3R Marauder Tuesday, October 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marbalizer, PMI Premium, Stinger
Marker Setup: 98c w/ Flatline, RT
Strengths: Think fill. Thick shell punches through light brush. Nice multi-use case
Weaknesses: To think of a shell
Review: I used this paint for the first time at Tactical Paintball's battle of Khe Sanh event. First thing I notice is the case it's self. Nice hard plastic, carry handle, and a small upper compartment for swab or tools. Then to look at the paint, it comes in bags just big enough to hold the paint, and sealled, not twist tied. This makes pouring it into pods difficult. I ended up pouring it into the case, THEN into the pods. In the two cases I podded up, there were no breaks, and all seemed round and with a minnimum of flat spots.

Once on the field, I got a good feel for the paint. It flew mostly streight, and fed well. The fill is thick. I mean REALLY thick. Almost impossable to wipe. Also the bright green is almost neon, and shows well.

On the reciving end of the paint, I started to see some issues. It bounces. ALOT!!

It bounced off my mask, my knee, my chin. I don't know if this is normal or if, sence it was here in Texas, it was heat damadged.
Conclusion: I want people to use this ON me sence it bounces so well. I will stick to Marbalizer.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xx THE WOLF xx Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
MARBS
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
Pro-Team M4 F/X Commando Stock
JCS Red Hot Power Tube
JCS Rear Peep Sight
ShockTech Superfly II Front Bolt
TechT Vortex Mod - Cyclone
TechT Lightning Rod
Trinity Spring Kit
Vertical Expansion Chamber
47/3000 Crossfire HPA Tank
Spec Ops Weaver Rail
ARMS Eotech Riser Mount
Bushnell Holosight
Recommended
Barrels:
GTA Flatline
Palmer Brass 12"
Strengths: Good Diameter for Faltline Barrel
Very Hard Shell
Thick Fill
Accurate
Weaknesses: Tendency to Bounce dur to hardness of shell
Review: This is a very good paintball for GTA Flatline users. It has a slightly smaller diameter than MARBS and had a very symetric and hard shell. They fly very straight and do not have many breaks in the barrel. The only real weakness is there tendecy to bounce due to their shell hardness.

Some did not like that they only came in one color GREEN, but they just added RED as an option which is pretty cool.
Conclusion: If you use a Flatline Barrel or are looking for an accurate paintball which has minimal chances of breaks give these a try.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bruceruby Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
rps evil(the best), x-ball gold, all stars, blaze, mobilizers, and others
Marker Setup: a-5, e-trigger,low pressure kit, flatline barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
need a freak with a large insert, these paintballs are large, they fit tight in my .697 insert
Strengths: Very tough, hardly a seam, very round, no dimples,
Weaknesses: Just to big
Review: I purchased a freak barrel to put on my a-5 just to get this paintballs to work somewhat, but even with a .697 insert they fit tight and can be very inaccurate. I don't have a lot of breakage even though they are big. I like they way they are constructed, round, no dimples, and hardly a seam, but they need to bring the size down.
Conclusion: Try another paintball
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media