paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Paintball Stuff SideKick Semi / Paintball Stuff SideKick Semi / Paintball Stuff SideKick Semi / Paintball Stuff SideKick Semi

Paintball Stuff SideKick Semi Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Paintball Stuff

Buy Paintball Stuff SideKick Semi

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Paintball Stuff SideKick  Semi
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $98

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features an all brass CNC machined valve, delrin bolt, 7" brass barrel, spring fed loader, & polymer body.
Product Availability 
The Paintball Stuff SideKick Semi is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Unregistered User Thursday, February 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This gun is unique.
Marker Setup: Ronin Tactical Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
A holster.
Strengths: Ludicrously light weight. Even gassed and loaded it weighs under a pound.

Suprisingly accurate for a pistol, shot consistancy is good provided you dont blaze away on the trigger and you have adequate gas in the 12-gram.

Great for scenario play.

Excellent warranty.
Weaknesses: A few minor problems with the gun:

It won't hold a charge very long. This means you cant have it holstered with the 12 gram screwed in and expect to draw later and start firing (well you can but dont expect to get very many shots off before it sputters and dies). Solution - pierce the 12gram only when you are ready to shoot.

On mine the end of the feed tube fell out while I was walking around, I never found it. It was still under the initial 30 day warranty so it should be replaced for free.

No ball detent! If you run around with the gun holstered long enough, paintballs will fall down into the barrel. I drew my sidekick at a scenario game, pierced the 12gram and was ready to fire when I suddenly realized (to my horror) that there were EIGHT PAINTBALLS in the barrel of the gun and only 2 in the feed tube. Thats pretty retarded.
Conclusion: I still havn't decided whether or not to send this gun back for a refund. I'm impressed with the weight and feel of the gun, its also suprisinly accurate.

The end of the feed tube falling out wasnt that big of a deal, probably just a fluke - and easy to fix with superglue if necesary.

The lack of a ball detent is annoying but I could fix this by constructing an extra-long barrel plug.

But the big drawback of the Sidekick, in my opinion, is its lack of ability to hold a charge. Here is what the manufacturers have to say about this problem:

"Slight leaking down the barrel is actually common and defined by the following cases. You charge up the SideKick Semi with a 12 gram. Several hours later you go to shoot it and find that it only shoots a few shots or not at all. In this case you may or may not hear a leak. This is actually normal for the SideKick. It is NOT designed to hold pressure for long periods of time."

To me, that kind of defeats the purpose of carrying around a backup weapon. What good is a sidearm if you cant draw it and start firing immediately?

The "Sidekick Short" is now out so I may trade in for that, but I'm also doing more research into the PT Extreme. We'll see.....
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 19th, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I have had this gun for only two weeks, but I have used it several times. For a sidearm its not a bad shooter, accurate and relatively quiet. Out of the holster at point shoulder aim I can hit a man sized target at 25 yards without problem. The 12 gram is good for about 20 shots, but the last few are a bit on the slow side. I played one game with it as my primary and got two eleminations with it.

I also used it for training at my department. My buddy is on the Special Operations Unit and invited me along to be an aggressor. They use Spyders with 9 oz tanks and 30 rd box hoppers to simulate MP5s. I was impressed how well I stood up to the Spyders. I went to ground several times and once dropped it into the mud. I picked it up and continued fireing away. After that scenario I opened it up to find mud in the chamber area. I hosed it out with a garden hose and lubed it up after. I shot just fine.
Weaknesses: The entire weapon is a bit long for holster use. I am going to get some nylon strapping and buckles to make a drop down thigh holster. This should be a little more comfortable and keep te muzzle out of the dirt.

A quicker method of changing the 12 grams would be nice, mabye a interuppted screw or notched screw would be a great help.

Although there is a small ammount of oil in the 12 gram to lube up the valves on BB and pellet guns (but you diddnt know that one did ya)!0 I would like to have a oiling hole to allow me to get lube into the valve/chamber area.

Conclusion: Its not bad. I got mine used from a friend and payed a fair ammount. But as the PT Enforcer is out at almost the same ammount of money its overpriced. I wouldnt pay more than $75 new. The SideKick has its work cut out for it compared to the PT Enforcer.

As some players will use these for indoors and scenario games I would have liked to see attachments for mini-mag flashlights and so on. (The PT has lugs underneith for lazers and lights) This would be a great gun for the infiltrator or vehicle driver on a scenario game.

Over all I am happy with it. I have always had a back up, in fact I have had the same PGP for 12 years. I even ref with it on. But now its for sale as I have this one. I look forward to another 12 years with my SideKick.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, November 25th, 2000
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: For a plastic gun this sucker is pretty tough. It's made of some sort of polymer that is really quite durable. It has a brass barrel and a spring fed 10 round clip. It takes a 12 gram in the handle and does have a constant air adaptor as an option. The warranty is unparalleled in the industry (except for maybe Tippmann because of their great customer support on every gun they own-- even those which haven't been made in 10 years!). They have a 30 day *unconditional* return policy and a lifetime warranty-- $20 will fix ANY problem even if its gross misuse of the product. They actually say that if you run it over with a tractor they're replace it. But seriously speaking-- the gun is pretty durable. It has a brass valve similar to the PGP. The trigger pull is suprisingly light and the manufacturer states it about 3lbs. It's easy to burn off rapid-fire bursts with this gun.
Weaknesses: Its unfortunate that I have to say bad things about this marker because I'm really happy with their customer service. But, every new gun has its share of problems and this one isn't alone. Here are things I noticed with my gun. Your mileage may vary, of course. The brass barrel has machine marks on it and looked like it needed to be re-honed. The spring feed is sort of rigged together. It's a cap with a cut-down 10 round tube with a spring in it. One must load balls into the gun and then cap it off with the 10 round {actually 8 or 9 effectively) cap. I can't comment too much on consistancy since I've had problems with it leaking. It appears that the 12-gram piercing unit is press-fit into the valve. This makes it prone to leaking since there's no real seal there (atleast that I could see). Constant air adaptor isn't notched so as to prevent it from spinning around. This got annoying real quick (even with a 3.5oz tank). Have heard reports of people having balls roll into the barrel when running with it holstered so when they pulled the gun on someone they had a few balls backed up in the barrel and it didn't work. (This is, of course, when it wasn't slowly leaking).. For a pistol it's a bit on the large side (being as large as a Splatmaster, so far as I can remember). It reminds me of a splatmaster in that it's plastic, a hell of a lot of fun to shoot, and leaks. Like the previous person said it is very finnicky about air. It fired just fine when I received it. I used a fresh 12-gram and ripped off 5 or 10 shots all in a row with nice accuracy at 30 feet (very little kick/etc). I got it home and it would either lock the bolt in the forward position or just leak like crazy. It's unfortunate.
Conclusion: Some words in defense of the Sidekick...

It's still a very new gun (umm.. came out around April 2000 I think)..

It's a good price for what you get (metal barrel, nice polymer body)..

The warranty is PHENOMINAL and unparalleled!

Customer service for the gun was quick and helpful (though I descriped the problem wrong and they sent me out some parts unnecessarily. The seals I was sent were shipped via USPS Priority at a cost of $3.20. That's unheard of! Most places would have just dropped them in an envelope and 5 or 10 days later it would have arrived)..

The website is rather informative (unlike competing products like the WolfPack semi) and hosts as discussion board and other nice things.

This gun has absolutely wonderful potential. Once they get a few things worked out I think it will be one of the best choices as a semi-auto sidearm. As it stands its one of the few semi-auto offerings that isn't custom made (and very expensive to boot). I will disagree with the previous review when he recommends the PT Enforcer or PGP as good replacements. The PT enforcer has been plagued with low velocity problems, poor manufacturing quality control (with some batches coming with .710 bore!) and poor owner's manuals.. (It actually says it includes ALIEN wrenches.. Indeed.. alien wrenches are much better than our Earth-made allen wrenches..). The PT enforcer has no holster readily available to my knowledge (without going to a custom place like Sam Tussing).. The PGP, while an exceptional gun (I own four of them), certainly isn't a replacement for the semi-auto sidekick. It's a pump that requires two hands while the sidekick only requires one. In fact, one could wield a sidekick in both hands and go out on the field Desperado style. That's what I like about them. I do love my PGP's though. :) Anyhow-- if you're considering this gun BUY IT!!! The manufacturer has a 30 day unconditional return policy and their warranty is unparalleled. Their service is great and it's really a neat product. Even with its problems I give the gun an 8 because of the warranty, service, and because it's made in the USA :)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 8:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster (does not compare)
PT Extreme (too heavy)
Marker Setup: C98 w/Flatline, Lapco T-stock, crossfire 45/45 n2
Recommended
Upgrades:
A holster, some sort of grip (glock grips work well, or even hocky tape)
Strengths: I bought the sidekick semi short and haven't noticed a big difference from my friends who have the brass barrell. It's short, light, shoots fast, is easy to draw from a drop leg and is very accurate. I've foudn it to be the perfect back up for when I'm being overrun and my c98 breaks a ball. Also, it's the perfect accompanyment to a c98 w/ a flatline because it's so small. In some cqb the flatline is just too long. It won't hold the charge forever, but I haven't noticed a problem when I charge it before I use it. Also, with a little modification to a 10 rnd tube, you can re-load in just a second.
Weaknesses: Mine stopped working the first time I tried it out. I couldn't figure out what was wrong with it for the life of me. I sent it in and the nice people at Paintball stuff fixed it for free (under warranty). It's been working great since then and the staff of Paintballstuff is so nice, it's not a hassle to have a sidekick fixed.
Conclusion: Great sidearm. I'd say it's an almost perfect one. Great for carrying all day and it's just ever so much fun to surprise people when they charge you thinking you've run out of air!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

4201 Thursday, January 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
no other pistols
Marker Setup: spyder fenix
N2
Recommended
Upgrades:
just dont get it
Strengths: Nothing i can find
Weaknesses: EVERYTHING
Review: ok first off....i bought this gun cause i was going to be in a scenaro game and i wanted a side arm in case i ran out of ammo....i ordered this gun a few years ago and regreted it ever since....the gun was pretty cheaply made....the piece under the barrel had fallen off and snapped...It also ate alot of gas for how poorly it shot...since it pretty much came broken (the spring was also bent right when i took it out of the package) i decided to send it back asking for a refund (i didnt even wait 3 days before doing that) 2 years later i have yet to get my money back. DONT BOTHER.
Conclusion: very crappy product...i havent bought another pistol since but will prolly in the future...im going to stay away from anything plastic like this POS.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ricebrnr Tuesday, July 24th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Had this pistol for about 6 months now, played with it in the backyard and at the range, but hadn't really used it for a back-up until this past Saturday. My M98 ran out of air just as I was chasing someone. He though I was in trouble and came back after me. Luckily there was a tree between us. I drew from my drop leg holster, charged the 12 gram and sure surprised him. He got me first but still, I defended myself, where as he would have had me dead. I haven't experienced any mechanical probs with my Sidekick so far.
Weaknesses: Doesn't hold a charge, but it isn't a prob to tighten the knob last minute.
Balls feed into the barrel when shaken (running with it in a leg holster)-made a barrel plug that is almost as long as the barrel, now that's not a problem either.
Conclusion: The most accurate, lightweight, durable sidearm currently available. Outstanding warranty and great price. READ the reviews for the other sidearms, they all have issues, Sidekick is the best solution to the sidearm yet.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 24th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I own two of these guns and can say without a doubt they are the best sidearm out there. I have owned an Eagle 68, Pt Enforcer, and at one time a PGP. This is exactly what I want from a sidearm. It has a very light composite frame that I have dropped, kicked, sat on and thrown all without consequence. The ROF is only limited by your air supply, 12 gram efficiency is very good, over 25rnds/12 gram and considering it is a sidearm it is mighty accurate. There is litterally no maintainence. I have taken it completely apart just to see what makes it tick, but the design means the bolt is the only moving part and the structure is so tight it is hard to get anyting in the way of the bolt that would block the action.
Weaknesses: The simplicity of this design is both a blessing and a curse. When using a 12gram you can shoot to the point where the 12 gram will freeze. This can happen when the bolt is not behind rhe sear. If the 12 gram doesn't warm up quickly, such as during cold weather play, the gas can leak out the end of the barrel, and you have to reach in and manually recock the bolt. It would be nice if this were easier, but the potential complexity and weight gain of this feature most likely does not warrant its inclusion.
Conclusion: A sidearm is a sidearm. Until they come up with a clip mechanism a la airsoft, sidearms will not be useful as primary weapons. And as sidearms go this is the state of the art. I've seen but not used the PT extreme, but given my experience with the PT Enforcer and the limited design changes I would certainly bet my money on the Sidekick.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Marty Saturday, December 23rd, 2000
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: It arrived via Priority Mail today and I was very impressd by it's light wight,3.lb trigger and very good overall feel.I took it out in my back yard for a little workout and was blown away! To dump 11 shots from a pistol using only one hand was just plain cool .Accuracy and distance were just fine. This will work great as a backup to my Tippman 98 W/Flatline. Worth every penny I spent!!(Dont forget to buy the holster.) P.S. Their warranty rules the world!!
Weaknesses: The "feed tube" could seat more securely,And the safety could be more positive.The cap is next to impossible to remove (perhaps due to it's newness,with a 12-gram inside forget it!)
Conclusion: This pistol is everything you could want as a backup. I don't have any any other semi-pistols to compare it with so I don't know how a PT Enforcer would stack up. If you are toying with the idea of buing a sidekick GO FOR IT!!! There are no need for upgrades because this thing is damn-near perfect!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 29th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Strengths: It's light and it gets the job done. The only reason I am writing a review is because of the two low ratings it got. Look, the gun is a backup weapon. If you are taking this thing out thinking it is a main weapon -- you're dead anyway. What's the most important thing about a sidearm. Weight. Go ahead and get a two pount pistol all day long. I rarely carry mine unless I use my Phantom. Just in case the semis get a little to anxious. Just when they learn think they have you -- bam. I can't comment on your service. Mine broke and I fixed it with superglue -- no big deal. There are guys with Angels and cockers out their chopping. This gun is the best sidearm - period. I'm sure many others will outshoot it. But like I said before, you're dead anyway if this is the only thing you have.
Weaknesses: It broke. The barrel came loose - I glued it back on. The instructions were barely readable
Conclusion: Perfect backup gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP- Pump pistol that is not even in the same league as the sidekick
Marker Setup: SideKick Semi- old version spring loader
Strengths: This gun is the second pistol that I have used and is by far the best. It very accurate and easy to use. The Sidekick is light (made out of a tough polymer) and looks really slick. I recommend this gun to any one that is looking for a hot secondary weapon that shoots great.
Weaknesses: The second time I played with it, it started leaking air but I fixed really easily without even sending it back(1 yr warranty). The gun has a cheap spring loader and it fell off which sucked because it costs $25 to replace! Now it comes with a new loading system-so problem solved.
Conclusion: This pistol is great! Don't get the PT Extreme or Enforcer if you considered them. This gun is where its at! I sprayed the brass barrel and velocity adjuster with black high-temp spray, filed off the sidekick logo, and bought a custom thigh rig. Buy this gun if you even considered getting a pistol.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:54 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media