paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Paintball Stuff SideKick Stock / Paintball Stuff SideKick Stock / Paintball Stuff SideKick Stock / Paintball Stuff SideKick Stock

Paintball Stuff SideKick Stock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Paintball Stuff

Buy Paintball Stuff SideKick Stock

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Paintball Stuff SideKick Stock
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $64

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features all brass CNC valve, polymer body, stock legal, & 5" barrel,
Product Availability 
The Paintball Stuff SideKick Stock is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
sonnemann Thursday, November 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing- this is my first pistol, or pump, or non-CA gun.
Marker Setup: an e-spyder with stuff but who cares
sidekick stock, regular holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a holster, otherwise there's no point unless you use it as a primary (even then it's a good idea)
mebbe a few extra 10-rd tubes, shotgun belt upon which to carry them
Stock up on 12 grams- not needed, but always a good idea...
If you really insist, buy a CA adaptor and put the tank backwards (under the gun) so that it sill still be balanced when holstered. Though it's your decision, I just can't see why people do CA mods, hopper adaptors, and other junk to their pistols...A pistol is meant for holdout situations, not as a high-volume shooter. If you want one of those, buy a Spyder for the same price.
Oh, and I ordered the single loader to force myself to survive on 7-8 shots per reload.
Strengths: cheap
durable plastic is glock-quality
holsterable
accessories
customer service
Weaknesses: plastic
velocity adjuster hard to find for stupid people
cheap-looking trigger
Review: Ok I haven't used this yet so I will update as such.
For starters, I'll describe the gun.
I ordered the Sidekick stock and the standard holster on Friday, and recieved it on Wednesday (The company is in AL, I live in NJ.)
The marker is intimidating, but it doesn't resemble a real gun (a good thing), especially with a 10-rd tube full of pink paint sticking out the front.
Though it is plastic, it's not Beagle plastic- this is more like the stuff on Glocks. Really hard, really durable, really light.
Speaking of light- you'll hardly know it's there on your leg. Less than a pound with paint and 2 12 grams (one "chambered" and one in the top.)
...A good time to mention the top storage. The top part of the marker houses the feed tube and an extra space, covered by a sliding piece. This is meant to hold an extra 12-gram. While not the most convenient/fastest place for a cartridge, It is good for people infiltrating the enemy in scenario games (the pistol is more self-contained.) You can also hold other junk in there, like the barrel plug, and mebbe some other...things...like that...yeah.
The only thing I can see that I don;'t like is the cheap-looking white plastic trigger ( can be fixed.) Spray paint or black tape solves all, people.
Accessoriesavailable on paintballstuff.com- spring-fed loader (illegal for stock play, btw), brass barrel, CA adaptor, tracer system, hi-viz sight, etc, etc, etc. The Mod vesion comes with the brass barrel and spring loader, but is still a pump. The semi version and Semi short are more expensive (more like $98), and are currently out of production due to manufacturing products (check paintballstuff.com to see.)
Holster- the standard version, for 15 bucks, is very nice. It can be used right or left handed, and has a removable and adjustable gun strap. There are also tactical (thigh like the Ronin Gear), single shoulder, and double shoulder holsters available for various prices. If you have 250 bucks lying around rotting, then definitely spring for 2 Sidekick Semis and the double shoulder holster (or a Castor Troy, if you must.) Much scenario fun will ensue. A note: I'm not sure whether the Ronin/ cops911/other holsters will work with the Sidekick. It is thinner and shorter than most other pistols, especially semis, so it would probably be better to stick with the holsters that were made for it.
Paintballstuff also offers a 30 day warranty, and a 20 dollar fee will get you free repairs for life. Very nice customer service- responded to my questions the next day.
Like I said before, I will update this review as far as performance as soon as I play with the Sidekick. For now, as far as appearance, price, and customer service, the Sidekick Stock deserves a 10.

UPDATE
Ok well I still haven't gotten a chance to play with it yet, but I managed to procure some 12-grams and gas it up. No leaks, VERY smooth pump stroke (almost nonexistent), and, contrary to what other reviews said, I found it to be quite quiet, but that doesn't really matter. Again, I shall update when I play.

UPDATE AGAIN
Ok it's only been a day but I loaded and gassed the gun and went out to shoot some in the backyard. The first thing I noticed was its weight- it's surprisingly light, even with a spare CO2 in the top. The only thing I disliked was the slight unbalance because of the light grip frame, and the solid brass internals. This doesn't matter, though, as a pistol isn't meant for aimed, long-range shots that require a balanced gun.
Standing at one end of my backyard, around 20 yeards from a 12x12 target, I could consistently place shots either on top of one another, or very close to that. I never missed the target, and got about 40 shots from a 12-gram. The Sidekick never chopped a ball (for one, it's a pump, and I was using RPS Premium, which I find to be a respectable mid-range paint.) The max bps is maybe 2, but again, this is a pump pistol, and isn't meant to put a lot of paint downrange. I didn't need, expect, or particularly want an autotrigger on the Sidekick, and there is none.
As far as performance (in tests), the Sidekick shattered my expectations, and will be a definite keeper in my box o' paintball junk. More updates to come, as soon as I get enough money to go paintballing...only 30 more...(spyder e-frame=lots of paint money needed)

UPDATE
Whoa, guys 2 updates in one day- try not to wet yourselves. I have come to the conclusion that there is, indeed, a velocity adjuster on the Sidekick stock. Included with the gun was an aluminum tool with an allen key in one end. Now, just inspecting the gun, I have seen that there is a screw that appears to be the same size, on the front of the bolt. I cannot tell if it is indeed a velocity screw, because I don't own a chronograph. Oh well, I'll just wait until I get to the field.

UPDATE
Went plinking the other day, out of my friend's back window. Using fairly old PMI Premium, and with the velocity turned all the way down, we were able to hit a 4-inch tree trunk consistently at about 40 feet. The Sidekick, as stated before, is not a longballing gun, but even with the velocity down we were able to shoot fairly far accurately. Again, excellent efficiency, in the area of 30-40 balls per 12g. There was some leakage, but that was my stupid fault for not screwing in the 12 gram cap all the way. My friend was impressed with the short, smooth, easy pump stroke of the Sidekick (though he is used to that of his rather temperamental Trracer.) As soon as he (finally) buys his 98c we'll go to the local field (ABC) after which I can provide more incredibly useful information on the Sidekick.
As for the other reviews and their problems with the 12g not keeping its charge, it has not been a problem for me. I put in a fresh one, fired off about 5 shots, then fell asleep. (No, I'm not narcoleptic, I was just showing it off to my friends.) The next morning, I took it home and was surprised to see that I could still get around 25 shots with the remaining CO2 (27, to be exact.)

UPDATE
Took it to the field. At the target range, sucessfully plinked all 10 Marbs onto a nice little round target about 40 feet away. The old Premium I had mentione before, which by this time was really old, caused some chopping problems. This, of course, stopped when I switched to fresh Marbs.
The field sells Diasy 12gs. I don't recommend these- they're notoriously hard to pierce, and the Copperhead (or even Beagle) 12gs are much easier to pierce. I suspect this is because the Daisy cartridges are made for BB guns.
I attempted to play a game of speedball with the Sidekick. The accuracy is incredible. This, my friends, is the ultimate cure for the sprayer-and-prayer. It teaches you to actually aim your shots and make them count. After an exhilarating bunker charge that earned me a chestful of point-blank paint, courtesy of an Impulse, I am liking this little pocket rocket more and more.
Still deserves a 10/10.
Conclusion: So far, very nice, inexpensive, and a great company to buy from.
In tests, great performance. No complaints. Probably has a velocity adjuster (will be resolved soon.) (EDIT) Has a velocity adjuster on the front of the bolt. Stupid me. A very nice sidearm or entry-level stock marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 17th, 2004 at 9:18 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Sarge Monday, December 4th, 2000
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Very inexpensive, sturdy, cool looking. Great back up sidearm. Light. Fun to carry and use.
Weaknesses: When you insert the tube of balls don't shove it in completely or the balls will not drop - push it in and then back a half inch or so. The balls in the tube should be a bit loose to start or they will not drop. 'Rock and Cock' is the order of the day. You should peek through the slit in the side as you cock it to ensure a ball drops until you get the feel for the gun.
Conclusion: I also have a PGP and I like it better. Half the weight of the nearly all metal PGP and all the power. Slider is much easier to pump than a PGP. New out of the box the first shot over the chrony was 275 fps. Most players commented they thought it 'harmless' because of it's plastic look and small size. Not terribly accurate for long shots but great up close. Be careful not to overtighten the screws as the plastic can crack (whoops!). Great little side arm. Lots of fun for night games. C/A adapter is available, but not needed.
Story: My spyder ran out of CO2 in the middle of a game with the usual very loud sputtering sound. A opponent came running full speed towards my position to finish me off. The look on the guy's face was priceless as I popped him with my 'harmless' Slider.
I gave it a 9 because of the sort of finicky way the balls drop from the tube. Otherwise a great little gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gdog5 Saturday, October 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pgps
various pumps and pistols
Marker Setup: too many to list
Recommended
Upgrades:
none are needed, but the brass barrel would be nice
Strengths: Size
Weight
Accuracy
Looks
Adjustable velocity
Weaknesses: Is almost a little too light...
Review: Well i had a review up here for awhile when i initially bought it and i never changed it to reflect what happened. Basically it was shooting fine until one day the front screw on the trigger frame just stripped right out. It was the threaded brass piece that the screw goes into. It just popped right out of the plastic it was sunk into. So that sucked, then it had a hard time cocking. Then i noticed the sear had chipped because it was made out of delrin. Unimpressive. When it worked it rocked, it broke way too easily and was only used in simple normal rec play. I like the adjustable velocity and the lack of wieght, but when it comes down to it, i want a gun i can use for more than a few months. Goodluck finding one now as they arent made too.
Conclusion: Good gun when it works as intended. Great gun to screw around with, wouldnt recommend to anyone though. A pgp is a much better choice.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 17th, 2006 at 7:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ariade Thursday, December 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus, Zeus G2, Sidekick Semi, Brass Eage Talon, PGP2
Marker Setup: Phantom (stock and direct feed) with either a 4oz tank or a 9oz. Nothing else (it doesn't need it).
Tippmann Pro/Carbine (stock, needs nothing)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A bottomline adapter, if you don't like using 12 grams
Strengths: Very very accurate, light, easy to maintain, reliable
Weaknesses: Slightly leaks air after 12 gram is pierced, only stock class
Review: An excellent little sidearm, works brilliantly. Very accurate, and very light, it is very easy to carry with you on the field. A nifty feature of this gun is that it has a storage area behind the breech for a spare 12 gram. The 12 gram screws in the bottom, and almost always pierces without problem. The pump action is clean and easy, and strangely enough has an autotrigger, even though it's a stock class only gun. The internals are metal, and need some oil from time to time, and the exterior is made of tough, durable plastic.
Balls are loaded into the gun through the use of 10 round tubes directly over the barrel, a very nifty feature.
Not a fast gun it nevertheless is an excellent sidearm, and has all sorts of great features. Awsome to have on hand if your main marker goes down or if a pump only game arises.
The only problem is that once you pierce the 12 gram it slowly (VERY slowly) leaks air until it runs out. The website says it'll run out over a day or so, but in my experience it can take up to a week (!)
Conclusion: Somewhat rare, can often be found on Ebay...worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 11th, 2003 at 8:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 31st, 2001
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: this gun is possibly the best paintball perchase i have ever made it is very accurate. it has saved my butt a thousand times. it has never given me any problems. as all pump guns they hone your skills. this gun is very compact can shoot about 30 shots on a 12 gram it also comes with a holster. i'v had more comments on this gun than my tricked up mag!
Weaknesses: the only thing bad i can think of is it only holds 12 to 13 shots.(wich should be enough because of its accuracy)and it is a little difficult to clean. if dirt gets stuck in the cocking mechanism it is hard to cock and may shoot off if it is pushed forward to hard.
Conclusion: all in all i give it a 10 in the pump category no upgrades i belive are neccesary.i got this gun for about 80 bucks and is very worth it.i would rather have this pump gun by my side than any other.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SickMuffins Tuesday, February 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
An Armotech Zeus- This is much better.
Marker Setup: Model 98, 14" Teardrop Barrel, WGP inline reg, 4"/7" Drop Forward, Sight Rail, RVA, and Vertical ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing. Or maybe a hoster.
Strengths: Accurate
Inexpensive
Durable
Long Ranged
Intimidating
Warranty
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: I purchased this pistol off of the manufacturer's website and got it in 4 days (Alabama to Washington state). I was very impressed with its overall look and performance. You reload it by sticking a ten-round tube above the barrel. Since the 12 gram goes in the grip, you can hold an extra up above the barrel, behind the paint tube. It is very accurate and shoots long distances, but it is a little on the loud side (in a firefight, who cares?). This is the first stock marker I have ever played with and I love it. Unforunately, mine is broken now because I apparently have a severe case of mental retardation, but the 15-day unconditional warranty followed by a full lifetime warranty should be sufficient.
Conclusion: This little beast is a great thing to have on the field just for its looks, not to mention its insane performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

angry painter 9 Tuesday, December 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
this is my first pump
Marker Setup: Stock Sidekick (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a C.A. adapter if you don't like changing 12 grams.
Strengths: Accurate, light, durable
Weaknesses: none
Review: Awesome, great gun for the money. This thing is a little pocket rocket. Its easily concealed and gives a small profile for opponents. Its also dead on accurate. You can get a holster for it which makes it easier to carry around even though it is already light. A definite must for any scenario game player or someone who goes every once and a while to snipe the friends' aces.
Conclusion: if nebody is looking into stock or pump this is definitely a frst
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Murf425 Thursday, October 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP 2001, NSG Splatmaster
Marker Setup: Sidekick Stock (completely stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I have none, but I may get the brass barrel eventually
Strengths: Compact
Accurate
Loud
Fast Reload
Light
Weaknesses: Slow to change 12 gram
Review: I love this little gun. I sold my PGP2 when I bought this, and I'm not looking back. Very accurate, loud (I like the intimidation), fast to reload paint.
People will laugh at it because it's a pistol...especially on speedball fields. But that just makes them underestimate it, which in turn is easier to sneak up on them.
Conclusion: Buy it, you'll love it. I do. Much better than a new model PGP, probably about the same as an older model one with velocity adjuster, speed loader, and fasst changer.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have only ever owned 2 weapons, this and a Joker, and the Joker is a bag of pants compared.
Marker Setup: Nothing special.
A badge on it, it reads "If you can read this, why are you staring at my pistol?!"
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new bolt is probably needed.
Strengths: Get the 494 in a double and move around in a Castor Troy swagger, and you are the man on the field.
I once lost one in a battle, hence an only semi-Castor Troy swagger but still, it came down to me and a team-mate against 3 opponents. I was eventually left with a 1 on 1 situation and i was about to make the kill, when the SOB split the ball. Though, it did not break it, it pulverised it. The "spray" went for 3 metres and decimated the other guy who will no longer talk to me because he thinks I used something illegal. He was a prick anyhow... so that's a long whinded thumbs up... really... I think.
Weaknesses: It broke a ball once?
Oh and if you drop it, it is very attractive to other players who swindle it into their bags and run away with the damn thing.
It has on occasion began to jolt before firing, i think this was caused by a cracked rear chamber... but im not so positive.
Oh... if you use the 494 in a double, do not fire simultaneously, fire one then the other as the recoil is not consistent with each other and you will lose any advantage as you gauge the next effort.
Conclusion: Get 494 in a double, win.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
About 10 different cheap pump guns... talon etc.
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Incredibly accurate if you use good paint. I use 32 degrees balls and they shoot awesome in this little gun.
Light weight- its an excellent sidearm.
I own a pump only league, and this little gun has already proved itself to be worth the 65$ in two games. Credit it 11 kills just used as a sidearm. At close distances it fires flawlessly.
Weaknesses: You get what you pay for, nothing more nothing less.
But its better than not getting what you pay for
Conclusion: Well... excellent gun! I recommend it to everyone, I feel It will continue to be a handy sidearm for years to come. If you want it, there is nothing wrong with the gun so go get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media