paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse Mantis EGO / Planet Eclipse Mantis EGO / Planet Eclipse Mantis EGO / Planet Eclipse Mantis EGO

Planet Eclipse Mantis EGO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse Mantis EGO

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse Mantis EGO
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
After 11 years of customizing other manufacturers markers to the pinnacle of their performance envelope, Planet finally brings you their very own, full specification gun, the Ego. Based around the proven principles of the electro-pneumatic, open bolt mechanism, the Ego pushes the boundaries of speed, quality and performance. After all, if you have 11 years of experience of making other peoples products faster, more reliable, lighter and better looking, wouldn't you want to use that in your own product?
Limited edition Mantis milling and color!
Reg swivels so the hose is always lined up
STAR Grip Frame incorporating integrated snatch grip and integrated clamping ASA mounting rail, spring or magnetic return trigger action, larger guard, and new STAR trigger

Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse Mantis EGO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Wildwalt Friday, October 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Alias Intimidator
Marker Setup: Mantis Ego Black/Green
Reloader B
Empire LP 4500/71 Tank
Redz Barrel Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
None! Only a barrel kit if you want to!
Strengths: FAST!!
Light
FAST
Construction
FAST FAST FAST!!
Looks cool
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Just bought my Mantis Ego They are a great mailorder company selling first rate markers. I was refered to them by my local shop. Call and talk to Robert. He sold me the Mantis for $1,150.00!!!...and it was on my doorstep the very next day! This is the best price I found after weeks of research.
When I opened the box I found a classy metal box cover by Planet Eclipse containing my marker. The inside of the box was lined with a soft felt material! This is when I first saw QUALITY!
Enough B.S. about that. You are not buying the box, however I just want to give you the whole shabang! The marker was in perfect condition when I picked it up to inspect it. The marker was light and well constructed.
When I hooked it up everything felt right and i was ready to reak havic on this old tree in my backyard. I started out in semi mode and let it crank!!! It is insane. Then I changed over to Ramp1 mode. As long as you can maintain a 5bps trigger pull the rate of fire takes off automatically up to a bps rate you can program. Then I let her rip! This is insane! I shot a rope like nothing I have ever seen. ANYONE can maintain the 5bps ROF to maintain the Ramp. With the EGO you will have to practice reloading your hopper, not fanning your trigger.
My alias timmy was a good marker, however I am much more satisfied with the EGO.
Conclusion: BUY IT. You won't be sorry. Planet eclipse has it together like nobody else. Don't get caught up in the National Paintball/Bob Long Intimidator hype. This is what I did and I didn't know what I was missing. Take time to research your options. I'm sure the research you do will bring you back to the EGO.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 17th, 2005 at 2:04 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

soflaman Monday, October 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
alias
Marker Setup: I have a mantis ego with a virute board and hybrid ram cap
Recommended
Upgrades:
virtue board, ram cap for less kik
Strengths: Fast, small, light,accurate
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I just got my mantis ego at cup. So far I luv it, it is so fast and light. the virtue board just makes it even faster. This is my favorite gun out of all,I got a hybrid ram cap so ther is barely any kik. The smaller and lighter bolt makes the gun way faster.the hybrid grips are so awsome. I GIVE THIS GUN AN A +++++++++
Conclusion: I would buy this gun it's so fast!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

skatinusa247 Sunday, June 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
every gun out there,i have shot.
Marker Setup: black/green mantis EGO
cp reg
nexus bolt
virtue board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue board
Ram cap
Strengths: Light weight
Very small,compares to my shocker
Fast
Very user friendly
Easy to tech.
Weaknesses: There are no weaknesses in this gun.Planet Eclipse has made a well rounded marker.
Review: This review will be my total run through of my experience of this marker.

When i first received this marker from my local store i was amazed when i took out the box.The marker came in a metal covered foam box.When i slide the metal cover i found the mantis ego nice packed inside.Along with a 2-piece shaft barrel ,manual and spare parts kit.Enough about the packing.

Looks: The milling on this marker is flawless.I love it.The styling on this marker is incredible.It looks like no other marker out there.No other marker even comes close to this marker.The markers anno is also very very nice.Dust black and green goes together very nice.

Board:The function on the stock board is impressive.I think this has to be the easiest board to use and program.Very user friendly as I said before.All you do to program is open the grip and press a red button and it brings you to a a bunch of options.they include timing,factory,mode,and filter.The modes are semi 1 which is un capped,semi 2 capped at 15,ramp 1 capped at 15,and ramp 2 capped at 15,the only difference between the ramp modes are the way they activate.

Trigger:The stock trigger on this gun is also amazing.Very comfortable to walk.Easy to make adjustments on it.You can change how much travel before it activates,how far it travels after it activates and the magnetic strength.

Build:The feel of the gun is very solid.Very well built and Planet Eclipse has used only the best materials in the ego.The bolt mechanism on the gun is very simple to take out and clean along with the rammer.All you do to clean is wipe off and put in light gun oil.

Misc:The feedneck on this gun is clamping.Very nice and simple.No need to replace.The barrel is good for the time being.Its a .693 which is big enough to shoot any paint but i recommend getting a barrel kit in the future for better accuracy.

Paint:I have put 25,000 shots on my ego and have had ZERO Breaks!!!! For a month i had no eyes and still no chops.This gun is great with paint but if you shoot crap paint your gonna pay for it so give your ego the best and it will never let you down.

Edit:i have no been using my marker for around 1 year.i recently put in a virtue board 2 months ago and it makes the ego that much better.i have close to 120 cases of paint through my ego now and i have not had any problems.it is still the most consistant marker i have ever shot.the only thing i ever have to do to my gun is every 2 months lube the lpr and rammer.thats it! i highly recommend this gun still.its going to be hard to ever shoot another gun and i might just keep it for ever.
Conclusion: still the best gun.it is a proven design.If you come across this marker it is only going to happen once because there are only 55 of each color made so if you can get your hands on one do it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 4th, 2007 at 3:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Baby_J_313 Tuesday, October 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmy 2K2, DM4 DM5, DMC
Marker Setup: Mantis EGO, Reloader B, Pure Energy 45/68.
Timmy 2K2, Halo B W/Rip Drive, Pure Energy 45/68.


Recommended
Upgrades:
KNown So Far.
Strengths: Light Wieght, Deadly Accurate, Tigger.
Weaknesses: None Yet
Review: So I got Mantis EGO for a steal of a deal. I traded my DM4 and some cash for it. I am in love with My EGO. This marker is it. After playing a few games with it and putting a fair amount of cases of paint through it, this marker is marker is NO joke. Every field I've took it to and played @ everyone was in awe. This marker is light, accurate and the trigger cannot be touched by any other. There are alot of places taking deposits for these markers, BE CAREFUL!!! They keep your money and play you all day long, saying they are still waiting for shipments or whatever else B.S. excuses they use. Deal with only reputible dealers, or go to Mantisgear.com. I am @ a loss for words for this marker. If you have the money, or if mommy and daddy can get you the money, I suggest that you look no further. Get thi marker!!!!!!! Oh yeah, 1 more thing.... Good Luck finding them, they are a limited run. I've heard rumors of about 100 green and yellow Mantis Ego's produced, & about 100 of the balck and yellow produced. Like I said I heard rumors so it could be right or it could be wrong....
Conclusion: Buy it, Do whatever you have to do, if you find 1 get it. If you cant then try another EGO.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

i3en Friday, October 26th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel A-1, dm3, dmc, dm4, dm6, shocker 03, ton ton shocker, ion
Marker Setup: Dm6 with Halo B with suicide shell and rip drive hybrid cone and 68/3000 crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, board
Strengths: Efficient
Small
light
Weaknesses: Not very accurate
Kick
Review: This is all around a decent gun but there is nothing I found that was impressive about it except it is very efficient. Every one says oh but its so efficient and light sure its efficient probably better than any other gun on the market in that respect but besides that the gun has nothing impressive at all about it. Iv never liked the shocker so im going to compare the shocker the ego so its not a biased opinion. egos weight 1.9 without ASA its the exact same as the shocker. if you get an he bolt kit for the shocker im pretty sure it will get about 1400 shots and the ego gets 1700 not that much of a difference. Every one also says Ego's are so nice cuz the are really small the ego is bigger than the shocker, ion, dm6-dm8, pm6-pm8 if the are ul'd. The accuracy of this gun is not good, at 100 feet it gets like a 18 in spreed thats with good paint on an indoor field. shocker gets like a 14 in spreed. Egos also kick a lot again about the same as a shocker. If you are going to buy a gun cuz you want a really small light gun get a shocker or a pm and a dye the pms and the dyes are a little bit smaller and a little bit heavier. the shocker are smaller and the same wight for a much lower price then the ego. this gun is just not worth buying
Conclusion: This item is way over hyped and not worth the money I highly recomend a NXT shocker or a dye and proto
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 26th, 2008 at 2:32 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

hondo Saturday, June 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ego Mantis
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath
Halo B
Nitrous Tank


Recommended
Upgrades:
None
if necesary a barrel, but even so, its great how it is!!!
Strengths: Fast
Lightweight
Awsome Trigger
Looks cooler than ice
Very Reliable
Weaknesses: Nothing at all!!!
Review: The best gun i have ever used in all my experience!!!!
I absolutely love the looks, and you cant go wrong with anything about it!!!!!
The gun is the fastest thing i have ever shot!
Never use Co2 on it!!! (obviously..)

When i went pb'ing with it i erased the whole playing field!!!
When i was done spraying paint with it even the bunkers were running for cover!!!!!!
This thing is INSANELY AWESOME!!!
Conclusion: The best gun on the planet!!
Dont settle for less
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ihaveamantisego Monday, March 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alias Timmy
A Bomb timmy
Dynasty Shocker
Karnivor Autococker
Marker Setup: Mantis Ego Black/Green
Hybrid Grips
Dye Ulralite
Halo B rip drive
PMI 65/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel
New On/off
Strengths: Speed
Style
Accurate
Light
Weaknesses: A little loud but who cares
Review: Great gun better than anything ive ever shot... shoots great never chops with good paint nice milling smooth trigger and some great modes on the stock board, it is also very gas efficent and has a great stock on/off, i dont have 50 words so im just writing things down.... its a great gun
Conclusion: Great gun.. best gun ive ever shot i will keep this gun untill it explodes
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 25th, 2006 at 6:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gieves Monday, April 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5, tipman 98, spyder renta-guns etc.
Marker Setup: Star frame 06, 06 add ons, barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
nah
Strengths: Fast, consistent and light.
Weaknesses: Annoying to clean sometimes.
Review: Being a girl, I favor the lightness of this marker. I've fallen and thrown this thing across the field- it has taken a beating but has never failed me. Barely breaks balls. This beast even shot at the PSPs in 4 inches of mud and slush. It didn't skip a beat. It's a great gun and I've been spoiled having this as the first gun I've owned.
Conclusion: Love it. Probably won't change it up for a few more years. It is a classic and a damn fine one!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 5th, 2010 at 8:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

justindapbplaya Thursday, November 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
every gun ever made, literally
Marker Setup: Intimidator dragon, w/ W.A.S board, hammerhead barrel
Mantis Ego w/ 06 starframe
Ebladed 04prostock autococker , w/ freak
AIM Eagle autococker w/ eblade
Proto M6 w/ ultralite
68 automag classic
Recommended
Upgrades:
06 star fame
Strengths: Fast, light, no kick, very accurate
Weaknesses: The 05 star frame sucks
Review: This is my personal favorite ego. this gun is fast light and accurate, the mantis programing in the stock board is amazing. the gun looks sweet and not to mention there were only 225 of these guns made 200 in black w/ green and 25 in green w/ yellow. if youve got one you dont want email me and ill buy it excessiveego@aim.com
Conclusion: A+ best ego ive ever shot
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media