paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat / Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat / Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat / Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat

Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: No cast or stamped parts, Externally Adjustable, Venturi Chamber Bolt, Posi-Drop Power Feed System, Vertical and back bottle tank adapters, C n C Precision machined 6061-T6 Aluminum and Hard Coat Anodized to Military Specifications
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs Alley Cat is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Jvstin Thursday, February 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Tippmanns are close because of the ruggediness
Marker Setup: -Tippmann
-Rebel
-Alley Cat
-Piranha
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Even though the stock is fine, try getting a new barrel
Strengths: -Accurate
-Rugged
-Dual bottle adapter
Weaknesses: -You need a plug for the ASA you won't be using
Review: I got this gun for practically nothing. Some kid at paintball sold it to me for $5.00 because he didn't like it for some reason. It had a small leaking problem which I got fixed. I paid more to get it fixed than I did to buy it. First of all, this gun's trigger pull is kind of long and uncomfortable. The stock barrel is accurate and somewhat quiet. This gun is small and light and easy to maneuver around bunkers but also rugged enough to use in rec games. The delrin bolt is really nice...I haven't any chops with it even when using crappy paint. It's a little hard to take it apart and mess with the internals...There are a lot of o-rings that have to be lined up right for it to work properly. The trigger frame is annoying so you can't hook up and expansion chamber or anything. The velocity and the fine tuning is kind of hard to set it right but anyone can do it once they have had the gun for a while.
Conclusion: Good gun. Too bad they are no longer in production.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

forestballer Friday, June 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98
Spyder mr1
Brass Eagle Eradicator
Marker Setup: All American 14" barrel for mr1
SP 20" Tactical for M.98
I use a remote for either, I have two 9s and two 12oz tanks
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel if you really want to.
Strengths: Strong and durable design.
A basic but cool look.
Easy to maneuver.
Weaknesses: Not very upgradable for some.
Uses elbow.
Safety is tricky to set.
Review: I picked up this wonderful thing at a pawn shop for 40 bucks, and from what I have heard that is great for such an old marker.
It obviously doesn't have the BPS of even my 98 and could barely keep up with my friends Eradicator I'm sure, actually that is faster too. It is very rugged like my 98 and I think I now have a new lover just on those grounds. It obviously is old, but I wrapped the cocking nob is some duct tape to make sure it stays in one piece. It isn't quite but that is only expected. It is accurate enough, I really didn't have a place to chrono it or shoot far down range. Trigger is fine just a little wobbly where it is connected, much smaller than even the 98's trigger. I love the way it plugs up CO2 in the back, which bring me to another thing.
This marker isn't exactly like the one in the picture, it has only one back port for CO2, but it is definently an Alley Cat. Also the barrel isn't as puffy and is just as wide as where it connects, so I wonder if this is even the stock barrel. Of course with no vertical port I have a better way of holding it, so plus there! The safety is weird, because you press it in and it goes only half way and the gun can still fire, you have to lightly pull the trigger and push it all the way in at the same time. If the the gun is not cocked the safety works fine.
Conclusion: I think this is a very cool and useful marker, I hope it stays in working condition, and if I ever get tired of it, which will be in a couple decades! lol. I can sell it to a collector or a person who doesn't like 500bps in the year 2035, lol.

If you ever find this marker for less than a hundred and you have some cash buy it.
BUY IT, I didn't even know it was a deal I got till recently.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Justin The Pyro Friday, June 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann - About the same
Griffin - Worse
Marker Setup: Alley Cat
Tippmann
Piranha
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Solid
Durable
Rugged
Reliable
Weaknesses: Not many upgrades
Loud
Long sloppy trigger pull
Takes some skill to set velocity
Review: Pros:

Reliable
Out of production (Means I can sell mine for a ton if I wanted)
Delrin Bolt
Semi-decent stock barrel
Anodizing is hard to scratch
Small so it's easy to keep tight with
Low maintenance
Dual bottle adapter
Somewhat light
Easily suited for speedball and rec
Aside from the delrin bolt, all internals are metal
Venturi bolt

Cons:

Loud
You need to plug the asa not used
As said before, crappy trigger pull makes it impossible to shoot fast
The only real upgrades you can get for it now is a new barrel and if you're lucky a new trigger frame
Small blowback problems
Unless the velocity is set at perfect level the range kinda sucks
The foamey stuff on the barrel comes off easily
Taking it apart is a pain in the arse
Slow
Unlike most guns, tuning it is kind of annoying because of all the ways you're able to. There is a recock screw and a velocity screw and they need to be set with the same amount of tension to work right.
Conclusion: Well in the end this gun isn't much different from a Tippmann. It's probably better suited for rec than speedball and most people have no idea how reliable they are. If you keep the velocity set at a good range and kept it lubed up this gun will function MUCH more smoothly. It is similar to a Tippmann but you still need to take care of it. If you come across one and can get it for a decent price I HIGHLY suggest you buy it. You won't be disapointed in its reliability. Would make the perfect backup gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 15th, 2004 at 12:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j-dubbzz Thursday, December 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman
Marker Setup: ICD Alley Cat II (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Due to the age of this marker, very few upgrades exist. Can still find barrels (stock came with a 10") and grips (stock came with Euro style pistol grip). Can replace recock and velocity screws with cap end screws to make in-game adjustments with out the need for allen wrench.
Strengths: Rugged. Easy to maintain and use. Small/compact. Accurate. Reliable. Nice design.
Weaknesses: Age (hard to get replacement parts or upgrades)
Review: This is my first and only purchased marker. I bought it on recommendation from the owner of a local paintball shop. He liked them as much as Tippmans and used them as rentals as well. I've read reviews that complain about disassembling the marker for cleaning and maintenence, but it is not difficult at all. I have had this marker since 1998 and have never had any major problems with it. I recently thought of purchasing a new marker, but have yet to find anything I like as much as my Alley Cat. I just wish ICD was still around and making these markers, they're great! Plus the black, hard annodizing is next to impossible to scratch! I only play woodsball and have banged this thing on everything and have no scratches or wear in the finish.
Conclusion: If you can find one, BUY IT! It is an excellent marker for beginners, or as a back up, or as a primary, depending on your style of playing and budget. As much as I love this marker, I don't think it would be suited for speedball or tourney type games.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TAH42 Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns
Spyder MR1
Marker Setup: ICD Alley Cat
Stock Tippmann Model 98(worst)
Stock Kingman Spyder MR1(better)
20 oz. CO2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are no upgrades really
Strengths: Very Accurate With Stock Barrel
Durable
Uses Cheap Paint
Very Small And Light
Weaknesses: No Upgrades
Kind Of Complicated
Don't See Them Around Anymore
Review: I got this marker off of ebay for $40. It didn't look like much but it was the only thing that I could afford. The first time I used it, I was amazed at how accurate it was. It was just a pain in the butt too adjust velocity and recock. There was a leak in the valve area after the first use but it was just an old o ring so we got that fixed and this worked again. I am very happy with the purchase that I made.
Conclusion: If you have a chance to get this, buy it!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gangisHANS Saturday, July 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I suppose any blowback really, I'll go with Tippman 98c
Marker Setup: PT Xtreme - valve work, bottomline, drop foreward
ICD Alley Cat - expasion chamber, bottomline
Stingray - trigger job, rear cocking, polished internals, bottomline
the franz - my cannon
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber, better barrel, or barrel extension
Strengths: Solid built, simple design, dual tank positions, fiarly accurate
Weaknesses: Loud, lack of upgrades
Review: This was my very first marker. My friend gave it to me 2nd hand for my birthday. It was bought at a garage sale along with 4 other markers for a $100 total. At one point in time the cocking nob broke off and fell to the ground in a wooded area. Needless to say, I didn't find it. I've since then replaced it with a proper sized bolt, which works just fine.
Recently I put an expansion chamber on it for kicks, and amazingly it helped dramatically with the noise and with consistancy of shots. I also put on a barrel extension my friend made for me, and it's exceedingly quiet now. All in all, I am very happy with this gun, my next step is to get a coiled remote line to take the tank weight off.
Conclusion: This marker has served me well for as long as I've had it. I think it just may never die. Or at least that's what I'm hoping
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ranger2998 Sunday, September 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Panther VTS, Tippmann 68
Marker Setup: Puma VTS, couldnt add anything.. gun never worked right
Recommended
Upgrades:
good barrel, remote line
Strengths: Very Accurate,variable tank locations
Weaknesses: pain to adjust, doesnt recock correctly, bolt locks forward
Review: well, I used my friends panther for a while, and loved it. Spent my savings to buy a Puma and gear (when your 21 and in college $500 is alot) went to play and within
2 hours my gun was fluttering. I had to recock it manually sometimes, and sometimes it would even lock forward and take alot of strength to free it. took it apart(my friend had his panther for 3 years so he knew the gun) and found the recock screw was drilled too far in. Tried to contact ICD through number in warrantee card, but number was disconnected.Internet was new then so tried information. No luck. Tried to return to Mikes Paintball in WPB, FL and told manufacturers defect. Given another phone # and that was no good too..Threw gun in closet and used a friends gun for a few years.
Just found Gun...now Im 30, married, and have more money LOL.I have been using my tippmann A-5 but wanted to give gun to my brother to play with us. Cant find anything
to fix it. No parts, No support. Emailed ICD 4 times. Never got any response.
Got the gun working to a certain extent.turning it all the way down, ( velocity at 100 fps)
it will work somewhat. Wish this gun worked like my friends, but it doesnt. Hell, his panther is now over 10 years old and it still works great. But not mine.
due to lack of contact with ICD, and the problems with the gun I will never ever buy another ICD product. My tippmann A-5 is very accurate, and very reliable. I have ran about 5000 rounds through my new A-5 and it works great. Even played in rain and it kept on going.Its a shame I have to write this. I know the capabilites of this gun, I know that if it didnt have problems it would be a great gun( Possibly even better than my A-5)
but no matter what I have done its screwed.
If you do buy one get warranty from dealer, test gun before purchase,(at least shoot 500 shots of air to test) and Prey you dont need parts.
even now only barrel i could find was smarts parts.
Conclusion: Dont buy one without serious testing and proof of dealer in-store warranty,
see my review for full story, but bought my puma vts, and never worked right.
ever.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

justin14_ Thursday, May 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann model 98 custom
4 stage expansion chamber
16'' taso winforce barrel
32 degrees 2002 rebel bottomline
14 inch pmi razzor barrel
4 stage expansion chamber
PMI piranha vtl g2
Indian creek designs alley cat
4 stage expansion chamber
Two 9 ounce co2s
One 12 ounce co2
One 20 ounce co2
JT slam pak harness
4 JT speed pods
JT spectra flex 7 IZE goggle system
PMI X-ray goggles
32 degrees head case mask
Strengths: 2 places to put co2s
Weaknesses: LOUD
weird things you have to do to it
Review: i got this gun for a pod full of paint at paintball a few weeks ago and for what i paid for it its great if its 177 normal price and i got it for 140 rounds of paintballs than i got a great deal. the things you have to do to it are weird...like the recock screw thing...why cant you just use the open bolt handle thing thats there??? you need to keep it oiled up or it wont work right. the stock barrel is decent. the trigger frame is in a weird shape for your hand...it feels crooked........the safety is hard to get to and hard to push but from what ive heard is that it gets lighter and you kinda have to break it in. this gun is loud but you cant expect it to be really quiet because of the stock barrel. the trigger pull is kinda heavy but i like it like that. there have been so many times with other guns that ive shot the inside of my bunker on accident just because i accidentally pulled the trigger.
Conclusion: i dunno about your gun but im giving this a 10 just because i got it for so cheap and it came with an expansion chamber....
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 26th, 2003 at 3:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mooncrickit Sunday, November 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Thundercat (slightly better)
Puma (a lot better)
Piranha (about the same)
Marker Setup: Piranha (early model), beaver tail rail, J & J ceramic
Puma, twin tanks with Smart Parts on / off valves, Smart Parts A / A barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel & expansion chamber with bottom line.
Strengths: The markers made by Indian Creek are all quality machined. They are extremely reliable and perform well. They have a slightly complex tuning ability but this only adds to their reliability in all forms of weather conditions.
Weaknesses: You have to be a little mechanically inclined to properly utilize the tuning capability of the Indian Creek's markers (Alleycat, Thundercat, & Puma) However, after a little practice I believe anyone can do it.
Conclusion: I just about wore my Alleycat out so I bought a Thundercat for a backup. I haven't had to use my Thundercat yet because my Alleycat just won't die. I have also picked up a used Puma for a sweet price and I'm starting to tinker with it so I may never had the opportunity to use my Thundercat.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iwantacocker Friday, October 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
alley cat 2 (i dont really think there is a difference just i shot one and the owner said it was a 2)
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are not many upgrades for it but if you can i suggest a new barrel, the stock barrel that comes with this marker is good but its just a basic alluminun tube barrel.
Strengths: its pretty durable
good backup or starter gun (both for me)
easy to clean
made by ICD makers of the Bushmaster (my 5th fav gun)
Weaknesses: its a bit loud
after about 1 year it started to mess up and i never did find out why i gave it to my local field and they fixed it but i dont really know what the problem was.
Conclusion: this marker is a good reliable cheap marker. for only 177 dollars (well thats what i payed when i got it) its nice. its not a Ground Zero Intimidator or anything but its good for just rec ball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media