paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / 32 Degrees Tippmann Model 98 / 32 Degrees Tippmann Model 98 / 32 Degrees Tippmann Model 98 / 32 Degrees Tippmann Model 98

32 Degrees Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount 32 Degrees

Buy 32 Degrees Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


32 Degrees Tippmann Model 98
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 17
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $330

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This marker features a chrome expansion chamber, double trigger & trigger guard, rocket cock, blue marble finish, rear velocity adjuster, and 32 Degrees ice cold barrel.
Product Availability 
The 32 Degrees Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
JLeabo Saturday, July 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster, Stingray, PMI Trracer, Hammer, Spyder Compact, Tippmann SL68II and Pro-Lite.
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98 Custom 32 Degrees Special Semi Automatic with standard open blowback bolt and 12" 32 Degrees Ice Cold (Medium Bore .691) Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
16" 32 Degrees Whisper (Medium Bore .689-.691) and 16" 32 Degrees Quiet Riot (Medium Bore .688-.690) Barrels. Tippmann Custom 98 Response Trigger. Halo B Electronic Loader. 32 Degrees Model 98 Rear Velocity Adjuster.
Strengths: It works so you don't have too!!!
Weaknesses: Weak Reviews!!!
Review: This product is one of the most customizable markers on the market today. It's also one of the most reliable which is why so many fields use them as rentals. Originally, I had the drop in electronic kit but soon realized that it was more than I needed, even on a professional level. So I dropped it out and went back to basics. Besides, any experienced player knows that with good trigger manipulation you can make up for it, and it only takes a single shot to end your opponents day. Full Auto is great for defensive players who need to lay suppressive and grazing fire but for an offensive player it's not really needed. Another nice feature is the removable elbow which allows for quicker cleaning for ball breakages. The balance is pretty good, a little front heavy but the expansion chamber or fore-grip makes up for it. I recommend that you upgrade your stock barrel. The longer the barrel, the more friction occurs between the barrel and the paintball. And consequently more air pressure is needed to force the paintball out of paintball barrels. I use a 12" 32 Degrees Ice Cold Medium Bore Barrel which is just that, Ice Cold!!! With your velocity set at 285 fps and the use of quality (Diablo Blaze) medium bore paintballs this barrel shows no mercy. Don't waste your time trying to hide because with this barrel you should dominate the field.
Conclusion: Think of it this way. If my marker only worked sometimes would you want me on your team?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 12th, 2004 at 9:01 pm PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, May 18th, 2001
 
6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This gun is accurate beyond belief. I have a field that is about 75 yards long and when we said GO! and started the game I was hitting people all the to the other side. It is very light. You can play all day and not get sick of carrying this gun around. This is by far the best gun I have ever bought.
Weaknesses: The only thing bad about the gun I have is the velocity adjuster. For some reason the velocity comes out and makes my gun shoot like it has no Co2. I tightened it down, but it still does it a little bit. But all you have to do is screw it back in because the velocity is in a great spot and you dont need an Allen wrench to get at it.
Conclusion: The cost is kind of steep on this gun, but I feel that every penny I spent is well worth it. The gun is quiet and is very accurate. I cant stress the accuracy enough. I have the Ice Cold barrell on it and it is great. I have no complaints with this gun. I would take this gun to any tournament and feel comfortable playing against anything else. It shoots smooth and fast, and also has a double finger trigger which makes it even better. It is a 98 souped up a ton, and it is worth every penny. I recommend everyone buying this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a piranha, but I think the 98 is better.
Marker Setup: I have a tippmann 98 custom with a better barrel, expansion chamber, new bolt, rear cocking w/ beaver tail, thumb screws, and double trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I reccomend a better barrel, one that is rifled. I also reccomend the double trigger and thumb screws.
Strengths: It is a extremely accurate gun especially with a rifled barrel. I have had it for 1 year and I have broke 1 ball the whole time. There are alot of upgrades that you can put on it, if you wanted to.
Weaknesses: I dont think there is anything bad about this gun besides its a little heavier than the other, but i think anybody can lift 2.9 pounds.
Conclusion: I think this is one of the best guns in the market for a certain price range
i thinl it is the best gun from prices 20 bucks to 350 bucks. It has has a lot of good qualities and is one of the most popular gun sin the market, I know a lot of people that have it and they say the same thing about it. Probably 55 percent of paintballers have a 98 custom or some sort of tippmann
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Strengths: This gun ownz because i shot a full box( 500) of brass eagle balls and only 2 broke! You should all know that brass eagle balls are useless.
Plus its really accurate, again, EVEN with brass eagle balls.
Its fairly light, easy to aim with, and it shoots pretty fast.
oh and another thing, WAYNE, this gun is not plastic....if your gun is plastic its a different model.
Weaknesses: I havent noticed anything yet so....nothing
Conclusion: This is the perfect gun to get if your just getting into paintball and even if you have been playing for a long time. The only type of gun that would be better than this would be an auto-cocker or electro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ive used the brass eagle series and they apprehend the same similarities.
Marker Setup: nuttin really
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber and extended barrel
Strengths: great all around gun. i luv this gun. very durable , good shot too, very reliable, very accurate
Weaknesses: definetly the barrel. but ive shot through it and the paintballs usually never break. the gun is all metal so its heavy but that is only one minor set back. about the barrel just get a knew one like a 16" sp barrel dont by the crappy brass eagle balls they suck they usually bust in the barrel and then u need to get the squgee and clean it
Conclusion: its a great first gun its the best gun for your money it was my first and i got when i was 13 its a great gun for experienced paintballers too
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Viper_22 Monday, December 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster Rapide, Brass Eagle Stingray, PMI Trracer, Hammer, Spyder Compact, Tippmann SL68II and Pro-Lite.
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98 Custom 32 Degrees Special Semi Automatic with standard open blowback bolt and 12" 32 Degrees Ice Cold (Medium Bore .691) Barrel.

Recommended
Upgrades:
16" 32 Degrees Whisper (Medium Bore .689-.691) and 16" 32 Degrees Quiet Riot (Medium Bore .688-.690) Barrels. Tippmann Custom 98 Response Trigger. Halo B Electronic Loader. 32 Degrees Model 98 Rear Velocity Adjuster.
Strengths: It works so you don't have too.
Weaknesses: Weak Reviews!
Review: This product is one of the most customizable markers on the market today, and it's also one of the most reliable. Originally, I had the drop in electronic kit but soon realized that my game was dependent on batteries instead of my skill. So I dropped it out and went back to basics. Besides, any experienced player knows that with good trigger manipulation you can make up for it, and it only takes one shot to end your opponents day. Full Auto is good for suppressive and grazing fire but other than that it's not needed. Another nice feature is the removable elbow which allows for quicker cleaning for ball breakages. The balance is pretty good, a little front heavy but the expansion chamber or fore-grip makes up for it. I recommend that you upgrade your stock barrel. I use the 32 Degrees Ice Cold Medium Bore Barrel which is just that, Ice Cold!!! With your velocity set at 285 fps and the use of quality (Diablo Blaze) medium bore paintballs this barrel shows no mercy. Don't waste your time trying to hide because with this barrel you should dominate the field. Use shorter barrels for close engagements and speedball, save the longer barrels for fields where you know you have to cover distance to engage opponents. Turning up your velocity to make up for the lack of distance will cause rounds to curve to the left and right and will increase the amount of ball breakages in your barrel. Another bonus to using longer barrels is that it can conserve on air but as far as accurate........that's up to you!!!
Conclusion: Think of it this way. If my marker only worked sometimes would you want me on your team?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 6th, 2004 at 12:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RichieCzop Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Nasty Impulse which is much better but considering the price this one is more convinent
Marker Setup: I have put in a wisper barrel to make it much quiter but doesnt shoot as hard Doulble Trigger And a drop Foward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Doulble Trigger New Barrel drop foward bottim line attachment.
Strengths: Powerful it durable easy to fix best gun for beginers
Weaknesses: Loud Bulky everyone has one leaks when O ring is going bad
Review: This gun is Great for the price definity one of the most durable guns out of the tippman line unfortunatley Everyone has this gun so thats why most people write bad things about it other than it being bulky tand everyone has this gun most competitors must copy from this gun because this is definity the most durable gun on the market
Conclusion: Buy it, it is great for beginers and u can get diff parts to adjust this gun for ur liking 0o0o0o0o yeah u can find this Gun at National Paintball and for a cheaper price. hope u enjoy ur gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 7th, 2003 at 1:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a Stingray 2 and a Tippman is much more reliable than a Stingray.
Marker Setup: I use a Tippmann Model 98 with a 16'' Smart Parts Alluminum Barrel. w/proteam model 98 expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would definatley recomend buying a good barrel- either a SPAA or a Dye Boomstick. The stock barrel that comes with this gun totally sucks. And get a Different bolt as well
Strengths: I like the comfortable forgrip and the gun's reliability. I can always count on my Tippmann when I'm on the field. Model 98's are also very easy to upgrade because there are many different drop-in kits that you can choose from
Weaknesses: Model 98's are kinda loud and i usually like get to my opponent before they can see me so if you dont make the first shout count, youve better be near some good cover. And the marker itself, without the barrel is relatively long. So, with my 16'' SP barrel, it affects my manuverability on the field.
Conclusion: I like my Tippmann 98. Its a very realiable gun. It's also a great beginner's gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, December 25th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, messiah 98, model 98 and pro/carbine. The sting ray is kind of a tough gun and so are tippmanns so in a way it is like a sting ray(but not really though).
Marker Setup: I currently use a custom model 98 with an 14" quiet riot 32 degrees barrel with a e-bolt and double trigger.(I should have gotten one of these guns)
Recommended
Upgrades:
hey I have a question to everybody how come this gun is different than the gun at www.32degrees.com/html/model98.asp The one there is more expensive but it has a electronic trigger pull. I don't think that there are any upgrades that this gun needs. It's fully upgraded. But if u want u can get a different barrel but this barrel isn't bad at all. This is actually a pretty good barrel and if you are looking for acuracy this barrel will do the trick.
Strengths: This is actually a really good deal. First the custom gun is 124. Then the expansion chamber is 60(chrome). The double trigger is 26. It doesn't say it here but at the web site it has an electronic trigger. These are 284. The rear velocity adjuster is 19. The milling is only made custom and that's a lot. It has a ice cold barrel which is 58. It has a rocket cocker which is 25. Also it is anodized which everybody knows cost a lot. So that's 124+60+26+284+19+58=$451 not including the anodizing, milling, bolt, bottom-line setup, chrome trigger gaurd and power tube. So at the web site it's 475(with everything) and when u set it up yourself it's 451 + anodizing, milling, bolt, bottom-line setup, chrome trigger gaurd and power tube. url = www.32degrees/html/model98.asp. This way is a lot cheaper
Weaknesses: It's a little expensive for those people who want to upgrade later as they progress. But other than that it's the most affordable tournament grade gun(it even looks cool) on the market.
Conclusion: It's a little expensive for those people who want to upgrade later as they progress. But other than that it's the most affordable tournament grade gun(it even looks cool) on the market. This was one of the best guns that I have ever tested I'd say in the top 5 because I have tested all kinds of guns. If you want the best paintball gun buy a sandridge auto-cocker force 5(1,250 the cheapest I have found it). But this gun is also awesome.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mike da bushman Friday, October 26th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: the model 98 is very affordable and dependable the best parts of this gun are it's accuracy and compatibility with after market parts which make it very easy to modify. i have a model 98 with electronic kit' dye boomstick barrel 12 in" cp drop forward and i use nitro instead of co2 and the gun shoots like a champ thus far no problems with the marker. i highly recommend this marker to newbies and pros alike for the price you can't go wrong.
Weaknesses: the only things i didn't like about the marker well for one the stock barrel has to go and a aftermarket is a worthable idea also for some reason the gun seemed front heavy but not a biggie.
Conclusion: ? does it perform well...............absolutely i have never had a problem with mine and it is very dependable..
?is it worth how much it cost............ absolutely you will not find a marker nearly as good as the tippman 98 for the same price....
?how does it compare to similar guns..... it doesn't it exceeds them in every way possible from pros field test to the aftermarket accesories available for this marker the marker is a truly magnificent piecefor the price....
?would i reccomend it to someone.... been there done that every one i know has a tippman model 98 and is locing their markers and may i also add nobody i know has had a problem with their markers as of yet and i know 37 people with the model 98's it proves it self .
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media