paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 72
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
OVERVIEW - Keep opponents in Awe.
With Scenario players in mind the BT-4 Assault is the choice of demanding players who look for military spec features and feel coupled battle tested BT reliability and battle tested durability. If you are looking to put some fear into your tournament opponents turn up with this mean rig.
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Assault is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Dark Doberman Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month131 of 140 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT-16 tactical - 6/10 the bt4 assault has several imrovements that make it a
all round better gun - if you have the choice go BT4 assault
I also own/have owned these markers but they are not in the same category as the BT4 as the BT4 assault is a milsim-woodsball marker in my opinion so i will not compare them to it.
tippmann 98c
tippman A5
32 degrees Icon x - and E
smart parts ion
Bonedaddy
Marker Setup: BT4 - Assault
Empire Reloader hopper
Konas Red Dot sight
12oz c02
Tactical sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sound activated hopper (like the reloader)
12oz c02 bottle , because the guns not that light ,
or a remote line idealy.
A quick change 12 gram c02 adapter and some powerlets
Strengths: Looks great !
accurate
well built
Weaknesses: Quite heavy
gas hog
Review: Right , lets get started -
Looks - This marker looks HOT , right out the box its beautiful to look at , it scares the hell out of people at the site i play at , and the woods we hold our own matches in. People want to know straight away "what it is ?" - well its designed by Ben tippman - i belive is the son of the Tippman firm that bought you the awsome 98c and a5`s - it uses many of the same parts - but with improvements in places making it a better rounded gun in my opinion , some internal and some external like the weaver 7/8 scope mounts for more secure mounting of sights. They also ask " Does it perform as good as it looks ? " - well i think it does , and i have owned a few markers, now OUT OF THE BOX is how i am comparing them as you can make an A5 or 98 custom look and behave the same with mods and upgrades - but as we are reviewing the markers as brand new out the box to keep it fair and informed reviews. SO .. peformance - This marker does what it should no doubt , it shoots Hard and straight - the accuracy is impressive - anyone will be able to hit a 3 inch target at 50 feet at a good rate - i know cos people are ALWAYS wanting a fire of it , and we have a target section at our site and at 50 feet there is a tennis ball on a string , and i have not seen anyone - even newbs who havent played atall - not hit it at least 5 out of 10 balls - i myself can get 6 inch groups at 80 and 100 feet with only 1 or 2 rogue balls missing completely out of 20.
Now i play mainly Woosball , so 80 - 100 feet is the most distance i am ever going to have a clean shot at someone without branches and stuff in the way , so this peformance at these sorts of ranges is perfect for me , and i have played with this gun around 30 games so far - and i can tell you , i have "gogged" more people with this gun than any gun i have had before , the red dot sight is set at 75 feet and where i play it is the perfect range - you may play at different places , with different surrounding , but like i say - out the box - its accuracy is very good to 100 feet - so tune it to your specs on the sight and power and you will be very pleased with the results - of that i have no doubt.

While i am on the subject of sights - the BT4 by the way comes with a very good set of iron sights , on the barrel - and on the m16 style carry handle , the rear sights on the carry handle are a 2 millimeter ring , that you can flip forwards and it offers up a smaller 1 millimeter ring for precision targeting , these are FULLY ADJUSTABLE both side to side and up and down , using "click" wheels - i only added the red dot cos i already had it , if i didnt - i wouldnt have got it especially , as these iron sights are VERY GOOD ,and VERY sturdy. May i also add that the hopper is off-center -to the right and not in vision.

The fire rate of the marker is pure woodsball , i wouldnt like to think of the trigger mods and other things you would need to do for real speed-ball , i can get about 6 balls per second in bursts at a push , but i am not "finger trained" for speed ball , and certainly not on this trigger as it is very stiff, my friend plays speed , and couldnt get more than i did , he agrees that even a speed-ball player would have difficulty getting double figure bps. But in retrospect , for woodsball - it is perfect , the stiff trigger means it would be hard to accidentaly fire off a round while trying to stalk through foliage.
So - whats left - The built quality is good , metal construction wherever possible , good qualtiy ABS plasic where not , the stock is VERY strong , i belive there are 5 positions of stock length - the barrel shroud is a little flimsy i think , but it is easy to take off if you need to , and i have never had it come apart on me and i fell out of a tree with it 2 days ago and landed face down with the marker beneath me - and incase you were wondering - - i am 6ft 7 and 15 stone, so i wouldnt have liked to be the gun right then - infact i was sure the hopper would have snapped off the gun - its a sliding hopper feed on the BT4 for easy cleaning - but no - not a mark on it - i also tripped up in brambles , and lurched forwards shoving the gun into a tree barrel 1st - again - sounded bad- but not a mark.
Next up is the gas issue = Well theres no dispute from me here - it does seem to use more than its fair share of gas
- If use a 12oz tank - i get around 350 balls from one 12oz - but i snipe with mine - so i dont find it a problem .. anyway after each game i just change my tank - i have
2 - 12oz tanks
1 - 20oz tank
2 - 10oz tanks
1 - 8 0z tank
1 Quick change C02 adapter to use 12gram powerlets
Sounds like alot of tanks - but iv been playing for 10 years and i have just collected them as times gone by - people sell them cheap often - i got the 2 x 12 oz tanks and the 8 oz tank for £10 ($17 U.S) and the quick change adapter and 50 powerlets for around £25 ($40) from maxes sport germany. The 20oz was new , and so were the 10`s , all in all the lot cost me around £70 ($125) over several years - but i find these good investments as you have a world of choice when its playtime :)

So i have plenty of gas to choose from - and different options depending what position i play - i always carry the my Quick change adapter and 5 powerlets in my tac vest for unexpected fire-fights - that way you can drop off your heavy bottle at will - and 2 turns screws in these great , and very light co2 powerlets - i get around 20 - 25 shots from this option but it is great when you want to move fast and take your opposition by suprise - cos if they think youve got the BT4 assault and a 20 oz bottle on - they sure dont expect you to come dashing through the trees and diving into cover , rolling accross the ground - with the stock collapsed - and a 12 gram co2 plugged in - the BT4 is very manouverable indeed - and lighter than an ion with a 20oz bottle in my opinion. It also adds a realism to your play - laying down fire with your first 15 shots of the powerlet - moving up fast laying down a few more cover shots - and unleashing the last few while your in cover , then dropping out the empty powerlet and swapping it (only takes about 10 seconds) - ready to go again :) :) - makes you use your team members more - communicate more and make use of your shots better :) !

If im playing sniper - i go with the 12oz - lasts me 2 - 3 games on a heavy use day - 5 - 6 on a light day when its quiet or easy targets :)


If im playing up front i use the 8 or 10 oz and my quick changeadapter -as described previously.

If im on flag guard i use the biggest tank i can find and set up defence - trust me me my mates got the BT16 assault - and with both of us on flag defence with big co2 tanks NO-BODY has got near the flag yet :) and belive me when i say this - the people on the other team DO NOT want to get tagged by that pair - they fight over who has to run in cos they know how accurate and powerful these things are - they tell me so every-time :)
and i have seen 1st hand the results of a double ambush from the BT4 asslt and the BT16 asslt at 30 feet - the welts and bruises on the guy who got tagged were savage. even through his padded jacket and jumper :) one shot knocked his baseball cap clean off his head :) :)

For mid-field i use whatever i feel is best on the day - from how many players on the teams etc - usually i take a 12oz and a 8oz in my tac vest as a spare .With a 12oz tank on i find the markers weight managable and a usefull tool in most situatutions and the best all round - wieght / balls option - but if nothing else get another 8 , 10 or 12oz tank as a spare - and i cant recommend these quick change 12gram co2 powerlet adapters enought - and thats for any paintball marker- they are great ! :)


Well - i have been as honest as i can be about the BT4 - Assault - the rest is up to you , i will add and problems i have to this post - as - and if - they arise.
My post may be long , but i have found this site so usefull to me in the past that i thought i would give a little back - I live in the UK and people seem too lazy to bother posting reviews about paintball gear here - keep it up everyone - great job !!
Conclusion: In conclusion - If you are looking at buying this marker - and you have got this far - then im quite sure your not a speed-ball player anyway - but if you are - This is not for you.
If however - you play Rec/Woodsball - or mil-sim games - i can not reccomend this gun enough - It looks the part - Its intimidating -It performs very well - its well built - and most of all ITS FUN !! - - at the end of the day thats what is all about :)
So for you Rating monkeys out there this is what i give it -
9/10 for rec/woodsball and mil/sim
I give it this rating because as i said before - im sure you can upgrade other guns to look and perform as well or maybe even better - but this comes like it in the box.. and as ready to use - military style markers go - this is VERY VERY good - i rate it a 9 because im sure there are $350 - $800 mil/sim and tactical markers that look even more like the real thing - and MAYBE and i say only maybe , perform better - but for the money the BT-4 assault costs i dont think you will get a better gun of this style.

AND I AM NOT EVEN GOING TO RATE IT FOR SPEED-BALL :)

Good luck finding your next marker people - and above all HAVE FUN !!

OVER AND MOST DEFINATLY OUT !!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 at 4:40 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

jgebuhr Tuesday, October 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months34 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom - Almost the same, only the BT is customized
Rebel 02 LCD - This is a poor gun
E-99 Avant - This breaks down too much
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault w/ 20oz CO2 and cheap hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
This marker is pretty upgraded as it is. I guess that you could get the flatline barrel if you so feel the need, but the marker is accurate and powerful already.
Strengths: DURABLE
Powerful - can be good or bad
Realistic MIl-Sim
Very accurate
Weaknesses: Heavy
Uses a lot of CO2
Review: I have played woodsball with this gun several times, and I love it. To have a realistic paintball gun has even helped my game. While I would definitely not reccomend this marker for speedball or indoor paintball, it is perfect for playing in the woods. The 15 inch barrel provides great accuracy, better than other comparable markers. Also, I have shot over 1500 paintballs and my barrel is still clean. By the way, I use the absolute cheapest paint I can find, like Blue Streaks, so this is impressive. For using cheap paint and CO2, this gun performs remarkably well. Also, I have not had to take it apart. Though BT is not Tippmann, their guns are built the same way and never break down. The one bad part about this gun is how hard it is to take it apart, but since you only have to do that once in a while, its not so bad. With my old marker, I had to clean it before and after every game. This marker is a huge improvement for only $100 more than the Rebel 02 LCD.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this product to anyone who plays woodsball. Like I said, don't try and play speedball with it, but it is powerful and accurate in the woods.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Event_Horizon Thursday, October 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years32 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault w/ Ricochet AK hopper, Mag expansion chamber, BT1913 barrel, Bipod, red dot and laser sights
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote coil - Gun is heavy enough as it is
Possibly a Bipod if you plan on sniping
And the Mag expansion chamber if you want to look REALLY badass.
Strengths: Accurate
Intimidating
Doesn't chop
Good performance
Extremely reliable and durable
Weaknesses: Big
Heavy
Forward sight (see review)
Some parts seem to rust
Review: Well lets start off with what this gun does best: look good. I play a a private field with a bunch of guys, and they all have Custom 98's with the odd A-5, a few of them recently switched over to X7's which make me stand out a bit less. But when one day I pulled this big guy out of the back of the car, everyone was "ooh"ing and "aahhh"ing over it. They all wanted to know how it shoots, who made it, where its from, how much it was, etc. etc. This gun is not only really badass looking, but also intimidating on the field. I've had newbies surrender at the sight of me coming through the bushes with this thing.

The best way to visualize this gun is as the sum of its parts. There is the main base, housing the internals, along with the barrel, barrel shroud, front sight, the car stock, the rear sight, the front grip, and the feedneck.

The car stock is made of some kind of heavy plastic, and is of high very quality; there aren't any seams or sharp spots, and it functions well. The stock has six positions, but I never use all six. Sometimes I have it fully extended, because I'm a tall guy and that gives me the best stability when shooting. If I need to be on the move, I'll collapse the stock completely. Then I'll use a middle setting for when I'm setting up a stationary position by resting the gun on a log or a branch. It is extremely rugged and I have complete confidence I could butt someone in the face with it and not damage it at all.

The barrel and shroud are a tricky thing to figure out. The barrel itself is a 14" aluminum barrel and is fairly accurate (I'll get to that later) and has an A-5 threading on it. The shroud is made of the same plastic as the stock, and while it seems rickety it's actually pretty sturdy. The front sight is also aluminum. You can take the whole setup off of the barrel too. Just pull back on the spring-loaded ring at the back of the barrel and the two halves of the shroud separate, and the front sight and rear circular thing are held on by two set screws. It should be noted that while the front sight has a sling attachment, the design isn't well thought-out. More on that in a bit.

The rear sight is made of solid aluminum and is really sturdy. The sight is also adjustable for windage and elevation, and there is a little flippy thing you can flip up to make the sight hole smaller - increasing your precision. It attaches to the Picatinny rails on the top of the gun with a couple of thumbscrews. The thing itself is completely solid, you couldn't break it if you tried to.

The front grip attaches to the lower picatinny rail by sliding on from the front, and then you do up the metal screw on the bottom which raises a pin so it is locked in one of the grooves. Though the pin isn't as wide as the grove, so the grip does have a little bit of room to slide back and forth a bit, but not enough to really detract from the gun. The grip is also very sturdy (same plastic as the stock), you probably couldn't break it unless you really wanted to. I find that I use the front grip to hold the gun about half the time, and use the barrel shroud about the other half of the time.

The hopper feedneck is made of the same plastic as before, and slides onto the picatinny rail from the front and click into position, but because its plastic it also has a tiny bit of wiggle room. Its not much when you're at the base, but if you have a big hopper the top of it might move back and forth about a half inch when you bump it into something or open the lid if the lid is tight. Though once again, its not a very big deal.

The pistol grip on the gun is also made of plastic, with a rubber covering to be easy on the fingers. The grip is perfectly sized for my hands, but it might be a bit big for small-handed people. Again, it is made entirely of thick plastic.

The main housing of the gun is made of aluminum. The screws holding it together are stainless steel and I have not had any rust problems on them at all. The gun comes apart very easily. First you remove the grip and trigger assembly in one piece by undoing two screws and then it just slides off. Then there are four larger screws holding the body together, and it should be noted that the lower right one is longer then the other three, so remember to put it back in the right spot. Once the screws are out,t he gun is still rather well held together from the the parts inside, so what I do is I grab the stock and twist it a bit to loosen the two halves of the gun. They then come apart easily, and you're greeted by the exact same internals as you would find in the 98 Custom (minus the crazy trigger assembly found on the 98C). They are exactly identical. There are only two parts that are not the same, and that would be the barrel adapter and the drive spring. The drive spring is about a quarter inch longer then that of a 98C. The powertube is plastic, but has not given me any problems like cracking or anything to that nature. The front bolt is made of plastic s well, but also seems to be well built and doesn't have any problems. The rear bolt is made of steel with an aluminum core. The rod connecting the front and rear bolts is also steel. The drive spring is a real nail driver, I had to cut mine down a bit (more on that later). The stock acts as the back stop for the bolt and drive spring, so you can't take it off unless you have an end cap to take its place. There is another important point here: The barrel adapter is made in such a way that it is possible to put it in upside down. If you do this, then the barrel will screw in and will stop with the sight on the bottom, so make sure you put it in the right way.

And now the fun part: performance. This gun is as reliable as a tippmann, and I try to take good care of my stuff. I keep this gun cleaned and oiled at all times. This marker isn't afraid of gobbling up your CO2 or compressed air, and I had it freeze up once on me when I was playing in sub-zero temperatures using CO2. I fixed the problem by simply cutting the drive spring down by about a quarter inch, and now the gun works great. The stock barrel is pretty accurate, when I'm shooting for accuracy I get a spread of about two feet at a range of about 100 feet. I have only broken paint twice in this gun. Once was when I was using some really, really old and severely misshapen paint, and the other time was when I forced the feedneck off while a paintball was halfway through, breaking it. Both incidents were my fault completely. Well actually, there was an incident where a paintball another guy fired hit my barrel straight on and splattered inside, and all the rest of my shots broke in the barrel, but that's hardly a technical fault. I also had an occasional problem where, when I pulled the trigger, the bolt would slide forward about a quarter inch and get caught on something, forcing me to re-cock it. This only happened once every 2000 shots or so, but I have not been able to find the source of the problem. I've had no other mechanical failures to speak of, save for the front sight incident i will explain later. The marker shoots like a dream.

Now for the problems. As I said, the gun froze up when I was shooting rapidly using CO2 in sub-zero temperatures, and the gun is pretty heavy on gas usage, but I mostly fixed that problem by cutting the drive spring down by about a quarter inch. The gun is also a big, heavy thing. Weak people might have trouble with it because its fairly heavy. small people might have trouble with it because its large. This gun is clearly for woodsball, not speedball. Also, the manual doesn't mention how to disassemble the barrel shroud at all, and that ended up being a big problem for me. When I first got the gun, I read the manual over but it didn't say how the shroud came off. So I looked it over, but I didn't notice the screw holding the front sight on, because its hidden underneath the forward sling attachment. Then later I had taken the gun apart and accidentally put the barrel adapter in upside down, and so when I put the barrel back on, the front sight was on the bottom. I couldn't figure out why, so I tried to twist the front sight off to turn it around. What I managed to do was cause the screw to dig into the barrel, leaving some very deep scratches in the black finish. I only then realized then there was a screw, and later realized my error with the barrel adapter. As a result, the screw doesn't stay in as tight as is should, and once in a while the front sight will simply come loose during a game. I'll be running through the bushes and look down and the sight will be upside down, and i'll touch it and it will slide along the barrel. When Your in the field you're only option is to take the front sight off, and take the circular shout attachment off too, and but them into your pocket. It doesn't affect performance at all, but It kills the look of the gun to take it off permanently. I plan to at one point purchase an almost identical forward sight from ops gear which clamps onto the barrel instead. That will also hopefully cover the scratches.

And now for everything else. I put an agitated hopper onto my BT-4 because I hate to shake the gun around all the time. I also put a remote on the gun because I'm a weakling and I like the tank on my back. The Iron sights on the gun are accurate horizontally, but the ball drops out of its view because of gravity, making them not too useful. Another major problem is that unless you have a very flexible mask you won't be able to even look down the sights, because the stock is in the way. You have to press your cheek up to the stock to see down the sights even when not wearing a mask, and my V-force Armor mask doesn't let me get nearly close enough to actually use them. But if you purchase a seperate red dot sight and mount it onto a AR-15 style carry handle picatinny sight rail, you can use your own sights no problem, but its possible your hopper will get into the way in this case.And also, if you mount the gun on your wall, it looks really, really cool.

BT already has an E-grip available for this gun, as well as a bi-pod for sniping. The gun will accept the same internal upgrades as a 98C as well. And BT also has available an M4 style magazine expansion chamber kit. I don't own it myself (EDIT: I do now!), but if you had that thing instead of the vertical grip, you would have one BADASS looking piece of hardware.

EDIT: Ok, well I just pulled the gun down off of my wall for the summer season, and when I took it all apart to clean it out and lube up the internals, I noticed a few things: The screw in the feedneck that clamps onto your hopper is made of steel and mine has some rust on it... Not alot, but its there. I also noticed some discoloration on the aluminum rear bolt core. There also is some rust in the set screw that holds the forward sight onto the barrel. None of these problems are serious hoverer, but in a few years they might be. Also, I ordered myself a bipod and red dot scope from opsgear yesterday, and I decided I was going to take the forward sling attachment point off of the forward grip... Well it turns out I couldn't. The thing is rock solid. I tried to remove the rod it connects to, but it seems to be all one piece.. so I tried to pry it off with a cheap old knife I had kicking around, and ended up simply bending the knife all to hell. As a last resort, I took a hacksaw to it, and sawed and sawed but all I ended up doing was taking the black finish off (luckily I was smart enough to do it in a spot where you can't see it). Bottom line: the aluminum (is it even aluminum? I'm not sure anymore!) parts are completely rock solid. I wouldn't hesitate to trust my life to the durability of the forward or rear sights... I literally tried to break them and failed. If you plan on modifying these parts in any way, you'll need nothing short of a jackhammer to misshapen those things.

EDIT #2: Alright, well its been two weeks since my last edit. I managed to get the forward sling attachment off. First of all, if you're going to do this, don't try to drill out the pin. I tried this, and my titanium drill bit snapped into three pieces, one of which got jammed in the pin. Then I tried drilling from the other side, and snapped a second drill bit in two, jamming the broken part into the other end. Then I took a hammer and a striker and basically tried to punch out the connecting pin... and bingo! it popped out! So, two drill bits, three headaches, a knife and a hacksaw blade later, I finally got the forward sling attachment off. Now, I can get at the set screw for the forward sight much easier. I can now tighten the screw much better. Unfortunately, all the months of doing it up and undoing it with the sling attachment in place has worn the corners off the one end of my hex wrench. So I have to use the other side. However, I have played 6 games with the forward sling attachment gone and the screw done up nice and tight, and I no longer have any issues with it falling off. As of now, my next purchases will be the M-16 style expansion chamber... Too bad my gun already weighs in at around 12 pounds fully loaded with all my extras and stuff... But hey, I'm building upper body strength, right?

EDIT #3: Well, I've had the gun for two years now. Taking off that forward sling was a life-saver. I haven't had the sight come off since. I also purchased the mag expansion chamber, and it has resolved all the last issues I had with this marker. No longer does it freeze up and the weird bolt problem seems to have solved itself. I also purchased a BT-1913 barrel kit, which is for looks only. I currently have the gun decked out with a laser sight and a flashlight, as well as a red dot sight on an AR-15 carry handle sight rail as well. If I could do it all over again, the only thing I could have done differently is removed the forward sling earlier. Otherwise, I am completely happy with this marker and all the fun it has brought me. It is reliable as can be now. The only tiny problem is the rusting parts mentioned in edit number 1, but its not significant enough to be a problem.

EDIT #4: Three years I've had this gun. As of last summer, about a year ago, my paintball team disbanded. I was considering giving up paintball all together and my BT-4 Assault became an ornament in my bedroom where it looked really badass but was not used. The cable guy, the furnace guy, two electricians and the phone guy all thought it was an actual assault rifle. I hadn't cleaned the gun after the last game, thinking I'd do it at the end of the summer. Well I forgot to completely and the team got back together a year later. So I hauled out the gun and the gear and found myself in the field with a gun that had not been cleaned, still with some paint on it. Had not been oiled in a year. I screwed on a CO2 tank and filled the hopper and away it shot without any initial problems. After the first game it started to act up though, firing twice per trigger pull, or occasionally firing three or four times as if it was running out of air. I found the action of the bolt to be pretty stiff, I think that could be whats giving me issues. Regardless, I've purchased a BT rebuild kit and some new oil so I'll be letting you know how it goes shortly once I've replaced all the O rings and lubed it up like old times. On a side note, don't buy cheap red dot sights. They can't take a direct hit. Mine was hit and it pretty much exploded. My next one won't be from China. ;)
Conclusion: In conclusion, I must say that this gun outperforms the 98C and the A-5. If you were to get an A-5 with the same accessories (stock, sights, etc) it would cost over $150 more. The gun is as reliable as any Tippmann out there. You could never clean it, and never oil it, and leave it in a puddle on the side on the road overnight and pick it up the next day and it will shoot as good as it did before. Its built like a rock and is probably one of the best looking guns out there for the price. I would recommend this gun to anyone who doesn't plan on playing speedball with it. Hell, if you took all the extra stuff off of it and gave it an E-trigger, you could probably make it a pretty good speedball marker. This marker is the best marker I have ever used. Totally worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 2nd, 2009 at 9:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jmedina98 Friday, October 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month31 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TLX
Spyder Xtra
Spyder Victor II
Marker Setup: Stock, but comes pretty much loaded!!!!
Remote Coil
20 oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote hose
Strengths: Accuracy
Realism
Just plain intimidating
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy
C02 hogger
Review: I couldnt decide between a custom 98 with the same barrel and stock or the BT. I decided on the BT which was about $100 cheaper with the same setup. And I must say this marker did not disappoint. I was taking out players from 100 - 150 ft away in a few shots. They couldnt get close enough to get a shot off at me with this thing. When I got home and cleaned it. I didnt find much cleaning to do. The barrel has a slight residue from the paintballs but not much. It also came apart easily. This marker lived and surpassed all my expectations!!!!!
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this to all woodsballers. Sucks in small courses like speedball. It's just to heavy and bulky.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

dillonwilkes Sunday, December 4th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months23 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper Tippmann 98 Up-Grade, Sniper Tippmann A-5 Up-Grade, Longbow Sniper Rifle.
Marker Setup: On the BT-4 Assault, I used a remote coil and a Deadbox Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
For snipers remote coil AND the Deadbox Scope, and for other players only the remote coil.
Strengths: Very, very, very accurate.
Intimidation.
Fast.
Hard hitter.
Weaknesses: Hogs C02
Can be heavy without remote coil.
Review: I know what I am talking about because I am a sniper on the Parker Arsenal Scenario Team. The BT-4 Assault is a perfect gun for either a sniper or a front-man. Not being as long as other sniper rifles, you can expose less of yourself and move around easier, has a side feed, so the sight rail actually works, and can stay accurate for 150 yards+. For front-men, it is compact, so you can move easier, and can deliver a punch faster then the enemies' guns. Also, it has many up-grades and accessories. And for the price it is at, why not get it?
Conclusion: I recommend this gun for any position in scenario. Wither your just a rec-ball player or a professional competitor, this gun works like a dream.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 4th, 2005 at 7:45 am PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Donster 125 Saturday, December 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Custom 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, SP 20" Tactical Barrel, Special Ops A5A2 Stock, Shorty Grip, Dagger Vest (Digicam), Marauder II Battle outfit (Digicam), Opsgear UMP gas-through mag, RIchochet R5 hopper, Lapco Offset sight rail, Armson Pro-Dot Max Duty Gunsight, Orange Howitzer Bolt, Vortex Mod,
Recommended
Upgrades:
BT-4 Expansion Chamber
Red dot sights if you want
the BT E-grip for full auto
Strengths: Accurate
Durable
A5 barrel threading
Comes stock with upgrades not found on other markers
Weaknesses: Air effecieny
Cant take a cyclone feed system
98 style tocks
Review: Well ive been paintballing for a while and have owned a 98 with flatline setup, then i moved on to my current a5, and love it. Two of my close friends have this gun. one of them have the BT-4 assault setup, while the other just has the BT-4 standard with E-grip. Another one of my close friends has an A-5 but with a BT-16 barrel (this guns stock barrel). Anway, they have had these guns since we all decided to buy our own markers. However, they dont post any reviews, so its up to me to do it. Please dont get me wrong though, i have experience with this gun as i always see it perform when i go paintballing with my freinds.
______________
STRENGTHS:
______________

Durability: this gun is a definate workhorse! and has durability equal to that of any tippmann. however, remember, this isn't a "REAL" tippmann, the name of this manufacturer stems from the fact that ben tippmann is a nephew of the owner of the regular tippmann. ive seen this gun put through alot and keep shooting. definately scores well in my books!

+2/2
___________________

Accuracy: the barrel that comes with this gun is very well made. not as accurate as say an all american or the tactical (in my opinion) but it is very good, esp. with a good paint/barrel match. in short, you wont be missing much unless you are a shoddy shot to begin with. Furthermore, you dont hafta replace it! thats the way all guns should come stock! The shot grouping is pretty tight. Unfortunately i have not conducted tests wiht this other than some snap shooting with my freinds. The barrel performed well, but not as well as mine :P

+2/2

NOTE: my friend did say that in his backyard he hit a 6" target from about 20-30 feet away and hit it within 3 shots. this however was done without a mask and was made easier with the sights on the gun (which rock BTW)
_______________

Looks: This gun looks like pure awesomeness! yes i did just make that up, but its true. after an AR-15 sight mount that is made specifically for this type of sight rail (the M-16 one) and a mag. x-chamber, you are ready to roll! other stuff can be added on such as rails on the shroud so that you can add bypods and tac lights/lasers

+2/2
_______________

Upgrades: this is the really cool part because the gun comes with a collapseable stock, M16 adjustable sight rail, high-quality barrel with front sight and an M-16 barrel shroud)! to top it all off, the gun comes stock with 7/8" picitanny rails, great for mounting accesories on both top AND bottom!

+4/4

NOTE: I reccomed the BT-4 Egrip as it is extremely fast and easy to use. the only downside is the lack of select fire settings. only full auto and ramping (which doubles as single shot). THe plus to this is that while on ramping/single shot, if you need to lay down alot of paint, you can hit full auto and still be considered field legal. Furthermore, i give this (upgrades) a 4 because its these upgrades that make the marker perform so well (i.e.: accuracy via barrel, stability via stock).
_______________
WEAKNESSES:
_______________

Efficiency: i dont have any numbers for you guys, sorry, but all i can say is that my friend and i concluded that this marker eats air pretty quickly. Perhpas its just a lemon but perhaps not. im NOT saying that he fills up and gets 100 shots, but whenever we all fill up, he always runs out of air first, and we all shoot/play about the same. but its no biggie (we all use 20 oz CO2)

-1

NOTE: To improve this, i recommed getting the BT-4 magazine expansion chamber to improve shot effeciency, consistentcy and to improve you cool factor by 3.5 lol. but really this would help with CO2 and looks totally awesome. only downside is its price. But hey, its paintball, either go big or go home.
_________________

Weight: Now my friend has yet to upgrade his gun, he says after xmas he will get the X-chamber and such but the one thing i keep stressing is a remote, and he has yet to get one. Now unlike the A5, which is made of sum sort of plastic-like metal (i dunno exactly, but i think its pretty light), this gun is all aluminum and metal (i might be wrong on the aluminum part) but it is metal. and thats good for durability, but after a game or two WITH a 20oz it can get really heavy let me tell you. i no cause i hear him complain all the time and then i complain when i hafta hold his gun for him while he ties his shoes and such. but again, no biggie. personally i dont get people who complain about their weight of their guns. mine by all standards is considered heavy (i think) and i dont mind. my attitude is, if you cant carry your gun, go lift some weights! but since weight is always a factor in this kinda stuff i thought i should mention it.

Accessories: This is again a no biggie, but you cant get the cyclone feed system put on this, which is what my freind wanted to do. my advice is just to get a faster hopper.

NOTE: i dont even consider these weaknesses. if its heavy, go build some muscle and if you want to shoot fasst without chopping, get a fast hopper such as a richochet
Conclusion: This is a fantastic marker for people who dont want to spend alot of money on a gun or upgradeing it, as it comes with many quality accessories stock! it is also a great gun for advanced players who DO want to upgrade it as it can be modifyed to become even better! great gun for woodsball and scenario play. I highly recommend it!
_______________

NOTE: i did not compare this to an A5 because these are differen't guns. however, if an A5 had the same add ons as this gun (i.e.: barrel, stock, x-chamber etc), i would say the a5 is better because is is more customizable and has tippmanns history of quality, performance etc etc. however, that is just my opinion.
___________

Hope you all enjoy the review and i hope it was informative enough.
(P.S: i tried to organize it as best as i could)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 25th, 2007 at 7:35 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Johnnybobdodd Thursday, January 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Inferno MK1 & MK2, Tippmann 98.
The Infernos' that I used were no match to the BT-4 Assault. The Tippmann 98 is a very good marker, however lacks that edge of realism that i look for in a marker.
Marker Setup: BT-4 assault, Remote line, Extreme rage 200 shot gravity fed hopper, 20oz CO2 tank & BT barrel bipod.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Line and the bipod
Strengths: Real life looks/milsim
Good Feel
Accuracy
offset hopper
Weaknesses: Gas usage
heavy
Review: Although this marker uses a lot of gas i still enjoy using it, after all at all the sites i go to the gas is free. I would strongly recommend the remote line as i found that if you have your hand on the trigger, the stock fully extended and a 20oz tank it is impossible to move your arm to the other side of the gun without removing your hand from the trigger to shoot arround corners.
The marker itself looks very sleek and will be sure to get a few comments like "where on earth did you get that" and "Holy...." especially with the bipod.
I have had a few ball breaks in this marker but put this down to the hopper not feeding fast enough.
This marker is the most accurate marker i have played with.
With 13bps being more than enough to have a great time with i dont think there is much problem with its slower rate of fire.
As this marker is based both upon the Tippmann 98 & A5 there are plenty of upgrades available and the reputation of being very reliable.
Conclusion: Overall a very good reasonably priced milsim marker. The offset hopper feed is a vast improvement from the BT-16. I would strongly recommend this to anyone looking for a milsim marker or to play scenario or rec-ball
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 26th, 2006 at 10:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VoAGunslingr Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5 egrip flatline with opsgear folding pcs stock and adco tac sight
Marker Setup: BT 4 Assault, Egrip, Scepter 'nade launcher, 32 degrees remote, pure energy 88ci 4500, empire reloader 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
BT E grip, lighter spring kit
Strengths: Looks friggin' AWESOME, very well balanced, sturdy, easy to maintain, stock barrel's fairly accurate.
Weaknesses: Air efficiency, have to disassemble the body to remove bolt.
Review: I bought a BT-4 Assault about 6 months ago, and have loved every second of using it. BT paintball design has finally created the perfect gun chassis for all the Milsim Modders out there. This gun is very solidly built, and the internals are like a cross of an A5/98c. Very easy to gut and clean. This gun accepts A5 barrel threads, and you can also flatline it, since the barrel adapter's the same. Also an A5 model scepter launcher straps right on this baby out of the box in about 60 seconds without the instructions. The gun itself is covered in milspec picatinny rails, basically anywhere you can put one, making sight or scope mounting a matter of where, instead of how. The hopper sits into an elbow that slides on a weaver rail so you can quickly access the chamber, even during play, without taking off your hopper, not that I've chopped much paint in it anyway. I think this gun's chopped 4 stingers that were sitting in the sun all day since I've bought it. This gun is highly upgradable, and BT just recently released an E grip. The Egrip is very nice in itself, with a full alluminum body, and an alluminum double trigger that is super light and easy to walk. Modes include 13 bps ramping, semi, and 13 bps full auto. Not as fast as an A5 WAS, but I've found it works way better. Some modifications I recommend are first a BT spring kit. The stock spring is a real naildriver, and I had to crank the velocity screw way in. Also when I put the Egrip on, it would uncock itself occasionally when I was rippin' on it untill I changed the spring. This also reduced the recoil of the marker quite a bit. The barrel is pretty nice, the nicest stock barrel I've ever shot anyway. I still found it slightly lacking, so I replaced it with a 16" J&J ceramic, and the shroud slid right over the barrel, holding in place with 2 set screws. The ceramic barrel tightened up the accuracy quite a bit, and quieted the gun down alot too, due to the fluting. The stock barrel is only ported at the muzzle break, making it one loud mofo. The sight rail and fore sight are actually pretty accurate, but I suggest a flexible mask like a switch fs, or something rubber in the jaw area, so you can get your face in low enough to sight down it. The reloader 2 hopper feeds this marker flawlessly with the e grip, and I find the body style fits very nicely along side the rail system. Overall I say if you want a durable, reliable, affordable, upgradable, and easily maintainable milsim marker, this is your gun. At a retail of $279.00 out the box, you couldn't build anything else half this cool.
Conclusion: this gun rocks for woodsball players who want an easily upgradable M4 carbine style marker, without alot of dough or cheap plastic parts.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rottendrew Wednesday, August 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Single shot pistols (lol)/ MR 1/ 98s /tons of rental garbage.
Marker Setup: BT4 Assault e grip and exp chamber mag, tippman triumph ssl 200 hopper, remote line ,20 oz co2 , 4 in one back pack and tack sling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
See above.
Strengths: Looks, price
Weaknesses: Not as tough as it looks see review.
Review: I read the reviews and decided to buy this marker. First I bought this paint ball gun because of the way it looked and felt when i was holding it. Secondly i was impressed with the reviews when it came to function and ability.

The marker has worked perfectly for me but i did have to fiddle about with it to get it the way i liked.

The first thing i had to do was remove the fore grip and realign the front sight so it was in the proper position when the barrel was tightened. To my shock i found that the sight and sling anchor point is only secured by one tinny allan screw. No way was it designed to take the weight of the gun on a sling. So I attached the tac sling with the provided hardware to the actual fore end grip and not to the guns sling fixing point.

The second thing i noticed is that when the barrel is fully tightened as far as it will go. The barrel itself now has some lateral movement. ( side to side). This movement is caused by the loose fit of the barrels female , or receiving end that is held in place by the guns housing. ( not good). At first i thought it was a flaw but after visiting the local store i checked one out right off the wall.

I firmly held the main body of the gun with the butt on the ground grasped the fore end (front grip)and moved it back and forth with about 5 lbs of force. Sure enough you can see movement at the end of the barrel! Not much but its still movement. If a longer barrel was used say a 1913 model ( 20 inch) this problem would be magnified significantly.

So be careful when slinging this marker, avoid unnecessary lateral force to the fore end and barrel or you will have expensive future problems. A longer barrel is not a good idea it will only increase the fulcrum effect and damage the housing.

In my opinion they used that tinny screw because they never intended anyone to use the front sling attachment. It is for aesthetics only, the barrels anchor point is not designed to take the weight of the gun laterally, If it were it would not move. One screw from both sides from the gun body into the threaded barrel reciever would have solved both problems ,35 cents at most!
Conclusion: Well after finding the barrel flaw and the useless sling anchor point i am disappointed at the designers. Just how much money per unit did they save by doing this ? Saving money has only taken away from what could have and should have been a perfect 10 out of 10 This gun handles well and feels good , looks great and so it gets a 8.5 but would have been a 10
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 13th, 2007 at 5:48 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

NeoDragonKnight Thursday, October 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault, remote line, 3 point tac sling, standard hopper, stock barrel and trigger, 20 ounce CO2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
3 point tac sling, remote line.
Strengths: Range, Look/feel, very customizable/upgradable, Mid/Back player marker
Weaknesses: Weight, Length, the sling lugs are useless, poor for front players
Review: This is my first owned Marker, and I do not regret buying this as my first marker. The look and style of the marker is modeled after the M4 carbine, and you will get looks and compliments from other players on the marker.

The construction is pretty solid in terms of the shooting mechanics, it is made of plastic and metal and is very durable (which as a new marker owner is a HUGE plus), and the stock barrel is very good as well. The sling lugs however are very poor and it would be a good idea to either cut them off or tie them down (the rear lug is static, but I used a twisty tie to keep the front lug from rattling), because if you do use them, they will eventually break due to the weight of the gun, and if you arent using them, the front lug will rattle around if left alone.

Because of the weight of the gun, I suggest getting both a remote line and a 3 point tac sling to offset this. When attaching the sling use the velcro wrap and put it around the barrel shroud, DONT use the lug, and for the stock, run the sling through the slit in the rear of the stock and around the top part of the stock and secure, again DO NOT use the lug at the bottom of the stock. Apex barrel is optional, but I am finding the stock barrel is good enough. E-trigger (and a better hopper) is optional as well, but since this is more of a mid/back player marker, you really dont need to fast fire so much, semi auto is good enough, but its up to you.

Maintenance is pretty simple because this marker is so durable, and is therefore a good way to learn how to take care of a marker if this is your first. Lube the marker once every 2 cases of paint, and keep your hopper and barrel clean (remember to clean the barrel after you lube the gun, you dont want oil in the barrel). Make sure to wipe down the outside of your marker as well, there are a lot of little bumps and crevaces for paint and dirt to get into, I guess thats another weakness. Also, I have not had a chop yet (knock on wood).

Playing with the marker, I love the accuracy, you will have an advantage over several players in range and this marker in my opinion is meant more for a mid or back player. Having played many games with this marker though, I tend to find that the weight and barrel length are a rather large disadvantages at times. I have been hit on the barrel many times because it is so long and bulky, movement is also hindered because of the length and weight. If you play urban senarios with lots of buildings and alleys, you will be at a disadvantage rounding corners and shooting from the left side (if you are right handed). You will have to stand further back from cover to be able to bring the weapon up and keep the barrel from sticking out, which can open you up from getting hit on certain angles. If you do play urban, I suggest you put the stock on the lowest setting to make it more compact (but you maybe like me and find it more comfortable to have the stock on the 2nd or 3rd setting). Keep in mind if you do use this marker as a front player or for close quarters, you will be facing opponents with shorter barrels (which are easier to round corners and dont give as large a target as the BT-4 Assault), are faster firing, and more importantly lighter (they can keep their gun level without spending as much energy as holding up the BT Assault). You will be at a slight disadvantage if you play this front or close quarters, so again I suggest you keep this to its strengths in range and stay mid or back, where you dont bring out the weaknesses of having a long, bulky, heavy marker.
Conclusion: As my first marker I am please with this, it is what it is, a realistic looking marker that has great range and durability. I have not had any problem with it, and I suggest this to any new players. Having said that, I probablly wont be using this in the next season now that I have a lot of games under my belt, I am finding the weight and length to be too much of a disadvantage, I will be probably looking to swap with the TM-7 (though i hear it has a lot of kinks to work out) which is more compact, light and suposedly very accurate. As long as you know what the weaknesses of this marker are, and adjust your game to it, you will be happy with it, play to the strengths of this marker (range).
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media