paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey RPM / Odyssey RPM / Odyssey RPM / Odyssey RPM

Odyssey RPM Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey RPM

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey RPM
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 36
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $210

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
* 4 modes of fire:
o Semi auto
o Ramping starting at 11bps
o Ramping starting at 13bps
o Ramping starting at 15.4 bps
* Operates on either CO2 or compressed air
* Sliding mode selector instead of dip switched for easy selection of modes
* Twist-lock feed neck
* Eyes to ensure the ball is in proper position for firing the gun. Eyes can be turned off
* Mini rail / regulator combo with gauge
Product Availability 
The Odyssey RPM is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
HitMan187 Friday, November 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month43 of 46 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
B2k,Bko's Ion's
Marker Setup: B2k w/pds red black fade.
Black rpm
Blus spyder Xtra
Recommended
Upgrades:
VA to use another reg if you want. I like it the way it is.
Strengths: Cheap, fast all the features of other mid to high markers
Weaknesses: Freezes fast on CO2 has expected with the rate of fire it can achieve.
Review: This is my review from PBnation.

Looks: I have to say that this marker looks 10 times better in person. The marker as a nice look to it sexy is what I would call it. Seeing the picture of it without a VA was kind of not to appealing. After holding the marker and playing with it just the way it is I have to say there is no VA needed.

Fire power: Ok I gassed it up using Co2 1st. Walking the trigger was a cinch I was instantly able to maintain a high rate of fire with no problem at all. I am not able to walk the trigger of my B2K out of the box like I can the RPM or the ION. The halo b is a must for the marker. I have my G/F ION set to the lightest trigger pull and she has trouble getting the marker to ramp. She picked this up and was ripping like I have ever seen her do before.

Shooting Paint: Midnight was the paint used 1st. Eyes worked without flaw no chops. The stock barrel is not bad at all. Ramping is capped at 15 on the highest setting no need for more then that. Everyone stood and watched as this $200.00 marker performed in open play like everything else out there. Seconds paint was used next and there was no drop off in performance that could be picked out by the naked eye. This marker is capable of 19bps maybe more it seemed liked once or twice the Halo B was not keeping up in Semi.

Internals: Things inside the marker look well it is equipped with a QEV the simplicity of the marker reminds me of the ION with just a little better performance. Even with CO2 the regulator was very consistent.

Overall: You canít go wrong for the price. The adjustment of the regulator seems annoying there is a hole in the front of it not sure if a allen wrench goes in their or not I was to anxious to get the marker shooting. So to adjust the pressure the marker had to be de gassed make the adjustment and then put the air back on. Again you may just be able to put something in the hole in the front and turn it but I did not try that as I have it set to where I want it. For those of you who think that you nee to add a VA I found it very light weight and easy to tuck in without the VA as I only use my other hand as a guide to move the marker in the direction of everything I look at so no VA for me is cool. Would it look nice with a chrome regulator and a chrome drop with a stainless freak back sure it will in fact that is my plan but it is not needed.

Conclusion: This is just a quick over view of the marker to let everyone know that you wonít be disappointed if you purchase the marker. Now we all know there are going to be some of these that will not work out of the box. That is the nature of the beast. I have just decided to make this my lead marker and move the rest of mine to the back for a little while. I will have pictures of the electronics so we can see what we can do to this bad boy
Conclusion: Very consistent reg shoots ropes. Performance a little better then an ION.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
52 Comments - Add Comment

Icedrelm Tuesday, January 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
No Blowfowards with Spring return
Marker Setup: Red RPM
CP reg
Home-modded VA(Odyseey dosent have one, so I made one)
NDz On/Off
Proto One-Piece
Odyssey Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel-Stock on is bad, caused alot of barrel brakes
New Reg- but to do that you have to make a VA,

Strengths: See Review.
Weaknesses: See Review.
Review: Key Strengths-
Its Price
Brake-beam Eyes
Autococker threaded
Clamping feed-neck stock
FASOR
Ramping
Easy to turn on and off

Key Weaknesses-
Bad stock barrel-Its un-shootabale
Bottom line Reg.
No gas-thru(other Odyssey makers had one)
Loud

Looks-
My wine red RPM is very very nice. Look great with the CP reg, as you can see in my picture.

Feel-
To me its all about how a gun feels. This one disspoints a bit. The bottom line reg makes it very very hard to hold. After I added my reg, it felt much better.

Sound-
Loud, Very loud. A new barrel Really help this though.

Speed-
Capped at 19 bps on semi, and will Rip that all day with the stock trigger.
Also has very good eye logic, but no setting are ajustable.

Gas-
Alright on gas, I get about half a case(1000 balls) off a full 68/45

Now this gun has a few fall backs(Reg, Barrel, and Feel). But noe to complan about for the $170 price point. I have this an ION, I really like this better and the ION was 100 bucks more.


Conclusion: Very Nice Gun for the price. Light, fast, A real contender!
You can talk to me on Pbnation on the Odyssey Fourms, I'm Icedrelm There as well.

Jeff
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 25th, 2006 at 6:11 pm PST
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

greenman41992 Tuesday, January 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom - Far simpler, very reliable, Extremely upgradeable, no comparison to the RPM when kept stock
Smart Parts Ion - Stock, the Odyssey is much better, but an ion with lots of upgrades is a close competetor
Tippmann A-5 with E-Grip - Very Reliable, not as fast as the Odyssey, more accurate with the stock barrel
Viewloader Triad - Not upgradeable at all, nothing in comparison with the RPM
Autococker ProStock 2004 - Very similar, although not electronic, Accurate, Closed Bolt
Tippmann 98 Custom Pro with E-Grip - fast, very good stock, can break some paint, another competetor
Brass Eagle Eradicator - A little worse han the triad, this gun is not upgradeable at all and should be avoided, unless you are a beginner or have a tight budget
PMI Black Maxx - Very durable, rear bolt is a plus
Marker Setup: Odyssey RPM - Black
Custom Rubberized Trigger
24 oz. Co2
Ricochet Rhino
(upgrades soon to come!)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Front Grip, only if you want it to be more comfortable
An Expansion Chamber, serves as a front grip, helps if you use Co2 in the winter
A New Barrel, very important, stock barrel is very inaccurate, can chop paint
Fast Hopper, this gun needs one and you will not get the full enjoyment out of this gun if you don't have one
New Regulator - Depends if you are using Co2 or nitro, which one to buy, stock one is okay
Strengths: FAST!
Eyes Stock
Ramping Stock
Runs on Co2
Nice Milling
Easy Mode Selection
Great Efficiency
Weaknesses: Very bad stock barrel
No front grip might be a weakness for some
Trigger wobble
Review: As I started to play paintball more and more with my friends, I figured I should save some money and stop making homemade upgrades for my Tippmann 98 Custom. I decided on looking for a gun that was fast, reliable, rugged, and one that could run on Co2. I was looking at buying a Smart Parts Ion, but then realized that upgrades are needed on an Ion to unlock its true potential. When I was on Actionvillage.com, one of my favorite sites, I saw this gun and looked no further. I saved my money and bought it, along with a Ricochet Rhino, which is surprisingly very fast for a $20 hopper.
When it came in the mail, I opened it up and it came in very nice packaging. The instructions were very vague and brief, but I had done enough research and I figured out how to adjust the velocity and select the modes. Upon firing it in my backyard, I figured out how great this gun was. It was very fast and the regulator worked fine. The eyes did their job, too. The only immediately visible drawback to the gun was its accuracy with the stock barrel. As a ratio, I probably broke about 5 balls per hopper (170 paintballs). The gun shot amazingly well, as it was a little less than 20 degrees outside and i was using Co2. The regulator is very nice, and pretty consistent, it includes a very accurate and durable gauge, too. Once I was done shooting, I realized that my RPM was a little different than the other RPM's that I have seen. Upon doing some research, I learned that two RPM styles were made. One, the older model, had a white bolt and a horizontal field strip pin that was near the ram cap. It also has a twisting feed neck and a trigger with a small slope at the bottom. The newer model, the one that I have, has a black bolt, a clamping feed neck (adjustable with an allen wrench), and a perfectly straight trigger. The field strip pin is the so-called "bolt handle" itself, the part that vertically sticks out of the rear section of the marker. This gun is a great buy and both versions of it are great.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to anyone who wants one of the best guns available for a small price. I also recommend it to Co2 users who would like a great, fast gun. This gun is available for around $120-$200 new, and you can find them used for less. I highly recommend this gun over an Ion, because this gun is great stock, which the Ion is not.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 5th, 2007 at 2:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mpbrianmajor Tuesday, October 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman98- The RPM is not as reliabe, but shoots faster and runs on low pressure
Ion- I think they are evenly matched, but the RPM runs on C02 with is a slight advantage
Marker Setup: Black Odyssey RPM
Eggy
J&J Ceramic s2
20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Go for a barrel and electro hopper over 15 bps
Strengths: Fast
Light trigger (very easy to walk)
Ramping and semi
Eyes
Cheap cheap cheap!
Weaknesses: Grip i guess
Stock barrel, although i never even tried it.
Review: Very nice gun for a cheap price. Its fast and it runs on c02. Its not hard to hold at all, its actually very comfortable. You and put your hand on the barrel or on the grip and behind the trigger. Theres an indent where you can stick your index finger under the trigger so it feels very comfortable.
Conclusion: Buy it over a Pilot. I got it for 120 on ebay. Or you can get it 150 new. Your choice, its fast and very nice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slog63 Saturday, November 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ION - RPM may be slower, but it's a heck of a lot cheaper
Marker Setup: BT-16 with Stryker Carbon Fiber 12" barrel. Pretty much stock everything else
Brass Eagle T-Storm gun that my daughter uses.
WGP Autococker Tactical - beautiful, accurate but heavier
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, barrel, barrel... did I mention barrel?
Some people do not like the lack of foregrip. If you are pneumatically inclined, install a gas-thru foregrip
Strengths: INEXPENSIVE
Lots of websites with support
Shares some internals with the Diablo Wrath line
Weaknesses: Barrel
Odyssey is R.I.P.
No foregrip
Grips are kind of plasticky
Review: I got this marker by sheer blind luck. I hadn't played for a few years and had no electronic marker to use. I have an old BT-16 that I like a lot (that's another review), but I wanted to try electronic.

I got the RPM on ebay for next to nothing, really. I only paid $31.50 + shipping. And that was BNIB. After two weeks I got my bright red box.

First impressions: Not the lightest of guns, but feels solid. The barrel seemed short at first glance (it's a 10"). It comes with a standard Delrin bolt which is an upgrade on many guns. No foregrip, but you can either hold the gas line or the lip just ahead of the gas line. Remember this is a 3 year old marker, lubricate the o-rings before playing with it. I've read in forums that it is not recommended to use oils, just paste-type lubricants. I followed this and use Dow 33. No leaks at all. I do not wish to make this a technical review, just an user review, so I will not state the step-by-step dissassembly instructions to lubricate. Suffice to say that you must be careful with the eye-wires when reassembling, as you may nick the insulation with the sharp edges that exist between the grip and the body block.

The box comes with a generic manual that only includes pictures for the older version of the RPM... did I forget to mention there are two versions?

There are two RPM versions and the main differences are:

Older version has a twist clampneck, the new one has a cross bolt clamping feed neck.

Older version has a white delrin bolt with one o-ring. The new RPM comes with a black, more streamlined delrin bolt which uses two o-rings

The newer version has a simpler, less easy to select control board (it uses a tiny jumper that you can lose), plus there are incomplete instructions on how to set it up. The older version has a slide switch selector. The good news is that no matter which RPM you get, VIRTUE has an upgrade board for the Diablo Wrath, and I've read that this board will work on the RPM. This board basically kicks the RPM into a better tuned machine, with many controls and ramping options, which you may use for more serious competition. The RPM has autococker thread, so barrels will be easy to find. I have used mine with a J&J ceramic and it rocks. You pick your favorite... any barrel will be an improvement over the stock one.

The older version has a QEV (quick exhaust valve) which is supposed to help the marker cycle quicker. I have never used an older one, so I cannot really make a comparison. The new style RPM I've read is the first ever marker that was designed without this feature and still be fast enough to cycle at almost 20 bps. There are a couple more nowadays, but the RPM was first.

According to purists I've read about, they think the old version has better anno. They also like the older trigger, which has rounded edges. The new version trigger is not rounded, the good news is that it will take a Diablo Wrath trigger upgrade if you are so inclined.

There are other cosmetic differences, but they do not affect performance.

As to the performance, I like the marker. The trigger is light, even though the shape is a little straight. You can walk it with some practice. I would replace the grip, but have not found one that fits (a downside of having a discontinued marker). I will make some tests, and will report on my findings.

I found by researching that Diablo took the original RPM design and modified it to create the Wrath. This means that the RPM and Wrath share some parts...
The main valve is the same
Most of the o-rings are the same
The noid is the same so you can use as spare (very important, as the noid is the main moving electronic part)
The ball detents are the same (use one detent at the time, using the existing two sometimes will cause brittle paint to break in the chamber). So to decide which detent to take away, first see which way you lean the gun the most... if you mostly lean the hopper to the left, take away the right detent... and viceversa. I swear to you it will not hinder your performance, you will not get double feeds, and it will make a world of difference when playing with brittle paint.
The eyes are the same (another plus, 'cause the eyes deteriorate with time)
Ram, ram spring and ram sleeve are the same
The bolt pin is the same
The bolts are interchangeable but because the Wrath comes with an aluminum bolt I would not use the Wrath bolt unless the original RPM delrin bolt is destroyed or missing
Their feednecks are interchangeable
... and the body screws, too
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to a budget-challenged paintballer. This RPM has features found in markers costing 10 times as much. Of course there's a downside... If you can live without telephone support, if you are good researching the web forums out there to find your own solutions, and if you like to make your own repairs and upgrades, you'll enjoy this little engineering wonder. I would not recommend it to a newbie. Odyssey made a nice, reasonably simple design, too bad the company went under before it caught on. The RPM has a faithful following, so this marker will be around for years to come.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 22nd, 2008 at 10:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

doman Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot-i have review for it.
friends mantis ego
Marker Setup: Spyder pilot acs o5 with a 32 degrees whisper barrel.
odyssey rpm- halo b with rip dirve, smart parts freak barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
-new barrel with out a doubt
-definetley a new hopper(Halo b works awsome.)
Strengths: -The triger is easy to walk.
-cheap gun workks on co2 and air
Weaknesses: odyssey didn't make a V.A(vertical adapter)
Review: I got this gun and the halo b at christmas time and the barrel had been put on back order.the gun was sweet u don't get a users guid though o well . I shot without the freak and the stock barrel was crap absoulut poop. so i bought cheap paint from wallys world ( wall mart) just to test out . I broke one in the barrel and then it just kept cloggin up. about 3 weeks later when i got the freak i bought good paint and it shot great a striaght line to my target didn't chop one.
Conclusion: I give it a 8 good gun for the price but without a couple of upgrades its not great.
((((so buy it and get upgrades))))
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

reddragon21 Friday, January 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spider pilot
piranha g2
Marker Setup: RPM
eVLution II
Dye Excel barrel
Worr Gas 50ci/3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
N2
new hopper
new barrel
Strengths: Fast
Price
Look
Weaknesses: Hose leeks (sometimes)
Barrel is awful
Reg is not great
Review: It has 4 settings but you really only need the 2, semi and the fastest ramping (15.4). This marker is very easy to use. There is an adjustable metal trigger which is pretty nice. Antichop eyes, so you wont break a ball, that can be turned off (hold the trigger and turn on the gun). Nice twist lock feedneck nothing special. A very compact design which is great for snap shooting. It is very easy to walk the trigger, and if i can do it you can for sure.

This was relatively inexpensive, $180. A new hopper is a must, I would suggest the eVLution II with the z board. Also you should buy rechargeable batteries.
I have found that every once and awhile, the hose will leek. It is easily fixable, but it is not something that i like about this marker.

Also the reg that is on it really is not all that great. It will keep your balls within +-10 fps but that means that you can only get the marker up to 280 fps. If you go above this you are risking a chrono check and being hot.

The barrel is terrible. You have to upgrade. Autococker threads.
Conclusion: All in all you should buy this gun. Great price, quality, speed, everything you could want in a marker.
Has a few minor week points but I would still suggest this gun. I love it. (Dont buy it for more than $180)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 29th, 2006 at 7:10 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

jeffballer Monday, December 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tested friends ion
Marker Setup: odyssey Rpm with halo hopper, pmi 88ci 4500psi red tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, maby feed neck
Strengths: Price, Size, Coolness
Weaknesses: A bit of a air hog, stock barrel is a stock barrel (meaning inaccurate)
Review: Ok first off I'm in love with this marker. And it's price when i bought it was 180 and since then dropped down to 150 on some sites. This gun has done nothing but intimidate my friends and gotten me out of bad situations. One problem i had was in my friend woods ball field, stupid me put it in the dirty didn't clean or nothing between games and little by little the eyes failed but nothin a quick clean of the bolt (very easily removed) can't fix. The barrel isn't accurate but it does have cocker threads witch is nice. i plain on an empire kit for me. Yes you can use CO2 I did for one day with breaks in between game to let it cool down, i would recommend a n2 and a regulator its a bit or and air hog. oh ya and this gun beats my friends ion.
Conclusion: So in conclusion it a great gun for the prise witch is lowered to 150. I my opinion it better than my friends ion with ups but it just could be that gun. Don't go ion go RPM baby!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 4th, 2006 at 5:50 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PumpPaintball04 Saturday, October 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bushmaster 2000, automag...uh not really similar, but its semi. Impulse, omen...
Marker Setup: Automag RT
intelli frame
Shocktech drop
Level 10
ULE body

SC phantom with dropout valve

Sheridan PG

custom fake KP rifle

Classic automag
Recommended
Upgrades:
mini-cocker asa adapter or oldschool spyder vertical air adapter. Maybe a new regulator.
Strengths: Fast, accurate, air efficient, eyes, clamping feedneck and $145 new
Weaknesses: No vert asa stock. stock barrel. changing modes to ramping isn't easy.
Review: Besides a couple minor factors including no vert asa, this guns sweet. Like many other PHASOR electros, it is sweet because its cheaper then say, a promaster or ion. It is accurate, pretty fast, and seems to be a good deal. One problem with the RPM, is changing modes to ramping is controlled by a little jumper you put on the board...i believe its only ramping mode is 15bps. However, I personally don't like ramping anyways, so if it was mine I would just keep the chip out permanently. The board is capped at I believe 17 or 18 bps. Please don't try to run c02 on this, i know they say you can....but i mean, comon, please dont, you'll have a bad experiance with it and give it bad reviews....lol. Seems good on air btw, my friend has a 47 ci 3000psi and hestill seems to get a decent amount of shots from it. This guns operation is a phasor (which means it's not a true electro pneumatic.) Unlike a bushmaster, half the guns cycle is controlled by a spring (the return) The only thing I dislike about the gun is if you need a good foregrip you need to shell out another 15+ shipping to get a vertical asa to mount a foregrip or a differant regulator. or you could pay 75 and get a Palmer stabilizer with the 1/8 male threads. The RPM is cocker threaded which makes finding barrels for it real easy. The RPM runs on 225-300 psi, and the pressure is what is used to control the velocity. The RPM has break beam eyes to prevent chops, so far my buddies hasn't chopped once. The Ion still has this gun beat in one department of course which is upagradability (is that a word?)
Conclusion: Anyways, I feel this gun is definitly worthy of notice, even though it went out of production. It is a good deal and if proven reliable (which ill be able to tell you cause my buddy has one.) it would definitly be an awesome gun for anyone who paintballs to use. Tournament grade? Honestly, im not sure, ive never owned anything "tourni grade." For your average rec baller, i think its an awesome choice. if your interested you should go check em out, i believe actionvillage still has some in stock...thats where my friend got his.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 14th, 2006 at 10:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jake_powers2002 Saturday, April 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Wrath Smart parts ion spyder electra and pilot
Marker Setup: Odyssey Rpm
site stiffi
palmer stabilizer
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
VA when it comes out
new barrel stock one is really bad
Strengths: Really fast
Eyes are good
Weaknesses: Noforgrip
None really
Review: I just got the gun the other day and I gased it up and dang it will shoot ropes of paint with no problem at all but I was using co2 and it shot fine but the reg when out on me so I got a new one no big deal the trigger is good but there is some side to side play with it which in some cases can be good but there is no grip but it is so light that you really dont need it over all its a good gun
Conclusion: if you are about to get a new gun I would say pick it up it is a great gun and you will be able to shoot ropes like the pros
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media