paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Diablo AR-1 / Diablo AR-1 / Diablo AR-1 / Diablo AR-1

Diablo AR-1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Diablo

Buy Diablo AR-1

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Diablo AR-1
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 17
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
FEATURES:
* DUAL BEAM BREAK EYES
* UP TO 18 SHOTS PER SECOND
* AIR RAM OPERATING SYSTEM
* 14" MICRO POLISHED CUSTOM PORTED BARREL
* ERGONOMICALLY DESIGNED FORE GRIP REGULATOR
* STATE-OF-THE-ART LOW PRESSURE REGULATOR
* QUICK STRIP BOLT
* CUSTOM VERTICAL FEED PORT
* NEW STYLE BALL DETENT
* ADJUSTABLE DOUBLE TRIGGER WITH ELECTRONIC SAFETY
Product Availability 
The Diablo AR-1 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
kegger089 Monday, November 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months30 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Wrath
Evil Omen 2.0
Marker Setup: Evil Omen 2.0
14" DYE Boomstick
Empire Reloader B
Dye Throttle Adjustable Air System 70/4500

Spyder TL-R
Spyder Rocking Trigger 2.0
WGP Worr Gas 68/3000
Viewloader eVLution II
32 Degrees Nyte Stikk Barrel 12"

AR-1
DYE Boomstick 12" (cocker thread)
Virtue Wrath Board
Q Loader
WGP Worr Gas 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue Wrath Board
a hopper that can keep up with the board, if u get it
Strengths: The gun is low profile
Weaknesses: Trigger moves left & right
Review: The AR-1 is basically a Diablo Wrath without the LCD screen. The manufacturer says that the gun can shoot 18 bps, that's true only when the gun is NOT connected to an air source.
I decided to upgrade the stock board to a Virtue Board for the Wrath. All the accessories for the Wrath will fit on the AR-1, they both have Autococker barrel threads.

I think that this gun has the potential to be awesome, once upgraded, until then the stock AR-1 is nothing special. There are no major problems with the gun, there's nothing that catches the eye either.

With a Q Loader, and a Virtue Board, I chroned the gun in at exactly 31 bps, whit the uncapped setting on, it was pretty awesome.
Conclusion: If you buy this gun, dont leave it stock, the upgraded AR-1 is pretty sweet. I give the gun a 7 because it needs more money put into it to really work well.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

alejandro1234 Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested13 of 64 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion and the wrath
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel,bolt and a regulator
Strengths: Fast
Nice Look
Durable
Accurate
Weaknesses: Long
Heavy
Review: It has a very sleek and nice look too it and to me looks alot like the wrath and i think it handles alot like the wrath also over all i freaking love this gun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!! ( look in review )



__________________________/ \_______\o/________________________________


OWNED!!!!!!!!!!


PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP
PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP
PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP
PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP
PPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP


Anyway this gun Has about 20 bps ( and thats good enough for me ) and is definitly amazing and im going out to buy one in one week and you should too.....more about the gun in review
Conclusion: Im giving this a ten becausethe day i went out to test it i had no malfuntions and hardly choped at all it is very acurate and me and my team owned by the way :D

Overall i think this is a faboulas gun and if i were you i would go out and buy one now!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

SORAKDH2 Sunday, June 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Wrath
Diablo Slayer
Marker Setup: Halo Tsa LED
72cu Pure Energy Tank
Remote Hose
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Boards
Feedneck
Strengths: Fast
Easy to clean
No chops
Weaknesses: way too Heavy
Feed neck

Review: Iím really happy I got this gun. Its fast, no chops, its easy to clean, and by the way did I say fast. The only problems I have with this sweet gun is that is every time Iím out on the field I have to lobe the neck of my halo tsa led to put on the feed neck. The other problem I had was when the first time I play with this gun is that I didnít bring my hose with me at the time and it was way too heavy for me. So it would be smart for weak people like myself out there is to be smart and bring a hose or buy hose. So you wont have to struggle with the weight like I did.
Conclusion: If you have want a cheap and good high end high-end gun the AR-1 is just for you .
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 10th, 2006 at 4:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

godumb Sunday, March 5th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
sp ion, autococker, syder
Marker Setup: halo backman, dye barrel, crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
on/off , new board
Strengths: Reasonable speed, cocker threads.
Weaknesses: Weak instruction manual, trigger moves side to side.
Review: I got this gun for christmas and it didnt come with a instruction manual and i had problems with the reg and trigger. so we sent it back and i got a new one with an instruction manual. Since then i havent had any problems. It shoots at a reasonably speed but not as fast as the ion. The cocker threads was very convinient because i had a cocker b4 this so i was able to use my old barrels... the stock barrel sucks :(
Conclusion: Overall i love this gun. If u get this gun i suggest u get a on/off, macroline, and a new barrel.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

chryos Wednesday, March 15th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Mongoose II
Marker Setup: AR-1 Stock
Co2 Gas System
Halo TSA Backman Electronic Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Electronic Loader
Strengths: Solid Feel
Looks Great
Rater of Fire is adequate
Weaknesses: Trigger "feels" loose
Eyes are sketchy
Plastic air lines are on outside, are easily damaged
Review: Oh boy, I have to say I was very dissapointed about this marker. When I received it there were all kinds of issues with it. Here's the list.

1. No instruction Manual with the Marker...when you call tech help they tell you to download the Wrath handbook...it's not quite the same, but very close.

2. Almost every single fitting on the marker was loose upon delivery. The connecting air lines, the expansion chamber...everything.

3. I had to in order to tighten one of the fittings you had to disconect the air lines running to the soleniod. You also needed to do this just to change the FPS setting.

4. The reason these were loose? The air lines running along the outside are very very very nearly too short. Resulting in a need to pull on them in order to get them to fit in their holes once you have tightened the air fittings. If you don't do this you end up with MASSIVE air leaks.

5. The eyes only work about half the time. Once I was finaly able to shoot the thing it was chopping balls left and right causing paint to leak out of the slots where the eyes are located this is a MAJOR pain to clean.

6. This is the doozy, after firing through one loader full of balls I reloaded and to my dismay, realized that I had blown through my 9oz canister of Co2 (using for trial perposes). So I hooked up my 20oz....I started to hear a leak and then BOOOOM. One of the problematic airlines I have been talking about? It exploded, it couldn't handle the pressure. 2 days later my right ear was still ringing. I have since had to send it out for warranty repairs and have as of yet to get it back.

Conclusion: Even with all that said, I really want to love this marker. When the thing is working it is fantastic (except for the stock barrel but that's not really a big deal). My real regret though? Is not coughing up the extra $50 to get a Wrath. If you want this marker, save up one extra week, whatever you got to do and get the Wrath or even an Ion. I really can't recommend this marker, even though I really do believe I will enjoy it, I should have held out for the Wrath.

Followup: All of this basically happened because I screwed up and used Co2 when I should have been using an HPA system. I have since had the marker repaired and have used HPA. This marker is much better then I had originally given it credit for.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 24th, 2006 at 9:27 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

*^RwK^* Friday, December 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing really
Marker Setup: (woodball)98 custom viewloader (speedball) ar-1 vlocity jr 48ci 3000psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe barrel
Strengths: Speed durable looks eyes
Weaknesses: Little heavy for speedball
Review: i bought this gun thinking that it was just going to work then break. boy was i wrong this thing is fast durable and has break beam eyes. this is a great gun for any beginner or moderate player. this gun at zephyrpaintball.com is about $120 with shipping. don't waste your money on an ion. my friend has an ion and he admits that my gun is better.


Endless rage team for life
Conclusion: Get this gun. even as a back up
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mickydurham Sunday, December 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder imagine
Ultra light barrel

Zeus G2

Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Clamp feed neck
To do: Virtue board
barrel kit
Z drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue Board
Drop forward
Barrel kit
Strengths: Very accurate
Medium fast trigger.
I like the bolt design
Weaknesses: The trigger moves left to right.
Review: Great gun. In comparison to the guns i have it is excellent. For a 300 dollar gun is good. But u have to put upgrades and search for the best deal with the gun and upgrades. The body is slick. The gun looks worthy to last me for quit a few years. Two settings for trigger.
Two settings for air regulation to help you squeeze out that extra drop of air.
Conclusion: It is a basic gun. Good for those looking to customize the gun to you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Chimo36 Tuesday, July 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder MR-1 W/ Empire Reloader II

Stock VLoader Triad
Marker Setup: Stock Diablo AR-1 W/ Evolution 2 hopper (Eggy 2), 45/3000 Pure Energy Tank, and a Clamping Feedneck Modded to Fit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger
New Feedneck
New Board
New Bolt (Delrin)
New Barrel
New Eyes
Strengths: Semi Fast
Somewhat Accurate
Weaknesses: Bad Stock Eyes
Paintballs Chop like crazy
Feedneck is Skinny
Stock Board
Not made anymore
Review: I'm not going to lie to any of you about this review. Its not that I don't like this gun, its just that is isn't that great of a gun. I can't seem to use this gun without paintballs chopping left and right, and for the record I was using Marballizer's. I have constant problems with the trigger getting stuck, and like I said before, even with the Stock Eyes on, I still break paint every other shot. And again like I said before, The Diablo Company DOES NOT make/manufacture this gun anymore, so if you buy this gun and it somehow screws up, then you are screwed because you cant send it in to the Diablo company to get fixed. This gun also has only one mode, which is Semi auto.
Conclusion: Well, this gun is OK, I bet with the right Up's for it, it will be alot better, but if you leave it stock, you might not be that happy with this gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 25th, 2009 at 12:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FATAlogPTWgjDEP Sunday, February 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
B2K4- very similar in operation. I have a bias towards ICD. both are good mid level markers
Timmys- similar because of the stack tubed poppet design. Timmy is by far superior
Nerve- same as timmys
Pre- VS series spyders- AR-1 is better
Marker Setup: AR-1
ACP bolt, bolt pin, midweight ram, Bullit cupseal, CP reg, Unimount, FBM trigger, OGI feedneck, T-board, laser eyes
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feed, on/off bottomline, barrel. upgrade from there
Strengths: Cost
Customer support
though few, quality upgrades available
Weaknesses: Feedneck, barrel, bottomline. grip frame.
Review: In my experience, I have owned several mid-range high-end guns. B2K, Ions, mech cockers. I have owned several High end markers. Timmys, Nerve. I feel that the AR-1 is lacking in some areas- aluminum bolt, barrel, bottomline. Those are my pet peeves for most guns and most guns are typically lacking in those areas stock. So i won't hold it agianst this marker today. They are adequate, though by no means ideal. It comes with a great performing reg, though a little thick for my personal taste. I had minimal experience using this gun stock. however in the end it lacks the feel of a true high-end gun, but it can hang in there with the big boys. The grip frame is a little thick as well. It has adequate speed, decent efficiency, BB eyes, and a relatively low operating pressure. Maintenance is a breeze on this gun, though not as easy as say my timmy or nerve.

now time to get to the real meat of this review-compared to an ion.
barrels-ion- slight edge
regs-both are pretty decent.
triggers-AR-1 has the edge.
Feednecks- both are pretty lousy. and ion has considerably more options available.
boards- ion
Ease of maintenance- AR-1-hands down.
upgrades-ion in a landslide.
out of the box performance- ion
Conclusion: Even after looking at my own rview it would appear the ion is the better buy. But in the end i prefer the feel and overall quality of the AR-1. although great when working, too many x-factors to go wrong with an ion. With the AR-1 it is a quick easy fix a mjority of the time. with the ion, it is seldom quick and easy.

If you are a beginner or looking to move up but not ready for the big guns get this, a wrath or a slayer. i think the extra money spent ona wrath would be well worth it. a great backup or recball gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bo1248 Wednesday, February 15th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Omen
Diablo Wrath
Marker Setup: AR-1
Empire Twister Barrel
Redz Clamping feed neck
HALO TSA
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
New Feed Neck
Fast Hopper (HALO B W/ RIP drive)
Strengths: Is accurate
Is compact
Gives a consistant stream of paint
Weaknesses: Trigger moves left and right
Only shoots as fast as your loader can load
Review: I just got this gun and it's great! The only thing that I saw wrong with it is that the trigger moves left and right. I like how steady of a stream it fires, and i like the eye. This gun will shoot as fast as your hopper can load(because of the eye) so soon i'm going to get a HALO-B with rip drive. I like this gun's accuracy too because you can spray some paint in a straight line instead of all over the place. It also seems solid and should last a while.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any player looking to step it up a notch.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 16th, 2006 at 1:12 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media