paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock / OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock / OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock / OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock / OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock

OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount OPSGEAR

Buy OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock

Paintball A-5 Stocks

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
RAIDER G36 Folding Stock - A5

Introducing the first G36 folding stock designed from the ground up to fit and enhance the function of the Tippmann A5.

FEATURES:

* The fold is a full 180°
* Stock lays flat against the body of the marker
* Easy fold and store for transport
* Fold for CQB engagements
* The stock will not interfere with the shooter’s hand while folded
* Made of RAIDER™ quality materials
Product Availability 
The OPSGEAR Raider G36 Folding Stock is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
OlUncleGearHead Monday, October 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bottle ends jammed into my shoulder, butt plates and other
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
PE Remote w/ Slide Check
PE 20 Bottle
Tac Cap
OpsGear G36C Grip, Rail and Stock
Bushnell 1x30mm Trophy red dot sight
Seals Action Gear single point sling
Strengths: Comprable price to other stocks
Folds out of the way when not needed
Looks cool
Weaknesses: No sling lug (very minor complaint)
Slight interference with mask (see review body)
Review: If you're in the majority of woodsballers, you like messing with your marker. Hey, I'm not judging; I'm exactly the same way. Hell, the main reason I picked the A5 was because of the vast number of mods you can mount on it.

The G36 Stock, as the name implies, takes it's design from the Heckler and Koch G36C, the carbine variant of the German army's battle rifle.

With the exception of the pivot pin and spring, the entire stock is made of a high density plastic, and mounts in a minute or so. Like just about every aftermarket stock for the A5, it mounts directly onto the two rear strip pins that hold the stock end cap. I've heard a lot of complaints about aftermarket stock having some wobble to them once they're mounted. Not true of the OpsGear G36 stock. It sits flush and tight all the way around with no wobble.

The ergonomics of the stock are very sound. From a slung position, the folded stock can be kicked with your thumb into position while releasing your marker's safety with your index finger, and made ready and brought to bear in seconds. Chances are pretty good that when the horn sounds you're going to have it unfolded and ready to go in the first place, but you never know.

If you're like me and play the occassional game of speedball, the folded stock keeps the marker very compact without having to take the stock right off, and while not an ideal solution, it allows you to play with a much smaller profile marker that plays closer to the body if you're headed with some buddies to a tourneyball field.

I have only two things that may (I emphasize may) be issues to take into consideration when thinking about buying this stock for your A5. The first is the he A5 doesn't have a sling attachment point other than the stock end cap. It would have been nice to see an eyelet or other mounted on it out of the box, but this may be of minor concern to some.

Second, depending on your mask and marker set-up, there maay be some intereference with your mask. I play with an Elite Headshield, a big monster helmet and the lower portion of the mask hits just as my eye comes to my sight, which is not much of a concern to me, but my sight is mounted on an elevated accessory rail, so thisis something to that may affect folks who mount thier sights to the A5's top dovetail.
Conclusion: All in all a very sound product, one I would recommend to any woodsballer who wants to add a little fashion with their function. It's minor flaws are nothing that detract significantly from the stock as a whole. The only reason it receives a 9 is because nothing in this world is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

OpsP8ntballer Saturday, March 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
G36 fixed stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann a5
Opsgear UMP shrou, mag, front and rear sights, g36 folding stock
JCS red hot power tube
Tippmann e-grip
Strengths: -Sturdy
-Folds easily
-dosn't unfold by itself
Weaknesses: -Plastic
-Pain to install
Review: The stock is very sturdy, though a paint to install. When i put mine on i had to use a rubber mallet. when attatched, even though is is foldable there is hardly any wiggle at all. then when you fold it i can shake my gun violently and it hardly even budjes, but don't let that mislead you it is easy you unfold. all you do is lift and fold.
Conclusion: i would reccomend this to everyone, hands down.
i only wish it would be made of better material. even though is is ABS hard plastic I enjoy aluminum stocks.
so a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

freezerbee Wednesday, December 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro-Team A-5 f/x commando style 3 position stock with RVA
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with...
> JCS gold power tube/DOA pro seal front bolt
> Palmer inline stabilizer/Palmer gauge
> Low Pressure kit (Springer Paintball Modified)
> CO2 (remote)
> Lapco offset mount
> Armson ASR1 raised rail (backwards)
> Armson ProDot occluded eye dot sight
> SpecOps A5A2 ez gas thru front grip (modified)
> Opsger G36 folding stock (modified)
Strengths: It's awesome, Light, sturdy, stable, compact, modestly priced, pretty easy to mod.
Weaknesses: Installation a bit tough, hard to field strip, no RVA, Left handed? tough luck.
Review: Alright...

I haven't played with this thing yet. It JUST arrived in the mail so these are all preliminary observations but I think they'll hold up.

Installation: This was kinda annoying but it's probably for the best. The stock fits very VERY tightly which turns out to be a pro and a con. My old F/X commando stock had a wiggle to it that I was never able to completely eliminate. To combat this, I had my A-5's body screws tightened as far as I dared for fear of stripping them. This was not necessary on the Opsgear stock. It was actually easier to install the opsgear stock with the rear body screws loosened slightly and tightened only after the quick strip pins are in place and the stock is secure. I may actually drill a hole in my grip to make the process easier. On the plus side, the stock, in it's open and locked position has no wiggle whatsoever; it feels like a good fixed stock ought to; which was pleasant - I hadn't counted on it being so sturdy. In it's collapsed position, it wiggles a little bit but doesn't rattle even if you shake the gun. The notch cut in the butt plate to accommodate the cyclone charger doesn't exactly line up but it serves it's purpose.

Weight: The first thing I noticed once the stock was installed was: "this sucker is LIGHT" The stock only has metal in it where it needs it. There's a small piece in the mounting bracket where it connects to the A5, and the rest is in the pin and spring where the stock folds. My old stock was heavier to the point where I the disparity in weight was noticeable.

Quality: The only trouble I noticed with the manufacturing of the product was the presence of some flashings from the injection molding of the plastic. I assume it's best to remove these (from the mounting bracket at least) or risk them getting sucked into your internals. smoothing those flashings out will also aid in the stocks ease of installation.

Action: it's a little more difficult to operate (fold/unfold) than opsgear would have you believe but that may be because there's a breakin period I haven't yet experienced. It's a little tricky to get the stock to unfold without taking you hand from the grip and refolding takes a little muscle. I'm willing to overlook these minor details because the thing is so relentlessly sturdy when locked.

Missing: A rear velocity adjuster. If you're a sucker for consistency, you may want to adjust your front velo adjuster to be flush with the inside of the power tube (or even get a tube sans screw) If you do this, you must find another way to adjust your FPS. The easiest way is with a rear velocity adjuster which this stock will in no way accommodate. Your only other option, in this case, is modding the A-5's stock spring or monitoring your pressure on a regulator. Shed a tear, if you will, snipers, for this shortcoming. While it is minor, it does render the product "not perfect".

Price: Cheaper than a lot of stocks that are... (how can I put this...) NOT AS AWESOME

UPDATE: No major complaints so far. I did have to modify it, it was in the way of my remote and side-mounted stabilizer but it's still rock solid even with a bit of material removed. I sunk some screws into it just to be safe.

A little gun oil on the spring really smooths out the action. It breaks in nicely. Still no wobble.

I put an extra hole in the grip housing so I can get to the other body screw with the grip still in place. It really helps getting the quick-strip pins in and out. Still a pain, especially if you're squeamish about putting holes in your precious stock A-5. Whatever. To mod is human.

A friend of mine pointed out that it's really uncomfortable if you're left handed or switch hands a lot with it in the folded position. I don't play a lot of speed ball so I hadn't really thought about it. I suppose if you're left handed and own an A-5, you prolly still use the stock front grip (I personally can't stand it).
Conclusion: if you don't care about field strip time or the lack of a velo adjuster and want a sweet, solid-as-the-rock-of-gibraltar stock that, as an added bonus, folds like bad hand of poker... Buy this stock without hesitation. Not 10 for 10 on account of the RVA, and it's non-ambidexterous (don't buy if you're a leftie). I'll overlook the field-strip thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 21st, 2006 at 9:13 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Schatten529 Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JCS Voodoo stock (folding)w/ RVA
Stocks similar to those that are on any hunting rifle
Marker Setup: Tippmann A 5
- JCS Red Hot Power Tube
- Madd Mann Spring Kit
Tippmann E Grip
- JCS Duel Trigger
Tippmann Flatline Barrel or J&J Ceramic Barrel (14 inch)
Core Remote Line connected to PMI 68ci 3000psi HPA
Strengths: Fits like a glove.
Light weight yet durable.
Solid shooting platform.
Great stock for price.
Weaknesses: No sling mount
Cleanup recommended before installation.
Tougher to install without clean up first.
Review: As a serious scenario and woodsball pIayer I have seen a lot of stocks in used within our team. This is the best one I've seen of it's kind. As a flexible player on our team I find myself in CQB (close quarter battle) to longer distances as well as in open field and tight quarters. This review would also work for other Opsgear Raider folding stocks.

- Performance -

This stock allows me to fold it in when I have little room to maneuver or leave it out for a solid shooting platform for every other situation. This stock has a latch system for folding it in and cams over to keep it from unfolding. To fold the stock in you need to lift the stock up a little to release the latch before if can be folded up. Unfolding is much easier because the stock cams over and stays in place. (Things are stiff right now because it's still new, but they should loosen up as time goes on. I hope the cam system doesn't wear too fast and cause the stock to unfold unexpectedly).

The stock also sits pretty flat to the marker and doesn't stick out nearly as far as the cyclone feeder. You won't be catching in on any walls, trees, etc. Also while folded the stock won't interfere much with your grip or shooting. I have big hands and don't have much problem shooting. If you like "walking" a double trigger and you have big hands it could be annoying at first. My E-Grip in any mode other than single fire doesn't give me much need to "walk" my trigger very often.

The last highlight is that the stock is extremely light and durable. Compared to my old stock I don't even know this one is there. As far as durability is concerned check out Opsgear's website and watch the video of the guy doing pull ups on the thing while installed on the gun. My only concern for damage is the latch system breaking while trying to fold it in. Both teeth are plastic and somewhat thin. I may file mine down to reduce the risk, but I'll have to make sure it doesn't change how well the stock stays locked or stays solid in the unfolded position.

The stock doesn't have a sling mount. It doesn't bother me too much because I replaced my upper rear strip pin with one that has a hinged bail used to connect to a strap on my Tac-Vest, but they could have put something above the pivot point to help everyone without vests.

- Installation -

You can probably slap this puppy right in, but it is much easier to do a little prep work first. There are little plastic shavings that are left over from drilling the rear strip pin holes and raised plastic seams when they casted the plastic from molds. I took my Leatherman and shaved off the seams and scraped the holes out. If you try to install it before removing the raised seam you will likely see your marker start to scrape it off for you and by the time you push it all the way in the build up will accumulate at the back and won't allow you push the stock in enough to get the pins in. I also chamfered the strip pin holes on the side where I push them in from to make it easier to start them...but that's up to you.
Conclusion: Ask yourself a couple questions:
Does your play style put you in close quarters or tight places?
Do you want the flexibility to play up close and personal or drop paint from afar in a matter of seconds?

If you answered yes to either or both questions then you probably want this stock.

The stock is well built, sturdy, lightweight, durable, looks good, and adds a lot of flexibility. I would highly recommend this stock to all play styles but only recommend it for those who only hang in the open field and are never in close engagements, but I use it for that too. Not the cheapest stock out there, but definitely priced competitively and worth every penny. I scoured the Internet for the best price and surprisingly found it the cheapest at Opsgear.com (join the opszone forum for 10% off orders).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kek Wednesday, August 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Universal Gas-thru stock - way worse, but does allow you to use sights
Tapco T6 - has wobble, but has the advantage of being collapsible
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
E-Grip
14" SP Progressive
G36 Folding Stock
BT Double Finger Trigger
Ricochet R5
Remote
68/3000 HP
Strengths: - Folds
- Sturdy
- Light
- Looks
- Compact
- Price
Weaknesses: - Interference with mask
- Not for lefties
- No sling attachment-part
- Though installation
Review: Well, this has been my third stock since I bought my A5 only a couple months ago. Since it is Opsgear, you can be sure about the good quality of the product, lightweight but still very sturdy...

The thing you'll notice when you first see it is that it is rather short. Well, since it should be in order to be able to fold next to your cyclone, so that shouldn't be that much of a problem.

It is a pretty solid stock, no wobble like the Tapco. It does however have some space in the folded position, but this shouldn't be an issue since it doesn't even need to be sturdy at that point.

The only big weakness of this stock to me is that it doesn't allow you to use any sights without any (offset)adapters. Not that I used my stock sights very often, but there still occur moments when you'd wish you would be able to quickly use your stock sights

Update: this stock has broken two of the pushpins in the back of the marker. A pretty nasty thing, considering there's no PB-store anywhere near...

Conclusion: Very good stock, sturdy but still lightweight. Great to be able to simpy fold it away for CQB.
A 9.75 since you can't really use the sights, but due to breaking the pushpins it's a 9
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 26th, 2006 at 11:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PbRec Friday, May 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
M4 Stock
Marker Setup: A5
Opsgear UMP Shroud
Opsgear G36c Folding Stock
Lapco gas through mag
Lapco Bigshot 12" barrel
Strengths: heavy plastic
Mounts in seconds
Very snug fit to the marker
Very comfortable
Weaknesses: No strap loop
Thats about all i can think of
Review: I just bought my A5 in the effort to make a soul milsim marker and the first thing i did was go to opsgear.com because they in my opinion have the most reliable marker add-ons! Well once this part arrived i through it on my marker along with the other little things i bought and man it really makes the gun look amazing!
As for performance well it doesnt really do much but let me rest the gun on my shoulder with a little more ease and at that it does very well!
It is really convenient to be able to fold it down and tuck your marker in closer for some CQB!
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to add a stock to there marker but would also like the convenience of a folding stock to tuck your marker in close to you! And if you would like to make your marker look really nice!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sp4nkySlayer Saturday, October 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock stock(haha) tippmans dont come with a stock out of the box
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Response, Double Trigger, Co2, 14" Smart Parts Progressive, OpsGear G36 Folding Stock, 32* 2003 Expansion Chamber, X7 Hopper
Strengths: High quality Resin plastic
locks in fold
easy to instal
Weaknesses: A bit hard to close unless you learn the best contact points
Review: The stock is amazing. its made of really high quality resin plastic that can suposedly get ran over by a truck and still function properly without bending. i believe that. more good, it has a tightly locking blocking pin that allows for no accidental opens of closes. its especially good for storage.

the only bad thing i could say about this product is that it can be hard to get the stock to close if your not familiar with how to operate the closing system.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this procduct to anyone who wants to get a stock or just make their marker look really cool and milsim.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nootz Friday, October 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann/BT CAR Stock
Marker Setup: BT-4 SWAT:
-BT-16 Barrel kit
-BT Bi-pod
-Tippmann Verticle Grip
-BT e-Grip
-Extreme Rage Overdrive hopper
-BT 45 degree picatinny/weaver rail (on top of foregrip)
-Walther 2x30 RD scope (mounted on BT rail)

Tippmann A-5:
-A5 Flatline barrel
-A5 Response Trigger
-OpsGear sight riser
-OpsGear Gas-Thru UMP magazine
-OpsGear folding G36 stock
-SoftAir 1x28 RD reticle
-Tippmann Cyclone LP hopper
Strengths: Folds out of the way when not needed, has cut-away to fit over piston.
Weaknesses: Doesn't fold completely when RT installed.
Review: It's pretty good for how I have my marker set up (CQB).
When mine arrived, I had to modify where it slides into the rear of the A5's receiver in order for it to fit in properly. It also doesn't fold all the way when a Response Trigger is installed onto the marker. Other than that, no complaints, haven't had any trouble with seeing over it with my mask on.
The folding design gives it a multi-purpose firing platform: you can either go freestyle or Close-quarter Battle (CQB) with the stock folded to the side of the marker, or unfold it for a steady urban battle style.
Conclusion: I say get it if you need it. I more or less got it to make my marker look hardcore, but it's good for a firing style change-up.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Big D113 Friday, May 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Car-15 stock
Marker Setup: A-5, Rt, 16 in tippmann barrel, Commando Air-through, Tac cap
Strengths: Strong, and well built
Weaknesses: At first its hard to get use to the sping in the folding stock
Review: This is a great stock when I first looked at it I thought it was junk it seems very small and cheap plastic. I was wrong though, this is a stong and sturdy stock. The folding is great to keep the stock out of the way. If your looking for a good stock for a low price this is a great deal.
Conclusion: As i said before if you are looking for a good stock for a low price this is the one for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Corrupted355 Saturday, August 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT Combat stock --> crap
Collapsible CAR stock --> decent, but not as good
Air Through ASA T-Stock --> cool, but fincky
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5:
PPS Brass barrel w/ Apex tip
X7 hopper
APE E-grip
Response Trigger
Vortex mod
Palmer's Male Stabilizer
OPSGEAR G36 folding stock
CMI micro-coil remote
Strengths: Sturdy
Beefy
Good tight fit
Moves out of the way
No wobble
Weaknesses: Mechanism needs oil (see review)
Doesn't clear R/T fittings (see review)
Review: I love this thing. It's the best one I've used so far. First, there's how well it fits. Then there's the action of it. It's a great, sturdy platform to steady your shot when you've got the room. Then, when you slide into a bunker or go to clear a room and you need the marker in close to your body, the stock gets out of your way with a flick of your wrist. Don't think that it just flips closed without warning though. It locks open so that you have to lift, then flip it to the side. At first, this wasn't easy to do, but that was cleared up with a little marker oil.

It's sturdy. Even being a folding stock, I don't notice any wobble whatsoever when it's extended, and it's not going to fold unless you want it to. When it's folded to the side, a spring holds it in place. If you're violent, you can get it to extend open again, but it'd be difficult to do that unintentionally during combat.

I was a little worried about it getting in the way when shooting left handed, but it's really not a problem. When folded, it tucks up closer to the marker than the Cyclone. From the front, the profile of it would be completely hidden by the Cyclone if it didn't stick out the bottom just a little. The spring that holds it in place (the same one that holds it locked in the extended position) seems to provide enough resistance to keep it tight up against the marker for all but the jerkiest of movements.

Really the only complaint I have is that it doesn't clear the flow adjustment fitting that goes with a Response Trigger. This turned out to not really be an issue, though, because the stock is so thick that milling away the small amount of material needed to clear the fitting is irrelevant. I spent ten minutes with a Dremmel, and the resulting groove looks like it was put there by OPSGEAR. I ended up shaving off the "OPS" from the OPSGEAR logo on the right side of the stock for about 1/4 inch deep, and now I have no problems with it whatsoever.

I've seen that some people are taking issue to the fact that there's no place to put a strap. This is easily remedied with some moly strapping, a clip, and a needle and thread. Or you can go get a set of Uncle Mike's QD swivels replace one of your body screws with it.



Update:
I managed to snap off the quickstrip pin holes, and the stock flew off over my shoulder during a game. I called up Opsgear and told them what happened, and they literally said "Oh, well we can't have that happening. Send it to us". So I did. And they sent me a new one. Gotta love that customer service.
Conclusion: If you like the idea of a stock or have one that you're always sticking under your armpit or over your shoulder to try and get it out of the way, this is the way to go. It does and excellent job of whatever I ask it to, and I don't see it breaking anytime in the near future.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 24th, 2007 at 1:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media