paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 Stealth / Tippmann A-5 Stealth / Tippmann A-5 Stealth / Tippmann A-5 Stealth

Tippmann A-5 Stealth Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5 Stealth

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5 Stealth
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 33
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Tippmann A-5™ Stealth Marker is top of the line. Its patented Cyclone® Feed System links the feeder sprocket to the air system, giving it the power to unleash a fury of balls as fast as you can fire them. The Tippmann A-5™ Stealth Marker also includes a collapsible stock kit, the patented Flatline™ Barrel attachment, which creates backspin for longer, straighter shots, and a remote hoseline attachment. It can also be completely stripped and reassembled in the field in 60 seconds - without tools.
With its all aluminum die cast receiver and extra-sturdy black finish, the Tippmann A-5™ Stealth Marker is not only high end, but also one of the toughest markers available. Other features include a shock-absorbing end cap for reduced wear and recoil; front-cocking knob, which allows for a fully enclosed receiver; and a 200-round wide-mouth hopper. In addition, it can be upgraded with many different accessories including, but not limited to, double trigger, Response™ Trigger System (grip not included), E-Grip, low pressure kit and expansion chamber kit. It’s fully-compatible for CO2, compressed air, or nitrogen, and is completely customizable for enhanced performance
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 Stealth is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
mogul_pro Wednesday, January 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months68 of 71 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
PMI Pirana G3
Marker Setup: A-5
Remote line w/ quick disconnect
flatline
stock
20oz c02
Recommended
Upgrades:
None ... this marker takes care of all the upgrades that you would need for a good woodsball gun from the basic a-5.
Strengths: Accuracy is VERY high
Low maintenance level
Durability
Range of fire
Weaknesses: Stock came lose ONCE in 3 months so far.
Review: I got this gun because I play woodsball.
Speedball players, this is not a gun you would like.
Flatline barrel is great, I got 4 cases of white box paint @ 20$ a case and I just finished shooting ALL 4 cases over 3 months and not even ONE ball break so far. And this is @ 265FPS.
The flatline delivered exactly what was promiced, a straight line shot with increased distance while maintaining velocity requirments. IF the ball does break, I would imagine it would be a pain to clean out as you would have to inscrew the barrel. I am not deducting points for this as after shooting 4 cases of the cheapest paint money can buy @ 265FPS I have had zero breaks.
The stock makes this gun large, but I like it and find that the KEY benifit to having it is the increased ability to aim more accuratly and consistantly shoot better.
The durability seems to be holding up very well, I do not knowtice anything that is differant from when this gun was first purchased 3 months ago. It is not the lightest gun, but as long as you have seen the light of day in the last week, your going to be strong enough to play with this gun and not complain about your arms being sore. (But if thats the case, maybe its good they are sore, a lil work out wouldn't kill you would it...)
Conclusion: I gave this marker a 9 out of 10.
The only reason it did not score perfectly is because with its current trigger system, it does not utalize its feeding system. I do not think that the EGrip is needed for woodsball play, but a Responce Trigger would greatly increase the Balls Per Second (BPS) and I would feel like this gun would be operating to its potencial.
All and all, if you play outside, GREAT gun, superiour distance, great accuracy, highly functional and durable, and lots of fun to play with.
I got a type3 laser sight on mine, and it works great DAY and night, despite what people may tell you. (type3 is the perfect level of visability, look to spend $50 for a good one and make sure its a 3/8" dovetail if you get one, its what I use.)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

aus_paintball Thursday, December 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years17 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom pro
Marker Setup: karnivor empire reloder b dye ultrlite back up gun a5 wuth flatline response stock and remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response trigger
Strengths: Preaty fast
realy good sniping gun/ accurate
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a good marker the only problem is if you like to lay down fire its good to have a response triiger. Its a great sniper because of the flat line barrel the stock is good for bigger guys inless you dont like to aim because it dosent allow smaller guys to aim
Conclusion: Good gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rentapotty Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used a 2001 spyder esprit and it doesn't even compare to the new tippmann.
Marker Setup: tippmann a5 stealth
(collapsable stock, flatline barrel, remote line)
Recommended
Upgrades:
upgrade the trigger for a higher rate of fire. Maybe an air through stock. Also a better bolt and powertube.
Strengths: Flatline barrel is incredible, the stock is perfect.
Weaknesses: Weight!!!
Review: I have been using the tippmann a5 for about two weeks and I have only kicked my buddies buts. (they have tippmann 98's). I don't like the stock plastic bolt and powertube so I recommend a new one. I love the range on this gun with the flatline because i can pick people off from a further distance and not worrying about getting shot. I definitely recommend this gun.
Conclusion: Buy it if you can't afford a high end marker. I give it an 8 because of weight balance of the gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yoyobobo Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 46 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder - Better than A5
AutoCocker - Better than A5
Tippmann Procarbine - Better than A5 and above guns
Tippmann Prolite - Better than A5 and above guns
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, Flatline, Egrip, Remote, M4 Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good return policy or a recycling center
Strengths: Tippmanns brand name
Weaknesses: Ball chopping
Cheap/poor construction
Ball chopping
Ball chopping
Review: Lets start out with the fact that I used to be a Tippmann fan boy ever since renting a Pro-lite. The gun was wonderful, it shot great in the Detroit winter while running on CO2. It didn't chop balls, it was solidly made, in the USA ( this matters to me and should matter to you). It was great for a beginner who just wanted to have fun, not to airsmith his gun everyday and blow tons of money on upgrades.
I played with Cockers and Spyders after playing for a few years and always missed my Pro-lite; I bought a Cocker and then a Spyder because my friends had them (peer pressure). The cocker was expensive and sucked in stock form, the Spyder was cheap and sucked in stock form. I took a hiatus from the sport for a few years and then decided I need a hobby and picked up a Tippmann Pro-carbine, a great gun in the tradition of a Pro-lite. I have it and still love its performance, price, and solid construction.
My love for Tippmann was so great I read a few reviews and decided to buy a factory upgraded A5. And let me tell you Tippmann products have taken a straight nose dive. What piece of garbage. I shoot the gun in my backyard and three rounds into it, it chops so I am forced to disassemble it to clean it. The convenient field stripping? I don't think so! The bolt wouldn't slide out like the manual said so I had to take it COMPLETELY apart. And that's when the shoddy construction began to shine. The gun has shoddy clam-shell construction, meaning it splits down the middle. Then I see why the bolt wouldn't come out, some idiot at the factory painted the rear part of the bolt channel. And the spring guide was bent. This gun is nothing more than cheap metal and cheap plastic. I am still haggling with the online 'merchant' to return it. I am very very disappointed in Tippmann.
Conclusion: Find a gun with good, simple construction and performance. This no longer applies to Tippmann's line of PB guns sadly. If you can still find a Pro-carbine then great, this is the last good gun Tippmann made, do not waste money on any clam-shell type or any other shoddy construction method that companies use to save themselves money and screw their customers. I'm buying a well made pump gun, either a Phantom or Sterling for woods ball and to replace this junk marker. If I want to play indoor /speed ball then I'll just use my Carbine until I feel I can afford a Mag or Cocker.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

Lefty92 Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine 04
Marker Setup: A-5 with flatline, E-grip, T-6 stock, 20 oz CO2 coil/remote BSA 42mm red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip
Strengths: Range
Accuracy
Rate of Fire
Loud
Weaknesses: Heavy!!!!!!
Long time to field strip
Need a Flex mask to use the sights
Review: I bought the gun in pieces, the A-5, Flatline, stock, they all came in their original package. It took about 30 min to assemble mostly because of the stock. (thight but it will fit) The ROF is amazing! With the turbo setting on the E-grip it becomes a long range machine gun. It works well with CO2 but the E-grip likes HPA. To use the sights (stock or purchased) you need a Flex mask. A normal mask won't let you get you face close enough to the sights to use them. The flatline scares the newbs so that you fire 1 shot at him and he's behind cover for 10 seconds. Which is plenty of time to move up.
Conclusion: Get it, if your willing to carry a few extra pounds or want to get one shot one kill. Truthfully i'd give it a 9.5 but that rounds up to a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CSchaffs Wednesday, December 21st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98
dark angel
angel speed
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Stealth
Response trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
better bolt most likely a delrin
expansion chamber
Strengths: Long shot range.
Fast rate of fire due to cyclone feed.
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Chopping
Gas efficiancy
Weight
Review: Its a good reliable marker. Has a very long range due to its flatline barrel. with a response trigger it can shoot as fast as you want. But it is very heavy, even with the removal of the tank. The shot spread is very wide. Because of the gas going through the bolt and the hopper and even possibly through the response trigger it uses a lot of gas. i usually only get around 700-900 shots out of it.

The first thing that you will want to get for this gun is a high pressure tank or a low pressure kit and a low pressure tank. The gun shoots CO2 terribly.
Conclusion: Its a descent begginer's gun. i made the mistake of buying it. Don't buy it unless you are into senario games.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

delta 1 Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom Pro E w / 16" Stiffi - awesome little gun , cant wait to get it w/ ACT Ion w/ 14" Progressive Barrell - well worth the extra money for the IMP 3000 package
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ flatline and a stiffi 16" barrells , BSA red dot 42mm . collapsiable stock . and a ricochet hopper . 98 Custom Pro E w/ 16" stiffi barrell and Ricochet hopper . Ion w/ Smart Parts 14"Progressive barrell , Halo TSA Backman hopper .
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well most of the Stealth packages come with just a stock trigger . I got the RT with it . Ihad no problems w/ it . the E-Grip is not a bad idea either . I also put on a double trigger . You should run the A-5 w/ a remote , because its a very tight fit w/ the collapsialbe stock and a tank . ( 20oz barely fits and makethe gun extremely heavy )
Strengths: The Flatline is just out of its world . The range and ballz run straight
Weaknesses: Its weight , w/ all the extras its a heavy gun
Review: Its an overall great gun . especially for us woodsballers. THe Flatline is a really good barrell . Ive had this package for about 2 to 3 years and not one broken ball in the flatline . I have notice an increase in distance by about 40% when i use the flatline . The collapsiable stock is light weight and is fully adjustable . The Tippmann is a really tough gun to have in your arsenial . You can through it in the dirt and it still fires . I should know because I still use my SMG 68 and my 68 Specail from time to time . The old gals still come out to dance once in awhile .
Conclusion: If you like woodsball and you like a gun that is tough and durable , and you dont want to go through the hasel of buy all the extras. the Stealth is for you . Also the prices are not that bad .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OldDriver Wednesday, June 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98C it's weaker brother, Ion
Marker Setup: Speed-ball
Ion with Apache Attack Loader, Q-lock Feed neck, L-6 Bolt, SP360 QEV, Virtue Board, Virtue Laser Eyes and Pad, Freak JR Barrel

Woods-ball/Backup
A-5 w/ Flatline Barrel, E-grip(pre-WAS board), 6xchamber, collapsible stock and remote line on 24 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
X chamber or Palmers reg, HPA, Ape Board, QEPH & Vortex
Strengths: Distance, Speed (with E-grip), Strong, simple maintenance
Weaknesses: Price, AirHog! Velocity adjustment
Review: I've been using this marker for 2 years now with over 20k balls shot and it's only let me down once. The Board on the E-grip had to be re-soldered. A lot of people complain of it being an air hog and with HPA it is, only getting 8-900 shots on a 72ci 3k tank, but with all day air and a LARGE CO2 tank no problems here. The better board (APE) would improve reliability I believe. It gets heavy if playing speedball so snap-shooting is tricky. I plan to add a QEPH and Vortex mod for the Cyclone to improve the feed.
Conclusion: Great for Milsim/woodsball and is good for new ballers because of reliability and ease of basic maintenance. Good buy, there are cheaper markers, but still a good deal.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 14th, 2007 at 1:38 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tagabagsul Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder, Tippmann 98's, Viewloader
Marker Setup: A-5
Opsgear G36 Stock
J&J Ceramic w/ Apex tip / Flatline
Vortex Cyclone mod
Super R/T and QEV
Ricochet R5
Polished Interals
Spec ops G36 folding stock
PMI 68ci 300psi on Remote
Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
the barrel...J&J with apex is great...or the Flatline good choice either way
get either the response trigger or the egrip
and change the hopper big target stock one get spoil a round
Strengths: Durability
Easy Maintenance
Shoots straight and far
Weaknesses: Stock hopper might as well have a bullseye on it...
Review: The stealth setup is a great package...i don't know about pricing now...i got my a-5 back when it was af airly new marker and this package was around $500. I haven't bought a marker since and i'm very happy with this gun...it shoot straight and far which is what i was looking for. as time went on i wanted to be able to shoot far and long but have the ability to spray in close quarters....so an upped R/T and new cycle system on the marker took care of that...the kit comes with everything a first time woodsballer would need the gun performed great right out of the box and still continues to perform great...once u take care of that flat nosed hopper you pretty much have a great marker. for woods i'd say stick with the R/T but if u speedball ur best bet to keep up those electros is to get the egrip. shoots with either Co2 or air so take ur pick...get a palmers if u plan on using Co2...will help ur consistency.
maintainence is a snap with this gun...a lot of small parts so becareful when u plan on taking it apart...
oh and if u get bored of markers fast...i find new upgrades or aftermarket parts for this gun like every month so if u get bored change it's look or add some upgrades
Conclusion: whether beginner or intermediate level player this package is great or if u want to start from scratch get the stock A-5 they are pretty cheap now with the release of the X-7....all in all i'd give this a 10 because this is the longest i've had a marker without getting sick of it...or having a decline in performance...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lastvideogamer Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, Spyders and other cheaper speedball guns
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, Flatline Barrel, Stock, Remote Line, PMI 4500 88CI

Barrels: JJ Ceramic 14'' , Hammerhead Sharktooth 5'', Dye Ultralite 12''
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depending on what you play you might want to invest in more barrels. I have 3 one for each role I play on a team. O yeah, and get something to carry your remote air tank in, I suggest a 4+1.
Strengths: Durable, Right out of box play, Cyclone System
Weaknesses: Flatline is Hard/fun to learn how to use
Review: First of all the tippmann A5 is possibly one of the best woodsball guns ever made. The A5 stealth is really all you need to play woodsball with it. The remote like allows for a lighter gun and easier movement. The stock is sturdy and easy to move in and out. It doesn't get in the way when I low crawl or run. The flatline is a good barrel, but I suggest getting more to use unless you always are expected to throw down loads of cover fire. This gun is very sturdy, I can drop it and I've seen people do worse to their A5's and pick them right back up.

If you want a super accurate gun you might be disappointed with this gun at first until you learn how to hone in the flatline, and even then you might be wishing for something more. But all in all I am very happy with this gun and am actually buying another a5 to use as my backup weapon. So if you want to move slowly, and be about to shoot guys from further away this is your weapon.

But keep in mind, this is by no means a "sniper rifle"

Edit: Alright I have noticed a few problems with the guns setup, especially if your trying to modify it as much as I have. I ordered the Stealth model to save money but in the long run its cost me much more. I figured that the gun cost 229, the flatline 100, and the stock + remote line another 100 adding up to 429. I got mine for 370 on amazon.com so you can see it was quite an initial discount but then here lies the problem.

While you do get the flatline barrel, stock, and remote line tippmann does not include the parts that were replaced by these add ons. For example if you want to get another barrel for your a-5 you need to buy a barrel adapter and 2 o-rings.. that adds up to 20$ plus you miss out on the stock barrel (lets say 15$). If for some reason you want to ditch the remote line you have to buy a bottom adapter and install an air line all yourself too (50$) then if for some reason you want to take off your stock, or it breaks you don't get the standard back, I don't know how much those cost but still you can see why I would suggest anyone buy a stock a-5 and the add-ons separately so you can more easily mod your weapon later. This pulls my rank down to a 6 as this is a review of the stealth model and they should have included all the parts that were removed to install the extras, especially the barrel thread!!
Conclusion: If you like woodsball and can get a good deal on this package versus upgrading it yourself get it. You might be disapointed with the flatline in some games.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 10:13 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media