paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud / OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud / OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud / OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud

OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount OPSGEAR

Buy OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is the most dramatic mil-sim marker modification OPSGEAR has ever produced. Never has a single component so significantly transformed a vanilla Tippmann marker into a mil-sim monster. Not only is this new shroud pragmatic, but it carries with it the emotional punch of the most lethal sniper rifle in the world, the M82A1. Be sure that this marker accessory will attract attention on the field and remind your competetors that it takes only one shot from an experienced marksman to take them down.
Product Availability 
The OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Darth_Draco Monday, October 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Strengths: Looks cool
It scares people
Can put a lot of stuff on it
Weaknesses: It grinds down the rails on the A-5
Review: I got this so i could but a tone of stuff on my gun, like a scope, bipod , nightvison and it does exactly that. The greatest thing about it is it will scary every one. a little hard to look down a scope with a mask on ,so buy a raised rail while your at it.
Conclusion: Looks cool and put a lot of stuff on it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

texas_hero Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
other opsgear kits
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 with egrip
opsgear M-82 kit
Strengths: The amount of stuff you can put on it
The killer looks
The stability
Weaknesses: A little heavy after hauling it around all day
Review: I went and played with it today.It got alot of looks and questions about it. It scared alot of the other opponets. The i shot with it the ability to grab the front og the gun and have stability was amazing. I liked using it alot.But after 7 hours of almost non stop playing it got a little heavy.
Conclusion: If you are lloking for good looks and to put a large amount of extra stuff on you gun this is perfect for you.But if you are lloking for a short compact gun or a light weight one i wouldn't recomend this
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ABTOCMEPTb Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Different milsim shrouds from Opsgear.
Strengths: You can attach alot of weaver stuff on it.
Weaknesses: Short.
Review: If we talking about milsim than first what comes to my mind is similarity with the real rifle that this shroud must represent. This similarity in our case is just visual. This shroud is disproportional. It is short. Do you know those very small airsoft rifles that look like real rifles? Same story here. If you build M82 sniper rifle by using this shroud your rifle would be cool looking on the floor but not in your hands. It is simple short.

Another drawback is that its interfere with goggles.
Conclusion: If you are die fan of M82 than go and get it. But you can spend your $100 (too much money for some bended metal sheet) on some other shrouds like Rider SR.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Jivefuzzy Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: A-5, with the M82a1 shroud and G36 barrel with muzzle break. foregrip and magazine and stock from opsgear.
Strengths: Awesome look, strong design and will put fear in your enemies
Weaknesses: Gets heavy after a while w tank/loaded hopper.
Review: I actually went on PBR to look at this after going on the ops gear web site. I actually wanted the G36 set up they have, but for the longest time it was out of stock. So i went with this one. I do have to say I am very happy with the purchase. This thing is great. I got the black colored one and it looks sooo clean when you have it set up right. Pretty much everyone who seen me with it either gave compliments or ask me if it was worth the money.
I say it is. but i know not everyone out there can just drop cash for a add on like this, but it is worth it. I mean if you plan on having and using your gun for a while might as well get something that will last forever.

And another thing your stock hopper will fit on it, so no need for an extension to allow it to fit right.

Ok the specs on this thing.

Lenght: its pretty long, it covers my stock so i dont even need to extend it.

Strenght: this thing is tuff! i dropped it a couple of times and it does get scratched but it keeps its form and hasnt bended or became out of form.

Weight: it gets heavy after a while I would suggest a remote line to help take some weight off it.

Style: Badass! it will definitly get looks when u go on the field. and it looks great!

Cost: could be cheaper. but after buying it i dont regret it. I do have to say on Ebay i saw it going for 89 dollars so for you guys who dont wanna spend the full price, go look there.

Conclusion: Hey the conclusion is if you have the cash, drop it on this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

4rdguy Tuesday, March 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
offset sight rails
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-grip
18 inch fluted interceptor barrel
M28A1 shroud
M28A1 style muzzle break
M28A1 style sniper clip
6 position adjustable stock
bushnell 1.5x - 4.5x scope
laser sight
riochet style hopper
Strengths: Everything about this shroud is awesome.
Weaknesses: Only weakness is NOTHING.
Review: All i have to say is if you want a milsim gun that scares the crap outta people get this kit. its awesome and accurate as can be. love the fact that you can put countless add ons onto this shroud. go buy one now if you want your gun to be all that it can be... i have had little kids ask me if it was an anti aircraft gun. it is a little heavy but if your into milsim you can suck it up and bear the weight.
Conclusion: if your a true milsimmer you NEED this kit
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spawnr18 Friday, July 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
my first from ops gear soon to get the AK47 A-5 setup and the G36.
Marker Setup: A-5 with the M82A1 full body kit, shroud, clip, muzzel brake, butt stock.
Strengths: Very rugged and strong will take a pounding.
Weaknesses: With all of the options and addons you can do can get pretty heavy.
Review: If you have a problem with heavy guns dont get it but if your a player looking for the most awsome gun on the field regardless of the weght this kit from OPSGEAR is it, i panted mine a black,white and gray urban camo sceen and has a large scope with red and green crosshairs,also with red and green dot 30mm scope and a bipod dont need much after that.
It looks great, scare the neibors and the kids at the fields, its tough. some issues getting it all together but if you just work at for a bit it goes together nice and smooth, the kit i got dosnt set in with set screws mine is held on by the push pins from the A-5 it self and very sturdy just dont break off the tabs, if you do either weld them back and the repaint or jb weld it to gether,but if you jb it dont get in a hurry they will come right back off, take your time and itll be cool.
With OPSGEAR 18 inch barrel for the kit is great, straight shots and dosent seem to hurt fps of the gun at all, looking threw the barrle is like glass its so smooth, very accurate barrle top notch product, deffintly going to repeat buissness with OPSGEAR in the future and check out RAP4s new 11mm paintball gun the desert eagle if you get the chance im getting that, later.
Conclusion: Get it you wont hate it if you do go back to laser tag
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Villainous Jay Wednesday, May 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Richochet R-5 Hopper
6 position CAR Stock
Warsensor Remote Line
M82A1 Carry Handle with NcStar 1x42 Red Dot Sight
Raider M82A1 Kit, Includes:
M82A1 Body Shroud
M82A1 Box Magazine Kit
M82A1 Muzzle Brake
18 Inch Fluted Interceptor Barrel

Strengths: Ideal platform for sights or other accessories
Killer looks
Sturdy
Weaknesses: 4 set screws grinds down rails on the A-5
Review: When I got my shroud from OPSGEAR some 6-7 months ago I was completly taken by surprise - MAN IT LOOKS LIKE A KILLER! It didn't come with any instructions on installation but there is a link on the OPSGEAR website to help you out. Once the 4 set screws were in place the thing was ROCK SOLID. Of course for those of us who aren't fans of set screws taking the shroud off can be annoying and after a while the rails can grind down something awful. Recently my A-5 rails were so bad that the shroud shunted and jostled with all the screws in place! A good remedy though is to fill the ground areas of the A-5 rails with some JB Weld, sand it smooth, and re-install the shroud and it should be good as new (worked for me). The abundance of rails is great for your tactical needs, especially with the Carry Handle and any Red Dot Sight.
Conclusion: All in all an excellent product it has its problems in the long term but there are solutions. Just too bad the M107 Shroud has replaced it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008 at 5:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MMPTgoblin Friday, April 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: M82A1 Kit
Rampage Board
Rhythm Innovations Magnetic Trigger
Low pressure kit
Everything Tech T Cyclone Feed
Upgraded bolt
18 in. intercepter barrel
muzzle break
raised rail
red dot sight
scope
off set hopper
Strengths: Very cool looking, alot of compliments
alot of rail space.
Weaknesses: Heavy
Plastic weaver rails
Review: this is a great kit if you get the whole kit. it looks ugly if you mix and match it. it can get a little heavy if you start to put things on it (sight, flashlight, etc.). nice paint on it. i have had it for two years and it has just now started to wear down.

the only downside beside it being a little heavy, is the plastic weaver rails. it isnt cheap plastic, but is you tighten the skrews down to far it will crack the rail. ( I speak from experience)
Conclusion: It is a great looking shroud with alot of weaver space. But you might want to start working out if you plan to play an 8 hr game.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chicogoya Tuesday, July 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Primary: A-5 with e-grip, Palmer Stabilizer, M82A1 Shroud, M4 collapsible stock, Powerlyte Scepter barrel kit, Aimpoint replica, remote CO2.

Secondary: RAM P99, 3 magazines, tactical holster.
Strengths: Lots of weaver rails
Looks great!
Weaknesses: Set screws
Weight
Need a riser mount for a scope
Review: I review products based on three factors: Installation, Functionality, Aesthetics.

The M82A1 shroud did not come with any installation instructions, although it was very self-explanatory. It seems like this shroud was meant to be put onto a stock A5. I added the LAPCO Spyder to A5 barrel adaptor to accommodate my Scepter kit, but the adaptor adds an extra 1/2" to the overall length. This was a little too much for the M82A1 shroud. Getting the shroud on is not too bad, but getting it off is very difficult. That extra 1/2" makes it very hard to remove. I scratched the adaptor with one of screws on the shroud trying to get it off. With practice, I was able to install and remove the shroud without any problems, but the first time was a little difficult.

I'm not very fond of the set screws, but I guess there's no other way to get it to stay on the A5. I should have had the foresight to place electrical tape where the set screws are placed because the body of the A5 is a little scratched now. Nothing that can be seen, but it's still a little disheartening. It would have been nice to have the shroud attach with the locking pins, similar to the newer version of the UMP shroud.

Another issue is trying to get the shroud on straight. When I installed the barrel, it was very difficult to screw in because it touches the side of the barrel opening on the shroud. Is my shroud on crooked? Is the hole just not quite centered? I'm not really sure, but it definitely makes installation and removal of the barrel more difficult.

This shroud definitely looks amazing! OPSGEAR did a great job with looks and intimidation factor. Incredible may be the proper word. There's plenty of weaver space for all sorts of accessories. However, a riser mount seems to be necessary for a red dot sight. Also, the shroud eliminates any use of the sights. It's just not possible to get your head and mask low enough to see the sights. Additional flip sights are required if you want to be using iron sights. The eight inches at the front of the shroud make a great hand guard. In combination with the stock, the marker really feels natural to bring up to the shoulder.

Finally, this shroud can really add some weight the gun. It's around 2lbs, but with the addition of a stock, barrel, riser, scope, hopper, and paint, the gun can become cumbersome. At one point, I was carrying around 9lbs! Overall, this is a great addition to the A-5.
Conclusion: This is a great looking addition to the A-5. It's very intimidating, and the weaver rails give alot of options for accessories. The installation was a little tough at first, and I'm not fond of the set screws. However, after some practice, the shroud can be installed and removed with ease.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Herby Thursday, May 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none.
Marker Setup: m82a1 shroud, ak mag, 6 point ajustable stock.
Strengths: Cool, lots of rails and mounts, style, not as heavy as it looks,
Weaknesses: Heavy, changing the barrel is a pain.
Review: I got a dealer to order it for me took like 2 weeks but he bought it from another dealer. it wieghs a lot but i got used to it if you can't handle a few extra pounds your a wuss. had some people asking to be on my team. the biggest problem i had was changing the barrel you can't just take it out like they say, the barrel was having to much trouble screwing in so had to keep the shroud unbolted to put it in then bolt it up it was a pain needs a sight rail and a forward sight cause theres no sight at all but i knew that when i bought it so thats not a problem easy to aim even with a rail i find its to small to look like a m82a1 like an airsoft gun but thats ok i used it as an assault rifle shroud which looks good. although im not sure but i think the m203 shroud came out after i got this and i wish i had gotten it instead for the style of gun i made. still great though thats about it .
Conclusion: Good product all in all some small problems i would recomend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media