paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 18" Fluted Sniper Barrel / OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 18" Fluted Sniper Barrel / OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 18" Fluted Sniper Barrel / OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 18" Fluted Sniper Barrel / OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 18" Fluted Sniper Barrel

OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 18" Fluted Sniper Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount OPSGEAR

Buy OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 18" Fluted Sniper Barrel

Paintball A-5 Barrels and Barrel Adapters

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 18
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
18" Barrel, Military Fluted Barrel Design, Micro Polished Interior, 1" Diameter, Effective Range 150 Feet.
Product Availability 
The OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 18" Fluted Sniper Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Keither Wednesday, June 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stupid as this might sound, it being a straight, un-ported barrel, you would think that its similar to most barrels on the market... But you couldnt be more wrong...
Marker Setup: A5 with Adapter and with an OPSGEAR 18" Fluted Sniper Barrel and a 32 degrees precision barrel with a coiled remote, and a folding aluminium combat stock

(also bought the 18" air cooled machine gun shroud with it... also looks bad to the bone.)
Strengths: Straight shooter, Built like a rock, Looks BAD TO THE BONE!
Weaknesses: None
Review: Got this bad boy in the mail about 3 weeks ago, along with the 18" air cooled MG shroud, and was instantly in awe. All I could think was "damn... if this thing shoots as good as it looks, I'll be tagging people left and right."

From when you first hold this thing, you realize that its definitly a quality piece of machining.

I noticed from the first round I fired, that this barrel wasnt your average everyday run of the mill piece of aluminium. Unlike other straight barrels, ports or none, this one fires on a flat trajectory with a more shallow ball fall. let me see if i can draw it out for you.

J&J:
------------------------- < balls straight air path
_______ ________- < ball finally hits ground
Opsgear 18"
------------------------------
________________________ -
(had to use underscores because the illustration didnt come out right using spaces... Just think of the underscores as the ground :-)

this is firing Diablo Heat Paint at 280 FPS.

Now, I know some people out there probably think im full of it but I did actually test the OPSGEAR against a 16" J&J ceramic with a buddy of mine standing off to the side.
The OPSGEAR got about 10 feet more distance before it hit the ground, and this is aiming directly at the target which was 150 FT away EXACTLY. (i wanted to see if the OPSGEAR demo was for real)

Its not so much the 10 extra feet, because thats not even a big woohoo... but you dont have to arc this barrel nearly as much as you would even a 16 incher... Just the fact that we didnt arc the 16 incher took about 20 feet off the shot.

Now im not comparing this to a flatline because the flatline has no comparison, but this barrel definitly does shoot a little further and a lot straighter. argue with me if you will, but I know what I saw.

As I said before, when you hold this barrel, you realize that its not your run of the mill and that its made using some good stuff, unlike when you hold some 32 Degrees barrel and you feel like youre gonna break it. (not saying 32s are all bad i own 2)

EDIT:XxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxX
xXxXxXxXxXxXxXxX
Ive had a chance to play a few actual field games at this point so i have some new stuff to post.

The opsgear 18" blah blah blah is a damned good barrel... best smooth bore non ported barrel ive ever used... hell... best smooth bore period.
I've switched between the opsgear and my flatline back and fourth... and i have to say... though the flatline is the closest thing to a real gun that ive used in paintball... the opsgear definitely holds its own...
the thing about the flatline is that if ur gun isnt chrono'd juuuussssttt right... between 275 and 285... somewhere.... the ball does kind of a left right up down sorta thing... so its great at fields where you can actually tune your gun with a chronograph... but for regular outlaw play or woodsball... where players usually dont chrony their guns... or cant.... the opsgear is definitely the way to go... is it obsolete? sorta... but then again the flatline has made pretty much everything kind of obsolete... however... in its own sense.. and own right... the opsgear is by far the most accurate, coolest looking (IMO), best made (quality) barrel that i've ever seen in my entire 10+ yrs playing paintball..

If you play a lot of outlaw paintball where nobody uses a chrony then the opsgear is definitely for you... also... if looking cool is a priority... then this barrel is especially for you...
HOWEVER.... if you are a function over form person... I would go with the flatline all day long... in the case of the A5... being that the flatline for the 98 kinda sucks... but it was a good try... but anyway yes... with the flatline and a properly chronographed A5, and some skill obviously.. you will be able to hit players far beyond the reach of the opsgear, or any straight barrel for that matter...

let me sum it up for those of you out there that are like me.. simple...

This is what you get with each barrel:

TPI Flatline: Distance / bullet like performance / EXTREME accuracy (for those idiots out there accuracy means the difference between where youre aiming and where the projectile actually impacts.)
People tend to call the flatline a bad speedball barrel because it shoots too straight...Ill elaborate more on this after..

OPSGEAR 18" Fluted "sniper" barrel: a little more distance.. relatively excellent accuracy in comparison to other non flatline barrels... a nice bang, and it looks cool!

Conclusion: This thing is the balls. No pun intended. 80 bucks is a lot of money, but remember, you get what you pay for. People constantly b!tch about how expensive DYE barrels are, and DYEs are some of the best... SO YES... you do get what you pay for, and in this case, what you pay for is a solid, accurate, bad to the bone piece of paintball gear. Save up the money if you have to... Dont settle on anything less than the best, and believe me when I tell you, Ive been into paintball since the early 90s, and this definitly is among the best Ive ever seen.

Im giving this product a 10 because you dont really see things made with this kind of craftsmanship and quality anymore.... not to bring up the fact that you could probably hit the head of a pin with this thing. And did I say it looks BAD TO THE FRIGGEN BONE?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 at 2:07 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Darth_Draco Tuesday, October 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: A-5
Strengths: accurate
cool looking
Scares people
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got this barrel so I could shoot from a long distance. From 50 yards a way out of 200 shots 20 wore misses, that is 1/10 of a chance of missing for those that can't do math, those 20 shots wore off by 2 inches and I wasn't aiming because I had no sight on my gun at the time.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel it is so amazing. If I had a sight it could of been a 1/20 ratio.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

n1k Friday, January 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel - shorter but less acurate.
flatline - less acurate but shots farther without lobing paint.
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5.
opsgear m82a1 18" barrel.
palmer male stabilizer.
techt votex.
x-7 hopper.
Strengths: Accurate - 150'
Durable - Aluminum.
clean - No ports for gunk to enter.
Range - more range
Weaknesses: Heavy - no big deal.
Loud - No port makes it louder.
Long - 18"
Review: I got this barrel about a year ago. When i took it out to test it the whether was about 40 degreas F. I had some older bigball and wildstreek paint. the barrel broke about 1/10 shots and it wasnst the acurace i was expecting also the noise was noticably louder and the paint shot farther. When the wether started to get better i got some new impact and some marbalizers paintballs. they shot alot better and i didnt have any breaks. the marbelizers shot a little better but for the price and avalibility im sticking with the impact. in game it is a little hard to manuver with this in close corder because of the length. the barrel is a bit heaveyer but because of the length it is expected, doesnt both me.
Conclusion: I would recomend this barrel to anyone that needs a really acurat barrel and doesnt mind noise. Also i wouldnt recoment this to fromt player they need to menuver throught little gaps because of the length of this barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 5th, 2008 at 10:32 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

broadsword Thursday, October 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
16inch J&J Ceramic barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ response trigger, 18 inch interceptor barrel, remote line, CO2
Strengths: Accurate, Nice looking, intimidating in both sound and look
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I used this in woodsball and speedball and it worked great every time. Most barrels over 16 inches don't work that well but this one is the shize b****. All the things you buy from opsgear is top of the line product. I got this barrel for sniping but, when i feel like it i can lay a baggage of paintballs down field.
Conclusion: If you want a really accurate barrel, this is the one for you. If you want to snipe, when they hear the bang from this barrel the paint will have already hit them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

gimpy98 Friday, March 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline I guess.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 M-82 kit with scope and remote line and camo paint and camo cover.
Strengths: Very accurate and it is more accurate than my other barrels.
Weaknesses: Some paint will blow up in barrel if you buy crummy paint.
Review: Never use glossy paint it leaves a grease mark and will make the other paintballs stop in your barrel. It also scares people I made some of my friends surrender just by rushing them. Also I got alot of comments on my gun when I went to my local field. It also will shoot long distances which is good for sniping. When you go to a some what urban combat paintball place it really adds to the intimidation factor at that field.
Conclusion: Never use glossy paint. Over all it is a very nice barrel I like it better than my flatline.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 14th, 2006 at 4:57 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

RavenAlias Saturday, April 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 Barrel :( lol
Marker Setup: A-5 & E-Grip
§18" Fluted Interceptor
Strengths: Sleek Look, scary sound, durable, intimidating, accurate like a mother!
Weaknesses: Price (kinda).
Review: What can I say about this splendid barrel... It came in the mail, and I was pumped for my first game with it! Everyone at the fight stared down my barrel (not literally- that's dangerous!), inspecting it's almighty power, asking a good amount of questions. During the game, when I fired near teammates, I could tell they were surprised at the sound this barrel could make! A very intimidating piece of equipment, plus the statistics to boast! FInd a good paint for this barrel and you are SET, because with a proper velocity all your shots are going to be virtually dead on.
Conclusion: Simple. $80 is an investment, but it's worth it if you want this kind of performance, it will dominate the woods. And now with the Autococker threads, speedball maybe...? ^_^
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Villainous Jay Wednesday, May 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 Barrel (NO COMPARISON)
OPSGEAR 16 Inch Operator Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Richochet R-5 Hopper
6 position CAR Stock
Warsensor Remote Line
M82A1 Carry Handle with NcStar 1x42 Red Dot Sight
Raider M82A1 Kit, Includes:
M82A1 Body Shroud
M82A1 Box Magazine Kit
M82A1 Muzzle Brake
18 Inch Fluted Interceptor Barrel

Strengths: Compatible with several makes of paint
Accurate AND Consistent
Weaknesses: Long (for those who prefer CQB)
Loud (for those of the stealthy type)
Review: Got this as part of the M82A1Kit some 6-7 months ago. All I could think was "Holy s***, this is massive!" Replacing my stock A5 barrel and loading up some leftover RPS Stinger, I lined up on a fence post about 75-100 feet away. At around 270 fps 8 out of 10 hit the post DEAD ON (the other two spun off oddly but that's Stinger for ya). Actually trying it in the field I was astounded by its performance. Situations where a target was too far or too tricky to hit I was able to hit time and time again. Now because it is a smoothbore barrel some arc is required for long shots but not much (compared to other smoothbores), and looking at its accuracy and consistency at long range combined with it's compatibility with most makes of paint I can say this barrel gives the Flatline a run for it's money. The calibre is around .688 -.689 so do a paint to barrel match for the best fit. Some will find that it is heavy (solid 1 inch diameter) and longer (18 inches) compared to the norm but you can get used to it. Noneoftheless I can't recommend it for CQB (I've had my moments of awkward movements and hitting walls). By far though it is one of the best smoothbore barrels - PERIOD.
Conclusion: If you want to be a marksman or just get the incredible shots you've always wanted then this is the barrel for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 8th, 2008 at 7:45 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Shade574 Tuesday, April 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5, Solid Stock, 18' Fluted Sniper Barrel, Low Profile Hopper
Strengths: Accurate, Durable, Well Made
Weaknesses: Long, Slightly Heavy
Review: When I first got this in the mail and put it on my gun all I could think was wow, I can't wait to get this on the field. I didn't get to shoot it for about a week, but as soon as I did I was amazed. Sitting at the target range, most people needed about 5-6 shots to dial in their shots on whatever they were making for. My marker was making it on my first shot, and if I missed I could easily compensate and make that up.

Game play, most people know that if you go to a park, half the people there are using s bunch of small spiders or something similar and are effective for about 30-40 yds max. Then you have a dew people with some better markers that can either shoot rediculous amounts of paint, or shoot more accurate. This barrel on my gun made my gun shoot more accurate, and farther. It's one thing to go and bunker someone when you are in their face. But if you can sneak around their bunker 60 ft away get up on their side and bunker them from that far, no one knows what happened, they die don't know from where and even if you miss and they shoot at you, you're to far for them to even think of hitting you accuratly.

Secondly, what happens when your stuck looking at your foe from 70-80 yds and they get up out of cover and start dancing trying to get you to pop off a few cause they know they newbies are going to waste half their paint and air on them. Eventually after the newbies stop firing and the foes are standing there laughing, I raise my barrel, and start picking them off quickly as they scramble for cover. As the field sniper, when you work with the team as a support position, there is nothing that brings more fear to your enemy then the fear that at any given second that they will receive a ball in the mask if they peak over or try to shoot. Giving your team time and cover to get in close quickly. If you play sniper or want to be able to put shots tighter downrange this is probably about one of the most accurate barrels you'll have.

Downsides, it is a little loud, so you ghost flankers out there it is going to give your position away. Same to the ambush snipers. I haven't made any mod attempts to quiet it yet but if I find anything I'll post it up. But till then this is better for those snipers who like to follow the dust of the team and cover their flanks and get those that are hard to reach.
Conclusion: Want to be accurate? Want to use less paint because your actually killing people with a handful of paintballs? Get this barrel, expensive yes, but the accuracy will save you the cash to get better upgrades and paint because of the money you save down the road.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hell_hunter Monday, August 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-stock tippman barrel
-32 degrees carbon fiber barrel (tested)
-Lapco barrels
-flatline
-various stock barrels
Marker Setup: -98 custom
-Opsgear 18" Fluted SNIPER Barrel
-Rocket Cock 2
-Opsgear 12" Floating SR Hand Gaurd
-APP Stainless Steel Screw Kit
-M82A1 Gas Thru MAG
-Car Stock
-TACAMO AK-47 style Weaver Rail
-Polished internals, Pen spring mod, Custom Milled Grip Frame
Strengths: -Accurate...and i mean DEAD ON ACCURATE!
-looks
Weaknesses: -Long (some may mind)
-Heavy(some may mind)
Review: Got this barrel a few months ago and havent really had a chance to test it. Went to IMPACT 07 on saturday (big senario game here in canada) and put the barrel thru its paces.

PROS:

DEAD ACCURATE: I was able to hit my mark 9 out of 10 times with this barrel, Rangeing from disstance of 50-130 feat. Althought this barrel cant out-shoot a flatline range wise, its a heck of a lot more accurate then the flatline. My friend was trying to hit a target 100 feet away with his flatine, his shots keept missing to the left or right. I fired 2 shots and both of them hit within 4 inch's of each other. This barrel turns your paintballs into leathal bullets.

LOOKS: All day long i would have players asking me about my gun, it was kinda cool to see this barrel getting that much attention. I hade questions such as, "wow how did you manage to hit that guy" to "wow thats impressive". At one point the reff pulled me off to chrono my gun, he didnt think a stright barrel could shoot as well or as far at only 280 FPS :P

Self Cleaning: This barrel seems really good at self cleaning itself withing 2-3 shots, Although i still squgie whenever i get a break.


CONS:

LONG: well the barrel is 18", so if your like 5 foot nothing then this may not be a great barrel for you, its can reduce you turning radious a lot and you have to be carfull not to stick in in the mud. I play back so its a perfect barrel for my style of play

Heavy: Well it IS 18" long, and made of aluminum. I would say the barrel it about 0.8-1 LBS. Not to bad for the length.
Conclusion: BUY THIS NOW. If your looking for a more accurate version of a flatline without the flatline price then this if for you. would give it a 12 if i could, never going to buy another barrel again!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

yummyhamster Thursday, June 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline.... and it isn't as acurate
Marker Setup: a-5.
m82a1. 16" smartparts linear.
tac cap
elevated sight rail from opsgear
red dot from opsgear
trirail barrel mount and bi-pod from opsgear
rear spring replaced with bt4 " stronger"
Strengths: Accurate
Looks mean
Well made

Weaknesses: Paint breaks on fast shooting
Price
Review: ok well after waiting for like ever to get this baby from the USA to old boring Africa i have only been able to test fire her on target shooting.. had a stupid pressure leak. ok on the pressure leak i shot some bad paint.. terrible performance.. shot some high end nelson... and it was rather accurate...

after that i found out what was wrong.. fixed her up and took her to a field and put around 500 shots thru her.
fast shooting.. don't even try it. ok i used some old weapons grade that had craters in it .. huge dents. on 82ft a board hanging loose on a wire the size of a persons head... not one miss.. on around 88-90 ft a beer bottle.. with the same really old dented weapons grade i hit the bottle neck say one out of 5-8 shots...

i got some spank for training and well its in perfect condition so you can geus the difference...
but when it comes to 150 ft and a bit higher i definitely need to arch the barrel a bit... but still sends the ball straight.
also note that i was testing it on co2. on air they run allot better.

Conclusion: if you like to play a sniper role in bush games and want the accuracy .. definitely get it. it looks mean.. and you can feel when holding it it was built to last.. and i haven't seen a barrel polished like this one on the inside..
BUY IT.... YOU CANT GO WRONG.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media