paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / OPSGEAR Raider G36C Hand Guard and Rail / OPSGEAR Raider G36C Hand Guard and Rail / OPSGEAR Raider G36C Hand Guard and Rail / OPSGEAR Raider G36C Hand Guard and Rail

OPSGEAR Raider G36C Hand Guard and Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount OPSGEAR

Buy OPSGEAR Raider G36C Hand Guard and Rail

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


OPSGEAR Raider G36C Hand Guard and Rail
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Made from Light Weight Solid Steel - The RAIDER G36C Hand Guard and Rail component is a durable and attractive tactical enhancement for the Tippmann A5.

FEATURES:

* Can remove the barrel while hand guard is attached!
* Comes with TOP, Two Side and Bottom Rails
* Hand Guard and Rail is of made from Light Weight Steel
* The rails are made of an incredibly durable synthetic
* The rail mount is constructed of aluminum
* Made is USA

The quality of this marker modification is nothing less than one should expect from the RAIDERô brand.
Product Availability 
The OPSGEAR Raider G36C Hand Guard and Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
OlUncleGearHead Monday, October 24th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
PE Remote w/ Slide Check
PE 20 Bottle
Tac Cap
OpsGear G36C Grip, Rail and Stock
Bushnell 1x30mm Trophy red dot sight
Seals Action Gear single point sling
Knights Armament Company Vertical Fore Grip
Strengths: Quality of Manufacture
Looks
Vesatility
Barrel can be removed with grip still on
Weaknesses: Weight
Barrel Alignment (very minor, see body)
Only accepts Tac Cap style loaders
Review: CONSTRUCTION
The forward grip and toprail bodies are steel - - while it isn't the lightest material they could have used, it will easily withstand the punishment of crashing around your local field and through the bush. Both components have composite Weaver rails that will accept a number of standard paintball, airsoft and firearms accessories.

PRICE
Compared to the price of a Tippmann BT-16 barrel and a CAR Stock, the price of the OPSGEAR stuff comes out on top and with none of the headaches that I've heard about. I looked into it, upgrading to a railed forarm (to be clear, not a simple barrel shroud, but a military grade RIS-style forearm) was going to cost a pretty penny. When you take into account the Weaver rails, the G36C rail and grip offers a lot of bang for your buck.

INSTALLATION
Installation will take about 10 minutes of fiddling with it while you're watching TV. Went on like a dream with just a few set screws, an allen key and screwdriver.

FIT AND FINISH
Once it's on, the rail and grip will feel like they've always been part of the A5: no wobble, creaking or any other problems.

A WORD ON THE 'WEAKNESSES'
The weaknesses aren't really weaknesses, depending on your style of play. Most folks interested in the OPSGEAR kit will be of a mil-sim and scenario mindset, and want something that approximates the firearm that the A5 is acting as an allagory for, the Heckler and Koch G36C assault rifle, so it's with this point of view that you should take the kits perceived 'weaknesses'. If you're a speedballer looking for something to make your whippy little 45bps marker better hasn't read this far into my review anyways.

Weight - You're not playing with an Angel or Shocker. This is a mil-sim marker, right? The kit adds heft, really, not weight.

"Tac Cap Only" - - The top rail doesn't offer enough clearance from the Cyclone feeder to allow for continued use of the stock A5 hopper. My only complaint in this regard is that I wish I had known about that from the outset, so I could have ordered it at the same time as the rest of the kit.

My only real issue (and an easily solved one at that) is if you are a gear re-seller, you're going to want to wrap a layer or two of electrical tape to the ouside of you barrel just under where the barrel enters the grip, to prevent scratching and wear on the paint, powdercoat or anodization of your barrel. The hole where the barrel enters the grip is machined a little low, so a little prevention is needed. See? I told you it wans't a big thing...

Conclusion: This a a great product for any woodsballer or scenario baller who's appearance conscious and wants something different from an M4/M16 or HK5 clone.

This rates a 9 simply because nothing is perfect, but the OPSGEAR G36C grip and rail kit is a great product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

achilles27 Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline barrel kit, and Special Ops Paintball A5-A2 kit. This is the most intimidating and tactically advantage-able mod I have used yet.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Red Hot Power Tube
Shocktech Front Bolt
Tasco Extendable Stock
Stove-top hopper
Tac Hopper
Ops Gear Interceptor (Sniper Barrel) 18'"
Expansion Champer
32* Remote System
Pure Energy 68CI Compressed Air Unit
Ops Gear G-36c Kit
Tippmann E-trigger Kit
Adco 40mm Red Dot Site
Strengths: Balances your gun! Incredibly intimidating! It's Beautiful!
Weaknesses: None. It's not that it's heavy, it adds heft.
Review: Ops Gear has always been on top of the game when it comes to designing products. Their products not only look good, but are extremely durable when it comes to woods-ball play. The G-36c kit is awesome on two platforms: intimidation and making your marker more functional.

Intimidation: The paintball game starts well before the "Ready" call is screamed throughout the field. A mental part of the game begins as everyone is getting ready and nervously checking out everyone else's equipment. This beauty will not let you down. I've had rookies and veterans alike mutter and mouth curses when I pulled my gun out of its case. It looks as mean as a Rottweiler at a poodle convention. And although you can have the best equipment in the world and be a crappy player, you have to admit that if someone is already nervous about your equipment before you've played, you're already becoming a bigger threat in their head, giving you the advantage.

Functionality: Now a lot of people will say this kit is waaaaaaay too heavy for their guns, boo-hoo! It's not. It doesn't really add weight to your gun, it adds heft. It FEELS more like an actual firearm as well, and I have held a real G-36c assualt rifle. There are many rails on this kit that you can mount sites, scopes, grips, a four piece dinner set you name it. The sky's the limit on what you can add on to this kit once it's a part of your gun.
Conclusion: This is a great product! It makes your gun meaner and provides so much more for your imagination to have a field day creating the marker of your dreams. If anyone has any questions or concerns about installation, feel free to email me! richards_jacob@hotmail.com. It's a great add-on for your gun! My entire paintball squad each has one of these kits and we all love them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MDW_DH Friday, May 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
JT Power Tube + Custom Titanium Bolt
OPSGEAR Stock
OPSGEAR G36C Shroud
OPSGEAR Tactical Red Dot
OPSGEAR Tactical Light
Madmann Red Spring Set
Magnesium Gas Valve
Tippmann Sniper 14' Barrell
HP Pure Energy 68ci
Smart Parts Exoskin

Strengths: Looks
Reliability
Strength
Comfort
Weaknesses: Weight
It really makes noobs go after you ;)
Review: This was my final fullfilling G36C mod. It looks great, protects the barrell from impact, and maybe most of all - Holding foregrip is much much better than holding T98C front arm, it's more accurate and comfortable.

It's made from solid steel, and You can always use it to hit Your opponnent ;)

I recommend it for every scenario player who wants to make his gun unique.
Conclusion: If You play scenario games and like making Your gun very real. Try it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pff2693 Wednesday, October 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5's, Spyder products, Custom 98's, et al.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Opsgear G36c mods, J and J ceramic barrel, E-grip, and remote line.
Strengths: Replicates the balance and feel that a real firearm has (and it looks cool).
Weaknesses: The mod hinders the ability to remove the barrel easily for cleaning.
Review: The G36c raider barrel modification provides an overall look and feel of a real firearm. I didn't believe it, but the intimadation factor is a heavy burden on the opposing force. The material is arguably more durable than the metal of the marker and installation was not difficult.

I didn't like how the shroud fit on the barrel. The top rail uses a philips screw and a bolt to attach the shroud and two allen set screws held the rear of the shroud onto the barrel. Definately use electrical tape on the barrel! Four screws (matching the rail) in the front and back of the shroud would have provided a more stable hold on the barrel and minimized tool usage. The rail has to come completly off to remove the barrel.

I have no problems attaching my stock hopper to my marker! (There is an offset neck now available for the A-5)

The overall feel of the marker was impressive. The G36c kit added the balance necessary for dynamic shots that the stock A-5 lacked. The longer length would not be a benifit in close quarter combat (I don't think that is a problem in paintball). The Weaver rail attachment on the lower front shroud is a bit uncomfortable to the hands after a while. Hey I can always attach a foregrip, laser sight, grenade launcher......
Conclusion: The G36c raider hand gaurd is a fantastic upgrade if you are willing to spend the money on such items. You will not be dissatisfied if you bolt this modification on. I am giving the upgrade an eight due to the difficulty removing the barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

rabjin Thursday, May 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98cuctom stealth
98 custom lp kit & e-bolt
98 custom rt & expansion chamber
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5
g36c shroud kit
g36c mag kit
g36c solid stock
pro team tac cap
aci sub zero 6 stage expansion chamber
30 mm red dot sight
12 J&J performance barrel
Strengths: Awesome looks & realistic feel
Weaknesses: A bit heavy if you are a younger player and
total setup is spendy
Review: ok, after searching the net for the "perfect" milsim marker i decided on the tippmann A-5
g36c. when i first saw a picture of the g36c i was in love. isn't paintball supposed to make us feel like real soldiers? don't we all imagine that we are navy seals or on on a swat team when we go sneaking through the woods? this marker helps give you that illusion. my only concern with this set up is the weight of the marker. i'am 29 years old
and 5'10 200lbs. so the weight isn't a real problem for me but if you are a younger player or just not that strong you might want to try a different set up. this is a "mans" gun.
you should definitely run a remote line and a gun harness to help keep the weight down. iam not saying this gun weighs a ton,but after a day in the woods your arms will feel it.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a milsim marker and can afford the cost (check ebay first) mine cost about $600 total for the entire setup,and can carry a little heavier marker, i totally recommend this kit
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

AUBeast Wednesday, December 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None - This is my first Mil-sim kit
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Mechanical Trigger
12" Lapco Bigshot
Raider G36 Solid Stock
Raider G36 Foregrip and Toprail
Opsgear M4 Metal Mag Kit
Raider Coiled Remote
Crappy Airsoft Red Dot Sight
Pro-Team Tac Cap Loader
Strengths: Metal construction
Mil-sim look and feel
Weaknesses: None to speak of
Review: I love this kit! First of all, in my opinion, the H&K G36 series rifle is one of the coolest looking weapons in the field today. That said, this is a pretty good representation of the original for the Tippmann A-5 paintball marker. The kit is made of metal and can take a licking on the woodsball field, gives me a lot more piece of mind than many of the injection molded foregrips that are available for the A-5. The kit will work with any barrel at least 7.5 " long and looks best with a matte black finished barrel like an Opsgear Operator or a bead blasted Lapco Bigshot. The one drawback to any foregrip of course is the weight that is added to the front end of the marker, changing the feel and the balance of the marker. Once you get used to it though it is not a drawback at all but almost an advantage by helping you stay on target while spraying massive amounts of paint and adding some feel to the aiming process. Weaver rails on three sides of the handguard create a plethora of configurations for accessories like lasers, flashlighs, grenade launchers, bipods etc...and the raised sight rail is great for a red dot or FOT sight and definitely helps your mask clear your stock (if applicable).
Conclusion: I recommend this product to any H&K fans who would like to build a mil-sim paintball marker. The construction is fantastic and the look is seriously intimidating. Overall a great buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

G36C Tuesday, May 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann A5
ops gear g36 barrel shroud/sight rail
opsgear g36 mag
opsgear g36 folding stock
ops gear m4 barrel (16 inch)
bt bipod, bt bipod barrel adapter
tiberius laser site
tiberius tactical flashlight
techt vortex mod
techt cyclone feed lightning rod
jt tactical sling
tiberius vertical fore grip
beoranged howitzer bolt
rap4 hopper offset
polished internals
PE remote line
PE 20oz tank
NcStar red dot point sight
response trigger
Strengths: Very strong
Sturdy
Looks great
Weaknesses: None
Review: This thing is strong, wont wobble, looks great, and has 5 weaver rails for attachments. its fairly cheap for what you get so it wont break the bank. also my g36 barrel shroud /sight rail will take the stock hopper no problem at all i dont no what other people are taking about. it will also take a stove pipe, hopper offset, and the tac cap. I have the rap4 hopper offset to get the hopper out of my line of sight, im left handed so the hopper tends to get in the way.

edit: i just bought the X7 low profile hopper and it fits on the A-5 with the g36c kit no problem at all. it even fits better then the stock hopper did
Conclusion: Its sold and looks great you cant go wrong with this thing!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 20th, 2007 at 11:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darkentity Monday, August 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
The normal rails on the a-5 maybe
Marker Setup: A-5
16inch j and j
saw stock
remote line
G-36 shroud
BSA Red dot site


Spyder Rodeo
16'' j and j ceramic
q-loader
action ghillie rifle wrap

Stock spyder victor 2

Wsp

commander vest w/tank holder
Strengths: looks crazy
many mounting options
Intimidating
Weaknesses: a little heavy if your a weakling
price
New players will follow you
Review: I got this a few months ago and it's great. If your going for a killer scenario look this is the shroud for you. Once attached it gives makes your marker increadibly intimidating. All the newer players will be following you around which gets really annoying. Anyways, It has many rails so you can mount just about anything on it and it is very durable (all metal i believe)
Conclusion: All in all 10 out of 10. This product is nearly flawless!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media