paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd / Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd / Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd / Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd

Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd

Paintball Paintball Games

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 56
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The original Greg Hastings game was a huge hit. Well now it's even better. All the things you wish you could have done in the original are now possible in the new MAX'D version. You can now jump over the snake. You can give your teammates commands before the game starts - tell them where to go off the break. It's also on-line enabled so you can play against people from all over the world. Go head-to-head or play co-op with 14 top pros including Greg Hasting, Keely Watson, Rocky Cagnoni and more. Includes 50 unique real-life locations, more than 129 new fields, and over 145 pieces of authentic licensed gear. You give tactical commands to other team members while viewing the playing field from a third-person perspective, similar to play calling in football video games. Use realistic paintball movements such as left, right, up, offense/defense and team based strategy as you control all the players of your team.
Product Availability 
The Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Splatmaster68 Saturday, March 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball
Strengths: Multiplier on Xbox Live
Best Paintball Game Available
Semi-Realistic
Field Editor
Break Out Manager
Weaknesses: Lots of Glitches
Need Turbo Controller (See review)
Repetitive Single Player
Bad AI
Review: POSTIVES

Xbox Live
The multiplier on Xbox live has always been a highlight for this game. I only played this game because of this. Normally, you can easily find a room with a decent amount of people and play a good amount of games. Xbox live definitely makes this game a whole lot better than it would be without it.

Best Paintball Game out on a System
I remember buying one other paintball game for Xbox, and it was awful in comparison th GHTP max'd. If you are looking for a paintball game, this is it.

Semi-Realistic
The game abides by most of the physics of paintball and movements. Then again, there are a few questionable things such as marker speeds/prices. A few improvements could be made for how low accuracy insanely drops your distance or some of the wicked curves you get when shoot.

Field Editor
In GHTP Max'd, players can now create their own fields. It's pretty fun to design your own field and play them with friends online. Overall, it is a pretty good addition.

Break Out Manager
Finally, you are able to control your teammates.... to some degree. Now, you can instruct players to burn certain lanes and run to certain bunkers. While this is a great addition to the game/single player, there are many problems (see below).

NEGATIVES

Glitches
In this addition, they fixed the "rolly" glitch where players could crouch, snap up, and run forward and appear crouching while shooting in a standing position. Despite that, there still are some glitches present, and often exploited, such as the "Duck Walk" and switching which direction you shoot from the side. I don't see why these weren't fixed from the first game.

Need a Turbo Controller
If you join an online match with some players, you are bound to find that a good 70% of them have turbo controllers. This means these players can simply hold down the fire button, and shoot ropes of paint without pressing the trigger every time. It's pretty unfair to have a non-turbo controller up against a person with a turbo controller. I remember being able to empty a complete hopper in about 6 seconds with my turbo.

Repetitive Single Player
Each tournament is practically the same, besides the switching of the fields. Like the last GHTP, you have to consistently win tournaments and buy better markers to win. It gets very boring towards the end, but it is a necessity to get the golden marker for online play. (it is one of the best markers)

Bad AI
With the new breakout manager, your teammates almost never move up to bunkers that they ran too off of the break. Also, when they are set to burn a lane, sometimes they will shoot straight into a bunker no more than 5-10 feet infront of them. They will continue to shoot a line of paint into this bunker THE ENTIRE GAME. You would hope that they would shoot over or around the bunker or move to another bunker.

Conclusion: Overall, this game is pretty entertaining and addicting for those paintball fanatics. I recommend that you only buy this game if you have Xbox Live. Otherwise, the single player is pretty short and you will never play it again. I also advise if you buy this game that you look into a turbo controller so you can competitively play against others. Overall, it is a pretty solid, addicting game that has some minor issues.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 2nd, 2008 at 4:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SynTek Thursday, January 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A few terrible mods to various FPS games, the original stand alone Paintball game whose name has been lost due to the wretchedness of the game.
Marker Setup: Crossfire 68 cu 4500 psi
HALO B loader
VF Tactical Autococker
Strengths: Excellent control
Semi-Realistic
Weaknesses: Repatitive
Reminiscent of varous Skateboard games I've played
Review: I picked up Greg Hastings Tournament Paintball Max'd pretty much on a whim - in other words I happened to find a used copy at a Game Stop during an orgy of spending post deployment money. I really did not expect much from a paintball game, given that every single one I've ever played has been at best a bad game, and generally it dips into terrible. Yet, I had hopes for this particular one, because after all the Game industry has had about 15 tries to get the thing right.

Concept: When it comes to the concept of a paintball game, you really don't have to shoot for much. Greg Hastings advertises itself as a tournament paintball game, and that's exactly what it delivers, nothing more, nothing less. Gun selection is somewhat surprising in that apparently all you get is Tippmans, Spyders, Cockers, Mags and a few electronic markers thrown in. Player selection is likewise exactly what you'd expect - in other words If you're the average player and you've heard of them, they're probably in this game. The field selection is the place that this game really shines however, with dozens of fields available for you to play on.

Control: This one is a bit tricky to judge because it is a two part question and answer. You have to judge the game based on it's control relative to paintball (or it's technical control) and it's control relative to other shooters (or it's intuitive control). As far as paintball goes, the controls are pretty well thought out. You choose from three different positions - standing, kneeling and prone and three different snap shoot settings - left, right and up. You have the ability to call out positions to your teammates with the press of a button, and you can direct individuals to perform specific case sensitive actions such as moving up. The game even makes use of the analog triggers on the X-Box controller, so you can peek out just a bit on a snap shoot, and certain markers require a certain amount of pull of the trigger button before they operate. Technically, the game really shines and this is where the game wins almost all it's points from me - you can do just about anything (including wiping paint) that one is able to do in a tournament. Yet this comes at a price. Given the limited number of buttons on an X-Box controller, many of them are forced to multi-task, and from my experience that is NEVER a good idea. Your right trigger controls the firing of the marker itself, while the left trigger controls the snaping of the player. Those two buttons are the only one's I don't have a gripe with because they are the ones you press the majority of the time and they allow you to keep your thumbs on the sticks. You players standing postion is controlled by the digital pad, which isn't a big deal other than the fact that it forces you take your thumb off your the stick that makes you move in order to press it. Snap shooting is controlled by two separate buttons. One switches you from an over the top shoot to the side to side, and another controlls which side you'll snap to when you pull the trigger button. While this is a functional arrangement, I found myself actually having to think about buttons I wanted to press even after many hours of gameplay - and that's a terrible state of affairs for a Shooter. Reloading is controlled by either the white or black button, I forget which which is a bit out of the way, but not unbearibly so. Finally, you have a button that allows you to somewhat direct your team mates. It allows you to advise them of a position of the other team by pointing at the bunker and pressing the button, or directing a team member to move up by pointing at him and pressing the button. While this is a relatively simple procedure, and is in fact the only way I can imagine this system working at all, I find it annoying that I am often forced to completely take my eyes off a bunker or whatnot just to tell a back guy to move up.

Gameplay: Once again, this is a two part question - one has to compare this game with previous games made, and it of course has to stand alone. When compared to any of the other games I've played, this stands at least three and a half stories above the next closest competitor, which was that mod for Half-Life. When judged by itself the game has SERIOUS flaws however. Though the game offers unprecidented levels of control and realism, that system is inheritly flawed as I previously stated. Of course, since that can be overcome with enough practice, I must make note of the other problems the game suffers from. The first and foremost problem comes in the form of the AI of the computer players. The can be described in a word - incompetent (though stupid, retarded, useless and other such words can easily be used) Your team primarily relies on YOU to win a game. You control the breakout by cycling through a number of premade plays built for the map, and as far as I have seen that's where any semblance of AI ends. The players on your team for example rarely move when the should (or even shouldn't). Your players will generally never actually pull the flag even when right next to it unless the entire opposing team is eliminated. While I completely understand how difficult it is to make a decent AI system, in a game of this nature I think I can make gripes. On almost ANY field with a snake for example, control of the snake is key to winning. Yet, neither team will automatically press hard for the snake (though at times the opposing team will send a lone player to the snake, who will then proceed to sit on their end of it and do nothing). At least some method of bunker choice would be useful, since it seems that the AI players randomly choose where they will move too based loosly around the game situation. In other words, they will move up if winning. Cross field bunker transitions (and by that I mean from one tape to the other), which in my experience are risky under ideal conditions are commonly chosen by the other team. Frequently in fact they seem to get confused and strafe from side to side in the open as though begging for you to shoot them. Still, they are at least competent enough to provide a bit of a challenge - after all your team is just as stupid as theirs. The map selection however is excellent, and with so many to choose from it really stands out as a strong point in this game. The game even allows you to build your own fields and save them to play later with friends, or when lacking such acquantances, the computer. The single player game however reminds me of varous skateboarding games, which though a somewhat cludegy comparasion is very appropiate. The concept is you progess through a series of tournaments set around the world where you play in the hopes of winning. If you place you are awarded with some money and experience that you can use to increase several key statistics, such as running speed, shooting speed, accuracy and reload skill. The money is used to buy new equipment for your player, but aside from four items (barrel, marker, air source and hopper) none of them have any effect on the game at all. When you never see your character except when you put a new item on him is it really necessary to have such a selection of items to customize their appearance? I would have been happer had they just spent the effort dumped into the 4 dozen different jerseys and made a wider selection of markers. The gameplay isn't terribly challenging as you progess, especially given the amount of time you spend in each bracket, and I imagine that it would take 10-12 hours to complete every one of them for the average player.

Visuals: Lots of people get worked up with flashy graphics and whiz bang effects but I'm happy to say that the icing is just that - something sweet that can add a lot but rarely does it detract. The game's graphics overall are just your average shooter fair. Mid polygon count players and markers, pretty much what you've come to expect from the run of the mill X-Box shooter. The game does get high marks in it's attention to detail however. Sup Air bunkers have old paint stains on them, bunkers rock when someone slides into them and paintballs simply drop in front of a far Sup Air bunker or netting. Animations are reasonably well done, and fairly smooth, with a run actually appearing as such, correct carrying of a marker and the like. Once again, it leads the pack in other paintball games, but is just plain average when compared to a modern FPS.
Conclusion: So, is this game worth buying? I'd say probably not unless it's on the bargain rack. It is fun for a bit, but the gameplay gets a bit tedious (though I have never played this game online with nothing but people, though I imagine it is quite a bit of fun). The control allows for great realism, yet is inheritly flawed and lacks the intuitiveness that should be present in a shooter. If you just have to have a paintball video game to see you through the cold winter, then this is the game for you. If you just want a new game period, you'd be better off looking elsewhere.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Minkus962 Friday, February 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Digital Paintbal CS mod - No where near as good
Marker Setup: Gen-E Matrix, Evil Detonator Reg, Aardvark LPR, Clamping Feedneck, Aftermarket ASA with gauge, Smart Parts Micro-Max Flo 47/30 with Rail
Strengths: Single Player
Multi Player
Almost everything else
Weaknesses: Crowded 4 player screens
Accuracy of data
Review: This game is a GREAT game, I can't get enough of it. The only weaknesses I can think of are:

-When you're playing 4 player split screen, the mask around the edges around the screen just take up too much. They should be removed when playing split screen.
-The differences in price and speed of markers. A JT is as fast as a DM5, yet costs almost 500 credits less.

Other than that, this game is amazing. The single player is awesome, really addicting, and multi player is fun if you don't want to play with yourself.
Conclusion: Go out and buy it. 9/10 because of the few flaws, but it's the best paintball game so far.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

OhNoesXD Thursday, May 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Strengths
-Decent Replay Value
-Probably the only Paintball game availible on the PS2 Console.
-Online Play

Weaknesses
-Bugs
-Realism
-Gameplay brings no satisfaction
-Targeting System
-Marker Accuracy
-Ball Flight Physics
-FPS View
-Lack of customization
-"Shop" Prices
-Not as much equipment as there should be
-Voice Emotes are annoying

Bugs Include:
-Enemy AI Shooting Through Bunkers
-Hopper Refill bug
-Music bugs
-Lag on certain maps
Conclusion: Only worth getting because it's paintball.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 31st, 2008 at 1:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaPmaster Monday, October 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
First Greg Hastings
Marker Setup: Promaster+Aim Eblade
Strengths: Can control your own guys, more communication, more fields, MULTIPLAYER!!!
Weaknesses: No new Players, Not many more guns
Review: I got this game like a week ago since I was tired of playing the First GHTP. The only real strengths to getting this game is if you want to play Multiplayer. If you dont, I would just get the first GHTP. There are some things that I really dont like, and thats how the guns are.
The WGP trilogly is 1100 dollars and is faster than many of the other guns. The Silver Karnivore is More tha nthe regular Karnivore and is Faster and More Accurate. There are just some things that are unbelievable. The A-5 costs alot more than the A-5 RT! There is one level where is is just ENORMOUSLY HUGE. Its an elimination match and it takes FOREVER TO FINISH. These Things just bug the HECK out of me.
Conclusion: Only get it if your rich, or if you badly want to be able to play Multiplayer
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerboydrew Saturday, October 29th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
GHTP (the first one)
renagde paintball LAME
Marker Setup: 04 vert cocker E2
sto kaner barrel kit
70ci crossfire
Empire reloader b
Super fly bolt
Pursuit custom shop quicker ram with QEV's and micro rock lpr
CP shorty
Dye attack pack
Lock Lid Pods
Profiler

Shocker black 05
Stiffi 14 in .689
NDZ stinger bolt
NDZ roller blade trigger
Q-lock
CIP unimount

senario gun
A-5
RT
flatline
full stock (so it looks like and MP5 or SP89)
remote
6+1 black
CP pods
Strengths: Fun
multiplayer
some new fields and guns (not many)
break out
commanding players

Weaknesses: No new players or teams
no new guns
equipment is the same
non realistic
Review: I liked the first one even thou it had some cheesy stuff going on like the music and the way they talk. This one is the same way only now they dance and go crazy after you win.
The only real difference is the ability to play co-op with out a system link or x box live and a few new guns. I would of liked to see some new equipment and players, it was all the exact same as the first one. I also would of like them to include other guns like the D2 ions angels timmies ego freestyle shockers pimps impulses bushies and protos. The super duper spyder xtra that cost 700 credits and the ti logy that cost 1100 just rip and I hate it. The tippmanns pro e's are just as fast as the Dm5 and karnivor how lame. They also should have made it more detailed as far as adding different efficiency's for different guns ect. You also can never break a ball in any gun that's a big part of paintball that they missed out on. It would have been cool to see some ramping and board choices. They should also give sponsors and make you pay for entry fee for tournaments and pay for paint and other things to add more strategy to it.
Conclusion: Over all they could have put a little effort into it and made it so much better. Almost the same as the first one so if you like the first one get this one. You get to play multiplayer, co-op and command your team for break out and on the field.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 29th, 2005 at 2:11 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

lightlyspartan Thursday, April 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: M-98 Pro
E-Trigger
45/4500 Dye throttle air system
Halo frontman TSA LCD
Strengths: Graphics
Multiplayer
Large variety of markers
Weaknesses: Non-realistic
Review: Well the game starts you off as a three man team with guns that are slow cheap etc.
As you progress and win tournaments you can buy new markers hoppers barrels and apparel.The downfall of this game is mainly its non-realism a JT Tac-5 cannot shoot almost as fast as a electronic gun also the game quickly gets repetitive and boring with nothing but two modes of capture the flag and elimination
Conclusion: Buy it if your looking for a paintball game but instead of playing this why don't you just play the actual sport instead.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spikeman Thursday, May 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
well i played extreme paintball challenge but that game was a total joke that and the tiger game with the plastic marker
Marker Setup: Primary:
PMR
14' Ul barrel
Ul frame
Halo B
CP on/off rail
68/3000psi

Back up:
SP impusle
full function bolt
full function hammer
full function valve
full function trigger
20 oz with antisiphon
Halo B

Woodsball:
Spyder MR1
VL 200
16oz.
Strengths: Realistic
Good challenge
Weaknesses: bad selection of markers
HUGE FIELDS
bad team a.i
GLITCHES!!!!!
Review: Okay guys, hows everyone doing. So first i want to start off and say Greg Hastings why did you release the PS2 version that was better made then the XBOX? The PS2 version has ions, angels, timmies, you name it they have it, the breakout manager is very nice and workable, a.i. is good, customization is great. BUUTTTT the xbox version sucks in comparsion, the fields are badly made, the markers are not realistic, the breakout manager could be better, and both versions had bad glitches involving the music. Now if you are looking for a great game to help pass the time then get it for the ps2, if you like to beat your head in then get it for the xbox. Seriously why is the xtra better then a omen? why is there a evil pimp? Why is the breakout manager so horrible? Why is the cambodian field huge? Why are you able to purchase an angel when you are on tournie 13/32? Why does silver paint make the karni faster? These are some questions i have acquired throughout my experience with both consoles. The game is realistic in that you can go through and play paintball in a tournie scene with real life markers and progress as you would in real life, its a good challenge because the a.i is alot better then teh first one and at times can be very frustrating. The selection of markers however, on the xbox is horrible, you are give 5,6 different types of spyders, 5 different types of tippmans, and of all things the xtra can shoot faster then a omen. On the ps2 it is much better you are given more current markers like the ion, angel, timmy,ego, etc. The field in cambodia is huge and if you dont belive me then try it yourself, there are two huge logs on either side of the 50 line and it doesnt make any sense to have them there on the airball field. The a.i on your team could be better on xbox, but the ps2 is better. The glitches for me were that on either system would invovle the music cutting out when i would shout out the hotspots on the field. But a quick fix for this is just go to audio and switch the playlist from ghtp to off then ghtp.
Conclusion: Well the ps2 version is a def for anyone who enjoys paintball, the xbox, well, it could've been alot better and i stress the better part.But all in all i give the ps2 a 9 and the xbox a 7 so (9+7)/2=8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPvisionShocker Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Greg Hasting's Tournament Paintball
Marker Setup: 32 degrees Icon E Black
crossfire 47 ci 3000 psi nitro tank
evolution 2
Smart Parts vision shocker (dark Blue)
cross fire carbon wrapped 68 ci 3000 psi nitro
Strengths: Faster Guns then first
More Real
Weaknesses: It can freeze once and a while. No biggy, just save
Review: So I borowwed The game from a friend for three days and was up every night playing online. One thing thats different from the first greg hastings, is that the bunkers move a little so when you get into them thell shake. Ive noticed much more high end guns also in Max'd This is good because you use alot of fire power.The career mode is very long but once beeten you recieve the golden marker which is the fastest, and most accurate. I have a great time playing online with this game on my xbox and prices went down since it first came out. So id recomend getting this game if your a paintballer or just getting a ne game.
Conclusion: I give it a 9 because nothing perfect. But its very good anyways. Go buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

klockness Friday, February 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The original it's alrigth but not as good.
Marker Setup: 2002 wgp autococker, belsales 3-way, shocktech ram, palmer stabilizer, dye hinge, dye barrel
Strengths: Multiplayer!!! This was a huge improment over the original
Weaknesses: Players hard to see especially on split screen
controls take getting us to
Review: I don't see how a video game can simulate paintball any better. There are a few things that can be improve they can always add new guns and things but the first greg hastings was pretty good. The second when they made it multiplayer and allowed you to play all on the same team against the A.I. made this game a blast. We get tired of playing halo against each other because some of us don't play that much and normally get tired of getting beat. With the multiplayer against the A.I. we can all play together and the A.I. has pretty good level of difficulty. I haven't played this game a lot and I have played the single player but I was impressed with the original and am even more impressed with the second. The trigger takes some getting used to as well as the jumping, diving and snap shooting but all together it's not that hard just a little different. Also it is hard to see players but I guess that's the way paintball is. It's especially hard with split screen on a 20" tv but it's definitely tolerable.
Conclusion: There is some room for improvement on future versions but I would have to say as a gamer and a paintballer I am impressed. I can't see a paintball game getting any closer to the real thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media