paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann C-3 / Tippmann C-3 / Tippmann C-3 / Tippmann C-3

Tippmann C-3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann C-3

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann C-3
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 32
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $229

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Tippmann C-3� with PEP (Propane Enhanced Performance) technology is the world�s first propane powered paintball marker. With more than 50,000 shots per 16-ounce tank, you can spend more time playing paintball and less time trying to find a place to fill your CO2 tank. Propane provides the same effective range as C02, but it is not affected by temperatures and has the same consistency as Nitrogen or compressed air. Propane is a safe form of fuel used in many household items and the propane canisters can be picked at many retail locations at a fraction of the cost of C02.

The new C3 is a Pump Action marker that will appeal to players wanting to focus on strategy and marksmanship as well as new players looking for a fun and easy way to play paintball. The C3 is an aluminum and composite construction and features a 13� mandrel wrapped composite barrel for added accuracy and reduced weight. MSRP $229.

Caliber: 0.68
Action: Pump Action
Power: Propane
Firing rate: 4 BPS
Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 13 Inches
Length: 17.5 inches
Weight: 3.75 lbs (without propane tank)
Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann C-3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Rambino Thursday, October 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month65 of 70 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP, Blade - C3 is far superior to either.
Marker Setup: Stock C3, 16oz propane tank from Wal-Mart ($2), 12V Revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
None are available at this time.
Strengths: See below
Weaknesses: See below
Review: Strengths:

- Efficiency, obviously. Tippmann claims 50,000 shots per tank. I haven't been able to confirm that, but even if it is "only" 10,000 it is still a major improvement over current air technology.

- It works. Pump the gun, pull the trigger, a ball gets fired. I had no misfires, no double feeds, no blanks, no chops. Flawless operation.

- Cool new technology. This is a potential paintball revolution in the works.


Weaknesses:

- It's a pump. Unless you are playing in a pump game, or are really really good, you will be outgunned.

- Pump stroke is long (2"). This is not a Phantom.

- No autotrigger.

- Consistency out of the box was pretty bad over the chrono. It got better even after a few shots, and it is supposed to get quite good after breakin.

- No aftermarket barrels, at least not yet. The barrel is a special "won't melt" barrel that uses special Mag-like threads. Until somebody starts making parts, you are playing with the stock barrel.


Review:

I took my new C3 to BFG for indoor speedball. Needless to say, I was completely outgunned. Nevertheless I was able to get a good sense of the gun. And the gun worked fine. I wasn't blown away by amazing accuracy or anything of that nature, but I was blown away by the sheer innovation of the thing.

The C3 obviously will not take over speedball. BUT - if I lived far from cities, or wanted to open a field on the cheap, I would buy a bunch of these. You can play with your buddies all year long and not worry about refilling. You can start a woodsball field without buying compressors.

I believe the C3 can revolutionize renegade paintball all by itself. More importantly, if/when Tippmann comes out with the semi-automatic version, it just might revolutionize paintball technology altogether.

Conclusion: This is not a gun for a tournament player or serious speedballer. But if you have ever played in a field where refilling air is difficult or expensive, and you don't mind shooting a little slower, then this is the gun for you. If you want to buy some guns for your kids to play with in the back yard with minimal hassle, then this is the gun for you. If you live in a place where getting CO2/nitro fills is difficult, then this is the gun for you.

Kudos to Tippmann for continuing to be an innovation leader. I await the semi with great anticipation.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
40 Comments - Add Comment

jayhuse Monday, October 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, Ion, Shocker, Phantom, Overlord & Core Z
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
None available
Strengths: No refilling tanks
No needed upgrades
Really accurate
Money Savings
Weaknesses: Weight and it is a pump
Review: Ok, I bought this little mareker onlin and played with it last Saturday. I must say I am really impressed. A few friends and I went out to my brothers farm to do some test shooting with all of our markers. We werer basically holding a mini-contest on target shooting and getting a feeling of the marker. I stopped off before and bought a $2.00 16oz tank of propane. I basically shot all day long. In all we shot about $25.00 in co2 12gs and 2 full tanks of compressed air. The nice thing is we were not even worried about refilling the Propane tank. A few jokes were made about how we could still camp out and cook some steaks on the the left over propane.

Anyway the marker is very nice, shoots very accurate and I do not see any need for ANY upgrades. Yea thats right I will say it again. I do not see a need for any upgrades. It is what most guys would say if you bought a Phantom. The thing runs great as is god bless.

I have a Phantom and actually prefer the C-3 Tippman over it. The C-3 pump stroke is alot longer. The pump feel is similar to a real shotgun 20 Gauge. I felt at home over longer stroke versus the really short pump of the Phantom. Some die hard pumps guys will either hate this marker or love it. I am the latter. It is a heavy marker unlike the phantom. The marker has a huge heat sink that heats up a little but nothing to be concerned.

The marker worked great out of the box and was consistent. One IMPORTANT note to mention is that in the above reviews they mentioned inconsistent shooting and I think I know why. Essentially when you first shoot the marker it reminds me of a gas powered lawn mower. You kind of have to prime it up and warm it up with a few test shots. This really is not a big deal once you see what i mean. The only problem i could see is if you are playing woodsball and going on an extremly long time without shooting. I think what happens is that the Propane in the cyclinder dissapates some or something so that it runs a little lean. The solution is just fire a shot once in a while to keep it going no big deal.

Now this gun is not for everybody since it is a pump but the feel of the marker is great. The only issue I have with it is the pump seems a little stiff. I would like to OIL it up some or hopefully it will have a break in period an such.

The setting are easy to understand and the only drawbacks I see are the weight. See below for my conclusion.
Conclusion: The C-3 reminds me of when I was a kid down in the creek shooting stumps, frogs flies and what not. The pump simply reminds me of the endless supply of air made by the cocking my old daisy and crossman air rifles. If you are looking for a gun to target shoot, our practice the pump style of play this marker is it ! You can basically ditch your c02 cartriges or co2 tanks. It honestly felt wierd after shooting all day and putting up my marker not working about going back to the filling station and if you buy one you will feel the same way.

I see this technology changing paintball. If the product holds together I see it being a 10, but as of right now I give it a 9 because it is so new.
My advice is if you are not totally wanting a semi gun then buy this marker it is going to be something special.

thanks
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

zaadicus Monday, December 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pump guns; talon pgp phantom sniper

Marker Setup: black ion, toxic drop forward, 4500 88ci hpa, apex barrel, techt l7 bolt, new designz donut

tippmann a-5, empire twist (rifleD) barrel, response trig, double trig, toxic drop forward, 32degrees on/off.

c3 - only stock.

crossman sheridan xts. - stock

singray ii - ....siezed... (frozen) :)
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward and try to find a smaller than 16oz tank (if they exist) you wont need the extra :)

what improvements i'd like to see: : new barrel's for the gun and DEFINATELY definately a ported barrel to get rid of muzzle blast on the paintball, affecting its accuracy.
Strengths: Shots per tank. cheap on air, cheap on paint :)
Weaknesses: The sound is both intimidating and revealing
complexity of internals.
Review: *cut from strenghts* a little bit of intimidation for people who dont know what it is. and of course... smacktalk.. "You just got owned by propane beyotch" ;) plus you'll gothrough a LOT less paint using one of these. ..

*cut from weaknesses*
you have to make that one shot count. ... condensation on the inside of barrel due to the nature of propane exhaust. ..
one BIg negative:-- the gun is *mostly* one-piece. you can't fold down the feed neck to clean the breach easily. and if any part like that happens to 'crack'.. well.. not sure what you'd do. mine has a small crack around the feed neck and stopping right before the top screw. i need to talk to tippmann about getting a replacement next week.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Ok, I bought my c3 used on ebay got it home and attached a 16oz propane tank from a grill onto it. the first shot (after priming) sounded like a gunshot.. so i decided not to dry-fire it outfront of my house anymore.. after that when i got it to the local field (which i work at reffing btw) after showing it to the owner / other reffs i was able to chrono it in and play.


first off the gun is by no means 'huge' . it looks large in the box.. it looks large in someones hands. but i stood it next to someone's spyder (dont remember the model) and the two guns were positioned that on a table, the bottle was on the table in the back, the barrel was on the table in the front, and they were both vertical standing.--
their barrels were the same distance from the butt of the tank. (the c3 actually has a longer 'barrel' because the barrel starts at the back of teh gun instead of the front.)
the hoppers were at the exact same height. (my hopper has a long neck on it. if you were to use a hopper from a stock 98, you would reduce your height by about 1".)
the only difference was the width of the body which was a little more rounded than the spyder (they're pretty flat for the most part) BUT this roundness is a non issue due to the fact that the tank is much wider than the body and you still have your (by comparison) fat arm holding it.. the c3 has ust as much chance of getting hit as a normal marker, or your forearm for that matter :P

I don't know if i say this later or earlier in the review, i'm going through this after-the-fact.. the gun has enough weight to it that you can do a 'one-hand' pump with it a-la terminator ii , and fire then gun with your other hand.. people get a kick out of it, but by the people that think you're a fool, dont be surprised with the amount of 'sara connor 'jokes that get made :P

i loved it. never played a game using only a pump, going up against high speed electros and semi autos wasn't a problem. as long as you listen for the 'pop' and duck back in before the balls get to you, you can be quite effective. and you have to have a litle bit of stealth / quickness too. so using a pump is a handicap but it can be overcome. anyway bck to the gun-

the report was fairly loud, though muffled while shooting paint.. people can definately tell what field you're on. i read on a website (graphed out) that its only a few decibles above the report of a 98 but the tone is definately different. i'd say its a mixture between a 98 and a stock (louuuuddd) cheap spider. (like a victor )

the only problem i had that day was condensation forming on the inside of the barrel. it was a little humid outside (peoples goggles were fogging) and since the exhaust of propane burning is c02 and h20 (water vapor) some condensed on the inside of the barrel and then it acted like there was a blown ball inside. easy fix with a straight-shot.

the distance you get out of the stock barrel is about average for a rental i'd guess. just make sure that you're firing just under your field's chrono-speed and you'll get adequate distance.

biggest and best thing about this gun?...
play the first half of the day using your pump. you will use little paint, and you'll learn to be very defensive on your style. even if you want to be the aggressive one.. (i found myself in the front of the line, with people w/ electros behind me.. complainging that THEY didnt get to see any action)-- you learn to snap shoot better than a speedballer and pre aim your shots and time everything.-- after your lunch break or what-have you.. break out your semi / electro... you will be a superman. not only will you have saved all the paint during the beginning of the day, but now everything that you've been doing instinctually with the pump comes out with your added firepower and youll be unstoppable. you go from 1 or 2 people per game to 3 / 4 / 5 ... its insane.

after reading all the reviews about heat, loudness, and warm 'air' being blown onto your hand I decided to beat the crap out of the gun and test it for a 'bad' use :)..

if you do a full 'cocking' motion (where the gun would be ready to fire) and then pull back again halfway (so the pump handle is back near the main body) and then press the trigger, you will ignite the propane that is inside, while the 'exhaust' valve is open. there are two exhaust ports on the front of the gun right behind where the slide is for the pump.. there will be a very brief 'puff' of blue-flame ignited propane. not enough to light anything on fire but none-the-less.. its enough to prove to people that 'yes..this IS a combustion chamber'.. ..so That's the 'warm air' that someone was speaking of earlier.

when you need to reload and open your hopper do not be alarmed if you see 'smoke' coming from the hopper. it is exhaust and not your marker burning up.

if you're still afraid of the 'fire' puff .. i tried to set my shirt up with the puff that came out by continuously "one-and-a-half" pumping the gun and firing. while bringing the long-sleeve up onto my *pump hand's palm* resulting in many puffs (4x? per second) .. my shirt (cotton thermal) did not catch or char, it got a little warm (less than dryer-heat) but showed no signs that a flame had touched it. (if i had taken a lighter to any part of the shirt you would see *SOMETHING*..

when you fire the gun there is a very brief puff out the front (compressed air / water vapor) .. it is lessnoticible than that of a c02 marker.

however i think now that doing this too much had lead to me burning up some seals as i've smelt a very mild burn smell (that i could have been just 'thinking' i smelled anyway) after abusing the gun royally ( a lot of dry firing, no oil, lots of showing people the two 'flames' that shoot out the front. ) and anything else that i thought would be 'bad' to do.. to test it out :)

after firing consistently for about 5 minutes the body became warm to the touch, hand-warmer ish. not burning hot but.. comfortable if you were in a cold environment. the barrel was about the same temperature and the exhaust from the barrel is not bad.
after 10-15 minutes of continuous shooting (dry firing) the outside did become hot to where it was uncomfortable to keep your hand on it but not impossible (not burn worthy) (less than 140'F)


after all the abuse i put it through...when i tried using it today it wasn't acting very reliably, it would fire a normal shot, and then fire a shot at 1/2 or 1/4 the firepower it normally had, then the next shot would be normal etc etc.. i dont know if this is due to the regulator piece being moved, the velocity adjuster being moved or what. .but it will require some more investigation. I plan on taking the gun apart and inspecting the chamber / seals / linkage/springs whatever to see whats been worn down since i'm not sure how 'used' the gun was before it came into my posession.

a few pieces tha ti'm not thrilled with on the gun - the barrel is quote "mandrel wrapped composite" - apparently to be resist the heat and though that is not a problem, the gun isn't ported anywhere, so all the built up pressure exits at the same time as the ball, and this tends to set it off course or spinning a little. due to the 'muzzle burst' the accuracy is decreased. the accuracy is by no means horrible, but this should be an easy improvement on tippmann's part. . the gun doesn't use threads, instead the barrel sits against an o-ring in the back and is a flat fit against it. i'd like to try to match up a sawed-off barrel's outer-diameter to the stock barrel and try to fit the two together..

also as i mentioned in the weakness area the gun is mostly one piece. namely th ebreach is fused as part of the body of the gun. you can't fold it down like on the 98 or even remove the load system like on the a5... or slide something foward like the pro-lite / carbines... its one piece, period. makes it extra difficult to clean the gun with a pull through-breech. and if you need to clean the 'bolt' part of the gun ...would probabally be a mild nightmare ;)

the delivery system for the propane looks a little 'flimsy' ? .. on the right side there is a small plastic tube running from the insert of the braided hose to the rear of the gun(injector). ( looks a lot like part of the hookup for an response trigger with the tube and the two screws) my fear on this part is with getting that hose snagged on a branch/structure and it popping off of the other connector and whipping around spewing propane.. i'm sure tippmann thought that through though otherwise they wouldn't have released it and also i'm not sure i've ever seen anyone pop off a reactive trigger or cyclone feed tube .. but it could probablly happen given the right circumstances.
Conclusion: After my long review i'll try to keep this (relatively) short :)-- my final thoughts on the gun are that it is worth it. if you want a unique gun with new (?) technology. and to have a bit of awe factor get the gun. its performance is good given that you know how to play pump style vs semi and that you have the patience to do so. the gun needs a tiny bit moref setup time becuase you have two forms of adjustment (lean/rich mixture on the reg, and velocity on the body) but its not horrible. the accuracy is fine, the overall feel of the gun is pretty good.. im giving the gun a ten because i feel the gun is worth it if you want to try new things out. the technology is good, accuracy is fine, size is normal, weight can be overcome (think of the guy carrying the mil-sim 98/a5 with the stock/rail/and m16 barrel, vest, 6pod pack with or without remote.) yeah talk about heavy..if you're seriously thinking about it.. go for it.. it is new, its a little bit of a change. people dont like changes and they'll give you a bunch of phony stories about how they heard about some guy blowing up. b.s.... its a fun gun,... .it's tippmann brand so its (unless you intentionally beat the hell out of the gun) reliable, and in the end it -will- make you a better paintball player, nomatter what your style or preferred game to play.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 4th, 2006 at 12:54 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Dan buddy Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder tl-x
Pirhanna
tippmann custom 98
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Can't think of any
Strengths: Gas Efficiant
Acurratte/Precise
Rugged/Quality gun
Will save me money
Weaknesses: Only thing is that it is high profile
Review: Ok so I picked this gun because i live in a rural area where C02 and compressed air refills are inconvenient, so upon learning about a tippmann that uses propane (which is readily available around where I live) I thought this could my life easier when it comes to paintball.
After I purchased it in town (Columbus, OH) at the local Central Ohio paintball store along with some paint, i took it right home and gassed it up with the 16.4 ounce propane tank in my dads garage (we already had one sitting in the tool cabinet) I took out into our back yard ( a huge 6 acres of basically woods) I decided to break it in and get a feel for it.
Right away I noticed How much time tippmann put into it to make it a quality product, it felt like a solid rugged gun that will last a long time.
Also after shooting it a couple times to get the gas flow working properly i loaded the paint in the hopper and I will tell you this gun has great accuracy, also it just felt comfortable in my hands which I know helped me aim better, it felt natural and clean to fire, the pump action feels cool too almost like a shotgun or something i don't know it just felt cool.
I've relied on this gun in plenty of woods ball rounds playing with and against friends who used 98 Customs and spyders and this gun WILL hold its own and more it is extremely reliable from what ive seen so far and requires little maintenance. After I got used to the pump action it uses I was able to spray enough to pin down 2 enemy players at the same time, thanks to its amazing accuracy and natural feel. I feel really good about this gun and the PEP technology it uses.
Conclusion: All in all I bought this gun because i thought it would make my life easier and I can honestly tell you it did, I know it will last a long time, will eventually save me money after long term use, and as a plus is a real real quality gun. I definitely recommend this gun to someone living in rural areas, or to anyone who wants a quality pump action marker and can realize the long term money saving benefits.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

omaharacer Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
No other pumps -
98c w/ Flatline, Cyclone, Response Trigger, Pro-Team Expansion, 20 oz, Rocket Cock II
Marker Setup: Stock C3 w/ Coleman 16.4 oz Propane
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, yet
Strengths: Lighter/smaller than my Custom 98, & 50,000 shots per tank!
Weaknesses: Exhaust blows out front (onto your hand) if not fully cocked back out when fired.
Review: Bought it from eBay - Serial 158 (haha, only 1 after the last guy!). Anyways, after I opened the box, which actually has two flaps holding it together. I took it out and hooked up the propane tank (Coleman for $2.17 at WalMart). Quickly read through on how to set it up - but it seemed like it was running a little too rich, after pumping, you had to pull the trigger several times before it would fire. After a little adjusting, and about 5 minutes later I got it firing great.

First off, there is NO fire whatsoever coming from the gun, the combustion occurs inside and the exhaust leaves the gun through small holes.

The black paint is a nice coating that looks like it can take some hits without any problems.

I am a little concerned about the propane adjustment for lean/rich. There is a little knob with an allen wrench hole for adjustment on the "regulator" where you screw the tank into. This really isn't that tight, and could get slightly moved if touched. This really isn't a concern though unless you take a direct hit with a paintball and it moves a little.

The first thing I noticed with the trigger was the electonic "spark"/clicking sound when you pull the trigger. Which by the way is incredibly light w/ very little resistance.

Tested it out trying to fire as quickly as possible and felt something push out on my hand. I happened to do this later as well. Aparently if you don't cock it all the way back and fire, it will push the exhaust right out onto your hand - which was really warm at the time. Maybe this is Tippmann's way of telling you that you need to cock it all the way back before you fire. LOL.

Stuck a backup hopper on the top and test fired it with some balls, no chopping, and pretty good range on it as well. I still need to chrono the gun before I make any final decisions on the speed/range/accuracy though.

The body did get very warm after several shots (20+), seems like it would be great for winter when my hands get cold.

The squeege that comes with it seems awkward and wouldn't fit down the barrel, not sure if this is because I don't know how to use it or what? Also it comes with the nice "Tippmann" barrel condom.

The marker includes a little tube of oil, and two allen wrenches, and the instruction manual. You NEED to read through this before-hand, otherwise you can really mess something up.
Conclusion: This is my first pump gun, probably will never need to purchase another tank, maybe a battery in the future though. Maintanence is minimal with a battery purchase in the future. Tippmann never said anywhere on how long the battery lasted, I wouldn't want to be playing and the battery die. If it did, there wouldn't be a problem pulling the side off and replacing the battery though.

Seems like a good gun to have if you are just playing around, or never want to refill a CO2 tank after every game. MSRP was $229, I picked it up for $210 shipped on eBay, you can find others a little cheaper as well. Nobody locally had the C3, or even heard of them yet. I will definately pick up the semi-auto version when Tippmann comes out with that.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

stray bullet Friday, November 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Apex Elite/ Pump
Brute II/ Pump
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
None...
Strengths: Designed extremely well.
Weaknesses: Can't really think of anynow
Review: Well I got mine today and the serial number is 77, cool.
Overall the C3 seems to be large compared to the traditional stacked tube design but so did my WM Assault 80 when I first got it until I started to play and it just didnt matter because my mind was on other things. The gun grip is big but seems to give the kind of leverage you will need to control the marker when you start pumping like mad. As for the pump grip its just as beefy in proportion as the gun grip. I like this because it seems that your using your muscle power to pump and nothing is wasted trying to hold on to the grip, which may help rapid firing. When you cock the C3 its almost eerie because in a strange way it sounds real. Dont ask why, just try cocking one. The action is fairly smooth and there is no buildup of tension since your not compressing a spring compared to traditional markers. Its a pleasant benefit of the new technology which makes the overall action very smooth. There is a lot of composite in this marker just like the A-5. This doesnt worry me because I own an A-5 and it has operated flawlessly since the day I bought mine which was within the first three months of its debut. Now this is a matter of opinion but with a composite barrel is the only way the C3 could live up to the legendary Tippmann reputation for dependability. One of the by products of burning propane is water vapor, and with a metal barrel condensation would be a major problem especially if a ball has been sitting in the chamber for a while. Leave it to Tippmann and they will cover all the angles. Thats why Im not worried about the design. Surprisingly the bore of the barrel has a mirror finish for a "plastic" barrel. I'm guessing that the mandrel wrapped composite barrel is another sign of Tippmanns application of innovation and the future of paintball. Instead of removing material like the currant manufacturing processes of boring or cutting barrels then having to polish etc.. The future is going to be the layering and the building up of materials. Which is stronger, lighter and leads to less waste thus less pollution. On top of that its much faster from start to finish product, cutting the bottom line, improving quality and giving Tippmann more capitol to invest in R&D. I havent had a chance to put it over a chrony but it seems consistent and the balls fly where I point it. The report is unlike a paintball marker and is more like a .22 rifle, instead of a pop it's more like a crack. Its fun to shoot and will always take it with me to games if I want to play on the cheap, dont want to drive 45 minutes one way to get Co2, batteries go dead in the electro, etc.. get the point? As for the heat issue other people have already said it. Not much else
Conclusion: The bomb it's not, sorry for the pun. Rec and woods players will love this thing all hail Tippmann.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 4th, 2005 at 2:56 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

im lovin it Tuesday, February 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Be pumps. doesent compair
semi tippmanns good compitition :D
Marker Setup: gameface scourch paint.
VL2000 gravity feed hopper.
BE 50 round hopper
16oz propane tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a low profile hopper
a 50 round hopper
battle swab
50 round pods or 10 round tubes.
Strengths: Efficiency
Cheap air
Sound
Easy to pump.
Accuracy
Light
Size
Weaknesses: Sound
Consistency
Plastic parts.
Finicky
Size
Battery
Backblast
Review: Ok this is my first review so bare with me.... My friend let me use it today and i thank him for an AWESOME experience.

Ok when i first picked up this gun i instantly fell in love.its size weight and balance resulted in a very ergonomic marker. ok now time to test it.

went to the crono to make sure its shooting right. It took me a few pumps to get it charged and a few more to get it shooting right but hey no big deal right? once it was doing right it took quite a few more shots to "break it in" for the day. the first shot was 250 and the next was 304. It got down to a 280-300 after about 30 shots though without any adjustments. My friend just said it needed to get warmed up. He was right.
thoughts at crono performance

Now this has got to be the most accurate tippmann marker ive ever shot(ive shot all but the F/A and SMG) I was getting a good 2" grouping at 20ft (not the best distance but nothing else to use) but i deem that pretty accurate.

despite what people say being a pump i could get a good 4-7 BPS witch is pretty dang good. The pump action while a little long is VERY light witch makes for easy and semi fast pumping (if it was shorter i could get very fast). Now if you don't fully cock it (common in high ROF) you will either get a little liquid propane or a jet of hot air on your hand. (witch is kinda refreshing in 32* weather an no gloves :P.).

allot of people complain about the weight. well when compared to a phantom its pretty heavy. but compared to most tippmanns out there this thing is a light weight champion. however that comes with a price. the pump itself is made of plastic and the barrel appears to be half made out of plastic. to much plastic for a tippmann but if you got the time and tools that can be fixed.

ok now the whole sound thing is a love/hate sorta deal. its not like most guns ware its a Puff or a pift sound this marker had a crack in it and its very loud. i like it its intimidating. But you snipers out there will not love it because it is a very loud report.

this guns has some kick to it. i held it in one hand with a loose grip on it. much like i would hold a .22. i shot and it kicked up about a half an inch.
but that's to be expected with tippmanns.

ok now the bad: even though it is a pump it takes battery's witch kinda sucks but w/e. 2 is this is by no means a small marker. its pretty big and bulky. 3 the back blast i don't know if this is normal or not but when i shot in rapid fire i would get back-blast witch is a blast of rank hot air. but then when i got that i was doing 4 5 6 BPS. 4 certain parts on the gun are plastic. not what i expect from tippmann.
Conclusion: Tippmann has once again made an EXCELLENT marker. This time the re-ventured into the forgotten territory fo the pump markers. This marker would score a ten in my book if it were not fo the plastic parts and the bulkiness of it. but it does score a 9. i eagerly await a smaller more compact version of this marker hopefully with some threading for diffrent barrels and some 12 gram size propane tanks from tippmann. I hope they DON'T make a semi auto version. stock class would be awsome with one of these.

get this marker if you need a nice backup like Tippmann and can't afford a phantom. Or if you feel like improving your game for only for the cost of paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 21st, 2006 at 2:00 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

erpgean09 Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
First pump ever
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix
Dye sticky grip
j&j ceramic 14" barrel
Ricochet elec. hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
None out
Strengths: Very accurate
Feels solid
50,000 shots off a $2.17 propane tank
Weaknesses: Very hard to clean
Review: I just received this gun for christmas, and I love it. When I first got it I took it on the back porch and it fired right out of the box.(I figured out that before you put your paintballs in, you should pump it and fire it with the propane until it starts to fire, to warm it up). The first problem I noticed was that it wasn't feeding correctly, but the problem was that the barrel wasn't pushed in far enough, easy fix with a little force. After I fixed that it has been working smoothly ever since. I've only chopped 2 paintballs out of around 3 hoppers full. The only other problem with the gun is how hard it is to clean. If you burst paint in it you have to comepletely take the gun apart because the squeegee included will only clean out the barrel sometimes.
Conclusion: Overall this is a great gun, besides how hard it is to clean, it shoots great and I think that it is a great gun for woodsball or target practice in the backyard. I give this gun a 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paulknoch Friday, November 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Special Ops A5A2 with E-grip, Lapco Big shot barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
None available but I would like to see a better forearm grip become available.
Strengths: Propane - 50,000 shots. What more do you need to know?
Weaknesses: Big, somewhat heavy, loud, and not everyone likes a pump.
Review: Overall I am pretty pleased with my Tippmann C3 (Serial #00056). It looks more like an oversized pistol than a rifle but it feels fine in your hands. Its a little tricky threading the propane tank in at least for me but its probably just something I am not doing right.

A few pumps and the gun began firing. Its very loud. Like a rifle. The pump stroke is long and has a noisy action like a shotgun loading a shell into the breach. Its not a bad sound. If anything, it adds to the realism. With the loud report, this could be a really intimidating gun. If you had five or six of these on a field, it would sound like a war zone.

My initial chronos were all over the map. A couple even registered over 350 if that is possible. Accuracy was good in that you point the gun where you want to shoot and it seems to hit the mark. I did break one ball in the barrel when I didn't complete a full pump stroke.

Even though its a pump, you can fire this gun fast enough to lay down suppressive fire or push back an oncoming opponent.

I was a little nervous using a propane tank the first time but I have quickly gotten more comfortable. In many ways, its easier than a CO2. There is a bit of odor when you screw in and screw off the tank but theres no hiss and spray like a CO2 tank.

Hopefully this gun will have the famous Tippmann durability. Only time will tell.
Conclusion: For anyone who enjoys new technology or doesn't want to deal with constantly refilling a C02 or air tank, this marker is worth a look. It may not be for everyone but in my opinion its one of the best ideas to come out of paintball in a long time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Isca_Cahomee Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Technically none.
Marker Setup: Tippmann C-3
16 oz Coleman Propane
32 Degrees 200 Round Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
None available.
Strengths: Efficient, Accurate, Loud.
Weaknesses: Loud (if your a "sniper"), sort of difficult to clean the entire marker.
Review: Well, I ordered my C-3 after hearing about it, and figured it would be a nice first marker. And it is. I was surprised by how well it fits when you hold it, and how balanced it is with a 16.4 ounce propane tank attached to it.

At first I wasn't sure how it would hold up in battle but I tested it yesterday, and it did very well. We played all day and I was the only person with a pump there and I have to say the C-3 held up very well against everyone else. At one point it managed to put down enough fire to suppress three people with 98 Customs. It worked well in an assault game we played and managed more suppressing fire. Although it did break one ball it kept firing generally straight (although it had some smoke) but a quick swab with the straight shot squeegee cleaned it out fast. On the defense I was able to angle the marker enough to shoot 200 feet with fairly decent accuracy and even managed to watch a bright yellow ball glide across the field into a dude's mask.

After shooting it fairly quickly it got hot, which wasn't a very big deal, although it would make you want to not touch the combustion chamber for very long. It occasionally loses prime but that is easily fixed by cocking it about half way and cycling new air into the chamber.

The C-3 was easily laying down suppressive fire even though it is a pump, and with a skilled shooter it could take people out accurately from decent distances. Needless to say it broke a lot less paint than any of the other people's markers ( 1 out of 1600), and the 16.4 oz propane tank easily outlasted all of the Co2 tanks there.
Conclusion: I would recommend it if you like pumps and you want an efficient marker. Its accurate, its loud, and its efficient. It's a lot of fun to shoot and so far its one of my favorite markers I've seen.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 26th, 2006 at 12:05 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media