paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / REX Paintball Type-R / REX Paintball Type-R / REX Paintball Type-R / REX Paintball Type-R

REX Paintball Type-R Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount REX Paintball

Buy REX Paintball Type-R

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


REX Paintball Type-R
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 10
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
225 to 300 psi operating pressure
Use CO2 or N2/compressed air for air source
Air-ram electronic design
Cocker compatible barrel thread
ACS (anti-chop system) Delrin self-lubricating field-strip bolt
Quick-strip bolt/striker system
Swift response adjustable trigger system and blade style trigger for lighter pull
LED user interface with bounce-beam sensor system
BPS (cap at 20), Sensor, Dbounce and Dwell adjustments
Dual regulator system with mid-rise feedneck
ASA (air system adapter) system and operating pressure gauge
Product Availability 
The REX Paintball Type-R is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
PaintballOtaku Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers
Timmys
Ion
Marker Setup: Rex Type-R
48-3000 N2 tank
Revolution w/ x-board soon to be egg with y/board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
drop foward
clamp feed neck
Strengths: Fast
cheap
air effiecent
Weaknesses: Loud like really loud
feed neck reminds me of ions
Review: Ok so i got this marker to my door for $145 which was good for me because im on a tight budget and don't want to pay $300+ for a gun so price was great the people out there saying it doesn't shoot 20 bps like it say is because on the board it adjusts from 15 bps and 20 bps so that might be a problem. The barrel on it isn't bad for a stock but it is very loud like a grenade but it is pretty accurate. The feed neck don't even get me started its just like ion it doesn't fit almost anything but that can be fixed with a simple clamp feed neck. so over all i'll give it an 9.5 but since it's less than $150 dollars ill give it a solid 10 i mean for 140 buck and maybe another $20 on a clamp feed neck on ebay or web site and you got a good high class marker. Ok heres my edit after a weekend of play it worked perfectly for the entire week end probley better than i had hoped but on the last game my regulator broke and i couldnt ge it to shoot over 250 fps so i had to sit out the last game but even tho it broke i had bought a torpedo reg for $20 and that is working great so ill drop the rating to a 9

Edit:I went out this weekend and the gun shot great i ran out of air in 2 games but on a 47/3000 but i shot 740-760 balls so its pretty good air efficent and i fish and i got a pretty accurate scale and just the gun wieghed only 3.4 pounds which is good since the ion wich is its competeder is 2.5 so its still pretty light to me
Conclusion: Great gun for the price if u dont want to pay a lot for a gun it's great
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 24th, 2006 at 9:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintBull Friday, June 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Wrath/LTD, Odyssey FASOR type guns.
Marker Setup: Stock Grey REX Paintball Type-R
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, but I suggest this for all guns, nothing wrong with the stock if you're on a budget.
Strengths: Price
Speed
Efficient
Ergonomic
Weaknesses: Looks (plain milling, not necessarily a bad thing)
Review: I initially bought this gun for 130$ shipped to my door. It appeared at my door step, I opened the package, and saw a nice, black, well constructed carrying case with a large white sticker reading Type-R. Egg carton type foam filled the inside, and made quite sure everything stayed in place. Along side the gun sat a tool repair kit (some allen wrenches, spare o-rings, etc), a white soft cover manual wrapped around the 12 inch dust black barrel, and last but not least one of the most important pieces of equipment, the barrel cover. The manual isn't fancy, but gets the point across, and tells you what and how to oil the gun in specific areas (ram assembly, o-rings on the bolt, etc).

After looking over the manual, and adjusting the jumpers on the board, I aired it up, put on my Ricochet Apache hopper. No leaks, that's a good sign, and usually a common nuisance with cheaper guns. I shot it, and it shot as fast as I could pull the trigger, no breaks, no problems. The ball sensor worked great with absolutely no problems. The accuracy was good, as the ball grouping was close, from around 50ft.

Overall the gun is the best in it's price range, and even just as good as markers that cost hundreds of dollars more. If you're thinking about buying one, don't even hesitate the thought, because this gun is great.
Conclusion: REX Paintball is new company taking over the remains of Odyssey's FASOR marker line, but their future looks promising. The gun is absolutely awesome, and for the price nothing beats it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 2nd, 2006 at 5:08 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fruktflugan Saturday, September 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Impulse -heavier, bulkier, slower but better trigger.
ION -looks cheaper, shoots slower and has more built in faults that needs to be eliminated before making it a good marker. Still isn't as good as this marker though.
Blowbacks -don't even compare
Marker Setup: ICD Freestyle fs7, REX model-R
Recommended
Upgrades:
Inline HP Regulator is a MUST!!!
A trigger job to remove the slack
Strengths: It does what markers that cost 5 times as much do!
Weaknesses: Bottomline regulator, sloppy trigger
Review: So, I've owned the Type-R for two days now and thought I'd share.

The stock bottomline reg NEEDS to be exchanged for a real regulator right away. The stock reg only manipulates your bottle's pinvalve to achieve some sort of pressure regulation. This is madness, since what it does is restrict gasflow; NOT regulate pressure.
It, the stock reg, needs to be set every time playing and it's a cheap solution. But then the marker is cheap (not in a bad way) and if you calculate the addition of a real regulator it still is The Best Deal In Paintball Right Now (TM).

Trigger is sloppy and wobbles from side to side. The return spring is weak and keeps you from getting anywhere near what this marker is capable of. Nothing that some paintball Mc Guyver:ism can't take care of though! ;)

That set aside this marker ROCKS! I don't think that you'll get better value anywhere.

Gas efficiency is good, speed is good and build feel is good.

Don't be fooled by the price, this marker can compete at tournament level easily.


*******Update:
Took the type-r apart totally and put it back together, surprise surprise it wouldn't fire at all!
Since it was the first time for me tearing down this type of gun (electropneumatic) I guessed the error was mine and tore it down again taking special care to get the LPR correctly assembled.
Guess what?
-The error was mine! :)

Stupid ppl like myself shouldn't own this marker. -Bad Me!!!


*********Update 2:
Since writing the review the marker has acted up for me once more. Had it in the box for a week and then gassed it up and it wouldn't cycle properly.
Took it apart and lubed it properly in the lower tube of the body and it worked again.

Will see if this happens again, have it in storage now to gas up in a week.
This will make me downgrade my Rating to a 5 until I know what happened and if it was my fault or not. The marker worked flawlessly when I put it in it's box but didn't work when I took it out of the box just one week later. Weird!


**********Update 3:
The problem with cycling after it had been in storage didn't return. Don't really know what happened.
Upped the rating to a 6 until I've used it for a month more to see if this error returns.

Also noticed that if you dial in the trigger too tightly you get trigger sticking like crazy. I've also slipped over 4 really small orings over the trigger and pushed them up all the way across the "hump" of the trigger to reduce slack and return speed. The stock trigger really sucks BAD!
Conclusion: If you are a bit of a tinkerer and like to work your marker to suit your own kinks then this marker can be something for you.
As a noob, there's no reason to buy this if you cannot install an aftermarket regulator to get this marker ready to fire.

That set aside this marker does it all. If you want something special and unique at a great price this is it.
Sure it has all other problems that unique markers does. Parts are obtainable but not everywhere. If you read more on pbnation (odyssey forum) or so you'll find out more.

Personally I like this marker. Shows that a high end product does not have to come with the High End Pricetag. Other companies should be ashamed!

My rating is 7/10.
I do not believe in the general "thing" here, giving markers that are just "good" 10/10. This marker is good, but not great out of the box.
Worked on it does everything that markers 5 times as expensive does... But it's not a TOTAL hit right out of the box.

Also my 7-rating keeps noobs (and pro's alike) from looking twice at this marker! :D

Now I'm going to eat crayfish!
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 15th, 2006 at 4:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MondoMor Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Rainmaker - also EP, though in a completely different way.
ViewLoader Triad - (my own delrin bolt, T-board, inline regulator and Maddman Rocket valve)
Marker Setup: Wrath twist-lock feedneck (upgrade from stock)

Scenario Dreams T-board (Dragun TES board with modifications - see text)

Modified Smart Parts Ion High Pressure Regulator. I took the spring from the Type-R bottomline regulator and exchanged it for the spring in the Ion regulator. I don't use a bottle with a pin valve anyway, so the stock bottomline regulator will not work.

CO2 with remote or anti-siphon tube.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit. The Type-R takes cocker-threaded barrels, and a kit with multiple inserts is the surest way to get the most out of this gun. The stock barrel is not bad, but is a little large.

Inline regulator - the stock bottomline regulator uses the pin valve on your tank to control pressure. If your tank does not have a pin valve (i.e. you have an on/off valve on your tank) the bottomline regulator will pass full bottle pressure straight to the guns components and likely blow out some o-rings and microline.

Feedneck. Spyder tabbed style feednecks will work, but may require a little sanding or filing.

Scenario Dreams T-board (Dragun TES board with modifications)
Strengths: Cheap performance.
Delrin bolt.
Decent stock barrel.
Bouncebeam eyes.
Vertical ASA.
Decent overall quality.

Weaknesses: Bottomline "regulator"
Floppy trigger.
All metric components (even air fittings).
Loud solenoid valve.
Review: I bought mine on eBay for $114 shipped (sometimes the "Best Offer" option is the best way to go).

The manual is actually written well and informative, which is extremely unusual for an inexpensive marker. It's worth reading.

I was well impressed when it arrived, and took it completely apart immediately. The first thing I noticed is that the marker has metric fasteners with only a few exceptions: The ASA screw, LPR adjuster hex and HPR adjuster hex are all Imperial units. The pneumatic fittings are M5 threads, and though 10-32 fittings will fit, they are very likely to strip if you're not careful.

The bounce-beam eye cover is secured with a single M3 Allen screw. There are a couple of sharp edges on the body that will pinch or cut the wire under the cover if you're not careful. Grab your Dremel with a spherical burr tip and round some of these areas off when you take yours apart.

The quick-strip pin on the bolt is really nice and it takes only a few seconds to remove the bolt, pull a squeegee through the body and barrel, and re-secure the bolt. VERY well done.

The bolt is delrin. It has two o-rings (one on either side of the transfer port), and when fully forward seems to seal well against the body. I noticed no significant blow-back up the feedneck.

The ram cap is secured by a pin, and the detent for the pin is spring-loaded in the body. It's a nice touch, and makes the ram cap easy to remove: unscrew the pneumatic fitting and pop out the pin and you can remove the ram and spring.

The solenoid valve is pretty stout. There are three decent-sized o-rings inside, and the "couple of drops of silicone lube in the ASA before airing up" advice probably will keep it happy through the life of the marker. On the downside, it makes a pretty annoying "CLACK" when it's fired, but what do you expect for a $150 gun? :)

I didn't ever use the stock board, so I can't really comment on it. I adapted a Scenario Dreams T-board (one designed for a Dragun TES) to fit, and with the exception of a tall component on the board, it was plug-and-play. Yes, even the eyes worked once I switched the board from "break-beam" to "bounce-beam". I removed this tall capacitor and substituted it with a surface-mount cap on the board underside.

It appears that Wrath and AR-1 grips (and maybe O3 grips) will bolt on. I can't verify this, though. There are rumors of Hybrid making grips for the Wrath, and I look forward to this since I find the Type-R grips a little uncomfortable on my big hands.

The trigger was terrible out of the box. It had tons of side-to-side slop and too much travel. To fix it, I removed the trigger pivot pin using a press (it's really in there!) and filed the sides of the trigger parallel. I then dug into my collection of 3mm washers which I've harvested from old CD-rom drives and found several that eliminated most of the slop. I flipped the microswitch upside-down as well, since it appeared to make more sense that way. I love the trigger now - even for my unskilled hands it's very smooth and easy to walk. I strongly expect Wrath triggers will work, which should open up a lot of options.

The ASA looks pretty darned standard. To my eye, it looks like you could swap out the stock ASA for a 15-degree without any problems.

The valve looks pretty good. It has a very generous opening, and the pin has already been narrowed to improve flow. The fat part of the pin slides in a delrin guide, which should last just about forever. If you wanted to upgrade, just about any Dragun "The One" valves should work perfectly.

The LPR is apparently identical to the one used on the Diablo Wrath. In fact, this marker shares a lot with the Wrath and Odyssey O3, since they were all designed and manufactured by the same folks. It does not use a standard 1/8" NPT connection to the body, but it does screw into an adapter. Since the LPR is the same as the one on the Wrath, consult your favorite Wrath forum and see what those guys did to upgrade.

Another reviewer says his Type-R is loud, but to my ear it is nicely quiet. It may be loud compared to much more expensive guns.

I'm currently talking with Alamo City Paintball to see if the Wrath upgrades they make (bolt, ram, bullet seal, pin) will work on the Type-R. I'll update this review with whatever I find.

I've used it on several occasions with CO2 (through a remote line) and not had any problems. If you do use CO2, you MUST use either a remote or an anti-siphoned tank. If you don't you risk blown-out o-rings in the solenoid valve.
Conclusion: If you're looking for something you can take out of the box, drop on your hopper and air, and be competitive in speedball, this isn't the gun for you.

If you're a tinkerer at all, and wanting to get a semi-Electropneumatic gun, there's no better value. There's plenty of room to make this marker your own, but nothing that requires more sophisticated equipment than a Dremel and some skill and time.

This marker isn't perfect, but I have never seen anything in paintball that approaches the value the Type-R provides.


Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 8th, 2006 at 4:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shameless247 Sunday, June 18th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
sp ion
impulse
angel ir3 and lcd
autococker
micromag
spyders
tipmans

Marker Setup: smart parts ion
curtom products roller blade trigger
custom products razor drop forward
14" j&j cerramic barrell
14" freak barrell system
empire on/off asa
virtue board
dye red sticky grips

stock rex type - r
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrell
drop forward
Strengths: Price
speed
air efficiency
Weaknesses: Not too accurate
a little mech feeling even though it's not
Review: I got this thing through a friend who's selling these. Pretty impressive for what i paid for it. If I would've paid $300 for this i would not be happy. but i only paid $130. So for $130 you get a marker that will blow away any spyder except maybe an electra, i dont know i've never shot one. This thing is electro pneumatic not mechanical which is a feature you rarely get at this price. the only two problems i see are that the bolt is spring loaded which makes it feel a lil mechanical and the accuracy with the stock barrell wasnothing to be happy about. but on the plus side this thing is really quick for $130. the trigger is short and adjustable. its not a spring or magnetic trigger, it's a free swinging trigger that is only kicked back forward by the board contact itself. it's rated at 20 bps, but im guessin 14 would be closer to correct.
Conclusion: For the money, you will never beat this.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

cody36 Wednesday, August 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
wrath
Marker Setup: stock gun, revolution hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Price
speed
air efficiency
Weaknesses: Floppy trigger.
All metric components
Review: The gun is great. I got it for $130. And it shoots great I love the gun. But if you want to shoot it very fast, you'd need to get a faster hopper. But then the gun is sick and you need to get this gun. And you don't need a new barrel because it shoots perfectly straight and never chops balls. The sensor is great also. And you never waste air if you have no balls in the feed neck. And that's another thing, if you have the sensors on and no paintballs, it won't shoot. The air works fine and its not very heavy the gun is light itself. So if you want to buy this gun, just buy it because the gun is great.
Conclusion: The gun is sick.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

True_Reality Tuesday, May 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing quite similar...
Ions
Numerous Autocockers
Numerous Spyders, Shutter, Xtra, Sonix, Pilot, Electra
Proto Rail
Numerous Other blowbacks (ZXS, VL, Etc. )
Marker Setup: This Marker:
Rex Type R
Evil Detonator Vertical Regulator
Empire "Ultralight" Barrel Kit
Extreme Rage agitated hopper
Pure Energy Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
In-Line Regulator is a must, especially if you plan on using a remote.
Barrel Kit
Trigger Work
Tuning the Board (not really an upgrade)
Strengths: See Review Body.
Weaknesses: See Review Body.
Review: I got this marker for an unbelievable price, and figured for the money, I could have something to experiment with if it broke. I played with it stock, before I did any upgrades, and WOW, was I Surprised!

First, let me say that I set this gun up to use CO2, and upgraded it like this:
Remote Line, gets the tank off the gun and helps keep liquid CO2 out of the gun.
Evil Detonator Regulator, generic drop forward and macroline. I chose this reg due to it's fast recharge rate and the fact that it handles CO2 VERY well. I highly recommend it. After I got the regulator broken in, this gun is VERY consistent, even on CO2. Never had a problem with freezing or letting liquid through, even after emptying an entire hopper at 8-10 BPS.
Empire "UltraLite" Barrel kit. Dye UL knock off, my friend's Dye UL fronts screw right into the Empire backs. VERY good kit. Great price, good barrel set. This made a noticeable improvement in accuracy, and is nice and quiet as well. I have the back set .681-.696, 14" and 18" front and both perform beautifully. Significant improvement.
Remove, grind and shim trigger to eliminate side-to-side slop. Free, took about an hour. Adjusted trigger stops to provide the shortest possible movement. Trigger works fine now.
Thats IT! 3 basic upgrades and this marker ROCKS. My friend and I regularly play against each other and sometimes trade guns, and my Type R keeps up with his Proto Rail (on Semi-auto) Just Fine. His trigger is better, my Type R uses less gas. We're even.
He's pretty upset that he spent more than 4 times the money JUST on his marker what I have into my marker, upgrades, barrel kit, tank, remote, hopper and pod pack...

This review reflects the "STOCK" marker, as it is out of the box.

After THOROUGHLY reading the included text, which I recommend for ANYONE, I gassed up, installed a battery, adjusted the HPR and LPR according to the directions, likewise adjusted the jumpers on the board according to the directions, and went to town!
This marker cycles very smoothly. There is some kick, but whereas most blowbacks kick forward and back, this kicks only forward, and when you adjust the LPR down a little bit, even this small bit nearly disappears.
The first thing I noticed was the sloppy trigger. Pretty much everyone else here seems to carry on about that. The second thing I noticed was that the stock barrel seems to do a better than average job for it's price range.
Overall, the first day of play with this marker was good. Nothing malfunctioned or broke, and I'm not easy on my equipment.

I have since then put over 8000 balls through this marker. and I have not had a SINGLE malfunction of the gun, except for having to change the batteries.

Here's the good stuff:

PRICE! This marker was stupid cheap. I halfway bought it as a gag. After a day playing with it in stock form, I would not be surprised to see this marker for well over $250.
VERY sensitive trigger switch. I like this. If the trigger were set up, this thing would walk to the Moon at a very high rate of speed.
GAS actuated hammer means No Gun Farts when you run out of air! This is great, because Gun Farts on the field make easy targets for anyone who hears it.
Stock barrel is fair, albeit somewhat large. I noticed using small rec-ball paint the balls tended to wander a little more. Larger balls seemed to straighten this out, and I have not had a single ball break in the barrel to my knowledge. All my ball breaks have happened when I've shot too fast for the hopper, and this barrel does a very good job of shooting through chops and paint in the barrel.
Eyes work great, even though they are "Bounce Beam". They do not like dark or Camo colored Paint, it will not "See" the ball and let the marker fire. Orange works well, Most lighter colored paints work well. Never had a ball break when eyes were "ON".
PRICE! I cannot believe I got a marker that functions this well for under 100 bucks.
Finish work is fair, not extensive but fairly clean. The Anno is thorough, except on the barrel. The bolt is light, although I had a problem with it.. See below.
Basic Upgrades are easy. There's nothing special you have to do, it has a standard ASA and takes Autococker barrels so you can find just about anything you want for it.
LPR seems to perform it's job quite well, for being a stock piece. Consistent velocities indicate consistent ram pressure, which means it works good.
Did I mention the PRICE!??
The literature is well put together, as someone else mentioned there are some "Chinese-English" translations that seem to have gone slightly wrong, but overall is very informative and tells you the basics of what to do, and more importantly NOT do.
Once you set the board, forget about it. It doesnt change. I think this is good.

Here's the BAD stuff...

Sloppy Trigger. Everyone else here seems to carry on about this, and I'm no exception.. I fixed mine, but out of the box the trigger is, well.... Functional at best. Lots of travel forward and back, lots of slop side-to-side. For anyone who has a brain and some shims, it's an easy fix, but not great out of the box.
Bottomline Regulator SUCKS! It regulates by acting on the pin-valve on your tank. This means, if you run an ON/OFF or a Remote line, the regulator DOES NOT WORK AT ALL. When it does work, it is difficult to adjust when gassed up. Consistency with it is marginal, but the fact that it wont hold it's setting when you take the bottle off pretty much turns into a pain in the rear. I fixed this too, by adding a Vertical Regulator, but once again, out of the box it sucks.
The board takes a little getting used to. The manual seems to have some things in there backwards (such as higher Dbounce means MORE sensitive trigger) and I ended up going the wrong way on the board before I figured out it wasnt doing what I wanted. I dont know if this is a "Flaw" in the marker, but it peeved me when I figured it out. Also, there is no way to "Dry-Fire" the marker with the Eyes "ON" and no ball in it.
It WILL chop balls with the eyes "OFF", but so will any other marker, due to my hopper's inability to feed fast enough, so I guess this isnt really a "Flaw" in the marker either.
Conclusion: You get a "High-End" gun for a "Low-End" price. Period. For the money, this marker is GREAT! One of the most reliable, user friendly (once you get it set up) markers I've used. Performs well on the field, rugged, easy to maintain, and will out-shoot markers costing 2-3 times as much right out of the box, even more if you tweak it a little.

THAT SAID, this marker is Not for everyone. If you want to "Point and Click", get a Spyder. This marker will require you to spend some time on it, learning how the system works and adjusting it to your liking. If you dont want to spend the time on it, you will not be happy with it, and will probably end up being one of those morons who bad-mouths this marker just because you wont spend the time to properly learn how it works...

If you want a marker that functions way better than what you paid for and are willing to tune it and tweak it just a little, this would be a great marker for you.

I rate it at 9, because it's NOT perfect out of the box... But it's worth WAY more than you will spend on it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 26th, 2009 at 10:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Twizzler420 Monday, May 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: stock type-r
viewloader eye-force hopper
20oz blue rhino co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
a quieter barrel, an electronic hopper, and maybe some thicker supply hoses.
Strengths: Low price
Decent quality
Not an air hog
Weaknesses: Weak supply hoses
Loud operation with stock barrel
Review: got the gun brand new for $70. it was pretty nice looking, but seemed somewhat heavy in the hand. I took it to a friends to test it out, and worked great, except for the fact that i realized that i needed an electronic hopper. About two weeks after the initial test run, I had my e-hopper, and took it out for its first day on the field. I quickly discovered that if you have the lpr turned more than 4 or 5 full turns in, then you blow the hose out that connects the solenoid to the lpr. It sucked. I took off the co2, and wrapped the hose with teflon tape, temporarily solving my problem. After slowly losing co2 throughout the day, I took the gun home to try and fix the hose better. BAD IDEA. I ended up stripping both the screw that connects the hose to the lpr, and the threads inside the LPR itself. It is a real pain trying to find the new lpr, and even the hose.
Conclusion: good gun, great price, hard time finding parts of it thought. I give it a 7/10 because while it worked great, once the pressure is turned up, then the hose blows. lol
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EGO2009 Friday, December 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini, Diablo Wrath, Dangerous Power G3, Proto SLG 09, and many more high end markers...
Marker Setup: All stock black Rex Type-R, Eggy 3 hopper, 48/3000 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (you'll see why in the description), clamping feedneck (www.IIsports.com has them for Rex R1's and Rex Type R's, Drop foward.
Strengths: Fast, Quiet, Durable.
Weaknesses: A bit heavy, Trigger moves side to side.
Review: Alright, I bought 2 Rex Type R's. One for me and one for my friend. I was really excited to open the box to see the gun lying in a really nice hardcover carrying case. So I called my friend and told him to get over to my house and check it out. When he left I shoved some batteries in the gun and tried to turn it on. Lucky for me the LED was broken! So I called the seller and he sent me back a new gun. The next gun worked great. I put on my Eggy 3 hopper, aired up my 48/3000 tank and shot a pod of paint. I went to look at the paint splats and all the balls were right together, I had no breaks or nothing. I really like this gun and I hope that Rex Paintball gets to be a bigger company and sell more of these guns! They are amazing but I have one slight problem with the gun that I don't like. When I put on the stock barrel it's completly squeky and loud, so I think it's from the inside of the gun because I tried both barrel's from each Rex Type R and they both squeked. So I suggest you have some WD40 with you at the field.
Conclusion: I really would recommend this gun to anybody, it's well construced and shoots great. For a gun as cheap as $150 you cant go wrong with a Rex Type R!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Vegas Decker Thursday, February 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker - All Models
Mini Mag
Almost every marker made since the 80's (Yes I am an OLD FART)
Marker Setup: REX Type R
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger Job and Updated Reg
Strengths: CHEAP as in low cost
Weaknesses: CHEAP as in Low Cost
Review: I ordered 2 of these at wholesale pricing as a kit from a dealer I use. They came with the marker a 48/3000a VL hopper, goggles and more. Retail online iisports sells it for $125 + shipping.
I figured for this money I can experiment on them if I need to. Opened the boxes and both were nice finnishes, equipment was decent.

Gas'ed em up and wall they work. For the price, wow.

Conclusion: For low cost marker kit BUY it. When you wear it out. Then go buy an expensive marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media