paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / REX Paintball R3 / REX Paintball R3 / REX Paintball R3 / REX Paintball R3

REX Paintball R3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount REX Paintball

Buy REX Paintball R3

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


REX Paintball R3
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $185

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
225 to 300 psi operating pressure
Use N2 or compressed air for air source
Air-ram electronic design (Tournament ready quality level)
Cocker compatible barrel thread with low-rise twist feedneck
ACS (anti-chop system) Delrin self-lubricating field-strip bolt
BPS (cap at 30), Sensor, Power Saving and more adjustments
Swift response adjustable trigger systemBPS (cap at 30), Sensor, Power Saving and more adjustments
7.2V NiMH rechargeable battery pack and back-lit LCD user interface
Data port for software update and power recharging
Semi, Auto and Burst shooting mode selections
Bounce-beam sensor system and tournament lockout mode
Blade style trigger for lighter pull
Dual regulator system
ASA (air system adapter) system and operating pressure gauge
Matt finish exterior and 3-D machined grip frame and body milling
Product Availability 
The REX Paintball R3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
jrhummel Saturday, June 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5
R/T
14" SP barrel
double trigger
Rex R3
cp reg & on/off
12" lapco bigshot
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/off asa
new reg
trigger
Barrel kit (Cocker threads)
Strengths: Fast, lightweight, accurate, cheap, twist clamp feedneck, FUN!
Weaknesses: Locktight on bolts, fat grip, reg and asa, side to side play on trigger.
Review: If i were to sum up this review of the r3 in one word it would have to be FUN! The r3 arrived at my house nicely packed in thick foam. It comes with the marker, a .693 bore barrel, a charger, barrel condom, and a set of allen wrenches with spare 0-rings. READ THE MANUAL BEFORE AIRING UP THE GUN. This warning is on the case, on a 6x9 piece of paper, and on the front of the manual. First thing i did when i got this gun after reading the manual was apply gun oil to the asa pin valve o-ring, the 2 bolt o-rings, barrel o-ring. There was locktight shavings all over the pin valve wich i cleaned up real well before applying the gun oil. The ASA regulator was also a tad wobbly, so i decided to tighten it up. This is where i ran into the only real problem. In order to tighten this, i had to remove the grip from the handle, remove the battery, lcd screen, and e-board just to get to a tiny bolt to tighten the ASA reg. The next thing i did was plug it in for charging. I charged the r3 for 12 hours, ran the battery down, charged it again for 12 hours, ran the battery down, then charged it for 12 more hours and put it away untill play. Now its time to test the gun. I made sure the opr and lpr were turned all the way down before screwing in the tank. I adjusted the OPR somewhere between 275-300psi. Then i proceeded to adjust the LPR and this thing started kickin. I fixed the gun on a stand behind a chrono station and adjusted the the lpr untill i hit 270-280 fps. Man was this thing accurate. I was able to hit a 2 foot wide dummy from 40 yards away with every single shot using everything stock with nelson hemmorhage paint. I started cycling through the different modes of the gun. Full auto 4-30 bps, burst 2-99 balls anywhere from 4-30 bps, semi 4-30 bps. The gun keeps track of your trigger pulls/balls fired, has a timer so you can see how long you last in rounds, battery indicator telling you how much charge is left in volts, among other things and i did not try out the sensor on this gun. This thing can really pump out the bps while holding accuracy. Its a little bit of an air hog so id recommend at least a 45/45 tank. The price tag on this badboy shipped is $185. If you can find a better gun with this many features for that price, please, please, let me know.

EDIT: Autofire at more than 18 bps chops balls. The gun can cycle at 30bps, but due to the bounce beam eyes, 30bps is pretty far out of reach even with heavy modding. Still a 9, I've never chopped a ball at 15bps semi with the eyes on auto.

EDIT2: I upgraded to the v35 board in my halo b and achieved 27bps on a full hopper without any breaks on full auto....it was simply amazing. This negates my previous edit. I removed the 2 orings from the bolt, this reduced drag on the bolt and imo were not needed. I tried out tournament lockout mode last weekend and found it to be flawed. You cannot changed modes once locked out but you can still change rate of fire. This is fine for local tournaments, If youre getting into state or national tournaments, you will need to purchase a T-board for this gun since it will not be tournament legal. This gun also shoots just as good in cold weather as it does in warm weather. There is no moving metal on metal parts to expand and contract. Delrin bolt guided through the breach, metal ram guided through plastic ram cap. The gun is no longer an air hog, break in time and minor adjustments/lubing has helped, i can get anywhere from 900-1000 shots off a 45/45 tank. Upgrades done to this gun are CP on/off, CP regulator, eclipse QEV, and FBM wave trigger. All in all i am happier than ever with this gun. I have owned a DM5, 05 angel speed, and DP fusion since owning this gun and have sold them all due to their performance vs my r3. Even the higher end/more expensive guns have not satisfied me as much as this one.
Conclusion: This is a truly amazing gun, tons of features and modes, no leaks, very fast, above average accuracy, well packaged, $185!!!!!!!!! It has minor flaws you can live to deal with. I am extremely happy with this gun and am extremely happy with a full bank account. If you're on a budget and want a really nice fast gun, this is it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 8th, 2006 at 1:42 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

homerj Friday, February 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
odyssey o3
bko

Marker Setup: red/black r3
longshot barrel
ans gen-x hpr
critical rail
aci on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
new hpr!
some kind of asa
Strengths: Anti chop eye
Compact
Light
Fast
LCD screen
Very good stock barrel
Stock clamping feedneck
Weaknesses: Stock hpr is not great
Stripping is a pain
Battery
Efficiency
Limited board settings
Review: I have to say I'm pretty impressed with the r3 compared to the odyssey guns I've used which were almost identical. I had some problems at first with ball breakage but that was because I was using brittle paint & wasn't able to set the regs correctly. Once I got a new reg with a guage & set the regs up right it was all good.

The efficiency is pretty terrible. Last time out I was getting 400 or so off a full 68/3000. The ability to adjust the dwell would be very helpful. Next time I'll fiddle around with the regs & see if I can get better. If so I'll edit this review.

One thing of particular note is the eye. It has worked perfectly for me. I have purposely tried to chop paint & was unable to do it. I don't know what's changed but when I had o3e's they chopped frequently.

The stock reg has to be replaced, period. Though it looks cool it is horribly inconsistent.

While the rechargable battery is a good idea, it just doesn't last long enough. It should be ok for a normal day's play but if you were to play [i]all[/i] day it would probably give out.

Conclusion: This is a really great little gun but for the price I don't know that I could recommend it over something in a similar price range such as the ion especially when you need to replace the stock reg asap. If you can get one for a steal like I did ($80!) then it's a no-brainer. I'm not sorry I bought it at all, I just don't think i'd pay retail for one.

i'm giving it a 7 at retail. if you get one on the cheap then it bumps up to an 8.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

black7 Tuesday, August 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98C
Piranha R6
Spyder Shutter & Imagine
Ion
Marker Setup: Rex R3 / Odyssey 03x - Stock for now
Egg 2 Hopper
68/3000 Fiber Wrapped Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel - Stock is okay, is fairly accurate, but bore size is a bit big (.693). Doesn't shoot well through breaks.
Regulator - Just to make things consistant
Air On/Off - A must on all markers
Trigger - A little sloppy but not too horrible (side to side play)
Strengths: PRICE!!!
Not seen everywhere
Twist feedneck
Fairly fast & lightweight
Eyes
Easy field strip
Little kick
Weaknesses: Loud
Barrel - see review
Trigger
Stock reg - uses tank's pin to regulate
Review: Best thing about this marker?
PRICE!!! - Don't have to sell your kids to afford this marker.

I am throughly satisfied with this marker. With the price these go for, expecially the price I paid for it, I wasn't expecting to be this happy with it.

You also don't see these markers out on the field very often, which to me is a plus.

Only problems I had with the gun was when I first used it.
First, I aired it up, no leaks. GOOD TO GO!
Shot a couple of rounds with no issues at all.
Then I tried shooting faster, POW, POW, CHOP, CHOP. WTF?? Isn't this thing suppose to have eyes? DO'H! Novice move, TURN ON THE FRIGGIN EYE!
So eyes on, back to the range. POW, wait.... wait.... POW, wait... wait...
WTF? It's shooting 1 ball a second with the eye on.
Checked all the settings, read the manual, everything seems right. WHAT'S WRONG?
So, I proceed to take the whole marker apart, make sure everything looks good.
What do I find? The plug for the eye was loose on the board. It looks like the screw that holds the eye cover on stripped the plastic off one of the wires for the eye!!
So, I fix both these issues and now the eye works perfectly!
17bps, no chops! Full auto with no chops! (unless you turn up the bps too much, the gun just can't cycle 30bps although they advertise it at that.)
Another issue is with the bolt pin, it looks like its not seated correctly and slightly rubs up against the body. A little oil and a few hundred bolt cycles and it looks to be all good though.

So I used it on the field and am extremely satisfied with this marker. Expecially for the price! Gun has very little kick, is suprisingly accurate, is fast, and has a load of features! I do recommend upgrading the barrel though as it doesn't shoot through breaks at all! Although this isn't a huge issue as the barrel is accurate and the eye works well enough where you shouldn't see many breaks unless you use crap paint.

This thing is LOUD though. A barrel will help with that. Now, to me this isn't a bad loud. It's a MEAN loud. When on the target range, people would look over expecting some monster of a marker.

I may put a qev on it, and upgrade the reg to get a bit more consistancy and hopefully some more efficiency. The marker is a little bit of an air hog but nothing too drastic. I use a 68/3k and carry 4 pods. I've never run out of air but it gets uncomfortably low by the end of the game.
Conclusion: Love this gun! For the price it's a no-brainer!
Has it's faults, but you can't expect everything for what you're paying.
Very well worth the money. If you're on a budget, this is the marker for you. BUY IT!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 29th, 2006 at 1:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

relbot Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine - this gun was a good entry level reliable gun, not nearly as awesome as this.
Marker Setup: Rex R3 @ 275psi w/ eyes and delrin bolt.
stripped stock reg, stripped macroline.
Remote nipple into bottom of front grip
MacDev Conquest 65/4500 with remote line
Halo B w/ victory board
16" Empire Twister Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel - surprised how accurate the stock .693 is with X ball silver.
If you buy this gun and want another barrel, the Empire Twister is amazingly accurate and consistant, once you learn it's slight curve, you could one shot someone in the face across an xball field. Excellent for woodsball near branches and twigs.
remove the bottom line reg.
Don't buy this unless you get a fast as hell loader.
Strengths: Wicked looks, price and almost no kick!
Accurate
Looks
Compact
Quick to clean.
Has eye
Weaknesses: Kinda sloppy trigger.

Grip is slightly big

Not for beginners, or people with no clue.
Review: I bought this for 185 US, and after a little bit of tinkering, it's working flawlessly, and I expect it to last me several years.

Air this thing up and watch the bolt fly at 30 shots a second... Don't do this in the city.

Quick to clean; pull the pin on the bolt, slide it out the back, and you can look through your gun instantly. Kinda sloppy trigger. Adjusting makes it nicer.

As mentioned, you should take this gun apart to check it out, just to satisfy your mind after spending only 185 on a high end marker like this.
When you buy this gun, take it apart and make sure it's all good, and so you can see what your gun is all about.

I'll admit there were a few pieces of metal I filed down a hair to make it fit around the eye wire, and inside the frame near the solenoid where the small hose goes to the back of the gun.

30bps is no gimmick, if you are hardcore enough, get a halo b hopper with a vic board and some ramped batteries, and you'll shoot a rope. If you just keep it on semi, you should cap it to 15 and nothing will go wrong even with the eye off.

Nice ball counter, and wicked milling and feedneck.
Conclusion: Looking for a good deal, and you don't mind checking over your gun before you play, then buy this gun. Lots of adjustments to suit the player, and it comes with a tool kit enough to take the gun right apart, minus the crecent wrench. Get em while you can, they put a pause on making these, while they keep supporting the ones they've made. 9.5 because of the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 7th, 2006 at 1:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scpb Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder,vl -orion ,blade and that is a complement
Marker Setup: EMPIRE INTIMIDATOR ,virtue board,empire barrel kit,halo with rip drive ,68/4500
WGP KARNIVOR,MINI-E ORRACLE
Recommended
Upgrades:
trash can or send it back to Hong Kong
Strengths: looks durable, can be used as a hammer .30bps cap sounds good.Good door stopper.
Weaknesses: ummm,........EVERYTHING.
Review: Ok,as soon as I gas it up with air the gauge on the regulator broke,maybe because the regulator hooks up strait into the air tank and then goes thru the grip(really smart who ever thought of this).Ok , so no big deal ,just chrono it and watch the fps.Well went to chrono an could not get it above 265fps.Ok ,so no big deal just play front .Well went to firing range and chop ,chop . Ok it just needs some fine tuning.WRONG,ITS JUNK .You can not upgrade anthing except maybe the reggulator .Also there has been problems with the noid.You can throw paintballs and be more accurate.The eye looks like it will break if you swab it with a Q-tip.Also on the 30bps GIMMICK, think about it if it really hit 30bps alot of players running with dms,timmys,angel ect..would trade in their markers for it.You will be lucky if it his 8 bps.ALSO IF YOU LIKE THE LOOKS OF THIS MARKER JUST GO WITH A WRATH OR ION .THE BODY IS VERY SIMILAR TO A WRATH BUT EVERTHING ON IT IS JUNK.
Conclusion: Don t even waste you time looking at it.A local shop had it listed as the ion killer,so my step son sold his ion to buy this junk.Ions are 100 times better than the REX.If i could give it a -10 i would.So I guess it will get a 1 and that is generous.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

babustos Friday, November 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
BKO
A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
DOP Blade Trigger
CP 1 Piece .689
72/3000 PMI


Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Regulator
Trigger
Strengths: Light
Reliable
Easy maintenance
Low price
Fast
Nice features
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck
Stock trigger
Review: The R3 is a cheap, effective, and reliable gun that compares to an Ion for a couple bucks less. Its fun to shoot, fun to play with, and will keep you in the game. A little bit of an air hog, but get a new regulator and that will help. The stock trigger is not that good, but upgrade it to a Zenitram trigger and it will be much faster. The available colors are nice, and the stock board and LCD have a lot of useful modes such as 99 round burst.
Conclusion: Get it if you don't want to buy an Ion, and still want a great gun. Recommended to all as a primary or backup gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

synkronics Saturday, August 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Trilogy Pro
Marker Setup: Rex R3
Dangerous Power RAPS on/off
Evil Detonator
Scenario Dreams T-board
Zenitram Trigger
Alamo City Paintball ram,bolt pin, spring, and delrin cup seals
Evil Pipe kit
Palmer's Micro-rock LPR
Recommended
Upgrades:
New regulator
on/off asa
Strengths: EXCELLENT stock barrel
small
LCD screen
clamping feedneck
Price
Weaknesses: Stock regulator set up
Limited choice of upgrades
Review: I got this gun back in January and I must say i am very satisfied with its performance. When i first got the gun it was in a surprisingly nice box for something i paid $175 for. When i opened the box i found a few Allen keys a barrel condom and some spare o rings along with the gun and barrel.

i immediately took the gun out and let it charge for a couple hours. Then i took it out to my backyard and shot about a hopper through the gun. From about 75 feet away the balls were all nicely grouped within a foot from each other.

the stock trigger is also incredibly easy to walk.this is my first electro and i found myself shooting 13bps easy. the LCD screen was also nice. It would have been nicer if it had adjustable dwell and debounce, but i could do without those.

The gun needs a new regulator and bottom line right off the bat. You have to get a rail for the gun though. The rail milled into the frame is not standard.

The gun also has very little kick to it. I was expecting some kick because of the fack a spring is used to return the ram, there was a little vibration but not very noticable.
Conclusion: Buy it. You wont regret it. IT is light, compact and preforms very well for something so inexpensive
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 28th, 2007 at 6:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

litehwk356 Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
odyssey rpm
Marker Setup: Stock Promaster Reg
evolution 2
48/3k tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
regulator, asa
Strengths: Fast, dependent, accurate.
Weaknesses: Not many upgrades, bad stock reg.
Review: I traded this gun for my mech cocker, when I got it, I thought it was decent, probably ion level. I got paint and air, shot it a couple times to tune velocity, and it shot very nicely, no kick, and accurate. I played a couple games with my friends, shot around 500 rounds, and each one was accurate, and didnt have a single break or chop, even with the stock barrel. this gun is far beyond ion level as I first expected, I would rather buy this than buy an ion.
i would say this gun is about even with my stepbrothers promaster
Conclusion: Very good gun, far exceeds ion, about promaster level.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bangbang69 Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ANS Razor ION
BKO
Marker Setup: Rex R3
68/45 nitro duck tuff skin
halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
regulator
barrel
feedneck
drop forward
t-board
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Weight
Weaknesses: Used alot of gas
Need hex keys for all adjustments
Review: Took it out the box, got air and balls and started shooting at just random things near my house. Gun was fast and accurate, grouping was within a foot in diameter. Pressure was too high at times and would start breaking balls, and the sensor system is a little funny. Didn't really get to shoot it that much b/c it wasted all of the air.
Conclusion: Pretty good gun, other than things mentioned above. Giving an 8 b/c wasted gas, and sensor system is a little funny.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media