paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hammerhead Shark Tooth Rifled Barrel / Hammerhead Shark Tooth Rifled Barrel / Hammerhead Shark Tooth Rifled Barrel

Hammerhead Shark Tooth Rifled Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hammerhead

Buy Hammerhead Shark Tooth Rifled Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hammerhead Shark Tooth Rifled Barrel
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $55

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our barrels are manufactured to exacting tolerances for accuracy, sound displacement and weight. Each barrel is carefully milled, micro-honed and polished to ensure these tolerances do not deviate from our engineering parameters. The HammerHead barrel has been distinctly designed with a trademarked scallop pattern. This is to ensure that is it an authentic HammerHead barrel. Each Barrel carries a money-back
warranty against manufacturing defects. The The "Shark Tooth Rifled Barrel" can be used in both woods and in scenario as well.
Product Availability 
The Hammerhead Shark Tooth Rifled Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
UnseenSniper Monday, October 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really like it except for the battle stix hammerhead
Marker Setup: a5
egrip
shark tooth
20oz
jcs trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
not exactly sure,
probably something harder, with a full fill,
only used monster balls and nel spot in it.
Strengths: No breaks, ever!
Short(5in)
Color
Pretty accurate
Weaknesses: Long range shots
only for a5(edit now available for all markers)
Review: alright, well i just got this barrel yesterday at my local proshop/field for $50 and i was so impressed by it that i had to play with it. So i got my gear and came back out and played for about 4 hours of speedball.

my first impression was that it looked so pimp on the a5, and that its accuracy would be terrible. Well once i opened up with a few test shots i found that it was fairly accurate for a 5 in barrel. From close range it has ball on ball acuracy, middle range has fairly good accuracy too, and long range was a little off but not too bad.

One thing that people that i was playing with really noticed was the sound, since this barrel is so short it cant muffle the sound at all, but i found that to be a minor set back.

In the description of the shark tooth they say that this barrel is for woods/scenario, well apparently theyed never used it for speed because i rocked the field. This barrel is mostly for front players or mid front. I played front the whole day and i was rackin up kill like crazy. With this anyone can snap shoot super fast, i even had a few complements on my snap shooting from some of my oppenents.

Ok well i gave some of the pros now heres some cons-
first off its only for the a5 so unless you have an a5 your gonna end up having to buy a barrel adapter for it. 2nd its very loud, which can be a good thing or bad depending on how you look at it- good: intimidates and scares people,Bad:gives away your position really fast so you better be laying paint like its nobodies business. 3rd- it only comes in flat black which really isnt a bad thing but whatever, atleast its not shiny. 4th- the cost, $50 isnt really that bad if your a dedicated frontplayer but if you stay in the back most of the game theres really no point in getting it. 5th- if a ball breaks in the barrel ive heard that you cant shoot through a break in a rifled/fluted barrel, but im almost 99.9% sure that you will never break a ball with a 5" barrel unless you have the cheapest, crappiest paint ever made.

EDIT now the sharktooth is available for all markers
Conclusion: I say if your a speed baller w/ an a5 who likes front/ mid field then buy it.
but i probably wouldnt buy it just for woods even though it says that its for woods.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 2nd, 2006 at 1:39 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

retardwithagun Sunday, September 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: the gun is my dads but its an stock a-5
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything ive used walmart brand in this
Strengths: Most accurate thing i have ever shot
Rifling
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Loud very loud
no porting
Review: i bought this for my dads a-5 4 Christmas the next day we shot it at first it took me by surprise it was so loud then i realize that it was super accurate it cleared breaks pretty well and its easy to get tight into a bunker with it . not to mention it makes it look wicked cool . so any way i use it once in a game normally im shooting pretty fast to get the accuracy i need (spray and pray) but quickly realized that i could shoot someone all the way acrossed the fields no problem, and that its loud noise scares noobs ,the size of the barrel makes it ideal for crawling sliding and tight spaces . i have used this in speed ball and in the woods it excelled in both areas . i suggest this to any one who is looking for accuracy , and compact size
Conclusion: If you're looking for a new barrel buy this trust me its well worth its price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pump playa Sunday, April 9th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
end game snub nose barrel
Marker Setup: basic A-5 with sharktooth
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil paint
Strengths: It is very accurate at close range
Weaknesses: Loud, short range, wont shoot through a break
Review: This barrel is very accurate at about to 30-40 feet and after that the balls will curve. this barrel is loud, but that is not really not a big deal since you are not pulling off any long shots with this. by the time the other players hear your gun you are probably going to light them up anyways. overall i would say to use this for speedball but it is only available for the A-5, so your out of luck.
Conclusion: This barrel is great for close range and manuverability, so if you like playing close range this barrel is for you.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Indigoz Saturday, November 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing of this size ever used before. Have used other "rifled" barrels though.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2, 32o Remote, Halo B, CMM Leverlock Hopper Holder, Custom Meal Feedneck, Hammerhead .690 Barrel Adaptor
Recommended
Paintballs:
Higher quality if possible, not necessary though. Anything that matches the bore of the barrel works well.
Strengths: -Compact
-Accurate
-Very Cool
-Rifling Works
Weaknesses: -Very Loud
-Not a ton of distance
-Hard to remove
Review: I play at a field that is built like Baghdad. Broken cars, brick walls, two story buildings with rooms and hall ways. Anyway I always play forward and with the stock barrel for the MR2 I was having a few problems. I could not tuck around corners easily and snap shooting in small spaces required me to go around the walls at a wider angle then i would have liked. Anyway so I spent a long time trying to find a small barrel for the MR2 but ran into a great deal of difficulty. The MR2 is already a b*tch to find a barrel that fits so when I did some searches I always always got 14inch or higher. When I finally found out that the Shark Tooth could fit my gun I ordered one right away. It came in 2 weeks to Toronto (not a bad shipping time) and I immediately took it out back to try it out. I set up 5 pieces of wood; one long distance (maybe 20 yards), one medium (maybe 10 yards), one short (maybe 5 yards), one right around the door to my back lane for snap shooting, and one at an angle through my back yard door and my patio so I have a tiny shooting lane to test the how straight the ball flew. Anyway it preformed amazingly well at the short range, medium range, and godly at the snap shooting. The long range would stay accurate but it wouldn't be pinpoint. Everything one the long range target would hit in about a 1 foot circle from my target. Finlay on the corridor it didn't stray at all.
Conclusion: Very nice barrel for any gun if you play a forward position and snap shoot a lot. Worth the money and shipping and overall a very good buy.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

midgetmafia1306 Friday, January 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing is really like this product
Marker Setup: A-5, e-trigger,20oz co2,hammerhead sharktooth barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
im not really sure but something on the bigger end
Strengths: Supremely accurate at close/medium range
Close quarters combat
Cmpossible to break a ball
Weaknesses: Not a barrel for long ballers
Review: This is a great barrel at close + medium ranges. The barrels short legenth makes it easy to rush and move. No huge barrel to hit stuff/ get in the way. Due to its short legenth it is not very accurate at long ranges so dont hang back with this barrel, up close and personal is where it really shines. The barrel is internally rifled to make up for its short legenth. Another thing i noticed was the thickness if this barrel, if you hold it next to any other barrel its 2 or 3 times thicker than the other one, so it seems pretty durable. With the e-trigger on the a-5 in turbo this thing can really rip w/ no breakage ever and consistent accuracy. This thing also sounds really badass my friend and i were playing and i was really close to him and fired suddenly and the sound made him jump. Its like a sharp crack not a boom, trust me it sounds really cool. You also get alot of comments on the look of it. All the refs at the chrono station commented on it and a few asked to shoot it to see how it shot, and all of them were impressed with its performance.
Conclusion: definitely an awesome barrel. leaves something to be desired at long range, but if you use it what its designed for it rocks the house. its unique and highly effective at short ranges. perfect for a point man could even be used for speedball seeing as they only shoot short ranges any way. if you love to play up front BUY THIS BARREL NOW!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lil' C Friday, February 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
3" End Game Stub Nose
6" Opsgear CQB
5.5" JCS X-Short
10" Dye Ultralite
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ E-Grip and LPK
JCS Duel Trigger and APE Rampage board
10" Dye Ultralite barrel
Ricochet R5 hopper
Dead-On Products alloy firing can and Delrin front bolt
TechT Vortex/Lightning Rod Cyclone feed mods
Opsgear G36 folding stock
Special Ops MP Air-Thru magazine with Core PMI remote
70CI 4500PSI Dye Throttle HPA tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Marballizer
RPS Premium
PMI All-Star
Strengths: Rifled tip
Small-increment backs
High-quality machining
Accurate!
Weaknesses: Price
Review: If you are looking for something truly SHORT -- as in under the A-5's 8.5" stock barrel length -- the most accurate barrel I have found, easily rivaling the Dye Ultralite with most paint, has got to be the 5.5" Hammerhead Shark Tooth, about $75. After some good time in the field with it -- and plenty of experience with other short barrels for my Tippmann A-5 -- I really think the Hammerhead Shark Tooth pretty much owns among barrels under 8 inches. It is simply more heavily engineered than the other available options, from the rifled tip to the fine increments of the sizing fins. And it shows performancewise. It seems to shoot longer than it is, and it will surprise you how precisely it lays paint.

Point-running front-line woodsballers in particular will love the Shark Tooth because they can enjoy its formidable accuracy without getting pushed out from behind their bunkers or caught up on obstacles by excess length. (Because of differences in style of play and skill sets, some players get by fine with barrels around 10"-12". Consider whether what you do on the field before you settle on a primary barrel choice.)

In terms of its construction, the Shark Tooth even looks high-quality. It is a carefully engineered and well designed two-piece barrel with a twist-rifled front section that screws into sizing "fins" available in .002" increments for very precise matching. This thing is the best serious short barrel I have found, period. I have extra fins with Impulse threading to swap the Shark Tooth over to my Blackcell Ion. When you don't want to go so short, just slap a 12" Battlestixx tip on one of the Hammerhead sizing fins you already own.

The fins are expensive, though, so you might want to start with a larger general-purpose size and work your way down, possibly skipping a size and getting one .004" smaller if you need it.
Conclusion: The Shark Tooth is by far my favorite short barrel. Hands down, this is probably THE most accurate sub-8" barrel currently available. Sweet for any front player or aggressive woodsballer who plays taking advantage of a tight setup.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 23rd, 2007 at 2:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gspence Sunday, December 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Hammerhead batlestikxx, but no other short barrels.
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ tac cap or ricochet hopper, Hammerhead Battlestikxxx 14 inch or hammerhead Shark Tooth, ADCO red dot sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, maybe sway toward the harder-shelled ones.
Strengths: Short, accurate, loud, fun.
Weaknesses: Loud, short, only for the A-5
Review: i bought this barrel on a whim with my battlestikxx. i have an extra barrel adapter, so i could easily switch barrels mid-game. its nice because it fit in my pocket, and if i decided to stop picking off people from a long way away and just rush, i could switch to the shark tooth. first of all, its loud. thats good and bad, depending on what position you play. secondly, its supposedly as accurate as the J&J. i didnt expect it to be, but it was pretty close. the rifling makes it accurate, but hard to clean if a ball breaks. however, nobody is ever going to break a ball in a 5 inch barrel. its great for close quarters, because you dont have anything sticking out, yet you dont sacrifice accuracy. and hey, it looks bad ass.
Conclusion: Anyone could do without it, but its a great backup barrel if you dont have time to clean yours out.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media