paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Revolver Barrel Kit / Empire Revolver Barrel Kit / Empire Revolver Barrel Kit

Empire Revolver Barrel Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Revolver Barrel Kit

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Revolver Barrel Kit
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
REVOLVER BARREL KIT
The front loading alum. sleeve, locks into place, securing it in position in the base of the barrel, eliminating any movement that could affect performance. The innovative locking system expands upon the basic barrel kit concept, by precisely aligning the bore of the sleeve with the bore of the muzzle. This attention to detail ensures seamless transition as paintballs move through your barrel. Sleeves are color coded and come in 5 bore sizes. An extensive honing process creates a mirror finish for consistent accuracy and maximum range.

* 14" black alum. front comes standard. Available bore Sizes: .684", .688", .690", .692", and .696".
* Separate front pieces will also be available in 12" and 16" option
Product Availability 
The Empire Revolver Barrel Kit is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Mardi Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire 4 & 7 Piece Barrel Kits
Stock Bob Long Assassins Intimidator Barrel
Full Stainless Steel Freak Kit - Shocker and Timmy
Ultralite - Team mates' markers
Stiffi Tips for Ultralites
Marker Setup: 2k5 Empire Intimidator
Orange Pre-Alias Bolt
Empire Revolver Kit
Empire Fuel Adjustable 45/4500
Empire Re:Loader B
Empire Vertical Regulator
Empire Micro Rail
Empire Feedneck
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever your wallet can support, obviously more expensive paintballs will work better then cheaper ones. Use your discretion.
Strengths: Carrying Case
Color coded laser engraved inserts
Barrel Front locks inserts in place
Weaknesses: Availability (We received first in Canada)
Lack of aftermarket Upgrades or other barrel front lengths
Review: -- Not even Tested, Received the first Kit into Canada then had to ship out to a customer, I will have one of my own in the following weeks, but might as well build hype now and get some info I have on it out --

After receiving this barrel kit from NPS in the mid week of April 2006, I admired the container it came in, I admit, it did look a little bit like a "murse" (male purse) but it was built to the quality standards. Outer layer of the case was a heavy Kevlar style cylinder with both ends able to be unzipped for accessibility to the kit. There was a heavy duty handle on packing, the kind that's used for the Empire Gear Bag series. Definitely a quality handle.

One the packing is unzipped inside the inserts, barrel back, and front are all evenly spaced out like the chamber of a revolver. Two balance points, one at the front of the packaging and one at the back are a firm substance. Like the barrel spacers of 4, 7 and 11 piece Empire Kits. They slid in nicely and seemed to stay put once they were fully inserted into the padding. My only worry would be if someone was throwing around the kit, then the inserts would be dislodged and might bump into each other. Moral of the story, don't use your kit as a Frisbee. There was padding on both ends of the zip up section to ensure that the barrel front doesn't get banged up either. The packaging would get an 8 out of 10... 2 more points would easily be added if there was a little disc that you could put over the top of the inserts to keep them down.

Once I took out each of the parts to lay them out and take pictures I was amazed as to the anno level and use age of a lazer engraver to allow you to recognize what insert was what bore. Very similar to a Freak Kit, but not so concentrated on posting patents like freak, instead the bores are very large, and very easy to read. Like any other piece of metal that has a thin wall (less then 1/32" thick) they will bend if you apply pressure and/or step on them (not tested, but using common sense), the moral of this story? When you're not using the inserts, keep them in the carrier. The interior bore was not exactly a mirror finish. I was impressed with them but our field manager turned his nose up after looking down the insert. The barrel front, however, was super shiny and could quite possibly pass a paintball down it frictionless.

The barrel inserts slid into the barrel back with much ease. Unlike the freak back that takes some effort, you could drop the inserts into the back, and move on. Now, since the backs slid in so easy, wouldn't they move around during shooting? You'd think so but the barrel front has a tapered back where it screws into the back. This locks the insert in place and stops it from moving at all. Very easy to screw in. Very solid barrel once assembled. The barrel back doesn't have any kind of window to show you what insert you're using. So don't count on that feature to be carried over from the Scepter series. Not that tough to remember which of the 5 inserts you're using.

--- Which brings me to Extent of my testing --- I will be bringing in a kit for myself to use on my own marker. Will be replacing a 7 Piece Empire Kit. I will finish my review with a detailed comparison to the Empire 7-Piece, A Dye Ultralite and a Freak Kit, All on the same marker without any tinkering to anything operational wise, in the near future.

----- NEW TESTING RESULTS AND AVAILABILITY -----
Alright, a month and a half later since we got our first kit in, we've been getting in many at a time from National. Definately a way to fix the weakness I spoke about. Now, after getting mine and outrigging it on my Timmy. I was impressed with the accuracy. I was putting Premium and NGage through it and the balls were going exactly where I wanted them to go. The inserts were awesome to bore size with and the revolver bag is awesome to choose which insert you use, nice setup for all of the barrel components.

I used this barrel in a tournament, even to have main stage Canadian Ballers come ask me what barrel I was using. Of course since they're still new then they havn't heard of them. My gun performed flawlessly and was as accurate as the freak, the empire 7 piece and an ultralite.. I'm not switching ever again... perfect for me.
Conclusion: I'd say BUY BUY BUY. But don't believe any hype on any kind of barrel. Choose a design that you like best, if you want to go out and buy multiple backs, and end up using one of them, then finding a paint that doesn't fit any of the backs you have, so you need to go get another back, only to never use that one again either. Be my guest. I have always been a fan of the insert type of barrel. My Gearbag is big enough as it is, Why lug around another 6 backs when you don't have to.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 16th, 2006 at 7:47 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

viperstarbuck Friday, July 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels
Smart Parts Freak jr.
J&j Elite five piece set
Marker Setup: Spyder RS marker, eVLution 2 loader, Empire Revolver barrel kit, Smart Parts 20oz anti siphon valve co2 tank, coil remote line.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever you want, thats the point. Great for using field paint.
Strengths: Nice case
Durable
Inserts that lock and are accurately bored.
Light Weight.
Weaknesses: Not many,
straight porting, difficult to clean ports.

Review: I bought mine for only 60 dollars off of ebay, so no word on value as far as buying full price. seems like a good one though. i love the inserts that lock in place instead of free floating, and the fact that they are accurately bored according to what it tells you. its very very lightweight, and looks very cool. shoots remarkably straight, better than my freak and on par with my buddies empire 10 piece set. could use different length fronts, but i havent looked yet. the case is really awesome. the only drawbacks i could find are that the porting requires a toothpick to clean properly, assuming you even get a break. also, it shoots through breaks rather well.
Conclusion: Very quality, very accurate, and very easy and light. Especially for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Maj. Morninwood Wednesday, December 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi Switch
Powerlyte Scepter (This company actually manufactures the Empire Revover for Empire) This barrel kit is amazing
Marker Setup: Angel 05 Speed, Evolve V2, Halo B V35, Crossfire 92-4500, Scepter barrel kit, and Stiffi Switch kit.
SP Nerve, Halo B, Crossfire 68-4500, Freak kit
WGP Pro Karnivor, Kaner kit and Halo B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, you get all bores. Xball, marbs, and inferno work very well though.
Strengths: Bore sizers are locked in place unlike the freak kit.
Weaknesses: Ripoff from Powerlyte, this can be bought cheaper
Review: Empire has just gotten Powerlyte to manufacture their scepter barrel kit with the Empire logo. I am certain once team infamous starts using it the price will be outrageous. Goto Powerlyte.com and you can pick up your own kit now with any color tip, back and different size as well as pick out your own bore sizers to choice. Empire is only offering the 5 bore kit but powerlyte will sell you a 7 bore kit for around 150 with a hard plastic carrying case. Believe me, the powerlyte scepter is the straightest shooting kit right now, but don't waste your time paying for a name, buy the original from the manufacturer. Powerlyte can even do custom anno jobs to the barrels including dust annos.
Conclusion: Just buy the powerlyte version, Empire is overpriced anyway for their name. Powerlyte has been a minimal name company, but check out the reviews on the powerlyte barrels online and you will be amazed at the quality.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

Fred12345 Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder stock barrels, autococker stock barrels, smart parts progressive barrel
Marker Setup: wgp 2005 prostock autococker
Recommended
Paintballs:
REVO
Strengths: ACCURATE!!!, nice carrying case
Weaknesses: None as yet...
Review: This is my first barrel kit. It has made a huge difference. High grade paint shoots much straighter, but the biggest differenec was lower grade paintballs, they used to shoot horrible but now are pretty good with this barrel kit. I was able to get it on sale for 90$. They said it shoots the same as freak, as it is pretty much the same thing...just different company. Save you money and get this kit.
Conclusion: Great product, a bit cheaper than freak kit or evil pipe, but same performance so I'm told... It shoots perfectly, I can't see how anything could shoot any more accurate, this kit is bang on.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbmylife Tuesday, December 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
St!ff! Sw!tch - lighter, but just as good ( on a dm6)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Imulse,Smart Parts blade Trigger, Q Lock Feed Neck, BlackHeart Board, Empire Loader. empire revolver kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything that's not from academy or a superstore( walmart/ academy, etc.)
Strengths: Changeable bores
Weaknesses: A little heavy
Review: This Is a very nice barrel. it shot every paint, except for 3 month old. The case is a litte confusing with the zippers. the barrel itself is very high quality. The engraving on the back is very high quality. this barrel is lighter than the freak. only thing, is they could/should make longer fronts. overall this is just as good, if not better than a St!ff! Sw!tch.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel kit. If you want a kit and save money get this instead of the freak.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Evilspyder Thursday, October 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only other kit I have used are Redz Kit
Marker Setup: E2 05 Prostock
Belsales Ram
Tickler LPR
Nickle Empire Regulator
WGP Grip feed neck
Egg2
Crossfire 68/4500psi Nitro tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything.....Even the white box is good enough
Strengths: Locking sleeves
Interchanging sleeves rather then bore backs
Weaknesses: Comes in black only
Review: I have this along with the Redz kit that i have. This kit is awsome. Looks great and is as accurate as my Redz kit. My Redz kit is a bit lighter. I like the fact that i can just remove the front part of the barrel and change the sleeves without removing the whole barrel from my marker.

Too bad this barrel kit only comes in black, was looking for a nickel or chrome colored barrel kit. But this kit is just awsome. I can use any type of paint with it and the bore matches very well. The inner bore of the front, back and the sleeves are honed to a mirror like finish. Its VERY smooth inside.
Conclusion: Great kit for any marker. I would recommend this barrel kit if you cant get a Redz kit. Im gonna give it a 9 because lack of colors and its not as light as my Redz kit. Performance wise, its superb.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xB166ERx Saturday, May 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
NONE....but BS "sniper barrels' lol...we all know sniper barrels are a joke
Marker Setup: Ego 06
Empire Reloader B Hopper
Empire Revolver 7 piece Barrel Kit
68/4500 PMI carbon fiber tank
Empire bottle cover
Digi camo medical tape covering (my glitter blue hopper and hose)
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used storm awesome even with no break beams on....
I have used Walmart stuff too with BB on .....

NOT 1 BALL BROKE ALL DAY!!! (with either set up)
Strengths: This is a given...diffrnt ball size!
Weaknesses: ONLY 1 color (I wanted flat black)
Review: Well I wanted to get a diffrnt barrel dye ultralight was my first choice but since I shot alot of difrnt types of balls i figured best to go with Revolver set...This was the right CHOICE! You can shot this bad boy st8 and in a cluster bout the size of a dinner plate...and thts bout 15yrds-20yrds away...
Conclusion: Sick barrel...accurate as can be!!! even when im ramping!!! Im only giving it a 9 due to lack of colors!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballerz4life Saturday, October 29th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak kit - very similar kit that costs far more
pipe kit - different in that it's barrel backs versus inserts not as good a concept imho
Marker Setup: Trilogy sport with hooptie pump kit
13/3K
app 30 rd hopper
empire revolver kit

Rex Type R
Torque loader
68/45
empire revolver kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've shot draxxas rec sport and whitebox through this barrel all shot straight
Strengths: Price
Great insert selection
Weaknesses: No oring - Mkes taking the kit off a pump gun a chore
Review: I picked up this kit for $60 from a friend which is about the going rate. I set it up on my trilogy cocker for a halloween game and got chronoed in. First thing I noticed is how much more straight it shot with the kit versus the stock barrel. The inserts are well made and easy to pick out for the paint you're shooting. I was able to size a ball very easily

As I mentioned earlier you need to put an oring on the end of the barrel,if you don't when you go to unthread it from say a sniper II the front will unthread leaving the back in the marker. If you add the oring it puts the extra leverage on the back so that it comes out as one piece. Why this is not a standard thing that can be done from the factory is beyond me -1 because of it jamming itself in my gun a few times before I figured out the problem. The other issue is that the packaging itself keeps a death grip on the back so that getting it out can be a real struggle. I remedied that by only putting the back in about 3 inches or so rather than all the way into the holder so it can be easily extracted

For the price it's a better value than paying more for a freak kit (if you can find one anymore) or a pipe kit (ditto). Overall I'd buy it over a pipe kit due to the not having to carry barrel backs (meaning you carry less weight and you can buy new sizes cheaper). I would also buy it over a Freak due to the smart parts kit being expensive
Conclusion: Great kit for the money. With the exception of the oring problem and the problem mentioned with the case it's the best kit you could buy
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lhamilton1807 Monday, September 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder 2-piece barrel - works well, but not quite on par with the Revolver
Stock Piranha barrels (12" spiral ported) - typically overbored, not as efficient
14" PMI Razzr - nice 1-pc barrel, slightly better than stock
Marker Setup: 2k4 Piranha Evo
T-board w/Ultra Chip & upgraded eyes
Boss Bolt
Boss Blade Trigger
CP clamping feedneck
Empire Revolver Barrel Kit
48/3000 Guerrilla Air
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any! That's what the inserts are for :)
Strengths: -tough case
-self-cleaning
-quiet
-locking inserts
-light
-Looks mean!
Weaknesses: -NOT MANUFACTURED ANYMORE
-only 5 inserts
-Only one color
-fragile inserts
Review: When I chronographed my marker, matching the paint to the bore increased my fps by 10 just by using this barrel system instead of the stock barrel, so I knew that I was happy with it before I played my first game. I was a little concerned because it seemed like the inserts didn't line up dead center with the front. In-game, though, the barrel just couldn't have performed better. The paint was dead on, consistent, and the shots were straight. Some balls broke in the barrel (it was humid and a little cold), but the next shot cleaned it right out and it was back to shooting spot on again. It was certainly the envy of the field. I like the way it makes my marker easier to carry because the balance is nicer & lighter overall.
Conclusion: BUY IT if you can find it. They're hard to find in any threads, but Spyder threads seemed to be very rare (I was able to find it one place BNIB from a store and one barely used on eBay). It shoots straight, can match up with most paints, cleans well, is quiet, looks sexy (if you like gloss black), is consistent, and the sturdy case allows you to toss it in with your gear instead of padding it with your oversized pillow just to keep it from being scratched.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 20th, 2010 at 3:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

poopman9201 Saturday, August 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion, Freak, Empire 7 Piece (garbage), and the Teardrop
Marker Setup: Ion, Vlocity Jr , PMI 48/3000, Redz cam lock
Hollowpoint coming soon..... o_O
Recommended
Paintballs:
It's a kit so... anything!
Strengths: Price ($75) Accuracy

And of course a beastly name.
Weaknesses: Doesn't shoot heat seeking paintballs?
Review: Well I was in Empire tent out at the PSP River City Open and I just had to ask about this barrel. After telling them I needed two (twins ftw) they told me they would sell them for $75 75 DOLLARS EACH! With a price lower than the Freak, and with quality control that blows nearly every other barrel out of the water, I just couldn't pass this offer up.

After watching a few more games, we headed home to test our new Revolvers out. So we gassed up our Ions, threw our new barrels on and headed out into the back. We measured out 100 feet from our target, took a few shots. We were extremely disappointed, the spread of the Revolvers was about 15 inches! Not at all what we expected, we thought they would shoot much better... And then my brother pointed out that there was no o-rings on the backs of the barrels, causing them to shake a lot when we shot them. We took the o-rings off of our stock barrels, and threw them on our Revolvers. We loaded our guns each with another pod and started to blast away at our target, the result? A 5 inch spread. 5 inches! Without the o-ring these barrels just can't preform, but add the much needed o-ring and your gun becomes more like a laser, hitting whatever you want, when ever you want.

At the field
About a week later we headed out to the local XBall field with our new barrels to see how much it would effect our game. It was amazing how much it helped. Off the break, you can shoot across field with only a 10 inch spread, making an impenetrable lane, and hit someones pack on your first try. Also if you find someones hopper is sticking out, you no longer have to hope the 20+ shots you sent towards them got a lucky hit, you know that if you send 5 towards them, they WILL be hit.
Conclusion: We were a little disappointed that Empire didn't provide an o-ring with the kit. Good thing our stock barrels did though. All in all it's an amazing barrel, by far the best I have ever used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media