paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Vents Avatar Goggles / Empire Vents Avatar Goggles / Empire Vents Avatar Goggles

Empire Vents Avatar Goggles Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Vents Avatar Goggles

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Vents Avatar Goggles
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 80
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:

* One piece dual molded mask
* Dark smoke thermal lens
* Micro fiber bag with 2nd lens (clear thermal)
* Dual density foam
* Includes brow shield and visor
* Color matched strap
* Color matched metallic logos
* Micro fiber goggle bag
Product Availability 
The Empire Vents Avatar Goggles are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
ikey Sunday, November 13th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested28 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
other high end masks
Marker Setup: stock karnivor
Strengths: Light, flexi (more than profiler or proto), looks better in person, amazing vision, quality
Weaknesses: Echo
Review: hands down probably one of the best gogles in paintball. i am a hardcore JT so i want proflexes but these are amazing.

vision- IMO better than profiler. the lenses are crystal clear, and very thick. i heard that tehy are the strongest lenses around. i can understand it cause they are like 2x as thick as others. very easy to change lenses.

comfort- i think the foam is great. its not soft poofy foam like JTs, but it is wide and sides well on your face. teh mask seemed to fit well and didnt leave any areas exposed, and teh strap worked well

bounces- the rubber parts are pretty flexy. not like a proflex...but far better than profilers. these will definitely get bounces.

build- IMO i dont think i have seen a better built mask. some mask dont have everything (example, i really like JTS, but lense changing sux). these seem to have every aspect of a great mask.

the guy said they some with a barrel bag, and 2 lenses. 2 LENSES!!!!!!! lets see for a profiler 2 lenses would be what about 50 bucks? so for around 85 bucks your are getting a lot. profilers are around 80.......not worth it if you can get these things.

update

i recently had a chance to use these again. the one bad thing is that they have a TERRIBLE echo. im used to my proflexs, which make no change in sound almost...its like talking normally. with these things, its a huge difference. it kinda annoyed me. im knocking rating down to 9.

Conclusion: Masks keep getting better and better. in decnmber these will sell like hot cakes. im not surpisesd if half of the pro teams start using them. tehy are sweet. oh by the way at first glance they look like a profiler in person so they dont look that bad, pictures do not do them justice.

tehy are perfect besides the echo.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 7th, 2007 at 5:02 pm PST
I found this review  
35 Comments - Add Comment

yellowjacket Saturday, February 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Profiler, I3, Proto Axis, JT flex 8, JT pro-flex
Strengths: Its flexible and light... all masks now have good breathing it seems
Weaknesses: Quality issues
Review: As many of you know this mask has been delayed.. and than delayed some more... many vendors wont see this mask until March! I was fortunate enough to have a sales rep show me it.
First off the mask is light, extremely light! it comes with another lens and a nifty kit.. all this can be looked up at Empire's website now. I will skip all the technical babble..

It fits nicely on your face and actually comes down further than the pictures in the National catalog suggest,.What can I say? pony boy has a big face.. j/k Anyways, I felt that it was more in the lines of a proflex than a profiler.. The Profiler offers me better vision than the Avatar.. In the profiler I do not see the edges of the mask while scanning with my eyes.. In the Vent my vision feels limited. It offers better visibility than the Proflex but not as great as the profiler. The mask to me also didn't seem to be constructed as well as the profiler in the aspects that the foam seemed to be loosely attached. This might just be the model I was holding...
I also would like to note that when you drop a mask on its side like the I3 it doesn't scratch the lens, in the Vents case the lens stretches out to the side allowing damage. How the mask affects paintball bounce is not an issue 9 times our of ten if a paintball hits you in the mask it will break, assuming guys you play with or shoot something equivalent of Midnight/proball or higher.

Conclusion: The mask is good but I really was disappointed by all the hype.. I must compare this to the Profiler because everyone talked about how much better it would be.. It isn't. The weight is notably the same and the vision is slightly less.. However the vent Avatar seemingly feels more comfortable on my face, oddly and it just looks badass... It has the bird like head shape . When I say it feels better on my face, the Profiler always fel like it was going to fall off even though I new it wouldn't. With the Vent I feel more secure as it fits more tightly on the sides.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 18th, 2006 at 11:38 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

wombizle Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I3 invisions
proflex
profiler
axis
Marker Setup: does it matter?
(too lazy to type it all up)
Strengths: Looks
2 lenses
flex
lense change
weight
small profile
Weaknesses: Breathability
quality in some cases
hard to clean
Review: Ok,after wating for like 3 months, I was able to get a pair of these. After hearing all the hype about e-vents/avatars I was really excited. I currently had a pair of I3 invisions, and a profiler I got from a sponsor. I love both the I3's and the profilers, and when everybody put the avatars on a pedisol like a gift from god, I was really starting to think that the avatars would be perfect.

Quality - Out of the box, these goggles apear amazing. They look well made, and come with 2 lenses ( a smoke thermal one, and a clear single one) as well as a bag, and all the normal stuff. - I have heard that the quality one some is not so great, and things come unglued.

Looks- they look really nice. I really like the other color comming thru neer the mouth piece.

Flex/profile - they are flexy. not flexy like a profles, but more than a proto axis, so you will get bounces. THey are also pretty close to you head, and are a small target to hit.

Weight. They are light, again not like a proflex, but still much lighter than most goggle out there

Maintence - this is a 50/50. The lense change/ removal is easy, but when you have to clean out the multi layered mouth piece, it can be really hard, I use a water pick, which works, but others you can just wipe off.

Breathability - this is the downfall of the mask. there are no other vents on the mask (kinda funny, becasue the name is vents) besides the outh ones, which cant be too big, becasue oif the eat-paint problem. out of all the high end masks, this has one of the worsd vends. a profiler is much better here. Even the invision has better vents.

It has alot of hype, but to be honnest a profiler is cheaper, has more replacement parts, is easier to get, better vision, better vents, and is an all around better buy. I have sold my avatars already, becasue I like my profilers and I3's much better, The good part, was I was able to sell them for the price I got them.
Conclusion: It is a good mask, but there are better out there. The profilers are my favorite, but to be honnest I like the I3's better than the avatar. they are a good mask, but it is really disapointing, when you get it, and it is just ok, not amazing. I would not recomend them, because you can do better for your money. If you already have them, or get them from a sponsor, dont worry, because they are a good mask.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CAOL_98 Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
-Jt Proflex
-Dye Invision/I3
-VForce Profiler
Marker Setup: '06 Red to Black Fade Black Magic

'06 Ion Pro w/ ups
Strengths: -Ease of use
-Slim Profile
-Light
Weaknesses: -Comfort
-Avaliability
Review: First lets start with the bad...then I'll move onto the meat and potatoes of the review.
My first complaint with the Vents Avatar is that the things are hard to find! It took forever to find one online (besides in yellow!) The only others I found were in a shop in Colorado, and they were olive colored...yuck! So I played the waiting game, and my patience paid off with the purchase of a blue mask from compulsive.
The only other thing that was a complaint (if you can even call it one), is the comfort. I mean, granted they are wonderfully padded with foam, but the rubber sides that hold the goggle strap, seem to dig a little on the tops of my ears...but it wasn't by any means horrible to the point where I went home with bloody ears by the end of the day, or even to the point where I had to switch masks...you just have to situate them properly on your head to get the best comfort level. Although this is not even anything worth really mentioning (seeing as how it might just be my head size, and it might not effect someone else in the same way), I thought I would address it. If you have the chance to try them on, by all means, try as many masks on as possible. I don't have that luxery (living in Wyoming), so I ordered on a whim, and it payed off.
Now for the good!
These things are beautiful! They are so sleek, and so well built! They also have a very slim profile compared to other masks on the market (but not by a whole lot.) I didn't think they'd impress me as much as they did, but Vents did a VERY good job with the engineering and design of this mask! Definitely hands down as good looking as the I3 or Profiler (okay and the Axis.)
Altough looks may be decieving, the mask has very good ventihilation. I was very suprised! I guess you could say the air flow on the I3 or Profiler are a little better, but I've had no problem breathing in these things. Breathing out seems to work less as effectively as breathing in with them on, but like I said before, it's hardly noticable. This mask also never fogs up...I played with them for the first time in 90+ degree weather, and never had a single problem with them. Also with less air vents, I guess the added payoff, is less spray or paint on your face if you get hit in the goggles, and it makes them easier to clean off at the end of the day (not a million little holes to rinse paint out of.
Lense removal...amazingly easy! Probably as simple as the profiler, just a different method of removal. It makes switching lenses between games, or cleaning them, very simple and effecient. You also get a very wide range of view with this system. On par with the profiler, but in my opinion, not nearly as good as the Proflex. Excellent addition to an already great mask!
Finally one of the best features is the pampering of extras you get with the mask! This is probably just the introduction of things to come from companies in the future, but Vent's really takes care of you! I'm sure this has been said before, but you get a lot of great extras: 2 lenses (1 clear, 1 black (not ninja black)), 2 visors (1 full, and one profiler-esque reversed visor (not as cool looking as the profilers though)), 1 lense microfiber bag, and 1 google microfiber bag.
That's a lot of cool stuff for $80!
Conclusion: Definitely if you get the chance to try on a variety of different masks, find the on that fits you the best, and your style as well. As far as everything that you get with this mask (all the extras, plus the great peripheral vision, light weight, slim profile, and easy lense removal), it doesn't get much better then this! I highly recommend this mask to any player. Vents has created an extremely well thought out, very high quality product with the Avatar.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 13th, 2006 at 4:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stevenmo34 Monday, June 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
E-Vents - feels better on the ears and seems to not echo as much
Cylus - not as good as the vents as it comes with only the clear lens and the logos aren't like the (E)Vents
Marker Setup: Milled '04 AKA Viking with:
-Tadao Board
-CP Clamping Feedneck
-CP On/Off ASA
-Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit

Halo V35 also
Strengths: Read the Body:
Weaknesses: - Hard to put on the visors
- Fogs when it rains.
Review: Strengths:

- Lens Strength:
I feel like a pioneer when this happened. I started going to work and i had 3 bags of paintball stuff on me. I was getting ready to put my bags in the back of the truck and i set the mask down. I then put my bags in the back of the truck and got in the truck. We started the car and started to go. "*bump*" was the sound we heard and we asked if we heard that. Notice that i left out the part before i got into the truck, where i was supposed to pick up my mask. YEAH.....I did leave it under. We went back and I found my mask in the bag and it seemed like it was fully intact, but when i opened it up. it had a 20 degree bend in the right side of the lens. Only a little bend from a TRUCK. This "test" convinced my friend with a profilier to buy one.

-Looks:
They are one of the coolest looking masks I have seen out there.

-Comfort:
They are very comfortable and provide support for the ears and are gentle around the eyes.

-Visibility:
Both lenses are mostly always clear (the rain). As long as I used it during speedball, I didn’t fog up. If you are a woodsball player, the mask fogs up because you are not in motion and it needs to air out. You can also see almost normal field of view with these so you don’t have to hassle with turning your head all the time.

- Ventilation:
Well, its name is the Vents so of coarse it is going to be vented. As long as you don’t just breathe heavily right into the lens, it won’t fog up. My face can breathe in this mask better than any other.

-Bounces:
Seriously, I couldn’t believe this happened by I had a RPS All-Star bounce off my goggles. I was in a 1 on 1 match and we got into the Doritos and were in a snap shooting contest. I then take one to the left side of my goggles. Normally it just easily breaks, so my opponent and friend started leaving the field because he thought I had gotten out, but I didn’t. We both were like “WHAT!? An All-Star NOT breaking, weird.” These were brittle balls too.

-Cleaning:
These are very easy to clean, all you need to do is take off the lens and then run with a hose or something.
Conclusion: This is one the best masks i have seen out there. I mean it did very little damage to the mask after the truck ran it over.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 9th, 2008 at 11:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KC Rich Monday, November 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail
Dye Ultralite Frame
Alloy Back Cap
Dye 70/4500
Halo B w/Rip Drive
Strengths: - Excellent snug fit
- Great peripheral vision
- Good looks
- Very lightweight
- Perfect Packaging
Weaknesses: - Very minor fogging
- A bit less coverage than some masks
Review: I have been playing with the Vents Avatar goggle for roughly 6 weeks now, and I could not be happier with its performance.

Styling and Comfort
The Avatar mask is very lightweight. The padding around the eyes and nose is as comfortable as you will find on a mask. it creates a very snug, but comfortable feel that creates a feeling of confidence, knowing that it will not slide down your face. The bottom edge of the mask runs just below the jaw line. It offers no throat protection. Similarly, the top line of the mask offers little forehead protection, though I'm sure this would depend on the size/shape of your face. Mine may be a little larger than most. Regardless, a hat or beanie is usually worn with masks, so this coverage become irrelevant, in my opinion. Looks are obviously subject to each individual's preference, but I love the agressive lines of the mask. It's sharp angles are a welcome change from the rounded edges of other masks.

Performance
The best performance feature of the Avatar is the wide peripheral vision. While scanning without moving my head, I can see everything I need to, without feeling that the corners of the goggle are getting in the way. For those of you that have worn one, the width of vision is much like a racing or motorcycle helmet's lens.

No goggle is perfect, and the Avatar is no exception. While playing in roughly 80 degree, humid weather, I have experienced some minor to moderate fogging when breathing heavy. I guess it is to be expected; just don't think that the goggle completely eliminates fogging.

I have not experienced any shots to the cheek with this mask, but the sides are very 'bouncy' without being overly soft. If the bounce factor is important to you, it would appear that this mask is as good as any.

Packaging
The packaging of the mask is superb. First, it comes in a large plastic case to eliminate the risk of getting crushed, bent, or scratched in transit or on the shelf. It comes with an excellent manual (if you really need one for a mask), but best of all, it comes with a microfiber carrying case and an extra clear lens. These are luxuries that most masks are not bundled with, and in my opinion, justify a $70+ price tag.
Conclusion: By no means would I be so ignorant as to offer some sort of foolproof guarantee of satisfaction, but I would find it difficult to believe that these goggles would not surpass most people's expectations and needs. Great styling, great performance, very well-packaged bundle, and a competitive price tag. I would recommend this mask to anyone, and will continue to use them for a long time to come.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 5th, 2007 at 3:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

8ballpaintball Friday, August 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire E-Vents
Invert Helix
Marker Setup: 2010 Proto SLG
Ninja 48 ci carbon fiber hpa tank
Empire Prophecy LTD
2 piece Proto barrel
Strengths: Inexpensive compared to the Empire E-Vents
Never fogs
Looks amazing
Weaknesses: None
Review: I just recently purchaced an Invert avatar mask from my local fields pro shop. this mask is a good one for anyone who wants a good looking, good overall mask, for a decent price. I find the Avatar is abetter idea for people to buy than the Empire E-Vents simply because it is nearly the same mask ecxcept it is much less expensive.
Conclusion: In conclusion i give the Invert avatar a 10 out of 10 because it is an affordable mask for any player. and it looks pretty sick if you ask me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

K-Red Wednesday, October 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JAVA Raven, Proto Switch EL, and a few Scott masks back in the day.
Marker Setup: Reverted to using pumps. Makes the game more challenging.
Strengths: No normal fogging
Good field of vision
Soft
Durable
Light weight
Extras
Weaknesses: Plastic might be too soft
Price may be an issue if you're cheap
Review: I bought this mask new (actually I special ordered it,) and I can only describe it as nothing short of excellent.
The first game I played with it was on the hottest day of August in a gravel pit with some local guys. Humid, muggy day, 97 degrees in the shade. Problem was that I was standing in the sun, mostly. Luckily the mask was well prepared for this; the stock lens was tinted like sunglasses, so all the sun didn't hinder my game. (Sunburns are a different issue...) Under these circumstances it didn't fog. I was running a whole lot the second round, sweat running all down my forehead, the foam became damp... and it still didn't fog. By this time I am won over, and it was totally worth the $90.
The only time it ever actually fogged was when I played during the first cold snap this fall, and even then it wasn't much, and I was really pushing it. I don't know what Empire did to these lenses, but they rock.

Another thing that impressed me was the fact that the mask came with two lenses (one preinstalled and tinted), a carrying bag for lenses, and a bag for the mask. Very nice.
Replacing/changing the lenses in easy. If you are familiar with newer mask configurations it works the same way, basically.

There was one thing I discovered when using it that may be an advantage to some, and a disadvantage to others: The plastic on the face is very soft. I guess it's designed to make paint bounce. For this purpose I've found it useful, but then again, if you are struck from ten feet away (should you choose not to give up,) it will hurt if the circumstances are right.
The soft plastic combined with the light weight of the mask create a fine balance. I have never had it fall off or slip in the time I've used it.

Overall, a very good mask.
Conclusion: If this were broken or stolen, I would be quick to buy another. I am personally very happy with it, and highly recommend it. If you need a mask and have the money, or if your old mask isn't cutting it anymore, give it a go. If you're frugal, try this when you finally splurge. I think it's a good investment.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

srpoopir2 Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT proflex not as good
Marker Setup: does it matter when were talking about goggles
Strengths: Light Looks comfortable visibility
Weaknesses: None
Review: The vents avatar is an awesome mask first it comes with 2 lenses a clear and smoke thermal and lens bag it also has a visor and brow shield

Comfort: its great soft feel to it

Looks: there hot no one has them so your the best looking one on the field they are the best looking ones out ---colors they come in black red blue olive Grey yellow

Visibility: great great field of vision you don't see the outer mask in your sight

Conclusion: This mask is great for any player it has no flaws great great great mask and price good for what it comes with and has
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maclete14 Tuesday, April 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invision, Scott, VForce, Proflex
Marker Setup: Shocker, Nerve, Ion, Mag
Strengths: Built well, 2 Lenses, microfiber bags, comfortable, interesting design, NO FOG !!
Weaknesses: Still seem to be distortion along edges, other minor stuff
Review: All in all a decent set of goggles. The single pane offers the clearest vision, the double pane has a little edge distortion, no where like invisions. They are comfortable, but no where near Profilers or proflex systems. I can say I was happy, but not ecstatic given all he hype. The foam is similar to Profilers and it does bend upward (profiler users know what i mean), probably should have been more in line with Invisions on that. The field of vision is less than Profilers, not bad, but as a Profiler owner you notice it. Also, lenses are not nearly as easy to get off as the Profiler, but it may be just getting used to it. You do have to fumble with straps on the Ventz.

They have grown on my after reffing a litte bit to test them out, but no real complaints.

Conclusion: All in all, the goggles are good, they will do what I bought them for, no fog in long games, and close fit without sacrificing a lot of your face.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 11th, 2006 at 1:31 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media