paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / OPSGEAR Interceptor Barrel / OPSGEAR Interceptor Barrel / OPSGEAR Interceptor Barrel

OPSGEAR Interceptor Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount OPSGEAR

Buy OPSGEAR Interceptor Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


OPSGEAR Interceptor Barrel
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
FEATURES:

Military Bull Barrel Design

Gun-drilled and micro-honed to exact sizes leaving a near mirror finish

So straight that they even clean faster and easier

A highly mico polished interior

18 inch barrel

Exact replica of a MILITARY Sniper Barrel

1 inch diameter barrel

Flat Tactical No Glare Finish

Made specifically for the Military, Police and Scenario.
Product Availability 
The OPSGEAR Interceptor Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
PaintballHQ Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Teardrop Barrel (Quiet, kinda good for stealth)
Stock 98C Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Pro-Team collapsible stock, 18" Opsgear Interceptor barrel, Raider A3 Hand Guard, A3 flat top removable carry handle/sight, APP clear hopper elbow
Recommended
Paintballs:
Scorch
PMI Premium
Marballizers
Strengths: Excellent Distance
Excellent Accuracy
Military Grade
Loud
Weaknesses: A little heavy
Long
Review: Well, the demo on the Opsgear website is really what made me save up for this barrel. I also wanted it because it was cheaper than the Flat Line and MUCH easier to install (same as any other normal barrel). Accuracy at 150 feet. When it came in the mail with my other Opsgear stuff, I couldn't wait to try it out. The barrel is 18" long and has NO porting. I had some left over Charge paint and an almost empty CO2 tank. When I went out to the backyard, I was surprised what happened. The paint I was using was so large that it sometimes couldn't even come out of the barrel. So I went to Wal-Mart (that's right people) and bought 1500 rounds of Scorch paint (hey, it came in its own dry-box!) and went to the backyard once again to see if there was a better chance at working this time. Needless to say, I shot about 3 shots and my air went out. So I went to my local shop and got it refilled. I went out into my backyard once again and shot a few rounds at my target from about 50 feet away. I did not miss one shot. Every round was only a few inches apart. So I decided to back up a little and shoot it at 90 feet away. It was still super accurate, only missing the target once out of every ten shots. I decided to back up to the other side of my backyard (about 120 feet) and shoot the target. I shot about 10 shots and missed 2. I shot it rapidly and missed about 3 out of 10. It is the most amazing barrel I have ever used. I can't wait to pick off the other team's masks and hoppers next time I play! Thanks Opsgear!

EDIT

When I went to play on the field, my team won almost 100% of the time, and I was definitely a key member of the team. Some kids who didnt know my name were calling me "the sniper." ...Wicked.
Conclusion: A great piece of expert craftmanship and design. Best barrel I have ever shot. Excellent alternative to Flat Line. You should buy one for your Tippmann.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 11th, 2006 at 6:14 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

WarPhoenix Friday, July 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The Tippmann A5 and 98 Stock Barrels
Speedball Markers

This barrel is far superior to any barrel I've ever used when it comes to accuracy. Speedball markers require a few shots for you to acquire aim, but with this barrel, you can make those one shotters you've always dreamed of.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
TAC Cap 50 round hopper
18 Inch Opsgear Interceptor Barrel
12 Oz CO2 Tank

(Awaiting full M82A1 Kit from Opsgear)
Recommended
Paintballs:
The barrel broke one paintball out of 1000. We were running low quality paint for test fire, and it still worked amazing. The barrel has a wonderful ability to clean itself even if there is a break. I recommend using Draxxus or Diablo paintballs while you're playing though because this barrel truly shines when it uses high quality paint.
Strengths: - ACCURACY!
- QUALITY!
- Amazing bore
- Intimidating
- Upgradeability (muzzle break)
Weaknesses: - Weight? Not for me though.
- Sometimes a bit uncomfy in closed spaces.
Review: First Impression

As you know, this barrel can only be purchased from Opsgear. Opsgear's quality has been known to be one of the best in the paintball industry. The barrel is made out of aircraft aluminum and looks and feels amazing. You'll be quite shocked at how wonderful it looks when you take it out of the box. If you look at the pictures, it has 6 grooves on the barrel that make it look like a real sniper barrel. The interior is machined to perfection. Looking down it you know your paintballs with be having a happy flight before contacting a mask from 100 feet. Enough talk, let's put this bad boy on.

Performance

For my first shot, I decided to shoot a pole from 50 feet. The pole was very thin, and about 2 inches in diameter, so I wasn't expecting to hit it dead on. How wrong was I? Very. I was surprised to hear a "cling". Lining up your A5 sights with your target is about all you need to do. Don't listen to this "anything longer than 16 inches is useless" garbage. Yes, it's true for those cheap 21" J&J barrels, but you pay 80$ for this bad boy for a reason. If this barrel was just a waste of metal, then it would cost accordingly. The next 10-20 shots followed in the same fashion, only one tipping the side of the pole, but still exploding on impact. The barrel shoots straight as an arrow at this range. It arcs a little bit when you move back 100 feet, but as you saw in the Opsgear Video Demo, it's nothing you can't adjust to. If you have a red dot sight, you're virtually unstoppable at long ranges.

In-Game

As I've mentioned above, if I could hit a 2 inch wide pole from 50 feet, you could probably guess what happened in game. My 50 round TAC Cap lasted me all night, with only one 20 paintball reload. Before even walking on the field, everyone was checking out my gun. It's nothing special yet, just an A5 with the barrel. But even then, people called it a "sniper" and asked me if they could make their guns like that too (just wait till I get my M82A1 kit, THEN it'll be a sniper :P ). All night I think I missed about 5-10 shots because I needed to lay down supression fire. The thing is, with this barrel, I didn't need to lay down 30 balls in 2 seconds like our fellow speedballers. I just shot a paintball every 2-4 seconds exactly at where I was aiming and the guy didn't dare peak out. It was very satisfying to have a guy rock his DM7 at me for 80 balls, and then me peaking around the corner and planting one in his shoulder. I walked up to him after the round and gave him a friendly pat on the back and asked "Am I really worth 10$ worth of paintballs?". If you're conservative on paint, or simply enjoy the 1-2 shot kills, this barrel provides all the accuracy you'll ever need. I got hit once all night (by a guy who didn't walk off after being hit by my teammate.) I took it in good sport though.

Maintenance

Clean up time is always important. Make sure to take apart and clean your gun after every game, it's your baby, after all. But back to the barrel. It's huge. You'll need a bigger squeegee to get all the way through, or just poke a 9 inch one through both sides of the barrel. Whipe it out, put just a bit of lube on it if you want, (just so it's nice and sleek and the paintballs go through all 18 inches easy) and wrap it in a barrel cover or a towel just so it doesn't scratch. It's easy to maintain, unlike the flatline, which you have to take apart.


Conclusion: What are you waiting for? Haven't you read enough reviews? The barrel is wonderful. Distance, accuracy, quality, intimidation factor, it's got it all. It's a great, great, barrel and these people are not kidding. Go save up some money for it, or get it if you've already got the money, because the #1 rule of updating your paintball gun is getting things that will IMPROVE YOUR GAME. This barrel, will improve your game greatly, guaranteed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 20th, 2007 at 8:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjoe693 Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Other Barrels
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel
Response Trigger
Tapco T6 6 Position Stock
Cyclone Feed
T-Fitting
Daisy Electronic Point Sight
Tippmann Pro Drop
Sling
Sling Swivel
Ben Tippmann Rocket Cock
Stainless Steel Screws
Polished Internals
Remote Coil
Tasco 30mm 1x Red Dot Scope
OPSGEAR Raider M4 Weaver Hand Guard - 9 Inch
OPSGEAR 18" Interceptor Sniper Barrel
OPSGEAR Integrated Weaver Tactical Retracting Bipod
OPSGEAR A3 Flat Top Carry Handle
OPSGEAR Single Side Weaver Carry Handle Scope Mount
Maddman Spring Kit

Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
Responce Trigger
Tapco T6 6 Position Stock
Remote Coil
JCS 98C to A-5 Barrel Adapter

05 Proto Matrix
12" 1 Piece Proto Barrel
PMI Drop
Evlution 2
Pure Energy 3000 PSI Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: Accurate
nice flat black paint
looks good
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: When my Flatline got scratched too much I decieded to buy a new barrel. I looked around alot and came across the OPSGEAR Interceptor 18" Barrel on the OPSGEAR website. I watched the demo for it and I decided to buy it. I ordered it and the OPSGEAR Raider M4 9" Weaver Hand Guard and the OPSGEAR Weaver Retractible Bipod. It came out to about $195 including shipping (there was 15% holiday discount). When I got it I attached the hand guard and bipod and tested it out in my backyard with my 98. The first thing I noticed was that the barrel was heavier than I expected but it still wasnt a big problem. After I shot it, I was supprised how accurate it was. I hit a garbage can lid 9 out of 10 times from 75 feet. The barrel can also take a beating. Once while I was rushing a guy behind a dirt mound at the local field, the barrel smashed into a oil can while I was running. The barrel only got a scratch. This is a great barrel for anyone who needs a new one.
Conclusion: Great barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Oddbal Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Twister Barrel
Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Empire Twister Barrel
Remote Coil w/ Slide Check
Response Trigger
Opsgear 18" Intercepter
Pure Energy 72/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Premium
Scorch
Strengths: Accurate
Sleek
Nice Flat Black Finish
Weaknesses: Heavy
Price
Review: i git this barrel on christmas and took it out to test.

i ive in NY so the weather is cold and windy. i used CO2 for testing b/c my comp tank was empty.

when i shot it i was amazed. it was dead accuracte in the wind. i started firing faster to see how it was in speed shooting and it was still just as accurate.

my friends said that it was great but i didn't know that it was this great.

EDIT: i played with it in about 30*F weaher and was at 1st disipointed. the balls were breaking left and right. i thought that it was b/c i was shooting crapp paint so i used some of my friends and problem fixed. the gun didnt break nearl as much. it went from 1 in 5 breaking to about 1 in 15. another friends said that it will also break b/c the cyclone feed, which after i examined my gun that is were most of the paint seemed to be.
Conclusion: This barrel is worth every penny. it shoot wicked accuratly and looks really cool.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 26th, 2006 at 6:42 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

ScOpE26 Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom , RAIDER M4 Weaver Handguard (Long), Bipod, Tac-Light, Assault Rail, Carry Handle, Weaver for Carry Handle, Red Dot Sight, 3 Position Stock, Responce Trigger, EZ Sling, Cyclone Feeding System, Tac-Cap, M4 Mag Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any Kind!
Strengths: Accurate, Strong, Intimidating
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: I got this barrel last year. Works great. It's is by far more accurate than the flatline. The only problem I have with it right now is is has scratches on it from the RAIDER Handguard. Nothing spray paint can't fix. Any kind of paint will work in this barrel!
Conclusion: Great Barrel, Worth the Money!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dieselbreath360 Tuesday, February 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Flatline Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 car stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Tippmann
Strengths: Distance and accuracy.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I am impressed with the quality of the Tippmann Opsgear Interceptor because the barrel is riffled which gives it a great trajectory and is more consistant. I use it for sniping, which this barrel is perfect for doing. I am very happy about this barrel because I had been using a Tippmann Flatline barrel and it didn't provide the accuracy that I was looking for in a barrel.
Conclusion: If you are into sniping this is the barrel for you. A fine, fine product!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbjdawg Friday, April 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Recommended
Paintballs:
any above bottem notch barrel
Strengths: Accurate
Looks
Durable
Loud
Weaknesses: Length
Loud
Review: I got this barrel about 2 weeks for about $50 off of ebay for my a-5. I got to test it the other day. it was about 50 F and a bit windy. I was shouding at an empty milk jug hegging from a tree at about chest hight. I was about 90-100 ft away. i hit it about 75% of the time. this barrel is realy accurate. I cant wate to get out in the woods to ping people off.
Conclusion: This barrel is well worth it. I may not suggest it for snipers because it is so loud, or for front players because its long, but if you like to heg back and tack shots then its great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

michaelskul Saturday, October 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
16" and 14" SmartParts progressive '06 barrels
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Opsgear Interceptor 18"
Evolution II
SmartParts Micro Max-Flo 4500
Crossfire 92/4500
DYE Rhyno Tank Cover
Recommended
Paintballs:
Xball are pretty good.
Strengths: Incredible accuracy
Slight increase in distance
Looks
Weaknesses: Doesn't work well with CO2
Review: I bought this product all the way back in April when I still used CO2. At first, I was amazed with the improvement over the stock barrel, but then was disappointed with the fact that it didn't do everything that they said it would on this site. Luckily, I found a solution: use air instead of CO2. Right after I bought my air tank all the problems had disappeared! No more spinning balls whatsoever, only straight shots. The accuracy of this barrel is quite impressive. I personally got a guy in the forearm at about 45 yards distance shooting in between a narrow maze of trees. At thirty yards, i got my friend in the shin 5 out of 5 times which drew a short straight line on his pants. Basically, this barrel does everything they say it does and is great for woodsball.
Conclusion: The accuracy of this barrel is amazing, especially with air, but it's kinda expensive(100 Canadian dollars). If you have the money, get it. I would give it 9.5 because of the price, but I can't do that so I have to round it out.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer1041 Saturday, May 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Flatline System-shoots farther than Interceptor, but is not nearly as accurate
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ E-Grip, Richochet Hopper Shell, 68 ci 3000psi Crossfire HPA tank, Opsgear Interceptor Barrel w/ Opsgear Barrett 50-Cal Muzzle Break
Recommended
Paintballs:
All Star
Draxxus Inferno
Marbalizer
Strengths: Very Accurate
Intimidating
Incredibly easy to clean
Loud
Light for its length
Weaknesses: Loud (could be considered a strength)
A little awkward
Heavy compared to most other barrels
Review: Before i got this barrel i had a flatline which had long range, but was very inaccurate. When i got my new barrel i could shoot long streams of paint, that would fall in a straight line, even at very long ranges. The only problem is that i play woodsball, and whenever there is overhanging branches i can't arc my shots enough to give me the range of a flatline or Apex.
Conclusion: If you want great accuracy and don't mind arcing your shots, then this is a phenomenal barrel for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmn98sniper Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
18 in. interceptor barrel
collapsble stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any (as long as they're not old
Strengths: Looks
Accuracy
Weight
Weaknesses: None
Review: I had a 21 inch sniper barrel for my gun but my friend ruined it. I tried playing paintball with just the stock barrel but it wasn't worth a crap. I looked on the internet for a new barrel. I must have looked over a billion before I found this one. The day I got it in the mail was the day I got appendicitis. When I went home from the hospital the next day, I tried it out. I stood about sixty feet away from the water tank for our horses. I shot off ten shots (with crappy paintballs) and nailed it ten out of ten times. Then I stood about 100 feet from a burn barrel and nailed it ten out of ten times. I was amazed. I used the stock barrel and hit the horse tank ONE out of TEN times! I thought those targets were too wide and easy to hit. I stood sixty feet away from a fence post (about 1 inch across) and hit that thing EIGHT out of ten times. I almost threw up because it was so accurate.
Conclusion: Got a sucky barrel? Buy this one. The price might be a little heavy, but you will be satisfied. If you are playing and you want to sit back against a tree you will be able to NAIL anyone that comes in your sight. I'd give this a 20 out of 10 if I could.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media