paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector / Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector / Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector / Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector

Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector

Paintball Chest and Neck Protectors

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 14
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Made of lightweight, moisture-wicking CoolOn material
Protective padding on chest and back.
Product Availability 
The Empire Ground Pounder Chest Protector is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
stoporIllshoot Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Bob Long Dragon Intimidator
Strengths: Protects, looks cool, not real expensive
Weaknesses: Had to wait long time to get, backordered because popular i guess
Review: I can't believe I am the first "chest-protector wussy" to review this thing, considering most places have a hard time keeping it in stock.

This thing is actuall y pretty cool, not big and bulky like most chest protectors. it breathes well and moves well. i used on a pretty hot day, with a t-shirt underneath it and a long sleeved t-shirt over it and i didn't get hot at all. also because of its slim design nobody even knew i had it on. i really like it because it has padding on theback and even the upper arm which is great because i mostly play in the woods and there is nothing woodsballers like better than shooting people in the back from about 15 feet away. it justifies sitting in the tree for 30 minutes i guess.

plus, no welts. at the end of the day it is kind of nice not having the wife thinking i have ringworm.

of course there will always be those who say, pain is good, but i remember kid n' play singing "ain't gonna hurt nobody" and those guys pulled plenty of chicks in those house party movies.
Conclusion: If you want a chest protector, get this one, if you do not want a chest protector then do not get one. this one works well, and looks well doing it. makes you look like you workout, but not ah-nold workout like others
11-22-06, still have it, it still rocks... wore it all through summer, didn't get too hot, great, great, great
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 19th, 2007 at 3:11 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

musicmixer10 Wednesday, October 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT chest protector- about the same
Marker Setup: US Army Alpha Black Tactical Paintball gun, Tippmann triumph SSL-200 hopper, and 48/3000 psi tank with coiled remote
Strengths: Awesome padding on shoulders, chest and back
Weaknesses: Sizes are bigger than they should be
Review: I think that empire has made a lot of good products and i think that this is one of their greatest yet. The empire chest protector has incredible padding on the weak spots such as the chest, abdomonen, shoulders and back. It does make you look like you work out a lot on the upper body when wearing it underneath a jersey. Get this protector if you get bunkered or if your afraid of getting bunkered. This is the best one that you can buy at this price.
Conclusion: I recommend this to people who get bunkered a lot and are looking for a chest protector for a great price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DRAGON_LEGEND Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Game face chest protector
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Cammo,E-Trigger,4500psi 88cuin tank,polished interior,brass bolt.
Strengths: Fits just like a t-shirt. NO MOVEMENT RESTRICTIONS AT ALL.
Weaknesses: Need more sizes available. Mine is a large/x-large.
Review: This is hands down the best chest protector. KUDOS to the developers at Empire. At last a protector that does not restrict the movement. It is made well and seems to be pretty durable in the woodsball department. I hope that this will revolutionize the industry. Other companies need to learn from this and compete. We need new and better gear made all the time.
Conclusion: Get this protector before any others. You will not be dissapointed.I give it a 9 out of 10 only because nothing is perfect and I don't want them to stop research and development.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GhostWalker Thursday, June 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 with Apex barrel
Tippmann 98 Custom with 16 inch progressive sniper barrel
Strengths: Keeps the paintballs from hurting when they hit
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I have used the Empire Ground Pounder the last 3 times that I have played paintball, and it works great. The first game, another player opened up on me and I got hit about 4 or 5 times, and I could just barely tell that I was hit.

When I first got it I was concerned that it would be too hot, but that has not been a problem. Actually, I think the padding keeps my outer clothes away from my body, so it sort allows for more ventilation.

My only gripe is that the shirt doesn't have a label with cleaning instructions, so I found an email address on the Empire website and sent them a message. Within 4 MINUTES, Travis sent me a reply, which is the fastest reply to a message that I have ever gotten. By the way, Wash the shirt in cold water and hang dry.
Conclusion: The shirt works great. It has more padding then a regular chest protector and cost's about the same.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blakepb Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: a-5 custom double trigger, remote
Strengths: light weight. Easy to move in, unnoticable
Weaknesses: Was smashed in a tiny box when shipped so pads have a few creases
Review: This thing is sweet. Its not a full on chest protector but it helps. I got hit in this twice and hardly felt a thing. No one will even notice you have it on. It is easy to breath in and give more confidence. It feels like under armor with pads in it.
Conclusion: I would buy it and you might consider getting it a relativly small size so that it fits tight
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XxJay888xX Wednesday, July 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Rage Chest Protector, 32 Degrees Chest Protector
Marker Setup: Ion
Virtue Board
QEV
Q Lock Feed Neck
CP Trigger
CP ON/OFF ASA
Halo B Rip Drive
68/45 Tank
Strengths: Very Flexible, Breathable, Offers Protection
Weaknesses: None
Review: When I first got this chest protector in the mail I didn't know what to expect. But when it did come the box was very small and I thought they made a mistake. I opened it and it was so light. So I tried it on and I said wow this fit like a glove and has lot of protection. So I decided to go play paintball and it never irritated me like other chest protectors. I forgot had it on, lol. I got shot a few times ind some just bounced off. I was very happy with the Empire Chest Vest.
Conclusion: This product is awesome. I would pick this over any other chest protector. It is light, flexible, offers protection. You should try it for yourself. 9/10 because nothing in this world is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rooster1 Tuesday, November 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz chest protector, works better but is bulky
Marker Setup: '95 Automag with X-Valve & Level 10
pump kit Automag
Tippmann Custom '98
Strengths: Lightweight and easy to move in
Weaknesses: Padding gets warm
Review: I got 2 of these shirts to play in. I have worn and washed them at least twice a week for the past year and they have held up great.

The pads in the shirt don't lessen the impact of a hit quite as much as my Redz chest protector. When wearing the Empire Ground pounder I still feel more of the initial impact of the hit, although I don't get the bruise from it. For this reseaon I wear the Redz protector when reffing.

Where the Ground Pounder shines is when I am playing. It is very form fitting, and therefore not quite as bulky and "wussy" looking under my camos.

It doesn't hinder my mobility when moving, and doesn't bunch up under my tac vest.

It does lessen the impact of the hit and keep me from getting bruised.

The material it is made of if a cool, wisking material, but I have found that when I sweat there are times when the actual pads seem to soak up the sweat up and tend to stay wet, which makes me warmer than if I had on just an Underarmor shirt for example. For the protection it offers I am willing to endure being a bit more sweaty.
Conclusion: Great to play in, but leaves a bit to be desired for reffing purposes.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rcko Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 05 Pro Stock Autococker
14" AA Freak Barrel
Odessy TSA LED Backman
PMI 88/4500
A-5 RT
Palmer Male Stabilizer
Rufus Dawg Bolt and Power Tube
Lapco 8" Bigshoot
Palmer Cyclone QEV
RT and Cyclone 1/8" ID Hoses
CO2
Strengths: Lite Weight
Excellent Protection
Breathable Material
Weaknesses: Weak Seams Handle with Care while Removing
Review: As stated before in the previous reviews, this chest cover from Empire does a real good job at protecting chest, shoulder, upper arm, back area of the player. The whole set up is very lite weight and the jersey material is conformal to your body thus it wont shift/shafe like others that slide constantly.

The only issue I have had todate is the seam quality of the upper portions of the jersey body. Well, it is not the seams as much as the material of the jersey. When removing the jersey make sure to be gentle and not pull hard/strong form the top. With sweat, moisture etc, the material sticks abit and if pulled strongly it will rip the seam at the interface of the pads and the jersey. I pulled a corner of mine off a bit. I heard the rip and stoped pulling. Take your time while removing and it should be ok


Added based on PM question. Hopes it helps others:

The back protection is pretty adequate. It has one centerline tapered pad and then three or four? adjacent pads about an inch wide on either side of the center. These are ~12 inches in length. Below these there are two 6inch wide football shape pad on either side, ei one on each kidney with two horizontal pads above and below the football shape pads. The top shoulder pads come up and around the back.

My only issue has been the jersey material. It is simalar to that used in th WGP jerseys. It will take some rough gaming, just dont pull hard on them. "
Conclusion: Excellent product with great fit, comfort, very light weight and good protection. Will not shafe like other protectors.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 29th, 2006 at 1:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

twisted756 Thursday, August 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None besides other chest protectors that arent nearly as good as this.
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom
Ricochet loader.
double trigger
response trigger
combat stock
J&J 12" Barrel
Strengths: Light, flexible, good padding, easy to move around.
Weaknesses: Not really any read below.
Review: Great product. Easy to move around in it, slid, dive. And is very comfortable. No one will even know you have it on. It doesnt have any padding near the front of the neck so you dont get that hard to breathe feeling. I love it. And people say chest protectors are for wimps, but if it saves me from taking a few painfull hits and is not a hassle to wear at all... then why not?
Conclusion: EXCELLENT... A MUST HAVE! gave a 9 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 10th, 2006 at 10:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fuzzy99 Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Y-Paintball Chest Protection - Better protection, cheaper, but restricts movement
Marker Setup: SP Vision Shocker with Evolve v2 bolt kit, unimount, trniity feedneck, SS freak set, VIRTUE board, FireBallMountain Delrin Blade Trigger
Strengths: + Fit
+ No movement restriction
+ Good shoulder or back protection
+ Ventilation
Weaknesses: - Very poor chest and side protection
- Cost
Review: Well when I received this I was impressed at how light it felt and the fit especially. Although protection coverage is relatively poor it does not inhibit movement or feel like crap on the field. Very breatheable too.

On to protection.... on the back it's excellent. Even on upper arms and shoulder tops is good too. HOWEVER, the chest and side protection is garbage. If you look at the pic closely, you can see this. Pads protect less than 50% of the chest area. There's a large open area between the top and where the chest pads start (leaves upper chest open) and poor protection on lower abs (it barely covers upper abs). As per the sides, there is no protection there whatsoever.

If hits do manage to hit the pads, then yes it works well and you don't feel the hit much.
Conclusion: Overall I'd say it's great if you just want a little bit of protection and confidence boost but buy something else if you want optimal chest/back protection. It does fit and breathe well though.

Given that this product is designed to protect you (which i think it does relatively poorly compared to other products, I give the product a rating that is less then average.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media