paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ANS Razor Ion / ANS Razor Ion / ANS Razor Ion / ANS Razor Ion

ANS Razor Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ANS

Buy ANS Razor Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ANS Razor Ion
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $450

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Razor Ion from ANS Xtreme Performance is the best and most affordable Ion on the market. Why spend hundreds of dollars upgrading your stock Ion when you can buy it all for one low price. The Razor Ion includes the 6 Ounce aluminum body, Roller Trigger, 90 degree frame, and QEV.
Product Availability 
The ANS Razor Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
strateshooter9 Saturday, February 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested19 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
a lot
Marker Setup: Angel speed... (05)
Strengths: Read review
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: So... i was at the feild today and two of the guys i was with had this gun one had that olive color which is ok but the other was red and was really nice. so i was just curios and decided to shoot it. it was really nice trigger pull is that of a much more high end marker, the pull reminded me of an eblade or ego pull, also the new frame is really really nice this may just be me because i shoot a speed with a 90 degree frame but i thought it was nice, also as you can imagine by its size it is really light i just shot it for a little so im not sure about effiecency but accuracy with the stock barrel was on par with most other guns
Conclusion: Overall this gun is nice however for the price it is amazing, there is nothing close to it for under 500, also i never right reviews i just felt that this gun deserves much more than an 8 when taking all factors into consideration, so when you see my rating know that its because price was taken into consideration, otherwise it probably would be an eight but its not fare to grade this gun on the same feild as some guns that are over 1000 although you will be almost able to keep up with them
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

markermaker Saturday, November 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ive played on the field with almost every marker made. and most of them like any other had some upgrades to fit what the customer wanted. the ion razor out of the box is most likely the best value out there for $250.00 bucks it rocks and with a few upgrades it's as fast and worthy of any high end marker...even better!!
Marker Setup: ive built 4 razors this month alone and all have the same setup. i milled the frame to fit the ion warrior wave trigger. i found most after market triggers wont fit do to the 90degree grip frame. the trigger wont swing.. then a virtue board installed,ez-button,cp razor drop,cp/onnoff, CCM no pro feeder neck, cp 2piece 16", 68/4500, z-board eggII cut down so the hopper sets on the back strap of the marker. the lowest hopper to marker i know of.and then a set of hybrid grips..this is the fastest setup ive ever seen and most reliable
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you want to have a great time. leave it alone.BUT if you want it to be as on the edge fast as it can be...use the setup i described above. its autococker quiet and ego/dm6 fast........... the accessories just happen cause you will want to make it yours and accessories are the only way to make it yours dm6 or ion it wont matter!
Strengths: Light , Fast , Great feel , Nice finish and upgrades galore. no kick
Weaknesses: Tear down,magnetic trigger,barrel,feeder neck, on/off none
Review: Ok i got it out of the box. i looked it over and noticed first thing, its a very sexy hotrod like looks the markers finish was great. dust silver. i went ahead and tore it down cleaned it and regreased it.i put the barrel on, its ok installed the tank turned the marker on went ahead and dry fired about 20 shots. put the hopper on and checked out a few shots with the chrono 245/255.. the trigger return was to strong AKA" the magnet. for my likeing. and yes mine came with a clamping feed neck, i know most come with the factory feeder. now i noticed the feel was great. now ive got big hands so the trigger guard is always a concern. the guard had plenty of room for my gorilla fingers. the duck bill however was so close to the bottom of the marker i had trouble with the tank being in the way especially while running. targeting was easy . i like a longer barrel however it shot pretty good in its stock form . air eating wasnt to bad, it could be better with some adjustments and a QEV. then it happened the reg seemed to drop out and when started to adjust it the guage pegged out and ruiened it. now thats a set back so back to the chrono to set the fps it worked fine the rest of my day at around 295/300 fps.the next few months was fun to say the least with the razor as i upgraded it she just got better and faster.. and i noticed no first shot drop...I LIKE IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: the razor is in my opinion the best bang for your buck. i played last year with 2 ego's and a proto back up. this year ive done up 3 razors and i play tourni ball for the TEXAS "NTO" and we all shoot the razor's now . now the ion has surely knocked the bigballer $ wise markers for a loop. and the ion is like the harley davidson of markers. theres more upgrades by more company's for this marker. so you can buy a $1200.00 ego and still upgrade to your likeing. or spend $250.00 and up it to the max for a total of $500.00 and still have money for a tank, hopper, paint, and players fee's and still have lunch money...theres players that have the big money guns that say the ion is not any good. but its hard when youve blown all that cash and get smashed by a ion. its the player that makes the points not the marker its just one more part of the player package...play safe....
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 25th, 2006 at 9:10 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

frntgun8923 Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tested other ions - almost same performance, but less comfortable and worse air usage IMHO
Marker Setup: ANS Razor Ion, Egg, full Freak kit, Black CP rail and red CP on/off, 45/3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/off - any good gun needs an on/off, it's much simpler and easier on you.
Barrel - stock is okay, but a decent barrel kit helps
Strengths: -Comes with QEV, clamping feedneck, great trigger, and 90 degree frame. Great upgrades for Ions.
Weaknesses: - Regulator isn't the best in the world
- stock barrel can be bothersome
Review: Overall the Razor ion is an excellent buy. I personally hate the looks of standard ions, so while I began looking for a decent marker for both speedball and woodsball, i didn't focus much on Ions. I had shot them, played with them, and they seemed fine, but I still could not get over the plastic outer shell. I saw this, bought it, and was very impressed. Unlike most ions, i feel like i'm picking up a very durable gun. Don't get me wrong, i never saw people having problems with other ions, but this one FELT more reliable. The trigger, frame, feedneck, body, and QEV are upgrades almost every ion owner grabs soon after purchase. Why waste that money (unless there's a certain look you want) when you can buy almost the entire package together? It does bug me that they could not put a little more effort into a decent barrel and throw on a good asa. Maybe not an on/off, but no stupid duckbill. Performance wise, it's great for intermediate players, and if you're just beginning speedball it'll help you learn the basics and show you the ropes...
Conclusion: I recommend this over other Ions because of the value there is in it. The Razor Ion is a great buy, and perfect for intermediate players beginning speedball or recreational players who love both styles. A great start into the electro guns for any player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Maizeballa17 Friday, December 12th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion with blackheart boar, pirana lol, spyder
Marker Setup: Marq 7 rapper!!! stock with dye rotor and crossfire 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
virtue board, new barrel, new feedneck stock one is odd, new trigger, smart parts asa
Strengths: Very affortable good gun for what you pay for, lots of upgrades,
Weaknesses: Breaks alot, to much maintenance, slow, UGLY
Review: This gun is a really good starter gun if your just getting into paintball. If you want to get into tourneys you need to but about $400 into the gun so you might as well buy something better if you are going to do tourneys. I always had problems with the gun every time i would take it to the field. Every person that i have talked to has had alot of problems with this gun. I finally go to sick of tring to keep the gun working i sold it.
Conclusion: Buy a better gun because this one breaks to much......
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

joemama985 Tuesday, September 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder ego dm6 dmc
Marker Setup: ans ion qev clamping feed neck ans roll trigger 3000psi haol b
Recommended
Upgrades:
new board/ reg/ on off
Strengths: Light nice trigger qev 17 bps clamping feed neck grip frame body
Weaknesses: Cost
Review: this gun is GREAT if ur getting an ion spend the extra 50$ on this it has lik 200$ worth of ups alrady on it it is so light andf the trigger is insain the board is ok i mean 17 bps isent that bad the body kit is super sexy the had grip feels like a dm6 never chops
Conclusion: Get this if u are looking into a gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bestpbinaz Sunday, July 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder electra acs 05,basic ion
Marker Setup: ion w/ razor body,frek barrel,32degrees drop,qev's
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, feedneck
Strengths: Trigger,body, ion
Weaknesses: Maybe barrel,nerve
Review: Very good gun its an ion w/ a dress up kit.........i bought mine on ebay 4 like 250 an it is grate so go get 1 if u want sommin cheap and great.when i walked on the field the first day i got alot of looks.it was very popular out there i was the only 1 too have it well its a great gun so go get it!!!
Conclusion: This is a graet gun 4 chep so get it now!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

33attack Friday, November 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion
Hybrid Shocker
Dye Ultralite Cocker
Etek Ego
Marker Setup: ANS Body - blue/black
ANS Grip Frame - blue/black
CP Sling Blade Trigger- Blue
Sp Q-lock - black
Dye Ultralite Back - blue
Dye Ultralite Tips 14' & 16' - black
Shocker Max Flo Reg - black
Dye Asa & Drop - black
Hybrid Gen 06' Grips - blue/black
Virtue Ez On - Blue/black
Virtue Membrain - black
Virtue Board
Virtue Laser eyes - blue
SP 360 QEV
SP Firebolt

Halo B w/ v35 and Rip Drive - Black
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, board, drop forward/on off, feedneck.
Strengths: Looks great
Feels great
Shoots good out of the box
PRICE
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck is a little high
Stock drop
A little loud
a little heavy
Review: Price:
This is a great product. I got mine off the ANS site for $250 which for this marker I think was a steal. I've now put around $600 (nothing stock fully custom...read setup for ups) into this gun and it was worth every penny.

Looks:
Looks amazing. I've gotten alot of positive feedback on it (gets mistaken for a shocker all the time lol) This gun looks good out of the box and with some money thrown into it, looks amazing. I haven't seen one like mine at any field which is nice with all those ions out there.

Performance:
This marker shoots good out of the box just like any Ion does. Shoots consistant, but not extremely accurate with stock barrel, but with an upgraded barrel shoots very decent. Like I said I've put almost $600 into mine with every upgrade availible and it now shoots flawlessly...extremely FAST, ACCURATE, and CONSISTANT...and it can easily keep up with those $1200 markers.

Overall:
The ANS Razor Ion is fine as is but again with some money thrown into it, this marker can be everything you can expect from a gun. I would recommend this gun for those starting out as well as those who are serious about the game.
Conclusion: Great buy, strongly reconmended
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 2nd, 2007 at 9:50 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

acigriffingun Saturday, October 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
My timmy
Ego
SP Shocker
Marker Setup: Red to black Razor Ion...Evolution II loader... 16 inch freak barrel...
Pure energy 72ci/4500 low pressure Tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Reg.(maby)
Barrel
Strengths: Fast.
Reliable.
Rezieliant Electronics.
Weaknesses: None at all.
Review: This gun is better all around than my timmy. I was gonna use this as my backup, but this is now my main gun on my amataur speedball team.(Clinton Red-Shock) You can email me at silveraudioface@aol.com. Again......this gun is better than any timmy, EGO or shocker!!!!!
Conclusion: Buy it now if u got the funds. it is the best gun ever made in my opinion.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 7th, 2006 at 8:40 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

paintbloodtypeO Thursday, August 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
cockers, and electric spyders.
Marker Setup: Dust Silver ANS Razor Ion
Matching CP flame drop
14inch freak jr. barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Always a barrel and a bolt. Although the stock ones work great!
Strengths: Fairly lightweight, looks sweet as heck. Comes upgraded.
Weaknesses: I have not found any to date.
Review: i bought this gun for $250. It was the best investment i ever made. I am planning to get a pic up soon. All i have to say is buy it if you like the look. Well, even if you don't like the look buy it anyway because the frame is over $100 anyway so you save $50 buying the whole thing. By far the nicest, smoothest gun i have ever shot.
Conclusion: Just buy it and make it your own. The ion is the cheapest high quality marker ever. The upgrades are insanly cheap in price and high in quality. I know "nothing is perfect" but i have never even seen a better marker for the price so the price makes up for the lack in quality. (There is no lack in quality but don't tell the guys who said "nothing is perfect".)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

chuey Sunday, March 7th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
AGD Minimag, level 10'd
Automag RT, level 10'd (Best Mech Ever)
Dragun Autococker (could never get timed right myself)
STO Autococker (could never get timed right myself)
Purple Fade bob Long Defiant I
Blue Bob Long Defiant
ICD Blue BKO (garbage)
ICD Bushmaster B2Ks (various generations including the Bob Long Defiant version)
Marker Setup: ANS Razor Ion, Ninja Tank, Egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Great shooter out of the box.
Strengths: Quiet
Accurate
Head turrner
Provides nearly 90% of the performance of more expensive guns.
Weaknesses: Old school internals difficult to maintain
Review: So I've been playing pball for about ten years now. I've never played tourneys but enjoy solid playing at my local fields around tristate NY which consisted mainly of Top Gun, Skirmish and Liberty and Cousins. All pretty good fields in general.

I've never reviewed any of my equipment. Mainly because my main markers were made by ICD and AGD whose B2K series and Automag markers had serious devote followers including myself. With the demise of ICD and my B2K4 in need of a serious tuneup and parts I decided to part ways with it in 2010.

I'm fairly young at 34 and have a mortgage to maintain. In my 20s my expendable cash situation was fantastic and I would buy and trade markers and keep them for a spell and get rid of them accordingly for the next flavor. I always avoided Smart Parts guns because I did not like their corporate tactics in trying to maintain their business. This was despite having been a devote user of SP All-American barrels for all of my markers.

It actually took a lot for me to change my mind and purchase a marker for them. But after all the research and all the new guns out I had narrowed down my choices to between the Autococker SR, Proto SLGUL, Dangerous Power Series. Or if buying used an Automag RT or Bob Long Alias.

I decided on the Ion because of all the features it contained while having a design that has turned the ubiquitous electro marker into an affordable accesible instrument to sling paintball for the masses. Kind of like what Tippman and Spyder did for the paintball industry in their heyday. You can argue all you want about this moot point in some other thread.

In any regard, the powedercoated ANS frame (I bought 2 of the ANS Razor Ions from ANSgear.com when they went on sale for 200 bucks) in yellow to black dust fade has no imperfections in it. Internal hoses did not leak and the fit quality was fabulous. The only issues that I have are that the breach threading look iffy and I may have to replace the breech at some point in the distant future and that one of the grip frame screws was longer than the other 3 screws that were on the 2 markers. I am thinking it might have been turning off my board on occasion. I swapped it out for the right screw and problem fixed.

Peformance wise I was able to get 6 (140 round) pods off of a 61/3000 tank and still have around 500-750PSI left in it.

The ANS Razor frame with magnetic roller trigger is a 90 degree configuration that will be hit or miss for you. The frame with its magnetic roller trigger performs admirably, putting you in a tucked and tight position for firing especially if you are kneeling down and firing from the hip out of a corner somewhere. With this said I don't know if I will ever get used to it as I might prefer 45 degree grip frames in terms of feel. Basically try out an Angel and if you like the feel you'll like the way the Razor Ion Feels.

Its a tad on the heavy side compared to alot of the smaller markers out there. Its a very good looking marker, it draws attention from everyone including owners of the Egos and Minis and Bob Longs wondering just what the heck is that marker after they see me firing volleys of paintball accurately. I know it shouldn't matter but it does, and I could have modded an Ion Xe over this marker but there is something about composite frames that look cheap to them.

The marker fires straight and quick in semi auto. I suspect if I adjust tthe marker settings like Dwell and Fire rate I might be able to get it to shoot even smoother within its stock board cap, but I'm not going to bother. The flight trajectory is very straight and the barrel is remarkably good for a stock barrel. The marker is somewhat loud until it breaks in and the o rings and everything seat and then quiets down. It doesn't shoot as smooth as my poppet valved Bushmasters and not as quiet as an Autococker but its a solid marker. I am only posting this beacause of all the Ion flamers on the internet. The ANS is basically a stock Ion with QEV and 90 degree trigger frame and roller trigger so if I had to guess they shoot similar with a couple of parts put into it.

Profile wise the grip frame and overall gun is a bit on the big side afterall this gun was designed several years ago and not in 2009. My girlfriend who plays pball with me said that her complaint was that it doesnt feel right and that the grip was a little too big or her liking). However the Razor Ion to her was shooting so straight and accurately she said by the end of the day she was using less balls to get people out and I have to agree.

This goes back to the 45 degree frame point you either like or you don't. I have to say I never liked Angels because of this reason but I can live with it on the Razor.

Break down of this gun sucks, its the one true weakness. But its an older design so one has to accept this compromise.
Conclusion: SInce my girlfriend plays and she is getting her MBA in accounting right now and we have a mortgage to pay for I just can't drop 500 bucks on a marker for myself as I have to get two of everything.

I am very happy with my choice of getting one of these markers, I can't think of another marker that turns head, is reliable and accurate as an ANS Razor Ion for $200 new in box shipped.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 7th, 2010 at 9:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media