paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Special Ops Paintball Dogleg Stock / Special Ops Paintball Dogleg Stock / Special Ops Paintball Dogleg Stock / Special Ops Paintball Dogleg Stock / Special Ops Paintball Dogleg Stock

Special Ops Paintball Dogleg Stock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Special Ops Paintball

Buy Special Ops Paintball Dogleg Stock

Paintball A-5 Stocks

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Special Ops Paintball Dogleg Stock
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $105

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Coolest Thing for the A-5 Since Sliced Bread! - Maybe Even Better. Introducing the Dogleg. The first buttstock for a Tippmann A-5 that allows your head and mask to drop completely behind the gun, while still offering the support and airthrough technology that a normal SpecOPS buttstock provides. Giving you an unparalleled site-line down the gun.

Made out of a solid piece of machined aluminum which has been anodized black to give it the most durable finish. The DOGLEG gets is name from the simple fact the stock "doglegs or jogs" around your head and returns to rests securely on your shoulder. Like all Special OPS Buttstocks the DOGLEG offers the same airthrough technology which allows you to get the air off the gun. Not to mention it looks incredible.
Product Availability 
The Special Ops Paintball Dogleg Stock is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
KRA SHARPSHOOTE Saturday, March 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year26 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Special Ops Commando Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Special Ops Dogleg stock
Special Ops 12" C-Series Barrel
Opsgear Remote Hose with Check Valve
Opsgear CO2/Compressed Air Tank Pouch
JT Pro Shield Spectra Mask
Strengths: Allows you to look down the barrel.
Easy to disassemble for cleaning.
Very solidly built.
Weaknesses: Snug fit can be tricky to install.
90 degree angle can easily be overtightened!
Review: When I first got my Dogleg stock form Special Ops I was really excited and pulled it out of the box and started attaching it on my A-5 right away. It was a little tricky getting the braided hose to bend around under the fore-grip, but with a little muscle & determination I finally succeeded.

With the stock and fore-grip attached I shouldered it and looked down the sights. It was a breathtaking experience being able to see down the sight just like a real weapon... but somehow the stock didn't seem like it was attached tightly to the marker. So I looked in the box for the spacers I had seen earlier. After taking the stock off and adding a spacer, I found that the push-pins no longer pushed in. I ended up using a hammer to tap them into place. The stock now felt like part of the marker.

Now that the stock was on tight I took it outside to try it out. I screwed on a CO2 tank, but hadn't cocked the marker and gas was rushing out the barrel, so I quickly cocked it. Then to my absolute horror the plastic split where the 90 degree hose adapter screws into the stock, and CO2 was spraying all over. I quickly shut off the tank, and examined my predicament. It seemed to me that the 90 degree adapter had been overtightened and added extra stress to the plastic causing it to split under pressure.

I emailed Special Ops and they sent me the necessary information to send it in and get it repaired. They said I should have it back within a month. I was surprised when less the a week later the stock was delivered again. I took it out and examined it. They had sealed the split and the stock looked good as new.

I decided to take out and try it again. This time I cocked the marker before I gassed it up, and everything went fine. I suited up in my paintball gear and went into the woods were I have a course set up with plastic bottles to practise with. For the first time my A-5 actually handled like a real weapon, with my 12" C-Series Barrel, and a remote hose, the Dogleg stock was balanced just how it should be. I have an ADCO Sure Shot sight, and I was able to throw the marker up to my shoulder and squeeze off 2-3 shots and nail a 2-liter pop bottle at 50 feet while on the move.

Aside from the overtightened 90 degree adapter this product is able to withstand a lot of punishment. I have used it in -12F temperatures without any problems. Even the widest masks will allow you to see down the iron sight, or through a red dot without having to get an offset rail, or riser. My first shot accuracy increased by at least 60 percent. I highly recommend this stock to anyone who wants an air-through stock that allows easy use with any mask.

One thing that many people don't know is that when cleaning your A-5 with a dogleg, there is a screw on the back that points toward the barrel. This screw attaches the "dogleg" part of the stock, to the stock "adapter plate"(the adapter plate is where the push-pins go into the stock). You can unscrew this screw and the stock comes right off, then there is no need to unscrew your hose from the 90 degree adaptor. Just remove the tombstone from the A-5 and your stock is off the marker.

When compared to my friends Special Ops Commando stock, this stock blows his away. He always has trouble with his mask having to find the grove just right to look down the barrel, but he still can't get low enough to see through the iron sights. With the dogleg I have no trouble looking through the iron sights, or my red dot.

If you read this review, please rate it. If I didn't do a good job, I would like to improve it.
Conclusion: This is a very good product for anyone who wants to increase their first shot accuracy. I give it a 9 out of 10 because of the 90 degree adapter problem.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 15th, 2008 at 12:42 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

crutch john Wednesday, December 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
special ops a5a2 air though stock
Marker Setup: tippmann a5, flatline, special ops a5a2 shorty for-grip, shocktech super fly bolt, jcs red hot power tube, 330 rd monster hopper
Strengths: Can get your head behind your gun, helps balance gun with a flat line on
Weaknesses: None. maybe the price. if your into the sport, why would you care!
Review: I tried the a5a2 air though stock and could not get behind my gun. the dog leg solves this and then some. because of the weight of the flat line my gun was very muzzel heavy the dog leg brings the center of the weight back towards the rear of the gun. the amount of times i have been shot in the mask has dorped alot because the width of the stock plus my head has shrunk be 2 inches not much but it realy helps. the price is steep but so what. this is a realy good up grade for any woods ball player who is acustomed to shooting real firearms. i would sujest you use a hi cap nitro tank, there is a lot of macro line and remote to fill up before you start shooting.
Conclusion: Get it, it works and is real solid. also comes in a south paw (lefty ) version
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 7th, 2005 at 5:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

martinsmythe Wednesday, November 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
M4 telescoping stock, SpecOps A2 stock - The M4 just sucks, you can't get behind it.
The A2 is better, but not quite there. The dogleg is the real deal.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 E-grip with air-thru dogleg, J&J 12" ceramic, pure energy exp chamber, remote with in-line Palmer stabilizer.
Strengths: Strong, light, well made. Puts your head where it should be.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This product design is long overdue. Finally a strong, light, well made stock that you can actually get your head and mask/goggles behind. The stock is made from anodized aluminium, fits the A-5 by simply removing the factory push pins and replacing the end plug with the stock. Fit is superb, there is nothing loose about how it fits. The butt plate is real nice thick rubber, the air fittings and macroline are routed and protected with mesh jacketing. If you wanted, you could drill and tap into the gas block and add a mini pressure gauge to look at while you're shooting. The remote line connection is right under your arm and out of the way, just more icing on the cake.

The length is right for most shooters, and is comfortable too. The black anodizing matches the A-5 finish closely. She isn't the prettiest girl at the prom, but hey, she
performs like there's no tomorrow. This is a well-thought out, sturdy addition to your A-5 that will give you the stability you're looking for, and you won't have to be laying out more cash for that offset sight rail and reflex sight. It's well worth the money spent.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product for any woodsball or scenario player who's looking to add quick sighting and stability to their A-5. You can add just the stock or opt for the air-thru option for remote setups, which I would recommend. Probably the nicest addition you could make to your A-5. I rated it a 10 for pure functionality, it does what it's supposed to do in a straighforward, simple manner. A superb product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

ChrisRack89 Tuesday, March 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really, I guess the CAR-15 6 position stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/RT, airthrough stock
Strengths: ***Review***
Weaknesses: ***Review***
Review: ***Strengths***
You can put your head directly behind the gun without having to buy any offset rails.
For the woodsball players, the Airthrough allows you to keep your gun balance more easier.
It is avaible for left handed users. (like myself)
Gives you a more low profile look.
Looks sweet.



***Weaknesses***
It is a bit costily if you buy the whole Airthrough kit, because you have to buy a remote.
It takes getting used to after buying it and installing it.
If you dont buy the EZ Airthrough kit, you will have to drill a small section out of your gun for the tombstone to fit. ( luckily for me I took metal shop )
If you are left handed, then only you or other left handed players can use it.




3/12
I played today, another weakness is that you cannot snap the gun. in other words, you cant switch between left or right hands.
Conclusion: All in all this is a great upgrade for those who are trying to get a good stock for woodsball/scenario paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 12th, 2006 at 7:09 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ycfan456 Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No stocks before.
Marker Setup: - Tippmann A-5
- Hammerhead BattleStixx 5 fin kit
- SpecOps Dogleg Stock
- 32 Degrees coiled remote w/ slide check
- Pure Energy 68/4500 HPA tank (hasn't leaked yet!)
Strengths: - Very, very well built; tough and durable
- You can get your head on the sighline.
Weaknesses: - A little hard to push in; just take a hammer and tap it in.
Review: It looks very weird but is the most well built, sturdiest, and most innovative stock on the market. It is made 100% of aluminum except for the rubber padding on the end which is also durable. You can get your head down on your sightline which is a big advantage over other stocks.
Conclusion: Excellent stock. Hats off to SpecOps for another great product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Tetsusaiga Monday, November 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 E-grip with air-thru dogleg, J&J 12" ceramic, PMI Remote w/ Slide Check, Ricochet R-5
Strengths: Sight right down the Iron
Weaknesses: Did not come w/ 90 Degree to engage it w/ air system
Review: Other than trying to hunt down that 90 degree, since my local shop had gone out of business the week before I had obtained the dogleg, Nothing is wrong with this product. Easy to install(With a little elbow grease), and a good fit w/ my Remote.

Switching hands is a bit awkward, but it takes some getting used to. The only other weakness I think that it makes cross body shots a little difficult. But with a little practice I'm sure we can master that difficult shot.(Shot difficult w/ or w/out it). It being unfoldable is an after thought, I knew this going in, storage is some what of a hassle, but nothing stressful.
Conclusion: I like it and would recommend purchasing one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

n1k Saturday, April 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5.
opsgear m82a1 18" barrel.
palmer male stabilizer.
techt votex.
x-7 hopper.
dogleg rh stock.
Strengths: Durable
Easy to see down sights
Air through
Tight fit
Weaknesses: Price
Bends a little.

Review: When i first saw this stock i thought the idea was graeat and i wanted one. The price was big though. I wasnt about to spend 120 for it. It took me a wile to finaly find one that was used. I wound up getting it for 75. It was the older version that was made from all aluminum. this stock is etremely durable. Now adays is is made form some nylon-plastic composite, Wich is still durable. When i got it i instaled it on my a-5, and was amazed that it fit extremely well with no wobble. Although it did bend because of the way it is desined. Even with my bulky cheap mask i had no problem looking down the sights.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a stock that ull need to look down the sights i would recomend this. Also and dont care about making your a-5 look like a real gun. I would wait untill you can find a good deal on it beacause the price is pretty big.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

George Bush 69 Wednesday, September 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Car Stock
Bottle w/butt cap
Marker Setup: A-5 R/T
A-5A2 FOREGRIP
FLATLINE
14" TIPPMANN WERKS BARREL
PURE ENERGY N2 AIR TANK 88 CI 4500 PSI
DEAD ON DUAL TRIGGER
A-5 AIR-THRU DOGLEG KIT (Special Ops)
Strengths: You can actually sight targets
Excellent construction
Includes a mounting Jig for gun modification
Weaknesses: Slightly loose fitting
Review: Although this stock does take a game or two to get used to, once you do your going to love it. With your mask on, unlike any other stock, you are able to utilize the guns factory sights. This extra space actually makes you a smaller target because your head is completely behind the gun.
Conclusion: If you want a stock that will actually increase your performance buy this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

jaedog Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
OPS gear six position MP5 stock. I could'nt get a more natural site position as with the Dogleg kit.
Marker Setup: A5 with CP 14inch barrel,QEV,Equalizer Board,Red Dot,Trinity AK 47 Expansion Chamber, Rufus Dog Double Trigger and Special Ops Dogleg Kit.
Strengths: Allows you to get fully behind your marker to use your sights.
Weaknesses: A little ugly at first.
Review: After months of trying to get my hands on this kit, I finally found one at PEVS paintball supply. After a couple more days of waiting, I finally got my hands on it. Installation was pretty easy except I had to use a hammer to tap in the pins because the fit was a little snug. At first it looked a little ugly, but after I raised it to my shoulder I knew my sighting problems were solved. As far as the ez air adapter, I would recommend the tombstone style because it put the macroline in the way of my trigger so I just put the AK 47 expansion chamber on, problem solved.I will try to post pictures.
Conclusion: I would recommend it to anyone who has sighting problems and need more stable shooting.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RE4P3R Thursday, June 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, AirThru Dogleg Stock, Remote Line
Im planning to get a Hammerhead Barrel and an HE EGrip
Strengths: YOU CAN AIM!!
Light
Gets the air of your gun
Super durable and snug
Weaknesses: It can be awkward to use in close range, but its managable
Review: First thing I must say is DO NOT overtighten the included grip. When i put it on my gun first time, I noticed that the grip was a little crooked (because i put it on wrong), so i tightened it to try and get it straight. I ended up snapping the aluminum that holds the nut in. So i couldnt put the grip on, because the nut would just fall out. I just recently super glued the nut in, and its been working great since. Bottom Line, dont overtighten the grip, if its crooked, deal with it.

Anyways... This stock is incredible if ur looking to increase ur first shot accuracy. You can actually aim down ur sights with this stock. It kinda becomes obsolete in close range, but at long range its an amazing upgrade. Sorry for the small review, i had alot in my head, but i forget it all.
Conclusion: In my honest opinion, it is by far the best upgrade for the A5, and among the best made stocks for any gun on the market.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media