paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Axis Goggles / Proto Axis Goggles / Proto Axis Goggles

Proto Axis Goggles Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Axis Goggles

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Axis Goggles
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.
# Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custom fit and bite down to secure the strap.
# The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrificing any ear protection.
# Incredibly simple 1/4 turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.
# Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.
# Self venting, low profile and removable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.
Product Availability 
The Proto Axis Goggles are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
p-baller100 Sunday, July 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month34 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J Nvader
jt elite full head shield
various brass eagles
Marker Setup: Ion
Virtue on/off
Tech-T L7 bolt
Redz 14" barrel with .689 back
Virtue eyes
Dye membrane pad
Scenario Dreams T- board
CP twist lock feed neck
Evil Detonator regulator
Qev
ndz autococker breach
lucky stage 2
Draxxus Pulse Loader
48/3000 tank with assault regulator and unique tank cover
cup of love every day
Strengths: Looks
dual pane fog resistent
venting
fit
comfortable
Weaknesses: Alittle wide but not a big deal
Review: I have seen these on ebay for 50 bux but i saw it at my pb store for 60 so i decided to buy them cause i couldnt wait. they only had one of the color i wanted left which was on display and they didnt have the box with the goggle bag or visor just the manual. so i cant tell you anything about that stuff. anyway the foam on this one is very nice. very comfortable and it helps keep the sweet away from your eyes. it also has some padding that fits above your ears and helps cushion the side of your head. it has a nice looking easy to adjust band. all this stuff alows for a nice comfy fit. it looks very very nice. one of the best in my opinion. the venting is very nice i can actually hear more of the people around me than my own voice. it also helps in keeping you cool. this mask is very easy to take apart to replace a lens. i took mine off just to see how it was and it was really easy. refer to your manual on how to take it apart. i have only tried this out outside just to see how the venting was and see the fit and i practiced a little snapshooting at a target with it on just cause. i have not used it in the field yet so i dont know how it will be but i guarntee that it wont fog up. and pretty much all masks can stand up to field use. i mean thats what they are made for. the only thing is it is a little wide but i dont really care its a great mask.
Conclusion: I love this mask i have reaserched all of my gear before i buy it to make sure im getting one of the best things. this is one of those. you can buy for 50 dollars now for nearly a 100 dollar mask. go get one!!! please rate my review and fell free to ask any questions.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BrutishOpus Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month34 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Java Guardian
Force Flex 8

Marker Setup: E-99 Avant with a 16 inch Nightstick barrel, Shocktech Superfly bolt, Dye Sticky Grip

Ion Pro with rail and On/Off ASA, Freak Barrel, CP Blade Trigger, CP Reg, Halo B hopper and a 3000 PSI HPA Tank from Pure Energy
Strengths: Looks Good
Hard to Fog up
Flexible
Snug fit
Wide field of view
Weaknesses: Chin Strap Button (I explain more below)
Review: Lets start this off good, I LOVE THIS MASK, WOW!!!!

I got this mask for Christmas and I fell in love with it, it is sweet!! O.k., lets get serious.

Pros-

This mask comes in a durable box for storage and comes with a goggle bag and a pretty big instruction booklet for a mask, in the booklet it tells you everything you need to know about the mask, everything from goggle replacement to chin strap adjusting

This mask looks sweet!!!! Its a very good looking mask and it comes in lots a different colors to match most colored jerseys and stuff, and the mask is made out of a flexible but at the same time semi-hard material so paintballs can bounce and it has tons of vents that allow air to really circulate, I didn't have the mask fog up once during a whole day of play and I counted 2 bounces off my visor, but I think the mask looks better without the visor

The lens is the best part, you have a very wide field of view and its so clear it looks like nothing there until you get smacked in the lens because you in aw of the Proto Axis, I didn't fog at all, and I was playing on a very cold day and I am a heavy breather and sweater and it didn't fog, but nothing is perfect, it may fog up on you, but it didn't on me, besides you can get a fan

The mask fits very snug and it didn't slip down even when I slid or anything, it stayed put, I didn't have to use the chin strap, but I tested it out and it is very comfortable and has a pad on it, but I dont like chin straps, and let me tell you!! This mask a comfortable, veryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy comfortable, it fits good around the eyes and ears and isn't to tight so it leaves red rings on your face

Cons-(This should be short)

This is more or a personal thing, the chin strap buckle is very small and I find it annoying when it takes me 15 minutes to find the dang buckle, but that's me, I have big hands,

I told you the con section would be short LOL
Conclusion: I love it, its a very nice mask and like what other people said, if you like the other Dye and Proto mask, you'll will totally like this mask, very nice,
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

cfa247 Wednesday, July 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Powerlyte Body Kit
Q-Lock
Max- Flo Reg
Shocktech Reg
Max Flo Compatible 47/3000 Tank
All-American Barrel
Halo B Loader
Wave Roller Trigger
But that got stolen =[ so now I use...

Smart Parts Ion
Pewter Dynasty Body Kit
All American Barrel
Max Flo Micro 3000 psi Reg
Max Flo Micro Compatible Tank 47/3000
EvLution 2 Loader
Q-Lock
Strengths: VERY HARD to fog up
Easy to remove lenses
Feels very comfortable
Weaknesses: Kind of bulky and weighs a lot more than other masks out there
Review: I've tried to fog up these goggles on purpose, but they just never seem to fog up!
The only time when i've had a problem seeing through them was when I was playing outside and it was like close to 100 degrees and i had sweat from my hair going onto the lenses( I have long hair)

The goggles are also very comfortabe; they have a tri-mold material that is very soft and offers good protection

The 1/4th buckle also makes it very easy to remove the lenses; I can easily remove them in under a minute!

If you look down in some other reviews though, you'll see that some of them mention that water will get inbetween the lenses. THIS IS TRUE! I even got shot in the lens one time and i got paint in between the thermal lenses! This was very annoying because I had no way of cleaning it at the field. When i got home i finally washed them and water got inbetween the lenses and I had to wait for it to evaporate for a while and it left some light water streaks, but oh well

UPDATE: I found a good way to fix up the seal to prevent water from coming into the lens. Just make sure you dont currently hve a warranty b/c this probably violates it. Just put some epoxy glue into the small opening into the seal(enough to clog up the hole and also to hold the two lens pieces together. Be careful not to get it too far up into the lens or it'll block up where you look out. Keep it towards the edges. Next, just take some scotch tape and use it to clamp the two lens pieces together closer and wait a day for the glue to dry. A day probably isn't necessary but just in case....
Conclusion: great mask, I just wish the water and paint hadn't gotten in between the lens
This lens is still worth a ten
Please rate this review helpful if you found it to be
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 21st, 2008 at 6:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bajabob Friday, December 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Xfire, JT Flex-8, Proto EL, Proto Switch
Marker Setup: A-5, Flatline
Strengths: Improved upon the Switch google, and looks incredible!
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: I ordered this mask as a replacement for my Flex-8 mask which didnt quit cover my ear which I hated. This mask is the same size as the Proto Switch FS, and feels just as light if not lighter. The mask has great coverage over the ears and neckline. The fit of the mask is snug yet very comfortable. I havent been able to fog it yet in cool weather (50 Degrees) so Im really impressed with the airflow of this mask.
Conclusion: If you like previous Proto or Dye masks you will certainly be very happy with this mask. Plus the looks are just great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

wombizle Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye invision I3 - almost the same - I like the Dye a little better
Marker Setup: autococker prostock 04 with cp dropfoward, oricle bolt, and an all american barrel, viewloader egg 2, 68/4500 dye throttle

Smart parts ion egg 2, and 68/4500 dye throttle
Strengths: Flex
Switch
Vision
No fog
Vents
Almost everything
Weaknesses: Wider profile than dye I3
Don't like the look as much as the I3
Review: Well the man at the shop told me that the only [real] differences betweenthe proto and the I3 was that the Proto is better for big headed people (they were the same price at my store). I was luckly enough to try both before I baught one (i know the man real well). they performed very similer, almost identical, both had, a lot of bounce, no fog, great vision, excelent venting, and a tight profile. I have an average head, so the proto was a little wider than it needed to be for me. Both masks are good, and either will work, but you need to try them both on, and see what feel better for you. if you have a big head, then get the proto, because it is bigger, but if you have a small or normal head, get the dye. I got more mask hits with the proto, becasue it is wider, but not enough to make a difference. I like the way the I3 fits on my face better, which is why, in the end I got the I3. the only down side of the I3 is changing the lense is hard, but it gets easier after you do it a couple of times, and learn what to do. the Proto is very easy to change the lenses. you just turn the tabs, and out they come, however it can me a little hard to put the lense back in, but it is still pretty easy. Get either, becasue they are almost the same (both the best I have ever used), and the only real way to decide is how it fits your own face.
Conclusion: This mask is amazing, and no mater if you get the I3 or the PRoto, you will be happy. they are almost the same mask, so try both on, and make a decision. This mask wasn't perfect for me, but is came pretty close. IF you are looking for a new mask, and have the money buy this one, or an I3, you won't regret it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Greenmonster24 Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye invision with mirror lenses. Comparrison to the two are they never fogged.
Marker Setup: '08 Dangerous Power Fusion F8
Halo loader
Crossfire N2 tank 68/45
Stock board n' barell
Strengths: Never fogged up
looks good
cheap for the performance of it.
Weaknesses: I didnt think there were any. But that is just me
Review: My opinion, the best part about the Proto Axis is the perfomance it had the first day i used it. I have a mirror lense on it so it never once fogged up. No mater how heavely I was breathing or no mater how much i was sweating, it never blured my vision.
The second thing was its maintenance cleaning process Or even installing my Mirror lenses. Not near as hard to install these lenses rather than the Dye invision. The Axis lense installation is almost as easy as the Empire Vents.
The third thing is that it looks good...
Conclusion: I think you should you get these goggles now because the price compared to the performance is extremly low. The Axis, to me, are the best goggles out there for the price, quality, maintenance, quantity, apperance, and i cant stress enough thee amazing performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stuartd Thursday, February 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye i3, other proto goggles.
Marker Setup: SP Shocker stock, 68 45 crossfire.
SP ION, CP roller trigger, CP REG, SP clamping feedneck, Dye stickys, CP ASA.
Strengths: Comfort, easy hearing, venting, vision, looks.
Weaknesses: NONE... Seriously NONE
Review: This is the best mask Proto has ever come up with. the looks of this mask on the internet ane not exactly spectacular but in person this is one sweet looking mask. Proto has done everything right with this mask, the looks are outstanding, the speach transfer and hearing are out of this world. also the comfort is amazing it just fits snugly on your face and you hardly notice it. the best thing on this mast though is the vision. i have never been a big fan on clear lenses but this has changed my ways, it is soo much clear than other goggles i have used.
Conclusion: If you have the money get this mask, you WILL NOT regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DuckandCover88 Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some cheap Brass Eagle mask
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot
Empire Reloader B
Dye3 Stickys
CP 2-piece Barrel .689
Lapco Feedneck
Shocktech Superfly Top Cocking
CP 2K5 on/off
Strengths: Fits well
Doesnt Fog
Great pretection
Great airflow
Comfy foam
Weaknesses: Lens can be a pain to get in & out
Review: This is a awesome mask. Ive used this mask in woodsball games that have last 2 to 3 hours apiece and I still havent fogged. This mask fits very comfy around you're head. This mask is has good airflow so you can still get nice fresh air in even in the heat of battle. The foam absorbs alot of sweat which is nice. Then lens though can be a pain to get in and out but if you use patience you'll be fine.
Conclusion: Overal I recomend this mask if you have the money. This mask will keep you satisfied
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 at 9:57 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

thunderstruckdc Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra, Dye Invision
Marker Setup: '03 Ultimate (68ci 4500psi Max-Flo) Shocker w/ Vision
~New Designz Stinger Bolt Kit
~New Designz Bolt Guide
~New Designz Wave Roller Trigger
~New Designz 15 Degree ASA
~18" Freak Barrel
~Warped Sports Trigger Frame
~Kila Products Reaction Magentic Ball Detents
~Dynasty Shocker Board
~Hybrid Technologies Hedlok K2 Klamp Feed Neck
Strengths: Looks Good
Switch System
Rubber
Thermal Lens
Low Profile
Weaknesses: Air Flow
Kind of hard to adjust strap
Price
Review: Pros:
First off, the mask looks great! In all the pictures i've seen it looks goofy and wide, but those pictures do it no justice. The mask is low profile, so anybody who has used and liked masks like the dye invision or the jt proteus will feel comfortable in this mask. The rubber is nice, because now you can get bounces off of your mask. And the rubber is the right mix of rigidity and flexibility, so you can feel confident about bounces and not worry about not getting smacked in the face. It comes with a clear thermal lens which is nice, but i switched it out to the chrome mirror lens and now it looks absolutely sick. And for anybody who has had to fight an invision, you know what a god send the switch system is. It's really easy, just throw the tabs up, put the lens in, put it back together and go! Also, the strap stays in place once you set it there, which is another bonus.

Cons:
First complaint is that the air flow isn't what i'd like it to be. In my invision, it was like wearing nothing at all, but in this mask the air flow isn't as good. But that being said, it isn't that bad at all, it's just a matter of preferance for me. Also the strap is a little hard to adjust, but once you get it to where you want it, it's not going to go anywhere. This mask is on the expensive side though. But you definately get your money's worth in this case.

Conclusion: Overall, i would reccomend this to anybody in the market for a super nice mask. Looks great, performs great...what else could you ask for?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nightmare122489 Sunday, August 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
just about every mask out
Marker Setup: Sp Ion with everything except grip frame
Strengths: Comfy
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: Just like any prot mask its heavy and when you sweat unless you have the straps so really tight they slip off my face and I keep having to push them back up. The good part about these masks are that they rarely fogg up on you. Overall I just think they are too heavy for me and my friends they just slide right off your face.
Conclusion: Comfey but Heavy!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media