paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap DBX Paintballs / Zap DBX Paintballs / Zap DBX Paintballs

Zap DBX Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap DBX Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap DBX Paintballs
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 36
Average Rating: 4.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
These Zap DBX paintballs offer a durable construction for everyday backyard and field paintball use.
Product Availability 
The Zap DBX Paintballs are older, so they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
hockeysnow Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
monster balls, freedom balls, whack paintballs
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder xtra, 20oz pure energy co2, gravity fed hopper, proto 14" 1-piece barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
medium size bore (these are .688)
Strengths: Cheap, accurate, break pretty good, did i say cheap?
Weaknesses: Breaks in the bag, oily
Review: I Bought these paintballs recently for $18 bucks for a thousand at Dicks and i must say overall for that price these are quite good. When i first opened the bag there was three breaks in a thousand, but that can be fixed with a quick wipe down. Once i got on the frield i was not expecting much out of this paint but, suprisingly they NEVER CHOPPED OR CURVED!!! I was extremly suprised. the only real problem that i found on the field is that there was a residue on the outside of each ball but that can be fixed with a squegee every once in a while.
Conclusion: Overall these are great paintballs for the money i never found any real problems besides the resdue ont the outside of a few.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Somm-1 Friday, August 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Various kinds of low-quality paint
Marker Setup: -Spyder Sonix '06
-SP Linear 14"
-CO2
-Egg
Recommended
Barrels:
Just about anything, although they work good out of my stock sonix barrel and my SP linear
Strengths: Depends on the color you get for good:
Good fill.
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Again, not a whole lot but terrible if you get one of the bad colors.
Review: These were on clearance for like 15 bucks at Dick's for a thousand, I needed some paint, and I was almost broke. I got pink shell/oarnge fill and they work great out of both barrels. I have shot several hundred out with no breaks, no chops and am able to hit a post about three and a half inches wide (with my stock barrel).
Conclusion: If they are on clearance (or on sale), Get them. otherwise your money is spent better on other types of paint. This paint is average not, good, not terrible (if you get the right color)
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 11th, 2006 at 9:11 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BTRobertson Monday, November 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus Blaze, XBall Silver/Gold, Zap Amp
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Rodeo Green
Kingman IPI 3.0 C.A.M.D. e-frame
Empire Reloader II e-hopper
Pure Energy 88cu 4500 psi HPA tank
Smart Parts Freak Jr. rear, Freak front, .689 bore insert barrel system
Kingman Delrin ACS Xtra rear-cocking bolt
Java remote coil
Scepter 4000-A Grenade Launcher
New Designz Low Rise Feedneck
Bad Habitz spring kit - high velocity installed
Recommended
Barrels:
Use only a premium barrel like a Smart Parts Freak, Freak Jr., All American, Dye Broomstick, or equivalent
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I got these paintballs at Dick's Sporting Goods during a promotion they had (and are still running, I think). 1,500 rounds came with a neat black plastic case with a utility compartment on the top lid, which I have come to love for the field. I keep all my grenades, my Master Mine, my 12-gram Co2 cartridges for my Overlord, rags, barrel plugs, and all kinds of tools in the case. Another bonus: it has a place to put a small combination or key lock to secure it.

However, the buck stops there. If you can't get the paintballs in this case, leave it be!! The case is about the only positive aspect of these paintballs, besides price.

Strengths: Price - yep, they're cheapos. I bought 1,500 rounds in the case, which they claim is a $9.98 value, for $27.98. Ummm, yeah, you get what you pay for. They break okay, but most paintballs do, which is why we play paintball. These balls are super-brittle, which is also a weakness.

Weaknesses: Plenty are listed right here:

1.) Break way too easily - if your gun is cranked up, even on Co2, the balls will literally break under the pressure of a shot. I had to turn down the speed on my mechanical Rodeo to keep them from breaking inside the barrel - once I did, it slowed down/stopped. However, for the electros, low or high-end, these balls will leave more paint in your gun than on your opponent.
2.) Different color paint/varying shades of same color - this might be hard to explain, but when you buy paintballs with say...orange paint, do you expect to see different shades of it, sometimes so dark or light compared to the majority that you'd swear it might be a different color altogether? Well, this happens with DBX balls. Bright orange is the break I had with my purchase, but sometimes they'd break so dark I'd swear they were either a dark red or burnt orange. I've not seen this phenomenon with the Draxxus or XBall paintballs, but this might be totally subjective.
3.) Seams galore - these balls will duck, dart, drop, spin, curve, hook, slice, and cook you breakfast. Okay, maybe not that last one, but they definitely do everything but cook you breakfast. I've never seen a more inconsistent ball, and the seams and dimples must be the reason why. I have dimples, but nothing compared to these bad boys. I think the "D" in "DBX" stands for "Dimples" or "Dimpled".
4.) Moisture and breakage in each bag - moisture and humidity are the detrement to paintballs, and Zap should know this. Even with 500 balls per sealed plastic bag and those being surrounded by a hard plastic carrying case, each bag had breakage and paint everywhere, and there were moisture droplets in each bag too. This is bad, and throws up red flags in Zap's manufacturing/shipping/bagging process for these balls.
5.) Price - this is the key to the weakness - if you see 1,500 paintballs for less than $30.00, turn around and go home or move on to the next selection on the shelf...it's not worth the aggrevation.
Conclusion: Cheap, unreliable, dimpled, shipped damaged, shipped with additional moisture for your added annoyance, inaccurate, different shades of break, so brittle that even the slightest over-powered electro will shatter these before they make it out the barrel - need I continue? Leave these be, or ask the store to sell you the neat case they come in for the suggested value of $9.98.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 5th, 2005 at 6:40 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bumzors Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marbalizers: Clearly much better than DBX.
Stingers: Not much more expensive, but about 10 times better.
Marker Setup: Ion, 360 QEV, 14" Freak, CP Roller Trigger, T-Board, Sidewinder, Dynasty Body kit
A-5 with a Stock, new foregrip, and a 16'' J&J
Recommended
Barrels:
Depends on what batch you get. If you get a good batch, they seem to work well with either the .687 or .689 inserts. Obviously any kit is going to work well with a good batch. Worked well with my one piece .689 J&J also.

With a bad batch, well, hitting something is more by chance. You'd be better off throwing them...seriously.
Strengths: Good for price sometimes.
Cheap
Cool Box
Weaknesses: Smell horrible
Awful fill
Lots of moisture
Bad batchs curve like crazy
Broken in bag
Review: So I got these the second time I played recball, seeing that my current funding would not allow me to buy $60 Marbalizers every week. So wandering around the paint aisle at Dick's, I figured I had better find some paint that I could afford to buy weekly. Then I met DBX.I was stunned by the price. I got a case of 1500 for $18 and rushed home and popped them open to check for any broken balls or dimples(this happens to be the downside to Dick's, they don't pop open the box and look for imperfections or oil like my proshop). Alas, there were a few dimples, but for the price, I could live with them. Aired up my A5 and filled a hopper, and voila! They shot almost perfectly. So I played with them the next day without a single problem. The people I played with also had DBX because of the price and they were fine for them as well. I thought my troubles were over...

The following week, I went back to Dick's to get my DBX fix. Grabbed my box, paid, zipped home, and ripped them open like a kid on Christmas morning. But wait, what the hell was I looking at? I was looking at hardened-paint covered, oily, deformed monsters. 3 broken balls in one bag, the others had 4. They were gross to say the least. I figured I got a bad case and took it back to Dick's, who reluctantly returned them for me and gave me another case. Drove home and opened them. Same deal, except this time one bag had 5 broken balls, the others had 4. Describing my mood as really pissed would have been the understatement of the century. I decided I'd play the next day with these stuck together, oily, eggs that I had purchased and wow was that a mistake. I think I hit 4 guys all day while playing with my batch, and most of them were within 15 feet(its rec-ball, we play "rec-lessly", which is quite dangerous come to think of it). Balls curved, dipped, climbed and flat out sucked. Thing was, my friends had purchased more DBX from the same Dick's, yet their's seemed to be shooting wonderfully. I decided to take a little of their paint, and mix it with mine. They had green fill, I had yellow. I played a round with the paint mix and let my friends in on my plan, asking them to remember where they were and how they were positioned when they got hit. One round later I had landed a shot, I went back to the scene and noticed that there was a green spot on the guy I hit that seemed to come from the spot I was shooting from (from a group of trees behind him). I also noticed that there were yellow spots on the trees around (as far away as 10 or 15 feet) where he had been, and my aim isn't that bad. He was the only person in that area of the field I shot at and I was the only person shooting yellow paint. A similar situation took place later that day.

So I ended up buying Stingers for $40 per 2000 the next time. Oh yeah, and a good wiff of the DBX will double over a man with no sense of smell.
Conclusion: Needless to say, these balls are the epitome of inconsistancy. I mean, one case can be a near clone of upper-end balls, or like making balls out of Play Dough and trying to play with them. Although, I do have a bunch of nice boxes to store gear in now.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 14th, 2006 at 9:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AznRevlAzn Sunday, December 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Psychoballistics Super Bolt
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator Chrome
32 Degreees Macro Line twin right elbow kit
Halo B w/ Rip Drive and Z-Board
32 Degrees Carbon Fiber Barrel 14"
PMI PureEnergy HPA Tank 88ci 4500psi
Smart Parts Bottle Armor
Teflon to further seal the threads
New Designz Micro Rail Combo
Slik Lite Cocking Kit
CCM STO NoPro Chrome Feedneck
Recommended
Barrels:
If it helps, try matching it with a bore sizer, you won't have much help/luck :P
Strengths: -Cheap
-Good for:
Practice
Timing
Rec
F^cking around
Weaknesses: Cheap
seams are horrid
Every bag has moisture
very inconsistent.
Review: Well just like the guy said before me, these balls do suck. But they have a few good points. They are cheap, good for practice, timing, rec, messing around... ...and thats about it.

Now, he went and got the balls with the black case as i did use to 2 years ago. I have about 5 black cases of these DBX's and they are good for storage/porn/money/anything you can think of. Now i went and just got a fresh batch from Dicks, they just got the shipment yesterday night yay. This time i went for the 1000 unit set. Now i did expect a difference in this unit. The Balls were magenta this time instead of blue (the ones in the black cases are blue normally unless they mess up on a batch). The black normally have blue balls with blue fill (or a variant of blue) and the ones in teh 1000 count unit boxes are Magenta with magenta fill (or a variant of it)

The Balls come in like any other paintballs, just with that annoying moisture factor Zap has and needs to deal with :(
Conclusion: Aside from the quallity of the paint, it's all good with me. Cheap paint at a cheap price good for practice, timing and messing around is fine by me.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 20th, 2005 at 7:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikeD00789 Thursday, December 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dusk
Marker Setup: Fenix ACS
Evil Omen 2.0

Recommended
Barrels:
None, you shouldn't use these
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: See review
Review: When i took these out of the box i noticed dents, broken balls and that the seems stuck out a lot. i shot about fifty out of my Omen and nearly half broke. The ones that made it out of the barrel swerved everywhere. I guess the fact that the pink fill of the paintball brightens the insides of your gun could be a plus.
Conclusion: They suck and you shouldn't buy them
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BMSpaintballer Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Monster Balls
Marker Setup: fully stock E-99 with a Diablo TSA hopper

Strengths: CHEAP
Great if you're just playing around with friends
Weaknesses: Oily
Don't always bust
Review: These paintballs are extremely cheap (once I caught them on sale for $10 - 1000). I just play woodsball at my friends houses so I don't really need expensive paint. The paintballs don't always bust though, one time I hit someone 3 times before one would bust. Seeing as how they are cheap I can't really complain. If you play speedball I would not recommend these. However, if you are like me and just want to play with your friends for cheap you should get these.
Conclusion: DBX Paintballs aren't for any serious paintballers but they are cheap and good for just playing woodsball at a friends house.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Patrick Keller Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nelson precision, nelsplat,sever, brass eagle, nitro, etc.
Marker Setup: JT tac 5 w/ fixed stock
CMI tru-flite QB
NC Star red dot
Recommended
Barrels:
any
Strengths: Price
Fill
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Bag moisture
Breakage n ball chop
Review: these balls do have a good price but there are tons more out there around the same price that are better. I experienced a ton of ball chop and breakage in the barrel. Accuracy was terrible, I was les then 30 feet for targets and balls were whizzing all around. Personally I feel that a couple more bucks spent on paint makes it worth it because you'll better enjoy yourself.
Conclusion: Don't buy these balls. if you're hard up for cash there are other balls out there ike lower nelsons that ofer better
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pease1 Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Wild Streak (terrible)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 Cyclone Feed
Recommended
Barrels:
Any
Strengths: Price
Fill
Weaknesses: Mediocre accuracy (but decent for cheap paint)
Inconsistancy in product quality
Review: *** UPDATE ***
I have purchased an additional 1000 round case of this paint and it was horrible! Worse than wild streak. The balls were mishapen, different colored shells. Runny clear yellow transparent fill, and seams that were horrible. In the words of Forest Gump. This paint is like a box of chocolates - you never know what you're gonna get. If you get a lucky box it's good, otherwise it's crap. I'm dropping this to a 1.

*** END UPDATE ***

This is a decent inexpensive paint, and readilly available in chain sporting goods stores. The price is good on sale for around $22 for 1500 balls and the included plastic case. You get a curve-ball about every 5-6 balls, but considering the price this is good cheap paint for target pracice, chrony or rec-ball players on a budget.

The fill in this paint is bright, opaque and moderately thick. Quite nice considering the price. This isnt' the best paint around, but I wouldn't be dissapointed if I had to shoot a case of it because my better paint order didn't arrive and I had to run out and get a case locally quickly.

Good cheap paint.
Conclusion: This paint is sometimes decent - sometimes absolute crap. If you want a better cheap department store paint, buy Scorch.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 29th, 2006 at 12:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonesmusic1103 Monday, April 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Wack paint
Diablo Hellfire
Marker Setup: autococker trilogy sport,20oz,smart parts all american kit,lapco drop forward,cpp reg
Recommended
Barrels:
none
Strengths: Hard to wipe
Weaknesses: Very oily
deformed
very weak shell
WILL NOT WORK WITH SPYDER!!!!
Review: In Short, this paint is completely useless if you have any ssyder or pirahna. In my Shutter, I can shoot about 2 balls and then it starts breaking. It is so oily, that you have to run a sqeegie through your barrel about 4 times to get it all out. If you have a tippmann or Tirlogy Autococker, it works alright.
Conclusion: Just shell out $10 more, and get something consitent
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media