paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Blackpoint Engineering JCS MKX8 / Blackpoint Engineering JCS MKX8 / Blackpoint Engineering JCS MKX8 / Blackpoint Engineering JCS MKX8

Blackpoint Engineering JCS MKX8 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Blackpoint Engineering

Buy Blackpoint Engineering JCS MKX8

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Blackpoint Engineering JCS MKX8
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
∑ Weighs 4.6 pounds as pictured unloaded
∑ Semi-Auto 7 bps ( or as fast as you can go )
∑ Composite Construction Body
∑ Unique Modular "Engine" Design
∑ BDF Hopper 180 (Ball Deflecting Hopper)
∑ No-Tool Field Strip
∑ Flip-Up Sights
∑ 15 Inch, No-Thread Barrel
∑ Magazine with Ball Retainer
∑ Raised Receiver MIL-STD Rail (Ideal for Red Dots)
∑ Made in the U.S.A.
∑ Ready for future Upgrades
∑ One Year Warranty
Product Availability 
The Blackpoint Engineering JCS MKX8 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Rifleman Thursday, December 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months25 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 98 custom procarbine. All good but this beats them easy.
Marker Setup: BlackPoint MKX8 (stock for now)
20 ounce Co2
remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
not much. Shoot good paint though and this guns stock barrel does fine.
Strengths: Accurate
Looks awesome
Loud(intimidating)
xm-8 design
Weaknesses: Chamber cleaning.
Review: I really enjoy this gun. Not only is it exceptionally accurate but it can scare the sh** out of your opponents. i am a fan of the xm8 design because it is very practical and looks great too. People who whine that its too heavy (4.6lbs) they need to move back in with there moms PANSIES!!! I have used this in a few woodsball games at my local field and it has performed very well with all stock parts. I have a couple of friends who are on my scenario team who use the a-5s and 98s and this gun blows them away. If you want full auto fire with this same design i recommend the Smart Parts Sp-8. It is basically an ION with a Xm-8 frame. I used this gun in a game the other day with my team against a much larger(but terrible) set of newbies and amateurs. I here Sean, our automatic rifleman open up and almost instantly the front newb takes a hit in the gut and falls to the ground. He staggers off the field and i notice that a couple of these woefully unprepared players are TRYING to flank me. I emptied about 60 rounds into that group and got 4 or 5 before they even knew what was happening. Needless to say i love this gun. i recommend it to the serious scenario player. Ok I got a few requests to be more technical so here is the "technical review". I have used this gun quite a lot and of course suffered the standard paint breaks. Cleaning the barrel is a snap but cleaning the chamber is a bit of a hassle, not enough to take the rating i gave down though. Field stripping takes a little longer because of the polymer frame, which by the way is NOT cheap plastic and can withstand being dropped, smashed, fallen,whatever.
Now the weapon has excellent balance and really IT IS NOT HEAVY. Internally its a very straightforward design that is simple to clean and maintain. However make absolutely sure that you oil all the internals before you use this gun. Oh and if you manage to really screw up this gun you should be locked in a padded room. Oh and give me a break on the spelling I wrote this beast in about 5 minutes. Oh and the actual xm-8 project has officially be shelved(scrapped) for now, but HK might be releasing a civilian legal model within the next two years but you'd better start saving now 'cause these guns are made of unobtanium fellas.
Conclusion: I would buy this gun for scenario play. It rocks, and the price ain't to bad either!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 3rd, 2006 at 9:30 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

aroper Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Previous marker was a Spyder Xtra.
Marker Setup: MXK8 stock set up with 20oz co2, and PMI remote. Red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote line.
Red dot sight
Strengths: Color for woodsball/green
Extendable stock
Rails Included
No electronics
Balanced gun when using remote.
Weaknesses: Made of plastic.
No upgrades currently.
Everyone wants to shoot it.
Review: I only play woodsball, and I wanted to upgrade from my Spyder XTRA which I started out playing with. I wanted to get a Scenario gun, but something different then an A-5 to use in woods ball. So I after checking out different scenario markers I stumbled onto the JCS MKX8, thought it looked pretty interesting. Checked out there site plus a couple of forums, it sounded like the kind of marker I was looking for. It is based on the MX8 by Heckler and Koch.

The best feature about it that sold me over the Ion SP8, is its a mechanical marker. No electronics! I can easily fix it in the field if something goes wrong. When you break it apart the internal engine, it is easy to figure out, like my Spyder, nothing to complicated about it.

I found this store in Calgary, www.Warheads.ca. It is a brand new store, and the only all scenario store in Calgary. I asked if he would be carrying the MKX8, and he was planning on it. Warheads put in the first order that JCS has ever received from Canada for their MKX8.

My marker is nicely balanced, with a remote, and using the stock, unlike the normal paintball markers, which are back heavy with air. This helps a great deal with accuracy. I highly recommend moving to a remote for balance, not for just looks.

Its noisy for a marker but its not really an issue for me, I would rather kick up a raquett with it any way as its more fun that way, kind of scares the noob's

The barrel is a 15 inch barrel, its made up of 2 pieces. The ball is only in contact with the barrel for the first 8 inches, after that the barrel gets about another 1 or 2 millimeters bigger on the inside.

Hopefully they will come out with new barrel sizes soon. The best thing you can do is find a paint to match up to your bore size, as a new up grade barrel should only help out the accuracy a little bit, but if you match paint bore to the current barrel bore you get really good accuracy.

A good way to match paint if you don't have a kit to match bore size, is if the paint drops and stops in the barrel but you can blow it through the barrel its a good match. If it roles all the way through the barrel its to small. If it stops, but you can't blow it out, its to big. Currently I am using Anarchy paint which is a good match to the barrel bore. Ask your local shop if they can give you one ball of each paint they are carrying, or ask you friends, to try and find a good fit. A decent shop will let you do that if they want your business.

The hopper would be pretty good, but because it doesn't use and elbow you need to jiggle the marker after every few shots to make sure paint is getting in.

I have tried it both with and with out the plastic strip in the hopper, it works better with the plastic, but it is still a pain some times.

I know that marker being made of plastic might be a deterrent, but it keeps the gun lighter, and it is a very sturdy plastic, so I am not to concerned about it except for the feed neck. When I am running, it is bouncing around a little more then I would like it to. I did tighten it so it bounces less. But I don't dare tighten it to much so I don't strip the plastic where you put the screws into to hold the feed neck in the frame.

I like to selector switch rather then the usually safety. I shows semi and full auto. Currently it only works in semi auto. Hoping that in the future one of the up grades will be a full auto trigger, which JCS has advised is a planned future upgrade, but no release date at this time.

The other upgrades they are working on is to have the gun clip fed. Making it a real sim-marker. Plus a full auto setting, but no release date at this time according to JCS.

I like having the little flip up sights, but I haven't made It work for me, as I never took the time to get it figured out. I am now using a red dot sight, which gives it a nice look.

The kit currently include several Rails, but only enough mounting pieces to put one rail on. So if you need more then one rail, you will need to order extra mounting pieces.
Conclusion: I would buy this gun again if some one stole it. I have no regret getting it.

I know everyone loves the A-5 (which is an awsome marker), but its nice to have something no one else has, and is already set up as scenario gun, so no extra money trying to make the marker look like a scenario gun.

The only reason I don't give it a 10 is the feed neck the hopper and no upgrades for it currently.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 27th, 2006 at 10:21 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

maddog71 Thursday, January 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PEC Master-remember that marker!- Very good
Tippman 98 Custom-Better
Tippman A 5-with Flatline-Excellent
Marker Setup: MKX8 with rail system pre mounted and red dot sight. Otherwise this is semi stock model and has not been tested in the field at this time.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would like JCS to come out with a barrel upgrade which would "hop up" the paint for longer range. An auto trigger assembly is probably in the works. A JCS version of the red dot sight on the real "XM-8" rifle. Other configurations for the marker such as SAW or commando CQB version.
Strengths: MilSim Marker
Robust
Easy Field Strip
Price
Unusual and Different
Both CO2 and Air
Upgradable
Weaknesses: Nothing as of yet
Review: The MXK8 design is based on the new XM-8 series Assault Rifle from Heckler & Koch designed for the US Military to replace the aging M-16 series rifles. This marker is clearly aimed at the mil-sim rec ball player. It offers a new design with some of the unique features in the real XM-8. The marker is an all polymer shell. This is not the cheap plastic used in common hard plastic which can shatter but the much more durable and flexible rubber plastic found on heavy pvc frames for the real rifle. It will allow bending and take heavy abuse, it is also light weight and will work well in extreme tempatures. The marker is about four pounds and has a very good balance. The major internals or what JCS calls the "Engine" are steel and appear to have a venturi bolt layout but also have a few unique design features. The parts are easily field stripped with the removal of the holding pins. It only takes a couple of minutes to strip down. No screws or small parts like the Tippman A-5. There are three main sections to the marker. These are the barrel and foregrip assembly, the main body and the retractable stock and grip. The barrel is held in the main body by a lose floating fit and not screwed into the bolt assembly. It fits into a metal collar over the bolt assembly. If you need to clean the barrel you can take off the foregrip assembly and pull out the barrel and squeegee then pop back in and replace the pin, its that easy. The trigger assembly has metal parts in a plastic frame. The modular design is great and allows for add ons and changes such as the real XM-8.

The marker is also ambidextrous for both lefty's and righty's. The safety is on both sides of the receiver and is easy to move from safe to semi or auto with your thumb. The automatic setting is on the marker but this is only a semi packageI have to review here. JCS is probably planning to release a full auto feature at some point. Also the ball feed on the marker can be switched to the other side of the marker since there is an insert on the frame for the ball feed.

I have heard some issues about the feeder being lose and could break off. I do not see that happening so quickly due to the plastic its made out of which like the rest of the marker and is of a high impact design. Besides a replacement part maybe inexpensive if for some reason it does. I heard JCS may have had some quality control with the early models but I have not found anything wrong on mine.

The rail system is already mounted on mine and looks to be 20mm standard. The rail on the top of the receiver is good for a red dot sight and is not obstructed by the ball hopper which is a slim type design made to deflect incoming paint and mounted off to the side of the marker. I am not sure if this will throw the balance off but since the hopper looks to hold less then the average 100 balls I am unsure of a real balance issue. The hopper is mounted via a clamp with a hex wrench.The adjustable stock is a nice feature. The charging handle is mounted on the top of the marker and can be used on either side. There are also flip up sights that come up from the carry handle area. The magazine is fake but adds realism to the MXK8 and allows the gas line to enter the assembly. Also there is a possibility for expansion for a bottom feeder in this area. Velocity is adjusted via a hex wrench on the rear of the marker inside the shell at the rear of the main assembly under the stock and grip housing.

Conclusion: Overall since I have not tested this in the field I really cannot comment on how it works in play. It is a very good example of the real XM-8 and appears to be designed in a similar fashion. With this in mind I expect it to play as well as it looks and offer me a real Mil-Sim design with awesome functionality and durability at an inexpensive price. It is also unusual marker design which will allow for possible upgrades for JCS. I am very impressed up to this point and love the job JCS has done with this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 26th, 2006 at 8:34 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Shappa Wednesday, January 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, 98 custom, spyder pilot, classic spyder, custom spyder bullpup, SP8
Marker Setup: Spyder with apex barrel, remote, before. Now SP8 scoped with HPA w/Apex
Recommended
Upgrades:
new hopper is a must, sucks but you'll have to fix the feed neck. (you'd think for around $350 you wouldnt have to)
Strengths: Disassembles in seconds, looks good
Weaknesses: Balls get stuck, creeky plastic sound, price, relibility, no upgrades, thin plastic detent
Review: Well first off i didn't buy this as i will explain why. I start by saying i wanted this gun bad, i went to there web site and was very impressed. I just couldn't wait to take it apart. Dont know about you guys but i love to take things apart ,but i also rebuild motors as a hobbie. Anyhow i didnt want to spend 350$ (yes i did find it cheeper) without shooting it first. I read all the reviews and it really got me syked. Everyone seemed to love this gun! So i got on the web and found a store in Kenndal that had one and would sell it to me for $275! and he would let me shoot it first. I took off early from work and headed over about an hour drive, but I didn't care. So i get to the store and there it was hangin on the wall "it looked sick!" First impression, this gun is lite, every thing was functional. It cocks like the reel thing I think i like it, THEN ITS ALL DOWN HILL FROM HERE. Second impression the gun felt flimsy not solid at all. Apart the pieces were strong but together i was able to twist it and it made alot of creeky plastic sound if they had made this same gun out of aluminum it would have been 100 times better, dont get me wrong it did seem strong but i dont think it even came close to how sterdy the SP8 felt. . About 50 percent of the plastic seems weren't flush it was very warped and the rubber look like it was over stretched. The guy said he hasn't fired it and he has had it for over 6 months. That seem weird, how could you not try this out! Then gave me a tank and some paint and i took it into there little firing range. (about 15 feet) I screwed the tank in and WHAT THE! the plastic drop forward is bending and it feels like it will brake off, which i didnt really care cause I use a remote anyway, but it was leaking air like crazy. Since the guy had never taking this thing apart and he was busy with customers, I took advantage of the situation and ask if i could figure out the problem and then he said go for it! YEEEESSSSSSSSS! i want to do it like the guy in the video. (take the gun apart). It came apart in less a minute and went back together without instructions very cool! Well i think it ended up just that the bottle was low on air, he filled it up then it was still leaking butt after acouple of shoots it stopped. Then shooting it sucked i had to shake the gun and if there wasnt enofe balls in the hooper it wouldn't shoot either. Not something you want to happen when your playing woods ball. It was loud! but more like a firecracker not intimadating. As far as accurate at 15 feet i still wasn't able to hit the bullseye every shoot, but i can't really say anything about distance. I started out really wanting this gun, but after using it I desided to test out the SP8. Needless to say I ended up buying the SP8. Im not going say why i'll write a review for it their. But i did not feel comfortable with buying something that was giveing me problems before i bought it. I really really wanted this gun and was tring to convince myself to buy this gun and if i didnt get to shoot it I would have bought and may i say i WOULD HAVE BEEN VERY VERY UPSET!!!!!!
Conclusion: TEST THIS GUN BEFORE YOU BUY. Try the SP8 also. maybe i tested a crapy one but i was very disoppointed. Creeky plastic feel, bad hooper design i mean seriously you can look through the hopper cause the plastic was warped! That is stupid for 300 dollars they should have at least gave you a feed neck and a view loader hooper. JCS make this out of aluminum and put some more internals. If you build a good gun, fast field stripping isn't that nessesary. I shouldn't have to fix a gun out of the box for that i'll buy a walmart special. There is no reason to buy this gun when the SP8 is out. Im giving this a 4 because i would have been have been very very upset to get this in the mail. Dont see how you guys could have used an SP8 or A-5 and said this is just as good.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 17th, 2007 at 7:18 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

FFTwitch4969 Monday, July 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
until this gun i used a BE Avenger- this one totally cleans its clock.
Marker Setup: MKX8 stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic hopper
remote line
Strengths: Great Look
Relatively light
easy field strip
easy cleaning
Weaknesses: i experienced problems with CO2, plus sometimes the clip does not completely lock into place,
Review: I used this marker for the first time yesterday at 1st 2nd Strike at Waynes World of Paintball in Ocala FL. I loved it. Everyone was asking to hold or shoot it. Its an amazing marker for a scenario player.

The only real problems i had with it was every once in awhile on or two balls would get jammed in the barrel, but by simply pulling baqck the bolt action and firing the balls were cleared. This was also because of the co2, being in FL it heats up if left in the expansion chamber for to long, but an experinced player suggested that once the CO2 is off the gun the problem should subside.

Right now that all the bad is outta the way, this gun is FRIGGIN AWESOME!!! Everyone at the game wanted to hold, a few of the older guys said it looked like something outta a sci fi movie. the range is awesome its acurate at about 30-40 yds, i havent zeroed in the scope yet but once thats done im sure i could get a few one shot head shots with this bad boy. Great look, sounds great, not as loud as the A5 but pretty close. i think that has to do with the A5 being mostly metal.

Conclusion: Get it, great price, great look, awesome sound, very intimidating.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Dulin Thursday, October 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, Smart Parts SP8, A5. This is a mix of all three. It has the accuracy of the 98 and the A-5 and a better, and the look of the SP8
Marker Setup: MKX8 w/red dot
Ricochet AK
Remote line
Who reads this?
Recommended
Upgrades:
Red Dot sight and remote line, nothing else out for this as of yet.
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Easy to clean
Looks cool
Uses gas/air well
Weaknesses: Loud.
Review: When I first got this gun in the mail I was quite excited so the first thing I did was go and shoot it in my back yard. Compared to an old 98 this marker beats it in everything except wasting paint. 12 shots hit in a 4 square inch area, and they all went the same velocity. I wasn't able to shoot many more shots though because my neighbors were starting to notice. Cleaning it was a breeze too. The manual that came with this perfectly described how to do the 5 step dissasembly and how to clean it. All the parts were tight fitting and put together well. I haven't been able to test it in the field yet but from what ive seen it is a very fine marker that is well worth the money.
Conclusion: For about $350 it is a great buy and you get what you paid for. The customer service is great. The first time i called them up to get help with warranty information I talked directly to the creator of the marker.
Buy it! Get them business!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 26th, 2006 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hendersonj Thursday, July 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
RAP4 METS
Marker Setup: Holo-Sights
Laser Sight (mostly for looks)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend the Olive colored version for woods play, the black stands out as the marker is bigger than most!!!
Strengths: Appearance
Accuracy
Mechanical simplicity
Weaknesses: Lack of Upgrades available
Review: I was very excited to receive my new MKX8, it looks so much better in person than the pics online.

I have found it to be very accurate, extremely reliable, no ball breaks. The only downfall was there were quite a few misfires as the hopper port has a wide ridge on it, that the balls are getting caught up on, easy to fix though.

Field strip is a little tricky the first time, after that maintenance is easy!!!

The marker is made of plastic, but it is a very heavy, durable plastic!!!!

Conclusion: I would highly recommend this marker to anyone who is looking for something different, effective, and accurate at a reasonable price. MUCH BETTER THAN RAP4 I have had in the past.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cool_guns Monday, May 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None like it
Marker Setup: JCS MKX8, red dot, 3 point tactical sling, Triumph SL-200 hopper, brass eagle 1"-1.03" elbow to use the SL-200, APEX w/ UMS Barrel Adapter, remote, Nitro Duck 90ci 4500 HPA tank.

Highly customized and modified Spyder MR2 - Low Pressure setup, CP shorty reg in the front grip, New Designz HP valve, ACP Low blow blolt and lightened striker, CP ON/Off rail ASA, macro line, T-boarded w/ break beam eyes installed, custom made eye covers, modified dye stickies, Sun dragon low rise clamping feedneck, modified stock for mask clearance, red dot, 3 point sling, Same hopper, remote and HPA tank.

Just ordered an APEX with the adapter to use on the MKX8, will update when it comes in.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely use a decent agitating hopper for this, don't need force feed hoppers due to the special detent design as you will probably feed past the detent.

Hopefully JCS will make some barrel adapters to use other barrels on it.

I'd like to see if JCS could develop the detent in different strengths.
Strengths: Very Sturdy
Mechanical
Smooth Trigger Pull
Nice stock barrel
Out of box mil-sim
Weaknesses: Detent could be a little stronger but worked fine.
Stock hopper
Review: Well, I've had my MKX8 for about 2 weeks now. I got if from paintballgi.com as it came with a red dot sight for $359.00 shipped. When it arrived, I found that the red dot was the $30.00 30mm BSA red dot that you can get at Wal Mart, which is a nice, durable red dot and the same that I happen to use on my MR2. In addition to all the extra orings, spring, manual, hex keys and the 3" and 6" rail, the extra composite rail kit was included as well at no charge, don't know if paintballgi.com just decided to throw that in or what, but that was a nice bonus.

The whole marker has a nice solid feel, no flex at all to it, even after several strip downs. When it first arrived, I stripped it completely down first before airing it up just to get a good look at everything. I found that the striker and bolt were heavily oiled out of the box. I did clean them up and relubed with smart parts sleek on the orings, also covered the entire striker with sleek as well, just allow it to glide easily in it's tube. Just a personal preference that seems to work well. I also noticed that even though it's a double-stacked tube, blowback design, both the striker and bolt are definitely, a custom, specific design by JCS. Also the sear is much wider than your typical spyder type sear. It seems more heavy duty to me. I had heard about the feedneck issues but mine was already screwed in place in the upper receiver and felt very solid. After reassembling it, I aired it up, no leaks. I dry fired it a couple of times, then threw on the stock hopper, took it out side and fired a few balls through it. It seemed to shoot nice and I was satisfied at that point w/ my purchase.

I did one mod to it. Because I'm using an elbow and an agitating hopper, I cut the feed neck down about 1/4" to allow the elbow and hopper to sit a little lower and tighter to the body. This has worked well.

GAME DAY: Yesterday, I finally got to put the marker through it's paces. I play mainly woodsball, recball and scenario. We have private land that we get to play on in the deep mountains here in colorado, elevation is about 9000 feet. I put 1400 balls through it and had one barrel break. I was shooting JT Tacticals, so it's kinda of a low to mid grade paint. I had lucked out and had got a good case, quality seemed about the same as eliminators and were a good match for the stock barrel. They are about a .687-.688 ball. I did not have one single chop in the 1400 balls and that was even doing some excessive long, fast strings of suppressing fire. Once I had a feel for the mechanical trigger, it would shoot, reliably, as fast as I could pull the trigger, maybe 8bps and due to the 15bps hopper, had no issues of mis-feeding or chopping. The marker simply shot when I needed it to, as fast as I could, and as long as I could. No issues at all. That really sold me on this marker.

With the 3 point sling and remote setup, the marker was fairly easy to maneuver, maybe not as easy as having a more compact setup say like a stock X7, but still I like the carbine setup/length. The weight of the marker was just perfect in my opinion.

Once I had the red dot sighted in, I could see the balls hit pretty much on top of each other within about 75', but groupings did start to spread after that. I chronoed about 280fps. I wasn't completely happy with the accuracy and range if I had to shoot more than say 125' so I am going to put an APEX on it to give it the flatline capability. With the 7/8" adapter for the APEX it should fit fine. I had measured the OD of the barrel tip and it's right at 7/8".

For efficiency, I was very pleased. With my 90ci tank, I used 2000 psi for 1400 balls. That means that I could easily shoot about 3000 balls on a full tank fill, if I ever needed to shoot that much that is.

As for the composite plastic, it's very durable. I didn't feel like I had to baby this marker at all and it's doesn't have a mark on it either after a full day of play, other than having to break it down to clean paint splatter, which just wipes away easily with a damp rag.

At first, I was not that pleased with the detent design, but it proved to work well. I just made sure that before I cocked the marker and aired up, I flexed the detent up a bit and it was fine the whole time.

Upon inspection of the "engine" during my "after game strip down/cleanup/relube", I found that the sleek did it's job. All the orings look perfect, with the sleek still in place everything still feeling lubed. I wiped everything down and relubed for it's next use. The sear showed a little bit of normal wear, nothing excessive for the amount of use it saw yesterday. I do think I'll do a polish job on the sear and striker though to see if that will help slow the wear down and maybe smooth things up even more.

I don't think people should try to compare this and the SP8 to each other, as both markers are so completely different. The MKX8 is a marker that may have a limited customer base as it's designed for someone that wants a mechanical XM8 style marker. I already have a great, low pressure, quiet, fast shooting, reliable, e-triggered marker in my highly modified MR2, so i didn't need an SP8. I love the XM8 look but wanted a good mechanical marker, so this was exactly what I was looking for. I had considered an A-5 with the G36C kit but that was going to cost more and It still looks like a dressed up A-5 to me, not as realistic as the MKX8. Plus, most of the guys I play with have A-5's and X7's ( and no, I don't have any issues with tippmans, they are great), but I really wanted something different.

6/18/2007 - My APEX barrel with the UMS adapter just arrived today. Using the adapter, the APEX installs perfectly on the stock barrel. Haven't shot it yet to test but it looks good.
Conclusion: All in All, I'm really pleased with this marker. Maybe it's a little pricey, but I do think you get a solid, reliable, mechanical XM8 for the money. I've seen guys with a lot more money put into their markers who have nothing but problems with them, probably partly due to the fact that they don't know how to maintain their markers either, but still for a complete mil-sim out of the box, I'm very pleased with this marker and happy with my purchase. Plus, I have confidence in knowing that Blackpoint Engineering JCS completely back this marker with a 1 year warranty. I won't give anything a 10 as there is always room for improvement, but I'd have to say the MKX8 completely delivered in what I wanted and performed to my expectations so it gets a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 18th, 2007 at 5:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

teamnameless Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 and 98 custom with M-16/M-4 mods
Marker Setup: MKX8
Recommended
Upgrades:
none are out yet, but the mag feed option, new hopper, and new barrel i suppose.
Strengths: Accurate, sick looking, easy to assemble/disassemble, strong polymer plastics. did i mention sick looking?
Weaknesses: Stock hopper.
Review: Well I bought this without even trying it out (it was an online purchase) and I had to sell my old gun first, so it was a make or break buy. The first time i used it was at my friend's open lot. i was less than satisfied with the replacement to my old gun (which was fantastic) but it was the only thing i had so i needed to get used to it. The gun had been firing at a fair, not good but fair, distance with fair accuracy. When I got home and took it apart for maintenance, turns out 2/3 o-rings were covered in paint from a break. It had been working at the level of a JT Orion due to OE (yes i realize i should have checked it while I was playing). The next time I used the gun, I made sure to constantly stay on top of its performance, and by god what a gun! If you can imagine, I was up on a fire base (approx. 10 feet up) playing attack and defend and i was defending. I fired one shot at a group of about ten people a good 70 yards away, and it made it, more importantly it hit one of them. I was shocked because even my old gun had trouble doing that. I went through about 5 hoppers before the 1st ball break which took 2 minutes to fix at the picnic table. Now, the issue with he stock hopper is the fact that it is set to the side, making it cumbersome. All I did was buy an elbow and put my Java hopper onto it. It is definitely a gun i recommend buying. ROF seems about 6-7 bps steady, and burst at what ever speed you feel like. People seem to have an issue with he plastic stuff, well its very durable plastic, doesn't rust as a tippmann would (nothing against them, mentioning that because my old tippmann had rust points). Another very unique aspect is the engine block, when the upgrades come out, switching it to full auto capabilities or mag feed or what ever black point thinks of will be as easy as switching out block engines...almost like legos....
Conclusion: i recommend it to any woodsballer, seems to have a break in period where performance will be a little off (course mine's was also due in part to OE). paintballgi.com offers very good prices for it. (350 with a red dot scope free)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 6th, 2007 at 4:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zero.68 Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder Xtra
Tippman a5 / 98
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
dont know of any aviable
Strengths: accuarate looks fidelity Intimidating Milsim Look
Weaknesses: low firing rate no upgrades aviable chamber cleaning
Review: this marker is a great buy actually as far i am aware i am the only one in MY COUNTRY to have one so is a great treat to be the first but i am a little concerned about the upgrades because i recently have the opportunity to test this marker on a BIG GAME and i realize that as far as know i CANT CHALLENGE OTHER MARKERS precisely the ones with E grips or RESPONSE and i was really upset in realizing that because in a REC game the who wins is the ONE with the advantage that includes the fire velocity i don't have any problem with accuracy or distance the only thing that keeps bugging me is the FIRE RATE nothing else... hu! and the lack of UPGRADES!
Conclusion: i recommend this marker to anyone who wants to put a touch of realism in is game BUT i can give this marker the maximum because i feel that UPGRADES are a CORNER STONE in A MARKER... BUT i cant complaint on the rest... I CANT WAIT FOR UPGRADES....
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 21st, 2006 at 5:29 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media