paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud / OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud / OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud / OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud

OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount OPSGEAR

Buy OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The RAIDERô M82A1 Shroud is one of the most dramatic modifications to meet the Tippmann Model 98. Not only does this addition add tactical function to the marker--adding the ability for scopes, bipods, lights, lasers, grips, and more--but it does so with style. Combine this shroud with the other M82A1 inspired components to create an incredibly durable, functional, and intimidating Milsim sniping machine, or match the shroud with other quality RAIDERô products to create a marker all your own. Features include:

Light-weight steel construction (less than 2 lbs)
Mounts to marker frame allowing for easy barrel exchange
Designed to fit most stocks (including the 6-position and M249 stocks)
Length: 25 inches
Olive-drab matte powder coat finish
One year warranty
Made in U.S.A.
Product Availability 
The OPSGEAR Raider M82A1 Shroud is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
wise690 Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Opsgear m82a1 shroud (black)
Opsgear m82a1 mag kit
Opsgear 18" interceptor barrel
Tapco T6 Six position stock
3-9x32 variable scope
20 oz co2 & 9 oz co2
Strengths: Tons of mounting space,
looks good,
very durable,
weaver mounts.
Weaknesses: Heavy (my whole gun weighs 10.5 pounds loaded).
Digs into the 98 sight rail.
Review: I got this because I am into milsim paintball and this shroud looks awesome on the 98c. The weaver rails allow you to mount a lot of stuff compared to the single dovetail rail on the stock 98c. A barrel needs to be at least 9 inches long to touch the end of the shroud. The shroud is very durable and will stay still on the gun if mounted correctly.

Weaknesses: This is a very cool shroud but it does have a few weaknesses.
The shroud can be tough to install. It only has four screws that hold it in place. These screws mount on the dovetail rail but they grind up the rail. Once installed though, the shroud is very rigid and does'nt move at all. It can be very heavy sometimes. My gun weighs 10.5 pounds loaded. It is not a big deal to me though.

The shroud does'nt really cost $150. Go to the Opsgear website and you can get in black or OD for $100.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this shroud for milsim players or players who want a lot of weaver mounting rails. If you buy this shroud, buy some kind of mag kit and a stock. I am only giving this shroud a 9 because it tears up the 98c dovetail rail.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

Dese Saturday, October 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only that piece of crap plastic shroud that comes stock with the flatline.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
- OPSGEAR M82A1 Shroud
- OPSGEAR 18" Interceptor Barrel (Soon to come)
- OPSGEAR M82A1 Muzzle Break
- OPSGEAR M82A1 Gas Thru-Mag
- Tippmann Proshop Collapsable Stock
- Tippmann Proshop Remote Line
- Dead On Paintball Aluminum Bolt & Power Tube
- Evil Smokestack
- Bushnell 3-9X40 Rifle Scope
- Harris Bipod w/ Weaver Mounts (Soon to come)
Strengths: Makes your gun look & feel like a Barret
Will accept many attachments
Scary
Sexy
Weaknesses: Weaknesses???
Review: Can anyone say .50?
Okay, the only way I can accurately describe my love of this upgrade is that as soon as I purchased it, I rushed home, removed my Flatline and installed the shroud even without a barrel to use my trusty 98c with. If I play before I get a barrel I'm gonna have to use my brothers stock A-5, eww.
My only grievance is that is grinds the dovetail, and as I've seen in many reviews, people have had difficulty with installation. One guy said he clamped it on, wich is all well and good, but how do you take it off? My solution was to take a Dremel to the rail and grind down two small grooves on the dovetail to allow the shroud to easily slip on and off. I knew as soon as it was on that I would never replace that shroud anyway. None-the-less, the absolute perfection of this upgrade was to great to give it the dishonor of calling anything about it a weakness.
Showing up on the field with this will definately strike fear into the very souls of your opponents (for a little added fear get the M82A1 Muzzle Break). It makes for one very intimidating gun that no one wants to find themselves on the buisiness end of.
I just cant rave enough about this thing. Its scary, functional, reasonably lightweight , rigid, durable, and just plain great. Being a big fan of large caliber rifles, namely the Barret M82A1, and an aspiring Sniper (yes I know paintball sniping has nothing to do with real sniping, get off my back) I couldn't possibly be more satisfied with OPSGEAR's job on this. I mean its no-were near identical, but given the shorter length of OPSGEAR's version compared to the real thing, the taller-then-it-is-wide shape of the front of the shroud (as opposed to the real thing's more equally tall&wide shape) just makes sense to the eye.
Also, I would like to comment on OPSGEAR's M82A1 Muzzle Break, as it does not have its on review section. WOW. Seriously, WOW.
I didn't have a barrel to test it with my 98c, so I taped over the porting on the muzzle break of my Ariakon Combat Pistol, attached the OPSGEAR muzzle break and fired a shot. Loud? Definately. Scary? Absolutely. I can't wait to test it on the field with the 18 incher. I mean I've heard some loud paintball guns, but with that muzzle break my little pistol beat them all hands down. On my 98c it will definately scare the poop out of a few people on the field.
Conclusion: Best Cosmetic/Tactical Upgrade in the world. If you like the Barret M82A1, or if you need space for lots of attachments, or if you just want the most scary and beastly gun on the field, I recommend this shroud absolutely.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 30th, 2006 at 5:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nitrousapplez Wednesday, July 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
M82A1 shroud
OPSGEAR 18 inch fluted sniper barrel
Collapsible stock
1x42 red dot scope
Strengths: Lots of mounting space
Rugged and durable
Looks awesome
Weaknesses: Somewhat annoying to install
Rips up your dovetail
Difficult to screw in some barrels
Review: I ordered this about a week ago from Opsgear and I have to say, I couldn't be happier. After the initial annoyance of installation, this shroud was set on the gun like the metal had blended. There was no movement at all. Rock solid. I played rec ball with it over the weekend and everyone there was very impressed with the look. The multiple weaver rails provide enough room to mount lots of addons, and front handgrip section gives you another place to hold the gun.
Conclusion: Very good for milsim players or anyone looking for a military feel for their gun. Once you get it on, you'll wonder why you waited so long to get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chevylover91 Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 98 with m82a1 shroud, cmi 21" barrel, tapco 6 position car stock, nitro duck nitro tank,and 32x-3-9 scope, lapco direct feed, empire reloder opsgear bi pod, starfire bolt, double finger trigger pmi, remote.
Strengths: Can mount alot to it and makes it posable to mount stuff
Weaknesses: Digs into body of 98
Review: the shroud is a great thing for the 98 looks cool, works really well, does't wobble and is like a whole new body on top of your 98, great for snipers, makes your gun look like one of the best sniper rifle out there the m82a1 this thing was first serviced in Iraq in 2003 these things shoot .50 through a concrete wall but you got to watch out for that recoil.
ow back to the shroud the OD color blends in with the scenery and is incredibly stable for on your gun and it helps protect it

weaknesses GETTING IT ON!! i use a clamp it didn't take too long but if i didn't think of using a clamp them it might have been. thats it for weaknesses.
Conclusion: Great accessory for the 98 recommend it for any woodsball player
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

ctmac9000 Monday, April 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
OPSGEAR Raider M82a1 Shroud
Rap4 22 inch barrel
Rap4 adjustable Stock
Strengths: Looks really sweet
Weaknesses: Make your gun really heavy
Review: This makes your gun look amazing. As soon as I got it, i ran home installed it, and then called my buddies to play. They all stopped dead in their tracks when they saw me pull out my gun. One of the best things abolut this is the multiple mounts on it so you can attach whatever you want.
Conclusion: Must have for anyone who likes mil sim looks.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scottishsquirre Sunday, March 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
M4 Rail
Under mount Rail
Muzzle Break
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
RP Trigger
CP 16" Barrel
M4 Stock
GTM Clip
Strengths: Looks Awesome
Intimidation
Lots of room for upgrades
Weaknesses: A Bit Big
A little bit heavy
PRICEY!!!!!!
Not good for Speed Ball
Review: Ok this is the most awesome body shroud that you can ever get for an A-5. Most People who buy this shroud think it's gonna make their A-5 look like a M82A1 but the truth is, it will only look like that if it's got a S scope. I rigged mine up to look like it's a Scar-5 or Scar-6. No matter what you put on this guy it will always look like a beast. I took it out recently with a bi-pod and a Grenade launcher and eveybody was totally freaked out!
The only bad thing about this guy is the price. The average price is around $120. DO NOT USE THIS FOR SPEEDBALL!!!! I used mine while SB'ing and you can not move around extremely fast with it.
Conclusion: This is defintiely a shroud that you would want to get if you like to scare people before you even fire at them. Really Nice for aussalt and sniping. DO NOT BUY THIS FOR SPEEDBALL!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neo_Enhander Monday, May 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
OPSGEAR UMP Shroud
OPSGEAR G36C Shroud
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Apex Barrel
SpecOps MP5 Mag Kit with Stabalizer
SpecOps A5-A2 Gas Thru Stock
OPSGEAR UMP Shroud
---------------------------------------
Tippmann 98 Custom
OPSGEAR 18 inch Interceptor Barrel
OPSGEAR Barret Muzzle Break
OPSGEAR Raider Shroud
OPSGEAR Gas Thru Raider Mag
FX 6 Point Stock
----------------------------------
Tippmann A-5
BT AK-47 Barrel Kit
OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock
OPSGEAR AK Mag Kit
--------------------------------------
Tippmann 98C
AR-15 Sight Rail
OPSGEAR M4 Mag
OPSGEAR M4 Barrel Kit
Adjustable Car Stock
Strengths: Looks awsome!
Lots of rails
Weaknesses: None
Review: This shroud is awsome. Hats off to OPSGEAR for making it. Its very durable and sturdy. Kinda hard to get on the gun, but that is easily overlooked. When I first pulled this thing out on the field, jaws dropped. It was wonderful. Havent had one problem with it. Keep up the good work OPSGEAR.

Conclusion: Awsome shroud. A must have for 98C owners.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Buhju Tuesday, March 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
-14'' PMI Razzor Barrel
-Weaver Mount Tactical Laser
-Red Dot Sight
-Ops Gear Black Six Position Stock
-Ops Gear OD Green M82A1 Shroud
-Ops Gear RAIDER SMG MAG Kit
-Ops Gear Black Deluxe Ergonomic Foregrip
-Blue LED Dual Tactical Light
-Tippmann Response Trigger
Strengths: A lot of space to put things. Looks cool.
Weaknesses: No dovetail rail.
Review: This is an awesome upgrade and it has a ton of space to put things. It weighs the same as a full 12oz. CO2 tank so thats nothing to complain about. It looks great on the gun and makes it look and feel like a rifle. Also it is intimidating and when i showed it off to my friends, they said they wanted to be on my team so they wouldn't get shot by it.
Conclusion: This is an awesome upgrade. If you want to make your gun look as mil-sim as possible, this is the upgrade for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Insolence Wednesday, February 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Opsgear M82A1 Full kit with Stock
Strengths: Durable, feels as if it would withstand a hit to the ground
Weaknesses: Tough to get on the right way. Heavy!
Review: Good looking and durable. I had trouble getting it on and then i finally got it on how it should be after a few tries. Its very good looking although if your thinking of putting a bunch of other asseccories from opsgear to pimp out your gun then think about getting a remote coil.
Conclusion: Good although its tough to get on.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shezmula Thursday, March 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
G36c Ops Gear 98 Custom Mod Kit
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom - 16" barrel Opsgear Barrel
M82A1 Mod Kit from Ops Gear

Strengths: Looks Amazing!
Plenty of room for Add Ons
Weaknesses: Heavy
Comes loose
Scratches up 98custom rail
Review: I don't know what it is about ops gear and their mods. But they seem to love set screws. Their G36c mod kit does the same thing, it slides down a barrel. The shroud comes loose after usually firing 200 paint balls, the vibration causes the set screws to unscrew themselves not to mention theres almost no dovetail rail left for the set screws to screw into, I suppose I am exaggerating a bit but everything that has set screws I will tell you right now, stay miles away from it.
Conclusion: This would be the sweetest mod if it actually stayed on, because of this fatal flaw I am giving it a 6. The product actually needs to work. It would get a ten if it weren't for the poor attachment mechanism.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media