paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Alien Remains / Alien Remains / Alien Remains / Alien Remains

Alien Remains Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Alien

Buy Alien Remains

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Alien Remains
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $895

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Remains weighs less than 2 pounds. That's with the reg, barrel and a battery in it. If I take off the riser, barrel, reg and battey then I can compare to what some of the others are claiming. Most everyone agreed that it was the lighest gun they had found. Many asked if anything was in it! It is still very strong, we left even more metal around the side screws that attaches the trigger frame to the body.The LPR is done and I got a lot of compliments on it at the Cup events. Likewise the trigger frame is done, well a bit more cut done in front of the screw that is inside the trigger guard. Some of the details on the body are changing. Small radius on the front belowe the barrle and around the LPR, milling aroung the feedneck. 90% is what you see.The LPR is done and I got a lot of compliments on it at the Cup events. LPR on the Remains should be less than 70. Colors available are dust finish available in solid black, blue, red, gold and green. Also available in Polished Black.
Product Availability 
The Alien Remains are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
venom600 Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alien Interceptor, Alias Intimidator, Matrix (DM3)
Marker Setup: Sly Barrel kit
Viewloader VLocity
Virtue NME board
Recommended
Upgrades:
No upgrades are necessary.
Strengths: Accurate, Efficient, Light Weight.
Weaknesses: Manufacturing and shipment practices could be improved.
Review: I got my Remains in April of '06.

First impressions (before shooting):
+ Wow, this thing is lightweight
+ it sets up really nicely for my shooting style
- serial number looks like it was engraved by a 3rd grader with a dremel
- no manual
- no packing material of any kind, it was just shipped in a box with several other remains

Impressions after airing it up and adjusting some things:
+ trigger adjustment is a snap
+ board settings (stock WAS) were easy to figure out (just use the interceptor manual)
+ integrated LPR was easy to adjust
- duct tape holding wires to the solenoid from the factory seemed kinda hacky

Impressions after shooting it:
+ this gun is incredibly fast (don't be alarmed when dry firing with the WAS board. It is capped at 15bps when the eyes are off. The gun is very fast once you turn the eyes back on and add paint).
+ ball on ball accuracy out to about 50 feet (the spread is still very small beyond 50ft, oriented vertically)
+ Holy efficiency batman! I'm currently getting about 2.5 lbs per ball out of a 68/45K tank. I'll be switching to a 45ci tank with that kind of efficiency.
- I'm not a fan of the stock trigger. This is, of course, personal preference but it just doesn't suit me. There is a rumor going around that CP may be making a remains trigger very soon. Take that bit of news with a grain of salt.

I upgraded my board to a Virtue NME board and I'm very happy with it. For the record, the WAS board is a great stock board. I've just always heard very good things about Virtue boards, so I thought I'd give one a try. The upgrade is definitely not something that is necessary, just a perk for those who can't stand *not* upgrading their guns.
Conclusion: The Alien Remains isn't just a marker for those who 'like something different'. It is a very solid marker. I've been playing regularly with mine for a little over two months now. I'm very impressed. The quality control could be improved in a few areas (shipping, manuals, dremeled serial#, duct tape on solenoid), but everything was working out of the box, so it's hard to complain about that.

I think that the Remains is going to grow very quickly in popularity very soon, once a few of them get out on the market and people have an opportunity to play with them.

I'm giving the gun a 9/10, but definitely a *low* 9. With some improved quality control, it'd be a very *high* 9. Nothing's perfect in my mind, so a 10 is not really an option for me.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 3rd, 2006 at 11:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Combat Wombat Friday, May 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alien Interceptor, 2k5 Dragon Intimidator, DM6, ego 5/6/7/most pl's (not like it makes much of a difference), Angel 1, Marq 6/7/rapper (same gun internally), Dangerous Powers Fusion, as well as many many others through the years.
Marker Setup: Alien Remains w/ Predator board and NDZ ultralite on/off rail combo
DXS Pulse
DXS 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you need a larger bore barel, thats it. The stock one is amazing. I've switched back to it after using a stiffi and an ultralite on it.
MAYBE a new board, but WAS is more than enough for most people
Strengths: Weight
ROF
Lack of Kick
Efficency
Consistency
Ready to roll stock
Great company backing it
Weaknesses: Board (personal preference)
The "unknown" factor of it (not many techs know these guns)
Review: Whats there to say about the Alien Remains? Mine had a small problem, which was the noid dieing, but this was due to a malfunction in my tank, causing overpressurization. I sent my gun to AlienPB listing the problems, and about 4 days later, I got a call from the head tech, Andrew, detailing what was wrong and what needed to be done. I was charged a measly 75 dollars for a noid replacement. On top of that, I got an updated bolt, trigger spring, trigger pin, and harness. Andrew even double checked the gun before I sent it out to make sure it was fine. Since that day, 5 months ago, I've chopped 2 balls, and those were balls that sat in my trunk all winter. I get great efficency (hopper and 9-10 pods off of a 68/4500 fill), the speed is ungodly, even in semi, the accuracy is top notch, and it's just an all around great marker. It has a nice, solid build to it, and it's pretty easy to get comfortable with. Tear down is easy, and you can even troubleshoot the gun while dissassembled with air in, due to the Modular Ram Mounting system, creating a ram independant from the body of the gun. All in all, my experience with this marker and the company have been very very enjoyable. I have kept the gun for a year, haven't I?
Conclusion: For the price, It's hard to beat. You can find them for 600 online, and these easily fall in the paramiters of a high end gun. If you get a chance, anyone should shoot this neat little marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JoyKiller21 Saturday, February 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 05 Speed
Marker Setup: Angel Speed 05, Halo B w/ Boost Custom Lithium Ion Battery, PMI 68/4500, Lucky 15 Barrel, CP Short Reg.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast Loader, Maybe new trigger
Strengths: Fast, Gas Efficient, Reliable, Light
Weaknesses: A little tall compared to Shockers, Freestyles
Review: +: Shoots accruate fast ropes of paint, don't need to refill tanks all the time, Great feedneck, Also, not many people are going to be using these other than you (Mr. Rebel)
-: None that I noticed through my day of testing

I need more words in here. La la la la.

Conclusion: Great Product, I would have bought it but I don't have enough money left over from my Angel... BUY IT!

Only a 9 cos it's a bit tall, and I'm sure that in long term there would be problems that I wouldnt have noticed unless I shot it longer than I did.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

turmoil9008 Tuesday, September 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ripper2.5 egos every dm all high end guns pretty much this is lighter and smaller
Marker Setup: black with gold parts 06 alien remains stiffi and ul barrel vlocity stock stuff like cp reg ccm feedneck was 2.9 ect ect
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really its nice how it is
Strengths: Small Light Fast Accurate end of story
Weaknesses: None really really solid marker
Review: Wow nice marker smooth shooting small accurate and no kick i got this gun in a trade for my ripper2.5 and i am glad i did it smooth fast accurate only thing that describes it no flaws really i got mine and it was ready to go easy to program and comes with stuff i usually have to buy with every one of my guns cp reg ccm feedneck and a psp board and this came with all of them i was impressed its LIGHT and comfortable to shoot and not to mention i get 7 pods and a hopper off of a 45 45 fill great gun
Conclusion: I would reccomend this to anyone who wants a marker that isnt common yet u still want a marker that shoots great
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ddsngoi Tuesday, February 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
AKA Markers..Both AKA and Alien are both small PB companies that emphasis exceptional service to the customer. Technically both markers are very different in design. However, they are very similar in performance. What do serious players want in a pb marker? Speed, accuracy, and efficiency. The Remains offers these characteristics and one more the AKA cannot... Lightness in overall weight. It weights just under 2 lbs. That' s amazing.
Marker Setup: Currently a 2006 Remains with the 45 grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None. It comes with all the ups. It does comes with either the 45 or 85 grip.
Strengths: The lightness and weight along with speed, accuracy, and efficiency.
Weaknesses: Unproven and can it be field strip easily?
Review: What do you get when you milled the heck out of an Alien Interceptor? You get the "Remains." You get a very light, compact high performance tournament marker right out of the box for under $900. Being a former gun whore and spending thousands on markers, this is a excellant value.
Conclusion: I gave the Remains a 9 rating because of the unknown. It must prove itself in battle on the paintball field.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

gangsteyoda5 Sunday, February 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 -07 ego
Marker Setup: Alien Remains Dxs stubby empire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nada unless you using paint to big or small for the barrel
Strengths: Fast wow
Light
Maintenance
The kick
Simplicity of everything
Accuracy
Tight play
Weaknesses: Uhhhhhhhhh nothing at all
Review: the day I got this gun i couldn't stop holding i. This thing was pure sexiness. he day i took it out it got so many comments and this thing shoot better than an ego in my opinion.

This thing is pretty much a legend in every way. I like this gun better because of the milling and i like the trigger more.

The kick on this marker is good because it somehow makes the gun ,more accurate i really cant explain how it works ur going to have to shoot this bad boy for yourself

Jack Rice the owner stands by his products well so he will help u out i have had no probelems yet but if anything goes wrong he is there
Conclusion: There is nothing to say i meen this gun is like a perfect dream and in my opinion it feels way nicer and its cheaper than an ego

If u have 500 Get it used off the nation u will not be disappointed at all
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 25th, 2008 at 3:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pjacques Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ego (i guess)
Marker Setup: alien remains
vlocity
45 4500 crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
possibly a new board
Strengths: Light, efficient, reliable
Weaknesses: Not many upgrades, but it does not really need any
Review: I bought my remains used, when i first got it i had a few problems with the lpr but all that need was for it to be tuned up a bit because through shipping it seemed to go a little wack from the cold weather. Once I had it running i havent had a problem since. As for upgrades the board that comes with it is the W.A.S board, which is a very nice board but i am upgrading to a predator board because i would like some more features. Other than the board this marker doesnt need anything since it comes with a cp reg. Also the customer service from alien was great they are fast on respondign to emails, and very helpful
Conclusion: I would strongly recommend this marker to anyone looking for an uncommon but reliable marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

neo2287 Thursday, April 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Have shot Bob Long Ripper 2.5, System X, DM6
Marker Setup: Alien Remains
Halo B/Fasta
J&J Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
None It comes with a CP Reg. no after market bolts which is why you buy the marker anyway
Strengths: Light Accurate FAST
Weaknesses: Looks if you want a flashy marker that is.
Review: Well I have been reading on the remains for about a year now and was impressed with all the articles I read so I picked one up on ebay. I had to buy a CP ASA for it and micro line, and then I was up and running. The manual was very informative (downloaded off alienpb.com) the Was board is very easy to program plus if you buy the link cable you can use your pc to program. First test was on the local speed ball field and man did I turn heads and have people asking what the heck it was. Shot super fast (ramping set at 22bps) I did test with Unlimited ROF and my stock Halo B couldn't keep up. This marker is GREAT I love it from now on I only buy ALIEN markers. The Sweep Tech that they use does work and you can see the up and down pattern, simaliar to a tippman flatline just not as bad. In the end I love this gun and will never sell it.

UPDATE!!
I love this marker so much I bought another one with Blue accents! I also did buy the link cable for the WAS board made changes a snap with my laptop, no more counting trigger pulls or making sure I am on the right light.
Conclusion: Great marker Great everything. Buy it you can. Really this Gun is great I OWN TWO NOW!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 14th, 2008 at 11:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media