paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical

Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS)

Buy Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical
[ View Photos (22) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 7.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
PMI's new tactical line, Pursuit Combat Systems, presents the PCS US-5 Tactical marker. Comparable to Tippmann, the US-5 has a 9 out of 10 rating from pbreview.com. Includes a 1-Year Warranty from PMI.

Standard Features:

-Mechanical
-Top Tube - Flip down for easy cleaning
-Field strip pins to remove clip
-Removable trigger guard
-10° Bottom line adapter
-No tools needed to switch clip
-Inline bottomline holes
-Iron sight (MP5 style)
-Adjustable foregrip
-Side cocking
-Piranha/Spyder Barrel threads


Specs:

-Powered by either CO2 or N2
-Uses .68 caliber paintballs
-Interchangeable threaded aluminum barrel with muzzle break
-Corrosion resistant aluminum die-cast receive with adjustable foregrip
-Integrated elbow, closed receiver
-Durable space aged polymer with trigger guard
-Optional Advanced Electronic Clip Available
-10° bottomline adapter designed to accept gas systems
-10+ shots per second
-17" overall length
Product Availability 
The Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
mirabelpb_4life Monday, July 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom and tippmann a5
Marker Setup: us-5 mech, homemade "co2 stock", flatline barrel and scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, maybe x-chamber
Strengths: -Upgradability
-Price
-Accuracy
-Durability
Weaknesses: -Feed neck hard to adjust/clean/open
Review: Ok. First of all, this is the best gun that I have tried/owned yet because of many things. I like the fact that it's a sort of a5 clone without the cyclone feed because I don't need a fancy hopper (I'm a sniper). It's price is very reasonnable and almost all the tippmann upgrades work on it. The e-grip upgrade is also much easier and faster to install than the tippmann one. I like the fact that it have spyder threads but you can still put a flatline because it has the same a5 barrel adapter.
Conclusion: I say if you want an a5 but you don't care about the cyclone feed, get this. I recommend this to anyone who is serious about playing and modifying their gun. Don't buy a tippmann, get this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

knight-rider Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT-TAC_5 , a-5, spyders, scenario markers, ect.
Marker Setup: J&J 14" barrel, A-5 saw stock, 8 chamber expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
same as my setup
Strengths: inexpensive, solid, spyder threads, A-5 compatable add ons, looks
Weaknesses: Not easy to field strip
Review: I am a field owner, so I've seen a lot of guns. Since I have to keep up the field stuff I don't have tons of extra cash to be blowing on guns, so I want the best bang for the buck. A stock A-5 is going to run you about $300. I got this gun and all the recomended upgrades from this review page for $220. It took me about 30 minuites to put all my upgrades on while talking on the phone at the same time, so upgrades are super easy to do. I was very impressed with how SOLID this gun is. I took it out for some test firing, and was more impressed with the accuracy. With the after market expansion chamber, Ihad no smoke or ice when firing, so this is deffinately a recomendation for people who are concerned with gas consumption. I have had a lot of experience with the JT-TAC5, wichis the closest comparison to this gun. If you want the scenario experience without having to take out a second mortgage, this is the gun for you. Or get two and build a hammer out of them.
Conclusion: Best bang fir the buck I've seen anywhere
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

S/C Splinter Friday, June 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders (blowback)
A5 (2 years)
Marker Setup: KP2SC Pistol Stock
PPS Custom K-Pug
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Closed reciever, keeps dirt out
Forgrip & single trigger for saftey & comfort
Weaknesses: Very bad design for field cleaning
Shotty feedneck (big safty concern for me)
Review: First a little about me:
I prefer small guns, pistols and pumps.
I will take reliability & comfort over speed & newfangleness
I admit that this gun is not aimed at me (experienced player) but I feel that I can use my experience to help point out good and bad points to others who may not know what to look for.

Looks:
It looks great, in fact if someone was to look at the PCS & the Tippmann A5 it would look as if the only thing different was the cyclone hopper. The PCS also has the "look" of the A5's push pin system without the ease of removing the grip with them.

Feel:
It feels really nice, the weight is balanced well and the side cocking lever works just as good as Tippmann's. The grip however (mech) left a lot to be desired, the plastic grip insert is a bit sloppy and loose. While it does not affect shooting performance it does bug me to feel anything wiggle that should not.

Design:
The feedneck - (think M98) is IMO a poor design. While it is cool that it flips down to allow you to run a barrel cleaner through it, I cant help but wonder... Do they WANT new players sticking there fingers in a sharp hole with the bolt cocked and ready to fire? I am shocked that I have not heard about someone loosing there trigger finger this way. Also when closed the feedneck is not snug enough to the body to stop a full hopper from causing it to wiggle (again it does not affect performance, it just makes it feel loose)

The internals - While I am a fan of the inline blowback design, I have to hand it to Tippmann for making the a5's so easy to field strip. The PCS gun requires you to take apart the two body halves in order to clean the bolt (ever break paint on a bolt...it NEEDS to be cleaned or you will get tons of wingers) I see this design leading to people calling the gun a piece of crapple pie.
Conclusion: I would not buy this gun or reccomend it to new players.
Even though I won mine I can not get myself to sell it or give it away, who needs the hastle?
Even a simple sub $100 Spyder/clone will give you the ability to clean paint off of the bolt, lube and inspect the internals without a lot of tools and time.

If a 5 is average, I give it a 4.
It has features and looks, but the loose feel & hard maintenance drops the score.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Demonhunter27 Monday, April 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5/ Tippman 98c
Marker Setup: PCS US-5 Mech. 16" Thunder Pig barrell. Gravity feed 200 rd hopper.PE 20oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell- Don't even try to play with the stock barrell.
Regulator & Switch to an N2 air system
Tippman A-5 feed sytem & Hopper
Strengths: Durability, Weight, Reliability, very upgradable
Weaknesses: Accuracy, Flip down Feed system, air consumption
Review: With a new barrell this is a very effective scenario/woodsball marker. I suggest useing good paint and a longer length barrell.It uses alot of air so CO2 will wear your seals out in a year or so of use due to the mositure in CO2, I say switch when you can to a dry air system like N2.It is a good marker it will last and work well no matter the conditions, except cold areas. I Live in a Hot weather area even winter is warm so I can't stand by it on a cold northern winters day. Just keep it oiled well and cleanand it can hang with A-5 all day long.For the money it's a good buy IMO.Also Personally I dig PMI so to be able to play scenario with thier equipment is neat to me.Accuracy is the only real downside to it....But as i said you can corrcet that w/ an aftermarker barrell.The feed system also poses a prblem w/ a full hopper but again you can take care of that!
Conclusion: It is a decent marker for scenario/woodsball. I still play speedball with it but I get hammered alot too. If your starting out don't go and buy a $200-? A-5 becasue experienced players uses them. This will work just as well and when you are ready can build it up to suite your needs. PCS job well done.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 3rd, 2006 at 2:03 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

murphDog Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranha field gun, tippman 98, piranha sts, sp ion, bko bushmaster (these two aren't really the same)

Marker Setup: angel 05 speed check it ,pipe
dm3 tadao, hybrid lock, evil asa
45/4500 vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel , maybe a doube trigger but it is not really meant for speed, electronic hopper but almost anything can use one.
Strengths: Pretty accurate , short trigger and it doesnt chop very much ( 2 out of 1000 rounds )
Weaknesses: Kind of gas hungry but other than that pretty good
Review: This gun is a very solid build and it has pmi warranty which is very reliable it is a good price it can be found online for about $120 it seems tough when i was using it we were playing bushball and I bounced it off rocks trees everything I even had mudd go in the barrel and it still shot so its great for wood s balling and a good begginer or even a gun for a seasoned player .
Conclusion: this is a good start for pmis tactical/scenario paintball gunbut it isn't quite ready to compete with a tippman A-5
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 20th, 2006 at 5:14 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Wolfwood78 Monday, February 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't
Marker Setup: PCS US-5
14 inch Progressive Barrel
48/3000 HPA
eVLoution w/ X-board Hopper
Strengths: Fairly Accurate
Relatively Inexpensive
Weaknesses: NOT Easy to re-assemble after Tear-down
Review: Alright, So I am a relative newbie to you guys who have been playing for years. I was looking for an entry-level Milsim Marker that wasn't too expensive, that was easily upgradeable and reliable. My local pro shop said, "Here try this." I took it shot and I shot some of the others. This one fit the requirements and my budget. So I bought it and played with the same day. The first thing I noticed was that it was pretty accurate. (Not as accurate as my friends Auto-cocker, but still not bad.) I can't afford to throw tons of paint so I try to make the shots count. The rate of fire was enough to keep the other guys pinned when I needed too. It wasn't 20bps but It worked. It was reliable and fairly inexpensive. I shot 1000 rounds in the 3 hours that we played and I never chopped a ball.

One of the other things that I liked about the marker was that if I wanted to go to electronic it was a simple 2 screws and Voila! done.

The biggest downside I had with it was the dis-assembly was easy but RE-assembly was a real pain in the butt. The cocking mechanism spring was irritating and so was the rear spring(which I bent and had to figure out how to make it work). I took it apart to find a leak that was hissing with it and when I finally got it back together. It hissed all the more. I was sooooo frustrated. So I took it back to the store where I bought it and they fixed it for me. (It was a couple of the o-rings not seated correctly.)

*EDIT* Don't use Co2 with this marker. It freezes so fast. That is what was causing the leaking. After I switched to HPA it works really well.

Conclusion: For the price (for me about $150) and the look and feel of the marker as well as the upgradeability. I would say this is a good entry-level milsim marker. Definitely not for the speed-ball player nor the advanced. But I am happy with it.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 24th, 2006 at 6:42 am PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Spike440 Friday, December 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath LCD R-15 Board
14" Empire Twister Barrel
47/3000 PSI Crossfire
Diablo Frontsman TSA LCD hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel
Strengths: Durable
Weaknesses: Horrible accuracy
Loud
Kinda huge
Review: Okay well I tested this gun out at practice and I didnt care for it too much. I would rather use a 98c with no barrel than use this. IMO this gun shoots horrible and is loud and has a pretty heavy trigger pull. There are a few advantages though I guess, either I was having a bad day or else this gun was, not sure. I would recommend a new barrel and if they even have it a double trigger kit and a faster hopper to avoid ball chops ( surprisingly I only had 3 chops out of all the paintballs we used that practice )
The gun is durable though, it reminds me of the A-5 in looks but im sure it cant outperform the A-5... I would think. Hopefully I will have my gun fixed by wednesday so I dont have to use another one.
Conclusion: I feel this would be a pretty good woodsball/scenario gun, it sorta goes along with the 98c and A-5 theme, very tough gun, you could prolly run it over and it wouldnt even bend. Definately needs a new barrel though. Overall, its not that bad of a marker. NOT RECOMENDED FOR SPEEDBALL! ( thats what i was using it for in practice and man, i got owned almost every round :( )
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MooseTaco Thursday, October 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
custom 98, A5, X7,
Marker Setup: Us5 , 5 position car stock, proggressive barrel, remote coil
Tac8
Recommended
Upgrades:
- barrel
-e-grip
-electric hopper
Strengths: -Reliable
-Easy to maintain
-Lasts fairly long on a 20oz tank


Weaknesses: -Crap stock barrel
-Have to disassemble to clean if a ball breaks
-Loose feedneck needs
Review: The PCS US5 is a very reliable gun. I have had mine for about two years and haven't had many problems with it yet. I would recommend that you get a new barrel for it because the stock one is crap. Also the US5 has a very loose feedneck, it moves a lot and is very irritating. The annoying part of this marker is you cannot field strip it very fast. The worse part of this is you have to take the gun apart to clean it if a ball breaks. There are many small parts that can go missing and is a pain to put back together as well. The good part about this marker is that is is usually reliable. It doesn't chop balls all that often and last quiet a long time on a 20oz co2 tank. As well the gun with a new barrel shoots very accurately. Lastly the marker is good for how much it costs. You won't find very many good markers for this price.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for the money and is very reliable. If you want a new marker and are looking for something cheap you should defiantly buy one of these.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PCS-Carnage Saturday, June 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, Tippmann a-5
Marker Setup: Pcs Us-5 Mechanical marker
200 round PCS Hopper
Adjustable Car Stock
14" inch PCS Barrel
Fore Grip
Iron Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
red dot (don't really need)
Tactical strap ( if dont have remote line or under 12 oz of Co2)
Strengths: accuracy
easy to take apart
looks sick
light trigger
Upgradable
Weaknesses: Co2 might come loose (300 shots)
Hard to cock (come back all way)
Review: I got my gun a few days ago. I went out shooting. never chopped a ball (about 300 shots). This gun is very accurate about 50-80 yards away only missed 2 times (2ft by 2.5ft board). The problem I found with this gun is when the shooting was about done the Co2 came loose. This is not a problem because a half turn will fix it. This gun is fairly easy to clean it only took about 20 mins for it all.
Paint to consider using:
Mariballizer 500 count $22.99
Premium 500 count $19.99
Super Swirl 500 count $14.99
The super swirl paint would take my vote because i use some of all these paint and the super swirl has a hard shell but when it hits it break 99.9% of the time.(30-40ft).
Conclusion: I would really recommend this product for non-intence just want to go and play some paintball. The price of my kit with everything end up to $250 with tax. Also gun is similar to a-5 without cyclone feed so if that doesnt matter get this gun and UPGRADE it with the money you save. (Unless Brand Horse). So in all this i only found one minor problem and it probably can be fixed. So i would give this gun a solid 8.5 but imma feeling nice today so i will give it a 9. Also to finish they basically have fixed to problems from before.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chazg27 Monday, March 20th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: PCS - US5 Mechanical
No accessories, straight out of the box
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade barrel
Strengths: Sites, accurancy, looks
Weaknesses: Hopper elbow joint
Update: Unreliable
Review: I was a little sketchy at fist buying this A5 knockoff really, but the owner of the shop said he would stand behind his word and give me a full refund or sell me another marker if I wasn't completely satisfied. He had a lot of confidence in this marker. And at almost half the price of an A5. I thought I'd give it a shot. Well I'm not at all disappointed. I'm relatively new at the sport, but I was able to hang with the big boys. The marker is still new to me and I will follow up with more findings as they arise, but I am completely satisfied with this marker. I will be upgrading the barrel though, and will give a report on if it makes a difference or not. The marker is pretty accurate as it is. But got to see if I can make it better of course. The marker is easily upgradable as well. It uses the same barrel threading as the spyder. It has a drop in electronic trigger package available as well. It will take all the accessories of the A5 I believe. Only difference one can see from this marker and the Tippmann A5 is the hopper. It is pretty accurate out of the box. Has been very reliable thus far. I've shot about 2500 balls through it so far and not busted a single ball. Air consumptions seems good as well. Only think I would complain about is the way the hopper elbow lines up with the marker when swinging it open and shut. If the screw is a little loose, and it does get loose often, the hopper rattles around a bit. Just need to put some locktite on the screw that holds the elbow to the gun. Other than that, haven't found any other issues yet.

Update: Well I've had some setback with this gun and ended up returning it. The FIRST one worked great for about 3000 rounds, then it started leaking air. I took it to the proshop and they broke it down and couldn't pinpoint the problem right away, so they just gave me a new gun.
THE NEW GUN: Had problems with it right out of the box basically. Was not shooting accurately at all. Was shooting at a telephone pole from 30 yards out and only hitting 1 out of 4 shots. Chopped two balls in the first hopper I shot. Marker was double tapping occasionally, which I thought was cool, but it's not suppose to do that. And the barrel finish did not match the gun. Took it back to the pro shop a few days later and they hooked it up to compressed air and it just started auto firing about 30 round burst. Needless to say, they gave me a full refund and I'm going to bite the bullet and just go with the A-5.
Conclusion: I thought I was on to something at first and made a good deal, but I guess you get what you pay for. This is an A-5 knockoff. I do not recommend it. Looks good, worked good for a short while (the first one anayway), but had to many issues.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 1st, 2006 at 6:11 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media