paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic

Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS)

Buy Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic
[ View Photos (27) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
10* bottom line and vertical mounting
standard inline bottom-line holes accept standard asa or drop forward
adjustable foregrip
pirahna style barrel threading
MP5 iron sights
flip down top tube for eay breech cleaning
side cocking
field strip pins allow use of AEC
Semi, 3shot burst, full auto
Product Availability 
The Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ykwak Saturday, March 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months53 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Flatline Barrel, Low-Pressure Chamber, E-Trigger, and Response Trigger setups. - You can't really compare them!! The Tippmann A-5, in my opinion, is in a Different class...why? Because it is more expensive, and has a cyclone feed.
Marker Setup: Tippmann SL-68 II w/ Sniper Barrel, Red Dot
PMI PCS US-5, Apex Barrel, Tippman A-5 Expansion Chamber Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel - A MUST! Get rid of the Stock ASAP
Faster Hopper (Ricochet AK or Faster)
New Bolt when available - The stock bolt is plastic...and if you chop a ball on the paint, you're accuracy SUCKS until cleaned.
Red Dot Sight - Remove Iron Sights
Remove the Circular Crown in front of the rear sight...this is paintball, and a range
adjustment knob is pointless LOL...also, it just blocks the view
Strengths: Look In Review
Weaknesses: Key Weakness - Chop a Ball, and you MUST disassemble to clean
Look In Review
Review: Being an avid WoodsBaller, i was becoming tired of being Underpowered. So, i went to look for a Tippmann A-5 with flatline.
Well, after doing some research, i noticed that PMI PCS had introducted the US-5.

Yeh Yeh, many say "Tippmann A-5 copy" but so what?

It's a MUCH cheaper gun and has good accuracy, distance, and velocity with a BT Apex Barrel.

Great with a Progressive Barrel or J&J Ceramic

More Stated BELOW
Conclusion: [STRENGTHS]

- Very Sturdy Construction
= this thing is built solid...I feel that it will last quite a while
= the basic build is a 2 piece frame casing which encases ALL the internals
= the trigger assembly is within its OWN housing, and so you dont have to worry
about those tiny trigger springs and parts going everywhere... : )

- Excellent Customer support (thanks brian)
= the one thing about PMI that i really respect is their warranty service

- Easy to switch from Mechanical to Electrical
= you only need to remove 2 allen bolts, and either "clip" slides into the handle
so...you can easily change to a mechanical trigger if your battery dies OR if it
starts to rain...unlike on Spyder Imagines or high end electronics

- Electronic Trigger is VERY easy to operate.
= although its not Programmable, it is GOOD for the money.
= you get semi-auto, three round burst, and full auto at the touch of a button

- Feed Neck flips down
= this makes it MUCH easter to squeegee because the feed neck can actually be
moved out of the way since it is on a hinge.
= Even Better, You can KEEP the hopper ON the gun and simply unlatch the
Feed Neck, and swing the Feed Neck and Hopper down, so that the paintballs
dont fall out when cleaning the gun while upright

- Reliable thus far (this will be updated as necessary)
= only 2 recocks needed during a 5 hour scenario, and primarily due to broken paint
shells which got caught behind the bolt and powertube area, causing excess
friction (Do Not Use a Non-Motorized Hopper if shooting full auto...durrr lol)

- SPYDER THREADS and Possible Change of Threading
= just about every barrel is offered in spyder threading, and if it is offered in spyder
threading, it can be used on this gun...unlike Tippmanns
= if you currently have a spyder, you can switch barrels between guns - SWEET
= The BT Apex barrel is Phenominal thus far
EDIT: Got rid of the APEX barrel...not very useful in speedball. Upgraded to a 14in J&J

- Apprently CHANGEABLE Barrel Threading
= the barrel threading is actually set by a REMOVABLE cylindrical piece that is fitted
into the gun - Called a Thread Adapter

- Trigger Assembly is ENCASED in its OWN casing, away from the other internals
= When opening the gun for stripping, you DONT have to worry about trigger
components flying everywhere. The springs, etc are all encased in a small case
WITHIN the gun

- Very Simple layout and Design
= Removable Iron Sights, Removable Front Grip, Simple Layout, ONLY 1 Spring-
loaded component to worry about when field stripping, and this is the Rear Spring,
which is Very easily removed via 2 clips

- Shoots Hard...this means use Good balls. Nothing too brittle (ie Big Balls)

------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------
[WEAKNESSES]

- cannot increase the ROF on the e-trigger

- Stock Barrel is terrible, and the inside is not honed very well...MUST REPLACE

- Gas Efficiency with CO2 is SUBPAR...HPA works MUCH better
= I suggest a decent expansion chamber, and removal of the front grip

- DO NOT field strip this in the woods...UNLESS you have a reliable area that will not
hide any pieces. Also, it has Many Screws to Undo
= since all the internals are held together by 2 casing plates, opening the gun in
conjunction with clumsiness can result in spilling many of the parts.

- The bolt does NOT SIMPLY come out - Bad if you need to clean the bolt during a game
= you must OPEN the Entire Marker Casing to clean the bolt, striker, etc...
= Not as easy as a spyder, but not as many SURPRISES to worry about either
EDIT: If you chop paint, you MUST clean the bolt. It will NOT fire accurately if there is paint on the bolt. That's right, you have to disassemble the WHOLE marker and clean the bolt. --- I cant wait for a NEW Anti-Chop bolt ---

------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------

I bought this gun with much skepticism and feable amounts of hope...I really just
wanted to give PMI a chance...and try it out.

First thing I noticed was that the gun is JAM PACKED with Features...for a modest price. For Under $170 in some places, you can get an AUTOMATIC that has more features than a spyder imagine. (I picked it up for $130 shipped off ebay)

Also, ALL MAINTENANCE for the gun can be accomplished with ONLY 4 tools.

1) Phillips Screw Driver
2) Pball Gun Oil
3) Allen Wrench
4) smaller Allen Wrench
allen wrenches are provided, and the screw driver is simply for opening up the
trigger casing - on the rare occasions which would force you to

[WARNING] Do NOT do maintenance if you lack some mechanical skill. Putting the gun back together can be rather frustrating without a 3rd hand if you are new to such endeavors.
But, after stripping the gun a couple times, just about ANYONE can get it down pat.
(i.e. marines and army guys can strip an m-16 with eyes closed..with enough practice)

------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------
- Field Test: 5 hr scenario.

I went through about a 1/2 case of paint during a scenario match.
Combined with an APEX barrel, the gun was holding up VERY WELL against Tippmann A-5's with Flatline Barrels. Although I received a few chuckels and unkind gestures from some Tippmann Lovers, they had to admit that this gun was shooting at a good speed with its e-trigger WITHOUT having to spend more than $200!

------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------
Overall, the gun performs well. And I MEAN it. I am naturally a Tippmann Fan, but i am NOT displeased by PMI PCS's introduction scenario marker. Yes, it is somewhat unoriginal, but they make up for such transgressions with Excellent Customer Service, a CHEAP Automatic, Easy to Maintain gun, and other useful features.

IF YOU ARE LOOKING TO GET A TIPPMANN 98 Custom or A-5 with Flatline / E-Trigger, just take into consideration a PCS US-5 electronic. So far, I am impressed, and can outshoot quite a few tippy owners. With a BT Apex Barrel, you can be shooting on par with most Flatline setups, and with a Faster Hopper like a Ricochet AK, you will hold up great as long as your skill is up to par.

Basically, Buy this gun OVER a Tippmann A-5 if you want to have an AUTOMATIC and FLATLINE-TYPE setup for UNDER $300. (by purchasing the BT Apex Barrel)

FOR NOW, i give this marker a 10 rating...why? Because it has so much potential...lets give PMI PCS some time, and see what goodies they release for it...programmable trigger? Lighter hammer? Lighter, metal internals? hmmm.
------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------
Just added a Universal Expansion Chamber, 3 stage Kit.

I refuse to go HPA LOL!!! thats right...i only refuse because i got the x-chamber for so cheap. Anyhow, most Tippmann A-5 External Upgrades and Standard Fitting upgrades will fit onto the PCS US-5
The x-chamber works great. Consistency has improved a fairly noticeable amount, and i no longer have serious worries of freezing snow flakes getting into the gun's internals. Also, I have seen about 20 to 30 shots more on avg on a 9 oz.

_____________________________________________________
EDIT: April, 10, 2006

Been playing with it every weekend at local fields.
Well, the Apex barrel is NOT meant for speed ball. So, I sold it and got a J&J, which works VERY well on this gun.

One thing that is bugging me real bad so far...if you chop paint on the bolt, you are going to shoot like crap until you disassemble the whole thing and clean the bolt.
I HOPE there will be an Anti-Chop bolt for this gun soon.

Took the x-chamber off and changed over to HPA. With a replacement spring, my velocity was very stable.

After a few months of play, i still love this gun...even with some of the headaches...I guess I learned to AVOID chopping a ball very well with this gun : p
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 11th, 2006 at 9:48 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

The-militia-Man Thursday, June 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Marker Setup: 16inch Smart Parts linear
Electric clip
PCS car stock
Apex barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock
new barrel Stock one is really bad
possibly set up to run on remote
new hopper
Apex perhaps
The new double trigger
New JCS powertube
Strengths: Full auto
takes all a5 stocks
durable
PMI has awsome tech support
Very affordable
Weaknesses: When you chop to clean you have to take the gun appart to clean.
Review: First off i love this gun i have been using it for some time now. I must say i love the full auto. I like that fact that it takes all a5 stocks and that it is spyder threads. I have heard from PMI when i called tech support that if you take out the us-5s barrel addapter you can put an a-5 thread barrel into the gun and it will click into place but will not thread into the gun. the gun comes with all the things needed to maintain it for some time.
Its just an overall awsome gun to get if you like the milsim style but not that big of a tippman fan this is the way to go.

Addition.
I have been having some problems with a whobbly feed neck and called up pmi tech support and they are sending me a new on for FREE!! I have put an apex on it and its so freaking awsome on this gun i would say get it for sure... or put an A-5 flatline on it.

Double trigger has come out on the market along with a ton of other upgrades and such check actionvillage.com or www.pcs-paintball.com to learn more.

edit:

JCS came out with a new power tube so you can replace the stock plastic one!
Conclusion: This gun is worth the money. I would say get this over the a-5 but thats just me talking.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 10th, 2006 at 6:07 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

War3245 Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo, Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: MacDev reg, 16" progressive barrel, 20oz tank, Ricochete AK, rail offset with red dot scope, JCS RVA w/ combat folding stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Good Regulator
A Rear Velocity Adjuster
A Barrel Upgrade
A Electronic Hopper to Keep up w/ E trigger
Strengths: Fast Rate of Fire
Reliable
Lots of Upgrades
Weaknesses: Cant Accept All A5 upgrades
Cant Field Stip easily

Review: I finally got to field test the gun in the first scenario of the year.
Gun performed to standard. I never had 1 chopped ball.
Make sure you buy a good brand of paint. This gun does shoot hard.
The RVA was a great add on and so was the reg. It made the gun perform even better.
The quick rate of fire change button worked fantastic. It came in very handy on several occasions when changing from assault to sniping I could quickly change from single to full auto.

Update: Make sure the paint you buy is a good or decent brand. I had alot of trouble with origin paint.
Conclusion: Great gun
I think PMI has a winner with its first scenario maker.
You can get most all the perks of the A5 without the money.

If you dont believe me check out some of the other reviews.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 27th, 2006 at 7:02 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Ionsuxors Sunday, December 4th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 93 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Model 98
Model 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Shocker with TonTon gripframe
Recommended
Upgrades:
None.
Strengths: Looks like a Tippmann so some people might be tricked into buying it.
Weaknesses: Its not a Tippmann!!! Go buy the original!
Review: This gun needs to offer something Tippmann doesn't:

You can't add eyes.
You can't add grips.
You can't make it vertical feed.
You can't make it compact.
You can't add the cool military barrels because its Spyder threaded.
You can't add a double trigger becaue the Tippmann one doesn't fit.
It is the slowest electronic gun on the market.

It doesn't come with Tippmanns durability, warranty or customer service.

This one did not work in mechanical mode because the trigger would get stuck in the back position.
Conclusion: Go buy the original, buy a Tippmann. Or save a couple more dollars and buy an Ion.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
33 Comments - Add Comment

Luistheguitaris Monday, April 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom- nice gun but pain in the ass to take apart.
Tippmann A-5- I think some of the parts used on this gun are manufactured by some of the same manufacturers as tippmann.
GameFace Recon- Fast reliable gun.
Marker Setup: PCS US-5 Electronic Gun with 2 piece All american Barrel, Custom Mag Kit, PCS SAW Stock(very comfortable stock by the way), Halo Backman Hopper, and a remote line.
Kingman Spyder Xtra- don't buy this, just get an imagine, its way faster and you can get them on action village for 65.00 dollars sometimes.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely new barrel, maybe expansion chamber if you use co2 on gun, and a better bolt.
Strengths: Inexpensive
Decent rate of fire
Easy Trigger Swap
Weaknesses: Plastic Bolt
Stock barrel is pretty crappy
Review: All right now, I bought this gun about a month ago and I have gotten a lot of criticism from Tippmann owners already. Most have told me this gun sucks because it has no cyclone loader(and its not a tippmann). Who needs a cyclone loader if you buy a good electronic hopper, Cyclone loader can't be exchanged with other guns. The gun is very solid and hasn't given me any serious problems yet. However if you break a ball in the gun, your accuracy will suck ass until you open it up and clean it. The rate of fire is enough to scare most poeple into cover and a tippmann E-Grip only goes 2 balls per second faster.

The gun will accept any A-5 stock which is definitely a plus, and some A-5 magkits(as long as it can be bolted through the bottom of the gun, on the bolt that originally held the stock handle).

I played with this gun a weekend ago and most of the poeple we were playing with were sporting A-5s and 98s and such. It handled very well and I was hitting poeple from awesome distances with the full auto(I can't aim worth crap so I just unload on people when I get in range). Most of the Tippmann loyalists stop telling me crap about my gun after that game. In fact some them were asking me where to get one.

Conclusion: Overall this gun is great gun for the price. It has a decent rate of fire and can look pretty menacing with the right upgrades. If you want a higher rate of fire for a similar price range, you might want to look into the Kingman MR-2 Or the game face recon. Both of those guns have a milsim look with a good rate fire. Personally I love the way the US-5 looks and handles so I am giving it a 9 out of 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DragonReborn Saturday, December 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98'- not as good, mabe just cus its mech
A5- Cyclone feed is hard to been but other then that its just as good.
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot-stock
VL Revolution hopper
PE 20oz CO2
Overlord sidearm
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel-duh
repsonce trigger
electro hopper- revy is fast enough, halo is uneessisary but hey it looks cool
*q loader
remote
Strengths: Fast (for a tippnman copy)
light (again reletive)
nice sight
spyder threaded (usefull)
Weaknesses: Meh, i didnt use it enough, it didnt seem to have any obvius weaknesses
Review: so i swiched gunes with this kid at a local field for a day and heres what i though
Fast- compared to a 98' this thing is realy quite fast, it kinda kept up with me, i only jammed it once. (i can walk my duble trigger spyder at like 17 when i throw a halo on it, the acs is nice) But when i got up to like 14bps is jammed, no prob i filed stripped and cleaned it in game. accuracy was nice, even with a spyder stock barrel (lol) . It had nice groupings. Nice on gas, better then any spyder ive ever used, very efficent. It was not overly buly, if i owned the gun i might have slapped a qloader on it, might. Also a remote would be nice to make it farley concealable.
Conclusion: if u want a cheap scenario gun go with this, its better then the 98' and the VJ tac, if you dont care about looks as much, then a spyder may be moore suitable, especialy if you like speed ball. Its a great gun, i enjoyed playing with it, way more then i liked my Pilot beofre i got the ACS.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 17th, 2005 at 7:43 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

NS RecPaintball Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Tippmann 98C's (this was my first gun)
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster
CP Inline Regulator
Cp 2k5 On/Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, old one likes to lob, and as always with CO2 powered markers, an expansion chamber
Strengths: Dosent chop paintballs
Good Price
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Hard to field strip and maintain.
Review: This long weekend, I went up to my buddies cottage for a fun weekend of woodsballing. None of us are pros at paintballing, we just wanted to have a good time. Out in the woods, this gun performed very well; it was shooting straight and true, 0 balls chopped out of 600 rounds, and full auto was simply awesome for unloading on trees other people were hiding behind.

Another thing I have to mention is this markers durability. I must've knocked it against a tree like 3 times (stupid me) and it was still good to go. Suddenly hitting the deck from a standing position didn't mess up the insides or chop any balls. I won that woodsballing fiesta too ; )

EDIT (November 06): Okay, so after having this marker for a while now, there are definatly a few problems with it. I find it really hard to field strip, and the internals a pretty low quality, compared to the BT4 internals. For example, the BT4 spring guide is made of metal. Eventually, my PCS spring guide (plastic) completely snapped. When I asked for a new one, PMI sent me a Piranah spring guide (thanks..) The spring guide was free though.
Conclusion: This is an okay marker for your first. Personally, I would seek other options. Im against the mainstream, but the A5 is a pretty good alternative. This gun was great at first, but when the bad customer service and the low quality internals came into play, this marker got really frustrating to maintain.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 2nd, 2007 at 8:45 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GoodwineSI Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nearly every tippmann semi-auto.
Marker Setup: Halo B/rip drive. Tasco 30mm red dot.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Whatever suits your playing style
Strengths: Cheap, mp5 looks, solid, easy to upgrade, and maintain. AEC is great!
Weaknesses: Not the fastest ROF ( but considering my paint budget, I say thats a good thing)
Review: I bought this gun knowing only what I could learn about it from the internet. So I wasn't 100% sure wtf I was getting myself into. I payed 190 at a local shop ( he also sold me the halo b for 95, and threw in 1000balls) I got it home, put the batteries in my new loader, took out the rechargable that was already in the AEC put it on charge. Then I threw in a regular alkaline 9v, and headed for the back yard. Right off hand I could see I had a new barrel coming in my near future. It is a hard hitter, and has decent range, but nowhere near as accurate as my bt4 assault (but compare barrel sizes on the two 8vs14) so aside from that I really enjoyed using the AEC. Idiot proof fire mode changing. Trigger was nice and light, not too much slop. The rate of fire isn't the fastest, but its MORE than enough to get someone to duck there head back down while your friend runs for new cover. After playing in a small pickup game (9 of us) I really sold on this gun. Not ONE broken ball, or hicup from the gun. Got plenty of kills, and the other guys ( 2 a5 owners) were more than a little impressed. The gun also came with a charger, and a mechanical trigger clip. As with most new guns only a couple tools are needed to strip it.

This gun is also easy to modify. Out of the box it accepts sypder and paranha barrels, but I've already seen spyder to a5 barrel thread adapter, and spyder to 98c adapters. So your barrel choices are endless. It can also accept a cyclone feeder (with just a tiny bit of modification). Hopefully PMI will release some board upgrades for the AEC, but if not I won't be too upset. It also accepts most tippmann a5 external mods (mag kits, stocks etc...) Overall I am VERY pleased with this gun.
Conclusion: Great price, easy to mod, very durable, AEC is extremely handy and really easy to change, if you need to go mechanical for a day. Wouldn't hurt to upgrade the barrel. For the money this gun is a steal! 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Yaksha Sunday, September 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5 (Only tested)
Tippman 98 custom
Spyder Pilot
auto cocker
Marker Setup: electronic Us 5 with 6 stage expansion chamber about to switch to hpa so that will come off
J&J S2 ceramic barrel/ Apex barrel
ruffus dawg venturi bolt
cyclone feed (like an A-5)
rear velocity adjuster (havent installed yet)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Replace the stock barrel
If your stuck using CO2 use an expansion chamber
not having an anti-chop bolt you need to use a battery hopper or put a cyclone feed on. (see below for info on that)
Strengths: it's an A-5 only cheaper
cyclone can fit
Weaknesses: Heavy
most upgrades have to be tweeked to fit
Review: Went to my local paintball store and told him the way i like to play, and asked him what marker he would recomend. He said it came down to two the A-5, or the US-5. Since the US-5 was cheaper and I wondered how much extra gas the cyclone feeder would use I left with the US-5. For a little less than the price of a mechanical A-5 I left with the electronic US-5. I'll admit this was the first marker I owned, but since I have shot several others including: A-5, custom 98, spyder pilot, and a few others.
The good:
I must say that I am very impressed with this gun, it shoots very well, is fairly fast, and is extremely reliable. The gun gets more shots per fill than my 98 custom or the spyder. Freeze ups seem to not cause any damage, it's very rugged and reliable.It's nice that you can change out the e grip for the mechanical just by pulling two quick release pins. I love that it uses spyder threads as this makes it easy to find barrels cheap. Even with no anti-chop bolt or eyes this gun chops very few balls (with a good hopper).
********update***********
i have added a rufus dawg venturi bolt and have adapted a cyclone feed onto it. these two mods made the gun 100% better.
the cyclone was very easy to adapt all you have to do is to buy a cyclone feed for a 98 custom and grind the lip off where it mounts to the side of the marker so it will sit flush. the pin spacing on the two feed necks is the same. take out your power tube and drill a hole thru the little nub on it, then carefully cut the threaded nub off the 98 power tube thats included in the kit and epoxy it over the nub on your power tube (it is just the right size) then drill the hole in the side of the marker big enough to fit the new threaded nub and put it back together. go enjoy not needing an electronic hopper.
the new bolt just required cutting four short slots in the end of my power tube then it slid right in. after this mod. the gun isn't nearly as picky about what paintballs you shoot. (in fairness though it still wont shoot the wal-mart balls that my 98 will shoot, but o well i like it much better lol)
you won't use it much but the apex barrel is good to have as a second barrel, it comes in handy if you run up against someone with a flatline. it will shoot just as far plus can be adjusted to shoot up and then drop (to get someone behind a log) or even to get them behind a tree.
The bad:
I must admit that before the expansion chamber full auto was unusable (with CO2), but after adding it i can run the hopper dry and not freeze up. Without a cyclone feeder you must use an electronic hopper if you like to shoot fast. When you do break a ball you must strip and clean the gun or you won't hit anything. To clean the bolt you have to take the whole gun apart. Doesn't like cheap balls.
Conclusion: I would highly recomend this gun. It's a very good marker and should give years of reliable service. As some have pointed out it is based on an A-5 but that is a strength as the A-5 is a proven reliable design. If you want an electronic A-5 you should really consider the US-5. You get most of the features of the A-5 for $80.00 to $100.00 less. the main advantage to the A-5 is the cyclone and that can be put on this gun and still be cheaper than the A-5. I really think that anyone who buys this will like it. In my opinion woodsball guns don't get any better than this (for the money).
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 25th, 2008 at 11:18 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

deathbypaint Friday, May 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 and the 98
Marker Setup: US-5 w/ AEC
elec. hopper
combat stock
8 stage expansion
Empire 7 piece barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
elec. hopper
expansion chamber
Strengths: Cheap
Durable
Accurate - sans stock barrel
ROF selector
Weaknesses: Barrel
A pain to field strip
Review: All things said, the US-5 is a great marker for what you pay. You aren't going to be blazing past everyone, but you will do well enough. It fires fairly rapidly, however, you will want to take spare batteries because the ROF diminishes quickly when the battery starts to die and you will need an electronic hopper to keep up with the AEC.

The barrel is something you definately want to change-out right away. I went with a barrel kit that accomodates a wide variety of paintballs. I have actually ran 2000+ balls through it and never had a chop (and I use relativley cheap balls).

I also added an expansion chamber to help conserve gas and the combat stock helps aiming (and looks pretty sweet).

You probably will catch quite a bit of flak from Tippmann owners, but you can quickly teach them to keep their mouths shut...I have nothing against Tippmann, its a great company with amazing products, but the US-5 works just fine for what I use it for.
Conclusion: I would recommend this for the beginning to fairly serious player. If you are going to be tearing up the fields every weekend, I would say go for the A-5 or a more high-end marker, but if you go out once or twice a month like me, the US-5 is the "perfect" marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media