paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / DeadlyWind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel / DeadlyWind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel / DeadlyWind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel

DeadlyWind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount DeadlyWind

Buy DeadlyWind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


DeadlyWind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $75

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Deadlywind Wisper carbon fiber barrels are ultra-lightweight and quiet. They are compatible with the Freak(tm) replaceable inserts, so one barrel and a few inserts will do the job of multiple barrels.

Weighing in at 46grams (59 grams with insert), they are 2x to 4x lighter than other replaceable insert barrels.

Each barrel is precision filiment wound on the inside, satin sanded 2x2 twill on the outside, then CNC-ported with 3 spiraling rows of ports. You can't get any more accurate.

Already have inserts? Just buy the barrel by itself. Need an insert to go with it? Buy one or go with the 3x inserts and save!

Currently available for Autococker(tm) compatible threads and lengths of 12" and 14".
Product Availability 
The DeadlyWind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
MisterMister Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months26 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock PMR & A-5 barrels, S!te Stiffi CF barrel, PPS Brass barrel, Dye Ultra-Lite barrel, GTA Flatline barrel, Hammerhead barrel, Dye Titanium barrel, BT "M16" barrel w/ & w/o the APEX adapter... these are just the barrels that I have OWNED. I've shot MANY more then just this.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail:
Replaced with aluminum (back cap, eye lids, etc.)
Dye Ultra-Lite Frame
Dye DM8 feedneck
Critical magnetic return trigger
CP on/off ASA
Dye Throttle "Peanut" HPA tank (45/70)
Halo-B w/ Rip Drive, V35 board, and "Bone" battery pack
Recommended
Paintballs:
WPN "Elixir" tournament grade paintballs. Also used, Nelson "Special Forces" paintballs, & WPN "Toxic" paintballs
Strengths: Please see review
Weaknesses: Again, see review
Review: Okay... I have used almost every barrel under the sun over the past 2 years. I have spent countless hours doing research, and I have shot many MANY more barrels then I have actually owned (which have been quite a few, as you can see above). I have also owned many a marker. The last few being a BT-16, A-5, Auto-Mag, and PMR. This specific review is with my Proto Matrix Rail.

First, WHY I bought this barrel:

After finding out that they only make 3 different back sizes for my Dye Ultra-Lite barrel, I decided to get something that would be more versatile (better paint matching due to more options in backs or inserts). There were a few things that I NEEDED in the barrel though. I wanted it to be light, I wanted it to be versatile, and I didn�t want to NOT be able to clean it out with a soft swab (so I thought carbon fiber was out since almost ALL CF barrels will have their porting catch on the fibers of a soft swab and unravel).

SO, after doing a LOT of research I found that the Deadlywind "Whisper" CF barrel matched all of these criteria. It is VERY light, uses Freak inserts, and they give the porting a coating which prevents the CF weave from catching on anything! So after finding this out I ordered one up right away.

First impressions:

The barrel was VERY light. Right out of the box I noticed that it was about half as light as my Dye "Ultra Lite" barrel (also 14"). The carbon fiber weave was nice and tight, and the interior was smooth. Nice. I busted out my brand new stainless steel freak inserts, put some lube on it and slipped it in. Even with the insert the whole barrel was noticeably lighter then my Dye UL barrel. Sweet.

I took the whole thing out back, properly matched the paint to the correct Freak insert, slid the insert into the barrel, gassed up and shot away. I immediately noticed that the accuracy was spot on. Also it was VERY quiet. Quieter then my UL barrel and stock PMR barrel, that�s for sure. After 30-40 rounds, though, I saw some paint spray out the end of the barrel. I kept shooting though (walking at 15+ BPS) and to my surprise the accuracy didn�t change at ALL, so I figured it wasn�t a break... well that�s what I thought anyway. After emptying the Halo I looked inside and sure enough I had broken a ball (or more then one?). What impressed me though was how well it shoots through the break(s). I didn�t once lose ANY accuracy or consistency! It kept shooting like it hadn�t broken at all. Awesome.

The problem:

I cleaned it out, and loaded up. I went out back again to try another time. I, again, got multiple breaks (but it still shot through with ease just like before). Now I knew something was up. My marker NEVER chops or breaks! After a few minutes I found out why. I could see that the bore in the barrel where the Freak insert slides into was TOO LARGE! The insert didn�t line up correctly and when I pushed on it with my finger there was a LOT of movement. I also saw that EVERY break occurred where the end of the insert met the carbon fiber in the barrel. Not so cool.

I thought perhaps it was my brand new Freak inserts, so I borrowed my friend's aluminum inserts. I know for a fact that these are perfect because he has been using them without fail for months now. The same thing happened. It didn�t line up correctly and a lot of movement was apparent.

The solution (resolution):

I called Collin at Deadlywind and explained what happened. He agreed that the barrel seemed to have been over-bored during production. He said he had never seen this before, but he believed me and wanted me to send it back to him. I did so and waited a few days. 4 days later I called Collin back up. He confirmed that there was WAY too much movement and that it, indeed, was over bored at the factory. He said he tried out 3 or 4 different barrels before sending me a new one and stated that while there was a LITTLE movement in all of them in regards to the Freak inserts, it was less the half of what I was experiencing with my defective barrel. He apologized and said a new barrel was in the mail and should be here any day now. I thanked him and patiently waited for my new barrel.

Conclusion:

The next day I received my new barrel from Deadlywind. Just as Collin had said, there was a little wiggle with the insert, but not nearly as much as before. I loaded up the Halo and went out back. I still got the same paint on top of pant accuracy, but this time there was no breakage of paintballs. In fact, if anything the barrel shot BETTER then before (which was a nice surprise since it was already well above average in terms of accuracy even with the defective barrel).

Now, I am not knocking Deadlywind, but they could do something to make their product a bit better. If you look at the Freak barrels, they have 2 o-rings inside the barrel where the insert slides into. One at the front of the insert and one at the back. These o-rings help hold the insert into place. The Deadlywind barrel also has the same design concept with the o-ring... but notice I used the singular version of "o-ring" and not plural. That�s right, they only use ONE o-ring. It�s located in the middle of the slot where you put the Freak insert. This works, but it doesn�t work as well as having 2 o-rings (as you can imagine... I mean it's just common sense). This was a little disappointing. In fact, if they had gone with using 2 o-rings, I probably wouldn�t have had the initial problem even though it was slightly over-bored!

But I digress...




Conclusion: ...Overall, this is a great product. It does everything it claims, and nothing it doesn�t. Its superbly light (even with the stainless steel Freak insert installed), its whisper quiet (it lives up to it's name), the carbon fiber weave is tight and well made, it uses the Freak inserts making it deadly accurate and versatile, and you can use soft swabs on it unlike ANY OTHER CARBON FIBER BARREL (take THAT Stiffi!). All of these attributes = a great product.

As far as its weaknesses goes, I can only complain about the use of a single o-ring rather then two o-rings in regards to where you install the Freak insert. If this wasn�t the case, I would have given the Deadlywind Whisper CF barrel a little higher score.

As is, however, it was well worth my money, and I am happy with my purchase. As the owner/operator of many MANY different barrels, this one is up there with my all time favorites. It's right up there with the Palmer-Pursuit Brass Barrel and the APEX adapter.

If you are looking to get a carbon-fiber barrel, and you don�t need a single bore stick (e.g. no inserts, or backs) then this is the barrel for you.

I just hope, that sometime down the road, Collin @ Deadlywind will decide to do a SMALL redesign and add that second o-ring.

NOTE: I bought the STAINLESS STEEL Freak inserts. I did this for a few reasons. First, there have been issues with size standards and the ALUMINUM Freak inserts. This is NOT the case with the STAINLESS STEEL (SS) inserts. Also, aluminum will expand/contract in heat/cold. This can affect performance. The SS inserts dont do this nearly as much as the aluminum ones. Last, but not least the SS Freak inserts arent much more in cost then them aluminum ones. My 8 piece SS Freak KIT cost only 10 DOLLARS MORE then the 8 piece aluminum version.

Now some people willt ell you the SS Freak inserts arent made anymore so they are hard to find or expensive. Not completely true. They stopped making the inserts because they have a huge back log of them (I called Smart Parts to ask). They have more then enough to cover demand without increasing cost to the customer or making them hard to find.

SO GO BUY THE STAINLESS STEEL INSERTS INSTEAD OF THE ALUMINUM ONES!

-Joe


EDIT: Please note, that I am not scoring this based on the factory defect found in the first barrel I had recieved. I am scoring this based on the PROPERLY WORKING barrel (the second one). Deadlywind backed up their product and sent me a properly working unit ASAP. Their customer service is quite reasonable. I only wish I didnt have to pay for shipping in order to send the defective unit BACK to them!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 13th, 2008 at 3:41 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

stonedtrooper42 Monday, August 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
kaner 14" - 144gm, good barrel came stock on my orracle.pain n a$$ to get out if back sticks in gun(pneumatics)7/10
evil pipe 14" - 151gm,little loud over all 6/10
aluminum freak 14" - 143gm, this was my favorite barrel for accuracy,consistency and loudness.only draw back it couldn't "self clean" 8/10
apr hitman 14" - 170gm, p.o.s. we'll leave it at that 2/10
cp 1 piece 14" - 140gm, surprisingly a really good barrel for the price.of course it's draw back is single bore size. 6/10
Marker Setup: '03 orracle;
e-1
slik edge bolt
madman springs
" rocket valve
belsales 44 ram
eclipse qev's
+ more b.s.

sniper 2;
orracle bolt
" valve
white wolf custom pump kit
belsales roller sear
+ more b.s.
Recommended
Paintballs:
as long as they're round your good to go...if you have a full sleeve kit.
Strengths: Read review
Weaknesses:

Need freak sleeves
Review: Ok i've given all the weights on every other 14" barrel i own for this right here...the deadly wind 14" comes in at 75gm, yes that's with the sleeve and almost half of an all aluminum freak. This is by far the biggest difference you will find seeing as how the bore control(5")is the same due to the same freak sleeves so the accuracy has been great. At 25' i can put 8/10 on the top of a 4x4 post. For comparison the kaner is a 4" bore control and just a little less accurate 6/10 the switch kit has a 1" bore control, but i haven't shot one yet so i don't know how big of a difference it would make, just something to think about.

Now if you do happen to get a barrel break(i can't get one without using a sleeve that's way to small!) unlike the freak tips(i've use all american,teardrops, and something that came on my toxic shocker) this will "self clean" itself in 3-4 shots.

As far as loudness my teardrop freak comes close but the deadly wind is still quieter.
Conclusion: Take into account the huge weight difference and the balance of your marker before going carbon fiber...my orracle feels "back heavy" with it's e-grip & 90cu tank, while it's right at home on the sniper2 w/22cu tank. Manufacturing quality looks great and has held up so far will update if anything changes.

Bottom line if you want accurate, if you want light weight, you want a deadly wind barrel

**2-10-07** Well I found out the barrels strength today when I slide off a hill-side(raining+steep hill) and stuffed it into a rock! I thought it would be a goner...nope didn't unravel or crack, just a small scratch! With no affect to it's performance I say agian this is the perfect barrel. I also bought one for my shocker sft.***
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 6th, 2007 at 1:12 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ThunderCube Wednesday, December 14th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz Pepperstick, Smartparts Freak, Lapco Bigshot, SITE Stiffi, Dye Ultralite32 Degrees Whisper
Marker Setup: Freestyle V7 - HR1 kit, STD JDS LPR
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any.
Strengths: Interchangable bores
Weight
Style
O-Ring
Weaknesses: O-Ring
Review: The Deadly Wind Wisper is a great barrel. I previously was using a Redz Pepperstick kit which I liked very much. The only reason for the switch was because I wanted to try something new. I'm very glad I chose the Wisper. It is very lightweight, like a Stiffi, however it uses inserts which are approximately 4-5 inches instead of the 1 inch Sw!tch bores. Freak inserts are also very easy to get so that is another plus. The exterior carbon fiber is very well done, and has a nice matte finish to it. The inside isn't quite as smooth, but I haven't seen any adverse effects from this. The barrel, which matched with the paint, is just as accurate as any other barrel kit. It also has good sound dampening with the good amount of porting. The o-ring which holds the insert in place does it's job very well, perhaps a little too well. You will need to either twist the insert or lube the o-ring, or you might pop it out - not a big problem.

This is a great barrel kit, especially if you want to build your own set from scratch.
Conclusion: I would buy this as a barrel kit if I was looking for another.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

John_hmstr Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP freak
old school Lapco stainless
SP All American
J&J ceramic
many many more.
Marker Setup: Smart parts ION with 360 QEV & L7v2 bolt
Deadlywind Carbon Fiber Isaria body shell
Hybrid bottom line rail with hybrid on/off ASA
68ci 4500psi CP HPA tank
Warp feed with modded intelliport activation and super hose
Low rise clamping feedneck
VL Evolution 3 hopper
Deadlywind Fiber barrel with SS freak inserts
Firemode: Rebound.
ROF: 0
Dwell: 12
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything will do as long as you got the correct insert.
Strengths: Ultra Light
Shoots through breaks
Accepts freak inserts
Great accuracy
Swabbable a huge plus.
Weaknesses: No major flaws yet, will update if any.
Review: A while back a paintballing friend of mine got really excited about this barrel when he got one, but I was skeptical cuz he was in my opinion way to excited about what looked like just one of the over rated fad Carbon fiber barrels of the past. "Ehh I doubt its any better then the freak kit I already got" I said. But the first time I saw the system (and felt how light it was) and tried it out on my buddies’ marker I was intrigued and decided to get one for myself to give it a shot. Plus I already had the SS freak inserts that the barrel accepted (Deadlywind this was some serious marketing genius on your part, cheers.) so it wasn't even going to cost that much ($89 plus a couple of bucks shipping.) both points were a big plus. So I put in my order for a 12" and a few days later a box shows up at my place. At first I was confused cuz I picked the box up and found it hard to believe there was anything inside it was so light. Opened up the box and found there was a barrel inside but it was the lightest barrel I had ever felt. With the SS insert inserted it was considerably heavier but still one of the lightest I had ever used.

First use, the first test shots I fired were consistently accurate and quiet. Suffice it to say I was impressed.

The first day I took it out to the local field and put it to use I was beyond impressed. Consistently very accurate, quiet, light, sexy looking, and able to shoot through breaks with little to no loss in accuracy. Broke 2 balls all day and the first I couldn't even tell until the game was over and I was cleaning up and pulled a great gob of paint out of my barrel with my straight shot squeegee and said "holy crap! Look at all that paint I didn't even know I broke one."

I know some folks aren't going to believe my review because I am so impressed but that first day really made a believer and a Deadlywind fan out of a person who has had a 10+ year paintball career and is typically not easily impressed by the newest paintball fads.


I have been several times since and every time I am impressed again and again.


Ever since I was introduced to this barrel I don't think I will ever again be caught using a marker without a Deadlywind fiber barrel on the business end of it.


Also I would like to note I had zero problems with the freak inserts not fitting properly as other have reported. Not sure if I was just lucky or if Deadlywind has fixed that particular problem but they fit snugly and securely.)
Conclusion: Crazy light, very accurate, quiet, accepts freak inserts, shoots through breaks like a champ, and sexy looking to boot.

With freak SS inserts it’s my opinion that in my long experience this is the best overall barrel system I have ever used hands down!

In case you couldn't tell how much I liked this barrel... If it could I would be proud for this barrel to be the mother of my paintball love child. :-P
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jon_doe48 Thursday, May 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi Switch kit
Smart Parts Freak kit
J&J ceramic barrel
Redz barrel kit
CP two peice barrel
Marker Setup: 07 Macdev Cyborg
06 ego w/ dark frame
violent trigger
M7 tadao board
warped sportz titanium rammer
CP on/off
KAPP drop forward
68/4500 pmi tank
dye rhino cover
14" Stiffi switch kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
No preference, had great luck with good and bad paint.
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Reliable
Quiet
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I've had this barrel for about 6 months and i gotta say, i love it. I use it on my WGP Prostock pump and the accuracy is amazing. I can't compete with my buddies flatline, but i come pretty damn close. As far as the paint that i've used in it, wal-mart crap to Draxxus. This barrel has done me proud. I've broke the same amount no matter what kinda paint i'm running.

The only con that i can come up with, is the price and the inserts. The only reason i say inserts, is because most people don't have them when they buy this barrel. Lucky for me, i just sold my freak front and back right before i picked up this baby. So, i already had the inserts. Overall, great barrel. Best barrel with inserts that i've ever used.
Conclusion: Great barrel, reasonable price, everyone must own one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kb58 Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi kit, Scepter kit, J&J Ceramic
Marker Setup: Angel 05 Speed
DeadlyWind Wisper carbon barrel + freak stainless inserts
Empire B2 loader
Crossfire 68/4500 carbon tank
Strengths: Light, quiet, good looks, accepts common barrel inserts
Weaknesses: Doesn't match the hype of quickly clearing paint.
Review: I've only used this barrel once so far, but got a chance to see how well it would clear paint.

Having just rebuilt my Angel 05 Speed, I didn't know what the chrono was and did some test shots (turns out it was hot.) After about 20 shots, I got a barrel break. Whether it was caused by too high a velocity or an incorrect barrel insert, it gave me the chance to see if the hype was true about this barrel quickly clearning paint in about 3 shots. Okay, 1, 2, 3, nope, still loopy balls, 4, 5, 6, no... I had to shoot about 15 balls through it before they started going straight again.

That was very surprising, and it makes me wonder how my barrel is the only one that doesn't clear like magic... hmmm. While I like this barrel a lot, for this barrel break at least, I'd have to say that my Stiffi barrel would clear far faster...

That said, I had put Rain-X in the Stiffi barrel, so who knows if that's the difference. I'm going to do the same in this barrel and see how it goes next time.
Conclusion: A nice barrel, with all the sexy appeal of a carbon barrel, and a good price (if you have the inserts already) but I remain unconvinced it clears paint as fast as others have said.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zoom707 Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi switch.
dye boomstick.
freak kit+freak front with stainless inserts.
Wgp Kaner kit.
Marker Setup: First gun: docs machine fastback blue to clear fade. Stiffi switch. Wgp twist feedneck. Nexus ram +2 qevs. Palmers mini rock reg. Sidewinder low pressure regulator. e2. Custom delrin bolt. samurai trigger. nexus valve. light springs. low pressure stubby 70 ci crossfire. T board by scenariodreams. (replaced e1 finally)

Second gun:
karnivor is all stock except for sidewinder reg and samurai. and e2 board.

New Barrel kit is deadly wind freak insert carbon fiber barrel a++
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any balls will work because inserts. I have not tried reballs yet though.
Strengths: Very+LIGHT!
Freak Inserts!
Quiet Spiral porting.
16-14 lengths available.
Slick bores.
superACCURATE!
Weaknesses: Carbon finish not smooth as stiffi.
no color options.
length not adjustable. with fronts.
Review: Ok this barrel is very good. And a simple and practical ideal. I love how there is no back to screw into a front that can get stuck together and/or stuck on your gun. I also love how i already had a freak kit and all I had to do was buy the deadly wind barrel and use my existing inserts. The accuracy of the deadly wind barrel compared to my stiffi switch is noticeable especially when it comes to using cheaper paint. Also since the bores of the deadlywind barrel are longer I have less barrel roll out of balls slipping out of barrel because small bore size. (autococker detents are useless because bolt is past detent when ball is in breech ready for fire. however the autococker detents prevent halo from double feeding). The stiffi has a stepped bore meaing that the barrel bore you put on lets say a 689 for example would be screwed on then that part connects to the carbon fiber part whch is 691 for about 4 inches then turns to a larger no friction part to guide the ball. so stiffi switch does have a longer control bore than the little 1 inch sizers may show. Ok accuracy. They are near equal but like I said the deadly wind will shoot the less consistently shaped paint almost dead accurate that other barrels cant shoot as accurately. I dont even compare any other barrels to the deadly wind or stiffi because they dont give me the accuracy. DYE boomsticks are way overrated my WGP kaner kit equaled the dye boomsticks accuracy and neather handle breaks nearly as well as carbon fiber.
Conclusion: ok you can spend
100 for deadly wind buy 4 freak inserts 8.50 a peice
totalling 135$
or you can buy a stiffi switch kit
150$ if you find one cheap.
they both kick ass. and light as hell. they both have a different look going
(stiffi being more flashy)
(deadly wind being more stealth)
they both shoot through breaks good and are super quiet. so decide on personal preference. I however If I bought the deadlywind barrel before my stiffi switch I probly would have never bought a stiffi switch. I have had problems with the stifif switch inserts getting stuck onto the barrel which was annoying and one time the breech sizer got stuck on my karnivor (beyond annoying) and it was almost impossible to remove with pneumatics in the way. So if you got a AUTOCOCKER deadly WIND definately is the way to go.

I would give this product an 11 if I could
so it will settle for a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gmonster88 Monday, February 8th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hammerhead Mofo, SP Freak Kit, CP 1 Piece, Dye UL, Stock barrel, PE stock Barrel, CMI, ETC
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Egrip With Was Board
Polished Internals
Techt QEPH
Techt Lightning Rod
Techt Vortex Mod
Techt Squishy Paddles
Techt Fang Trigger
Techt ZKH
Exalt Feed Gate
Stock Bolt/PT
Deadly Wind 14'' Fibur Barrel W/Freak Inserts
CP Grip Adapter
CP Razor Drop
CP 2k5 Micro On/Off
CP Fill Nipple Cover
CP 2010 68 4500
CP Tank Cover
Palmers 900PSI Stab With DYE Guage
Running my A5 at 550PSI without a LPK...
Recommended
Paintballs:
Use the best paint you can afford, Use a good paint to barrel match.
Strengths: Light Weight, Exceptional Quality, Good Porting, Great Paint to Bore Matching ability, Quiet, Extremely Accurate
Weaknesses: I did not buy it sooner.
Review: I tried the Hammerhead because of the Hype, The HH MOFO DOES NOT COMPARE FOR A NUMBER OF REASONS. I can say this barrel is the best I have ever shot. It turned me into a surgeon.

1) The HH mofo is an INCH SHORTER than the DW. (Even though both claim to be 14'' barrels)
2) The DW has Porting that extends half way down the barrel, No other barrels I have shot have this much porting
3) The bore match on the HH (fin) is 1'' are you F*cking kidding me? The DW has 5'' of paint to barrel match

The HH is a 13'' Barrel, It has 1'' of Paint to Bore match, the rifling stops 1'' before the porting meaning you have 11'' of ball to rifling. WTF? I had more issues with my mofo than my stock barrel... really? More breaks, more fly-aways and less accuracy sweet.. not to mention the HH was loud as hell.

The DW is THE MOST consistent barrel I have shot PERIOD. No hype, no BS, just performance.


Conclusion: I recommend this barrel to anyone who wants to get THE MOST PERFORMANCE out of their barrel kit without hurting their wallet.


This barrel is Bull S*it free. Get one ASAP.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 8th, 2010 at 4:20 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

slim_vela Sunday, February 5th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi Switch Kit, Smart Parts Freak Kit w/ Aluminum and Stainless Steel Inserts, WGP Kaner Kit, CP 4 Piece Barrel Kit (3 backs-1 front)
Marker Setup: Current: Defiant 2, LCD Matrix
Previous: Various '05 Shockers, Slide Switch Matrix
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any brand that provides a good paintball to barrel match
Strengths: Light Weight
Quiet
Utilizes Smart Parts Freak Inserts
O-Ring to secure Inserts
Weaknesses: Bore finish
No reinforcement/muzzle break at tip of barrel
Must use squeegie to clean
Review: Very lightweight as can be expected, and the fact that it uses Freak Inserts is definitely a plus. No matter what brand of paint you decide to use, as long as you have the proper insert your good to go. Stainless Steel or Aluminum, doesn't matter.

The version I am using is the 12" vice the 14". The sound signature of my Defiant was lessened considerably, and the already quiet Matrix is now quieter.

Accuracy is as can be expected from a good paint to barrel match. However, for me it did not clean through breaks as well as some have stated. Breaks were not due to chopping or bad paint/bore match, but more due to the quality of paint used. The fact that it was a thick-fill type of paint didn't help either.

Now I did state that one weakness I notice is the lack of a 'muzzle-break'. So far it is holding up well. But much like my first edition Stiffi One Piece barrel, I expect the tip to possibly start fraying. A simple piece of aluminum slipped/bonded over the barrel tip to help protect it would be beneficial, similar to the Stiffi Switch Kit barrel tip.

Also mentioned was the bore finish, near the tip to be exact. There are very minute pits, if you will, within the first inch of the barrel tip. Nothing of major concern, yet and hopefully not, but not the 'polished' finish one would expect.
Conclusion: Overall, this is an outstanding product that offers the best in barrel options. Lightweight combined with the use of sizing inserts and at a very affordable price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

jtb1689 Wednesday, February 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Kit w/ All Amerian Front, Freak Kit w/ Freak Front, Freak Kit w/ Stiffi Front, Stiffi
Marker Setup: -2003 ANS GENX-3 Chaos series
-12 in. DeadlyWind Wisper Barrel
-Dead-On Bullet On/Off Drop Forward
-Ricochet 2KX Hopper
-Dye 45 Pro Swing Trigger (Double Finger)

and

-AGD Automag RT Pro
-X-Valve
-Lvl 10 Bolt
-ULE Body
-CP Direct Mount On/Off
-Ricochet 2KX Hopper
-12 in. DeadlyWind Wisper Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Elminators, Nelson Precision, Nelson Challenger Premium, Nelson Anarchy, Special Forces, anything I guess
Strengths: -Quiet
-SUPER Light
-Cheaper than a freak back w/ stiffi front
-Very Accurate
Weaknesses: None
Review: I ordered this after using a buddy's. I had a freak kit w/ all american front for the longest time and I wish I had just bought this from the start and saved the money. Its just a great barrel. Plus, hardly anyone has it so you can know you can get an edge on people.
Conclusion: By this barrel right now. You can get it w/ inserts or without. Its better than a Freak back with a Stiffy front, yet at the same time its cheaper than both. Mine came without an o-ring in the back so the inserts slide in and out way too easy, but I called Deadlywind and they are sending me a pack of the o-rings free of charge. I've used a Wisper with those in and the insert stays just fine. BUY IT NOW!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 30th, 2007 at 12:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media