paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels / Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels / Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels

Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sly Equipment

Buy Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 25
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Carbon fiber barrel system that uses aluminium breech sizers. Comes in Pro, Stealth, and Camo editions.
Product Availability 
The Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
prd2bhmn Monday, February 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years31 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralight: Not as light, or quiet, but just as accurate
Dye Boomstick: Same as the UL, but heavier
Dye Excel: Not as light, quiet, or accurate (paint match may have been off)
Lapco Bigshot: LOUD, but pretty accurate
Marker Setup: Cobalt to Black DM5:
- Dye Ultralight Frame
- 12" SLY Dual Carbon Stealth/14" Stock Ultralight
- Orange Bolt
- Hybrid Clamping Feedneck
- CP ASA
- Halo B
- Nitro Duck 68/3000

Tippmann 98 Custom:
- Polished internals
- R/T
- Full Boar Shadow Bolt
- 14" Dye Boomstick
- Halo TSA Backman
- Adco Sureshot
- Dead On Drop Forward
- PMI 48/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
I played with Empire Engage and Empire Fuel all day with great results. No breaks and ball-on-ball accuracy.
Edit (4/26/06): I've now shot Draxxus Rec, Jt Premium, Worr Domination, and Evil through the barrel in different temps ranging from 40 to 80 degrees, and the barrel performed well in all conditions. It did break paint in the colder weather, but much less than my teammates' guns. Just run a larger bore size than you normally would, and you should be fine.
Edit (11/22/08): I've shot all types of Karnage paint through it with no breaks, even with three month old paint.
Strengths: Light, decent quality, quiet, interchangeable backs, great customer service
Weaknesses: Price, looks (some little things), fit and finish
Review: I bought the whole set, which includes four backs ($90) and a front (I went for the 12 inch, which is another $90). You can buy the barrel directly from the SLY website. It came with a clever little barrel organizer that has little pockets for each back and larger ones for holding the front; it even has room for three other barrels.

I was a little uneasy about the fit and finish when I looked at it for the first time. There seemed to be a layer of carbon dust on the inside of the barrel, so I washed it down before going any further. The carbon fiber section is matte...really matte, making the finish very dull and almost unattractive. I'm guessing they went for a less flashy, but more performance oriented design (I bought the stealth version). I was hoping it would be as shiny as it looks in the pictures they have on their site, but it's just slightly less reflective. The inside of the barrel doesn't have the mirror finish of the Ultralight, but it feels almost as smooth. You can actually see the fibers running down the length of the barrel on the inside...pretty cool. Anyway, the pieces fit together extremely well, seamless in fact. The backs have holes drilled into them, which negates the purpose of having that o-ring between the front and back, which SLY claims will "ensure efficient gas use"...whatever....a bit of a design oversight there. Also, the "tatooed" SLY logo on the barrel looks like one of those cheap model car decals...not very good looking because it has spaces of opaque film around the letters that make the barrel look a tad cheap. I also had a problem screwing the barrel into the gun the first couple times. For some reason, there is a good amount of friction between the threads, or possibly the gun's body and the side of the barrel.

The performance makes you forget about all those little (albeit anal) things...I mean, when it comes down to it, performance is really what matters. Having it look great is a plus. Trust me, It looks sweet....it just took me a couple minutes to get used to it, I mean come on, the Ultralight is a tough act to follow. Anyway, the barrel is really quiet...I can realistically say that it is quieter than my Ultralight (UL). My teammates (nor the team we were playing against) couldn't hear me shooting my DM5 at all. To be honest, they already had a difficult time hearing the report out of the Ultralight, but now it's ridiculous how quiet it has become. It kept them guessing as to when and where I was shooting from. The accuracy is awesome too. It's just as, if not more accurate than my stock UL, especially because of the interchangeable backs. I used a fresh box of Empire Engage and Fuel paint to test it, and it worked wonders. I didn't have any barrel breaks all day like I'd occasionally get at the front of the UL. As far as weight is concerned, it's lighter than the UL too.

Update (2/14/06): I emailed Tyson (the owner of SLY Equipment) and he was willing to replace the backs that didn't fit right.
Update (2/15/06): Apparently, the holes drilled into the backs are intended to allow the user to remove the back if it is stuck in the gun by using an allen wrench. Nice to know.
Update (3/5/06): I returned one of the barrel backs for replacement a couple weeks ago, and received it two days ago. Tyson test fit it to make sure It fits perfectly. He said that Dye changed the threads on the DM series slightly, which made the barrels fit poorly. I shot it in 40-50 degree weather yesterday with brittle paint (JT Premium), and it shot perfectly. I had two breaks out of the 1500 rounds I fired, and I was able to shoot through one of them.
Update (11/22/08): This barrel is still shooting strong. It's been through all types of torture, including miscalculate superman dives on gravel, falling off tables onto concrete, you name it. The tip is slightly worn, the sides have some gashes, and the logo is almost gone, but it still puts ball-on-ball. The holes in the barrel backs came in handy on several occasions when the barrel threaded too tightly. I'm buying a new one when I get my DM9 in a few days. Great product Tyson!
Conclusion: Overall I can say that this is probably the best barrel I've used since I started playing paintball five years ago...regardless of its little faults. I would recommend it to anyone willing to fork over the cash. SLY's customer service is awesome too. A problem with their server postponed my order, and Tyson (the owner of the company) emailed me directly. He gave me free next-day shipping to compensate for the delay. I give it a 9/10 because of all of the little things that added up.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 22nd, 2008 at 1:21 pm PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

Dayday Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various DYE barrels - accurate, breaks are a nightmare
Freak - accurate, heavy, breaks are a nightmare
Lapco - accurate, efficient, loud
Marker Setup: E2 '05 prostock with other goodies
Recommended
Paintballs:
I bought the kit, so most quality paint will work.
Strengths: - Accurate
- Quiet
- Light weight
- Looks amazing
- Comes with barrel bag
- Customer service
- Shoots clean?
Weaknesses: - Can't use fluffy squeegees
- It's so light that it feels almost fragile
- Price
Review: Every once in a while I'll see something new that I just have to purchase. The SLY barrel was one of those products. They did a great job of creating an image and a feel for their product, and although I can't really pinpoint what it is that makes me buy certain items...this barrel just has a cool factor to it that others lack.

Packaging: When I received my shipment from SLY, I was immediately impressed by the packaging. The barrels come very well packaged to prevent damage during shipping. Also included is a fairly nice barrel bag that has room for your backs and more. Once you get past that, though, prepare to be really amazed.

Looks: I ordered the stealth kit, and had to wait an extra week or so due to it being backordered. I always heavily research products before I buy, and I noticed that a lot of people were complaining about the "cheap" looking excess film (or whatever it was) around the logo on the barrel. I was less than enthusiastic about it, but didn't let it stop me from making the purchase. I was surprised when I took the barrel out to find no trace of white left. With this new batch, SLY has eliminated the problem. It's completely black on the carbon graphite background and looks absolutely incredible. On the opposite side of the SLY logo is the dual carbon logo. It's barely visible indoors, but the whole understatement and "sly" theme are pulled off well. The barrel also seemed to me to be much darker than the pictures indicate. It's got a very matte finish, which again, fits with the whole theme. I've never been more impressed by a barrel's looks.

Weight: Some people have claimed that the weight (or lack of) up front is so drastic that it actually throws the balance of their market off. There's no way that's true. While it is really light weight, it's not as if it's going to just float away. However, if you're looking to shave some weight off your marker, this is a great way to do it. I don't have access to anything that can be considered precise for weighing such a light weight object, but I'd guestimate it's about half the weight of a similar length aluminum barrel.

Fit: The fit between the backs and the front is about as perfect as you can get. The o-ring definitely helps, of course. The barrel won't come loose after shooting. The fit to the gun is almost too tight. I met some resistance screwing one or two of the backs in and out. At one point one of the backs got stuck and only the front unscrewed. Luckily someone realized this may happen and there have been holes milled into the back pieces to allow allen wrenches to be inserted to unscrew the backs. The front has to be removed to be able to do this, though, because when it's on it covers the holes (to, I imagine, maintain efficiency?).

Porting: A lot of people are reporting that this barrel has made their guns quieter. I'm not really sure how truthful that is. My previous barrel was a DYE ultralight and I think it's roughly the same. Velocity stayed the same as well when I switched, so they're about the same when it comes to efficiency.

Accuracy/bore sizes: The accuracy is the same as the ultralight, assuming good paint to barrel match. This kit came with the following sizes: .683, .686, .689, and .692. On their site, it says that the sizes are .686, .689, .692, .695...so they changed that at some point. And for the better, I think. I've never seen paint that needed a .695 barrel. The bore size is engraved really small at the base of the back. On their site it shows it much bigger, and it took me a second or two to find it. I almost thought I ended up with four backs without labels.

Shoots clean/squeegees: I haven't had a break yet, so I don't know how well it cleans itself out. I'll be sure to edit this when I do. And just as a comment to people who say you CAN use barrel swabs and other fluff squeegees - why would you want to? If you spend 200 bucks on a barrel kit, it makes sense to me to follow the manufacturer's instructions. As a side note, water won't hurt the barrel. I was wondering about that and got a definitive answer from SLY, in case anyone else was worried.

Edit 6/13 - Still no breaks. I may just break paint on purpose and see what happens.
Edit 7/7 - I broke paint on purpose and it took three shots to clean out. Not "clean enough to be accurate", rather it was "clean". Simply amazing.

Customer service: Tyson (the owner of SLY) emailed AND called me after I had placed my order to explain that everything was backordered. I exchanged a few emails with him after I had received my barrel (and we're talking fast replies, like within hours), and it's obvious he stands behind his products and cares about his customers. How's that for customer service? I would not hesitate to do business with him and his company again. I just hope it stays that way. A lot of companies start off like this and end up on the other end of the spectrum later on.

Edit 7/17 - I bought a PM6 a month or so ago, and my SLY didn't fit due to DYE changing their threads. I emailed Tyson two months after having purchased the SLY kit, and told him about my problem. He told me to mail the barrel backs in and he'd switch them out. Now, I realize he's done this for other people...but my case is a bit different. I bought the barrel for an autococker. Not a DYE gun. I also used the barrel on the gun I bought it for, multiple times. And he was still willing to replace it, no hassles, no questions asked, free of charge (with the exception of me having to pay shipping to return the barrels, he paid to ship the new ones back to me) and with a much quicker turn around than I was quoted. I cannot believe the level of service you get. It really does justify the price. Every company should model themselves after SLY, Tyson has his act together.
Conclusion: I had some reservations about buying such a new product, but all those fears were dispelled the second I opened that box.

If there was ever a barrel that deserved a perfect score, it's this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 17th, 2006 at 7:02 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nerdcore Friday, June 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lucky Un1tech - innovative design because of the full-length bore.
CP 2-piece - ok but kits are costly.
Freak Jr - not a fan of inserts.
Equation Bizerk - again, not a fan of inserts but this barrel was pretty good.
Marker Setup: ul'd DM5 w/ Critical trigger, Hybrid Hedlock, CP asa & EPEK flow plug.
CP 2-piece
Halo B
Crossy 68/45
Recommended
Paintballs:
It's a kit, so any.
Strengths: Light
Self-cleaning*
Weaknesses: Price
Can't use swabs**
Review: Ran into some money so i decided to splurge on a Sly kit , ordered through a local shop. Barrel kit came in 2 separate packages, one for the front (+ stickers) & one for the 4 backs (+ barrel wrap case & more stickers). Sly spends a lot on packaging for these things.

All the pieces were well-manufactured. Backs were anno'd & polished w/ engraved bore sizes. Front was nicely glazed. The two Sly jewels on the front stuck out a lot but they were small - just an observation.

Fronts & backs screwed together nicely. No hangups or snagging & they stayed screwed together. The backs also stayed screwed onto the gun very well... a little too well. In fact, that may have been Sly's intention, as they included holes in the backs so you can use an allen wrench as leverage to remove them from the gun (holes have no effect on performance, as the front covers them on the interior when screwed in).

Barrel is incredibly light, obviously. And i can't say much more about that.

Accurate as hell! Shot arrows like Robin Hood, son! Shot ball on ball w/ a good paint-barrel match. First had it on a Mini, then used it on my cousin's 2k5 timmy and finally on a Gen E Matrix. Used Karnage Bite, mostly.

*The Sly does indeed clear breaks very well, as advertised. Takes about 3-4 shots. I had even chopped a couple times with the Mini and it even helped clear that, although it couldn't clear the breech at all; it still regained most of its accuracy.

However, i over-bored in one instance just out of laziness and broke a ball or two and found that it had trouble clearing it. My first assumption is it clears better with a good paint-bore match but i don't know how that'd affect the front, since that bore is wider, anyway. I never did test the theory further.

**Can't use swabs, fluffy squeegees, etc. The swab fibers can catch onto microscopic strands of carbon fiber around the porting and unravel it, essentially ruining the barrel. But you can always use rubber squeegees or straight shots and be fine - or just shoot through the breaks.
Conclusion: Overall great barrel aside from the price being relatively steep. Still, worth the money if you want a super light barrel, like the carbon fiber look, and actually have the cash to spare.

I actually sold mine but only because i needed the money to pay for more essential things... like bills.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Permiwood Friday, March 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi, CCM, Ultralite
Marker Setup: Black to Red Fade PM6, 14" Sly Stealth Carbon Fiber barrel

Black Promaster, ccm no pro feedneck, Proto 2 peice barrel(of my PM6)

Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus
Strengths: Light, Quiet, Accurate, looks cool, cleans paint very quickly.
Weaknesses: Kind of Expensive for the whole kit.
Review: I was very cautious getting this barrel as it was new and not very many reviews on it, but I thought it looked cool and the idea of a tapered bore to reduce ball drag was a good Idea, so I thought I would give it try. My first impresions when I got this barrel were good it comes with a nice barrel wrap to hold other barrels, and backs, I was impressed with the finish on the barrel, its more like the stiffi finish then the ccm finish which I like. So I went got my Promaster(this is before I had my PM6) threw the barrel on and went to shooting my first impressions of shooting it were it was alot quieter than my ultralite and a little bit more accurate than the stiffi, I then put some paint that I found setting around while moving that was probably about 2 years old and started to rip, I went through a Empire B and no breaks so I loaded up another hopper full started to rip and finaly a break, I took 2 shots after the break and it was shooting perfectly again. I then got my PM6 and put it on that went to the field and I must say I love how this barrel shoots on my PM6, I did have a problem with my Empire not being able to hear the gun shoot, so I traded my Empire for a Halo, this barrel with the flat shots of the PM6 were a beautiful mix, I went from really liking the barrell on my Promaster to loving it on my PM6, it shot alot better than the stock proto barrel and alot quieter.
Conclusion: This is by far the best barrel I have ever had, and will probably be the last, infact I will probably be buying another one in the pro finish in a 12" barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Msabercr Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye ultra light
stiffi
redz pepper stick
javelin
wgp two piece
Marker Setup: Angel Speed 04, Evolve Kit, Sly 14" barrel kit with .689 barrel back, CCM Clamping lowrise feedneck, sidewinder regulator, tadao musashi 7 board, 05 tpr grip cheaks, system x push button on off, system x centerflag tank with nxe cover, redz neoprene barrel condom, anti chop bolt, halo with victory board
Recommended
Paintballs:
not sure
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I only shot one type of paint through it and that was proto. let me tell you it did not like proto at all my gun hasn't had a barrel break in a while and thats mainly because i shot proto through the stock infinity barrel so i figure hey i just got this new barrel why not try it out and see how well it shoots. well i screw it in and air up first thing that happens is a barrel break with a .689 back. know i dont really like barrel break and it hasn't happened in a while so i thought maybe i chopped. I open up the breach clean as a whistle only thing left to do know is try to get the other backs for the barrel. so i go on the website and see that they have the 5 piece back set but geuss what. no angel threading they have everything else but no angel threading i wonder why that is. i havn't persued it any farther yet i will as soon as i reck my infinity which wont be any time soon
in the mean time i'll try other "recommended" paint and see how it shoots
Conclusion: After testing further after my first impression i have concluded that the sly is very tempermental as to what the ball is made of. i found that almost all of the diablo and draxxus paint shoots extremely well through it. it didn't like anything in the rps spectrum besides bigball and marbalizer. chronic shot well, xball shot awesome, and gap is what im about to test next. revised review is a 7 because good barrels should be able to shoot any kind of paint you throw at it
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 2:32 pm PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

blackbox619 Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
14 inch Dye Ultralite - very lightweight and accurate, very similar to the Sly
16 inch Dye Boomstick - much heavier than the Sly but just as similar in accuracy
Marker Setup: 2003 BlackMagic Autococker
- E2
- Planet Eclipse Nexus kit
- Slik bolt
- CCM delrin pump arm
- CCM delrin backblock
- CP reg
- Check it unimount
- Egg
- 68/4500 Crossfire CF tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've been using Stinger housepaint at my local field and had an excellent experience with the Sly. I haven't tried anyother paint because thats the only paint that they sell there. I use a .692 back.
Strengths: Strengths of this product include quietness and accuracy.
Weaknesses: Can't use a barrel swab to clean because it will damage the carbonfiber inside.
Review: I shot paint through this all day long and broke paint once but it cleaned itself out after 2-3 shots exactly like Sly said, that was amazing because after the game I took off the barrel want wanted to clean the inside but it was spotless!! Like I said, this barrel its quiet and very accurate. I shot paint over 50 feet and they all hit around the same spot within eachother and there was no ball dropping.
Conclusion: I highly recommended for the money it goes for! You can sell all your barrels and just keep this one. I rate this a 9 because Sly sent me the wrong size barrel, I asked for a 14 but they sent me a 12 so i decided to keep it to avoid the hassle of returning it and waiting for a 14. Overall this barrel gets the job done!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 12th, 2006 at 4:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deano 177 Monday, June 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is the first barrel that I have owned with the adjustable sizes
Marker Setup: ][nvert Mini olive w/ Techt gold bolt
Empire Vents Avatar with fire thermals
Halo V35 w/ green empire shell or Smoke Reloader B2
68/4500 Crossfire/Pure Energy with DYE covers
][nvert 3+2 Loaders
][nvert Digi Woodland Outfit
][nver Digi Red Outfit
VS3
Spyder MR 1
Halo Frontman
14" j&j barrel
Spyder E-trigger
Palmer's Stablizer

Recommended
Paintballs:
That's the good thing about these type of barrels... I have been shooting Draxus, Kickin', Diablo heat formula 13.... What ever. Just don't change paint without resizing your back...
Strengths: Carbonfiber is light
Different backs for different paint
Shoots clean
Lifetime warranty
Weaknesses: No fluffy swabs...
Only 4 Different backs
Review: I got the "DUAL CARBON MIL SIM" (I don't know why it says mil sim with white writing on it?) which shows on their site as a cocker thread only and avaible with the 14" front. I guess the different fronts will work with all the backs...

I have been in the market for a new barrel for my mini for a while. I know a guy who has a stiffi on his mini and it is pretty sweet. His barrel is a one piece so he can't change his bore size(I don't think!). He paid a little more than a hundred for his. I wasn't prepared to slap down a hundred for a barrel that you couldn't change the bore size even though it is really quiet and looks great. I took a trip to the B!tchin PB to check out their knee pads and they just got one of these in. He would have sold me one back and the front for $120 ish or the whole package which included 4 backs, the front, a barrel bag and a free t-shirt for $171.00. Seemed like a good deal and I had seen another guy at my field running a mini with the yellow Infamous style SLY CF. So I said what the heck and bought it.

First impressions:
One of the first things that I noticed was that it was very well constructed and super light.

Once I sized my pballs (.683 I think), I took it to the target range and was hitting some tight groups. I was shooting at a 4" disk @ around 65' and hitting it 3 out 4 shots. I also noticed that I didn't have any "zingers". 95% of all balls that I shot went straight and true.

I also noticed that the report of the marker was pretty quiet. Mini's are already quiet even with the stock barrel but I don't know how you could get much quieter.

There are only a few negative aspects with these type of barrels: No fluffy cloth swabs can be used in them. I guess the fibers of the swab gets caught in the carbon fiber of the barrel. It will void your warranty. I would like to see a few more backs. You only get 4 with this barrel in sizes .683", .686", .689", .692". I'm not sure if they are going to offer any other sizes.
Conclusion: A good barrel for a decent price. You may not have all the options of the freak barrels (8 sizes?but really, do you guys with the freak inserts use all of yours?). Good for players who never know what paint you'll be using next.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 14th, 2008 at 11:14 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

77BECKER77 Wednesday, May 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye UL- Louder, less accurate, heavier
Ego 5 Stock barrel- heavier, louder, less accurate
Marker Setup: Ego 5
45/45
Sly kit
Empire B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Our Field paint shoots great, and so does Draxxus Blaze
Strengths: Light, Accurate, Bore Backs, Appearance
Weaknesses: None Found
Review: I was looking for a nice barrel kit and was trying to buy a dye ul and maybe 2 backs but the cost of that was a huge issue. By buying the sly i saved myself alot of money and this sly kit is great. It comes with a nice barrel wrap that holds 6 bores and 2 barrels, and has other various pouches. Great product.
Conclusion: If your looking for a great barrel kit, look no more.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thrice Friday, March 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
cp barrel
Marker Setup: stock system X NME LE Black and Yellow w/ low pressure 68/45 reloader b (empire) sly barrel 14" 689 BACK
Recommended
Paintballs:
i use stingers alot because they are so cheap, and they shoot really well.
Strengths: Super light!
Accurate!
Shoots through paint!
No swabs!
Life time warranty!
Weaknesses: Price
Can't use swabs, but you dont need too!
outside peals with stickers
Review: DON'T PUT STICKERS ON THIS BARREL...THEY PEAL OFF THE CARBON

I went to Huntington beach hoping to get my hands on the lucky barrel but since they went out of bussiness i looked eslewhere and saw a sly booth. First off i was amazed about how light this thing is. and the look of the carbon barrel is pritty nice too. i got mine for 105$ with the back. i wanted to test this so bad because they said it will shoot through paint and i didnt believe it...well i tried to break a ball.. really i did!! but this barrel never chops! i feild tested this at slpat and i never broke a ball. 2000 paintballs no breaks!! another going i used some other persons brittle paint and i broke a ball and the very next shot was straight as can be!!! i was shocked...and this barrel took so much wieght off my gun!
Conclusion: Great product.. great service.. life time warranty...worth the money!! you will never buy another barrel again!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 9th, 2007 at 10:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

no samples Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nite stick- very good for price
boomstick-over rated
ultralite-over rated
teardrop-good
Marker Setup: agd mag
ule
x-valve
level 10
drop forward
apache hopper
macdev legionair
sly camo barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
x-ball
all stars--my favorite
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: Have not found any.
Review: First of all the barrel itself is beautiful. the quality of workmanship is obvious. the packaging and barrel bag also very impressive. the accuracy of the barrel is better than any i've ever shot. i cannot speak to the fact that the barrel is suppose to self clean after a barrel break. i've put about 3 cases through it and have not yet had a break. i have noticed after a day of play the barrel has had residue on the inside(i suppose due to oil on the paintballs). that has not affected accuracy. the only reason i noticed is because i always wash my barrel after play. people say not to use a barrel swab on carbon fiber. i use a pull-through squeegee and it works great.
Conclusion: Awsome barrel. i know the price is high but if it's the last and only barrel you'll need then in my opinion it's worth it. so .......do not get this barrel if you're ever gonna play against me. otherwise get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media