paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 06 Proto Pants / Proto 06 Proto Pants / Proto 06 Proto Pants / Proto 06 Proto Pants

Proto 06 Proto Pants Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 06 Proto Pants

Paintball Pants and Shorts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 06 Proto Pants
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 33
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 2006 Proto pant is built to perform, built to look good and built to last. Adjustable waist with velcro closures makes a perfect fit every time, while the inner leg venting will keep you cool under fire. The lightweight design allows you to be comfortable, while the super-strong construction will hold up to aggressive play. Reinforced padded knee panels give protection against knee impacts and vented cargo pockets allow you to carry what you need. The combination zipper and button crotch panel is padded and helps protect what's important. The sublimated paneling on the sides keeps bright and clean after washing. Leg piping and PU logos finish this pant off with a cool look and great style.
Product Availability 
The Proto 06 Proto Pants are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
SpyderPaintz Saturday, March 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: WGP 05 Prostock Autococker Blue
Dye Stickey3 Grip Black
SS Freak Back & Insert AA Front 14"Blue
Crossfire 68/4500psi Nitro Tank
Richochet AK Black

Back up
Spyder 05 Pilot ACS Black/Blue
Trinity Clamping Feedneck
SmartParts 14"Progressive Barrel
20 oz C02

Spyder Imagine LED Black
20 oz C02

Strengths: Looks
Padding
Venting
CrotchPadding
Sturdy
Light
SideStraps
Bounces
Pockets
Pod Loop
Weaknesses: Price
Review: Looks - This is personal preference to does it look good, as for me, I love it and their are many colors to choose from.

Padding - Their is lots of padding in major spots where it can hurt the most, The knee pads work very well and my knees don't have bumps on them at the end of the day from all the time on the ground.

Venting - The venting on this is perfect, I never sweat thanks to it.

Crotch Padding - THANK YOU!!!! It Really truly works!!! I have been hit their about 5 times since i got it and it has never hurt!

Sturdy - The material it is made out of works like a charm, it can take a beating play after play and is just great for paintball.

Weight and Fittings - This is a very light pant with strong threading that will not rip very easy. The side straps are their too. Along with the size you get you can also adjust those and it goes from about +5 to -5 either way. Great sizing

Bounces - Bounces can be a good thing or a bad thing, Depends on the person, If you don't like it get shot on the lower body and have it break and get out then this would be a positive for you. But if you cant stand the pain of a bounce then this would be a bad thing.

Pockets - Their are 4 pockets, 2 on both sides near your hips like most pants and 2 on both sides a little bit above your knees, These work great and rarely come open without human force, can hold lots of things and pretty big.

Pod Loop - Their is a loop on the back that holds 1 pod, Great for just quick little games or if you don't want to carry around a big huge belt. Personally, I find this to be awkward and uncomfortable feeling but works awesome, Very tight and the pod wont escape. But keep in mind that if you try sliding your pod will most likely break open....But that's just comman sense.

Price - Costed me around 80 Bucks and that can be a lot. But this product is completely worth it, It is pretty much the same as all the Dye pants except different looks and cheaper.



Conclusion: Just get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mountain-man Friday, December 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: soon to be...
black ion
q-lock feedneck
scythe trigger
unimount
black halo
68/45 tank
Strengths: Sturdy materials
Well padded
Squeegee pocket
Pod holder
They look sweet too
Weaknesses: They could have used thicker padding for knees and put padding on hips
Review: These pants are the cheaper proto version of the dye c6, so you know your getting the dye quality in the pants but for like 60 bucks cheaper. They are well vented with vents running down the inside of both pant legs and a light mesh inside to the pants. These pants are made with durable yet lightweight materials that makes these a great pant to start off with without breaking your wallet on buying c6 pants. They've got a very flexible crotch so you wont worry about splitting your pants when making that big slide. The pockets are also big enough to allow you to hold whatever you need to bring on the field with you and the pants have built in squeegee pocket and a spare pod holder on the butt.
Conclusion: These are great lightweight durable pants for the money. If you cant afford to buy some dye pants than these are the way to go. I only give it a 9 because they could have made the knees a litter thicker and put padding on the hips too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kingandrew3 Saturday, June 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used to have camo....
Marker Setup: black ion with new designs on off with degass (duckbill=fugly!), halo b, air america 45ci 4500 high pressure
Strengths: Price, looks, padding, venting
Weaknesses: No hip padding, and sizing is weird
Review: Well, i bought these pant a little bit ago, and they are really comfy, excpt for the fact that the sizing is for short fat peope. I am 160lbs. and im 6 ft 2, and i got large pants, and they are a tad bit shorter than what i would like, and i have to cinch them a lot to make them fit. I like the knee padding, and these pants work really well. I got 3 or 4 bounces of my knees alone. only one broke, and i didnt even feel it, the refhad to call me out, because i didnt know i had been hit.
Conclusion: If you are a short fat person, buy these pants, tall and lanky person, try them on before you buy. (i hope i didnt offend any weight challenged and vertically challenged people.)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

minnie_you Sunday, March 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
uh, Jt tourney pants (no comparison)
Marker Setup: blue ion, asp qev kit, 14" all american, blackheart board, ndz wave trigger, cp perfect rail, cp on/off, ccm no rise feedneck, cp reg, hybrid lady gripz
black halob w/ rip drive
47/3000 nitro duck tank (soon to be crossy 45/45)
Strengths: LIGHT
pretty cheap
pockets
dye quality
*crotch padding*
Weaknesses: Sizing (see review)
You are compelled to buy the whole gear set (they look great)
Review: Uh, after my Jt tourney pants ripped completely up the crotch (i could fit a pod and a bottle of bawls in it) I pretty much had no choice but to buy a new pair of pants. My team decided on the '06 Proto line.
After playing with the JT's, these pants were so light that it feels like i wasn't wearing them (it was kinda weird). Anyways, these pants are really light, they have a nifty little pod loop in the back for walk on games or those runs to the snake. These pants have just as many pockets as the JT's or any other pair of pants for that matter. IMO, you don't really need that many pockets for speedball, it's got three swab pockets, one on 0n the left pocket (like the jt's), one on the right, and a long one on the shin of the right leg.
These pants are really messed up on the sizing. I'm a 34 and the smalls were too short, but fit perfect around the waist. The mediums are what Iwear and the length is perect but the waist barely fits. These pants are very adjustable.
Conclusion: I love these pants. I have the complete '06 Proto gear set up (gloves, pants and jersey) they all look really good together. With Dye owning Proto, you know you're getting that great quality that Dye is known for. (9 for the size issue)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 5th, 2006 at 10:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OTEdge Friday, September 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jeans - Tighter, Less Durable, Suck4Paintball
Dye C6 - Same Thing, More Expensive
Marker Setup: 05 Prostock
Planet Eclipse E2
CP On/Off
AIM Clamping Feedneck
SS Freak Back
AA Front
Crossfire 68/4500 HPA
Smoke VLocity
Strengths: Durablity
Padding
Movment
Straps
Pockets
Weaknesses: Price
Below The Crotch Pad
Review: Durablity
These Pants Are Designed For The Rough Terrain Of Paintball, Its Hard To Expect More Out Of These. When I Slid On Any Ground The Padding Never Comes Loose. The Only Durablity Issue I Had With These Pants Is Below The Padded Crotch Area Their Is Thin Stretchy Matrieal That Rips Very Quickly, I Had This ReDone And Had to pay $35 For It But Nearly 3 Weeks Later It Ripped Again.

Padding
The Padding On These Pants Is Incredible, Dye/Proto Dosent Skim On This, Their is Padding On The Knees, Upper Butt, and For The Guys ;) The Crotch.
This Padding Is Strong And Shouldnt Come Off, UnThread, Or Rip On any Basic Use, Slides Very Well and When Kneeling You Can Hardly Feel The Ground.

Movement & Venting
Dye/Proto Once Again Made These Pants Excell In Here Too, Unlike Jeans, These Are Very Baggy Which Not Only Helps With Bounces, But Allows For Better Movement Too.
These Pants Are Light and Well Vented, During The Summer at 105 Degrees, I Do Not Sweat In These Pants. Their Is Much Venting On The Sides and I Dont Know Where Else.

Other Gadgets & Gizmo's
Beside From The Incredible Looks, Their are Many Straps To Help Adjusting Sizes, Such as on The Waist. Next Is The Pockets, This Was The Main Reason For Buying Them, I Used To Lose My Barrel Plug Inside Jeans. Their are alot of Pockets On These, Their are 2 On The Upper Sides, 1 On The Sides Of Each Knees, Next Would Be The Squeegee Pocket on The Right Leg Down Near Foot.

Final Thoughts
Many People Will Say These Cost To Much But They are Well Worth The Money, Some Things I Do Not Like Are, That Rip Under Crotch Pad. Last Is The Squeegee Pocket, Which I Find Not To Work, You Put a Double Squeegee In And It Stays Their, Infact It Stays Their So Well That On The Feild Is Really Hard To Get Out.
Conclusion: I Bought These and I Love Them To Death, Their is A Few Centimeters For Improvement But These Problems Are Hardly Anything The Complain About, A Real Bang 4 Your Buck Here. Good Job Proto!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

mmkxbox Friday, December 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
jt,dye
Marker Setup: spyder pilot acs
viewloader evolution2
two 12oz tanks
Strengths: Crotch padding+++
Thigh padding
Knee padding
Pod carrier
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got these babys for 50$ and i was all i have to have them. So i did took them for a spin and when the paintball hits you your like did something hit me. The crotch pad is a mega plus because you cant even feel it. There the same as dye exept lower tag$.
Conclusion: Best pants i have owned.Period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wannabedynasty Tuesday, July 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: A-5 with rufus dawg wicked venturi bolt/response trigger/pro team carbine 6 position stock/16 inch Smart Parts Linear Barrel
Strengths: The mesh makes it feel like your wearing shorts
Weaknesses: Only an idiot would think there are something wrong with these
Review: These thing rock their perfect for playing in they move with you and they have a padded crotch which of course is gonna come in handy. And also they have mesh on them so it makes it feel like your weain shorts
they could not get any better and the loop for the pod works perfectly if u just want one pod for practice or somthin i think they work great!
Conclusion: They kick @$$
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jlogan16 Saturday, June 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-C'5
-C'6
Marker Setup: Eclipse SL66 EGO - XSV Edition (White/Blue)
Strengths: Bounces
Padding where in counts
Won't rip in the knees and plenty of padding
Weaknesses: Sizes r a little off so try them on before u buy a pair
Review: These pants are great. They cost me around 80 bucks at the local proshop. They are very similar to the dye pants without the price. My first impression of the pants was that they were very similar to the 05 model. However, after putting them on I found them 2 be way more comfortable. The padding has been improved and the ventilating seems to me as though they have made it better as well. The durability is fantastic as well. I have used the pants for 3 months and they have no rips. The pants have four pockets and a squeegee holder. I dont no why u would need pockets other than to hold ur wallet put these things always stay shut .
Conclusion: I would recommend these pants for anyone looking for an affordable pair of pants.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BeerIsGoodForU Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Just regular camo jeans
Marker Setup: A-5
E-grip
Drop forward
12' Tippmann werks barrel
vortex mod
Palmers QEV
Ricochet hopper
jcs dual trigger
Strengths: Looks great, well built, good pading, lots of pockets (with velcro)
Weaknesses: A little warm on hot days - I stress LITTLE
Review: It is a great pant. It is a little warm but I only notice it after playing, not while playing. I will trade that off for its comfort, duribility, fuctionality and looks any day though! I got mine really dirty the first time out and they cleaned up super easy (just NO DRYER). I got a ton of people telling me how great they looked and the Olive color rocks - I play woods ball too.
Conclusion: Great pant! Comfy, great design, it looks good, and they are durible. Get 'em!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snuballer71 Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Wind pants and snow boarding pants no paintball pants.
Marker Setup: Black ION w/cp drop & ndz clamping feedneck, dye grips, REDZ Pepperstix barrel, pure energy 68/45, VLevolution w/ Zboard, vforce profiler, Proto 06 gear
Strengths: Adjustable waste, many pockets, crotch pad.
Weaknesses: Too short, sizes are off, bottom of legs are too small.
Review: I love the waste and the way the pants fit, the only problem I have with them is that they are too short. I'm 6'1 and the pants hit me mid ankle when I sit down. Also the bottom of the legs, the openings aren't wide enough and can hamper movement as well. That is the only problem I have found with them. They are great looking and fit great except the length.
Conclusion: If you are average size or a little below these are great pants but if you are kinda tall and bigger (like me 6'1 225) the sizes are a little off. I should have gotten an xxl but for future reference I'll know.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media