paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hammerhead BangStikxx Barrels / Hammerhead BangStikxx Barrels / Hammerhead BangStikxx Barrels

Hammerhead BangStikxx Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hammerhead

Buy Hammerhead BangStikxx Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hammerhead BangStikxx Barrels
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 5
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $94

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The "BangStikxx” which is a “premium barrel” that is made to accommodate a removable fronts accepts a sound suppressor and can be used in both woods and in scenario as well.
Product Availability 
The Hammerhead BangStikxx Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Sgt._Slaughter Tuesday, June 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Sim-4 barrel
Marker Setup: Ariakon Sim-4, with polished and cupped striker, Delrin Bolt, Delrin striker, AKAlmp tornado valve, moly coated recievers, palmer stabilzer, Hammerhead bangstikxx barrel with opsgear R.I.S. shroud, Miltec WG/MT-65 mag kit, Viewloader Evolution 3, UTG bi-pod, vertical foregrip, Spyder rocking trigger, Ariakon led trigger, Red dot scope, 4X 32mm hunting scope.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS premiums, anything high quality paint.
Strengths: Accuracy, variable bores, reverse porting, weight, craftsmanship, consistency
Weaknesses: Price... my kit cost just over $300.
Review: I was a bit skeptical about laying down such a large sum of money for my already impressive Sim-4, but many friends who have a great deal of knowledge on ballistics swore on this barrel after they bought them. I finally broke down and bought my kit, and haven't regret it at all.
Being a woodsballer and scenario player, I liked the Idea of reverse porting. Now from the shooter's perspective the actual noise heard is very loud compared to any other barrel. However the target doesn't hear much noise at all since the porting directs the sound toward the shooter. In my opinion its more of a nice to have.
Rifled? Does it help? I doubt it, the ballistics of a paintball are not like other projectiles such as bullets, in fact the theory of having rifling in paintball barrels can have reverse effects and throw the paintball off tangent since you can't apply an axis to a non-full liquid paintball.
But I must admit, regardless of the rifling, the barrel is dead on accurate. I've placed shots on top of each other without any deviation in grouping. The Barrel is flat out state of the art.
Conclusion: Price wise, if you have the money and want the best barrel on the market, then go for it. However you could spend about $150 on a carbon fiber barrel kit and have great results as well.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeepeejeeps Thursday, July 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J & J 14 in Ceramic Barrel
Stock (Yuck)
Marker Setup: Custom 98
Hammerhead BangStikxx w/ shroud and suppressor
Spec Ops Air Thru Saw Stock
Tippmann Cyclone Feed
A5 Richocett Hopper
Electronic Trigger w/ W.A.S Board
BT M4 Carry Handle
RAP 4 Sling System
RAP 4 Scope Mount
JCS Power tube w/ Delrin bolt
SWAT Force Tactical scope
Bipod
Rocket Cock
Recommended
Paintballs:
High quality. I have used Sever Hurricanes and Marbs. Both worked wondrefully. Don't go cheap if you spend the money for this barrel
Strengths: Increased distance and accuracy and great looks. Complete package.
Weaknesses: Expensive if you buy the whole package. Outstanding customer support.
Review: I love this barrel. Works as descibed increasing range and accuracy due to the rifled barrel, and reverse porting makes the barrel quite when its being shot at ya. Shooter hears the noise. I have made many extremely accurate shots that have amazed the player that was hit. Surprise your openents buy this barrel. I am going to give this barrel a 9, but it is not due to the barrel itself, it is just because everything has room to improve.
Conclusion: Great barrel. Reach out and touch someone shot after shot. Make sure you shoot at the recommended velocity or you will chop balls. Looks are impressive and make your gun very intimidating to those walk on players.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 14th, 2006 at 6:24 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

thomasfa18 Saturday, January 24th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco bigshot
Marker Setup: Tippy A-5
TechT upgrades
New Designz Power Tube
Hammerhead Bang Stikxx
R5 hopper
Remote line w/Slide check
Recommended
Paintballs:
whatever, I've only been using cheap field paint.
Strengths: Accurate
Consistent!
Efficient
looks?
Shoots cheap paint well
Fast
Sound Profile
Weaknesses: Pricey
Almost too efficient (for my marker, see description)
Review: What I meant by "almost too efficient"
This is probably only specific to me, but when I switched to this from my Lapco or stock barrel my FPS jumped 80 points on the chronograph. That's not bad in any case except when I had to wind back to 220 for indoor I couldn't really get it to go that slow and put the velocity screw into the tube :(.
I'm not calling this a weakness really for score, just thought people might find it interesting/useful...its a bit long for indoor fields anyway.

Accurate
When I first put it on and had a shot I thought I had wasted my money, every shot went haywire, did a chrony and it turned out I was shooting at 370-90.
Once I regulated my speed to ~280 it worked like a dream, hitting whatever I lined it up with.

Consistent
Awesome grouping, about 1ft spread at 50yards (all within the 6 ring on an ipsc pistol target).

Efficient/Fast
If you put this on your gun make sure you rechrono, you'll get a huge velocity jump due to efficiency so you can wind down the gas.

Looks
It's a barrel - it looks like a barrel, beadblasted black to suit black A-5.

Shoots cheap paint
I don't use premium paint, just cheap and field stuff, couple of varieties 1 type you can actually dent the shell of with your finger/thumb and this barrel shoots it fine. Also, the paint I shoot is a bunch of different sizes between .688 and .679 using the ball sizer hammerhead sent, I used the .683 fin seems to work fine and haven't had any breaks yet.

Sound Profile
No louder to you than the stock A5 barrel, much quieter to people at the other end of an outdoor field.

Pricey
If I couldn't get this for the reduced price I got it for on ebay (new from tippmann though) I wouldn't have bought it. It did get highly recommended to me by a tourney player though.

Rifling
I'm not going to say whether or not the great accuracy of this barrel is due to the rifling, because frankly I don't give a damn.
Conclusion: I love it and it shoots straight, that's all I need. I'd recommend it to anyone, but again remember to adjust your velocity after installing or your shot will be way off and dangerous.

It's a great barrel and it's a rifled barrel, get over it.
I have no doubt that smooth bore barrels can be just as accurate so the die hards on each side of the smooth vs rifled debate need to move on with their lives.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gravesend Friday, October 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline - Good range but accuracy flies out the window when shooting long distances
Lapco - Great barrel for the money. Accuracy is great but could use a bit more distance though.
Apex - Shoots even further than the flatline and a bit more accurate.
Marker Setup: A-5, Rufus Dawg Venturi front bolt and power tube, Maddman spring kit (Red), Palmer's male stabilizer with gauge, Flatline, Lapco Big Shot 14" and 8" barrels, Lapco sight rails, E-grip (set at full auto at 20BPS), Shocktech drop forward, Pure energy 68ci 3000psi HPA tank, Pure energy remote with check slide, QEV, Lapco bead blasted forward grip,
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used just about every quality paint that I can get my hands on. Of course the better the paint, the better the shots but I have found that a Walmart brand Scorch (or impact now is called) is a great paint for this barrel at very good price. Usually about $38 for a case of 2000.
The best shots were made using Marbalizers though.
Strengths: Accuracy, distance, durability
Weaknesses: Price - $300 OUCH!!
Review: I have used about 15 different types of barrels (borrowing most of them from friends) and I was careful to match bore size with different types of paint caliber. And I have to say that the Hammerhead is by far the best barrel that I have ever used. My accuracy is dead on and the distance is impressive for a non-flatline or non-apex type of barrel.
I play mostly woodsball and I was able to nail a guy on the foot, which was the only visible part of his body, from about 65 feet away. And no it wasn't a lucky shot. I shot 3 rounds at his foot and 2 nailed him. Now that was impressive to me.

I don't know if all this talk about rifled barrels being a hype is true or not. I only know from experience that this barrel really performs and it's worth every penny. I bought this barrel set about a year ago and I have not used anything other ever since. I have been very impressed with this barrel's performance and durablility (I have banged it around quite a bit).
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel to everyone that wants to increase their "game." The performance is as advertised on this company's website and it will blow your mind how well it performs. Get this barrel system and you will not need any other barrels.

I would give this a 10 but taking into consideration the price, I will have to give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 26th, 2007 at 8:56 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbdeadeye729 Friday, June 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None, Just the stock barrel that comes with the Tippmann 98 Custom.
Marker Setup: I'm working on it one peice at a time, for now it's:

Tippmann 98 Custom
Daisy 20*30 Scope (just because I had it lying around, I'm getting a red dot sight.)
16" Hammerhead BangStikxx Barrel with a BangStikxx Muzzle.
Everything else that comes with the 98.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything works. That's the great thing about this barrel, it shoots any kind of paint great.
Strengths: Accuracy,
Range,
Shoots any paint wonderfully,
Cleans itself if paint breaks with 2-3 shots.
Weaknesses: It's pricey. 120$ for a barrel and fin.
Review: This barrel is AMAZING! Customer support was great, I had been e-mailing the sales manager back and forth for a while, he told me exactly what barrel was right for me, and he was right! The very first time I played with it, I won. My last kill was a guy behind a tree, about 100 ft away, with his elbow sticking out about 3-4 inches. I shot twice, they both hit him in the exact same spot. One thing is that when you put this barrel on, your FPS will jump way up, and the barrel has terrible accuracy unless you set it to about 240 FPS. If your velocity is right, the accuracy is amazing! That's pretty much it, thanks for reading!
Conclusion: This barrel is amazing! If you have the cash and you play alot BUY IT! It's definately worth it!

10/10, because of the accuracy and range!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media