paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (302):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Saturday, March 10th, 2001
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
 
476 out of 593 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I'll say this take a good look at all the reviews this site has to offer for this gun and almost all of them will say that this gun is excellent. It is one of the most durable, dependable guns out there. I've been playing paintball since Oct. of 2000. I owned a Brass Eagle Blade not knowing that Brass Eagle sucked and went out to play w/o a mask (Hey I didn't know sh!t back then). Worked fine the first time I used it and broke the next weekend. It leaked air and there was nothing I could do about it. Took it back to Wals-Mart and got my cash back. Bought a used Alley Cat and loved that little thing soo much. Too bad it ate air like a starving hobo eating at Hometown Buffet for the first time. All my friends owned pump guns so when I bought the Alley Cat it started a war on who got the best gun. 2 of my friends introduced me into Tippmann. One of them owns the M98 and the other owns the Pro/Carbine. I've been eyeing all the guns my friends bought. Don't get me wrong the Spyders are good guns but even those break paint, even good expensive paint, alot! My 2 friends with the Tippmanns didn't chop balls, at all or not as bad as Spyders or my Alley Cat. A month after I bought my Alley Cat I bought a new gun, the Tippmann M98 Custom. At first I was like, "What's the difference between the M98 and the custom98?" Did some research and the Custom accepts way more things than the original. Well I know it's a long review but this gun really is a very good gun. I mean it's co2 efficient, rarely brakes paint unless you buy crappy paint like Brass Eagle or Viewloader. The built in elbow is great and the ability to squeegie with out taking the barrel off with a jerk squeegie is a big plus. Saves your a$$ some time to come back fighting. Tippmann's customer service is amazing, none of this rude crap you get from Brass Eagle. I called them to talk about a Raptor Extreme my friend owns and I was rudely interrupted all the time. PPl should be more aware that Brass Eagle sucks no matter what they make, maybe if they just stopped making guns and scaring ppl away with such crap they woudln't be that bad. Yeah maybe they have a decent gun out their say the Stingray. Anyways, you know your getting your money's worth when you stick with a Tppmann. Look at the field rentals, ever wonder why many use Tippmann guns??? That should speak for itself. Price is just right too. I would pay $300 for this gun, it's that good. The trigger pull is sweet. I've shoot about 2500 paintballs out of my 98custom and had about say 4 ball breaks all which were viewloader paint. I shoot PMI Premium good paint, nice price.
Weaknesses: It's not really much of an issue but it's a little too long for me. I'm not that big and I play front alot due to my size and speed. Nothing a good drop forward or the Proteam Intruder Assault Expansion Chamber won't fix. It's a little too loud but it's a minor one. Scare the sh!t out of your enemies, Ooops I mean friends. The stock barrel could've been better but that's ok cause eventually you buy a new barrel. It takes too long to field strip but then again why would you field strip? It's a little heavy especially with a 20oz but you get used to it. I did.
Conclusion: Man if I didn't say too much already! You know your getting one of the best guns in the industry when you buy one from Tippmann. The gun will always be there for you. Ball breaks will become something old. you'll begin to miss ehm. Tha's of course if you don't shoot Brass Eagle or anyother cheap paint then again your just asking for a ball break when you buy there paint no matter what barrel you use. This thing is accurate, strong and built to outlast any gun out there. This gun will probably outlive the owner himself! Like I said think about why Field owners use Tippmann and you'll realise that these guns are built to be able to take a beating. I heard that some guy even ran over his friends M98 by accident and it still worked! Guys dropping them and slamming them into trees and not breakking is incredible. Dare you to drop your Spyder and see if it works like before. I love this gun alot. Buy a Tippmann, you won't go wrong. I gave it a ten cause the good outweigh the bad. Buy one and enjoy it to your heart's content.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 10th, 2004 at 11:34 pm PST
I found this review  
269 Comments - Add Comment

E r y k Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year427 of 464 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann M98c
Piranha 2k3 E-force
Tippmann A-5
2k2 STO Autococker
Bob Long Timmy
Angel Speed (fired at my proshop, i almost peed myself)

the lower end guns cannot be compared to higher end guns. its just like comparing apples to oranges, it cant be done.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Red Lightning PaintJob
Lapco Bigshot
Evo 2 with Y board
Toxic 2x Trigger
DOP Drop
Palmer Stabilizer
Trigger Mods/ Polished internals
Lapco SIght Rail
Lapco Nickel Plated Double Trigger Guard
20oz Anti Siphon
E-bolt coming
Recommended
Upgrades:
IMPORTANT: Before you go out and buy a billion upgrades, please play with your gun stock to see if you really need them... also dont buy all your upgrades at once, buy some, play with it for a while, and buy some more. This way, you will enjoy it alot more than just buying all the upgrades at once imo.

For this gun, all you need is:
Barrel (to make it more accurate)
Double trigger (if you like it)
Loader (if your firing too fast with double trigger)
HPA or Anti siphon co2.

Anything else is just extra and a waste of money... trust me... i wasted too much money... $600+

NOTE: this gun is not the best thing in the world, its the best thing for beginners but can be upgraded to pluto and back... there are better guns out there.
Strengths: In review body.
Weaknesses: In review body.
Review: Strengths:

Dont you just hate reviews that are crunched together? I'm going to try to make this review as easy as possible to read.

I've waited a year to review this gun so I can make sure I can get every little detail in.

Durable - Any gun can be durable if you take proper care of it. When i first got this gun, I did not know i had to oil it... I didnt oil it for 5 months and it still ran like new. This gun is good for newbies who want to play occasionally but also dont want to spend too much time cleaning their gun. But for me, this is my main gun, everything on the gun is upgraded, i am just short of an e-bolt which i should be aquiring soon.

Many owners - This is a pro and a con. Anybody can help you with this gun, many people own it therefore help should be easy to aquire if needed. There is not a problem with this gun that cant be fixed, there is always a fix for this gun... either a proper fix, or a ghetto fix.

Upgrades - Almost any paintball website will have upgrades for this gun, its is very common. Upgrades are pretty nicely priced but you can go overboard easily like me and spend $600+ which was good for me, cause i like my m98, im comfortable with it. As long as your comfortable with your gun, who cares what people say.

Co2 Acceptance - Runs great on co2, heck you can run it on constant liquid co2 if you want. The CVX valve is indestructable. Im sure most of your starters out there wont have enough money for a decent tank (68/4500 which run for $180) although you can get a cheap HPA tank for 80 bucks, but you wont get enough shots.

Design - The way the m98 opens is great, its in 2 halves, this way, you can see everything in front of you and it is accessible... it just takes some time to take it apart and put it together. I can do it no problem now, but if your new, be careful when taking apart the gun, if you need any help ask me.

-----------------------------

Weaknesses:

Stock barrel - but hey, what can you ask for, its stock... no gun comes with a good stock barrel with the exception of some high end guns (impulse etc.. even those barrels are swapped out some times)... but out of all the stock barrels, spyder, piranhas, the tippmanns is the worst. Its 8 inches, the inside looks like its been pulled out of my ass. The insides are so rough, but the barrel still works. You can either polish the barrel yourself which will take some time but make it better than the stock, or pay for a new barrel which will run anywhere from $30 - $100+.

Design - The little parts inside the gun can be a pain in the butt to take out/reassemble when you are a newbie. There are pins, little springs that can go flying. Dont worry, this isnt rocket science, dont let it scare you. You will have to take apart your gun sometime (well my friend has his gun for 2 years already, and hes still yet to take it apart for a cleaning). Trust me, you will have to start somewhere, so start now and learn. Watch for the front sight spring the most, i lost mine, but i ghettofabricated a custom sight spring so its all randy dandy now.

The gun is also pretty long, compared to my friends guns, my gun is a speedball rifle, but i like how it feels, so thats all it matters.

I also wish the body was not cast moulded, the metal is very rough and looks bad... only if tippmann made the m98 more percise. The barrel threads are moulded (sometimes can eat your barrel, it ate the anno off my bigshot)

Another plus would be exchangeable bodies, but nobody makes them, a custom body for the 98 would be so awesome. Since nobody makes aftermarket bodies, i resorted to mill it myself.

Many owners - as i said above, this can be both a pro and a con. A lot of fields use this as their rental guns and many newbies have this gun. It kinda sucks walking onto a field and seeing 908458972341 people with the same gun as you... it really does. Its hard to be unique without dumping alot of dough.

Tippmanns Customer Service - yea, they were top notch a while back. Now, they just plain S U C K... their service blows now, i have completely lost faith in them. My marker was still in warranty, my powertube cracked, and i emailed them for a replacement, i stated that my gun was still in warranty but they still made me pay for a new valve. This pissed me off alot... I rate their service a 2 out of 5. They get a 2 because they actually reply and ask for your money.

Tippmanns weird thinking - The m98 has been out for what? 4-5 years now? Just this month, tippmann out of the blue decides to change the barrel threads for this gun. So new owners will not be able to use old barrels, but old owners could use the new barrels... how stupid is this? Wouldn't this idea change be a little late?

Quote from Tippmann:

quote:
------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------
We changed the ID and OD of the receiver and the barrel threads of 98 Customs about two weeks ago. All guns with serial numbers above 495,501 will not accept the old style barrels. All barrels being made now, have the new style thread. However, all new barrels will also fit older guns regardless of serial number.
If you have an aftermarket barrel with the older style threads, it will not fit the new receiver. We suggest that you contact your supplier for a new style barrel that will fit. All barrel manufacturers were notified of the change long before we ever made any changes.
------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------
Conclusion: I hope this review has helped anybody decide to buy or not buy this gun.
I hope my choice of waiting 1 year before writing this will benefit others.

I would recommend this gun to any beginner who wants something to play with but also wants a gun they can upgrade

I will add more to this review as neseccary

Good Luck

Eryk
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 3rd, 2003 at 7:12 pm PST
I found this review  
59 Comments - Add Comment

JLeabo Saturday, July 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years93 of 125 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster, Stingray, PMI Trracer, Hammer, Spyder Compact, Tippmann SL68II and Pro-Lite.
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98 Custom 32 Degrees Special Semi Automatic with standard open blowback bolt and 12" 32 Degrees Ice Cold (Medium Bore .691) Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
16" 32 Degrees Whisper (Medium Bore .689-.691) and 16" 32 Degrees Quiet Riot (Medium Bore .688-.690) Barrels. Tippmann Custom 98 Response Trigger. Halo B Electronic Loader. 32 Degrees Model 98 Rear Velocity Adjuster.
Strengths: It works so you don't have too!!!
Weaknesses: Weak Reviews!!!
Review: This product is one of the most customizable markers on the market today. It's also one of the most reliable which is why so many fields use them as rentals. Originally, I had the drop in electronic kit but soon realized that it was more than I needed, even on a professional level. So I dropped it out and went back to basics. Besides, any experienced player knows that with good trigger manipulation you can make up for it, and it only takes a single shot to end your opponents day. Full Auto is great for defensive players who need to lay suppressive and grazing fire but for an offensive player it's not really needed. Another nice feature is the removable elbow which allows for quicker cleaning for ball breakages. The balance is pretty good, a little front heavy but the expansion chamber or fore-grip makes up for it. I recommend that you upgrade your stock barrel. The longer the barrel, the more friction occurs between the barrel and the paintball. And consequently more air pressure is needed to force the paintball out of paintball barrels. I use a 12" 32 Degrees Ice Cold Medium Bore Barrel which is just that, Ice Cold!!! With your velocity set at 285 fps and the use of quality (Diablo Blaze) medium bore paintballs this barrel shows no mercy. Don't waste your time trying to hide because with this barrel you should dominate the field.
Conclusion: Think of it this way. If my marker only worked sometimes would you want me on your team?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 12th, 2004 at 8:57 pm PST
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

NickSeiler Sunday, March 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months66 of 87 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
-CORE Hammer-Head
-KINGMAN Spyder Xtra
-KINGMAN Spyder TL
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 Custom (black)
-14" J&J Ceramic Barrel (black)
-Vertical Adapter
-Pro Team Intruder expansion chamber
-14" Pro Team Commando barrel
-Pro Team Barrel Shroud/Guard
-Pro Team Front Sight
-Pro Team Sight Rail/Carry Handle
-Pro Team CAR stock
-12oz CO2 tank
-Viewloader 200 rd. hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
The first upgrade/accessory I would consider purchasing for a 98C would be a new barrel. While the stock barrel seemed to performa adequately whenever I initially tested it out, a better barrel can only add to the gun's performance. I've had only good experiences with the 14" J&J ceramic I bought, and I've heard goot things about the flatline from those who have installed it correctly. I would recommend getting an expansion chamber as well.
Strengths: -Great appearance
-Easily customizable
-Fairly lightweight
-Accurate
-Great deal (I got mine for $120)
Weaknesses: -No real complaints at all!
Review: I would highly recommend that anyone, newbie or veteran, check out the Tippmann 98 Custom when determining what marker to purchase next. This marker has everything you'd want in a paintball gun: low maintenance, durable, accurate, great appearance. With all the possible customization features you can add to the 98C, you're nearly guaranteed your own unique look to this gun. I've been very pleased with the performance of this gun in the times I've used it, and it would be the first on my list of markers to recommend to other players.
Conclusion: Buy it, and enjoy. This marker will not let you down on the field of combat. It's very accurate, has a great look and feel to it, and will stand up to any test you put it through. Highly recommended!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 10th, 2003 at 8:07 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

quik Wednesday, March 26th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months50 of 84 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 68 Carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
20 oz. Co2
Home-made drop foward
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel(unless you polish it)
A expansion chamber(if you really want to)
maybe a D/F becuase with a 20oz co2 it does get somewhat end heavy.
Strengths: The ability to shoot liquid and gas co2, also its sturdyness.
Weaknesses: Its barrel, its end heavyness, and maybe the design? *shrugs*
Review: I got this gun for christmas, and so far, so good, thats all I got to say. Although before asking for it, I did some research for it, and concluded that this was one hell of a gun(for a begginer/intermediate, depends on those upgrades ^_^) to get . I got it, and I sure was correct. I wasnt expecting anything like a Angel or Cocker, but I'm happy with what I got. Hopefully, soon, I'm going to get some more upgrades for it, which would be nice to have.

Even though its a great gun, I cant just go and say that its the best begginer/intermediate gun around(heh, which it just might be). It does have some problems. I liked the layout of the old reviews more, so I'm going to go back to basics...

||||The Good||||
++Built very strong, is able to take a lickin' and keep on tickin.

++Co2 - It has the ability to shoot liquid and gas co2, so if you live in a colder state like me(michigan), and your not looking to spend 100+ for HPA(becuase your just plain cheap), then this gun definitley helps in winter.

++Paint - Shoots alot of different kinds of paint pretty well, just make sure you match the paint to the barrel, RPS Big Ball worked for me.

++X-Chamber - Honestly, there really isnt any need for one really, considering it can shoot liquid co2 almost as good as gas co2. But I'd say get one (or a Reg.) since your shots will be alot more consistant, no mo' velocity spikes ^_^.


||||The Bad||||
--The Barell - although it isnt THAT bad, mine seems to shoot pretty nice.

--Field Stripping - It'll take around 30-45 min. when you just start, but when you know what your doing, it takes about 10-15 minutes, max.

--Not Compact - Not as compact as I would like, and pretty long with a 12'' barrel and 20oz co2 on it, I'd advise a remote or drop foward(or cradle)
Conclusion: Its a great biggner/intermediate gun, and if your not *too* serious about paintballing, your not in it to compete with the big boys(even though you probably good with some well placed upgrades), and just in it for fun with your friends, I highly reccomend this gun, its easy to maintain and the upgrades are really easy(most) to put in. The good pretty much counteracts with the bad, and the bads can be remedied quite well. I'm not going to give it a 9 or 10, because those spaces are reserved for the Angels and Cockers.

If you are on a tight budget, and looking for a gun that can get the job done, the Tippmann 98 Custom is definitley for you! And if your NOT on a tight budget and want a even better Tippmann, look out for the A-5, its moving on up with the ranks of the big boys. Soon, I'm guessing that the gun will quite the hit, and maybe someday, you'll even see someone on a pro team(besides T-Effect) using a tricked ol' Tippmann ^_^.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
43 Comments - Add Comment

coconut18 Wednesday, April 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years40 of 46 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra- Great gun, solid performer. But I like the look and feel of the 98 better.
Tippmann 68-carbine- Tippmann, what else do you need to hear?
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
*14 inch J&J Ceramic Barrel
*Ricochet Apache hopper
*Double Trigger
Soon to come......
Cyclone Feed
Flatline
Recommended
Upgrades:
* New Barrel, since stock barrel is only 8 inches and is inaccurate
Strengths: *Cheap
*Solid Construction
*Can take a beating
*Easy Maintenace
*Many people own one
Weaknesses: *I haven't had any problems with this marker yet.
Review: I have been playing paintball for 10 years now, and I have been using this gun for the past 3 years. I have played in 110 degree heat, 35 degree cold, in the rain, and dropped it in the dirt. This gun never has broken, I have never chopped a ball in the gun.

+Problems: After 3 years of product use, I have never experienced a problem with this gun. Just keep it well maintained and it will take care of you on the field

+Maintenance: Very easy to disassemble/reassemble, it only takes about 5 minutes or less. It comes apart in 2 halves, and doesn't have that many moving parts.

+Chops: I have never chopped a ball in this gun. The only ball breaks that I have ever experienced was in the barrel. Yes, a ball can break in the barrel if the barrel is has a small bore and the paintball is large bore which can squeze the ball until it breaks. OR If the barrel has a really large bore and the ball is small bore which can cause the ball to bang into the inside of the barrel and depending on the strength of the ball it will break.

+Upgrades: There are many upgrades out there to turn your marker into whatever you want it to be. It can be turned into a really fast speedball marker, or a perfect sniper marker in woodsball.

+Everyone in woodsball seems to own one: This is great, because if you ever have a problem with the marker just ask almosy any of these guys and they can help.

+Accurate: With a 14 inch J&J Ceramic barrel, with correct paint/barrel match I have hit a target at 100ft. with a 9 inch grouping of shots. Stock barrel is to short and needs to be a priority upgrade.

+Reliable: I have never had a problem with reliability. Every game I have played this marker has worked perfectly.

+I am giving this gun a 10 due to it's price, performance, my experience with it's use, and availiablity of upgrades.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this product to anyone from beginner to pro, because this gun is cheap, easy to upgrade, and is a solid performer. You CAN"T go wrong with a Tippmann.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 25th, 2007 at 6:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Menohl Wednesday, January 21st, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months36 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 68 Special
Tippmann SL-68 II Pump
Tippmann Pro Carbine
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber
GTA Double Trigger
32* Star Fire Bolt
Madmann Spring Kit
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Viewloader 12V Revolution w/ X-Board
JCS 6" Offset 3/8" Dovetail Sight Rail
Magnacraft 3-9X30 Illuminated Scope
Thunder Pig In-Line CO2 Gauge
JCS Combat Folding Stock w/RVA
32* Coiled Remote
PMI 20oz. CO2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (more than anything else)
Expansion Chamber
The rest is personal preferance
Strengths: Extremely Durable
Extremely Reliable
Easy to use
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Nothing i'd call a weakness
Review: Well, there isn't a whole lot that i can write about this marker that hasn't been written already, so i'll just tell you why i prefer this marker.

Durability - You can kick this marker, drop it in the dirt, drop it in the water (as long as your paintballs stay dry) and really put it throught hell, and it will still work just like the day it came out of the box. This thing is the AK-47 of Paintball Guns!!!

Reliable - This kinda falls in with durability. At the field i play at they only rent 98 Customs (you'll find that most paintball fields do, there's a reason for that), and i've seen many a person showing up with Spyders, and other assorted markers and they have had problems of all sorts, and they always end up having to rent a marker. Due to that fact, and the fact that after i rented one for myself one time, i knew this was the marker for me.

Feedneck - This is one of the few markers on the marker that the feedneck had a nut and bolt so when you attach your hopper you can actually tighten it down and ensure that its never going to fall out!!!

Easy to use - You will be hard pressed to jack up one of these markers... You really have to be trying to make this gun jack up before it actually might.

Easy to clean - The first time i field stripped the marker i was a little nervous, but now i can do it with my eye's closed. Just follow the part breakdown in the manual and you can't go wrong, althought i do not recommend field stripping this gun at a paintball field, unless you have a good flat surface with a big towel or sheet underneath it so you don't drop or lose any of the smaller parts.

Upgrades - This marker has more upgrades for it than any other marker on the market. You can do just about anything and everything to this gun. I have several friends that have 98C's and we have all upgraded them to our own personal preferences, and when we get together not a single one of them looks alike.

Recommended Upgrades - The only 2 that I recommend ASAP upon purchasing your marker are a new Barrel and the Expansion Chamber.

The stock barrel is OK, but its very noisy and it does not have a vast range on it. If you play woodsball like me, you are going to want a barrel that has slightly more range to it, and if your also a sniper like me, then you want a barrell that is really quite, Barrels that i have seen that work really well are: J&J 14" Ceramic, 32* 14" Whisper, Custom Products 14" Classic One Piece. The flatline barrel has a longer range, but its noisy as hell, so i don't recommend it for sniping, unless you want to be heard a mile away.

Expansion Chamber - I recommend this because i live in Nebraska, and during the fall/winter the temp gets really low around here, and if you are using CO2 that means that you are going to be shooting vast amounts of liquid CO2 unless you get the expansion chamber. Also i've found that getting the expansion chamber increases your accuracy on a shot to shot ratio


Conclusion: Get this marker, when you buy it go play with it a few times stock and get a feel for how you play with it, then base your upgrades on how you play.

10 out of 10 there's just no comparing any other marker to one that can be customized in so many ways that is this reliable and durable
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 14th, 2004 at 7:33 am PST
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

HoboJudge Friday, June 20th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months29 of 136 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Assorted Spyders, automags, autocockers, Viewloader Genesis.
Marker Setup: Minimag
Level 10 bolt
J&J 2 piece barrel
Ricochet AK
Eclipse Splash kit
Strengths: Better than nothing
Not too expensive
Weaknesses: unreliable
heavy/long trigger pull
Review: This gun gave me problems the first day I used it. The marker would shoot normally, then at a very low velocity, then I would have to recock it. I sent it in to Tippmann, and had to wait over three weeks to get it back. I eventually sold the marker, for loss. The person I sold it to notified me further problems developed a few months later. I had to repair it, at a further loss.
Conclusion: I would NOT recommend this marker. If you are a beginner, get a spyder or pirahna.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
70 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballNasty1 Wednesday, December 29th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months29 of 205 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
maybe a brass eagle talon haha but seriously one of those budget sheridan pumps which are reliable but suck for everything else unless you enjoy having your gun sound like a cannon and feel like a cannon to shoot
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
>phsyco ballistics drop forward
>double trigger
>12v revy
>dye boomstick
>crossfire nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW GUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! if you're a begginner get the new pirahna gun evo 2004 its mad quick, mad cheap, no chop because of eye, perfect in comparison with a tippmann just stock
Strengths: >Strong trust me it takes a beating.
>Consistent to a certain extent
Weaknesses: >Chops.
>Balls spin when firing quick.
>Heavy
>Stock tank placement
>Feels newb
>Slow shooting
>Versatile
Review: Pros- the gun can withstand some beatings and is consistent at low speeds

Cons- its such a newb gun in almost every aspect and can just be a pain to have with you when you want to be playing but you're worrying about not being able to keep up with the other quality guns. definutely a scenario and gun that you'd only use when you were with friends- at a course you'll feel like a newbie to paintball, inferior, and helpless
Conclusion: DoN't get it- save your money and you'll be pleased quicker
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
177 Comments - Add Comment

crs1012 Thursday, March 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months28 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really.
Marker Setup: Custom 98 w/ RT, 12v Xboard, Sub zero X chamber, Teardrop, and last but not least, Full Boar Rear Cocking System.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You need a X chamber, my C 98 is a gas hog, I don't know about everyone else's. You NEED a new barrel, I recommend a Teardrop or a Freak.
Strengths: Very Durable, Accurate, and a good buy.
Weaknesses: Small parts- Very Bad.
Once i took out the rear sight, it broke.
Review: Many pros always dis on the way the gun looks, but I think if the gun works well, stick with it. My 98 can easily match a Spyder or maybe even an autococker. You just need the right upgrades. A stock 98 won't get you very far in a match with other expensive guns.When i first opened my 98 to clean it, the trigger spring went flying at least 5 feet away from me. I didn't know where it was supposed to go, so i put it behind the velocity chamber, lol. It screwed up my trigger spring.
Conclusion: This is a very good gun for a newb. I do recommend oiling it at least once every 3 weeks.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 13th, 2003 at 7:20 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (302):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media