paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
PandaTruenoGTS Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month226 of 238 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Spyder Original
Marker Setup: 2006 MR2 Spyder E-Marker Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket barrel and hopper capable of 20+bps.
Strengths: Very Durable, Affordable, Versitile, Efficient. Side Feed, ACS
Weaknesses: Requires expensive hopper to utilize max bps, Limits barrels due to odd attatchment
Review: This gun is awesome. It was everything I was looking for. I have always thought highly of the Spyder but I wanted a side feed gun that I could mount a site/scope and see straight down the barrel of the gun. I fell in love with it the first time I saw it on the spyder website. There wasn't very much info available so I stepped out on a limb and bought one.

This is my first e-marker and for the price it surpassed my expectations. I ordered it off ebay for $275 shipped w/24 hour shipping. I received the gun today and ran about 500 rounds through it. At first I thought I could use a regular hopper for a while until I get a better one. I thought wrong. Using a standard hopper shooting low grade diablo paint it chopped about 3 balls out of 100. After reading the manual it said to use an e-hopper capable of at least 13bps or even the ACS wouldnt stop it from chopping paint. So later today my friend let me borrow his VL Revolution. It quit chopping paint, but the hopper still cant keep up with the gun. On full auto even with the VL Rev. it dry fired every 8 balls or so. So I would recomend a Halo B for this gun to meet the full potential. One thing that suprised me is full auto mode, most guns shoot thier max bps in semi, but this one is capable of the full 25bps in full auto as well as semi.

My friend shoots an angel lcd, comparing them side by side we both agreed that the way this gun fires and handles itself is just a step down from the angel performance wise. We took out his back-up gun, an 05 Pirrana (the one right below the evo) with a lightened bot and all and dry fired them and the pirrana couldnt hold a stick to the MR2 in full auto mode.

At a range of about 15 yards using 3 round burst mode, it was shooting a pattern about the size of the bottom of a coke can which isnt bad at all. It fires the 3 round so fast you might could say its effective as a shotgun.

Its also alot more efficiant than I expected, using a 14oz co2 i still managed to get a lil over 600 shots off.

I'd also like to make a special note of the ACS. It really is as sensative as they say. Just to test it, i stuck my finger in the feed and put on full auto, everytime the bolt went foward the spring sensed my finger was there and pulled back before smashing it. (dont try this at home, just take my word for it)

Some of the key features on this gun that i really like are the on the fly switchable rate of fire built into the back of the grip. No dipswitches inside the grip like other spyders i have seen. The stock comes with the gun, no need to pay 50 plus dollars for a good stock for scenario players, and the stock can be removed by unscrewing one scew allowing the gun to be used for speeedball as well. Then theres the raised sight rail which is also removeable allowing you to add a scope or anything else you want to mount to it. Suprisingly enough even with a 20oz Co2 tank it still doesnt get in the way while using the stock either. The last and one of my favorite is the M-16 style cocking mechanisim. You pull the T-bar behind the sight rail to cock the gun and it never moves during fire. So there are no moving parts outside of the gun leaving it sealed from debris, dust, and gun hits.
Conclusion: This is an awesome marker for anyone begginer or pro. Its designed for the tactical shooter but is VERY versitil dont let the looks fool you it is capable of holding its own on the speedball field. I think its under priced at $275 and is easily compareable with $500+ guns. Most of all though, if your looking for the best tactical shooter on the market with the potential to be the ultimate back position sniper gun, this is the gun for you. I hope this review answers some of your questions. I'm giving it a 10 for being the ultimate underdog and doing what I have never seen done for its price range.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
52 Comments - Add Comment

TheLastBrunnenG Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested61 of 65 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, TL-R, and Rodeo, JT Excellerator 3.5e and TAC-5, Tippmann 98 and A5, more...
Marker Setup: * Spyder TL-R with a new Phat feedneck and PMI Razzor 14" barrel.
* Spyder Sonix Pro with a new ACPball feedneck and a 12" J&J Precision barrel
* Game Face Vexor Eye with a custom ACPball delrin bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. Feedneck / elbow.
2. Barrel, but not necessary.
3. Red dot dight and other decorative junk.
Strengths: Unique styling and great stock features. Tough as nails.
Weaknesses: Weighs more than a herd of buffalo. Cheap plastic feedneck elbow.
Review: The MR2 looks like it'll live up to its hype. It has the stock features to outperform mechanical scenario markers like the JT TAC-5 and low-end electronic mil-sim markers like the US-5. No eyes, but the construction and fire rate put it on par with (if not beyond) the Smart Parts SP-8. The overview:

BARREL - 12" ported barrel with no muzzle break. Matte black so there's no glare to give away your position. Not the quietest, but that's Kingman for you. Good internal finish, and better accuracy than average for a stock barrel. Replacement barrels will be difficult to use - the back 2 inches of the barrel fit tightly into the shroud that takes the place of a volumizer, so barrels like the CMI / Thunder Pig Tru-Flight will work but barrels that "fatten" at the base won't, such as the Smart Parts Progressive.

FOREGRIP / EXPANSION CHAMBER - Foregrip is very tough plastic, probably the only large non-metal piece of the marker. It acts as a mini expansion chamber, so it's not just a gas-through foregrip. No way to add a reg on this end. Grip is angled 15 degrees forward. Grip material is matte-finish black plastic but isn't slick or hard to hold. Foregrip is as thick and wide as the trigger frame.

VOLUMIZER - Volumizer is replaced by a volumizer housing extending 2" from the front of the body. Essentially, everything forward of the body and under the foregrip is the volumizer. Interesting design!

TRIGGER / FRAME - The switch is a paddle switch, not a micro-button; should still be replaceable easily. Trigger pull is a hair under 1/2" (the first 1/4" is slack) but is adjustable externally via set screw on the blade trigger. Frame is all metal with flexible but slick grips. Uses a standard 9.6v JAVA rechargeable battery. A switch on the rear of the grip flips between single, 3-burst, and auto, indicated with a single 3-color LED - no way to adjust auto fire rate. Tournament semi-only lock is accomplished with a jumper on the board. There is no safety. The only hopper I have is a 12BPS Ricochet AK, so I'll have to be careful.

DROP / ASA - ASA works well enough and has an internal filter. Drop is short but angled. BIG HOORAY: The MR series uses IN-LINE SCREWS ON THE DROP FORWARD!!! No more offset Kingman-only holes! The line is black-coated stainless braided line.

DETENT - Integrated under the angled feed port's braces. Not a standard Kingman left-side ball-bearing.

BODY - Minimal milling. Feedneck is an angled 45-degree stub with a cheap plastic adapter/elbow. Field stripping is a standard Kingman pull pin (held by a ball bearing, not a cotter pin). Body is all metal, so this thing weighs several tons. The top of the marker comes with built-in 7/8" Weaver rails, while the carry handle (removeable) is topped with a 3/8" dovetail mount. Carry handle is too short to be used for carrying. Most rails and the exterior shrouds can be removed. Body is uniformly matte black with a tough finish.

STOCK - Shared with the MR1. Stock is open-frame skeletal design but is very stable and tough. Makes the already heavy MR2 even more of a pig, but it's worth it. The stock insertion is o-ringed so the marker may perform even better with it than without.

INTERNALS - Top-cocking marker (stacked-tube blowback) with an open rear end (unless the stock is attached). The snap-back cocking system eliminates the exposed cocking knob, so effectively it's a flush-cocker. Internals may be shared with the TLX, TL-R, and Sonix Value / Sonix Pro, but I'm not 100% certain yet. BONUS: the MR2 comes stock with a top-cocking version of the Kingman Delrin ACS bolt! Works very well. Interior finish is excellent. Velocity is adjusted via a rear set screw, not by the old Kingman thumbwheel.
Conclusion: Bull-heavy but extremely fun and well-equipped marker. Great for the price if you want SP8 performance but don't care about low pressure operation or eyes. I knew Kingman could do this better than its competitors at the same price range, and they didn't let me down. 10, minus 1 for weight and cheap feedneck: 9 out of 10!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

SlaughterHouser Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month48 of 58 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none i thought spyders were made bad
Marker Setup: spyder MR2 with adco Hot Shot red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel to shoot more paint when using automatic or 3rnd burst
Halo B or better hopper that can keep up with the 25bps
Strengths: Sick fast i emptied my halo b in about 5 seconds.
Weaknesses: Barrels cant be fat based and is really hard to find a barrel to fit.
Review: This gun is awesome i bought some marbillizer paintballs went out in my backyard and was shooting pop cans off my fence from about 30yrds away with semi auto.
the 3rnd burst is awesome cause u can shoot fully auto with it on cause the trigger is sick fast i shot from about 20 yrds away and the shots group about the size of the bottom of a pop can.
Fullauto is sickness i dont need to say anything more.
Conclusion: Get one if you play woodsball and scenario games a lot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Interceptor88 Wednesday, March 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month39 of 44 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Others Spyders, Piranhas, Mags, Cockers, assorted pump guns.
Marker Setup: SS-25, autococker, Super Stocker, Piranha LB, MR-2 with Armson 8" Pro Series barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, HP tank, motorized loader
Strengths: Great looking gun, 3 fire modes, nice stock barrel, nice flat black finish.
Weaknesses: Weak stock ball detent, it was chopping every third ball out of the box
Review: I've owned Spyders on and off since they first came out. I had one of the first Compact As. I have always loved the reliabilty of them and the ease of maintenance. I bought the MR-2 because I loved the looks of it, and I wanted a fun gun for scenario play besides my custom autococker.

Looks
The MR-2 has very similar styling to the H&K UMP, very blocky in a M41 pulse rifle sort of way.

Design
Same basic internals as every other Spyder, stacked tube design

Weight
i don't think its to heavy at all, it actually is well balanced with a 45 4500 tank.

Function
Here is were I had a problem. First thing mine started to do was chop balls, and shoot paint up the feed neck and into the hopper. After cleaning everything out a couple times, I took it back to the shop were I bought it and had them look at it. It did the same for them. Keep in mind, I was firing slowly on semi auto, using a Revy. After some research online, I found out that many other people were having the same problem. I replaced the detent with one from a timmy. The stock one is too weak. Don't use a force feed hopper with the stock detent, it will force it to double feed and chop even worse. The shop guy also put a stiffer spring in the anti-chop bolt. They fired 400 rds in the shop with no breaks, I shot 200 through it at the shop when I picked it up, and put 300 more through it at home. Only thing I had was a barrel break. Thats not the same as chopping, so I don't hold it against the gun. I wasn't having to take apart my hopper the clean it, so I'm happy. I shot half of those rounds on 3 shot burst with no problems. I think Kingman will correct this slight flaw on the next batches. I will play with it this weekend and report my findings here on the review. For now, I love the gun.

Update 3/18/06
Used the gun for the first time in a game day. The MR2 functioned flawlessly since I replaced the stock detent. I have shot over 2000 rds both in the back yard and over the course of the day. No more chops. I was using Draxxus Recball paint fed from a 12 volt Revy, and shot with my Armson 8" barrel. Alot of the paint was shot on 3 shot burst with no problems at all. I am very satisfied with the performance of the gun, and I was starting to get used to it toward the end of the day (I could never just pick up a gun and hit anything until I had used it for a while). Also, a friend of mine who also has one said that he got a notice from Kingman stating that they were aware of the problem and that they would be sending him a replacement. I imagine that the next batch of MR2 will have the new detent, and anyone with the old one can get it replaced if they haven't already done so. Good for them for taking care of the problem and attempting to make it right.

Update 5/2/06
Used the gun several times now and had zero problems with it. Functions perfectly!

Update 6/11/06
I am now upping the rating to a 9. I've used the gun almost exclusively for the last couple months and its worked flawlessly. I've tried several different hoppers to feed it, first my old Revy, the a Richochet AK, then a Q-Loader, and now a Halo B. The Halo works the best feeding the gun fast and smoothly. The Q-Loader system was interesting, but caused the gun to jam alot. I only run compressed air through the gun, and keep it cleaned and oiled after every game. I've added a Sure Shot red dot sight and the 8" Armson barrel shoots arrow straight. I absolutely love this little gun.
Conclusion: Slight problems at first, but those seem to be corrected easy enough. I have always like Spyders, and this one is no different. In a sport full of candy colored markers, its nice to see a flat black, all business looking marker that doesn't look like a M4 rip off. Its a scenario gun for those who don't want any rediculous crap like fake magazines hanging off of it. I am very pleased with the way this gun performs with the upgraded detent.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 12th, 2006 at 6:37 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

ViperM1x Friday, December 29th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months24 of 42 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viperm1
A-5
JT Protium
Brass Eagle Stingray(cmon this was 1996)
Some pump I cannot remember but was sooo accurate I wish I never leant it out.
Marker Setup: Ok, MR2, Halo B Hopper, Atomic Elbow, Bob Long detents, Red dot site, 18" opsgear fluted sniper barrel, 16" J&J ceramic and stock barrel using 4500 68ci HP air. Modified stock plus custom made plug for when stock is removed.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Marker
Strengths: Looks cool, easy access to select fire switches, adjustable trigger, enclosed cocking bolt.
Weaknesses: Extremely heavy
Review: Strap yourselves in this won't be pretty. I understand some of you may have not had anything go wrong with your markers and that is fine, but this is my experience so just deal with it and maybe learn something from it.

I was stoked to see a new, exotic looking milsim out of the box type of marker coming from spyder which is a well known company that has been providing the sport of paintball with equipment before some of you were even born.
I wanted to finally get a milsim marker that I could use full-auto with and had that black, built in weaver rail and cool looking kind of marker so I went with the MR2

Out of th box I immediately noticed it is a heavy marker, even before adding a hopper or paint or even an air tank it is a brick.

Air-ed up and with some decent field paint I started out with a VL Revvy 12volt with the x-board which according to spyder should be able to handle the 13bps in full auto. Simply not the case, between the double feeding and dry firing I was chopping balls due to the fact that the balls just weren't dropping fast enough into the breech and breaking.-UPGRADED BOB LONG BALL DETENTS AND A HALO B HOPPER.

Finally got the double feeding stopped with the new detents(even though mine came with the stock black ones which were suppose to be better than the initial orange ones)

Newer hopper with adjustable ball rate was finally able to dial in the feed rate to match the full auto, but allot of paint and breaks inbetween. As far as the acs goes, I just don't see the advantage to it, although a few dry fires in the beginning may have been the result of the acs not chopping but for the most part I just didn't see a huge benefit.

While charging my battery using the provided charger that came with the gun, my grip started to puff out small bits of white smoke(given this is the 2nd time i recharged it), so after investigating, I found that the main power diode had smoke checked itself. But the marker still works fine electrically and that diode is mainly used to prevent reverse voltages during charging. Still this is a new marker and this shouldn't be something that's occuring.

The stock is worthless as is. Either cut away the top portion of the stock or never ever think you will be able to look down even the stock raised rail with a mask on. Just isn't going to happen. With the halo b hooper, there is zero clearance for any type of site with the raised rail that comes on the gun, I had to take mine off just so I could mount a red dot scope. Afterall I bought this marker to get that milsim look and get it with adding scopes etc. Yeah I could put a different hopper on and be able to use different scopes, but you cannot get the full rate of fire in auto mode and this was the major reason for purchasing this marker. I played without the stock on and custom made my own "butt-plug" to cover the hole that is left behind that exposes your bolt to dirt and debris that us woodsball players know so well. Another bad design on spyder's behalf.

Also, this marker is hot out of the box and can be very picky when you try to dial it down. I tried some different springs and suddenly had ten more things wrong with the way it was feeding and breaking more paint. so went back to the original springs and just had to give them more time to break in and relax a bit.

There is no regulator on this gun, the thing in the front grip is not a regulator, if you think it is, just disassemble the whole gun and you will see what I'm talking about. All it is a two-piece milled adapter that might have some room for expansion but don't count on much. At the chrono, this thing is up and down on the FPS and this is with high pressure air, not CO2. I don't even want to know if anyone out there is even trying to use CO2 on this and using full auto at the same time, your just going to make frosties!

The MR2 has allot of bolt on parts that just are not necessary but make up the look of the MR2. The shroud can come off(more barrel options), the side shields can come off and the front grip can be removed and a real regulator put in its place and would make a much smaller marker and reduce quite a bit of weight.

After my last 24 hr scenario and using this marker I have to say I am ready to sell it to some poor sucker on Ebay and get something different. I'll probably just take it for it's parts like the egrip and make a new frame for one of my more reliable semi's.

Overall I wanted a milsim marker that I could customize, add scopes to, add m4 site rails and barrel guards and make a really cool m4 like grandpas in the photos, but I notice he doesn't show the hopper he uses and if he did it probably wouldn't handle the full auto mode. Some of you may be content with that and that is cool, but I was not....I wanted to show up those guys that all seem to own A-5's and show them up with my full auto against the rat-a-tat-tat of their warp fed markers. Needless to say that did not happen. Oh and the Tournament lockout shorting clip came off in the middle of a battle and I couldn't get to it to fix it until I was off the field or access full auto or burst fire because of it. Later found it floating in the handle, maybe super glue it into position?
Anyway, I'm not happy with it, too many quirks to work out to get it to work at its full potential. Some people might only care about semi(then you won't have too many issues with this marker), but if i'm driving a porshe, I'm gonna go fast not take it around the block to the grocery store.
Conclusion: Not impressed personally, but this my conclusion after owning and using this marker.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

martyparty Friday, March 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Have a Ric AK
Recommended
Upgrades:
Faster hopper
Longer Barrel
Strengths: Awsome Look
Fast performance
Reliability
Anti Chop Bolt
Weaknesses: Barrel shroud limits barrels that can fit
Goes through balls like crazy
Review: When i saw this gun in a magazine i went crazy and bought one maybe a week later. Right out of the box this gun gave me no problems it was clean and fast and worked like a charm. Maybe a week later i went on the field and it was cool out but we still played thats when i realized how awsome this gun is. I was tagin everybody sometimes with all three shots from the burst. If there one of my friends was hiding around a tree i would just keep firing and circle around and eliminate. This gun is amazing i went through maybe 2500 balls and only had one chop( the acs bolt works well considering the whole time i was firing frantic just gettin used to the gun) The only bad thing is my friends wont call me anymore to play because they know i got a paintball machine gun (basically)
Conclusion: i highly recommend this gun to anyone, simple to use, reliable, and fun. Dispite what others have reported my gun works flawless the ball dent is fine and bolt works perfect. If you want to win i recomend this gun period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

blackpaint Tuesday, January 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all models of spyder(semi-auto blowbacks) electronic and not
same design and flaws in blowback design
Marker Setup: 1 dm3 w/tadao board,sidewinder, stock shocktech bolt kit 3a 68/4500, empire b
1 shocktech dm3 w/ vaporworks board, sidewinder and evolve kit ,pmi 68/4500, empire b
j&j edge kit
cp 14"
j& 16" ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
as with any marker i recommend going to compressed air it is better for the marker in the long run not always the cheapest but definitely better and if that is the case as always i recommend a sidewinder, now i noticed in some of the reviews before that people made a comment about not being able to add a reg onto it, that is not true a cp reg will fit perfect or with a little help from a dremel in about 15 min you can have a sidewinder in there
Strengths: Fast easy to walk trigger, good appealing solid design of the body
Weaknesses: Some barrels wont fit (cp,empire twister)
Review: The electronics in the gun seemed faster than most i have tested, and for the woods player the select fire could come in handy no remembering dip settings or led colors, the trigger was easy to walk with a little adjustment, gun setup seemed very flexible to style obviously kingman had one in mind when this gun left the design table but everything is removeable stock, front foregrip so this gun might see a speedball feild with a little help but as a milsim gun it serves its purpose it is very solid well built gun put up next to the sp8 and the mx8 i choose the mr2 without looking at the tags and it is the cheapest out of all three i have seen quite a few guns roll off the assembly line at kingman over the years and this has to be one of there best
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any beginners or anybody who is just looking to add some looks in there game i would definitely hand them a mr2 and for that i will give it a 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Spyder4ever23 Wednesday, February 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Viewloader Triad
Marker Setup: Spyder Mr2
-evlution ll hopper
-16 in. J&J ceramic barrel
-Bob Long Timmy Detents
-Coiled Remote w/ Slide Check
Recommended
Upgrades:
-fasthopper cabable of at least 18 bps
-longer barrel for better accuracy (optional)
Strengths: Look, speed, reliability, accuracy.
Weaknesses: The spring may need to be broken in (not a big deal).
Review: I bought this gun new for $150. When I received it I was suprised at how good this gun actually looks. It definitely exceeded my expectations. The first thing I knew that I had to get for this gun was a new hopper, which wasn't a problem because you can get an egg II for $50 at walmart. I set up some pop cans in my backyard and started shooting them. I was suprised at how accurate the stock barrel was. The 3 round burst was cool. They would hit every time within 4 in. Automatic is just straight up sweet. It fires fast! When I went out the next day to play with some friends. I was showing them automatic and they didn't want to play with me, so I just ended up using 3 shot burst. I noticed that every once in a while, the balls would chop and come up the feedneck. I ordered some Bob Long Timmy Ball Detents the next day online ($1.99 for 3). That helped a lot. I also learned that the spring needs to be worn in. That also increased its performance as well. I used some old cheap Monster balls and they worked fine. No chops. This is a good gun.
Conclusion: If you are a woodsball player and are looking for a fast, durable, and good-looking gun than this gun is for you. You may have to break the spring in, but all in all this gun is definitely worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Extropian Thursday, July 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
Pro-Carbine
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder MR2
Empire Reloader
50ci 3000psi JT HPA tank
14" J&J Performance Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
* Aftermarket barrel that fits such as J&J Ceramic or CMI Tru-Flight
* Fast Electronic Hopper
* New Feedneck. CCM is releasing a feedneck adapter for the MR series.
Strengths: * Built like a tank
* High rate of fire
* Ergonomic Mil-Sim look & feel
* Versatile performance
Weaknesses: * Heavy vs. all plastic markers
* Volumizer shroud limits barrel options
Review: The first thing I noticed while handling the new MR2 is the ergonomic design. With one hand on the triggerframe and the other on the foregrip the weight of the gun balances nicely between the tops of my two hands (with or without the included stock) and it feels natural to hold and aim. The MR2 is almost entirely metal and has a very solid feel to it. I mention this because I notice that many guns bred for mil-sim are replicas of guns that were never meant to be rigged for paintball so end up feeling awkward. The MR2 is a paintball marker first and a milsim second.

I've tried running the MR2 on both Co2 and HPA and it functions fully with either, though I would recommend using HPA if you plan on firing quickly. After a volley of quick shots testing out the burst and auto modes the metal was frosted over and sweating, though the gun never froze up on me (I did this test on a hot day). With HPA I was able to fire with impunity and at times outran my hopper, forcing me to recock. I test-fired a case of Brass Eagle Monster Balls and did not chop or break any balls with either Co2 or HPA.

One problem I had was when bringing the gun into the local field to be chronographed I could not adjust velocity beneath 300fps. I ended up trimming the spring to get it to code which wasn't a problem but I had to order a spring kit so that I can swap it out in colder weather. After the quick snip the gun adjusted fine.

At the field I used about 1500 rounds of the brass eagle paint (it was on sale =)) and again had no breaks or chops throughout the day. On the field (woodsball and speedball) I did not outrun my hopper and fired bursts pretty consistently throughout the day. The shoulder stock is comfortable and aids aiming in woodsball fields but got in the way during speedball. It is held in with a single screw that is quickly detachable with the allen wrench. The field was predominately Ion and other E-spyders as well as a few higher-ends like shockers and the MR2 held its own very well.

The MR2 comes wil a relatively good 12" stock barrel but like any stock I was quick to seek a replacement. The volumizer shroud won't fit fat end barrels, like other reviews have mentioned, so it can take a bit of research to find what barrels will fit. I equipped mine with a 14" J&J Ceramic which dramatically increased accuracy and reduced sound (the stock barrel is quite loud). I'm also told that the barrel self-cleans through breaks but I've yet to see this since I've not chopped or broken a ball yet with this gun, despite only buying the cheapest paint I can find. Another friend of mine with an MR2 has opted for a CMI Tru-Flight barrel.






Conclusion: All-in-All I am very satisfied with the MR2. If you want a dependable electro with a stylish metallic military body that can hold its own in any type of paintball game and comes standard with nice features so you don't have to sink an arm and a leg into upgrading it: try it out.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 27th, 2006 at 10:51 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

brandon69hbot Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
i have used no products that stand up to this, this gun is teh ownage
Marker Setup: kingman spyder Mr2, 20 oz Co2 tank, and remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote, and get rid of that bottom line, sight, electronic hopper for no misfires, and if u have any crappy gun like a zap or some crap like that get this gun
Strengths: -Automatic
-Semi, burst, full auto
-Stock stock
-Doesn't chop balls, at all
Weaknesses: -everything is held together by allen bolts
-automatic can be hard on Co2
Review: my first gun i got for christmas, it was a zapp =' ^( it chopped balls every second shot, and it will lock up on the drop of a hat, i got my Mr2 2 days ago and i llo ve it shot my friend, it hurt him, he shot me with a spyder imagine
Conclusion: iIlove this gun 20/10 if i could, but this is perfect for a hard core woodsballer, or a begginner
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media