paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap ZXS 1000E / Zap ZXS 1000E / Zap ZXS 1000E / Zap ZXS 1000E

Zap ZXS 1000E Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap ZXS 1000E

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap ZXS 1000E
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 5
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• Image conscious entry level electronic paintball marker
• Anodized aluminum body with chrome barrel
• New no-drop forward like the pros
• Locking feedneck
• Led display
Product Availability 
The Zap ZXS 1000E is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Spitlebug Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Too many blowbacks too list
Marker Setup: Black/Blue 2K4 Bushmaster w/PDS, Dye 03 Stickies, MacDev 300 PSI Micro Gauge, CP Twistlock Feedneck, Blue Halo B no Rip, Pure Energy 47/3000 Tank, Dye Rhino tank cover.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, Feedneck, Perhaps a Metal Gripframe.
Strengths: Cheap, reliable, good entry marker.
Weaknesses: Slow as far as most low end electros go. Plastic Grip Frame and grips.
Review: What can I say? Firstly the *Original* Zap ZXS::1000E markers were Black Dragun Clones. I had originally posted my Zap ZXS::1000E review in the Zap Amp Review because there wasn't a category for this marker. Too see the original review check out this page:

http://www.pbreview.com/products/reviews/?sort=new&prod=
2153&page=4#89769

I have owned three of these markers at one point or another. As you can see from the Pictures.

I have always been a Black Dragun fan (I liked thier markers, not the company) and was pleased to see that they were offering Black Dragun clone markers at Wal Mart. So I bought myself a ZXS::1000E. Good investment.

As it turned out the grip frame that came in my marker had a jumper that allowed for full auto at 8 bps. Not too shabby for a $0.02 upgrade.

These markers always fired, I did have a problem with CO2 during cold days. I think that is to be expected though. I also had a problem with a brass sear adjustment spacer that was curiously on only 1 of the 3 ZXS::1000E's that I owned.
Conclusion: The original Zap ZXS::1000E's are solid and dependable markers. They definately need a new barrel and feedneck. A Revvy will feed this thing fast enough. It's a good entry marker. I cannot give this a marker a 9 or 10 because it has the worst cheesy plastic grips and gripframe. An 8 out of 10.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006 at 7:58 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

JShotPaintball Saturday, January 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost any Spyder marker.
Marker Setup: [Main]
Gun: Zap ZXS 1000E
Barrel: 32 Degrees Night Stick
Hopper: Viewloader Quantum
C02/Nitro: 9 Oz. & 20 Oz. Tanks
The Rest: Stock

[Secondary]
Stock Viewloader Triad, I chromed the barrel though :)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (Not neccesary, but I did).
Hopper.
Strengths: Trigger is easy to pull for rapid rates of fire.
Lightweight.
Reliable.
Cheap.
Weaknesses: None Really.
Review: I like this gun, it can shoot rapidly without many ball breaks (I haven't had any). A 1-year old can pull the trigger. It's like a feather. It's similar to the Spyder markers. If you buy it stock it can already shoot 10-12 bps. Good for any player, cheap, reliable.
Conclusion: Good for any paintballer - beginner, intermediate, or pro.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 5th, 2008 at 4:45 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sencha Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha E-Force 2k3-see review
Various 'cockers-better, much better
Marker Setup: Well, right now I am building another custom mechanical 'cocker for myself (none of that electronic 'cocker crap). Otherwise I like a stock class Phantom.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric hopper
put siphon tube in CO2
Other than that whatever you want.
Strengths: Buy off Ebay for like $30
Not a gun you need to fussily care for.
Weaknesses: plastic grip
Suffers lots of shootdown
Review: NOTE: THIS IS ABOUT THE "OLD" BLACK ZXS-1000E, NOT THE NEWER SILVER VERSION.
I got this for "free" as payment for clearing a field of burs and other weeds.

Accuracy:
When I got this I decided to pit it against the similarly priced Piranha E-Force 2k3.

The Piranha had more goodies and firing options, but the stock barrel of the ZXS-1000E was phenomenal by comparison. We even tried an aftermarket barrel for the Piranha, can not remember what type, and it was soundly beaten again. The Piranha went on to blow most of its o-rings over the next few days of play.

Can easily hit the target standard of a Mountain Dew bottle, or similar sized object, at 50 ft no problem. I decided then that this was a great loaner gun for friends or newer players.

Gripframe:
I don't like the stock looseness of the trigger. It is loose and then a hard mouseclick, not exactly a speed gun due to its "weird" feel. I tightened the trigger up though (I'm not spending any money on any gun if there are other methods) and it feels nicer. Really good on batteries though, it can go a good month of avid paintballing.

The plastic grips are grippy, but clear plastic. I can see cracks in them from the wear and tear people have put it through. They dont close perfectly, so beware liquid more than usual. Also the led light is very faint, but there are only 3 things to remember:not on, safety on, and ready to fire. So the brightness is no big deal

Firing:
Doesnt chop paint a lot, but I have had it chop when merely test firing as well as shooting it at max speed. Never know when this gun will chop. You may go entire days with no chop, as well as having many chops in one day or even game (thats after being cleaned thoroughly).

Does react poorly from CO2 and can experience shoot down really fast. If you can not avoid shooting like a mad beast then....this gun may not work for you. It will suffer strong shoot down in about 10 quick shots. This gun is pointless to buy a compressed air system just for it. You could put a siphon in you CO2 tank (if you dont know what you are doing DON'T, but its not hard) and it works really good like this. The FPS can vary +-8 balls per second, quite a bit for some, but not bad. Personally I never used it a heck of a lot for those reasons. I had already put siphon tubes in some CO2 tanks for a cocker I use, and no way I would change the tubes position for a inferior gun.

Durability:
Well firstly for anyone who has never worked on a gun BE CAREFUL. This gun has more than a few little parts, like a tiny metal disc, that a lot of players would probably lose when they take it apart for the first time. I never let anyone field strip anything not theres without my supervision. Generally I just tell them to pour a little oil into the bottomline, fire a few dry rounds, and everything should be good. Some pieces are plastic, but they havent broken yet.

After a year the sear on my gun was acting up, and the gun would not fire. I scrounged up a sear that would work, and voila good as gold. After some inspection i found out that there have been numerous returns on this product, and many places selling these guns refurbished. So you can still get these for like $30 off ebay.

One downside is that people have had troubles with the electronics on this gun. I must confess I have the same problem, but it is entirely my fault. I was in the middle of moving and this gun was misplaced and was accidently placed in a non-heated garage over the cold Saskatchewan winter. I found it with rust formiNeedless to say it no longer fires, but I will decipher the problem and fix it or perhaps use it as a base for a custom project.

Edit:
Tested the wiring and found a dead wire so I replaced that and she fires again, phenomenal....love it lol. But then the gun would go and randomly burst or even shoot and was really unpredictable and dangerous. I took it apart and checked things and the stock spring can get dislodged from it's place easy so I doubled the strength and put on a guide so it couldn't dislodge. Guns perfect again. Once again a fix with no money, just a few minutes of time. love this guns easy maintenance.
Conclusion: You could do a lot worse. Considering I have no money in the gun, and "fixes" are cheap, its pretty nice. Works good as a spare or for friends.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 21st, 2008 at 8:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pleades Sunday, February 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Amp Generator, dragun markers, spyders, piranahs
Marker Setup: Marq 7, XSV Velocity, 70uc 4.5k Cross fire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lol I dont really think there is any .. But a bolt ( stock is still good ) better frame, mabea rocking frame, a reg, no a gas through, on/off asa, lots of stuff
Strengths: Fairly accurate with stock every ( bolt, barrel, etc)
dosent chop a whole lot,
Weaknesses: Blowback design

needed to grind down feed neck when i got an evo 2
Review: Well i got this marker like 4 years ago for christmas, and it was my first electro marker, i did me really good for a couple of years, till i got into tournament play, but its not all that bad.
great for people getting into the electro stage of paintball.

Strengths
Fairly Accurate
Good Quality (some what)
fast for plastic frame
us a jumper on the 2 prongs on the board to get full-auto

Weaknesses
Chops the odd ball
had to take it back to wal-mart 3 times cuz the electronics ( solenoid mainly) stopped working
Conclusion: For 150$ Canadian, its pretty good :) it lasted me from then till now, but dont really use it, but hey if your just getting into the electro stage of paintball go ahead and get this, its pretty reliable unless the electronics fail lol
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

xxJubiesxx Thursday, September 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: ZXS 1000e (classic)
12oz co2
Viewloader Revv
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel New bolt and New feed neck
Strengths: Consistant, air efficient, sturdy,
Weaknesses: LOUD as hell ball breaks in barrel feed neck is super tiny
plastic grip
Review: This gun is pretty cool for a walmart gun but i wouldnt recomend it because it chops alot and the accuracy sucks the amount of barrel breaks are distcusting and unless u like being shot while out in the woods the loudness of it would be helped by a lighter bolt (derlin acs) and last but not least the grip frame is plastic.............not cool
Conclusion: I do recomend this product for people just starting but for people who know paintball it sucks i half and half recomend it.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media