paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board TA5D / Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board TA5D / Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board TA5D / Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board TA5D / Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board TA5D

Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board TA5D Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Advanced Paintball Electronics

Buy Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board TA5D

Paintball A-5 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board TA5D
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Complete Drop in solution! This item comes already soldered together with Switch, Solenoid, Capacitor, Battery Connector and of course the Rampage board! Just Replace your existing internals with ours!

* Direct Circuit Board Replacement for the Existing E-Gripô
* Features a state-of-the-art RISC Microcontroller
* Weather resistant Conformal Coating
* Extended Battery life - Almost 3 TIMES!
* Push button mode selection to change Firing Mode
* Visual LED Mode Indicator
* 7 Firing Modes
- Semi Automatic
- Turbo+
- Full Automatic
- 3 Round Burst
- Response
- Rampage
- X-Mode
* User Programmable
∑Rates of fire from 15 to 25BPS!
∑Adjustable Dwell and Debounce
∑Programmable Ramping and Turbo mode
* 1 year warranty




No Soldering Required! This is a user installable item!
Product Availability 
The Advanced Paintball Electronics Rampage Board TA5D is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
outofdarkness Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Normal E-grip
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Lapco Snapshot Barrel
R-5 Ricochet Loader
Z drop forward
Palmer Stabilizer
HPA
APE Rampage Board
JCS Dual Trigger
Macrolined
Strengths: Read Review
Weaknesses: None thus far
Review: Great Product by APE, these guys really know what they're doing.
The product is very stable and well thought out.

Bottom line, it works, and its much more functional than the stock board.

The lights are much better than just guessing, and programming is easy.

Push Button selector (no more dial)
Highest rate of fire possible
Visual Indicator
Great Battery Life
7 Modes of Fire (some adjustable)
Great price ($50)
Conclusion: Great product, buy it while its still 50.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xekul Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock E-Grip (have also played around with a buddy's WAS boarded A5)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5

E-Grip (now with APE board)
QEV mod
JCS Dual Trigger
Proteam Bolt
Core Expansion Chamber
Apex Barrel
Lots of other random accessories that would not affect performance of this product
Strengths: 1. More modes, better modes
2. Lights easy to see even in sunlight.
Weaknesses: 1. Tricky programming
2. Cannot use full ROF w/o other mods
3. ROF disparaties
Review: NOTE: I am adding the Vortex Mod and a LPK (will use HPA) with Mac Dev regulator to my setup in hopes of getting a higher and more consistent ROF. Iíll write a review with that setup after Iíve tested it. Right now I am running on CO2 with a QEV valve mod, an expansion chamber and pro-team bolt as my only other upgrades (that would affect the boardís performance).

I will write a concise review for the ADD people like myself. If you want to read my long review with all my experiences testing the board, it is down below.

Concise Review:

The Good:
1. relatively easy to install
2. more modes and better modes than stock board (7 v. 5) including ramping
3. higher ROF and adjustable de-bounce
4. good support from APE customer service
5. supposedly water-resistant
6. longer battery life
7. lights easy to see even in sunlight
8. push-button programming far better than stock screw turning method

The Bad:
1. need to purchase other upgrades to take advantage of higher ROF (see full review)
2. programming can be a little tricky, you will have to have the instructions in front of you the whole time
3. $70 board for a $100 E-grip = $170 total - maybe a little pricey for some people
4. disparities between what the board says the ROF is and what the chrono says the ROF is

Full Review:

I replaced my stock E-grip with the Rampage board b/c I wanted a higher ROF than the stock board would provide. APE claims the rampage board will do 25 BPS but they are quick to add that there is no way your cyclone feeder will keep up w/o other upgrades to the marker. I knew I needed a QEV valve to get the cyclone to feed above 12-14 bps so I added a QEV at the same time I installed the board. Then I took the setup out to the field, juiced up a fresh 20oz CO2 tank, set the board to 22 BPS (also set the de-bounce to its highest 25 as recommended by the instructions for high ROFs). Grinning with anticipation I let Ďer rip. The marker fired one shot (the one chambered) and then nothing, just a long, loud and CO2 gulping ďblap-blap-blap-blapĒ while the marker kicked like a mule in typical A5 fashion.

Disappointed, I scaled the ROF down to 22 BPS and tried again. This time it fired more than one ball, but it painfully obvious that the poor cyclone feeder, even with a QEV, just could not keep up. I set the ROF to 19 BPS and tried once again. This time it seemed like the cyclone was keeping up, every now and then it would skip a ball or two but for the most part it was shooting a steady stream. I was a little disappointed that I paid over $100 ($70 for the board $35 for the QEV) to get my A5 to shoot a mere 4 BPS faster than a stock E-grip (my stock board shot 14-15 BPS on the chrono and didnít skip).

After going through 500 or so balls, I swapped CO2 tanks and put the marker back on the chrono. Turns out I was not shooting 19 BPS at all but only 16-17 BPS according to the chrono. This made me very angry as I realized that I had spent over $100 to get my A5 to shoot only 2 or 3 BPS faster than stock. I donít know why the chrono read different from what the board said it was shooting at, but the people at APE suggested that maybe the cyclone was still skipping and was thus the marker was cycling at 19 BPS but only 16-17 balls per second actually came out of the barrel.

Some people have suggested that I get the Vortex Mod for the cyclone feeder if I want to shoot 20+ BPS ropes with my A5 and I am in the process of installing the Vortex Mod on my marker (add another $35 to my credit card bill). Also, I decided that trying to make a high ROF maker with CO2 was like trying to make a Dodge Neon into an 11-second drag car, so I forked out another $200 for an HPA tank, $110 for an A5 Low Pressure Kit (LPK) and $90 for a Mac Dev regulator. Total = well over $500 on upgrades to take advantage of the Rampage boardís full potential. And I donít know if the new mods will make the difference but as soon as a get all the new goodies installed and tested, I will write another review.

NOTE: the people at APE have since told me that I need a QEV AND a Vortex Mod to get my ROF over 20 BPS. They also told me that it would probably max out around 22-23 and that to get up to 25 I would need a Q-loader (another $110). Creating a super-fast A5 is turning out to be an expensive project.
Conclusion: If you don't mind spending the money for the extra mods, or if you are buying this board for its other modes and dont care about a high ROF, then this is a good product. It does what APE says it does (with the possible exception of the ROF disparity I talked about). Over-all I would give it an 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Diveanx Friday, December 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WAS
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, JCS Gold tube with delrin bolt, JCS RVA and VooDoo folding stock, Spec Ops FOG foregrip, SM1 Orbium 2 barrel system, Tippmann E grip with the APE board and APE Pro triger system
Strengths: Waterproof, Push button programable, increased battery life
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have had the pleasure of testing this board for the past few months and I must say that I am very impressed.

I typically shoot a highend marker but have used my A5 marker for the past couple of months to help with testing and I must say that it has performed flawlessly.

With the upgrades I now have on my A5 (mainly the APE board and the APE Pro trigger system) it competes with any of my highend markers.
Conclusion: Whether youa re a recball player or a seasoned scenario player and use an A5, I strongly suggest trying this board and trigger system out. I will never leave you using your old stock grip or rt during a rainy scenario and it is as fast as any frame out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Pez X Monday, February 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann stock board for a5
angels ir3, a4 fly, force 4 fly, g7, g7 fly
Marker Setup: Force 4 Fly - 70 CU in 4500 fiber tank, dye ultralite barrels, Halo B with RIP and INTELLIFEED
Tippman A5 Stealth with Flatline, E-grip with APE rampage board
Strengths: Low Cost Multi Mode Hi-rate of fire Board
Weaknesses: No eyes
Review: I have a Tippman A5 for when I play in the woods, and I only had the respose trigger that it came with on there. I was disappointed in my rates of fire i could I achieve since I normally use an angel. My teamates have been trying to talk me into a E-GRIP for the A5, But at 13 bps, with not that many options I wasn't excited. That was UNTIL the APE Rampage board came out. I fired my teamates and had to buy it. I asked my parents for an E-GRIP for christmas and I got one, The board was like $50 from www.goapeonline.com. It has 7 modes of fire Including RAMPING! LOL This thing is great, my favorite mode is response where it fires on pull and also upon release, If you can pull 8 times a sec (most anyone can) your shooting 16 bps, with no bouncing. Oh yeah btw this thing has full adjustability for debounce and Max Rate of Fire can be set (mine is on 16 bps, but you can set it up to 25 bps INSANE). My friend has a WAS board for his A5 and has all types of problems, runaway triggers, quickly dishargin batteries, you name it, he used my board and just bought one. I almost forgot to mention this board uses a recesse push putton for programming, NO SCREWDRIVERS YEA!
Conclusion: This is a great board for how cheap it is, for less than a cost of a case of paint Buy it, check their website with a video of these guys shooting it. I love this board it is SO MUCH FUN. It doesn't have eyes, but I never chopped yet, and for the price I am giving it a 10!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

netramakin Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
So much easier to use than WAS!
Marker Setup: A5, Red Hot, Superfly, Rampage, Vortex, Flatline/C-series 4" flanker, A-5A2 foregrip, MP5 mag, MP stock
Strengths: Very easy to use; simple settings
Weaknesses: Not for high end tourney ball, I guess
Review: I've been woodsballing heavily for six months now but bought an eGrip shortly after I got my first marker, an A5. The WAS was difficult to use and I had trouble sometimes getting it to work at all. The light would just flash and no matter what I did, I couldn't get into programming mode without taking out the battery and resetting it. It was just a big hassle. I wasn't happy about laying down $80 for a new board but it was worth every penny. The modes (semi-, 3SB, auto, etc.) are simple, easy to use and change. Just poke the button with a stick if you have nothing else handy and you're in the next mode. I generally just leave mine on 3-shot burst and pump the trigger for a rope of paint and I haven't even installed my Vortex or bought a QEV yet (and don't like double triggers). It probably won't ever beat a high-end marker, but that's not why I bought an A5. For woodsball and scenario types, the Rampage is also waterproof so you can play on through the rain with no worries (it works). I kept the WAS and put it on a grip frame with a drop to use for tourney fields, but I seldom use it. Maybe I'm just too stupid to remember how to change a WAS on the field, but the Rampage is much simpler to use and hasn't failed me yet.
Conclusion: If you have an A-5 you have to have an eGrip and if you have an eGrip you have to have the Rampage board. I give it a 9 due to the cost, but if you can find it cheaper, consider it a 10 IMHO.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

v1l2u5 Saturday, August 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WAS Board
Marker Setup: APE Board Egrip
M81a2 mag
9" OPSGear shroud
8" Lapco Fake supr
16" J&J Cerm Barrel
Smoked ricochet hopper
30 Swat Force Red Dot site (yes it works) w/ offsite rail
m4 stock
3 point sling
Dead On Power Tube and Bolt upgrade
Palmer Inline Regulator w/ remote line (maybe the best upgrade)
Strengths: push button .
More modes
no shut off after 10-15 min
Weaknesses: None
Review: It preformed great!!!! After being dissappointed by the WAS Board I was very scepticle on spending the money on another board , but pbreview made my mind up. I purchased the board from Special OPS with out the solenoid. I recommend that if you can't solder or don;t have a good soldering gun/pencil, just have APE do it for you. I soldered my solenoid on and bent the microswitch up a bit and installed it with pretty good ease. I give that to the WAS board because I was always have to take it apart to fix it. I was please that it didn't bounce and that I experiance no problems. I set it to I think "Turbo+" 5 semi shots then go into Auto Responce, I was loving that setting and in my opinion its the best for hardcore woodsballer. It was nice to light someone up when they were moving from cover to cover.
Conclusion: I will tell any A-5 owners that it is "the upgrade to do".
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LordOdin99 Monday, June 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 (updated receiver halves & internals)
HPA
Tech T (QEPH, Lightning Rod, Vortex Mod, Squishy Paddles)
JCS Hex bolt w/ DOP o-ring
JCS Gold powertube
Maddmann drive spring (red)
JCS RVA
PPS Stabilizer
E-grip w/ APE Rampage board
Rhythm Innovation Pro Single Trigger
Lapco bottomline adapter
CP direct mount on/off ASA
14" Full Freak kit w/ stainless steel inserts
TruGlo 40mm Red/Green dot sight
SpecialOps Flattop rail
SpecialOps cocking handle
X7 hopper
Lapco extended foregrip
Strengths: -Easy programming
-Technical support
-Water resistant
-30 bps capable
-Many modes
-Able to fine tune
Weaknesses: -Fragile wires
-Finicky leaf switch
Review: I've spent quite a while with this board and despite the difficulties of setting it up, I love it. Works like a charm and from what I hear, is much easier to program than other boards. Initially, it was a real pain to get it to work correctly with the leaf switch with a mechanical trigger. You have to bend the metal leaf, so that the trigger will release the switch. If not done properly, you will have difficulties with firing or the leaf will fall out. In my case, it would not go above 12 bps because of mechanical bounce.

After much fine tuning and troubleshooting with their technical support, I sent it in and they were able to get it to work correctly. However, the BEST way to fine tune with this board, is with a magnetic trigger by Rhythm Innovation. I cannot stress enough how much easier it is to set it up with this trigger. After which, I can get the gun to shoot 25+ bps without a hitch in any mode.

And if newer updates come out, you can send your board in and they will reflash it for you so you can take advantage of them.
Conclusion: Really worth the money. Easy programming, more durable than competitors, and great support.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slingshot66 Thursday, September 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann E-Grip Not the WAS board
Marker Setup: A5
Empire Barrel Kit
Ops Gear SR 9 Barrel Shroud
Ops Gear A5 Long Wire Stock
M 16 Clip
45mm Red Dot
BT Fixed Rail Sight
Q-Loader W/5 Pods
Hpa Tank

Tiberius Tac 8 W/ Holster and 5 Clips
Strengths: Its very easy to change modes. No screw drivers.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This E board is the best I've used or seen. The company is there for you with questions and support. It starts at 15 bps with is 14.7 bps which is a lot faster then the tippmann e-grip. It maxs out at 25 bps which is totaly crazy. The company will program the board for turney players or as is for us woodsball players. The only hard part on self install is getting the switch bent right. But this trigger is well worth the time.

Try this trigger. Its got to be the best.
Conclusion: Great price, Great support, Great trigger

Must have for Woodsball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media