paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts 360 QEV / Smart Parts 360 QEV / Smart Parts 360 QEV / Smart Parts 360 QEV

Smart Parts 360 QEV Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts 360 QEV

Paintball Ion Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts 360 QEV
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $20

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The only Quick Exhaust Valve that swivels 360 degrees for installation at any angle. The 360 QEV also increases cycle rates and shots per tank, while decreasing dwell and input pressure.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts 360 QEV is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
af895 Friday, October 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month64 of 66 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Clippard QEV
Marker Setup: Jungle Green SP-8
Extendable Stock
Tactical Rail Kit
Stealth Barrel kit
TechT L6 Lightening Bolt
Smart Parts 360 QEV or Clippard QEV
CP Regulator, Long
PMI Pure Energy 68/4500 HPA
PMI remote
OpsGear 18" Interceptor barrel
Tasco BKRD30 RedDot Sight
Viewloader Evo II hopper
Q-loader System
Tippmann Triumph SSL-200 hopper
Strengths: Ease of installation, cost
Weaknesses: Ineffective / less effective than Clippard QEV
Review: I ran over 500 balls through my marker tonight, specifically to test QEV's, and wanted to post results.

Setup:
Smart Parts SP-8 (for those that don't already know, the SP-8 has Ion internals)
Tech-T L6 bolt
Pure Energy 68/4500 HPA tank on a PMI remote
stock barrel
Scenario Dreams T-board
(everything else should be irrelevant or explained below)

While I would have liked a better chrono for the tests, I had to settle for my handheld Radarchron unit.

What prompted this test was a game I played the other week where shots were jumping all over and I suspected inconsistent velocity. This was just after adding a Smart Parts QEV as well, I might add - I'd previously used the Clippard.

Test conditions were an indoor rec-ball field, about 15-degrees Celcius. Paint was fresh X-Ball Silver.
The Chronowas held in the same position and reset for each shot. Shots were taken at somewhat consistent intervals. If a break was needed, the first shot was ignored due to drop off potential. There was no 1st-shot-drop compensation active on the board.

Smart Parts 360 QEV
TEST 1
dwell 15ms
consistency: +/- 12 fps

TEST 2
dwell 34ms (T-board default)
consistency: +/- ??? fps
Balls went all over with these settings. There didn't seem to be a median - it ranged 10 to 15fps in either direction. Truly bad.

TEST 3
dwell 20ms
consistency: +/- 9 fps
This was a bit better.

Clippard QEV - installed using carefully applied teflon tape; no leaks detected
TEST 4
dwell 20ms
consistency: +/- 3 fps

TEST 5
dwell 13ms
consistency: +/- 4 fps
Conclusion: Conclusions
I settled on the Test 5 dwell of 13ms - slightly less consistent shot to shot but likely much more air efficient - with the Clippard QEV. The Smart Parts 360 is in my parts box now and I have no intention of reinstalling it.

I don't know how or why a QEV could make a difference in shot to shot consistency but with about 100 shots per test, I feel confident the Clippard squarely beats the Smart Parts 360.

I would like to hear anyone else's take on this - suggestions for other tests, critique of my methodology and so on.

FWIW, Alex, my friend who works at PBL, indicates his Ion (same internals - L6 bolt, Clippard QEV) has a dwell of 12.5ms and shoots extremely consistently.

Maybe I got a bad 360 QEV but I have to give this one a below average rating.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 11th, 2006 at 6:21 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ASP Clippard qev
Marker Setup: Ion
SP swivel qev
AKA Sidewinder
Kila '06 detents
VP Scythe trigger
CP 2-piece
CP Micro drop
CP 2k5 on/off
CCM No Pro
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
Crossfire 68/4500
ProTouch grips
Strengths: Screws on like a banjo fitting.
Works great, end of story.
Weaknesses: Have to shave a little in the frame (see review).
Review: Didn't actually need a new qev, since the Clippard worked fine, but i was getting tired of removing it and it got to the point where sealing it was a chore (o-rings it came with just didn't cut it). So i kept calling the local shop until they got some of these swivel qevs in. Yay, they got a bunch last week.

Installation = simple. Just like a banjo fitting. But it's got the barb connection instead of the stock banjo's push-in-then-pull-out connection. So the swivel qev is a little longer, meaning you have to cut a tiny bit off the hose. Easy to measure, i discovered - measure the length of the swivel qev's barb then cut that same length off the hose. Perfect.

Played all day Saturday and wow, the qev works great. I was getting 12 pods off a 3k fill, no joke. That comes to about 1500-1600 balls, since a 140 ct. pod doesn't actually hold 140 paintballs. More like 130-135, depending on the brand. But still, nearly a case off a tank that wasn't even filled to its 4500 potential. Pretty sweet. I was getting similar results with the Clippard, though. In other words, any qev = awesome.

Now the only weakness - the swivel qev is just a tad taller than the stock banjo. But that tiny bit creates a hair width gap between the body & the frame. Doesn't affect performance at all but it might bother some people.

Easiest remedy is take a drill with a drill bit that's the same width as the head of the qev (part where allen key goes in), find where the qev touches the frame and drill only slightly into it. Don't need to go deep, since you don't want to punch a hole in the frame.
Conclusion: Works great, installs easy enough. Recommended over standard qevs. SP's swivel qev belongs on Ions, all other qevs belong on cockers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

yougotowned Wednesday, June 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CLippard QEV
Marker Setup: ion
ccm no-rise
empire barrel kit
vp scythe trigger
virtue laser eyes
firebolt
sp 360 qev
ndz cocker threaded breech
ndz detents
hybrid grips
hybrid push button asa
cp rail
cp reg
Strengths: Swivel
No more tefloning!
Easy install
Weaknesses: Hit or miss
Review: Before I start the review... please read the whole thing(even the conclusion). I dont want a stupid reason for a dispute. I know alot about my Ion, and how to work them very well. I can fix my own problems, etc. I know this review didnt give the 360 a good rating... but like I said, I know my Ion. I know what is a good dwell, and what is not.


Ok, so I picked one of these up again. I used to have one, but threw it out because I was sick of changing orings when my bumper oring wore down too much(from high cycle speeds). So I picked up a firebolt like 2 months later, then later picked up the 360 again. I installed it, lowered my dwell to about 10 with the input at 150ish.

Velocity was too low, so I bumped it up to 15.. Velocity was still too low, bumped it to 18. Too low. Bumped it to 22. Velocity was 285 finally.


PROS:
-t's swivel, so you dont have to be aligned right like the other qev's
-No more tefloning threads to seal like other qev's
-really easy to install. It works like a banjo, so just put the hose in, screw it in, and vwala.
-Keeps lube out of solenoid(just like all qev's).


CONS:
-Hit or miss. SP in my opinion has quality control issues. Theyre Ion reg is a hit or miss. You either get decent consistency, or terrible. Same with this. You either get a good dwell amount, or not.
-No QD. It isnt a problem for me at least. I dont even care for it, since I never take the qev out of the hose.

Many people on pbnation complain about their dwell being at the 20's with a bolt and qev. Some say they get in the 'teens with just a 360 qev. I understand all guns are different, but when we're talking 22 dwell flashes for someone with this qev and bolt, versus a guy with 15 flashes and stock bolt and 360 qev, there is something up. Plus, 22 is too high. For those who dont know. Too high of a dwell will cause inefficiency.
Conclusion: SP has some quality control issues, so beware. THere are more misses than hits. I dont really recommend this unless if you are annoyed with a simple tefloning and are looking for a very simple install. Simplicity wise, the sp 360 is great. When it comes to quality, I'd take a virtue, ndz, ans, etc to be safe.


I'm sorry, but from my experience, this gets a 6. The quality wasnt great, SP will not replace it for me either(so dont try arguing on that point). Im no Ion hater, or an SP hater coming here to give products a bad rating. 6 is still above average, since 5 is average....just mentioning that for those who dont understnad that.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 8th, 2006 at 9:11 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

ion halo Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion with Halo b
Strengths: Makes drop of none.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This 360 QEV has made my ion's drop off nothing. Also my bolt cycles faster than it has ever before. Combined with a new bolt and a new board you will reach over 20+ bps easily. And when you buy a Halo this QEV will be very useful. This is to just get the minimum word count.
Conclusion: I would have this product be bought by anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

McChickenNugget Thursday, May 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
-360* QEV
-Firebolt
-custom drop
-68/4500 Max-Flo
-Egg2
Strengths: Air efficiency
Allows faster cycling
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Well i just got this neat little bugger today and it is really neat.

First for installation, it goes in the middle banjo fittings place, for all who don't know. Then when installing you need to clip a bit of the hose off for it to fit, just a hair more than the barb length itself works well. then pop it in, set your dwell to around 12-15 and your ready to go.

Works great though, better efficiency, and the faster cycling.
Conclusion: Great product, i give it a 9.8, round to a 10. Only bad thing is you have to clip the hose off a bit.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dragonis Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
any other qev that fits the ion
Marker Setup: SP Ion
SP All American Barrel
SP Max Flo Micro
SP 360 QEV
SP Q-lock Feedneck
Empire Reloader B
VP Scythe Trigger
Strengths: Easy to install and remove during disassambly
It makes the ion work better, period
Weaknesses: More expensive than other QEVs
Review: This is a must have upgrade for any Ion owner. I was able to reduce my dwell down to 10 flashes from bottom and my input pressure down to about 160. This little upgrade also seemed to help a little with the shoot down problem that the Ion has with the stock regulator. The big thing that sets this QEV apart is that it is easy to remove during maintenance. It is about $5 more expensive than the others but it is worth it.

Update: I have to add a word of warning to anyone who has purchased or will be purchasing ANY qev for their ion. The increased speed of the bolt causes extreme amounts of wear on the bumper o-ring at the front of the bolt. When I strip and cleaned my gun after my last day of play the o-ring was destroyed. The only remedy for this is to get a lighter bolt which will reduce the force that the ring experiences.
Conclusion: Great upgrade that anyone should put on their ion.

Update: I have reduced my review of this item from a 10 to a 9 because I feel Smart Parts should give warning about the possible damage this upgrade can cause.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 24th, 2006 at 10:55 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

BigTarget04 Sunday, February 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-None
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Ion, 14" Dye Ultralite, Smart Parts Q-Lock, Kila Detents, CIP Unimount, 68/3000 Crossfire, CP Sling Blade, SP 360 QEV, AKA 2-Liter +, Dye Sticky 3 Grips
Strengths: -Easy install
Weaknesses: -None so far
Review: Well after ordering this and constant chats with Smart Parts sales reps for six weeks I finally received this qev. Ever since I got my ion I've wanted to add a qev to it, but was waiting for smart parts to release a banjo style one. The 360 was the answer to what I had been waiting for so as soon as I could I ordered one. After waiting forever I finally got it. Install is very simple, just remove stock banjo from hose, then take some shocker lube or w/e grease you use in your gun and apply some to the barb fitting (this allows the hose to slide on much much easier), take same allen wrench that you use to thread and unthread the stock banjos and thread in the 360, find a rof calculator to adjust the dwell and recharge rates, chrono, adjust pressure or dwell to acheive proper velocity, and your good to go. Just a side note some have noticed the qev is too tall to fit snugly inside the frame to allow the body to sit flush. I did not have this problem but those that did simply tightened the qev more and they were good.
Conclusion: If you dont want the hassle of having to use teflon or loctite to get your clippard style or eclipse qevs to seal then go for this one. Or if you just want the ease of the stock fittings combined with the benefits seen with the installation of a qev go for this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

renegadeBaller Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock banjo fitting
Marker Setup: Ion
ANS Blue to Black Frame and Body
Virtue Board and LAser Eyes
CP Roller Trigger
Eclipse On Off
CP Reg
Orange Dentens
Freadk 14" Barrel Kit
Shocteck Bolt
Hybrid Grips
Smart PArts QEV
Strengths: Easy to istall
Works great
Weaknesses: None found
Review: Okay first off i didnt have any problems installing my QEV i didnt have to shave anything at all.. There is no gap between my body and frame or anything so i dunno.. BUt any way great QEV works great increases cycle rate makes you shoot faster and use less air.. what else can you want... Buy it its a great upgrade and its cheap... easy to intsall and greatly improves performance just dont forget to lower your dwell when you install the QEV
Conclusion: Great cheap effective up.. everyones dream
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

oldfart1973 Monday, February 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
New Designz QEV
Eclipse QEV
Other Clippard type QEVs
Marker Setup: Smarts Parts Ion
Smart Parts All-American/Freak Tip 14-inch black/red (.689)
Dye Ultra-lite 14-inch black/red (.692)
Smart Parts 360 QEV
Custom Products trigger red
Trinity 05 Body black
Hybrid Grips CK
Hybrid Low Feed Neck red
New Designz Detents
Shocktech on/off ASA red
Shocktech #1 Rail red
Evlution black
Cross Fire 68/4500 fiber

Strengths: Super Easy to install
Quiet (other ones pop)

Weaknesses: None at all
Review: After trying almost every other QEV out there. Most of the other ones leaked all the time or just do not fit right. I gave up and put my banjo fitting back on and raised my dwell up again. I was told by Smart Parts to wait for this one it will solve all of your problem. So I did, I payed in full at my local dealer for one and a few weeks later it came. I slapped it on gased up the marker BAM no leaks!!! I have brought my dwell back down to 15 clicks and my pressure to about 160PSI with the stock regulator. I'm gettting about 1600 shots out of my 68/4500 AWSOME!!!!!
Conclusion: Stop wasting time and go out and get one ASAP.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 27th, 2006 at 1:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AresPBIon Friday, September 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't used any other QEVs.
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Firebolt
SP 360 QEV
Blackheart Board
Freak Kit
VP Scythe Trigger
Dye Sticky Grips
On/Off
CP Long Reg
PMI Pure Energy 68/4500
Strengths: Simple and easy to install. Works perfectly for me. No cutting to install.
Weaknesses: None that I can find, works good for me.
Review: I got a really good price on the Smart Parts 360 QEV so I picked it up even though everyone was suggesting against it. Came in the mail, installed it, tuned it. Worked perfectly at 14 dwell. So I got what was called a "hit". Reduced air consumption from about 1200 shots on my 68/4500 to about 1600 shots a fill. Not really much to say besides it works and I would recommend it. If you are weary about it, buy a clippard.
Conclusion: I like the product, it installed easy, no cutting, and it worked well for me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media