paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Special Ops Paintball A5A2 Foregrip / Special Ops Paintball A5A2 Foregrip / Special Ops Paintball A5A2 Foregrip / Special Ops Paintball A5A2 Foregrip

Special Ops Paintball A5A2 Foregrip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Special Ops Paintball

Buy Special Ops Paintball A5A2 Foregrip

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Special Ops Paintball A5A2 Foregrip
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Special OPS is proud to offer four versions of our A-5a2 foregrip for the Tippmann A-5. Extremely tough injection-molded plastic will not break, even with heavy abuse. All A-5a2 foregrips use the same mounting location as the stock handle. Due to popular demand we offer three versions depending on the setup you would like to run. All grips come in black. Colors are available in Duracoat finishes. Call a customer service representative to see a selection of available colors.
Product Availability 
The Special Ops Paintball A5A2 Foregrip is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
vtTaco Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Vertical Grip
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 R/T
SpecOps A2-A5 Pro Foregrip
PMI Remote w/ Slide Check
Ricochet R5 Hopper
Crossfire 68/4500
Aka Sidwinder
Opsgear AK47 Folding Stock
J&J 12" S2 Ceramic
Strengths: Different models for different needs.
For me, feels more natural than vert grip.
Weaknesses: Can't really get a full grip.
Review: I bought this grip because I wanted it to feel more like my rifles. I didn't realize that because of the cyclone feed, your palm never really touches the bottom of the grip. Also, the edge of your hand will hit the bottom line or regulator. The front "fin" of the receiver pokes out of the front of the grip as well and gets in the way. This all annoyed the crap ou of me at first. I spent a weekend just walking around the house (getting strange looks from the wife) trying to get used to it, but decided to go back to the vert grip. When I did, the vert grip felt strange. Back went the foregrip. Some backyard testing revealed that I could get my first shots closer to the target (no sights) than before even though the grip bugged me. I sent the grip back to SpecOps paintball and exchanged it for the Pro version. The Pro version required me to cut off the front "fin" and cut a large hole in the bottom of the grip for my Sidewinder regulator. My wife though I was crazy for taking my Dremel to a $230 marker but it was worth it. My A5 now feels much better since the rib isn't poking into my index finger. I can grab the reg or the foregrip as my body position dictates. I need to remove it with an allen wrench to pull out the tombstone though. No more no-tools field striping.

The grip itself is made of a dense high strength plastic and is very durable and solidly locks onto the marker.

Shooting it left-handed, I can get my whole hand under it. It almost makes me wish I was a south paw.

This is not for everyone, especially if you don't want to hack up your marker to use the Pro version. Unfortunately, the Pro version feels better than all the others. The grip stil feels weird to me since I can't get my entire hand under it but it inexplicably "works". I wish it was a little thicker to facilitate a fuller grip, but It would look odd and might disrupt the perfect ergonomics it gives me.
Conclusion: All this grip does is change the look and feel of the marker. There's no way I or anyone else can tell you if you'll like this so handle an A5 with one first if you can. If that's not possible ,and you still think this might be for you, Spec Ops Paintball has great customer service.

For me: 10
For you: ?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 15th, 2006 at 10:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Max_Hattuer Friday, January 13th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 foregrip
Marker Setup: Tipmann A5
JJ Ceramic 14" barrel
SpecOps A5A2 foregrip for stock bottomline
JCS Voodoo folding stock w/ RVA
DOP bullet drop with on/off
Ricochet hopper
Strengths: Looks great, feels natural
Weaknesses: Cannot be used with low pressure kit
Review: This was one of the first mods that I picked up for my A5, and I haven't taken it off except for cleaning.

For me, it feels more natural than using the stock k-grip, or even the longer grips put out by other companies for the A5. It fits nice and snug on the marker, no slippage at all, matter of fact, it takes a bit to get it on and off.

The bottomline will get in the way until you get used to using this grip, but after awhile you won't even notice it, and if you are more comfortable firing your marker like a rifle, then this is the perfect mod.

Not too mention, its fairly cheap and easy to install. I play a little rough with my marker, and I have yet to see even a scratch!
Conclusion: I definately recommend this product for anyone that wants a different look or feel to their A5. I have yet to see many people using it, so it really makes your A5 stand out a bit. Too bad it doesn't come in a woodgrain look!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

USA A-5 Saturday, October 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 flatline, RT, expantion chamber, remote, special ops forgrip
Strengths: Looks better if you have the expantion chamber.
Weaknesses: There is none.
Review: If u have the expantion chamber and you think your gun looks bad with to forgrips buy this one. It look sick with it and if you get the 90* mount (makes grip stick out side) to go for the tommy gun look it will defently turn some heads. Ok i put this on my gun Because it is a fast and cheap way to improve the look of the gun so why dont you.
Conclusion: Looks better
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

_Quiet Storm_ Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: a-5, opsgear operator 16" barrel, opsgear g36 stock, special ops a5a2 forgrip, simmons red dot sight, double trigger, and a tac cap.
Strengths: Makes gun like a real rifle if you have it with a stock.
Weaknesses: A bit hard to install. Well, not realy.
Review: I really like this grip for my a-5. To me it just flows with how it want to hold my gun. It is also very sturdy. Made out of vey solid plastic. I have been using this since last summer and it has never let me down. Plus the design looks great and feels great too. At my local field, I got a compliment on it by one of the guys that works there. About a month later, they had it at the shop.
Conclusion: I think it is a great uprgrade if you either don't like your standard foregrip or if you just think it is just what your looking for, get it at www.specialopspaintball.com
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 27th, 2006 at 3:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Donster 125 Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Verticle Forgrip
Custom 98 Flatline Shroud
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, SP 20" Tactical Barrel, Special Ops A5A2 Stock, Shorty Grip, Dagger Vest (Digicam), Marauder II Battle outfit (Digicam), Opsgear UMP gas-through mag, RIchochet R5 hopper, Lapco Offset sight rail, Armson Pro-Dot Max Duty Gunsight, Orange Howitzer Bolt, Vortex Mod,
Strengths: RIfle-like feel
"Tight"
Weaknesses: Closer to the gun than expected (explained)
Review: **This review is based on the "shorty" model of the Special Ops A5A2 grips**

Well after selling my old 98 and getting an A5, i wanted a sub/sniper look (i will post pics of my gun shortly, so stay tuned). I didn't mind the stock A5 verticle foregrip because it was tight and kept my profile smaller. However, i missed the "rifle-like" feel that the 98 with flatline shroud provided. I decided to get this grip to solve both of my problems. This grip allows me to have that rifle feel without extending my arm past the "handguard" in front of the origonal foregrip thus making it tight. I was origonally worried that the forgrip would interfere with my Opsgear UMP mag, but it doesn't. That being said, if anyone has an SMG mag system, and you want a rifle feel, GET THIS GRIP. it will not interfere with your magazine. in fact, it wont even touch it.

CONSTRUCTION:
The grip is very well made. the injection molded plastic is incradibly durable and once you pick it up, you can just feel the quality. I can tell that this thing will take alot of abuse.
+2.5

INSTALLATION:
Putting this grip on is very easy. All you do is slide the internal nut that hold your stock foregrip to the front, then slide the grip into postion (which is easy cause it used the front fin/handguard as a guider) and screw it in. Once done, it wont move an inch.
+2.5

ERGONOMICS:
Now like i said before, this grip does a splendid job of provided that rifle-like feel. Combined with my A5A2 stock, i found that bringing my gun up to bear was much easier now and sighting down my sight was also much easier. it is more comfortable to hold and still just as tight as the stock verticle foregrip because it is in the same location on the gun. I will wait to see if it improved my accuracy as i expect it will. I myself find that a horizontal grip provides a much more stable shooting platform than a verticle one.
+3

DESIGN:
Now this is only one "weakness". While the grip is designed very well, no question. THe pictures of it led me to beleive that it was "deeper", or as i said in the weakness portion of the review, its closer to the gun. it is hard to explain i no, but basically i thought there would be more to grip on to. however, this does not affect the performance one bit. this however is a must because if the grip were any longer, it could not use the front fin as a locking mechanism for the grip, which prevents it from sliding back in forth along the track of your gun (the screww just prevents the grip from falling off yoru gun) in fact, after running around my house with it, i didn't notice it at all and i can tell that i made te right choice in grips and that it will serve me well in the many years ahead. The final thing is, that since the grip is not as "big" as i expected, the front fin is felt when you first install your grip, because it sticks out partially. but as i previously explained, this is done purposely. only the SPecial Ops Pro grip gets rid of the front fin, because it reqires the user to sand it off. furthermore, you cant use any mag system whatsoever. long story short, this is a great product and does everything i expected it to. after you use it for a bit, you completely forget about the front fin or the cyclone feed system, which you are now able to touch because of this mag. you can get your and "all the way" around your gun. again, this is minute and passes after you carry your gun for a bit. Some people might complain about it, but they must understand, it was designed purposely for this reason. that being said, i cannot take fault in this (in my opinion anyway)
+2
Conclusion: If anyone has an SMG mag system, and you want a rifle feel, GET THIS GRIP. Very comfortable and easy to use/install.
P.S: I hope my review is easy to follow with its setup.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 14th, 2007 at 9:44 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tagabagsul Wednesday, March 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Foregrip
Marker Setup: A-5
Opsgear G36 Stock
J&J Ceramic w/ Apex tip / Flatline
Vortex Cyclone mod
Super R/T and QEV
Ricochet R5
Polished Interals
Spec ops G36 folding stock
PMI 68ci 300psi on Remote
Red Dot Sight
Strengths: Comfortable
Durable
Multiple variations
Weaknesses: None that i've seen so far
Review: This is a great little add-on it keeps the gun compact which i like cause i sneak and crawl around alot...there are alot of set ups offered by Special ops for those that have gasthru stocks...or have the stock set up...which is great...it's inexpensive...

I mainly got this cause i was tired of my magazine hitting the ground...but i had a flimsy set up...but this is solid and a quick bolt-on add-on
Conclusion: I'd say get this is u are looking to replace the forgrip on ur gun...it's comfortable and u can pick what set u want.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PaintballEv Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't used anything like this grip
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
JCS Combat Folding Stock w/ RVA
12" CMI Thunder Pig Barrel
32 Degrees Coiled Remote w/ Slide Check
A-5A2 Foregrip for use w/ Bottomline
Strengths: Realistic horizontal grip
Aims better than the vertical grip
Weaknesses: None for me
Review: Well, there's not much to say about this. It was one of my first upgrades and I'm still using it. It helps me aim and its very easy to install. It's very comfortable compared to the stock vertical grip when you're laying in the prone positon. It also make it eaisier to snap up your marker to your shoulder from a relaxed positon. Another great product from Spec Ops.
Conclusion: If you're into woodsball, I would reccommend this because it is much more comfortable than the vertical grip when in the prone positon (on yer belly). Speedballers might want to try it too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

big_A_5 Thursday, January 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing like it really
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ Response trigger
Smart Parts All American 14"
Special Ops A5A2 Foregrip
32*Remote
20oz Co2 (2)
Flatline soon
Strengths: Tough, provides great stable grip
Weaknesses: Sometimes tough to get on
Review: This grip is great if you are used to shooting real rifles (redneck, right here)
it is very stable and fits perfectly to an A-5, it is much better than the stock grip.
I've used it alot and hase taken a couple hard hits, but hardly even scratched.
This grip is mistly for personal preferance though, but if you want your A-5 to
have a better feel, Get This!!!!!!
Conclusion: Get it if it is the kind of grip you want, there's none better, cheaper, or easer to install
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

daggerofbwuk Tuesday, October 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The stock grip?
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 + This grip + Mp5 sliding stock + C-series 4" (with smg end) + Richochet hopper + Tacamo Coiled remote +
Strengths: -Strong.
-Low.
-Covers part of the lip.
-piece o' cake to strap on.
Weaknesses: -Little heavier than the stock grip.
Review: Okay starting from the top:

###CONSTRUCTION###

Easy, whip off the original grip, push the bolt to the end and slap on the foregrip, then just whack the screw in.

###ERGONOMICS### (<---or some funky word describing how it works :P)

If ou try holding it like a rifle you may find that your palm doesn't actually fully touch the grip (-0.2), which is annoyingly because of the cyclone feed. I have a few ways of holding it, one of which I just throw my fingers over the cyclone itself so it's like holding a swolen rifle. Otherwise, it really helps with getting down low it, you can buy versions with a space for a gas thru mag (i didn't) It's also very sleek, infact I reckon it's most streamline than the original. So if you find you have to throw one of two A5s at someone, one has the stock grip and one has this grip. Go for this one.
Conclusion: I'd buy this, I did, i'm happy with it. If you are a dagger player and want to get down low, here it is. I give it a 9.8 out of 10. which rounds up to ten =D
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Erichicago Tuesday, March 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
the standard a5 grip?
Marker Setup: Tippmann a5
Flatline barrel
Red dot sight
M4 stock thing
Response trigger
Special ops A5A2 Foregrip
Strengths: Sturdy WITH washer
Good feel
Weaknesses: Washer not included?
DOESNT FIT FLATLINE RIGHT OUTA BOX
Review: Looking at this product, it evidently makes the gun look a whole lot cooler, and giving it that realistic rifle dilio. However it DIDNT WORK WITH MY FLATLINE WICH I THOUGHT WAS STUPID, but after 5 minutes with the dremmel i fixed it. Also, it was wobly untill i found a washer to put on the Skrew.
Conclusion: Id give this an 8 but i really havnt played with it alot yet and the other guys seem to love it so ill give it a 9. Plus now that i got it on and worjking, it's really awesome.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media