paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Trracer / PMI Trracer / PMI Trracer / PMI Trracer

PMI Trracer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Trracer

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Trracer
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 88
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
PMI TRRACER ™ - Standard Gun
Features a steel reinforced trigger, an anti-double cocking device, factory auto trigger, 12" roller burnished barrel, and a full year warranty

PMI TRRACER ™ - Deluxe Gun
Comes with all the outstanding features of he Trracer - Standard, plus an adjustable velocity bolt, slotted field strip screws, and ASA filter.
Product Availability 
The PMI Trracer is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
aceospadez Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year19 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
talons, blades, sterling pump (dont know which one)
Marker Setup: Pro Carbine- w/ armson pro series 13in barrel, smart parts all american ss,dye sticky grips, venturi bolt, iisports custom hammer, 12oz w/butt plate, bipod
Pmi Trracer pump backup- armson pro series 13in barrel
NSG Splatmaster sidearm
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel (duh) bottemline if you can find one, velocity adjusting bolt (standard one only)
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Good
* simple design
* durable construction
* lightweight body
* accurate (even with the horrible stock barrel)
* air efficiant
* fast firing for a pump ( auto trigger)
* light pump

Bad
* hard to find barrels
* no velocity adjustment (older ones only)
* needs bottemline( for easier aiming
* hard to find
* stock barrel (what gun's stock barrel doesn't suck?)
* no ball detent (the worst part about gun)
Conclusion: buy one and play pump, u will get a lot better and it is more of a challenge. dont use this as a first gun though, you wont be able to keep up with semis
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 6th, 2004 at 6:49 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

Dr. Lomax Sunday, August 26th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years18 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: PMI Tracer
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you can find one a new barrel would be nice but by no means necessary
Strengths: Accurate
save on co2 and paint
reliable
Weaknesses: It is a pump so you may get out shot by guys packing a semi
Review: Fairly recently i bought a Spyder mr1 and took it to a scenario game. Unfortunatly the paint they provided had a tendancy to break in the barrel (I wasn't the only one with this problem, it happened to almost everyone regardless of the gun they used) and part of the shell jammed my gun luckily i had also brought my tracer. It shot fine all day and broke maybe four balls.

A lot of reviews reccomend a bottomline. I don't have one, and so far haven't needed one.

The tracer is the most reliable gun I have ever seen. You could throw it in a lake, fish it out the next day and immediatly start playing(not that i reccomend this).

It's the first gun I bought, and still my most reliable.
Conclusion: Great buy if you can find one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

npsquire1 Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE blade- a pathetic excuse for a pump
Marker Setup: Trracer Tagmaster with adjustable bolt, gas through stock, and a Tasco Red Dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
A gas through stock, bottom line, or a remote, so you are able to sight over the marker
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Smooth Pump stroke
Easy Maintanance
Efficient with CO2, even in cold weather
Weaknesses: Loud, about the same as an Impy with a Progressive
Review: This gun has a very nice pump stroke, it is also very light. The main thing is the maintenance of this gun, it is very simple to field strip, there are only 4 parts to the internals including the ASA, spring, bolt, and hammer. The Tagmaster version comes with the adjustable bolt, which was my main concern, to be able to easily adjust the velocity. The gun is very accurate out of the box, and i was able to mark people out from about 60 feet easily. I was able to mark someone out through a hole in a bunker that was about the size of a CD with 4 shots. The pump Stroke is smooth enough to where i was able to keep up with most semis on an airball field. Those semis included 'cockers and impies. With good tactics, you are easily able to get people out with one or two shots. Gogging someone comes naturally with this gun.
Conclusion: I would definately recommend the purchase of this marker. I got mine on Ebay with only $45 and this included the marker, hopper, a 9 oz tank, and gas through stock. It was definately a good price for the performance.
About the 9 Rating, no gun is perfect, so until one is made (which will never happen) no gun i review will get a 10 rating.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 14th, 2004 at 4:00 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Urban-Coyote Thursday, August 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i tried to shoot a talon once
Marker Setup: PMI Trracer
Red Dot Sight
40rd Hopper
Custom Ported Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, bottom line or a dot sight
Strengths: -if you use it right it saves paintballs
-limited ball breaks using small paintballs
Weaknesses: -be skilled if u play agaisnt Semi`s Ect.
-the stock barrel needs small paintballs
Review: this gun("marker" for pc people) is very effective at a low price. The accuracy is amazing when compared to my friends' markers(sypders mostly) and it can hold its own on speedball and woodsball. It gets attention before the game, and even more after.

Pro: -Gets people off their gaurd when they see you with a pump
Con:-c02 goes in an odd place that limits aiming(red dot puts it more up to your eye)
Pro:-still works after been laying around a few years
Conclusion: Awesome gun. low maintance off feild with ease of use on field.
other then the barrel breaks when using the bigger paintballs it has worked prefectly.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 13th, 2003 at 5:41 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

alanmusician Friday, May 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Spyder Sonix
Tippmann Pro-lite
Marker Setup: PMI Trracer pump with stock barrel
Tippmann A-5 with R/T and stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Velocity adjuster.
Bottom line.
Strengths: Rugged, low maintenance.
Inexpensive.
Accurate stock barrel.
Fast pump.
Great feel.
Weaknesses: Slightly loud.
Needs bottom line.
It's a pump.
Hard to find, as are parts.
Review: This was my first gun, and got me into the sport much better than most of it's price range. The stock accuracy is excellent, and that is what really makes it. It's really the only low-end pump that you can take right out of the box and start actually racking up the kills right off. Other low-end guns are often frustratingly flimsy and inaccurate.

This gun pretty much can't be topped in durability, and has a great feel as well, despite the nylon grip handle. I've played with it for about a year and bought it used, but I've never had anything work any less than perfect. My friend's Trracer is even older and he reports the same... never a hitch.

I bought my Trracer for 30 bucks used, which seems to me one of the best ways to get into paintball and actually enjoy it without committing to a long-term investment. Although I'll almost guarantee you'll be hooked once you start, and find your investments justified, you also won' t be let behind with this gun. They can be slightly hard to find, however, considering they're discontinued. ACI owns the license now, and sells them with velocity adjuster under the name Maverick. If you buy a Maverick, however, make sure it's the pump... the semi-auto version is a totally different gun, and a pretty much a piece of trash.

It pumps smoothly, for more accuracy, and you can hold down the trigger and pump for auto-style action. This technique, however, loses accuracy and range the faster you pump, especially without a bottomline.

As for accuracy, I've been amazed at some of the shots I've been able to make. My buddy (who is a much better aim than I), pegs me in the mask all the time with his from 75-90 feet. 100+ feet seems to be a little much for this gun, but for the price, that's amazing. With a velocity adjuster, you can make sure you're as close to the limit as possible.
Conclusion: For newbies, this gun is sublime. Like I said before, with decent equipment, you *will* be hooked, but don't turn yourself off from the sport with a bad starter gun. The only real pump disadvantage is you can't shoot one handed, or any where near accurately while running.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 23rd, 2003 at 1:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

topflite Tuesday, August 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
a carter buzzard- they are both accurate but the carter is by far the superior marker.
Marker Setup: spyder compact with dye excel barrel, new designz bolt and java expansion chamber
PMI Trracer
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new quieter barrel, a 12 gram changer
Strengths: accurate, light weight, smooth pump stroke, CO2 consumption, sleek look.
Weaknesses: Loud, barrel bore is very small, chops if not right size paint is used
Review: The moment i opened the packaging of this marker i fell in love with it. it just looks awesome and it was my first pump. Now to the review. At first glance at this marker I noticed how sturdy this gun felt. it didnt feel cheap considering what i paid for it. but looks could be decieving i thought, so I head out to my back yard and tested it out. I gassed it, cocked it, and pulled the trigger. At that moment I realized what the other people in the forums were talking about. it was loud. So i tuned it set the velocity on the bolt all the way down. It was still loud. but i didnt really mind. I tried out the auto trigger. it shot at a decent rate but I'll admit I'll never use it in a game. I began practicing my snap shots with it and i was able to pull of some quick ones thanks to the marker extreme light weight. It felt like a was holding a feather in my hands, and I was using a 7 oz tank. I then was just shooting for accuracy. i was able to knock off mostly all of my mini tree houses i have on the tree outside from about 40 feet away. I was able to hit a pole in my fence that is about 3 inches in diameter from about 35 feet away consistantly. Shot after shot, i was hitting my targets exactly were I wanted to. from testing this marker I think that its affective range is 90 ft. with a good barrel and some fine tuning it would move up to about 100 ft. the only notible problem that I had with it is that once in a while it would double feed and shoot two rounds at a time. but it rarely happened and it doesn't really pose any problem.
Conclusion: i would definetly recommened this marker to the person who wants to use a pump and doesn't have alot of cash. This marker is so good, i made two of my cousins want to ditch there semis and move up to a pump gun. This marker would get a ten if it was quieter.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mxmtl Wednesday, May 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom - Much Smoother Pump Stroke, More Solid Feel, Quieter, Detent Rings to Prevent Roll Out, Pricier
WGP Sniper Variants - Flatter Shot, Much Smoother Pump Stroke, Quieter, Heavier
Marker Setup: PMI Trracer Tagmaster
+ Winchester Hopper with Dye LocLid Mod
+ 9 oz Pure Energy CO2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
J&J Performance Barrel if you want it quieter.
Strengths: Inexpensive
Simple Maintenence
Light
Durable
Efficient
Weaknesses: Loud
Few Barrel Options
Bore Drop Means Potential Roll-Out with Small Paint
Review: It was my first Nelson based marker. It took a while to adjust to the arc in the shot that the these type of valves typically produce.

Efficiency was good. I started with about 8 ounces of CO2 in the tank, and after a bag of paint, I had about 3 ounces left. Not bad, I think, for a cold day with temps in the 60s.

Accuracy and consistency was not bad for old Evil paint. The Evil was at the point where it was different sizes, so I would get either a lot of breaks, or no breaks with an occasional roll out. Some of my shots would be on target, and some would be spinners. At the chrono, when I had drained enough liquid from the CO2 tank after a full fill, I saw +/- 1 fps, discounting the occasional odd sized paintballs.

Setup was very light: 2 lbs 15 oz with a full 9 oz tank and no paint. It made it very fun to run around with.

Pump stroke was decent. Not smooth like a Sniper, or Phantom, but no less functional.

I think this is a great starter pump paintball marker for budget conscious players. It can be had for $25 to $50 used, or $90 brand new. A 50 round hopper and elbow will only run you $5 to $10, and a 9 oz to 12 oz tank at $15 to $20. Pick up a barrel cover, battle swab, squeegee, a bag of paint, and a couple of 30 rnd pods to throw in your pockets, and you are good to go as far as your marker setup.

It does not need any upgrades, unless you want a quieter barrel. The stock barrel is loud. Also, it is is a bore-drop marker, so you will need to deal with roll-out. There are a number of tricks that work well like wedgits, nail polish, or tape in the barrel.

UPDATE 6/16/2008:
With fresh WPN Weapons Grade paint, I experienced breaks only when I double fed.

I also had purchased another Tagmaster as well as a Trracer. Between the Trracer and the Tagmaster, the Trracer had a much smoother and stable pump stroke.

On one of the Tagmasters I installed an adjustable venturi bolt. I noticed that it was a bit quieter than the others. The loudest Trracer was the Tagmaster without the CO2 filter. It also seemed the most consistent.

Without the anti-double pump feature, it's easy for the pump handle to slide back during play, resulting in double-feeding. You know if you have this feature if the top of the trigger on the inside of the frame has a metal square that catches on the front of the sear.
Conclusion: I think this is a great marker for beginning players or those who do not want to spend much, yet want a decent setup. I give it a ten, because I feel it is the best marker at its price range without sacrificing performance, reliability, and ease of maintenance.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 16th, 2008 at 12:01 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

fullmetal Sunday, April 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Class Phantom
Pre2k PGP
Marker Setup: 04 Cocker
Empire Reloader
Sticky Grips 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
Make Your Own Detent, Trust me.
Strengths: Light
Auto Trigger
Smooth Pump Stroke
Air Efficiancy
Weaknesses: C02 Placement
Unibody
No Ball Detent
Can't Adjust velocity.
Review: Alright, so my WGP Pump kit didnt come in time from White Wolf, so i couldn't use my cocker at SPE. So instead i rented a Trracer. Its a very nice looking gun and light weight, but not as light as a phantom. I went to the chrono station and fired off a couple shots to get the feel of the pump, accuracy, and of course the FPS. I must say that the pump stroke (to me at least) is better than a phantom. Accuracy is great but at long range gets pretty bad. The FPS barely strayed 4 bps everytime.

PMI Trracer Final Statements:

Exterior: Looks very nice and simple on the outside, very clean cut. Would be better if it was not right feed but center feed or even perhaps stock class! I wish it wasn't backbottle because trying prop up the c02 on your shoulder and aim isnt that fun.
+Pump: Best pump stroke ever (except for the j2) and autotrigger is awesome!
+Durability: Very durable, but not as much as like a Tippmann A-5 (which is like a tank). You can crawl anywhere and not worry about messing up this gun.
+Barrel: Cant find a barrel anywhere.
+Misc Parts: Very very hard to find parts at all, the worst problem is that you cant adjust velocity on the older models.

In Game: Works like a dream in game, although I am relatively new to pumps i have been hanging around them long enough to know what to do.
+Accuracy: Great until your about 60 feet away from someon.
+Range: Argh...Weltman and his friends were longballing me from across the woodball field and i could barely hit them. Not a strong point on this gun.
+Volume: It's sort of loud but it blends in with everyone else.
+Misc Parts: NO BALL DETENT, this got me mad. Balls were rolling out whenever i would lean my barrel down. You would basically have to get a drill press and make one your self if you wanted one. If you get a ball break you have to shoot out the break (only on older models)

Conclusion: Overall: Great gun for the price you can find it on eBay ($40) I suggest for beginners only or people looking to have a little custom job

Official Ninjers Rating: 7/10
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 10th, 2005 at 4:17 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, December 20th, 2000
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Very reliable!!! Can shoot any kind of paint. I know a kid at my field who has one and after every game he goes out and fills up his hopper. He will come with like 200 brass eagle for the first couple of games. The gun never breaks paint and can shoot far and accurate
Weaknesses: Loud and thats about it.
Conclusion: Great entry level gun. Or even advanced. I love mine go buy one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kevholl913 Monday, April 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders, tippmman, cockers
Marker Setup: ghetto spyder compact base with:
expansion chamber/ bottom line
terrminator barrel
flame drop forward
3000psi 8cu tank
various other little parts
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing
Strengths: super acurate
fast rate of fire (for pump)
just awsome as hell
Weaknesses: its a pump, obvious disadvantages
Review: i dont know how, but this gun totaly owns. ive seen the most outrageous amazing shots made with this thing. my friend shot his brother in the mask across a field, through thick brush, with one shot fired. maybe its just my perticular gun, but this thing is legendary. ive only put about 150 rounds through it and about 10 of those were hits. thats a damn good ratio. this gun is godlike, if you have one, hang on to it, or give it to me.
Conclusion: best pump ive ever used, never fails to amaze me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media