paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Origin Basic Training Paintballs / Origin Basic Training Paintballs / Origin Basic Training Paintballs

Origin Basic Training Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Origin

Buy Origin Basic Training Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Origin Basic Training Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 6.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is one of the best cheap paintballs on the market.
Product Availability 
The Origin Basic Training Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Airborne507th Friday, January 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RPS Marballizer - The Best
Zap Chronic - Better
Marker Setup: AGD MiniMag, 68/4500 Nirto Duck fiber tank. Expansion chamber forgrip. Intelliframe wl blade trigger. Smart Parts Freak kit. Stainless steel back. Barrel is either 7" Freak or 14" All American front. Q-Loader with Custom Mounting Socket (CMS).
Recommended
Barrels:
SMALL Bore
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: SMALL size
Review: I took my nephew to play paintball on Wednesday 1/2/08. I just gave him a new marker kit. So I was showing him how to use the marker and then play some games. I bought a case of the field paint Origin Bootcamp. The paint looked cool with its camo shell. I grab a few balls and start to size them. I first place the ball in my .689 bore insert and it rolls out. Then my .687, .684, .682 and then finally an insert I thought I would never use .679. Which is the smallest insert in the kit. Now the ball did not just roll out but only bearly. It was not a good match.

We load up and head to the chrono. I get him dailed in and then start on my marker. My marker is an Air Gun Design MiniMag. One of the best markers ever made and it has a wounderful regulator. We I was getting some fps spikes of +/- 10, 20, 30 fps which is not normal for this marker. This was because of the paint to barrel match. After about 8 shots a ball broke in the barrel. The chrono read 268. I shot a few more time and 2 more breaks.

They called for the rec ball players to get ready and my marker was a mess. I left my marker on the table so I could walk my nephew onto the speed ball field and watch him play. I returned to work on my marker so I could play with him. Took it apart and clean her all up. Went to chrono and broke some more balls (chrono read 254). Took my marker apart and cleaned again.

Now let me say that when I chrono I do not aim at anything. I am looking at the chrono. So I did not see how the ball shot. Well I was about to find out. I was not going to chrono my marker again because of the balls breaking.

I went to play. The balls shot right and left and hooked up and down. I mean all over the place. The only safe place was were I aimed. Never seen anything like this. When I aim my MiniMag it hits the target like an arrow when I use Marballizers. I am taking about one shot one kill. Then 50 balls into this and several barrel breaks I call my self out. I thought I was shooting hot and that is why the ball are breaking and all over the place. I go to the chrono and the marker is not shooting hot.

These balls are to small. At least the case of 2000 that I just used. Hell I even broke out my trusty Lapco "Autospirit" barrel and tested a few balls. And thinking this would suck to have a Freak kit and still have to carry around barrels, what a waste of money. Well I was relived because the balls just fell right through the Lapco barrel.

I played one more time so my nephew could at least say we palyed a game together. It was 4 on 4. Same thing, shots going every which way and then a barrel break and as you know that makes it worse. Surprisingly I won the game. It game down to me against two. I sprayed and prayed and hit one guy and the other ran out of amo.

Not sure what barrel could shot these balls. Maybe that is what the field wants. You would have to spray and pray and use up your amo just to keep the other players at bay. They make money because you have to buy more paint. I will bring my own from now on.
Conclusion: Balls are very small and if you cannot make them fit when you have a barrel kit then I am not sure who can shoot these well.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

^_^ Monday, January 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
- Diablo Heat
- Seconds.. (meh)
- 32 Degrees Team Colors
- Diablo Nightmare
Marker Setup: Bob Long 2K5 Alias Intimidator Black w/ Blue Accents
- Smart Parts Freak Jr. Kit or System X 2 Piece Barrel
- Tadao Infamous M3 Board
- Custom Products Regulator
- Custom Products Direct Mount On/Off ASA
- Hybrid Gen 06 Grips
- ViewLoader eVLution 3 (to be replaced with VLocity eventually
- WGP 50/3000 (going to be soon replaced with crossfire 45/4500)
Recommended
Barrels:
Any .689 one piece barrel (or .688) or any barrel kit
Strengths: - Price
- Didn't have any barrel breaks
- Pretty consistent bore size
- Thick fill
Weaknesses: - Has some seams
- Has some dimples but not many
Review: This is the field paint at one of my local fields so when I played there not too long go I had to use this. It's great stuff! It's only $42 a case, and it shoots great! There are hardly any dimples in them, but they do have seams.. this paint has a very thick fill it would be hard for those cheaters (cheating shows a player's lack of skill... plus cheaters ruin the sport) to wipe! After using this paint I have to say I came away very impressed as I didn't have one barrel break in the entire case and it shot very nice all day! If you want some good well priced paint check this out!
Conclusion: Awesome paint for the price.. never shot anything this good for the price actually so if you need some good well priced paint check out Origin paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jjgoforward Sunday, February 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orderpaintball house paint, Heat, Nightmare (and it was), Whack, Stinger, Wrek Elite
Marker Setup: 07 Fusion Green and Black all stock
Halo Frontman TSA E'hopper
Carlton/Crossfire 88/3000 HPA
Recommended
Barrels:
Overbore for sure
Strengths: Price?
Weaknesses: Many blemishes, dimples
Poor fill color
chalky
Review: Well for $44/case this may have been the worse purschase of paintballs I have ever made. We bought the case as the entry level paint at a local field. The box was undamaged and the paintballs were nicely packaged in sealed bags. There were no ball breaks in the bags, so the handling and packaging were good. However, that is were the good stops. First the paintballs were not uniform in diameter. A few were significantly smaller. It seemed that at least 1 in 10 paintballs were dimpled. One paintball had three dimples on it!
The brown shell seemed ok. It was certainly less brittle than Marbs etc, but it broke in good contact. We didn't get a barrel break or break in the hopper all day.
However the fill was very poor. It was chalky white that you couldn't really see from the other side of the field. So you never really knew if you go someone out. Also I was wearing a black and gray Dye jersey and I could barely see the fill on myself!
If given a choice I would not use Origin Combat Basic Training again. All of the other paintballs I have ever used have been better quality for less money than these.
Conclusion: If you have another choice in this price range-take it. These are not a very good value.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 24th, 2009 at 12:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jomacoco Saturday, March 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Crush
Diablo Heat
Severe Storm
Severe Atmosphere
Several others...
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix with Shocktech antichop bolt, 32degrees remote coil, j&j ceramic barrel 14"
Recommended
Barrels:
I guess you could use a small bore barrel
Strengths: Cheap ($35/case) kind of accurate.
Weaknesses: Very small bore, THEY DON'T BREAK!.
Review: This is a very cheap product and lives up to it's cheapness. This paint won't break on contact and therefore hurts like hell, which sucks when you are on the business end of the barrel. The filling is very clear, so it is hard to spot. Even though they are kind of accurate, i doesn't compensate for the hard shell and bounsiness.
Conclusion: I realy dont recommend this paint. We had pballs from towo diferent cases from two diferent stores and ALL had the same problems. If you are realy into paintball spend the extra cash and get better paint.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 8th, 2008 at 6:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sidicas Saturday, August 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus Rec-Sport. The Rec-Sport is much better suited for speedball or light woodlands where you're not shooting people behind foliage. Basically any field where you can position yourself to have a clean shot at somebody, is a bad field to use Basic Training paintballs on.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro (Stock everything) w/Crossfire 68/45 tank.
Recommended
Barrels:
Highly recommend the flatline. These paintballs are so small that the flatline can put a ridiculous amount of backspin on these babys. Somebody with an X-7 was shooting so far with his flatline that they went over the nets on the opposite end of the field and were landing half way into the neighboring X-Ball field. These were full tournament size fields. I've never seen a paintball shoot that far. Lobbing distance is just ridiculous with a flatline, but you aren't going to hit anything at that distance, let alone get a break at that distance. Though some people were a little worried about safety, accidentally shooting over nets = bad.
Strengths: They're really hard paintballs. Shoot through grass, bushes, leaves, twigs, etc.
Weaknesses: They're hard.
Hurt a lot.
Lots of bounces.
Review: They hurt like hell when you get hit by one, but the great thing about hard paintballs is that you can shoot people through foliage. It makes woodsball games a lot more fun when you can jump behind a bunch of thick grass or a bush and with a few shots, you'll have made yourself a nice little hole in your cover to shoot through.
If you run low on air, you're totally screwed. These paintballs will not break at less than 250 fps, with a target at 30 feet.
Conclusion: These paintballs will tear right through any grass, twigs and bushes as if they were paper. Recommend padding or a 20 foot no shooting rule when in use. They will cut into uncovered flesh at close ranges, breaks sharp. Recommend 280-290 fps and used in heavy woodlands where most people are under foliage, most of the time.. For the price, they deserve a good rating. They do what they were made to do, play great in thick woodland. I don't recommend that they're used anywhere else.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 23rd, 2008 at 7:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

McEd Saturday, March 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: SP ION XE
Dye Throttle hp 70/4500
VLocity jr.
Dye Rhino Cover Olive
Strengths: Cheap ($30)
Weaknesses: Bouncies
Review: Well thought that these balls were better than the paint at the field for about the same price. They worked fine with my .689 bore barrel sozz. ya. nuthin else i can say about this lower mid grade paint. also i have had no gun or barrel brakes with and with out eyes on different guns. just difficult to break on other pplz
Conclusion: Ok ballz . Pick them up if you don't want to pay alot of muny
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 15th, 2008 at 8:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dadof11 Friday, May 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
game face scorch
Marker Setup: flatline,stock,cyclone feeder,and e-grip
Strengths: Worked great with the flatline,no breakage
Weaknesses: None yet.
Review: The guys at command post put me onto this paint,worked great with the flatline barrel,broke well on targets, very happy with them,been told they work get in cold weather but we will have to wait a few months to test that.Had no problems at all with them.
Conclusion: Flatline barrels can be hard on paintballs, These held up to the test.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Arctic Sniper Sunday, May 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
You name it I've probably put a few of them down range.
Marker Setup: When I used this paint...
-Tippmann A5
-E-trigger
-Expansion Chamber
-Stiffi Barrel .691
-Bushnell Trophy Red Dot optic to test accuracy
Recommended
Barrels:
I only shot them through my Stiffi.
Strengths: It is very cheap paint and performs well for the cost.
Weaknesses: It is by no means anywhere near the best paint out there.
Review: First things first this is a cheap paint. Don't expect this to be the best paint in the world. It is what it is. It's really good paint for the price. While playing there was nothing the paint did that messed up my game.

After playing with this paint for the day I took what paint I had left home and the next day went to my private field behind my house, put my optic on my A5, and started testing it for consistancy and accuracy. At 20 yards for the most part I was putting each ball right on top of the previous one. At 30 yards I was still shooting a 6 inch pattern with a random ball here and there spinning off into maybe a 12 inch pattern (I'm assuming those were the dimpled ones). Out to 50 yards I could still expect to hit a soda can with a 5 round burst.
Conclusion: Everyone blames the paint when they don't hit their mark but by having a red dot site on your marker you can really see exactly how inaccurate you yourself can be by watching that dot wave back and forth over your target.

Any marksman knows there are many factors into shooting accuractly not just your projectile.

This paint gets a 10/10 for cheap paint but because it is a cheap paint and it's performance isn't as good as more expensive paint I'm giving it an 8/10.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Littlebighorn Thursday, January 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Heat-better
Spank-better
Impact-better
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power F8 blue/clear
DXS 48/4500
Richocet Apache
Recommended
Barrels:
nothing cause balls stink
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: HURT!!!
Fill is impossible to see on someone
Never breaks
Review: These are probaly becoming the most popular feild paint now of days. Thats because they are cheap, but they dont work. The fill looks like snot and ive been shot before felt the paint but couldn't see it. It hurts to get shot by these because they dont break they just bounce. And since they dont break you get shot 20 times until one finally break on you
Conclusion: dont buy these just pay the extra $10 dollars and get the premium it will be more fun for EVERYONE!
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 29th, 2009 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

priceman3 Saturday, May 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
monsterballs
spectrum
Recommended
Barrels:
small bore size
Strengths: Thickpaint
Cheap (30$ for 2000)
Weaknesses: Dimples
Small
Review: i go out and play with my friends once every 2 weaks so were just having fun. the balls dont break all the time but i like that cus when the ball doesnt break it hurts liek hell also the paint is really think so its annoying.The fill smells horrible aswell
Conclusion: Wouldnt use the paint if i were in a tourney but i highly recomend it if yur playing in your backyard.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media