paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel "The Gat" / WDP Angel "The Gat" / WDP Angel "The Gat" / WDP Angel "The Gat"

WDP Angel "The Gat" Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel "The Gat"

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel
[ View Photos (20) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $975

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
GAT FEATURES

* Unique Grips and 3D Axis Milling
* 9 Colors 2 Finishes
* A first from WDP: a two tone gun
* Backed by Angel Force, Giving "THE GAT” doubles the standard warranty from WDP, along with the best tech support in the business
* Dye 16 Ultralite barrel
* Check It Sure Fit Clamping feed neck. Capable of any size loader
* Check It Unimount 2 slide rail on/off "First Angel to come ready out of the box. Screw in a tank; throw on a loader and ROLL. No need to purchase an asa or drop forward
* Weighing in at just over 2 lbs, making this the lightest Angel to date
* All Parts anodized from factory for perfect color matching
* "THE GAT" features the new breakaway single magnetic trigger frame
* Its own dedicated web page to keep you up to date with all the latest software, warranty, and give away
* THEGAT.NET
* 31 BPS
* Angel Laser-Eyes
* Enhanced higher flow cartridge mini-reg
* Spool assembly
* G7 internals
* No-kick operation
* 225psi operating pressure
* improved twist-lock Roto-breech knob
* Compact design exhaust valve requiring 65% less opening force than the Speed 05 delivering the smoothest ride in paintball.
* New bolt with Anti-roll back feature
* Smaller, flat back solenoid with dedicated porting. Giving higher flow rates than any other solenoid valve
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel "The Gat" is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
bxlnt Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Ir3 Fly
Angel 05 Speed
05 EGO
XSV Ego
Shockers
DM5
Timmys

Marker Setup: 45/45 tank, reloader b.... (everything else you need comes on the gun i.e. ASA, ect...)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao board

New Trigger
Strengths: VERY FAST
LightestAngelEVER
VERY FAST
Looks Great
VERY FAST
NoMatinence
Did I mention VERY FAST?
Weaknesses: Lack of programability in the board as far as firing modes
Review: I just used my New "GAT" the past two days consecutively and shot over 4000 paintballs over the course of both days, and I did not chop/break once. I had to adjust the trigger snubber because i was bouncing like crazy so after I brought the bounce down a little bit I was just shooting lazer beams of paint across the feild. The UL barrel is definately a step up as well. Not only was the paint flying out at insane rates of fire but they were nearly ball on ball from across the small indoor feild I play at. I previously owned an 05 Ego with virtue in it and I really cant decide which is better, but I have a feeling once i get an aftermarket board in it with a microswitch feel, I'd go with the GAT. I definately noticed the weight difference in the Gat from all the other angels i've owned and running to the 50 off the break was no problem having not once noticed the weight of it running full out. Also I use a 45/45 tank and the efficency of it was great. I dont have an exact number to give becuase I never counted or anything. But thinking back, off of a full 4500 fill i would walk onto the feild with a full hopper and 3 pods, and walk off completely empty after a few games and still have about 2000psi left.
Conclusion: This IS without a doubt the BEST angel made yet. For those still wondering what it is all about, this is an 06 Angel speed, comming stock with a Dye UL barrel, checkit feedneck and Unimount, and some of the nicest milling yet to be seen on an Angel making it the lightest Angel ever. For those still in favor of the LCD models of angels I Highly suggest getting the gat then thown your LCD board in it cuz you dont want to miss out on this gun just because you like LCD angels better. And with the price drop on firstcallpaintball.com you can't beat the value you will get out of this gun. WDP is incompetion with their Speed model of guns with the Proto matrix, both in the same class at the same price, and in my opinion with the price drop just found on the GAT, it blows Proto out of the water. GET this gun, you wont regret it, I wish i could give it 11 out of 10 but pbreview has to be fair, thus so do I
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pballer138 Tuesday, January 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel A4, Shocker, Timmies, Dm's, E
Marker Setup: Doo Doo Brown LE GAT
92ci 4500psi Crossfire LP tank
Smoke Halo B w/ Rip drive
Stock Settings

Silver Dust Angel A4
92ci 4500psi Crosfire preset LP tank
HALO B
System X Drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
MT TADAO Board
Pred. Board.
Virtue Board When it comes out.
Not really a necessity but will make even better.
Strengths: Very consistent, extremely light, nice feel.
Weaknesses: The 16in ultra light could be a 14, 16 is kinda long
Review: I bought this animal for a christmas present to myself and I am so Happy that I did. This thing mows harder than any landscaper. The trigger can be adjusted to bounce like a mofo and can be adjusted to the shortest pull imaginable without any bounce what so ever. The only thing I wish this came with was a MT TADAO because that would make this thing just obliterate anything in its' path.
Conclusion: Buy one quick there only going to be two runs and make sure you get an LE annoed gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Ludo le chemo Thursday, January 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
G7
Speed '05
DM4
Cocker E-Blade
Timmies..
Marker Setup: Evil Scion 0.7l
Vlocity
Good paint
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye barrel base in 0.692
Strengths: So light, build quality, looks cool, SPEED!!!
Weaknesses: Not a lot of barrel available, factory LPR setting...
Review: As I used a G7 for one year, I expected the same performances... In fact It shots just like a G7 for less money!

This gun is very light, so in the beginning I had the feeling that the GAT kicks more than G7, but I think it's false and I have to wait after the breaking in period to realy compare.

I like the machining and the finish. The anodizing is perfect.

It comes with ASA on/off and clamping feed tube (in my opinion, it's the most important upgrade for WDP markers).

The LPR was factory set to more than 70 psi... I found it pretty high, even for the breaking in... (and for the paint during the winter in Switzerland ;-))

For me the GAT is a cool looking Speed '06 Fly!
Conclusion: Angel 4 life !!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

CaliSoulja Saturday, March 25th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 06 Speed, Angel A4 Fly, Angel 05 Speed, Angel G7
Marker Setup: Completely Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing
Strengths: Very High ROF
Sexy Design
Reliable
Very Lightweight
Weaknesses: From my experience, I didn't like the feel of The Gat.
Review: The WDP "The Gat" is a great marker for those who have owned many other WDP markers. It is very light, has a high ROF, and has a sexy design. I disliked the feel of the marker in my hands and that is why I decided not to purchase this marker.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to people who have owned many WDP markers.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

nick947 Thursday, July 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
- Smart Parts ION
- Eclipse ETEK2
Marker Setup: Angel "tHE GAt"
Pure Energy 68/4500 LPA Tank
Empire Bottle Glove
Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Better ASA
- Virtue Board
Strengths: - Fairly Light
- ANGEL Quality
- Easy mode navigation
- Fairly customizable stock board
- DYE Barrel
- Fast
- Accurate
Weaknesses: - Board Could be better (lacks firing modes)
- Crap ASA
Review: All I can say is this is a great gun. I got it used off my friend for a quarter of the original price so I really can't complain. The overall construction of the marker is extremely solid, and it can withstand a true beating. It's fairly easy to maintain but the 8000-shot lubing process is somewhat annoying and time consuming.

The gun shoots great. It's extremely accurate, and it can fire at a very good clip stock. The factory upgraded features like the clamping feedneck, custom grips and DYE Ultralite barrel are a true plus. This gun also comes with G7 internals, which are incredible. It has dual infrared and laser eyes for maximum ball detection. The stock "pillow" bolt is also great feature, and its very soft on your balls... : )

I guess my only complaints about this gun are the firing modes on the board and ASA. Frankly, the board lacks firing modes, and for a gun of this price tag new (my friend paid 1200 taxes in) I think they should have offered more features like true ramping ect. That can be fixed, but that's another 130 bucks for something like a virtue board. The ASA is pretty bad. It might just be mine but it's next-to impossible to loosen the on/off valve one the gun is gassed up.
Conclusion: If you can find one of these for sale pick it up right away, you WILL NOT be disappointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballdude88 Friday, April 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 1
ICD Lasoya Promaster
Angel 06 speed
Marker Setup: Angel 06 'The Gat' Speed, Reloader B, 68/4500psi crossfire carbon fiber, Tadao Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Board if you want
new unimount
Strengths: Fast
Cool Looking
Light
No Maintence

Weaknesses: Stock board lacks modes

Review: I got my Angel Gat about 3 months ago, and have used it about 10 times on the field, in a few tournys and outside in my backyard.

This gun rocks:

This gun is extremely fast, i was shooting ropes
Nice milling
Barely any maintence really needed
By far, this is like the lightest angel out there

The only problem is the Stock board, i think its called the Optoboard, lacks modes. So if u want, u should upgrade to a tadao


Conclusion: Buy this gun
Its great
10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

fames202 Wednesday, April 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
the dm5 and the angel g7 and the speed 05
Marker Setup: angel gat
68/4500psi tank with max flow
halo b hopper with the victory board
ultra lite barrel
and am plannin on gettin the new valve for the gat
Recommended
Upgrades:
well this marker is the best one i ever tried ... ill say a barrel
Strengths: Speed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!,accuracy , its extremely consistent
Weaknesses: None!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review: This gun is really impressive i fell in love with it when i first saw it.... it just looks so sexy.. i have it in black and red.. i took it out for a test 2 weeks ago .. this gun just mows the competition.....wow its so accurate too... i was in the back left bunker and i was just spraying paintball to everyone ... no one dared to move up... my teammates were surprised on my gun's preformance... we playin about 20 games because we were there from 9am to 4pm... this is our practice hours...we won every game.. we didnt lose once....i was so surprised.... but what am doing now is looking for the taodao board...
Conclusion: If the rating could up higher i would of put it to a 1000........ am plannin on gettin some upgrades for the gat am planning on gettin it a new valve and a barrel. and the tadao board.. lll update you guys when i get this and ill give you a story on it......
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

DanRicks Monday, November 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel speed 04, Viper M1 military, Tippman A-5, pmi pirahna
Marker Setup: 06 Speed "GAT" blue-black fade
STD Lpr
Predator board
Halo B V35 w/ Rip
45/4500 carbon fiber w/ dynaflow reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
STD Low pressure regulator
Upgraded electronics - Predator or Tadao
Fast hopper - Halo B or Empire reloader
400-450 psi output Tank
Strengths: FAST!
consistent +/- 3fps
Light
Weaknesses: Too much tweaking involved. (which can also be a strength)
Review: Ok, so I have had this thing for a while now. It is also my first Angel so I was excited. Before this marker I had my viper m1 which was a slow and steady yet very reliable marker. The only thing I had to adjust on it was the fps and all was well. But when I received My Angel, I had no idea what a Dwell, mrof, Lpr, or any of the settings are. And because of it the gun shot like crap! I hated this thing!!

So I had to take some time to research what all the settings were and what they did.
In my opinion, the instruction manual is useless. Unless you want to take your marker apart then it becomes invaluable! (yup, I stripped the thing to the very bone....screw I mean)

Anyways, there are various forums that are very helpful in settings and tweaking. And so the more I learned the better my gun performed!

Now, its pretty much optimized. I have it ramped up to about 20bps+/- with no drops and no chops. I took it just a few days ago in cold weather and it out performed all the other markers!

Perfect 10 for performance!
Conclusion: Excellent buy!
Best Bang for the buck!
Take time to study settings for tweaking (you wont regret it)
Keep in mind you do need a Low pressure Tank. (it runs around 400-450 psi)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 27th, 2006 at 4:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DarthAlan Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel One, G7, G7 Fly, 06 Speed, 05 Speed, A4 Fly, A4, 04 Speed, DM6, Ego6, Ego5, SL-66.
This is faster than all of the above.
Marker Setup: Angel 'The Gat' (Dust Black/Pink Accents)
45 Trigger Frame
Angel Force Tadao
Custom Products Direct Mount
Mac Dev LegionAir 68/4500 Preset LP tank
VLocity or V35 Halo w/ Bone
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao if you need to ramp
A different ASA. The Unimount is terrible.
Strengths: Fast, Beautiful, Milling, Light, Comes with all needed upgrades
Weaknesses: Checkit Unimount, Stock board
Review: This is the 4th different Angel I have owned, and it is the best one. It shoot flawlessly. I broke the eye ribbon during a dive at XPSL in the first game, and played without eyes for the entire tournament. Eventhough it had no eyes it still didn't chop one ball.

It is consistent. I get 295 +/- 5, which is good enough for me.

It is light. My setup is lighter than DM6's or most Egos, but it may be due to my tank being really light.

It's fast on semi with the stock board, but the stock board has a very soft ramp. I don't recommend keeping the stock board if you play in the PSP or NXL.

It comes with a great barrel. Mine was a .691 UL

The Checkit Unimount is terrible, and you'll need a better ASA. I use the 2005 CP direct mount.
Conclusion: This is the best gun I have had. Even though I just bought the new Angel One, I want to keep this. It may even remain my primary marker.

Rating 10=Perfect. It has a few flaws, so 8 it is.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Godfree Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cocker, A5, Spyder Electra, DM5
Marker Setup: WDP Angel Ga+
Dye Ultralight
Checkit Unimount2
Empire Fuel LP 68/4500
Vl Vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shorter Barrel for you front players
Tadao Board
Strengths: Fast!!!, Lightweight, efficient, damn sexy, Low price,
Weaknesses: Stock Board, long barrel, availability,
Review: I recently purchased a Gat, looking for something to get back into the tourney scene with. This will definately do the trick.
Looks: The appearance of an Angel cannot be beat by any other marker. This is just a preference, but the milling, anodizing, and overall look is far superior to any other marker I've seen in person. It weighs in at under 2.5lbs without the hopper or tank, which is pretty good too. It does feel somewhat back heavy though, as the tank adds all the weight. Not quite balanced, but still good.
Speed: Again, this marker will outpace most hoppers. With my Vlocity on full speed, and using marbs, I emptied the full 200 in under 8 seconds on semi mode. Who needs this kind of firepower? The PSP mode is mild for ramping. Takes about 9-10 shots before you can hit that 15bps cap. If you're looking for more, get a tadao board, it is a vast improvement.
Efficiency: I've ran about 6000 balls through the gat, but even when I first took it out of the box it was reading 293, 294, or 295 in 20 shots. +/- 1? this is good. On a 68/4500 tank fill I can get about 1100 shots off, which isn't too bad. Mine was made before the advent of the new valve though, so I'm hoping one I get that it will improve some.

Conclusion: This is the marker I've been dreaming of. It is perfect for my game, maybe for yours too. I would HIGHLY recommend this baby to anyone heading to the tournies. If you're just playing recball, stick to the tippmanns. If you're ready for real action, step up to an Angel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media