paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / OPSGEAR MP5 Gas Through Mag / OPSGEAR MP5 Gas Through Mag / OPSGEAR MP5 Gas Through Mag / OPSGEAR MP5 Gas Through Mag

OPSGEAR MP5 Gas Through Mag Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount OPSGEAR

Buy OPSGEAR MP5 Gas Through Mag

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


OPSGEAR MP5 Gas Through Mag
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Finally an MP5 magazine that makes real sense! Obtain the gas through look and feel without compromising the functionality, durability, or reliablity of your Tippmann A5 marker. The OPSGEAR MP5 Gas Through Magazine will endure the punishment of the toughest player while accurately rounding out the native MP5 form of the Tippmann A5.
Product Availability 
The OPSGEAR MP5 Gas Through Mag is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
vader_52 Wednesday, February 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/Egrip
Opsgear Mp5 Gas-thru-Mag
Lapco Bead-Blasted A5 Foregrip
End Game Stub Nose Barrel
Lapco Offset Sight Mount
Tactical Laser
Tac Cap Loader
Strengths: Realism
Very Sturdy
Weaknesses: None
Review: I recently purchased this Mag in order to make my A5 look more like the gun it's modeled after, the MP5K. This is a purely cosmetic modification. Although it says "Gas Thru" that just means it does not interfere with the stock air setup of the A5.

The first thing I noticed about this mag is how very sturdy it is, one could easily use it as a grip if they were so inclined. I was able to install it in seconds. All I needed to do was remove the quick pin to the left of the tombstone and the small screw to the right of the tombstone and slide the mag into place. Then replace the hardware (quick pin and screw) with the longer screws provided by Opsgear. No other assembly/dis-assembly was required.

I have the longer Lapco A5 grip and it fit just fine with this mag in place. If you'd like to see a picture I have added one to the pictures section of this page.
Conclusion: This is a really great product. It is well built, looks great, and requires no modification of the air system on the A5. If you'd like to make your A5 look more realistic then you really cannot go wrong with this product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Rogueldr Monday, April 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ E-Grip
Flatline barrel
Ops Gear MP5 sliding stock
Ops Gear MP5 gas thru mag
Trinity coiled remote
Pure Energy 88/4500 tank
Strengths: Looks, Looks, Looks
Weaknesses: A little heavy
Review: I only bought this mag to add to realism of the MP5 look of my A-5. Along w/ the Ops Gear sliding stock this mag makes you A-5 look exactly like an MP5. The gas thru feature is just a valley in the middle of it so you don't have to make any adjustments to the stock air line. The mag is made of metal,not plastic like some other mags and it can take a beating. The fact that is made of metal adds some weight but its not unbearable. I had no problem shooting from a prone position and the mag actually helped steady my gun on the ground. Because it is made of metal I though nothing of putting it on the ground to steady my shots.
Conclusion: If you want your A-5 to look like an MP5, This mag is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippy King Friday, July 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just an old mock m16 clip that was too big to grip comfortably.
Marker Setup: Woods ball setup
Tippmann A5, Flatline barrel, , Responce trigger, mp5 mag, A-5 A-2 mp5 fore grip
Speed ball setup
Tippmann A5, End game stub nose barrel, Responce trigger, Double Trigger, and Shocktech relocator bar.


Strengths: VERY sturdy, Great looks, Very Intimidating !
Weaknesses: None Whatsoever
Review: I love the mp5 look and this was the first mp5 upgrade. I totally love it! It fits nice and snug no wobbles at all, it is slightly heavy but adds realism. Great for a grip or just for looks. I have showed up at fields with this and gotten tons of compliments. And its is made by opsgear so you know its gonna be a great product.
Conclusion: Like I said I love this mag. It is kinda pricey BUT worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MFCT Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippman A5/A2 32* 12" Palmer Brass Barrel, Lapco Offset, BT raised rail, Lapco Supressor and BSA red dot..
Strengths: Super durable, somewhat heavy. You're not breaking this thing.
Weaknesses: You cannot use this with the SpecOps A2 kit (tombstone side out)
Review: I've been wanting an MP5 look to my A2 kit. Unfortunately, I have the side out tombstone mod A2 kit, which although at first appearances look like it wouldn't be an issue, ended up being a sizable issue. The side out mod will simply not fit over the post for the MP5 mag. Determined to get my monies worth out of this, I removed the post (which obviously voids any warranty claims on the unit) that sits below the side out air fitting. It still fits super snug with the included bolts and has no stability issues. But resale value obviously tanked.

The A2 issue is my fault. It looks like it wouldn't be a problem, but its not OpsGear's responsibility to say otherwise. And I certainly didn't need to remove the post...I could have returned it (took my chops and paid any restocking fee) and learned. But I wanted the look (and I think it looks damn purty!), so people tear the hell out of their A5's with various mods (I did for the tombstone side out), so that side of me says...what the hell...you got what you wanted.

Last, that thin bolt that comes with it...that bolt is pretty sketchy...seems like it could be easily stripped. Which cleaning my marker after a few uses, I'm going to have to deal with that bolt numerous times. I'm dreading when that thing goes.
Conclusion: I'd say a 10, but damn...$60!!! And its just a chunk of aluminium. And the rear bolt is a tad on the weak side.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007 at 2:52 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

LT.CDR.STINKY Thursday, September 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
---
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/WAS E-Grip
Flatline w/Trinity Ported Shroud
Opsgear MP5 Sliding Stock, Opsgear MP5 Mag
40mm Red Dot, Laser
APP Scope Rise
Remote w/inline Palmer Regulator & Gauge on 20oz CO2
TacCap or APP T2 offset hopper
Strengths: Looks
Quality
Durability
Solid
Finish
Weaknesses: Price
Custom Screws instead of push pin (there goes your field strip ability)
HEAVY
Review: I got this for looks. I went the MP5 way on my A5 and this does the trick. Optically, better than the SpecOps mag, because this one doesn't look like it just been screwed on but actually looks like part of the gun.

I don't use the front grip anymore. The mag is so sturdy and has perfect balance at that corner where it connects with the marker.

What I didnt expect is to use 2 custom screws with it. One replaces the pushpin by your tombstone... Ooops there goes the field strip capability!!! (Unless you bring your Allen wrench). The other screw isn't much better. They had to make it smaller so it wouldn't thread with the A5 screw it replaces. Both Opsgear screws actually thread with the other side of the mag. But this second screw is only a 3/32 which is then the only 3/32 on your A5.
Otherwise installation was straightforward and easy.

As so often I go form over function and love this mag. It does protect your gas line somewhat I guess, but there wouldn't be room for a regulator like some of the SpecOps mags have.
Conclusion: For over $60 you can get a lot of useful upgrades. But if you're looking for an MP5 mag, I'd recommend this one, unless you're into long scenarios and intend to take your marker apart on the field. Even then, just carry your allens.
For what it is, it's really nice, if it just weren't for that pricetag.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 14th, 2006 at 1:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Asethet Sunday, March 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
APE E-grip
MP5 Sliding stock
MP5 magazine
Aluminium powertube
Flatline
Strengths: Solid aluminium
Allows stock front grip to be used
Looks
Weaknesses: Bad screws
Review: I bought this to go with the fact the A5 is designed to look like an MP5K and it looks great, its easy to install and protects the braided line during play. For a purely cosmetic mod it needs not do much else.

The only problem I have is the screws, one is too long and sticks out the far side into the Cyclone piston cylinder and both are too small meaning that the plastic tombstone latch takes all the weight of the tombstone when you replace the push pin with the smaller screws, so when my plastic tombstone latch split, my tombstone pushed out slightly causing a massive air leak down the barrel. Also both screws use hex tools that don't match any other screw on the A5.

The fix requires re-drilling and tapping the screw ports of the MP5 mag and replacing the screws with larger ones closer to the size of the original push pin and screw, which is easy for those with the tools but shouldn't be required to fix a brand new product.
Conclusion: The aluminium body of the magazine is great but the fixing screws are a massive downfall.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BloodLustDE Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5MP5k-PDW
Opsgear MP5 Mag, PDW Stock, UMS Riser w/Red Dot Sight, X7 Hopper
Flurry Reaver Shinguards & Emissary Vest , Proto EL Switch Goggles
Strengths: VERY strong
Looks perfect
Weaknesses: Price
Review: There isn't much to say that already hasn't been said, but here goes. If you're reading this you probably want the MP5 look for your A5 and this delivers. it fits extremely well on the A5. Simply pop off the grip, slide it on and lock it down, then put the grip back on. A 5 minute job and it looks fantastic. It's made from solid aluminum and this thing doesn't budge. It's strong enough that you could use it as a club. although i got it for the look, i've found 2 other unexpected side bonuses. one is that you can use this as a unipod (as opposed to a bipod) It doesn't scratch easily and if you are shooting over bunkers you can rest the gun on the mag and steady your shots. Another bonus is that it makes a fantastic condom holder. if you wrap it around your cyclone you can switch between the barrel and the clip easily and it keeps it out of your way.

On the negative side it makes your marker a little more complex to take apart. also, your front handguard's space is shortened considerably. make sure you wear gloves because the back of your hard will rub against it frequently.
Conclusion: This is a top-notch mag that mods your gun to make it even more fun. Is it worth the 70 bucks it costs...? maybe, but since i got mine from a friend used i'm absolutely sure i can't go without it now.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007 at 1:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media